Dreams Macao Beach Punta Cana

Dreams Macao Beach Punta Cana
4.534.534.534.534.53
4.53 based on 32 reviews
#3 of 110 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (116)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing Place

, Toronto, ON
2024-05-16
Everything from house keeping, to entertainment, to food, to service was excellent. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Nothing bad to say. Will definitely be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Dreams Macao is Amazing

, Miramichi, NB
2024-04-26
The best experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
Everything was exquisite
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Welland, ON
2024-03-07
This resort is so amazing. Not too big that you feel crowded and not too small to be bored. The staff were very attentive to your needs. The food choices were excellent. We always were able to find a chair either by the pool or on the beach. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Facility is so clean and well maintained and there seems to be an extraordinary amount of staff that work there daily. Attention to detail was great and restaurant choices very good.
The weak points
The waves at the beach were so strong that we could not swim in the ocean.
Certified

Pros and Cons, considering returning with the kids

, Orono, ON
2024-02-25
Wife and I had a week away from the kids. Hotel is just over 30mins from airport, provided no other drop-offs en route. We appreciated the adult only pool (as we opted for the preferred club), but was disappointed the preferred club beach area was so set back from the ocean with minimal view, although it was quiet. We paid extra for Oceanview, and after 3 rooms we realized the building setup only allows for partial Oceanview at best - you had to stand or sit in the corner of the patio to see a portion the ocean shoreline (this was the best of three rooms and the highest floor). We ate at the A La Cartes for all dinners and were impressed. Buffet for breakfast as the eggs at Oceana always came out runny and service was slow. Taco truck is a must for lunch and barefoot grill was great. Beach sand was nice, very walkable and clean overall. Sports bar was very accommodating in finding the games we wanted to watch. Gym was clean, suitable for vacation workouts. The grounds were very well kept. Entertainment staff had quite the following. Great children's amenities, we are considering returning with our kiddos at some point. Coffee shop was awesome. Door lock mechanism batteries died on us and it took 3 trips across the resort to concierge and 1hr15mins to have it fixed. Coffee makers in room didn't seem to work. Snack restocking in room was seldom. Lots of weddings throughout the week but didn't affect our stay any. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
A La Carte restaurants were great - food and service. Resort well maintained. Beautiful Spa!! Coffee from Cafe was great! Adults only pool and service. Taco Truck! Lots to do! Preferred club lounge bar and snacks!
The weak points
Ocean View rooms are partial-oceanview at best, from balcony only. Too wavy to swim in ocean. Spa is expensive, but very nice! Breakfast at Oceana. View from preferred club beach section. Ocean swimming is rough. Beach/pool service hit and miss.
Certified

Great Family Holiday!

, Unionville, ON
2023-12-30
We had a fantastic Christmas holiday at Dreams Macao! Thanks to our butler Fransico for his attentivness! Jay Ventura and Rossy the team at the adult preferred pool really made our holiday relaxing! Willy Wonka at the preferred beach made our Christmas Day a memorable one! The ladies at the spa were fabulous as well. Our experience at Dreams Macao Beach was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-butler Fransico, helpful -preferred pool staff, Jay Ventura and Rossy, got to know us and were positive and attentive -preferred beach, Willy Wonka-made our beach day amazing -double decker Bali bed -amazing drinks -hibachi was entertaining
The weak points
-hard to get a seat at hibachi
Certified

Negative overall

, Toronto, ON
2023-09-10
check-in took extremely long with upselling then VIP scam to bribe you with free massages to try to get you to buy a membership to dreams. don't waste half a day

ran out of towels, even with "concierge" service, towels came in next day. what kind of hotel runs out of towels?

caught hand foot mouth

unfriendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
newer hotel, beach was nice on the last 2/7 days because seaweed was cleaned out
The weak points
unfriendly staff, got sick, had no towels for bathing - something is wrong with how this place is run
Certified

Nice, quiet resort

, Notre Dame Ile Perrot, QC
2023-03-06
Positives:
- Nice new hotel
- Pools were gorgeous, warm and well maintained
- Beach was super nice, very quiet because its rough. No seaweed, nice sand, warm water
- Kids could borrow boogie boards for free and ride the waves. Huge for teens
- No reservations needed at restaurants and always had room. Food was best at Asian, Mexican and the grill
- Resort if big but well thought out, you never feel crowded
- Always had chairs and palapas available
- For us we wanted to rest and this resort was perfect and was very quiet. If you want to party this is not the place for you.
- Lazy river and water slides were great - small and big kids will be well served.
- Lots of possible activites just not well advertised

Cons:
- I would not recco this beach if you have kids under 8 that like to swim in the ocean or if you just like to lounge in the water. Its impossible, wave after wave will be hitting you
- Shower temperatures irregular. Everytime you shower the water goes from hot to cold
- Food was terrbile at Italian restaurant [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and pool were clean and seaweed free. No reservations at restaurants. Even though the resort was full you did not get that impression at all.
The weak points
Beach is very rough - great for my teens not good for little kids. Food was ok
Sanitary measures
sanitizer available that's about it
Certified

Amazing Resort, Outstanding Service

, Montréal, QC
2023-02-05
We stayed for 7 nights at Dreams Macao and it was one of the best resorts we ever visited in Punta Cana, we had the preferred package Ocean view room "Stunning view from our balcony". The service was outstanding from the staff, the restaurants are ok the food is decent for an All-inclusive package down south. Now the important stuff; the Beach is one of the nicest and cleanest beach in Punta Cana No "Seaweeds". Strong WIFI 6 connection in the lobby, rooms, and pool... weak to no signal near the beach but that's fine with us we need to disconnect :).

The entertainment staff are friendly and they try their best to make your stay as lovely as possible.

Our Room was cleaned twice daily, once we leave for breakfast we come back to a clean room with, refilled bar and snacks, also when we leave for supper the bed is made and the room is cleaned again.

Food, we had many specialty restaurants to pick from, no reservations were required you just walk in "we loved that" but we went to the buffet most of the time or the BAR GRILL near the pool many food choices at the buffet.

We will come again for sure after the great service we had, highly recommended for couples and families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean beach no seaweed, super service, and good food.
The weak points
Need more bathrooms near the pool and beach.
Certified

Fabulous resort

, Toronto, ON
2022-12-28
What a fantastic place. Beautiful rooms, superb facilities, great food, wonderful staff. We had a lovely time at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, food, layout, waterpark.
The weak points
Housekeeping often "forgot" to replenish things. Was it for extra tips?
Certified

A little piece of Heaven!

, Antigonish, NS
2022-03-08
This resort exceeded my expectations. Staff are friendly and helpful.The place is very clean and well maintained. I rarely eat when I'm away but the food was so amazing,I had to. I really never got to try the restaurants except the buffet. I would eat at the Barefoot during the day, so I was never hungry in the evening. Amazing pizza [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
For me, the first impression is critical. I felt very welcomed from the moment I stepped out of the vehicle and this lasted the entire time. Staff go above and beyond to ensure you are satisfied. Very professional team. Keep up the excellent service.
The weak points
Beautiful beach but very dangerous for swimming. Addison was the life guard and he deserves a metal.
Sanitary measures
Masks worn at Buffet and enforced. Resort is so very clean. Kudos to all you cleaning staff. You so one amazing job.
Certified

January 2022

, Montréal, QC
2022-01-30
Loved this hotel and would absolutely revisit. Rooms were clean and modern. A few restaurant options on the property. Buffet was sometimes closed in the evening. They have a lot of activities such as 2 water slides (one for children and one for older), tennis, rock climbing, arcade with bowling, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Hotel was very clean which was nice. The staff constantly cleaned the premises and the rooms were cleaned twice a day. They have a few restaurant options and you do not need a reservation which is great. Rooms are spacious and modern.
The weak points
Buffet was sometimes closed at night
Sanitary measures
Amazing sanitary measures in place the staff was constantly cleaning, wearing their masks and enforced a mask when we were getting our food at the buffet.
Certified

Too much money for the experience

, Orangeville, ON
2022-01-01
Hotel was oversold. People everywhere. Shoulder to shoulder and no COV ID protocols in place besides them giving you a dab of lotion before entering the restaurants.
We were in preferred club and needed and extra bed for my grandson. It was so uncomfortable he slept with us every night again…..not what we paid for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Hotel was new and main lobby was beautiful.
The weak points
Oversold, uncomfortable bed, maids did not come everyday. There were 2 days we had no maid service. Drinks were watered down, wine was horrible. Had to buy a bottle every night.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024