Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar

Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
4.364.364.364.364.36
4.36 based on 903 reviews
#4 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (62)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Spoiled at Ambar!

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2020-02-12
We travelled as a couple to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Feb 4-11,2020. We were completely spoiled during our stay here! At check in we received our welcome cocktail and cool cloth and were quickly checked in and upgraded to a swim out room at our request. Our butler was very attentive and always answered our requests and made a point of checking on us throughout the resort when we would run into him. The food is amazing both at the buffets and the a la cartes! There is something for everyone -you will never go hungry! We even enjoyed the room service! The beach is just beautiful and the ocean was unbelievably warm! We had a palapa each day so I could enjoy the shade while my husband could sun worship. The waiters on the beach were plentiful and checked back often for your order. The staff throughout the resort were the best we have ever experienced! So kind, helpful and always courteous. The rooms were always clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. We had turn down service every night. I did request extra pillows from the pillow menu. Coffee shop has great coffee. You can visit the adjoining resorts without issue although it's huge so bring your runners! We did not do any excursions as we have done most of them in previous trips to the Dominican. We enjoyed the music each night in the lobby but didn't go to any other shows at the theatre of sports bar. We loved our time here so much we are already planning to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, rooms, food, beach, everything!
The weak points
None

Sarna

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-04
Generally good. house keeping was not consistent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service was good and timely.
The weak points
Choice of Scotch was not good. Was able to drink Black Label on 2 of the 7 days. Construction noise was a bother at pool side. At the beach chairs were not comfortable. Royalton had cushioned lounge chairs.
Certified

Excellent all inclusive resort!

, Mississauga, ON
2019-07-13
We stayed at the luxury grand bahia princepe. The resort is great. Well maintained property. Newly renovated place great ambiance, lots of restaurants, good entertainment, friendly and attentive staff. We had a pleasant stay will highly recommend couples to go to this resort. The beach is beautiful but gets the occasional unavoidable seaweed depending on the tide or time of year. Beach crew are very particular and prompt about clearing the seaweed but the tourists do not seem to be bothered. We had an amazing time would love to go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of restaurants to choose from. Bbq on the beach was a great bonus for a quick snack at the beach. They have a Casino which is always a bonus!
The weak points
Love the Entertainment but it gets over a bit early by 10pm. Would recommend that it continue a little bit later till about 11:30 pm.
Certified

Great vacation we needed!

, London, ON
2019-06-23
We had a great time in the very very hot June weather. The food was fantastic and most of the staff are very friendly (only encountered one that we avoided in the buffet for the week - literally took my plate out from under my hand holding my fork???). Room service was also good and all included. The resort is beautiful, pool, pool bar, and pool restaurant Las Brisas are great (staff great at the pool bar). Highly recommend the adults only and would pick Ambar again over Aquamarine as it's closer to the beach and seems nicer. 7 days didn't seem to be enough as the resort as a whole is massive and we didn't really leave our area at all (mostly because it was SO hot).

The beach unfortunately had a ton of seaweed and they have staff out there for hours and hours raking it up - not sure if it was the time of the year, but the particular location was hit harder by seaweed than other areas we went to (Macao beach was GORGEOUS, no seaweed at all, very clear water - visited through a dune buggy tour - real tourist money grab, lots of just trying to sell you stuff - Dominican is not a place I would do an excursion again; Costa Rica much more worthwhile and real cultural experience).

They hand you a drink as soon as you get to the lobby. We had to wait almost 2 hours for our room to be ready (so they said; didn't seem like it though, I think our "butler" just made a mistake - don't bother with the "butler service", we never saw the guy again and it seems useless). We luckily had the lobby bar to sit at and start having a few drinks so we didn't really mind, but the "butler" seemed to forget we were even waiting after he said he would let us know it was ready so we had to approach the check-in counter again and voila! the room was ready and it was a completely different room number from the first. The main complaint I have is that when we got to the room (very nice room overall) the floors were filthy and they weren't cleaned all week. Tipped the maid almost every day, but didn't find any advantage to it.

Overall highly recommend this resort! Tip servers and bartenders well and you'll have a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Staff Pool Bars
The weak points
Cleanliness of floors in our suite Tons of seaweed on the beach Always people trying to sell you stuff
Certified

Fantastic vacation!

, Acton, ON
2019-04-30
First time at this hotel..I can't say how much we loved it and how incredible it was! I have nothing but good things to say about it. The food was to die for...it was like being on a cruise ship! There is something for everyone at every meal. The rooms were huge and the shower was big enough to fit 4 people. The resort was clean and the grounds kept immaculate. The pool was perfect...never crowded. I would go back to this resort tomorrow if I could. Book now!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, room size, shower, pool
The weak points
You needed to tip your housekeeper in order to get more water, restock fridge....
Certified

Excellent

, Amherstburg, ON
2019-04-21
They have completely remodeled this section of the property..it is 6star quality. The grounds, buffet, a la carte, coffee shop, bars, etc are amazing. They have stepped it up with each building having their own butler, the staff is attentive and sincerely happy you are there. Wonderful experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Attention to detail in everything from remodeling to how their staff treats the guests is amazing.
The weak points
Nothing that I can think of.
Certified

Luxury Ambar March 31 - April 7, 2019

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-04-09
Everything from when we first arrived until we left was amazing. We had a private transfer from the airport to the resort because we didn't want to wait for the bus. It dropped us off at the Aquamarine lobby and we were quickly taken to the Ambar lobby. We were greeted with drinks and a cool towel. Our room was ready and we were brought to it by our butler. We had a swim up room and I emailed earlier asking for as close to the beach and main pool as possible. I did also request a corner room if possible. We did not receive the corner room but that was fine as I know it was a request. We were in building 60 which receives afternoon sun and looks right out at the main pool and is one of the closest to the beach. The nighttime entertainment that happened by the pool we could see from our patio which was great! The pool and beach are amazing! Bianca at the pool was quick to take our drink orders every day that we were there. I did email 2 weeks before going requesting 4 different restaurants and stated a rough time but we were not given anything when we arrived so I did it by the app as soon as we arrived and got reservations for 3 out of 4. I did make another reservation for a different one on the next day. The food was good no matter where we ate. We ate twice at the Sports Bar (wanted to watch the hockey games), one night we did room service, El Olivo, Portofino, MEAT Steak House, and buffet one night. If you have booked, don't fret as you will not regret it. We are not seasoned travelers and were at the Majestic Mirage a couple of years ago and I would recommend either one to anyone. This one was adults only but we did stay in the Mirage Club section which was adults only...except for restaurants. I would definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything from beach to pool, from staff to food. Rooms look exactly like the pictures on their website.
The weak points
Our cleaning lady came early the first few days but then came around 5pm for the remaining time. This was a bit of an issue as we had early dinner reservations. We would wait on patio for her to clean the room.
Certified

Not a 5 stars

, Alfred, ON
2019-04-01
We didn't like our stay. It's too big and no service. We arrived on Wednesday so couldn't reserve at any à la carte restaurants. We had to reserve our chairs on the beach and at the pool. Beach too crowded. The concierge service was nonexistent, we asked to get some ice in the room everyday, we got some the last day. And a five stars resort should have more than 3 little bottles of liquor in the room. We won't be returning for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room (swim up) and a nice beach.
The weak points
Beach and pool too crowded. No room service. Food is always the same. Not a 5 stars. Group of party animals screaming late at night. Not the calm place we were expecting

Beautiful, Clean and Relaxing

, Kingston, ON
2019-03-18
This was our second trip to this resort. The facility was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly, food excellent and beach wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the cleanliness and the excellent staff
Certified

Not what it use to be!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-26
My wife and I have been going to this resort for over 10 years. In the past we would say how much we loved it there, like a second home. We use to be treated extra special being repeat customers. Unfortunately things changed this time. Now we feel this resort is maybe a 4 star resort, definitely not a 5 star. The bahia is too large now and if you are at the Amber you will see lots of other people using your facilities. Everyone from the affiliated resorts are at the amber. For the money we paid, I dont think this resort is all that great anymore. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Some of the staff was unbelievably great.
The weak points
Some of the staff didn't care. Our room was dirty (they wash the floor with dirty water), sometimes missing towels and bar fridge not restocked every day like they are suppose too. Over crowded. You now have to pay for premium drinks. Food was not great.
Certified

Our fabulous week at Luxury Bahia Principe AMBAR

, Welland, ON
2019-02-04
Our experience at AMBAR was "THE BEST" of everything from the time of our arrival to our departure. The pick up at airport to hotel, to front desk reception, to viewing room with swim-up, to dining room and restaurants,to the pool area and activities, to the leisurely daily walks along the beautiful beach, to the ride back to the airport. All resort staff were friendly, helpful and most accommodating. We will be back and highly recommend the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, good food, relaxing atmosphere and cleanliness.
The weak points
no weak points at AMBAR
Certified

Excellent

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-25
very clean , stuff very friendly , food excellent , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bahia Principe Ambar

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-06
The best asset is accessibility. Easy to get around if you are staying on the first floor. There are no elevators! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service. Food was very good Newly renovated rooms , gym lobby , Ámbar is beautiful
The weak points
Specialty restaurants at Ámbar very weak A very bad smell coming out of drain in the shower. Swimming pool is very cold, the only casino in the Bahia principe complex is not a nice place. A lot of mosquitoes everywhere.
Certified

Lovely vacation

, Montréal, QC
2018-11-21
Great beach and staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great hotel. Amazing staff. Beautiful beach and pool. Food generally very good. Very clean
The weak points
Nightly entertainment is weak. A la carte reservation system is very complicated and annoying. Wifi not the greatest.
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue

, Saint John, NB
2018-05-26
Had a great vacation, once we got moved by pool and beach, thanks to Peublo, grounds were beuatiful, the beach was very nice, water wasnt to rough, had service on beach,pool was so warm lots of activities as we were on adult amber blue section, food was good no complaints never got sick, always a trolley to get you around. I would go back again we enjoyed our trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The bed was little on the harder side was only downfall but rooms were nice.
Certified

Perfect Vacation

, New Waterford, NS
2018-04-15
Trip from the airport to the resort, very short 35km. Upon arrival to the resort, warm welcome from staff to a very clean resort, inside and out. Day or night there was always seating available at the lobby bar. The rooms were spacious and clean, beds comfortable. The fridge was restocked daily. The food was excellent with many items to choose from every meal at the buffets. Food choices were not repetitious. The beach was absolutely amazing, with restaurants close by so you don't have to walk far when you get hungry. There was even drink waiter service on the beach. Developed two issues while there that were quickly rectified by staff. We traveled as two couples and our request to be roomed close by each other was successful. We were in Villa 70 -105/106 which was situated close to the lobby but not far from the beach. There was onsite shopping or a shopping district at another resort attached to this one, transportation between each was a non-issue. Orlando Ellis, Front End Manager, and all the staff made our vacation such a memorable one that we are already planning to return in 2019. Highly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort, friendly staff, good food with lots to choose from, spacious rooms with comfortable beds, good drinks. Everything during our stay was wonderful.
The weak points
Entertainment in the evening

Not a 5 star!

, Waverley, HA
2018-03-12
Went there on the recommendation of a friend. We were disappointed usually the staff in the Dominican are really friendly we only came across 2 that were lovely and friendly. The food was always warm not hot. Don't get me wrong we did have a good time cause we made it that way. Just would not go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
two bartenders at the beach bar Joel and Omar just wonderful!
The weak points
Never had a hot meal was always warm even in the restaurants. The bartenders at the swim up were really not that speedy or friendly
Certified

Ambar Blue

, Oakville, HA
2018-02-25
The hotel and location were fantastic. The pools and beach were perfect.
Food and Beverage service could have been better. Bar staff, front desk, shuttles etc were all efficient and worked well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, adults only sections.
The weak points
Poor service in restaurants, it was like there was no management keeping them orgainized.
Certified

Punta Cana 2018

, Montréal, QC
2018-01-27
We stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar Blue for 7 days, upon our arrival the chk in was done in 10 mins they greated us really well made us feel very welcomed. We got the room #64214 which was facing the pool and a 2 min walk to the beach, it was very convenient for us(I can almost say we had the perfect room) The resort was very clean and always maintained, the a la carte restaurants were all very good and the buffet was superb, do not skip the sea food nights on Tuesdays.. It was delicious. The staff was very approachable and polite especially Miguel at breakfast he was always in the greatest mood and very sweet. So all that to say if you decide to go to that resort the perfect spot is Ambar Blue just because everything is close you don't need to take a golf cart unless you wanna visit the rest of the resort, but it's also done very easily by walking if you want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, location of the hotel, restaurant a la carte Don Pablo, Los Corales 2, Portofino(tuna tartar) Las Olas Staff very consider it
The weak points
Drinks were not very strong, lacking staff that understand English to give us directions. Stopping the music too early in the lobby( maybe just a bit of chill music would be nice) There was hardly ever mugs for the coffee n tea machine In the lobby.

Wonderful!

, Montréal, QC
2018-01-18
Deuxième fois à ce resort toujours aussi bien et bon. Une semaine de bonheurs et de plaisirs gourmand...Nous y retournerons certainement une troisième fois sans hésiter! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Just perfect!
Certified

Luxury bahia principe ambar blue

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-18
Overall taking everything into consideration an excellent bang for your buck.
Nice pools,generally nice staff,clean rooms,nice beach,good entertainment
lots of food choices.The negative is the place is huge,beach chairs and by the pool seating at a premium,coffee in mornings by the beach bar is like pulling teeth and person doing the reservations needed a customer service lesson.In summary we left happy and got our monies worth. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
overall food excellent,complex is well kept and total experience excellent,i give it a 5 out of 5 for value for money
The weak points
Breakfast understaffed by the water-fight for a coffee,tables unmade. Our mini bar was never re-stocked and communication of events was poor we stumbled across a trapeze show wed afternoon by our pool which was awesome
Certified

Bahai Principe Ambar Blue

, Brampton, ON
2017-12-16
This was our 2nd and most likely our last visit to this hotel...we were greatly disappointed with the resort this visit...food at buffet was luke warm at the best of times...our 2nd day there I had sausage from the poolside bbq and was sick for 2 days...my wife got minor food poisoning from the El Olivo Gourmet Restaurant and we both got food poisoning from the Rodizio Restaurant "Sausalito"..mine was so sever that I was up all night vomiting violently and my wife not so severe but sick for 3 days. On a bright side, the animation staff consisting of Santos, Christopher, Marlon & Carlos were amazing and Bianca as usual was an amazing bar waitress...overall we found Ambar Blue to have gone downhill compared to 2016. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
animation staff consisting of Santos, Christopher, Marlon & Carlos were amazing and Bianca as usual was an amazing bar waitress
The weak points
They claim they are a 5 star resort but the most we would give them is 3 stars! Pool maintenance was lacking big time with lots of algae in pool and scum floating on water surface.
Certified

We were not wrong to chose this Hotel.

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2017-09-19
We had the a greatest experience in our 7 days stay in this Hotel. It's a clean place. Met the 3 criteria we were asked for.( room, dinning and beach). The only small disappointment was we did not get a corner room when we asked for it. I would highly recommend this place to people I know. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our host Yojanna, was the best! She made things easy for us, and surprise us almost everyday with perks. She check on us daily to know is we need anything. She made our experience there the best.
The weak points
Communication. Although most of the people working were polite and respectful., most of them were only Spanish speaking. When you ask them for something they smile but you will find out they did not understand what you said.
Certified

Great Vacation at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue

, Kitchener, ON
2017-06-13
We celebrate our 32nd anniversary and this was the perfect place to go.
All staff and location made our stay the perfect gateway for a great vacation.
I definitely will come back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff attention, room cleaning, food, noise level.
The weak points
If you go to the Teatro for a show at night, the transport back to the Ambar resorts is limited.
Certified

Our Stay At Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue

, Mississauga, ON
2017-05-01
A very nice resort and one that we will return to again. We have stayed at other resorts but this one was the best yet. Staff are friendly and accommodating.
The strong points: The staff are all friendly and accommodating. We only made use of the buffet but there were many choices and many healthy choices as well.
The weak points: I did not like the fact that if one wanted a better liquor one had to pay for it. $4.50 US for a Brambuie after supper was just a little expensive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good food, lovely beach with lots of chairs.
The weak points
I did not like the fact that one had to purchase premium drinks; $4.50 for a Drambuie after supper was just a little expensive.
Certified

Great resort

, Canada, BC
2017-04-25
Great resort and wonderful food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful food and beautiful amenities. Enjoyed the shows. Very helpful having a travel respresentative at the resort with shuttle service. Wonderful rooms with great cleaning services provided. Kind staff working throughout the resort.
The weak points
Reception was slow and often rude. Not accommodating for questions. Dinner reservations often unavailable. Pool activities/games repetitive.
Certified

Great except for the construction

, Waterdown, ON
2017-04-12
We stayed here the week of April 1-8, 2017. Overall, the resort was great, food was delicious, the drinks were awesome (you gotta try the MamaWanna), and our room was very comfortable. We had been warned not to get a room the facing the construction site and had indicated this prior to our arrival. However, when we arrived at a late hour and got to our assigned room, it was facing the construction site. We were too tired to change it at that time, especially as our key didn't work and we had to wait awhile for that to get fixed, we just wanted to go to bed. The A/C hadn't been turned on, there was no water available in our fridge that wasn't working, and we were initially frustrated. They did get the fridge working by day 3. Service was slow when requesting things. Although this may have been because of the language barrier, we had the feeling it was more because they just didn't feel like doing things. You get this sense that once you ask for something, you are 'labelled' and they purposely make things as slow as possible. Food at the buffet and in the a la cartes was excellent however. We LOVED the self-serve espresso and cappachino machines which worked 80% of the time. The beaches were marvelous and our weather was PERFECT. The bar staff and activities directors were a bit hit or miss and not always friendly. We asked for a volleyball a few times from activities director but never did get one. Fortunately another guest had brought one so we could play. It was difficult to get good beach chairs, but we had someone who was an early riser and could claim a few chairs by 5:30 AM so that we could sit on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, location, cleanliness, room
The weak points
Staff friendliness (except for Hector and Jose?) in the Fantasia beach buffet, room service, CONSTRUCTION SITE noise.
Certified

Average at best

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-09
The facility was too large - had to travel with Golf carts to get around. The beach area was small compared to the hotel facility. Avoid their ploy to sell you Privileged Packages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great weather
The weak points
Their attempt to sell you Privileged Packages for the resort.
Certified

Excellent Vacation in a Beautiful Resort

, Kanata, ON
2017-02-10
My wife and I had a beautiful vacation at this magnificent resort. This in my third stay at the resort since 2016. It is part of a large and lively compound consisting of seven large Bahia Principe hotels. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept, and the food quality and variety was excellent. We sent an email to the hotel one-week before arrival with our preferred room location and a la carte restaurants reservation requests, which was promptly acknowledged and acted on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large beautiful grounds and pools, Long sandy beach, Good buffet and many fancy a la carte restaurants to choose from.
The weak points
Difficulty in finding a free umbrella by the beach, because of unenforced guests reservation policy. Theatre entertainment essentially unchanged from last year.
Certified

Mixed Review

, Tiny, ON
2016-11-27
My husband and I, both seniors chose BP Ambar Blue because we had enjoyed two previous visits to BP Esmeralda. We were disappointed in a number of things but never in the hardworking helpful and accommodating staff. Reception was slow to painful after a long day of travel. In spite of the fact that I had specified a ground floor room because I travel with a wheelchair and had asked for two beds we waited a very long time while they re-located people to accommodate us and even then the room had one bed. Next day saw us on our second room which was fine but the AC was a bit noisy. They came quickly to fix it but the bottom line is that these are older rooms and need some work in general. Many people we spoke to had been moved more than once. One mentioned flooding (it was raining) and another a leaky roof and toilet issues. If you have one week holiday and you get cheated out of even one day of enjoyment I would say something needs to be revisited by the owners. We felt that the owners were packing people in to capacity but without adequate resources to accommodate them in the "luxury" they boast of. I cannot stress this enough one thing that was amazing was the entire staff, from housekeeping to guest services. Every single person met us with a smile, a friendly hello and tried their very best to make our stay pleasant. My husband tried out the gym twice while we were in the middle of a rainy week and found the gym to be seriously lacking equipment. We found the Buffet at Ambar to be, at times, chaotic due to the many people they ushered in. Again, we thought owners were packing in more than they could comfortably service. We chose to steal off to Esmeralda for as many meals as possible and enjoy the quieter, more peaceful surroundings. The a la carte restaurants were fine. We especially liked Bella Italia Takara and Pescadore but that is a question of personal taste. Overall the food was always good and varied (we were there for two weeks). I don't think we would recommend Ambar Blue at this time. Perhaps Ambar Green being newer might be better. Esmeralda is nicer for sure and Fantasia looks interesting enough that we plan on taking the family there in April (if they'll still have us!!). There again we require specific rooms and the phrase "no guarantees" is the general response to requests. "We'll do our best" doesn't quite cut it when you pay your money and then arrive to find things didn't quite work out regarding proximity to family. I am not a complainer and love nothing better than to lavish praise but Ambar Blue needs a hard look and perhaps the owners need to rethink the capacity issue. It isn't working for the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, staff, staff and beach and pools
The weak points
Old and tired and packed to capacity in spite of inadequate ability to service guests.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020