Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine

4.144.144.144.144.14
Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine
#11 of 92 hotels in Punta Cana
4.14 based on 166 reviews
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Nice vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2019-10-08
Everything about the hotel was wonderful. The room was great and had all the amenities needed. The beach was gorgeous. The staff of the resort were very nice and helpful and served you without tips. The food was okay, wasn't amazing but there were always many choices. The pool was relaxing and the entertainment crew were fun.
Overall great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Pool Drinks
The weak points
Buffet food Trying to get into specialized restaurants was almost impossible Vendors on the beach and at the village
Certified

2nd time in DR

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-28
My boyfriend and I fell in love with this hotel considering the amazing food, the beautiful view, the outstandingly clean hotel room we had and the amazing people there. We will never forget our favourite waiter that always brought happiness and joy from his service named Nõnõ! We always tipped our waiters and maids and sometimes bartenders because of how delightful they were. The only cons we would say is the beach distance and how packed it gets there. It was difficult to get a spot anywhere on the beach and it was attached with obviously another section of the hotel. The live entertainment is definitely underwhelming and quite repetitive which is expected when you're vacationing for the next 7 days. It was also difficult for us to book an al a carte restaurant so we ended up just eating at the buffet, which we honestly didn't mind at all. We had only one problem in our hotel room which was the bath tub. We noticed water leaking from the side of it making a slight puddle on the washroom floor but we didn't think much of it! Overall, the experience was wonderful and we would definitely like to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel room, amazing food, beautiful view, and amazing workers.
The weak points
Beach was a bit of a far distance and difficult to find a seat/spot anywhere, entertainment was underwhelming, al a carte was difficult to book reservations for, and hotel room did have a minor issue with the bath tub leaking at one point.

Sun and warm weather!

, Morrisburg, ON
2019-04-18
Our biggest concern was that we had water coming in from the ceiling (apparently caused by the air conditioner) as we were located on the top floor and our toilet kept running. It took the staff 4 days before they came to fix the problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is an adult only section of a large resort. It is kept very clean and the grounds are spectacular. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The weak points
This was our second trip to this location. We last vacationed there in 2017 and we found that the quality and service had gone down from a 5 star to a 3 star. One restaurant, the Santa Fee, had the worst service. Although we had a reservation, we had a lo
Certified

Grand Bahia Príncipe Aquamarine

, Timmins, ON
2019-03-24
Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff , kept very clean, excellent food.
The weak points
Rooms area outdated , hard to get a la carte reservations
Certified

Too Big, Too Much of the Same

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-21
Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine
Stayed Feb 19-26
Usually in my reviews I give a bunch of advice to guests to make their stay more enjoyable like don't drink the water, etc. But this time I'm going to give the hotel advice on how to make a guest's stay more enjoyable. I won't be back but maybe by next season if some improvements are made it will encourage people to go back.
CHAIR RESERVING: This part of my stay was extremely stressful and frustrating. That anyone has to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a chair by the pool is crazy making. I had a room that overlooked the pool. There were some chairs that did not have people in them all day and the hotel does nothing to police it. The hotel needs to regularly police the pool area and remove towels from chairs that have been empty for a while. They should not be giving out towels until 11am and give people a chance to have breakfast, change into their swimsuits and hit the pool. The reason the pool fills up so fast is because the beach is so far away. It's the same thing at the beach. Lots of beach loungers with towels and no people. No one should have to be stressed out while on vacation because they can't find a place to relax.
BEACH AREA: Each hotel on the complex is supposed to have their own area on the beach. But the only area I could see that was roped off or marked was the Prestige Club. We were told a general area of where our beach was but there is no signage for any of the hotels in this complex. Every time we asked where our beach was we were given a different answer. One day we made our way over to the far side which is the Fantasia resort and were greeted by a security guard who informed us that this was not our beach but he said tomorrow we could go to our own beach (yeah if we could find it). There were people with every bracelet colour sitting everywhere. So why even pretend that each hotel has their own area if you aren't going to give proper signage or cordon it off or enforce it? That's just lip service and serves no purpose except again to make your guests frustrated.
BEDS: The beds are as hard as cement slabs and very hard to sleep comfortably in. Consider getting new ones.
SIGNAGE: I realize that you rebranded Ambar Blue and Ambar Green into Ambar and Aquamarine but there is still old signage that refers to their old names. As well the maps that you give out with the room cards don't even have the latest resort, Fantasia, on it. Your signage generally is confusing and again frustrating.
MAID SERVICE: One thing you should keep in mind for North Americans is that they use wash cloths. We had them for the first 5 days and then all of a sudden we didn't get any. First day we didn't get any I requested them through the app and they appeared. I thought that would clue the maid in that we wanted them every day. The second day we didn't get any either, and we also didn't get any new water. Or more towels. So I requested them through the app. I got the water and 2 towels but no wash cloths. The maid said 5 minutes. After an hour I put in another request on the app and they were delivered. Just keep in mind that North Americans use wash cloths.
LOBBIES: Why are their two lobbies called Aquamarine? A smaller one and then the bigger lobby? One time we got on the trolley and asked to be taken to the Aquamarine lobby and he took us to the smaller one farther away instead of the larger one. Again very frustrating when you end up someplace other than you intended. It happened all week. It took us about 5 days to master the way around the resort. It's just too big and if it keeps growing the problems will keep getting bigger as well.
The one high point of our visit was the a la carte Portofino which is Italian. It was an amazing meal. A meal that we would actually have paid for. The deconstructed soup was a very good surprise. The pizza was good as was the tortellini. The desert was excellent. We met the manager and told him so. Very professionally run. The wait staff were fully trained and totally attentive.
The M.E.A.T. Steakhouse was ok. The steaks had a lot of grizzle and fat. But again the desserts were nice. And we had a cocktail, I think it was called a Whiskey Jam and it was served very chilled and was very good.
The food at our buffet was just OK. You could get fresh cooked fish. One time I tried the roast beef and it was dried out and over cooked. There is variety but it's the same thing every day.
So that's my review. I won't be back. I don't go on vacation to be frustrated and stressed out. As others have said everything looks nice, is clean and the grounds are kept looking wonderful. But it just wasn't fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, beautiful grounds. Elegant settings. Some a la cartes good if you can get into them. Good but not great buffet.
The weak points
People reserve pool chairs all day and it is not policed. Confusing signage. Unreliable shuttles. Too far from the beach. Beach is not well marked in regard to which area belongs to which resort. Again overcrowded and reserved seats.

Poorest services

, Surrey, BC
2019-03-12
One side of this hotel has a warehouse from another company. Pray you do not have your room on that side. Had to run to get extra towels day and night and room not clean when started. Had to complain to get anything done [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
7 resorts in one. Ok food and it is truly beautiful thru the grounds
The weak points
Have to chase everyone to get service. Beach is quite a ways away but shuttles with golf carts ok. Have many videos of the warehouse and noise but can't upload those. Was a package and company had no contact til last two days.
Certified

9 friends staying for one week

, Paris, ON
2019-03-04
Very clean with exceptional, friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large room. Very comfortable. Good food. Excellent pool.
The weak points
Difficult to make change for tipping.
Certified

Was probably a 5 star hotel at some point...

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2019-02-25
What probably started out as a 5 star hotel is starting to show its cracks. I can't say there was anything in my stay that didn't have an asterisk next to it that in some way lessened the experience. The hotel looked nice, however it was starting to show age, and while they were constantly doing things like painting, landscaping, and replacing cracked tiles, it felt like it was deteriorating at a rate faster than they could keep up. While the price was ok, it was hardly the full price that you paid. Every excursion or extra activity had an additional fee, and you ended up having to tip everyone anyway. The front desk staff were nice as they assisted with every problem I had, and tried to resolve it as quickly as possible. The beaches, while beautiful, would constantly get covered in seaweed and required cleaning daily, which left ugly piles on the beaches. If you managed to find a seat that wasn't take, then you would expect a constant barrage of people trying to sell you things. The pool was a highlight. The swim up bar was a great to have however having it segmented into 3 areas instead of one continuous pool kind of made it feel small. The room is where we personally had the worst experience. The first room we got was a mess when we got into it. The toilet didn't work, there were rust stains from each faucet, shower head, and tub. The jacuzzi tub broke on first use. We called maintenance, and they told us to manually flush the toilet by taking the lid off the tank and pulling the lever that way. That was were we asked for another room. The second room was identical, however with a working toilet, but the jacuzzi tub was still broken, so we cut our losses there because we were not moving again. While the staff was generally pretty nice it came at a price. No one will do anything for you here unless you tip them. Every interaction i had with someone here came with the expectation of a tip, so if you plan on going here keep a bunch of change on you. The wifi is soft capped at 1Mbps down for the free internet and 5Mbps if you pay for "premium" access. Side note, if you have Boingo or any of those airport wifi services you can log in with that get the premium internet. The restaurants are fine. I never once worried about food poisoning or getting sick, all of the food was cooked properly. The problem I have with it is that you would never be able to get reservations via normal means. They have an app that you can try to get reservations at the restaurants on but they are booked from the moment you log in, up to a week before. we managed to get in a couple because we tipped our vacation guy who set us up with the customer service rep who booked us some nights, not even every night we were there was available, they basically managed to squeeze us in any cancelled reservations. Even then the food at the booked hotels was nothing special, it was as good as the food you would get at the buffet, but just with a specific theme. I think I had the same steak prepared 3 different ways at 3 different restaurants. I paid for the romantic dinner, which was a fixed menu, and that was nice, however again it's an additional charge, when I could have gotten the same meal "for free" at any of the restaurants. The location is beautiful. Punta Cana is a beautiful place.

Overall the hotel is fine. I dunno if I just got my hopes up higher for a 5 star hotel. While we were there we saw a couple of the other hotels on the resort and probably the nicer one to stay at would have been the Ambar, however it would have been an extra 1000 for the week if we would have stayed there. Also check out the Bahia Principe song before you stay here, if you like that song you'll be fine, but if you would get annoyed hearing it 5x a day every day of your stay then I have some bad news for you. Personally it grew on me after day 3. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is beautiful
The weak points
hotel is aging and is starting to show it expected more that i got for the price everything there was just ok expect to tip everyone
Certified

Very good hotel

, London, ON
2019-02-01
We had a great experience at Aquamarine and would definitely recommend to others. The beach, pool, food, and room were all very good. We were there for a week and we booked 5 a la cart dinners but there didn't seem to be a limit. The buffet is good, they have theme nights so food varies, some of it stays the same. People / staff are friendly, internet in your room, king bed, and everywhere is clean and very well maintained. The resort is huge. It was about a 10 minute walk to the beach. We didn't mind but if you have mobility problems it could be an issue. They do have oversized golf carts that travel to and from the beach so that helps if you need a ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, cleanliness, food is good, beautiful grounds, better liqueurs available but you pay for those.
The weak points
You need to claim a chair on the beach or at the pool by about 830 or 9 am to get shade but that's typical at other resorts we have been to.
Certified

Privilege Club Member

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-22
Not worth it being Privileged Club Member.
There's no difference from the regular guests.
We been there twice, we liked it first time that's why we bought the membership.

Second time that we went there with privilege member-not worth it. Receptionist wasn't really organized booking us coming and leaving.

A la carte food wasn't that good.
Beef or steak not taste like beef at all.

Buffet restaurant by the Aquamarine was great, food-lots of choices. Server were great. But the other one was terrible-didn't get offered for drinks.

There's no event or show every night unlike the first time. One of the singers who sings at night doesn't know the lyrics what she sang.

The beach chair for Privilege Club Member no difference with regular guests. Unlike the beaches I've been for VIP was amazing. They have to improve their service for Privilege Club Member. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of choices that u couldn't imagine at the buffet by the Aquamarine.
The weak points
Not worth it money we paid for Privilege Club Membership.

Five star

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-30
Five Star all the way except you have to pay for premium brands alcohol even though it is all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food at restaurants. Customer service excellent. Pools fantastic, large and plenty of lounges and umbrellas and huts.
The weak points
For a 5 star premium alcohol should have been included Buffet food standard Hallways noisy at night with drunk guests
Certified

LUXURY BAHIA PRINCIPE AMBAR GREEN

, Montréal, QC
2018-10-03
Overall my experience at this Hotel was a 5 Star . The Service. The Food. The Cleanliness. The Friendliness. The Animation. The Hospitality. The Ocean. The Weather. I only wish to stay longer. 2 weeks is a must at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Cleanliness Service
The weak points
None
Certified

Good experience

, Mississagua, HA
2018-09-21
It was a great experience . Food ,room ,services were all great . Except our check in was not what I expected, they asked and took our passports and went off somewhere else with it to check us in ,whilst we (other travellers as well ) were ushered in a separate room It was a bit uncomfortable especially with language barrier. Worst is our passports got switched with another couple!
Otherwise was a great experience, some of the staff were fantastic! Micheal ,one of the managers went all the way to make our vacation a pleasure ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean ,lots of variety in food, great entertainment .pleasant staff .
The weak points
Language barrier. Lots of weeds on the beach,bombarded with timeshare salespeople.
Certified

Fantastic

, Fredericton, NB
2018-03-16
This hotel was one of the very best we have stayed in. The property was exceptional. Staff were sincerely caring and the room was wonderful. Luxurious and clean. The pool area was also exceptional with lots of chairs available and bar service was great. Would go back in a second. Loved it!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green

, Embrun, ON
2018-02-23
The staff"s number one priority is the guest. The hotel was clean and staff was extremely attentive to our every need. Loved it and will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, good food, amazing staff who are attentive to your needs. Loved it and would recommend this hotel and I will return next year.
The weak points
Seriously I cannot think of any. Anything that was not quite right they fixed immediately. Love the staff.
Certified

Fifth BP visit

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-23
Unfortunately wee did not get the Junior Suite offered as the only one offered was directly next to construction of the new resort next door. Less than 10 metres. Noise started about 6 a.m. The alternate offered was a regular suite which did not have the same in suite facilities. Compared to other BP resorts this left a little about service. Good but not excellent we expected. Beach was the best of the resorts we have been to. Pools had insufficient shade but the beach had enough. We had two excellent meals in special restaurants. Excellent travel in resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and specialty restaurants Breakfast buffets good.
The weak points
Follow through on lack of suitable suites and the resolve. Shade near pools. Lunch buffets not strong. Evening entertainment programs hard to find. Only two worth viewing in a week stay.
Certified

Review of our stay in Ambar Green

, Ajax, ON
2018-02-13
We had a great experience - we loved the staff! In particular: Alexander, Johnny Bravo, Juan Carlos and Luis from the Annimation Team! The buffet and restaurant staff were all kind and courteous - In particular: Nono and Maria! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean - great service - efficient and friendly staff! We cannot wait to come back again!
The weak points
More washrooms at the Beach!
Certified

Excellent value for the Money

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-13
I travel 2 to 3 times a year down south and generally go to a new place each time. I came here in spring 2017 and was so impressed returned 2018.

The resort is wonderful, well kept, clean and lots of activities. The food is top notch for this price range.

I will return again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, beach and resort itself.
The weak points
No elevators so not so good if you are on upper floors and had mobility issues. We did not have any.
Certified

All I can say is WOW

, London, ON
2018-02-03
We were here from June 12-19
This resort is suburb, from the rooms to the personnel service to the food, with over 16 years of traveling we have never been to such a clean property. We had absolutely no complaints staying here.
Our butler Francisco was suburb as well, and no matter the request he tried to full it for us.
He made our trip so much better by being who he is as a professional at his craft.
I hope all who travel to this resort realize the hours spent to make your holiday perfect from the hotel staff to the groundskeepers to the wait staff in any area you eat or enjoy a cold drink on the rocks or an ice cold Cerveza. We will be returning and I would have no problems sending my clients here.
YES it is a big property over all, but you should realize this before you go. You can stay in the Ambar section where there is 2 buffets and 2 al cartes or you can venture too the other ones to enjoy what they offer.
Everyone should also know that the Ambar is WHEEL CHAIR ACCESSIBLE!!! and they have special chairs that can help someone into the beautiful ocean and back out to their chair.
Please remember if you book this resort there are NO ocean front or ocean view rooms. It saves head aches when you arrive thinking they do.
Room Tip: Ambar 2 (green) is in the middle and Ambar 1 (blue) is closest to the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was perfection
The weak points
No weak points
Pro

Coming back

, Amherstburg, ON
2017-12-30
Great check in procedure, amazing attentive staff, great band at lobby bar Saturday night Ambar Green, great buffets, restaurants. Was evacuated early because of Hurricane coming, have booked exact hotel in January as a RE-DO trip. can't wait! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service, check in procedure, clean pools and beach areas. All around great place in the few days we were there
The weak points
nothing in the 3 nights we were there that I can complain about.. great place
Pro

DONT GO THERE!

, Laval, QC
2017-12-09
Just arrived at the hotel and got the room with the view of the construction..... i don't mind about the view but I can't use my balcony because of the noise and all the dust!!!! I'm the type of person who loves to take some Time to relax on my balcony and now I can't! I can't Even open my window! Asked to change the room and they said not before Tuesday IF they have a room available..... so what?!? I have to spend all my day Tuesday to pack and unpack?!?? DONT GO THERE.... at least for now while it's under construction!!!! It's my Third Time at Bahia Principe and usualy it's not bad!!!! But for now DON'T go to ambar!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good place without the construction
The weak points
Room facing construction

LUXURY BAHIA PRINCIPE AMBAR GREEN

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-06
We didn't have very good experience at the hotel . Constructions outside ,noise , and dust was horrible . Not to mention sleepless nights , because of the noise . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the view
The weak points
constructions, food
Certified

Girls week

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-10-25
The hotel is wonderful. Ambar green is an adults only section and the staff and housekeeping are terrific.
It is a big resort so there are carts to take you from one section to another, but walking is also possible for the fit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff. The food is well presented and varied for everyone. The gourmet restaurants are very fancy. Food there is plated.
The weak points
There is construction on the property next door and can be a bit noisy. Should be done by end of 2018.
Certified

My Luxury Vacation

, Lasalle, QC
2017-10-10
Overall pretty good there were a few things that could be improved on there was no welcome when we arrived we had to be brought to our lobby before we were properly welcomed prior to that they made us just sit around. Some great staff our room maid, Johnny Bravo for Entertainment was very helpful. The 2 bartenders Gabriel and Maria were amazing even though we did not tip for every drink. The grounds were amazing and the pool area, the room was very spacious but musty smelling. Just open the patio doors it helped alot. Our fresh coffee and milk request for every morning at 9am was a problem we had to call every morning and wait. We were on the 2nd floor with a king bed that was our special request with air canada which we gave them when we checked in if not for asking you take what they give you. We met alot of people on the trip from everywhere it was good overall and I would go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, pool and spacious rooms, most of the staff Johnny Bravo and Gabriel and Maria the bartenders
The weak points
Very Poor Gym facilities dirty and out dated equipment at the Amber Green. The room smelled pretty musty we left the patio doors open that helped. The room service was an issue we made a special reque for coffee every morning at 9AM.
Certified

1 Week in Paridise

, North York, ON
2017-10-09
From the time we arrived, until the time we left, we were wrapped in luxury. A Butler greeted us and sat us down as we checked in. He then gave us some tips of the resort and arranged our A La Carte's for us, later slipping the chits under our door. Our room was large with a king size bed and over looked the pool, making us central to everything the resort had to offer. We were a less than 5 minute walk to the beach and to the Village, everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The Buffet and A La Carte's were great with the Don Paublo and the Neikki being our favorites. A Fantastic, restful week in paridise. Only complaint was the gym in the Ambar Blue but I used the gym at the Bahia Brava and that was fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff, uncrowded, beach,
The weak points
Only a cappuccino electric machine not a traditional unit making the cappuccino's too sweet. Gym at Ambar Blue.
Certified

Great Vacation

, St-Leonard, QC
2017-08-17
Everything was good at this resort, my girlfriend and I were very statisfied with the room and the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well kept grounds, clean room, good food
The weak points
lots of seaweed on the beach but there were people cleaning it up
Certified

Definitely NOT a 5 Star Resort

, Toronto, ON
2017-05-25
IF YOU ARE EXPECTING A 5 STAR RESORT, THIS ISN'T IT. Overall the service is terrible, the staff is not friendly, the A La Carte dinners are mediocre, they steal from your room, the older rooms are run down, and many front desk people do not speak English so they can't even assist you. We have stayed at other Bahia Principe locations (including another 5 star Don Pablo Collection) and this resort DOES NOT compare to the others. I would say that Ambar Blue is a 4 star resort and Ambar Green is a 3.5 star, and that is being generous.

Our vacation was stressful, felt like a waste of money, and if I would have seen an honest review before booking my trip - I would have chosen a different resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice relaxing week!

, Moncton, NB
2017-04-20
Our stay at the Ambar Green was very relaxing. Having stayed at the Luxury Bahia Principe Bavaro four years ago, I pretty much knew what to expect as far as the beach was concern. Being on the Adult only section this time, we found it less busy so very relaxing!! Can't say anything for the pool because we stayed at the beach all week!!
Don't have any weak points to share....the staff was very friendly, our room was spacious and clean and food was very good. We had reservations at five different à la carte restaurants and they were all very good. Our favorite ones were the Brazilian and the Don Pablo (French cuisine) restaurants.
All in all, we had a great vacation and would recommend it!
As for the night life, we choose to stay at our lobby and relax so can't comment on the entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spacious rooms, nice beach, good food, relaxing adult resort!
The weak points
Not the best for swimming because of the waves but the water was still very nice!! Didn't really encounter any problems!!
Certified

Amazing Time =)

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-02-07
The resort was huge and we got to enjoy all of it while staying in the Ambar Green Adults only [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
So many buffets we ended up exspanding our horizons
The weak points
A lot of the had the same types of food
Certified

Ambar Green

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2017-01-27
Ambar Green was everything expected, and beyond. We felt safe and well taken care of at all times. The staff, while friendly and expert at their tasks, struck us as personally very happy. A tribute to the people of the Dominican Republic. We will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
safe, quiet and beautiful grounds
The weak points
small vehicle traffic on walkways.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?