Grand Bavaro Princess

Grand Bavaro Princess
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 898 reviews
#28 of 110 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (339)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Good

, Mississauga, ON
2024-04-09
Everything was good i just wish the the food was a bit better meaning more flavour and spices and wish the pool tables where in much need of repair and another beer variety would be grat but overall good time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Quiet Vacation

, Chateauguay, QC
2024-03-21
My wife and I spent a week at Grand Bavaro Princess in the Platinum Section from February 14 - 21.
We found the hotel grounds very nice, although very large, but there is a shuttle that runs constantly.
Lots of peacocks and other birds on the grounds and there is a nice little nature reserve also.
Our room was nice, but not much of a view.
We found the food to be OK and, for the most part, the staff to be very friendly.
We had breakfast & lunch at the PBG Grill and it was good.
We are not pool people, so we spent all of our days at the beach.
The beach itself was beautiful, but if you didn't get down to find a spot before 9:00 am, you were scrambling.
Many people go down early and grab spots, but don't come back until after lunch.
Also, with The Platinum Section of the hotel full, there are not enough spots on the beach.
Out favorite spot was the rooftop bar on top of the PBG Grill.
After dinner, it's a great place to wind down your night.
Remember, that this is a kids friendly hotel....even in The Platinum Section.
All in all, it was a good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
PBG Grill, Staff, Grounds
The weak points
Not enough spots on the beach
Certified

Beautiful Beach

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-15
The beach is beautiful. The staff were very friendly. The food was hit and miss. The platinum restaurant at beach Platinum Grill and Bar was very good. There is no crown royal whiskey. Although they claim with platinum you get premium spirits. In addition there was a pungent smell of sewer outside our unit. This made it very unpleasant to use the patio. If you use ATM be aware it only will give you a 1000 pesos in bills and there is no one that will exchange it in lower denominations for you. No one. The front desk looks at you like you are trying to exchange monopoly money. The coffee shop was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful Beach
The weak points
Pungent Smell
Certified

Fantastic resort

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-13
My first time to Punta Cana...been to many other resorts in various locations and this place best by far.I do not go on holidays just for the food however the food here was spectacular ...the staff were all pleasant and helpful...rooms were perfect..beaches as good if not better than Veradero. Just a wonderful experience.I travelled with a friend whom has a mobility issue and this resort was perfect for Him in many ways.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
I will return here again...and would highly recommend to anyone considering..I met so many people who were there on their 8th..10th one person 35th visit...tells you something..
The weak points
very difficult to find a weak spot at this place..
Certified

Grand Bavaro Princess

, Calgary, AB
2024-02-28
Excellent resort, very clean and modern. Rooms are very large, with a large balcony. Resort is very big but trollies were always available. Staff where very friendly and helpful, everything was cleaned continuously. Beach is beautiful, lot of chairs and Palapas, however you need to go early, many guests put towels on them very early to save for later in the day. Food was very good, lots of selections at the buffets. Al a carts were excellent, you have to book early as reservations are limited. A lot of families with small children, but the resort had plenty of activities for them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Rooms are very clean and comfortable
Certified

Grand Bavaro Princess

, Brockville, ON
2024-02-21
The weather was great and the resort very clean & beautiful. Our first time there and going south in many many years. Very enjoyable and we will go back. Highly recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great beach & pool. Food had excellent options to choose from.
The weak points
Not enough shade spots on the beach and lots of the chairs were broken
Certified

Grand bavaro princess

, Gatineau, QC
2024-02-17
Nice place . Great beach. Buffet poorly organized and lacking variety [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach was beautiful
The weak points
Buffet was very dissapointing
Certified

Family Getaway

, Milton, ON
2024-01-04
Our family has travelled many different resorts throughout the Caribbean. Grand Bavaro is advertised as a 5-star rating. In our family opinion, this resort should be a 3.5-to-4-star rating. The grounds are impeccable. The buffet and food assortments are smaller than expected for this size of resort and the buffet is not very well organized. The room (Villa #0402) was close to the main pool and beach which was a plus! We usually stay at RIU resorts which we are comparing this resort to. No comparison. We felt that most staff had attitude. It seemed that they were inconvenienced when we asked for something. We will be sticking to RIU's going forward. We know what to expect when going to them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, grounds, bars
The weak points
Entertainment was lacking at nighttime. Buffet flow was weak. Most staff did not have a level of service attitude that we have received at other resorts.
Sanitary measures
There were no sanitation dispensers in the buffet restaurants.
Certified

Good resort but not great

, Ottawa, ON
2023-12-14
Platinum section of the resort - I recommend in general but it depends on your situation.
It's worth it for the fact that you can order room service free of charge (we used it once and no problem there) and you have that private section on the beach witch was nice because of the bed and the Bali beds. Otherwise everything else is the same.
Not much entertainment...had to look it up ourselves otherwise almost nothing announced...on the app you can find out some activities but basic...then you have to inquired where it is, etc.
The app worked very well for restaurant reservation...so definitely take the time to navigate through it completely.

Food wasn't bad but nothing great...standard fare for the price. Lukewarm under lamps that don't keep it very warm.

Teppaniaky was pretty good...since the food was prepared in front of you and put in your plate, that one was actually hot and good.

Italian was traditional fare, so either cream or cheese sauce...nothing tomato based.

Grill (Gaucho) we asked for example mashed potato with gravy to go with the ribs for my wife and lamb for me.
The mashed potato came with boiled potatoes and carrots and we were told to use the grave that came with the meat for the potatoes.

For the ribs and wings, it was the same thick sauce a bit sweet...no choices there.

Indian was decent also.

For most restaurants, the food was decent but no too spicy or too warm.

One negative for the room: Pressure was low but that is fairly common but the shower is only a rain shower so rinsing yourself is always a bit of a challenge when no hand shower available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean room with proper AC and the beach cleaned every day
The weak points
Food lukewarm at most restaurants and average at best with exceptions
Certified

Grand Bavaro princess

, Pierrefonds, QC
2023-12-07
Hotel very large with over 900 rooms and 600 staff. Very confusing given the layout of multiple identical buildings. Grounds were impeccable!! Really nice location on oceanfront. With the exception of medical staff , staff was bilingual...either Spanish, French and English. Food availability was confusing with reservations required for most. Buffets were offered on a limited hour basis. Rating 3.5/5

Medical staff was disappointing on my urgent visit on my 1st day. Doctor immediately requested my insurance certificate and my Medicare card (which i refused to provide)and told me that she wanted to send me by ambulance for a series of blood test. I said categorically NO
I explained that I had just had a series of blood tests before leaving and that I had a clean bill of health. She then asked me if I wanted her to examine me. After a quick review (5 minutes) blood pressure, blood sugar level and a look at my mouth she told me that I simply dehydrated and sold me 2 bottles of a sports drink all for the low price of 325.00 cdn

Thankfully, I refused any further care and resorted to my travel kit for gravol and immodium. As it turned out I was not dehydrated and was just suffering from the early symptoms of a cold caused by excess air conditioning in my room.
She appeared upset that I had refused to hand over my insurance papers which I found dishonest. Medical rating 1.5/5. Beware! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Grounds cleanliness and courteous staff
The weak points
Medical facility dishonest . Also snickered with her nurse over my previous bout with prostate cancer (in complete remission). Insulting to say the least.
Sanitary measures
Excellent!
Certified

Good but not great

, Cambridge, ON
2023-10-12
Hotel was good and the grounds were meticulously clean. However the attitude from front desk was not the best, I felt like the service staff was inviting and great. The cart service was really appreciated as the resort is huge.
We had issues with bugs in our room like cockroach and mosquitos, which can't be avoided in other rooms so we didn't bother.
Maid service was great
It's def not a 5 star
The food was repetitive and under seasoned
Wifi barely worked
There's no ac in the lobby or buffet so it's very hot
Avoid the holiday club they are a scam and super pushy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach Service staff Pool was nice temperature Lots of restaurant option on resort Clean bathrooms Cleaning crew was amazing
The weak points
Front desk staff is horrible and have a ton of attitude, did not have cash we could convert for tips, the holiday club scam people are all over. Not too many options at the buffet Food wasn't that good but the seafood and fresh grilled was good
Certified

DISAPPOINTING!!!

, Scarborough, ON
2023-08-11
Food
We just got back from a vacation in GBP and are recovering from food poisoning. The scallops were undercooked and the cod fish was not fresh. The salad also could have been washed with tap water. All in all the food was substandard and their wine was awful not what you expect from the platinum section of a supposedly 5 star resort.
Service
This resort is TOO BIG for the number of staff working, so it cannot efficiently serve their guests. Most times service was really slow. At times the person you ask for service just goes to the back and never returns. If you need to take their trolley it is constantly packed and you have a long wait time. The beach is nice but the main pool was disgustingly FILTY.
Not for people with mobility issues
We booked two rooms at the platinum section, one as a couple and another for a friend as a single. Due to mobility issues we insisted on ground floor accommodations. They gave us a ground floor with adjoining rooms. However, one room had the bedroom elevated by a couple of steps from the rest of the room. Late the same evening our friend fell and broke her leg. She also had a cut on her head and hand. She was ambulanced to the hospital. She had surgery and had to stay in the hospital for two weeks. The fall happened late at night going from the bedroom to the bathroom and missing the two steps on our FIRST NIGHT! This resort is not suited to people with mobility issues. No rails on stairs and no grab bar in the shower which could be slippery because of the tile flooring. Other guests had the same problem. The broken leg injury could have been prevented if the stairs had hand rail.
Bad Customer Service
Three days after the incident the daughter flew in from Europe. She requested to stay in her mother's room which was prepaid and unused for three days. No sympathy or compassion was shown. After being interrogated for half an hour, she was authorized to stay for one night. She was told to check back the next day to see if she is allowed to stay longer, although the room was already prepaid.
OVERALL I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and ocean
The weak points
Service slow and indifferent, food was substandard you have to be careful what to eat and place is way TOO BIG.

Review of my stay

, Laval, QC
2023-05-30
Hi,
We were 4 adults and 1 baby (me, my husband, baby, mom and sis). We asked for connecting rooms and we did not received it, in fact they put us in 2 seperate bungalow units. This was the most inconvenience, never did I stay with my family and hotels were not able to accommodate to connecting rooms. On top of that our Ac was not properly working. We couldn't regulate the temperature thus we had to close it because of the baby, it was too cold and we couldn't lower/higher the Temperature. We could only put on or off. Our fridge was not working and no one came to fix until our end of our stay. And they put the new fridge on the floor and kept the old one, very not professional. We called service twice thus my baby milk was getting bad and we had to throw it away. That was extremely stressful to manage. In my room we had bath robes but not my mom's and the service was extremely rude when we asked to send bath robes in my moms room. I mean are you sure this is a 5-star hotel?
They didn't change towels or clean well in the rooms
The beach was absolutely beautiful but the pool was very disgusting. There's only 1 bar and 1 bartender in the pool thus service was extremely slow. The wifi is really bad.

The buffet was good and had many choices except for the weekend, I guess because of the locals. The restaurants were extremely bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach was beautiful and well cleaned
The weak points
-service at the front desk especially check in -the rooms ac and fridge -cleaners in the room -restaurants -pool
Certified

Good but could be improved upon

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2023-04-03
Some good and some bad. Most of the issues could easily be resolved if you were to hire more staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The restaurants were good however the wait staff were inconsistent. Great beach, however someone should rake the beach seating area. Great weather and a lot of seating area in the beach. Maids did a good job - not great. Property was well looked after.
The weak points
Poor entertainment for a five star resort. Some very unfriendly wait staff at the ala carte restaurants. Most of he wait staff at the buffets were much friendlier and helpful. Few staff members spoke English.
Certified

Grand Bavaro Princess

, Glencoe, ON
2023-03-19
We had a great holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, pool, friendly staff, cleanliness.
The weak points
Internet, very few spoke understandable English, everyone complained about the air conditioning in the units.
Certified

Very Grand Bavaro Princess

, Saskatoon, SK
2023-03-03
Our experience here was amazing as always. We have come here about 5 or 6 times, this was our first visit with the resort having been renovated and things were even better! Clean, beautiful suites, amazing food, friendly staff, and the most beautiful beaches ever! We will definitely recommend this resort and return here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, beautiful suites, amazing food, friendly staff, and the most beautiful beaches ever! We will definitely recommend this resort and return here.
The weak points
Very large and overwhelming at first other than that no weak points that we could see.
Certified

Disappointing !

, Ottawa, ON
2023-02-24
The hotel is very big. We where in the Platinum part, that was smaller and had it's own beach, buffet and pool. It was disappointing because it did not live up to the description. The restaurants where mediocre, buffet was acceptable. My understanding is, you paid for an upgrade to have less people. We had to complain to get better room cleaning. The concierge was in the lobby but was of zero help. Was not worth the money we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Grand Bavaro Princess 2023

, Fredericton, NB
2023-02-24
This was our third trip to the Bavaro Princess and each time it just continues to exceed the last one. From the Platium experience to the infamous food selection this resort is by far second to none. The staff were and did by far the best that you can find. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great food. The accomdations were out of this world. Friendly staff. Beautiful weather.
The weak points
No weak points from me.
Certified

The best Resort

, Brampton, ON
2023-02-11
Before I state my review, first and foremost stop reading all of these negative reviews!!!!
My boyfriend and I stayed as a platinum member, which is what I would recommend to anyone who would like to stay at this resort because you will have access to all the good amenities and receive the absolute amazing service and food. I have visited dominican over the years and went to about 10-15 different resorts in punta cana and grand bavaro princess is the best resort I have ever been too, except for Hard Rock Hotel.
The food is here is amazing, i was never hungry. The staff were incredible, they always wanted to make sure we left the resort feeing satisfied ( Tipping is a must) what you give is what you get. These staff work very hard to keep us happy and welcome. The wifi is actually very good and fast on most of the resort! LOVED the scenery and wild life on the resort. The beaches were beautiful and the sand is clean with hardly any seaweed and coral reefs on it. They work very hard to keep everything clean here. the drinks were amazing and if you want them strong just ask. Some staff don't understand english very well, but its still easy to communicate with them to get what you want. Very clean resort. Room was amazing along with the view. nightlife was good always live music and dancing and the shows were very good as well. The stores are a bit over priced but they will have everything you need which is convenient. Bring bug spray to avoid getting attacked by mosquitoes LOL.ALL IN ALL we loved this resort and will be back again for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff are amazing. Food is really good and the wifi is pretty good. The beach well cleaned.
The weak points
Some staff don't speak english...

Grand Bavaro Princess

, Dundas, ON
2023-01-10
My daughter and I stayed at the hotel from Dec 29th to Jan 6th and we had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful and clean. We had a room that was fairly central to the trolley pick-up and we requested a change of room to somewhere quieter and this was granted without an issue. The staff are friendly including the Animation team. The food was decent, and the drinks were delicious. I especially loved the coffee bar. The wifi was not reliable, and the hobie cats for sailing were not functional when we were there which is something we enjoy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The grounds, staff, rooms, location and beach, drinks.
The weak points
Wifi, food, lack of sailboats, COVID measures i.e. ideally hand sanitizer should be readily available at all restaurants around the buffet areas.
Sanitary measures
Most activities and restaurants are open air which is great but ideally hand sanitizer should be readily available at all restaurants around the buffet areas.
Certified

Large beautiful property

, Kitchener, ON
2022-12-25
Long distance from lobby/main buffet to the beach but they had trolley people movers every few minutes to take you around the loop all day long. Buffet had wonderful selections and more than 2 or 3 stations for omelettes, etc. Rooms were large, bright and lovely with big balcony. Wonderful tropical natural area to view lots of birds, flamingos and wildlife within the property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach had lots of loungers, big bright rooms with large balcony, tropical natural area
Certified

Overall 4.5/5

, Toronto, ON
2022-12-08
The hotel and grounds are modern and well kept. The rooms are second to none and staff welcoming and friendly. The vegetation and various animals are beautiful and walking the grounds enjoyable. There are a number of pools good for adults as well as some for children including a children's area.
The buffets are loaded with a large variety of food fruit cheeses and salads so you would be hard pressed not to find something you like. The specialty restaurants are good and geared towards a specific line of food so you have numerous choices for meals. The pub as well as food trucks are great for a quick snack.
The beach is beautiful with enough loungers if you are willing to actually take the time if you are a later riser and find individuals which can be put together.
If you are platinum there are some advantages like better choices in alcoholic beverages as well as booking your restaurants a couple of days ahead of time and hanging out in the evening at the rooftop lounge on the beach which is nice. If you go with the regular bungalow it is also good although you may have to wait for a dinner seating grab a drink it is great. Nightly shows are for the most part non existent save for piano type player. Not sure why the shows are no longer as it was a great place to spend the evenings and the crew worked hard which was appreciated. The animation team are ok not as active as before covid. Overall as this is the second time we have visited you can tell we love it here after visits to various resorts both here and Cuba and my wife upon arrival called it her happy place lol so we say try it you will love it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach food and pools are good. Drinks are good. Is this not why we go ? lol
The weak points
Nightly entertainment lacking. Not much else I can think of that negatively impacted our visit.
Certified

Incredible Vacation

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-03-06
This resort is great, it was our third time here and first since their renovations and the place is outstanding, staff was great, food was a hundred times better then before so many options to choose from (even more if you're staying in platinum) it is a massive resort that has everything from families to couples all age groups. If you want peace and quiet I'd suggest not staying to close to the beach but if you don't mind then the beach is the place to be, entertainment on weekend nights and the platinum pool section always rocking. Thanks again to all the staff at this resort making it that much better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, food, rooms, staff
The weak points
None
Certified

Amazing hotel

, Mississauga, ON
2022-03-02
The hotel is amazing, cleaned and organized, there are many restaurants with a good food, lots of beautiful birds around, many activities to do at morning and night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Quick check in and check out Rooms so big and clean Transport between rooms lobby and beach
The weak points
Be careful about the guys with blue polo shirt, they want you to signed a membership contract so they can get a commission and they promise you a gift and special breakfast.
Certified

Good stay at Grand Bravaro

, Woodbridge, ON
2022-02-16
Had a nice day at Grand Bavaro princess. Complex very well kept, Food was good at most restaurants and buffets, Found most of the staff to be not that friendly very few of them Greet you and make you feel welcome. Rooms are decent and clean Needed to keep reminding them to change towels and top up toilet paper. For me the most annoying thing was staff bothering you about doing a 1/2 an hour meeting with them, i Paid good money to come and relax not to be disturbed every 20 minutes about doing meetings aint excursions once you op out they should leave you alone. I also speak and understand the Spanish language but I'm not Spanish and don't look Spanish so some of the conversations they have about people and about what they say about you is very disturbing very disturbing for country that relies heavy on tourism I think they should get a simple reminder on customer service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean clean place.
The weak points
Customer service customer service customer service
Sanitary measures
I really had no complaints here when I came to sanitary with food they were on point.
Certified

4 star, not a 5 star hotel

, Hanmer, ON
2021-12-25
This has the potential to be a 5 star hotel if they did some decent upgrades and maintenance of the property and enforced the rules that are implemented around the resort.
The receptionist conned my fiancée into believing that for an extra $100 usd that she would be upgraded to a suite, which was a lie and he pocketed the money.
People smoking in the pool area around children. People cutting in line during the buffet and not very well organized during meal times with the cleaning and clearing of tables. Covid-19 cleaning was at a minimum during meal times because it was so busy.
What discouraged me the most was people smoking everywhere on the property. No designated smoking sections. Smokers were very rude with discarding the cigarette butts on the beach and other areas of the resorts.
Many times I had to yell at people to be quiet while I was trying to sleep. From screaming kids, crying babies and drunk people arguing, I expected to get more rest at a 5 star resort.
Many guests didn't follow the rules of the resort and don't respect other guests privacy or peace of quiet.
I won't be going back to this resort.
This was not the quiet place to go for a relaxing romantic getaway that I anticipated. Too many screaming kids and crying babies.
The wifi kept cutting in and out during the whole stay here, even in the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful location. Food was delicious , but very few vegan or vegetarian options. The staff is very friendly and overall I enjoyed my stay.
The weak points
There were ants in the bathroom. The toilet needed to be repaired because it was hard to flush. The shower handle came off when I went to shower, A few of the tiles were loose in the shower area. Need to provide more blankets and pillows.
Sanitary measures
Very few sanitary measures during meals times with the cleaning and clearing of tables. Staff did wear masks at all times, but many tables were not cleaned when looking for a place to sit in the buffet area.
Certified

Holiday in Paradise

, Burton, NB
2020-02-21
From the luxury suites to the exellent cullunary experience, this resort is a hidden gem. This vacation was my second time staying at this resort, it never disappoints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are second to none. Always ensuring you are very well looked after. They always go out of their way to make you feel very welcomed.
The weak points
There are none.
Certified

Excellent winter vacation

, Waterloo, ON
2020-02-19
This was our second visit and. Returned because we enjoyed last year so much and were so comfortable
This year our expectations were exceeded
Beautiful renovation
World class service
Excellent restaurants for choice and dinners [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Awesome

, Kitchener, ON
2019-04-16
We were very pleased with the resort. Service was very friendly. The room was beautiful. This was our first time in the Dominican and we will be back. The only con was been harrassed by the timeshare guys who would try to trick you into taking you to the presentation. We had to dodge them and divert direction to avoid them. We and others we spoke to felt it inappropriate and harassing. Other than that the beach was beautiful, the pool was awesome. We had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and pool were wonderful. Great service.
The weak points
Tipping every little thing and been harrassed on vacation by the timeshare guys.
Certified

Great stay!

, Oromocto, NB
2019-04-05
We had upgraded to Platinum last minute and glad we did. The whole resort was amazing but the Platnum lounge made booking dinners, checking in and checking out very simple and fast. Plus the rooms were closer to the beach.
Huge resort but 2-3 buffet options for dinners, plus your typical burger spots on site.
Food was amazing and a large variety with themed buffets.
I'm very particular with my food and room and this was the first time I would ever go back to the same resort again.
Lots of repeated customers between their 5th and 9th returns... both platinum and otherwise.
Only compliant, if I had one, would be the time share people. They were every where offering drives or free meals to get you to attend an info session. By day 2 we recognized they has specific name tags with ‘Royal' something or other on them and just started dating ‘no thank you' and walked away. Really no problem with them.
Most amazing beach ever!
The Japanese restaurant and Brazillian (offered on the adjacent princess resort through Platinum) were to die for! And the coffee shop next to the Brazillian was fantastic as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024