Grand Sirenis Punta Cana Resort

Grand Sirenis Punta Cana Resort
3.583.583.583.583.58
3.58 based on 284 reviews
#51 of 110 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (160)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Wonderful Stay

, Keswick, ON
2024-06-07
We didn't know what to expect when we booked, but the reviews have been fairly good for this hotel. It was amazing. The amenities were great. The food was very good both in the buffet and in the à la carts. What made this state especially amazing was Pedro who served us in the buffet morning and night. He made us feel like we were coming home every day. He is an amazing person and a wonderful benefit to this hotel. We also want to give a shout out to Andreas, who also worked in the buffet and who is definitely a Pedro in training lol The only thing I would say is the swim up bar really needs to do something about their drinks. Instead of using slushy machines, we need to learn to use a blender to crush ice because the slushy machine is down one hour after the bar opens. Other than that, we are definitely coming back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pedro and Andreas at the buffet and the staff in general that makes this trip well worthwhile
The weak points
The swim up bar. It really needs to improve. Slushy machines are not the answer. They cannot keep up with the amount of people in the pool and are down almost 1 hour after they open.
Certified

Grand Sirenis Punta Cana Review

, Cambridge, ON
2024-06-03
The hotel grounds were well manicured. The pool was deep, but had shallower areas for the kids.
The waterpark was great for the kids, big and small. Different areas for them to enjoy.
The coffee shop was fantastic, as was the "food truck". Always had great food there.
The beach was great - perfect for the kids and didnt have any issues finding a chair or a place in the shade.

The animation crew was great.

The hotel has an app that you can use to check out daily activities, hotel info, and book a la cartes. It was extremely useful and helpful.

The a la cartes had great food, but not so great service. We liked how we could book as many as we wanted to during our stay. The Japanese and Steak House were our favourites.

A few issues:
Our room was nice, but the bathroom was dated. We had a leak in the ceiling directly above the toilet. The TV in the room didn't work either. We didn't call the front desk, as it would be too much of an inconvenience for us, as we have heard from many people that they won't show up or repair, so we just put up with it.

Major issue with the hotel was the service. The majority of people working at the hotel looked like they didn't want to be there. Most were not very friendly, which we found odd, as we have travelled frequently and have been to the Dominican many times, and the service was always exceptional. We were often sat at tables that had not been cleaned off and had dirty dishes everywhere. After an awkward 10-15 minutes someone would come and remove the dirty dishes, and wipe the table down, but it was extremely unappealing. We would rarely have someone offer to fill our glasses with water or coffee, which we found odd compared to other trips we have been on. We are good tippers and tip at every meal, regardless if we get good or bad service, as we understand the wages and work required. But it didn't seem to matter. Service was definitely sub par here. We stayed at the Grand Sirenis Riveira Maya last year, and the service there was exceptional.

The bars all had long lineups all the time, and the beach bar was always behind on cooking the burgers. It always had long lineups.

I didn't like how much we were approached on the beach and asked to buy excursions or trinkets, even after telling them multiple times we were not interested. This persisted even when my two kids were having temper tantrums and I was trying to deal with that at the same time. It was pretty annoying.

This was our 10 year anniversary trip, and I mentioned it to the hotel ahead of time and nothing was done, not even a notice on the door. When we got there I noticed that you could add rose pedals, etc for an extra cost.

Perhaps the reason why the staff seemed so unpleasant was because many guests were absolute pigs. They packed their plates full of food, only ate half of it, and left it for staff to clean up. Kids on iPads everywhere, and parents not parenting their kids when they are misbehaving. Treating the entire place like it is a zoo for their kids. And this is coming from someone who brought a 7 and 3 year old with us. The guests had no respect for the property, the service staff, and treated the place like it was their personal garbage can. I understand this is outside of the hotel's control, but it is worthy to note if people are looking to get away from that sort of piggish behaviour.

Punta Cana is beautiful. Beach was fantastic and the transfer to and from the hotel is great.
My only statement to others is it isn't a great place to snorkel, as there is a lot of murky water from the waves. The area that you can swim doesn't have much structure, and the area outside of the buoys is protected, so they blow the whistles if you go on the opposite side of the buoys.
Overall, I would say we are done with the Grand Sirenis chain, as it doesn't seem to be worth the cost. Defiantly not a 5 star hotel. I would compare it to a 4 star hotel in Cuba. Even the food selection reminded me of Cuba.

We will not be going back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Easy to book a la cartes. Waterpark was great for the kids. The coffee shop and the "food truck" were great.
The weak points
Terrible service throughout the resort. Hard to get water/coffee at breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Dining areas very dirty. Used dishes are infrequently collected.
Certified

Amazing Vacation!!!

, Oshawa, ON
2024-05-22
Great Hotel, great buffet, pool. The coffee shop is a must visit. Amazing!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Best first trip DR ever

, Aurora, ON
2024-05-18
This hotel exceeded our expectations. From check in to check out and everything in between. Staff are well educated, friendly and accommodating. We have called front desk to fix our room AC they showed up in 10 min and dealt with the problem immediately. Food is so tasty with plenty of options in every corner you go, no matter where your are you won't go hungry. The A la carte was an amazing experience , we loved the Japanese, Italian and steak house.. plenty of lounges on the beach, it was a bit busy at the pool and all shades were taken but still managed to find shaded lounges every day. We will definitely go back to the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing experience at Grand sirenis
Certified

We enjoyed our vacation at Grand Sirenis

, St.Catharines, ON
2024-05-13
Excellent staff.Language translation was a bit difficult so down the app.
The food was very good especially in the Italian and French restaurants.The main buffet was also very good with variable choices .
VERY family oriented.If you don't like to be around young families don't go .We enjoyed that aspect !
Drinks were good with premium alcohol available.
Beautiful grounds! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff. Good variety of alternative restaurants Very family friendly. Immaculate lobby Lots of seats at beach and pool Registration was fast. Elevators to get to 2nd and 3rd floor. Many daily activities Concierge service was great
The weak points
45 -60 min. drive from the airport. Buffet at the pool needs fans or AC. The beach could be “manicured” better .
Sanitary measures
The resort was very clean with no sanitary issues
Certified

Girls Trip Amazing stay!

, East York, ON
2024-04-24
This place is a gem. Super convenient for drinks, food, pools, beach. Rooms were always clean, lots of towels and robes. Love it! The staff was fantastic, I'll be returning as soon as I can! Bring lots of sunblock and aloe. The gift shop is quite expensive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Grand sirenis Punta Cana

, Thornhill, ON
2024-03-18
Enjoyed our week at Gran Sirenas. Soecialty restaurabts were great - especially enjoyed French Japanese. Great beach for long walks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

3.5 Stars

, Hamilton, ON
2024-03-09
Nothing special about this resort .
It's nice if you don't pay attention to the details.
Food at buffets was far below what I have experienced in other resorts . Sewer smells in room .
Hit and miss with Staff , some are great but some are not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Japanese and Route 66 ala carts , excellent
The weak points
Very poor food at buffet, very poor staff
Certified

Mostly great stay

, Toronto, ON
2024-02-25
Pros: Beautiful setting, well kept grounds. Modern rooms, very clean with A1 A/C. Lovely lobby with great seating and layout. Very good food selection. Excellent beach and great pool layout with lots of chairs. Speciality restaurant French A1, Italian B, Brazil C-.
Cons: Service in main restaurants very poor, looong wait for coffee, water ect. SW rep very poor service, sloppy.
Waterpark OK except water slide joints hurt body as u slide down. Not allowed to wear t-shirts on slides.
Overall enjoyed greatly my stay and would return. Block 2000 best for Ocean views. Great resort. P.S. remember $20 departure tax p.p. cash [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Not worth the hype

, Caledonia, ON
2024-02-06
This resort has many great features, but they struggle to serve 1000s of people all at once. 90% of the food was really bad. One in our party and so many others we talked to had food poisoning. Line ups for drinks (drinks were great though). Some staff friendly but many just seem to be getting their job done without a smile.
Beach is lovely, not many polapas but we were able to find shade daily in the palm trees which was really nice. Best advice is to be cautious what you eat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food Service Waterpark
Certified

Great experience!!!

, Cobourg, ON
2024-01-21
We absolutely loved this resort! It was bigger than we had expected but the way it is set up makes it very easy to navigate! We were never disappointed by the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Fantastic a la carte restaurants (and many of them), the cafe was amazing, great disco, great entertainment, waterpark was fun, great beach.
The weak points
The cleaning staff was quite loud in the mornings outside of our room. Not a huge deal for us, but if you like to sleep in then it may be an issue for you. Need more bartenders at the beach by the BBQ.
Certified

Holiday gone wrong

, Bowmanville, ON
2024-01-09
Let me start off with the Service, it was extremely slow. The bars took 10 to 15 minutes to get a drink, longer if my step son was trying to get himself one. Staff were very dismissive and pretty rude. I asked one of the bar staff what a certain drink was and he stuck up his nose to me and said VIP only. I understand there's a vip only menu but I was just wondering what the drink was called, the staff member could have told me the name of the drink then politely said sorry maam that's on the vip drink menu. Instead he was very rude about it. There were a couple other small situations with the same server but thats all I will say about him.
    The buffet was terrible, food was ok but being seated, waiting for a server to come over to give us utensils, napkins and take our drink order took forever!  I went in once with just my step son and I. They didn't even acknowledge we were there, we had to find our own drinks, utensils and napkins, our table was filthy. Along with the chairs and the table has a fowl smell(which seem to be every time we went in there. We were there for 10 days) We went in the buffet to grab a few things when we came back our table was cleared (we had just gotten there) all we got was a oh thought you were done. No replacements for anything. We went in one morning for breakfast and there was a giant Cockroach just laying on the floor by our table and the staff just picked it up and laughed.
    The a la cartes service was just slow. Good though.
There's a small coffee shop on the resort that makes great coffees but the staff are miserable.
  My husband was violently ill for 2 full days(like didnt sleep he was so sick).

The water park was fun but the slides need maintenance. My family got pretty banged up with cuts, scrapes and quite a few bruises.
There's a very small arcade on the resort. My family and I went into play some games. After playing a couple, we had staff come up to us trying to tell us it's not free to play and that it's 10 USD per game per person. There were no signs or staff when we came in, indicating we had to pay. If you need to pay, staff should inform guests before entering.

Last but certainly not least we had someone come into our room and steal from us. Our safe was not in proper working condition. When I told staff they said that "all the safes are like that" so we did not use. Once we reported to staff that we were robbed. They accused us of hidding our money, searched our room and belongings, twice! Once that was finished, said they were going to looked over the cameras but "no one was in our room" when they looked so, of course nothing was done.
To finish off our trip, When at the airport my husband was robbed.
     This whole experience has put a bad taste in my mouth and because of it, I will not be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Grand Sirenis Punta Cana

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-12-10
All aspects of our vacation were really good. All staff and service was really good. Buffets good but in the larger buffet service could be quite slow as there were so many people in there. Laundry carts in hallways extremely noisy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean in all depts. Good food and better drinks. Beach is lovely.
The weak points
Bit big for people with difficulty walking.
Certified

Awesome first experience in the DR

, Sherbrooke, QC
2023-06-07
Honestly an amazing week stay at the Grand Sirenis resort. The food was great, the resort (all of it) was always clean, the staff was friendly and welcoming and helpful, the entertainement team was awesome, the activities I did and shows I saw were fun. There was always something to do at every hour of the day. The pool and beach are awesome. Sometimes service at the buffets could be a little slow (ex; we had to find someone to get utensils or go get our own water a few times) but overall really good. The concierges were super helpful and available (we worked with Boucard and Darisleidy). I am very prone to bug bites and got eaten alive on the beach and in the resort at night (not sure if mosquitos or sand mites) but I don't think that's the resort's fault. You have to get up early if you want a good spot on the beach or by the pool! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness Food Friendly Entertainement
The weak points
Speed of service at buffet (at times) Bugs at night
Certified

Sirenis review

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-28
Overall it was a very nice place to stay. Rooms were large and clean. Common areas were well cared for. Staff was mostly friendly and tried their best to communicate with us (we don't speak Spanish) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amenities and food. The pool was nice. The beach was great. You could walk along the beach for miles in any direction.
The weak points
Often did not receive all items in the room (water, enough towels) Rooms were sometimes still being cleaned late in the day when we wanted to get ready for dinner
Certified

Excellent Beach, Pool and Food

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-22
Very nice setup. Love the easy access to everything. Beach is beautiful, pool is huge and clean. Lots of different variety of food. Oh, the water slides are a big bonus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Big pool, good beach. Nice bars. Great coffee shop. Nice water slides.
The weak points
Can be confusing on the first day.
Certified

NOT A GREAT EXPERIENCE

, Waterdown, ON
2023-03-21
The hotel is a little dated, not a big deal. The rooms are small and have no fans in the bathrooms which leave them very wet and mildew smelling.
The pools are not maintained very well and smell strong of urine.
The water park was fun but also dated with slides shut down often.

While we were there there was the norovirus going around the resort was not very proactive in trying to get ahead of the virus and stepping up cleaning protocols. In fact it was opposite. They fully ignored it as if nothing was happening. It was like a barfing apocalypse. There were kids projectile vomiting in many locations of the property no one was helping the parents. My husband and i were grabbing garbage bags to help out. Staff just walk by and smile. It hit our family as well. The food is terrible not kept at proper temps and I believe that the virus was coming from the food because as soon as you started to feel somewhat human and try to eat you would start at square one again. We ended up buying chips everyday and eating white buns in our room. The ambulance was at our resort daily pricing people up for dehydration. The guest services were ordering medication for patrons that cost $$ 220 us dollars to make you feel better. The medication was deworming medication. This was my children's first all inclusive but My husband and I have been to many including 9 times to Punta Cana and have never experienced anything like this. Overall this hotel is a Health risk and I would not go if they gave me a free week. The list can go on and on but these were the main issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The grounds were nice for a family, dated but nice The beach is beautiful, water is rough but my kids enjoyed the waves. There was one receptionist who was very caring and one waitress that was great in the breakfast buffet
The weak points
Not sanitary moldy rooms food not even close to safety standards not washing dishes in dishwashers not hygienic
Sanitary measures
There were none, Health safety concern . no washing their hands. They were serving drinks from plastic cups and just rinsing them under a tap and reusing them. the cleaning staff was wiping down rooms with the dirty towels from the bathroom. List goes
Certified

Great trip with new experiences

, Caledon, ON
2023-03-03
Enjoyed our stay at the resort. Lots to do with so many options and lots to explore. Food was good but not great but again no complaints. Amazing pools and the beaches were stunning. Rooms were nice but didn't love that critters could get into the room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beached were amazing, pools were fantastic!
The weak points
Found two cockroaches in our room throughout the week. Blocked the gap under doors with towels to avoid more.
Certified

Great experience

, Sudbury, ON
2023-02-07
I have been to a few resorts but I got to say this one beats all by a mile.
Service was fantastic from getting checked in by Andry , served cocktail by Victor and Philippe to
things wrong with room called and they fixed right away
Food was excellent
The grounds were well kept [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food excellent Rooms were great Service desk
Certified

DO NOT GO HERE

, Fenelon Falls, ON
2023-01-28
I am not one to write reviews, good or bad. In fact I have only written one other review before but I felt it necessary to make sure people were aware of what they are going to experience if they book to go here. At first sight everything looks nice. Rooms were modern and decorated nicely. Resort seemed typical. As the days went on we realized the truth. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The resort was disgustingly dirty, cockroaches in the a la cartes, the one buffet smelled like urine and the staff were unbelievably ignorant and rude. The maid would come in and take the tip we left out for her and not even clean the room.
The weak points
Small items went missing from our room (deodorant, hair clips, etc.). The maid would leave the cart in the hall and everyone from our hallway would have to go down and get our towels and linens ourselves. Rat/mouse poop in my rice.
Sanitary measures
This resort was the dirtiest resort I've ever been too. Hand foot and mouth outbreak, washrooms smelled atrocious, maids and maintenance staff did not want to work.
Certified

A pleasant trip

, Ottawa, ON
2023-01-11
We have been to this resort 20 years ago, and we here positively impressed with the renovations. As stated in the itemized entries, everything was good to excellent. We believe three things are worth mentioning for prospective tourists.

First, it seems that the hurricanes in the previous years took their toll on the beach, and especially on the sea entry areas - they become more abrupt and with significant deep holes ... but if you visit the neighbouring resorts, the Sirenis beach is excellent by comparison.

Second, the pandemic years took their toll on the staffing quality - most of the staff seemed quite inexperienced, and even with their best efforts, small chaotic situations occurred often ... but the enthusiasm was there and I'm sure this can improve quite fast (maybe a few experienced people here and there could provide live examples).

Third, when leaving the Dominican Republic, a 20 USD departure fee per person has to be paid at the airport. My understanding is that some companies deal with this as part of the package, and some are not. We were surprised at the airport to have to pay this fee in cash, without any "official" way to get the required USD's (the first currency exchange desk is well inside the airport). We were able to get Dominican pesos from an ATM and we found some kind of a luggage helper "boss" to do the currency exchange at an outraging rate, but the whole situation was kind of stressful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice, pleasant, "no stress" resort, for both sea and pool fans.
The weak points
We caught 3-4 seaweed days out of 14. The beach cleanup was quite inefficient, with rakes and wheelbarrows ... a properly equipped tractor would have been nice.
Certified

Amazing Resort!

, Lasalle, ON
2022-12-08
My family stayed here for a much needed vacation. The staff in the buffet and Brazilian restaurant were wonderful (the only two we attended regularly). The room was updated and clean. The entertainment was out of this world! The dances and themes were really creative! I don't think I've danced that much since being in my twenties! My daughter (8 years old) loved the kids club! The activities were fun and hands on. It was a great space for her to make friends since she's an only child. Overall, we loved everything about this resort and will absolutely return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Awilda in the kids club was amazing! She was engaging and really took the time to make the kids feel special!
The weak points
The Route 66 restaurant was a bummer. The food was not very good (although we didn't just order a hamburger which everyone around us did). However the staff here were inattentive and unfriendly. That was our only negative of the whole trip!
Certified

Stay at Grand Sirenis Feb 26 - Mar 4

, Regina, SK
2020-03-06
This resort is a great mid-range 4 star resort. It is great for families with kids. The waterpark is great - although showing signs of wear. The beach out front of the resort is fantastic. We found the buffet to be a little underwhelming depending on the night's theme. The a-la-carte restaurants were just fine - food was good. The decor of them could use some updating. We never did see the Mediterranean or the French restaurant open. The lobby has a great pre-and post dinner atmosphere that lots of guest hang out at for a pre and/or post dinner drink. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reno'ed rooms are nice Waterpark is great! Beach at the resort is great Great housekeeping service
The weak points
Pool was a little too deep Food was only so-so A little rough around the edges - resort is showing it's age. A little tough to get drink service sometimes
Certified

Not Recommended

, Truro, NS
2020-03-01
We just returned from Grand Sirenis. There were some high points - the coffee shop is great, the lobby is quite a nice spot to spend a hot mid-day, the Brazilian a la carte restaurant is excellent, and the family room is a great layout for families of 5 with small kids (there's a limit on the size of the beds), but there are some real improvements that need to be made to this resort if they expect to compete with other chains. The cleanliness is not up to standards, to the extent that they allow the on-site peacocks to defecate on the balcony of the buffet restaurant and it's not cleaned up, or prevented. It was disgusting. The room cleanliness wasn't amazing, but wasn't as bad as the overall resort. The water park is pretty old-looking as well, and again, the service there was abysmal. We met some nice servers, and our concierge was very nice, but the service all around is not nearly as friendly as I've experienced at other places, even with tipping, which is expected. Many things weren't open - only one buffet restaurant the whole week, some of the slides in the park, and the a la cartes aren't great either (aside from Brazilian). There is also rampant smoking, which, had we known, we wouldn't have gone there. There are cigarette butts all over the beach, garbage on the grounds and just all around unkempt-ness. We did use the kids club three times, for short stints. Two cooking classes and one part of a movie. The staff were pretty lame - on their phones pretty much all the time - not caregivers we would expect to do things with our kids, but they were fine for "child minding". The sand is awesome, the water is amazing (though pretty wavy for small children), but for a little more money, you could go to a Beaches resort and get much better service and a much cleaner resort. Lastly, if you go, don't go on the "breakfast on the beach" sell, which is just to try to get you to sign up for the club option. The club option is insanely expensive, and the presentation and breakfast took 3.5 HOURS for us to get through, even though they said it would be 90 minutes. You don't find out about the price until you've gone through the whole thing - it's like a really bad car salesman pitch. Our poor kids. We did get to see the club rooms, which were super nice, but this resort needs to focus on servicing the guests it has, even the "regular" ones, not just trying to get you to sign up for more expensive options. This resort is also trying to be a party resort as well as a family resort, which doesn't work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A great beach; a good size resort; pretty receptive to issues (though we didn't raise many); Wi-fi was great throughout the whole resort (not all the way to the beach though).
The weak points
Smoking all over the resort; lack of service; unfriendly service by many; uncleanliness; food was not great.

First time in Punta Cana

, Halifax, NS
2019-12-28
This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, and we were not disappointed. From the beautiful airport to arriving back there to go home, it was fantastic.
"Cappuccino" was a great host/guide on the bus from the airport. The resort was beautiful, right on the beach and plenty of pools, and had activities all day long. The buffet restaurants were filled with almost any food you can imagine, and we thought it was delicious as well. The a la carte restaurants we ate at were very good, indeed, the food amazing, with the Italian our favourite service, and the Brazilian our favourite food. The Christmas Eve was a special evening where even the resort managers were out greeting the guests and reservations were required for the buffet, where they served every Christmas food you could imagine, except brussel sprouts [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hola Tours Staff Bars Restaurants Plaza All fantastic
The weak points
Concierge pushiness
Certified

Sirenis Cocotal

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-03-18
Had to pay extra for things I feel should have been included eg. wifi, bingo it is an all inclusive resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool
The weak points
Room dated
Certified

Resort Review-Sirenis Cocotal Beach

, Sturgeon County, AB
2018-02-21
Our experience at this hotel was terrible. From the moment we stepped foot in this resort, we were disappointed. The managing staff was not at all friendly, in fact, most were rude and would simply ignore you and move onto helping the next in line; who not ironically enough were there to state similar complaints; and our concierge was extremely pushing. After realizing that he was not going to be tipped for being so aggressive, we never saw or heard from him again. When we made complaints the hotel treated us like our concerns did not matter. We filled out a survey that was handed out in the main buffet one day and gave it poor marks, we were giving a letter requesting we meet with public relations; when we went down to do that we were told they were busy, we'd have to come back....I believe that speaks volumes. They had computers set up around the lobby asking for ratings and feedback, filled it out and again we had a letter to visit public relations slipped under our door. Tried one last time and this time we were told to have a seat someone would be us shortly; waited half hour and then walked away. No one ever tried to reach out to us...something they could have done considering our room number was on the letter. We were put in the oldest part of the resort and it showed every ounce its age. I couldn't be more disappointed with this holiday we spend really good money on and gave to our children (3 of them ages 16, 14 & 5) as a Christmas gift. I really expected my hard earned dollars to go to something of better quality, this was not a cheap trip by any means. We are not frugal and we would have thought a $14,000 *CDN) trip would have provided better accommodations. We were further insulted when we agreed to sitting thru the RCI lecture and were shown rooms FAR exceeding what were put in. In my opinion these rooms were what I had paid for. What a slap in the face that they wanted twice the money for these rooms. Cause at the end of the day the food and services around the hotel were not going to be any different. There are no adjoining rooms unless you travel RCI or the others listed and if traveling with younger children it's an uneasy feeling to not have your children with you or in an adjoining room. I have so much negative to say about this resort that it would be nothing short of an essay. I will end with, if you are thinking of this place, please do your homework and consider another resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff that wait on you in this resort are super friendly and it's unfortunate that this place is understaffed as these are always the people that feel the brunt of everyone's frustrations.
The weak points
Management is weak. They need to work on their hours of meal times...there were times when there was not a single place to eat at. Need to work on providing more a la carts....getting only 3 for a 10 day stay when there are 6 to choose from.
Certified

Sirenis Cocotal

, Jacksons Point, ON
2018-02-13
The room we were given was aweful in L building room L002 it had mould was very damaged the beds were disgusting with wholes in walls and box springs. There were mouldy crackers in one of the drawers. The hotel staff would only move us if we upgraded spending 25per person per night which we could not afford. The website stated there was a kids club which there was NOT. There were childrens activities at times but nothing was pre planned or at any specific time. The staff would be at the "kids club" area in the am around 1030 but when asked they said no they don't take children for a kids club there. I will not be returning to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sirenis Coctal Beach Resort

, St. John S, NL
2017-05-18
The hotel is a nice small size but still has many options of things to do and places to eat. The pool is very large and relaxing. Neither the pool nor beach were overcrowded or loud. Half the resort was under construction while we were there so this may have contributed to the calmness but we would recommend this resort to any others traveling to the Dominican. The water park Was very fun but probably could feel a little more safe; however, we didn't really have a problem with. The room was a little dirty in the bathtub and around the baseboards but was otherwise beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, staff, water park, size of resort, variety of restaurants, appearance, kayaking, west jet recommended excursion on catamaran, quiet environment, no long lines at bars
The weak points
Was told I could go windsurfing if I came back the next day but then I came back and they told me they hadn't fixed it yet, very push sales people on main walkway from 6-10 on 2-3 nights the week, bathroom cleanliness
Certified

If you pay me I wouldn't go back there

, Gogama, ON
2017-04-24
From the beginning it started terrible with waiting for room for 5hours. I read the reviews before but I thought,you know,can't be that bad -well it was! Got the room coco side c102 it was renovated wasn't bad but no tv for 5 days.Beds were old and hard you can feel the springs but I used towels and extra blanket to make it a bit softer. Food,well first of all no tables available breakfast,lunch or dinner. Have to wait in line in front of the restaurant to get the table and then in line like cows to pick Some food, that wasn't good . Won't starve but not much to pick from that taste good. Ala cartes they say you can only book 2 for a week but if you push you may get 3 nothing spectacular . No wifi even in the lobby you have to pay I think it was $60 us for a week not sure but you better of pay at the hotel for wifi. You have to pay for safe $3 a day . By 7am no beach chairs so get up early to get them . At the end of the resort there is public restaurant Happy hour great got dinner us$50 for 2 lobster ,2 fish shrimp,squid and fries it was great better then hotel. A large Prresidente beer $4us. Some people from hotel every morning on the way for breakfast, I overheard them complaining about rooms disgusting bathrooms or something else. This was reminder for me why I don't do all inclusive resort you better of renting a house more Cheaper and much much better . Pool small lots of kids and warm . Drinks suger,sugar and some liqueur . got sick there after eating fruit. it seams like they using same knife for onions or a dirty counter.. my friends got sick to after eating fruits . So you can't go wrong with hard boil egg and Bread (was good and fresh beaked) in the morning lunch bread and dinner some tomatoes and bread that's what I eat for 10 days wasn't worth the money that I payed for sure .i wouldn't recommend that hotel to anyone 2stars no more then that . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sun
The weak points
Food rooms no wifi in the lobby ($) no miusic on the beach boring
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024