Bahia Principe Grand Aquamarine

4.184.184.184.184.18
Bahia Principe Grand Aquamarine
#9 of 96 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
4.18 based on 195 reviews
Traveller pictures (69)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Grand Aquamarine

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-15
Our experience was fine overall. We were 7 adult people overall (3 couples and 1 single)

The Resort was large and well kept. Weather was great. Bit breezy by the beach all week.

Room - was clean, bathroom was fine. Bed was pretty hard. There was a bit of a musty smell from the shower coming from the drain however as you started to run the water it dissipated. We did have on a couple separate occasions our front door could open without the swipe card (so ensure valuables are in the safe). We called maintenance and they were able to resolve fairly quickly. It is battery operated so probably the batteries were weak and couldn't force the door to lock properly.

Pool - pool area is nice and big and for the most part pretty clean. People will place towels and reserve chairs very early in the morning so it was difficult to find spots (especially if travelling in more than a group of two). On our last day, me and my wife wanted to soak up the sun for the last few hours and we went down at 9am and we literally found two remaining spots for such a large pool area. The resort needs to enforce a better policy on this.

Buffet - food was fine and lots of choices. Service was fine.

A La Carte Restaurants - food was pretty good overall, however the service sometimes lacked but remember its all inclusive so just enjoy the moment. The Nikkei-Mashua restaurant near complex number 85 is very good. El Olivo wasn't that great. As its attached to the Acquario buffet it probably shares same kitchen (my opinion). Reserving was a bit of a challenge, however at one point I wanted the Italian restaurant (Portofino) so I went there on my own to see if we could get in and sure enough they took 7 of us without a reservation.

Beach - there is a section for our hotel patrons. Again, if your not their early you probably won't find loungers with a hut. The lunch buffet was big and great. The water was nice, but there was seaweed at points during the week. The water seemed to come up higher so it didn't seem like there was lots of sand room as compared to other parts when you go for a beach walk.

We did not do any excursions.

Gym was clean and good equipment.

We stayed on resort all week and relaxing. Sports bar area and village was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort Food was good and variety
The weak points
Entertainment (sometimes didn't really know what was going on) Pool - reserving loungers with towels sucks

Disappointed

, London, ON
2020-02-03
We booked aquamarine and were switched to esmeralda with no explanation to why were switched. We booked for adults only and then put in a family resort. The resort its self was beautiful and amazing. Just very disappointed being put in a family resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel and amazing sights to see
The weak points
Customer service doesn't feel welcoming.
Certified

Great Resort!

, London, ON
2020-01-31
We've been to the Dominican a few times now and thoroughly enjoyed the Bahia Principe Grand Aquamarine resort.

Location: The resort is close to the airport so we only had to travel 20-25 minutes. This is great for us. We are not fans of driving 1-2 hours to get to our resort.

Check-in: Waited for our room but we arrived at 12:30pm and rooms are not available until 3 pm. We were greeted with a welcome 'coconut-mint' drink...yummy and directed to the buffet section for lunch. Staff were great at the check-in counter. We dealt with 'Manuel' and 'Carlos Mercedes' throughout our stay and found them to be very helpful and funny too.

Check-out: Very organized and seamless.

Room: VERY clean. The ladies do an excellent job with cleaning the room and re-filling the fridge daily. They were also seen around the various bathrooms on the resort....keeping those VERY clean too. We stayed in building 85 and were very happy with the building/room. We had two minor snags. One was the finicky lock on our door and the second was a slow shower drain. We let the front desk (Aquamarine section) know and someone from maintenance was at the room within 30 minutes and fixed the minor issues right away.

Pool/Jacuzzi: Pool area was very clean. Every night we saw them totally scrub down the deck area and employees in and out of the pool cleaning/scrubbing. The Jacuzzi didn't seen to have the same attention as the pool BUT there are fewer people around the Jacuzzi and I think that particular pool system has a timed/built in filter/clean system. The jets would go off for about 15 minutes every 45 minutes and I think it was going through a filtration cycle?

Grounds: Very clean and manicured. The fellas in green shirts were always attending to the gardens. This is a massive resort property. There are trollies that take you from the one end of the property to the other (beach) and run every 5 minutes. You don't wait too long for a ride there. If you are a privileged member you have your own cart/driver.

Food: We only went to 2 al-a-carte restaurants (Nikki's and the Fish Market). These were booked at the time we checked in. We had booked a 3rd restaurant but ended up releasing the reservation because we were very happy with the buffet. Nikki's was fabulous. Fish Market had great food but the service was lacking. I think it's a newer restaurant for them and they were still working out the staffing/service end of things. The buffet in the Aquamarine section had something for everyone. There was a different theme each night so you always had variety. We did not have any issues with the food here.

The service was EXCELLENT. The staff went out of their way to assist or serve guests and were very friendly.

Beach: Lovely beach. Lots of loungers and huts. Because this is a large resort there are LOTS of people making the beach and beach restaurant very busy. Because we stayed on Aquamarine section we had a separate beach section. The beaches are clean and you will see staff cleaning or assisting guests in locating a spare lounger. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service. Great food/atmosphere. Very clean rooms and grounds
The weak points
Very busy beach area because the of the size of the resort (number of people staying) versus beach space.
Certified

Punta Cana doesn't disappoint

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-20
Check in was smooth. We asked for a room in a different building and they didn't hesitate to accommodate our request. Rooms are huge, clean, bright and the beds a very comfortable. The grounds are stunning. The buffets and restaurants we visited are all delicious with something for the pickiest eaters. It is a long walk to the beach however you can take the train that comes constantly. Once you're at the beach, everything is provided including another huge buffet, bar, washrooms, pool and towel service. This resort is huge so you will be on the train often if you want to take part in the activities in the sports area or in the village for evening shows, casino and night life. Overall, for the price, the value is outstanding! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, delicious meals
The weak points
Although we never had trouble getting a lounge chair at the beach, Bavaro is a very busy, crowded beach
Certified

Trip

, Oakville, ON
2020-01-14
This was a mother daughter's trip! We had a great experience on our first time to Punta Cana. We enjoyed our stay at this resort and would definitely recommend it to others. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were clean, staff very friendly. Luis the manager made sure we had dinner reservations! The food was very good. Beach was cleaned, loved the beach buffet! Easy to get around the resort in shuttles and golf carts. Check in and out was speedy.
The weak points
Hard to get the dinner reservations without help from the manger.
Certified

Rocco Potorti

, Cranbrook, BC
2019-12-30
information staff have very poor knowledge of info about time for service or specific locations of where these services are.
the room was very clean.
the ala carte restaurants staff was like a "sweat shop" waiters rushed you thru your meal with all your choices of food on the table at the same time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2019-10-08
Everything about the hotel was wonderful. The room was great and had all the amenities needed. The beach was gorgeous. The staff of the resort were very nice and helpful and served you without tips. The food was okay, wasn't amazing but there were always many choices. The pool was relaxing and the entertainment crew were fun.
Overall great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Pool Drinks
The weak points
Buffet food Trying to get into specialized restaurants was almost impossible Vendors on the beach and at the village
Certified

2nd time in DR

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-28
My boyfriend and I fell in love with this hotel considering the amazing food, the beautiful view, the outstandingly clean hotel room we had and the amazing people there. We will never forget our favourite waiter that always brought happiness and joy from his service named Nõnõ! We always tipped our waiters and maids and sometimes bartenders because of how delightful they were. The only cons we would say is the beach distance and how packed it gets there. It was difficult to get a spot anywhere on the beach and it was attached with obviously another section of the hotel. The live entertainment is definitely underwhelming and quite repetitive which is expected when you're vacationing for the next 7 days. It was also difficult for us to book an al a carte restaurant so we ended up just eating at the buffet, which we honestly didn't mind at all. We had only one problem in our hotel room which was the bath tub. We noticed water leaking from the side of it making a slight puddle on the washroom floor but we didn't think much of it! Overall, the experience was wonderful and we would definitely like to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel room, amazing food, beautiful view, and amazing workers.
The weak points
Beach was a bit of a far distance and difficult to find a seat/spot anywhere, entertainment was underwhelming, al a carte was difficult to book reservations for, and hotel room did have a minor issue with the bath tub leaking at one point.

Sun and warm weather!

, Morrisburg, ON
2019-04-18
Our biggest concern was that we had water coming in from the ceiling (apparently caused by the air conditioner) as we were located on the top floor and our toilet kept running. It took the staff 4 days before they came to fix the problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is an adult only section of a large resort. It is kept very clean and the grounds are spectacular. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The weak points
This was our second trip to this location. We last vacationed there in 2017 and we found that the quality and service had gone down from a 5 star to a 3 star. One restaurant, the Santa Fee, had the worst service. Although we had a reservation, we had a lo
Certified

Grand Bahia Príncipe Aquamarine

, Timmins, ON
2019-03-24
Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff , kept very clean, excellent food.
The weak points
Rooms area outdated , hard to get a la carte reservations
Certified

Too Big, Too Much of the Same

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-21
Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine
Stayed Feb 19-26
Usually in my reviews I give a bunch of advice to guests to make their stay more enjoyable like don't drink the water, etc. But this time I'm going to give the hotel advice on how to make a guest's stay more enjoyable. I won't be back but maybe by next season if some improvements are made it will encourage people to go back.
CHAIR RESERVING: This part of my stay was extremely stressful and frustrating. That anyone has to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a chair by the pool is crazy making. I had a room that overlooked the pool. There were some chairs that did not have people in them all day and the hotel does nothing to police it. The hotel needs to regularly police the pool area and remove towels from chairs that have been empty for a while. They should not be giving out towels until 11am and give people a chance to have breakfast, change into their swimsuits and hit the pool. The reason the pool fills up so fast is because the beach is so far away. It's the same thing at the beach. Lots of beach loungers with towels and no people. No one should have to be stressed out while on vacation because they can't find a place to relax.
BEACH AREA: Each hotel on the complex is supposed to have their own area on the beach. But the only area I could see that was roped off or marked was the Prestige Club. We were told a general area of where our beach was but there is no signage for any of the hotels in this complex. Every time we asked where our beach was we were given a different answer. One day we made our way over to the far side which is the Fantasia resort and were greeted by a security guard who informed us that this was not our beach but he said tomorrow we could go to our own beach (yeah if we could find it). There were people with every bracelet colour sitting everywhere. So why even pretend that each hotel has their own area if you aren't going to give proper signage or cordon it off or enforce it? That's just lip service and serves no purpose except again to make your guests frustrated.
BEDS: The beds are as hard as cement slabs and very hard to sleep comfortably in. Consider getting new ones.
SIGNAGE: I realize that you rebranded Ambar Blue and Ambar Green into Ambar and Aquamarine but there is still old signage that refers to their old names. As well the maps that you give out with the room cards don't even have the latest resort, Fantasia, on it. Your signage generally is confusing and again frustrating.
MAID SERVICE: One thing you should keep in mind for North Americans is that they use wash cloths. We had them for the first 5 days and then all of a sudden we didn't get any. First day we didn't get any I requested them through the app and they appeared. I thought that would clue the maid in that we wanted them every day. The second day we didn't get any either, and we also didn't get any new water. Or more towels. So I requested them through the app. I got the water and 2 towels but no wash cloths. The maid said 5 minutes. After an hour I put in another request on the app and they were delivered. Just keep in mind that North Americans use wash cloths.
LOBBIES: Why are their two lobbies called Aquamarine? A smaller one and then the bigger lobby? One time we got on the trolley and asked to be taken to the Aquamarine lobby and he took us to the smaller one farther away instead of the larger one. Again very frustrating when you end up someplace other than you intended. It happened all week. It took us about 5 days to master the way around the resort. It's just too big and if it keeps growing the problems will keep getting bigger as well.
The one high point of our visit was the a la carte Portofino which is Italian. It was an amazing meal. A meal that we would actually have paid for. The deconstructed soup was a very good surprise. The pizza was good as was the tortellini. The desert was excellent. We met the manager and told him so. Very professionally run. The wait staff were fully trained and totally attentive.
The M.E.A.T. Steakhouse was ok. The steaks had a lot of grizzle and fat. But again the desserts were nice. And we had a cocktail, I think it was called a Whiskey Jam and it was served very chilled and was very good.
The food at our buffet was just OK. You could get fresh cooked fish. One time I tried the roast beef and it was dried out and over cooked. There is variety but it's the same thing every day.
So that's my review. I won't be back. I don't go on vacation to be frustrated and stressed out. As others have said everything looks nice, is clean and the grounds are kept looking wonderful. But it just wasn't fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, beautiful grounds. Elegant settings. Some a la cartes good if you can get into them. Good but not great buffet.
The weak points
People reserve pool chairs all day and it is not policed. Confusing signage. Unreliable shuttles. Too far from the beach. Beach is not well marked in regard to which area belongs to which resort. Again overcrowded and reserved seats.

Poorest services

, Surrey, BC
2019-03-12
One side of this hotel has a warehouse from another company. Pray you do not have your room on that side. Had to run to get extra towels day and night and room not clean when started. Had to complain to get anything done [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
7 resorts in one. Ok food and it is truly beautiful thru the grounds
The weak points
Have to chase everyone to get service. Beach is quite a ways away but shuttles with golf carts ok. Have many videos of the warehouse and noise but can't upload those. Was a package and company had no contact til last two days.
Certified

9 friends staying for one week

, Paris, ON
2019-03-04
Very clean with exceptional, friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large room. Very comfortable. Good food. Excellent pool.
The weak points
Difficult to make change for tipping.
Certified

Was probably a 5 star hotel at some point...

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2019-02-25
What probably started out as a 5 star hotel is starting to show its cracks. I can't say there was anything in my stay that didn't have an asterisk next to it that in some way lessened the experience. The hotel looked nice, however it was starting to show age, and while they were constantly doing things like painting, landscaping, and replacing cracked tiles, it felt like it was deteriorating at a rate faster than they could keep up. While the price was ok, it was hardly the full price that you paid. Every excursion or extra activity had an additional fee, and you ended up having to tip everyone anyway. The front desk staff were nice as they assisted with every problem I had, and tried to resolve it as quickly as possible. The beaches, while beautiful, would constantly get covered in seaweed and required cleaning daily, which left ugly piles on the beaches. If you managed to find a seat that wasn't take, then you would expect a constant barrage of people trying to sell you things. The pool was a highlight. The swim up bar was a great to have however having it segmented into 3 areas instead of one continuous pool kind of made it feel small. The room is where we personally had the worst experience. The first room we got was a mess when we got into it. The toilet didn't work, there were rust stains from each faucet, shower head, and tub. The jacuzzi tub broke on first use. We called maintenance, and they told us to manually flush the toilet by taking the lid off the tank and pulling the lever that way. That was were we asked for another room. The second room was identical, however with a working toilet, but the jacuzzi tub was still broken, so we cut our losses there because we were not moving again. While the staff was generally pretty nice it came at a price. No one will do anything for you here unless you tip them. Every interaction i had with someone here came with the expectation of a tip, so if you plan on going here keep a bunch of change on you. The wifi is soft capped at 1Mbps down for the free internet and 5Mbps if you pay for "premium" access. Side note, if you have Boingo or any of those airport wifi services you can log in with that get the premium internet. The restaurants are fine. I never once worried about food poisoning or getting sick, all of the food was cooked properly. The problem I have with it is that you would never be able to get reservations via normal means. They have an app that you can try to get reservations at the restaurants on but they are booked from the moment you log in, up to a week before. we managed to get in a couple because we tipped our vacation guy who set us up with the customer service rep who booked us some nights, not even every night we were there was available, they basically managed to squeeze us in any cancelled reservations. Even then the food at the booked hotels was nothing special, it was as good as the food you would get at the buffet, but just with a specific theme. I think I had the same steak prepared 3 different ways at 3 different restaurants. I paid for the romantic dinner, which was a fixed menu, and that was nice, however again it's an additional charge, when I could have gotten the same meal "for free" at any of the restaurants. The location is beautiful. Punta Cana is a beautiful place.

Overall the hotel is fine. I dunno if I just got my hopes up higher for a 5 star hotel. While we were there we saw a couple of the other hotels on the resort and probably the nicer one to stay at would have been the Ambar, however it would have been an extra 1000 for the week if we would have stayed there. Also check out the Bahia Principe song before you stay here, if you like that song you'll be fine, but if you would get annoyed hearing it 5x a day every day of your stay then I have some bad news for you. Personally it grew on me after day 3. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is beautiful
The weak points
hotel is aging and is starting to show it expected more that i got for the price everything there was just ok expect to tip everyone
Certified

Very good hotel

, London, ON
2019-02-01
We had a great experience at Aquamarine and would definitely recommend to others. The beach, pool, food, and room were all very good. We were there for a week and we booked 5 a la cart dinners but there didn't seem to be a limit. The buffet is good, they have theme nights so food varies, some of it stays the same. People / staff are friendly, internet in your room, king bed, and everywhere is clean and very well maintained. The resort is huge. It was about a 10 minute walk to the beach. We didn't mind but if you have mobility problems it could be an issue. They do have oversized golf carts that travel to and from the beach so that helps if you need a ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, cleanliness, food is good, beautiful grounds, better liqueurs available but you pay for those.
The weak points
You need to claim a chair on the beach or at the pool by about 830 or 9 am to get shade but that's typical at other resorts we have been to.
Certified

Privilege Club Member

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-22
Not worth it being Privileged Club Member.
There's no difference from the regular guests.
We been there twice, we liked it first time that's why we bought the membership.

Second time that we went there with privilege member-not worth it. Receptionist wasn't really organized booking us coming and leaving.

A la carte food wasn't that good.
Beef or steak not taste like beef at all.

Buffet restaurant by the Aquamarine was great, food-lots of choices. Server were great. But the other one was terrible-didn't get offered for drinks.

There's no event or show every night unlike the first time. One of the singers who sings at night doesn't know the lyrics what she sang.

The beach chair for Privilege Club Member no difference with regular guests. Unlike the beaches I've been for VIP was amazing. They have to improve their service for Privilege Club Member. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of choices that u couldn't imagine at the buffet by the Aquamarine.
The weak points
Not worth it money we paid for Privilege Club Membership.

Five star

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-30
Five Star all the way except you have to pay for premium brands alcohol even though it is all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food at restaurants. Customer service excellent. Pools fantastic, large and plenty of lounges and umbrellas and huts.
The weak points
For a 5 star premium alcohol should have been included Buffet food standard Hallways noisy at night with drunk guests
Certified

LUXURY BAHIA PRINCIPE AMBAR GREEN

, Montréal, QC
2018-10-03
Overall my experience at this Hotel was a 5 Star . The Service. The Food. The Cleanliness. The Friendliness. The Animation. The Hospitality. The Ocean. The Weather. I only wish to stay longer. 2 weeks is a must at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Cleanliness Service
The weak points
None
Certified

Good experience

, Mississagua, HA
2018-09-21
It was a great experience . Food ,room ,services were all great . Except our check in was not what I expected, they asked and took our passports and went off somewhere else with it to check us in ,whilst we (other travellers as well ) were ushered in a separate room It was a bit uncomfortable especially with language barrier. Worst is our passports got switched with another couple!
Otherwise was a great experience, some of the staff were fantastic! Micheal ,one of the managers went all the way to make our vacation a pleasure ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean ,lots of variety in food, great entertainment .pleasant staff .
The weak points
Language barrier. Lots of weeds on the beach,bombarded with timeshare salespeople.
Certified

Fantastic

, Fredericton, NB
2018-03-16
This hotel was one of the very best we have stayed in. The property was exceptional. Staff were sincerely caring and the room was wonderful. Luxurious and clean. The pool area was also exceptional with lots of chairs available and bar service was great. Would go back in a second. Loved it!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green

, Embrun, ON
2018-02-23
The staff"s number one priority is the guest. The hotel was clean and staff was extremely attentive to our every need. Loved it and will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, good food, amazing staff who are attentive to your needs. Loved it and would recommend this hotel and I will return next year.
The weak points
Seriously I cannot think of any. Anything that was not quite right they fixed immediately. Love the staff.
Certified

Fifth BP visit

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-23
Unfortunately wee did not get the Junior Suite offered as the only one offered was directly next to construction of the new resort next door. Less than 10 metres. Noise started about 6 a.m. The alternate offered was a regular suite which did not have the same in suite facilities. Compared to other BP resorts this left a little about service. Good but not excellent we expected. Beach was the best of the resorts we have been to. Pools had insufficient shade but the beach had enough. We had two excellent meals in special restaurants. Excellent travel in resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and specialty restaurants Breakfast buffets good.
The weak points
Follow through on lack of suitable suites and the resolve. Shade near pools. Lunch buffets not strong. Evening entertainment programs hard to find. Only two worth viewing in a week stay.
Certified

Review of our stay in Ambar Green

, Ajax, ON
2018-02-13
We had a great experience - we loved the staff! In particular: Alexander, Johnny Bravo, Juan Carlos and Luis from the Annimation Team! The buffet and restaurant staff were all kind and courteous - In particular: Nono and Maria! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean - great service - efficient and friendly staff! We cannot wait to come back again!
The weak points
More washrooms at the Beach!
Certified

Excellent value for the Money

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-13
I travel 2 to 3 times a year down south and generally go to a new place each time. I came here in spring 2017 and was so impressed returned 2018.

The resort is wonderful, well kept, clean and lots of activities. The food is top notch for this price range.

I will return again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, beach and resort itself.
The weak points
No elevators so not so good if you are on upper floors and had mobility issues. We did not have any.
Certified

All I can say is WOW

, London, ON
2018-02-03
We were here from June 12-19
This resort is suburb, from the rooms to the personnel service to the food, with over 16 years of traveling we have never been to such a clean property. We had absolutely no complaints staying here.
Our butler Francisco was suburb as well, and no matter the request he tried to full it for us.
He made our trip so much better by being who he is as a professional at his craft.
I hope all who travel to this resort realize the hours spent to make your holiday perfect from the hotel staff to the groundskeepers to the wait staff in any area you eat or enjoy a cold drink on the rocks or an ice cold Cerveza. We will be returning and I would have no problems sending my clients here.
YES it is a big property over all, but you should realize this before you go. You can stay in the Ambar section where there is 2 buffets and 2 al cartes or you can venture too the other ones to enjoy what they offer.
Everyone should also know that the Ambar is WHEEL CHAIR ACCESSIBLE!!! and they have special chairs that can help someone into the beautiful ocean and back out to their chair.
Please remember if you book this resort there are NO ocean front or ocean view rooms. It saves head aches when you arrive thinking they do.
Room Tip: Ambar 2 (green) is in the middle and Ambar 1 (blue) is closest to the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was perfection
The weak points
No weak points
Pro

Coming back

, Amherstburg, ON
2017-12-30
Great check in procedure, amazing attentive staff, great band at lobby bar Saturday night Ambar Green, great buffets, restaurants. Was evacuated early because of Hurricane coming, have booked exact hotel in January as a RE-DO trip. can't wait! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service, check in procedure, clean pools and beach areas. All around great place in the few days we were there
The weak points
nothing in the 3 nights we were there that I can complain about.. great place
Pro

DONT GO THERE!

, Laval, QC
2017-12-09
Just arrived at the hotel and got the room with the view of the construction..... i don't mind about the view but I can't use my balcony because of the noise and all the dust!!!! I'm the type of person who loves to take some Time to relax on my balcony and now I can't! I can't Even open my window! Asked to change the room and they said not before Tuesday IF they have a room available..... so what?!? I have to spend all my day Tuesday to pack and unpack?!?? DONT GO THERE.... at least for now while it's under construction!!!! It's my Third Time at Bahia Principe and usualy it's not bad!!!! But for now DON'T go to ambar!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good place without the construction
The weak points
Room facing construction

LUXURY BAHIA PRINCIPE AMBAR GREEN

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-06
We didn't have very good experience at the hotel . Constructions outside ,noise , and dust was horrible . Not to mention sleepless nights , because of the noise . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the view
The weak points
constructions, food
Certified

Girls week

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-10-25
The hotel is wonderful. Ambar green is an adults only section and the staff and housekeeping are terrific.
It is a big resort so there are carts to take you from one section to another, but walking is also possible for the fit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff. The food is well presented and varied for everyone. The gourmet restaurants are very fancy. Food there is plated.
The weak points
There is construction on the property next door and can be a bit noisy. Should be done by end of 2018.
Certified

My Luxury Vacation

, Lasalle, QC
2017-10-10
Overall pretty good there were a few things that could be improved on there was no welcome when we arrived we had to be brought to our lobby before we were properly welcomed prior to that they made us just sit around. Some great staff our room maid, Johnny Bravo for Entertainment was very helpful. The 2 bartenders Gabriel and Maria were amazing even though we did not tip for every drink. The grounds were amazing and the pool area, the room was very spacious but musty smelling. Just open the patio doors it helped alot. Our fresh coffee and milk request for every morning at 9am was a problem we had to call every morning and wait. We were on the 2nd floor with a king bed that was our special request with air canada which we gave them when we checked in if not for asking you take what they give you. We met alot of people on the trip from everywhere it was good overall and I would go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, pool and spacious rooms, most of the staff Johnny Bravo and Gabriel and Maria the bartenders
The weak points
Very Poor Gym facilities dirty and out dated equipment at the Amber Green. The room smelled pretty musty we left the patio doors open that helped. The room service was an issue we made a special reque for coffee every morning at 9AM.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?