Riu Palace Jamaica

4.494.494.494.494.49
Riu Palace Jamaica
#1 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
4.49 based on 37 reviews
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Enjoyable Resort Overall!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
The accommodations and food were great. Buffet and 4 other restaurants were very good. Being so close to the airport it was a bit noisy with aircraft flying overhead. Weather was spectacular! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Spacious Room - Very Good Food - Friendly Staff - Short Distance from Airport
The weak points
Noisy aircraft flying low overhead
Certified

Amazing

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-04-04
The resort is beautiful. The palace is in the middle and the riu reggae, and riu Montego Bay are on either side. The food is good. The palace is not too crowded which I like. It's easy to get beach chairs at any time of day. Pools are not crowded. There was a group of 6 of us all in our 20's. there's entertainment during the day and evening, but if ur looking for a party resort then the riu reggae is ur place. We liked that we can go to all the riu's to party, but come back to the palace to relax and have quiet time. The staff is amazing: Odeesia, soleil, Christina, jovan, Murray, tasha, and all the amazing bartenders. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff!!! Everyone is amazing!
Certified

Riu Palace - Amazing!

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-30
The Riu Palace Jamaica is just that - a Palace! Everything from the staff and well kept grounds to the fantastic food and great beach, we would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet Adults Only getaway.
One benefit is having the other two Riu's on either side of the Palace. The Regae offers some great entertainment, but is a younger "adult" crowd, making it nice to get back to the Palace for quiet time. Riu Montego Bay is the family resort side and has all of the watersports available within a few minutes walk. Daytime entertainment by the pool is fun and it was never an issue getting a lounger. Service was awesome and you were never left waiting hungry or thirsty! Riu resorts never seem to disappoint on any level. Will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, restaurants and bars, good size room, great beach
The weak points
While you do get used to the airplanes taking off overhead, it is still a small annoyance.
Certified

FANTASTIC! RIU PALACE JAMAICA

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-19
LOVED THIS HOTEL!!! The staff, room, food, beach, all of it, #1. We stayed for one week and will be going back. The beach is clean, rooms are kept very clean, food is delicious especially the Italian restaurant and Krystal's. A big THANK YOU TO THE ENTIRE STAFF!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All positive. Had no issues from the time we arrived.
The weak points
We had to return home and leave a beautiful place with really nice people.
Certified

Pella family vacation 2019

, Sudbury, ON
2019-03-14
Very clean staff very friendly food was amazing will be back next yr [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room were very clean beds comfortable staff always friendly food was very good entainment was excellent
The weak points
YDid not like to line up for speciality reastraunts
Certified

Rui Palace - Treats you like Royalty!!

, Toronto, ON
2017-10-25
The Riu Palace truly lived up to our expectations. The hotel staff was absolutely amazing, very accommodating and checking in on us within our first 24 hours. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and a birthday. The hotel staff decorated our room for both occasions. The room was very clearly, our maid did an excellent job. The staff was very friendly & polite. The customer service was amazing, we were treated extremely well and would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing resort. The grounds were picture perfect with little to no mosquitos at night! We truly enjoyed the nightly entertainment at the Aqua bar! The bartenders were great at keeping the guests entertained. All in all, the Riu Palace exceeded our expectations! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service!!!
The weak points
No complaints
Certified

Below Expectations

, Dartmouth, NS
2017-04-05
This property did not deliver on what they say the property offers.#1. 24hr room service (unless otherwise stipulated as "light menu", which it was not stipulated), was not acceptable in comparison to any other comparably priced resort I've stayed at in Jamaica. This resort had no hot meals - at all, for room service. They would not even provide french fries. #2. This resort claims to offer "premium brand liquor throughout" but once again, this property did not have much of any premium liquor (even at the main lobby bar) that other comparably priced properties I've stayed at in Jamaica.#3. The evening entertainment was sub-standard for the price paid, especially when you have much better quality of nighttime entertainment at the two sister properties on each side of the Riu Palace. #4. I found it very odd that this property did not have even a small BBQ offering on the beach/pool area just to get a hot dog or burger (when again, the other two sister properties did and the cost of staying at either the Reggae or Montego properties was much less). #5. The Renova Spa was a joke. Again, not located at the Palace Resort (which we knew). My wife and I went for the "Spa Pedicure" and were very disappointed. The lady performing the pedicure on me cut my ankle (yes, my ankle) with the foot scraper brush, while my wife had her toe nails poorly painted and without toe separators. Sincerely, you can get far better value for the amount we paid at many other resorts - these are facts. As a traveler who's taken over 30 trips to all inclusive properties throughout the Caribbean in the last 19 years, this "5 Star" property, while very lovely, underachieves in value to any other comparably priced property I've stayed at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, new, friendly staff, lots of lounge chairs, good locations, outside shops nearby & quiet.
The weak points
As mentioned in my review.
Certified

Great Resort!

, Cantley, ON
2016-02-12
Great trip, Loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Hotel, food was amazing!Staff was super nice. Very relaxing, more activities just next door.
The weak points
Beach is very small and very quiet after 11pm, no nightlife at all. Not much to do outside the resort except if you want to grab a cab.
Certified

Perfect week

, Goulds, NL
2016-01-30
We have stayed at many Adult hotels this by far was the best, great food, great staff great place to relax [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, close to airport
The weak points
not much of a beach for walking
Pro

LOVED IT

, Scarborough, ON
2015-05-28
If you don't like socializing on your vacation, then you've picked the wrong place! Everyone here has a good time and everyone talks to everyone. The food is amazing, the staff are always smiling. Some people complain about the pettiest thing, if you are looking for perfection then stay home
Cant wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, staff, food, drinks, fun fun fun :)
The weak points
beach is on the smaller side. yes there are limited planes overhead but that's what you get for being so close to the airport

Beautiful resort

, Goulds, NL
2015-04-01
It far exceeded my expectations. Would go back there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were so friendl and very helpful..... From the staff at the front desk to the person maintaining the grounds.
The weak points
I did not have any.
Certified

Excellent Trip

, Oshawa, ON
2015-03-07
Just a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, Restaurant, buffet incredible and swimming good,local shopping and transportation readily available
The weak points
beach limited to hotel, (no long walks)
Certified

RIU PALACE - LOTS OF FUN

, Ottawa, QC
2014-03-05
Hotel was above average, however it is over-priced. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Above average. Staff fantastic and efficient, food great, very clean.
The weak points
Over-priced. Staff at water sports - unfriendly. Not having entertainment/water sports, etc., available at the Palace - have to always go next door. Small man-made beach (drop off in water).
Certified

Awesome Holiday

, Renfrew, ON
2014-03-02
We were extremely pleased with Riu Palace Jamaica. It was only 10 minutes from the airport which was wonderful. The front staff were very friendly upon arriving greeting us with a glass of champagne. Our rooms were spotless and we liked the new modern look. The food was amazing. The buffet had many choices and they were all delicious. The food was also amazing at the specialty restaurants and the staff was attentive and very friendly. Also the drinks were quite good and the bartenders were great. Thanks to Andre and the rest of the bartending staff. The entertainment crew made our vacation a lot of fun. Many Many thanks to Benny, Lorenzo, Renee and MoMo. My husband and I like to keep active. The morning started with aerobics on the beach, then pool volleyball and then pool aerobics. We visited Riu Montego Bay in the afternoons to kayak, paddle boat, play beach volleyball or just walk on the beach. In the evenings there were live bands at our resort or you could go to the shows at Riu Montego Bay. The shows were very good. We had an amazing vacation and can not say enough about the wonderful staff at Riu Palace Jamaica. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, delicious food, lots of activities,friendly smaller resort
The weak points
The beach was small for people who like to walk, but lots of room to swim and sunbathe.
Certified

Beautiful resort but...

, Cornwall, ON
2014-03-01
Beautiful resort. Extremely efficient and friendly staff. Beach leaves a lot to be desired (small and rocky). Quality of food is disappointing. Lack of variety at the buffet and the quality in restaurants a la carte was not there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly and very efficient. Pool very nice. Resort beautiful.
The weak points
Beach very small, not enough sand and full of rocks. Lack of variety in food and inconsistency. Overall disappointed with food compared to Riu Palace Macao in Dominican Republic. Lack of entertainment at night.
Certified

Riu Palace Montego Bay

, Tillsonburg, ON
2014-02-15
Beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliest staff that couldn't do enough for you. The a la carte restaurants were great
The weak points
The planes flying over every 5 minutes. The entertainment
Certified

RIU Palace Jamaica

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-18
This new adults only hotel is something to see, has very friendly staff, excellent service, has a very relaxing atmosphere, and the rooms are superior. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very modern hotel and rooms. 24 hour free Wi-Fi in rooms, throughout hotel, and at the pool and beach. Good variety of international and Caribbean food. Service excellent. Very friendly staff. Privileges at RIU Montego Bay Hotel next door.
The weak points
I would not say this is a weak point, however, since hotel near airport, planes take off over hotel resulting in some loud noise outside for a short time.
Certified

Rui Palace treats guests like Kings and Queens!

, Kingston, ON
2014-01-07
Let me remove my crown to tell you about the exquisite stay we had at the Rui Palace in Montego Bay. Staff are absolutely amazing- Delmer, Rochelle, Orette, Audley, Ricardo, Dr. Phil (Philmore), Dwight, Juliane at the front desk, and all of the cleaning staffer were exceptional. We were treated like royalty and there was never a moment where we were not spoiled and pampered but with sincerity and honest care and concern. What a well trained staff!!
Since the Riu Palace was opened only 2 months ago, we were favourably impressed by the completion of the project whereas at other resorts, construction issues carry on while guests adjust their daily activities. Everything was up and running with no disruption to our enjoyment of the facility.
Our purpose for our trip was to lose ourselves in relaxation and peace. The Rui Palace was perfect for this mission- we could chose a spot and escape with the sounds of the surf and the heat of the sun to surround us. Go as a couple for a romantic experience not for an abundance of activity. I highly recommend having the Romantic dinner on the beach- truly a highlight!
Water sport activity booking system is easy and staff are friendly and helpful. The life guards are watchful and attentive so you can enjoy yourself whatever activity you chose!
The Vogue bar was our favourite during the late afternoon and evening but every bartender was well versed in all of the drinks that we ordered. It was a total pleasure to be served by the entertaining wait staff out on the beach, by the pools, and in the bar areas. Every single person made a special effort to get our drink order exactly how we wanted it.
Finally, one of the most important elements that we look for in a resort is the food. All restaurants were fantastic with service that surpasses any that we have had at any other all-inclusive resorts. The food is fresh and with lots of variety so that you are never bored. We were very content with the buffet for breakfast and lunch because the quality of food was impeccable. What made the difference too was having staff who were engaged in our dining experience. Nothing beats the personal touch! Kudos to the Riu management team for being Number One in this aspect. We saw the chefs numerous times walking around and making sure that all was perfect for our dining.
I highly recommend this Riu Palace for your R and R destination in Jamaica. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff first and foremost are the KEY element to this particular Riu Palace's success! People count and everyone from the gardeners to the management team made us feel exceptionally welcome!
The weak points
Repetitive music - a narrow selection. I would recommend that someone choose a wide variety of musical selections to suit the time of day and the clientele so that the music enhances the vacation experience Room Service- limited and not tasty.
Certified

Riu Palace

2013-12-29
Overall Fantastic experience , Great food & service . Only issue was lack of access & poor reservation process to book the restaurants on site - [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible food & service from staff
The weak points
Poor reservation process for dinners in specialty restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?