Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda

Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
4.304.304.304.304.30
4.30 based on 492 reviews
#5 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (115)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

A nice stay

, Lincoln, NB
2020-02-27
Please see strong and weak points. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommend the Bahia Principe Esmeralda in the Dom. Republic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, variety of activities available, friendly cordial staff, beach, food, pool, etc.
The weak points
Noise level during evenings on first floor room, booking restaurants due to lack of availability, shifty Internet access, and variety of external activities
Certified

Bhia Principe Esmeralda

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-06
The hotel was clean, the grounds and beach beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, the room, the cleanliness. ``the guest services staff
The weak points
The food was mediocre. It was hard to get reservations in the a la carte restaurants, but once we got into the a la cartes, the locations and food were great.
Certified

Good place

, Pointe Claire, QC
2019-11-27
Nice food and drinks. Good service if you tip. Interior in the room is a bit tired. Good luck with booking a la carte... Not too much of kids entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All in all, I do not mind to go to this place once again
The weak points
Be ready to face some technical issues in your room
Certified

Overview

, North York, ON
2019-05-06
This hotel is over priced and over rated. This hotel is nice but best suited for families with young children. There is little to no adult entertainment and the lights and bar go off at 11:30 pm. The food at the buffet is average and the staff speaks little to no English. This can be a source of frustration for both the guest and staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely grounds and beach
The weak points
Staff is poorly trained and speaks little to no English Buffet is average Bars and lights go off at 11:30 pm No adult entertainment Lobby shops are below average
Certified

Trip

, London, ON
2019-04-05
We enjoyed most of the trip people food entertainment t was good not enough for adults at es. Esmeralda entertainment big problem with restaurants we had 2 weeks ahead and only 3 went through very hard getting them [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Meat restaurant was bad everyones food was not cooked well but every were else was good Entertainment at beach was great our rooms were great and clean
The weak points
Was only having our restaurant not organized
Certified

Resort

, Lac Du Bonnet, MB
2019-03-16
Loved the resort! The junior suite we had was exactly as it looked in the pictures! Very wide range of restaurants which was awesome. Would highly recommend this resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff couldn't do enough for us. They catered to us and remembered what we usually had to eat and drink! Fabulous
Certified

Wow

, North York, ON
2019-01-05
Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants are excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wow

, North York, ON
2019-01-05
Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants are excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Vacations and Very Good Resort!

, Varennes, QC
2018-12-10
Vacations with my wife and 6-year-old son. Very nice complex. Resort is very nice, clean and well maintained. Beautiful beach (not too much algae when we were there). Staff always smiling and helping. Food was great; especially the ''a la carte restaurants'' while the buffet was good but not has much choices compared to other ''all-included'' I have done recently. Free WiFi acces on the complex. Would go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, smiling and helping Staff, beach and ''a la carte'' restaurants. A lot of palapas and places on the beach.
The weak points
Although good, buffet meal selection/variety not as aboundant as other all-included visited recently.

Overall very good experience

, Mississauga, ON
2018-08-04
Location is good with a nice clean facility and amazing staff. The food at the buffets were good. The french restaurant was excellent but unfortunatly the Japanese restaurants takara and mikado dont serve actual japanese food. Whatever we order they serve the food in a dominican way and it takes a long time. The higher floors have brighter and less humid rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-the shuttle service is very well done
The weak points
-needs more outlets -wifi should be the same speed althoughout the resort -should start serving morning coffee earlier than 6:30 -the towel center should be open for longer than 6

An Amazing vacation!!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-06-11
Our family stay at the Resort was great. The entire team are fully focused on customer enjoyment from the Beach Restaurant (you need to meet Jesus at the grill; amazing waitress Luis, Hector, Marylin), at the Restaurant Buffet the food was decent and Juana made our breakfast an excellent experience. If you like "mojitos" as Juan at the Pool Bar to make them for you. Alexandra at the beach will ensure your drinks are always filled and she has a friendly and joyfull approach. When you get to your room find your mayordomo (buttler); Amauris was ours and what a great service. Our pillows were always ready every night and even our bathtub was prepped to celebrate our anniversary. Strongly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, landscaping is beautiful, hotel infraestructure is nice.
The weak points
The beaches were not nice during our stay (a lot of algeas) but this hiw the mother nature react in the season we selected. Pool chairs are limited but there are plenty at the beach.
Certified

Sunshine Getaway!

, Georgetown, ON
2018-04-05
This resort is not only beautiful but so well kept! You can see how hard the people work to make the grounds look the way they do! Very friendly people and good service! We enjoyed the food very much especially the buffet because of the variety of foods. There are beautiful pools even one for children if you like that but we prefer the beach. The beach was like never ending it was so long on both sides of the resort. Great for long walks everyday! Our room was beautiful with a safe and cleaned very well everyday! We had a wonderful time and experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dissapointment

, Welland, ON
2018-02-19
About 7 years ago we stayed at this resort but, in the Anbar Blue section. We loved the attention to detail then, and since we were traveling with our family believed we would love the Luxury Esmeralda.
When we were taken to our rooms my daughters room had at least 10-12 large bags of laundry, the room was not made up and the shower had a fuzzy mold on the shower walls. We tried to address the mold and the fact that her room was still not made up as other rooms are again on the third day, the room was finally addressed but the fuzzy mold was still there.
Since we were a group we decided to establish the coffee bar as our meeting point, so each am and pm we would meet before meals. Attention to service was little to non existent. Self serve Coffee machines in the coffee bar were available well into the evening on the day we arrived. Following that they were shut down at 6pm.
Pool side service was non existent...since the wind was high the beach was not accessable due to high waves, so we stayed around the main pool. Only once during a 7 day stay did we get any poolside service! Pool loungers well there were lots of towels on many chairs, no people to claim the towels...it would have been nice to have had management enforce the no saving loungers rule...only then would we have been able to have seating for our group. In fact we all agreed that the day before our last daywe would sit together at the pool, however the only way we were able to do that was to have my husband head to the pool at 5am and gather 7 loungers and guard them. All other loungers were claimed by 6am.
We asked for assistance to find loungers and were told we needed to find someone who worked in the pool area...good luck!
Although the hotel may appear to be 5 star I would not class it 5 star any longer. As noted earlier 7 years ago I was amazed with the service and care we received...this time it is asif no one really cared.
We have stayed at 4-5 other Bahia Principe establishments in various countries each experiece knocked me off my feet and we always spoke highly of our experice, I will not return to this establishemtn in Punta Cana would not recommend this Hotel;. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
First Impression wow factor...
The weak points
too large most staff do not smile or care!
Certified

Nice resort, but not worth a 5 star rating

, Scarborough, ON
2018-01-14
Very beautiful and well kept set of resorts overall. Took the hotel 4 hours to get our room ready. Housekeeping was always slow every day, and never followed our instructions for no alcohol and extra chips that we regularly shared with reception and their manager. I really hated how crowded the beach was. We went during low season, so I can only imagine the nightmare for those people who go during busy season. One of the two buffet restaurants was closed the whole week we were there. Some of the a la carte's were really delicious, though we were only able to secure reservations for them on 4 of our 7 nights' stayed at the hotel, and basically took what was available. Doesn't feel like a true 5 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Newer hotel, near the beach. A few of the a la Carte restaurants are excellent. Multiple pools
The weak points
Resort is part of multiple Bahia brands (about 8 hotels) sharing same tiny beach area, so really overcrowded. Resorts are far too big overall. Buffet food was always lukewarm and not very tasty. Poor TV reception in room. Slow housekeeping speed

Awesome Hotel and great staff

, Edmonton, AB
2017-09-10
It was a great experience overall, the Esmeralda hotel was really close to the beach and convenient. Food was good and they have a great variety of alcoholic drinks as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They do not really bother you and chase you around and try to sell you time shares
The weak points
The hotel is far away from the other 6 or 7 hotels and in order to visit the other hotels you need to take a golf cart that sometimes is not available
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Truro, NS
2017-04-24
The experience was amazing , I was in paradise . The staff were so happy and upbeat made my experience even better . The resort was spotless and the food was good . It was beyond my expectations . I liked that Esmeralda went adults only for the winter months . I will return next spring if it is adults only for that time again . Our butler Aneary was a polite young man and made our stay unforgettable . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and cleanliness were fantastic .
The weak points
Room the first few days was not cleaned till late afternoon or suppertime . Had a leak in ceiling twice but was fixed within 20 minutes .
Certified

Excellent hotel, staff, and beach

, Lindsay, ON
2017-04-20
Very large facility with 7 hotels within the resort. The grounds and rooms and restaurants are kept spotlessly clean. Wonderful people who go above and beyond to make your vacation outstanding. The only negative was the gym, the one at fantasia is the only one to use, the other two are pretty basic, and not very well equipped [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, pools, and food were excellent
The weak points
The fridge in the room didn't keep the drinks cold, got a new one, and it was the same.
Certified

I WOULD RECOMMEND

, Devlin, ON
2017-02-07
BEAUTIFUL BEACH, DOSENT GET MUCH BETTR. CLEAN, STAYED ROOM 93004 FIRST FLOOR GREAT ROOM.QUIET. WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESORT. HAD A GREAT STAY. I HAVE BEEN MANY PLACES AND I WOULD RETURN HERE. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

GREAT TIME

, Devlin, ON
2017-02-07
I HAVE BEEN TO THE DOMINICAN 4 TIMES. THIS RESORT WAS VERY NICE , CLEAN, AND WELL KEPT. THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND BEACH WAS AMAZING.CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE BEACH. I ALLWAYS DO A 4 STAR OR BETTER THIS WAS TO MY FUL EXPECTATIONS.ONLY THING IS THAT THE ALACART RESTERAUNTS ARE VERY SPREAD OUT BUT THEY DO HAVE A SHUTTLE TO EACH ONE AND ARE EASY ENOUGH TO CATCH [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent vacation resort

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-20
Our 3rd time returning to this resort. Excellent service and amenities [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful clean resort. Excellent service. Delicious food.
The weak points
Can't think of any
Certified

Horrible vacation

, Brampton, ON
2016-06-12
Bad food, horrible service, the pool gave me a rash. They don't clean it everyday. The employees are rude. The maid didn't clean our room properly even though I left her a tip everyday. 1 day I forgot to leave her a tip and there was juice spilled on the washroom door some got on my makeup brush and there was still sand on the floor. I never going to this hotel ever again. I'm sticking to Mexico! And also I arrived and they took over 3 hours to check me in and gave rooms to other people who arrived the same time as me. How very rude!! And the only good thing was the beach that's all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Medium service

, Edmundston, NB
2016-06-07
clean rooms.nice restaurant a la carte.service at esmeralda lounge is non existant. My 5 times over there, had asked a balcony when i booked and got a terrace, when i told the manager at the lobby that i should have got the balcony because it was my 5th times there, he smirk a arrogant smile.very dissapointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room and restaurant a la carte
The weak points
service at front desk and at lobby bar
Certified

My second trip down south

, Saint-Hubert, QC
2016-05-20
This was my second trip down south. My first one was in Cuba. This trip however was very different seeing as I went with my girlfriend rather than a bunch of buddies. I would consider this a beautiful location and would encourage others to go. I was quiet impressed with the fact there was a Butler service where you could choose your pillow type and even select various different scents to be sprayed in your room for relaxation purposes. The grounds are massive as you can visit the entire Bahia Principe complex. We enjoyed dinners at many of the different hotels. Our principle decision to go to the Esmeralda was due to its proximity to the beach. We had the opportunity to enjoy a week of real relaxation. We didn't participate in any of the excursions however, they did look very interesting. I highly recommend this place to others. I will definitely head back there one day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Difficulties speaking with the staff due to limited understanding of English and French.

Great family vacation

, Newmarket, ON
2016-04-28
We stayed at this hotel the week of April 11-18. The best resort we stayed at so far . The grounds were well kept and beautiful. Rooms are exceptionally clean. And the food was great . Staff was helpful and friendly . Planning our return for next year . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms were clean at all times Beautiful grounds and beaches Amazing pools for young children Food was good
Certified

False Advertising

, London, ON
2015-12-27
Esmeralda is a pretty property from the outside but rooms are dated, dirty and not well maintained. Food is not horrible but is when you're there for 7 days and served the same food over and over again every single day. The least they can do is serve a different cuisine every day. Uncreative and unhelpful staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful week!

, Richmond, QC
2015-10-03
Loved loved loved this hotel!Was here 2 years ago but in the Ambar section. Esmeralda is equally as great only there are children so if you don't want kids around go to the Ambar.We were lucky the weather was 7 days of blue sky and VERY hot (just what you want on vacation). The food is amazing at this resort as are the drinks.
We only went to the buffet and the presentation and quality of the food is very impressive. We did book the Don Pablo but had to cancel as it is the only a la carte that requires men to dress in long pants and my husband did not bring any which was a little disappointing! The site is extremely clean and the public washrooms are nicer than some here in Quebec and they smell very nice!!! We were lucky almost no seaweed and what little there was was being constantly raked up by workers at the resort BRAVO as the other resorts weren't doing the same. Unfortunately the ocean is not calm like other destinations and the water is not as clear either. All in all it was a fantastic trip and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of the resort and the food
The weak points
3 years ago we were in the Bavaro section and we visited the Esmeralada which was new at that time. I remarked on how beautiful and classy it was to see that there was carpeting in the halls. Now 3 years later the carpet is filthy and should be removed!
Certified

Luxury Esmeralda Experience

, Kleinburg, ON
2015-08-23
Excellent staff, clean, spacious room, excellent food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service, and blue.
The weak points
seaweed on the beach.
Certified

Luxury

, Bowmanville, ON
2015-02-20
Wonderful, helpful staff. Beautifully keep grounds. Excellent, fresh food. Lots of choices for activities or just hanging out at the beach. Felt very safe walking in both directions on the beach. Loved the waves and the water was delightful. On rainy days the staff worked extremely hard to keep you happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds, beach and food.
The weak points
Room was nothing fantastic
Certified

Great resort!

, Waterloo, ON
2015-01-13
We really enjoyed our holiday; the food was good although we did encountered difficulties setting up dinner reservations at a few of the restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly and attentive
The weak points
Very small and crowded beach
Certified

BEAUTIFUL RESORT

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2014-12-09
This was an awesome trip. Absolutely LOVE this resort. Have been there 5 times. Maid put rose petals along the hallway in the bathroom and a bubble bath was waiting! Food excellent.This is the only resort that we are going to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SO CLEAN. EVERYTHING MARBLE. BEAUTIFUL RESORT
The weak points
This week there was a lot of seaweed along beach due to rough seas
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020