Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar
3.843.843.843.843.84
3.84 based on 615 reviews
#14 of 70 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (242)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Week in Cuba!

, Bathurst , NB
2024-05-07
Great week. Enjoyed the resort and staff very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Accommodations and staff are the strong points.
The weak points
Lack of different choices in food stuffs. ( condiments/ spices/ lack of meat products/ etc.
Certified

Do not recommend this resort!

, Calgary, AB
2024-05-06
I would like to express my disappointment of resort Paradisus princess del mar in Varadero . We have had nothing but problems with the staff, we had no running water for a day so we couldn't use the toilet or shower, the bathrooms by the pool? Restaurants, and lobby were not working either. We booked reservations for dinner and was booked completely wrong so they turned us away for dinner. Our room key stopped working 4 times that we had to get a technician to come fix it. We also asked for water in our room and it took them 2 days to bring it. They ran out of food, the staff always had a different response. Lastnight I was sitting in the courtyard and I saw an altercation between 2 staff members, they had to be pulled apart and one looked intoxicated. The last but not least when we went to check out, the housekeeper accused us of steeling the beach towels, so when I went to speak to the front desk they said they could not check us out without the towel! I am now in tears as again we are being accused!! I demanded a manager, so they told us to speak to customer service. When we did and I explained again to them and told them to search our bags, they received a call from the housekeeper and they found the towel.

We do not recommend this hotel to anybody! Our experience was not good at this resort and we are very upset on how we were treated!

We do want to say though the excursions and the entertainment staff were amazing, but we will never come back to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment staff were amazing!
The weak points
Service was terrible. Being accused of stealing beach towels by the housekeeper

Princess del Mar

, Bathurst , NB
2024-04-30
The week that we spent was as good as we expected. We were treated with high respect and were well-served by the hotel staff - reception, bar staff, cleaning staff. A particular shout-out to the beach guy - very accommodating and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Service was excellent. Wonderful beach.
The weak points
There were shortages of some foods - potatoes, beef, soft drinks. The room was quite damp.
Certified

PARADISUS PRINCESA DEL MAR

, Halifax, NS
2024-04-02
We had the most amazing seven days at this resort! The staff were superb! Hector working the front desk was exceptional with his customer service and Carlos and the entire entertainment crew were simply amazing!
The hotel was clean, well maintained and the service was the best I have ever experienced at an all inclusive resort! We were a family of 6 from age 23-65 and we all agree this was an incredible experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff - Service - Beautiful Grounds - clean rooms
Certified

Great Resort

, Blenheim, ON
2024-03-29
Have stayed here many times bur this time we have seen mamy improvements. New boardwalk, better food selections just to mention a couple.
These upgrades are from the new GM, which is really good for Princesa del Mar.
But the staff is excellent. Just a few names to mention. Leo, Evelio, Yuan, Yusmila, Nayvi, Odalys, Yas, Yardley, Anisley, Mayelin, Mary, Danilys, Lianet. There are so many others.
This is not our last visit and we look forward to our next visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff super helpful and friendly.
The weak points
None

Paradise on Earth

, Hamilton, ON
2024-03-27
Cuba is well known for their beaches, and having returned three times already , the country is beautiful as well as the people. Paradisus is a beautiful resort, and the staff, too many to mention, are the most helpful and enthusiastic. Anisley, is the best, she is determined to make your vacation the best it can be, always smiling and there when you need anything. Besides the shortfalls , this is the most beautiful destination for a vacation, we stayed for nine days and wished we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to our next visit to Cuba and to Paradisus and to see all the friends we have made . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was delicious and plentiful, Anisley is a star, love her !! Rockhouse is a gem too.

The staff make the amazing trip, and the beach!!

, Hamilton, ON
2024-03-24
Where to Start we are a Group of 14 people and can be a hand full.
Beach : Amazing what else can i say.
People: Again amazing Friendly and very helpful but i must praise a few people directly and they should get a commendation ( Award) they go obove and beyond

1. Dayllen at the rock house , she works her ass off
2 Belgis and Nurian at the royal Buffet
3 Tony at the Royal Buffet
4 Mayelin of the entertainment staff , made or stay fun.
5 LILY at the beach resturant
saving the best for last is
6: ANISLEY , at the reception office , I cant stress enough how amazing this woman is and how she turned our stay into a vacation we will never forget and will bring us back again.
Food: its Cuba you know what you're getting when you go . your not going to starve and the food is good.
yes there was eggs and bacon yes pasta, chicken, pork, steak, lots of veggies
Rock bar is a gem in the rough , 24 hrs drinks and basic food , hotdogs ham and cheese on a bun , burgers, soup and more.
Rooms: Clean, beds are a bit hard but thats my personal opinion . i had toilet paper and lots of water but fridge was empty .
they do have a kettle so we brought instant coffee , but there was no sugar or whitner so bring some.
about money: i will make it simple Bring American , yes they take Canadian but American is better for them.
Over all .
Great trip will go again to this resort becouse of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Grand sunset princess 2wks Feb 2024

, Medicine Hat, AB
2024-03-13
Amazing. The grounds and the beach are spectacular. Many pools to enjoy. You can join the crowd or find privacy with ease! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Grounds, Beach, Pools, service, cleanliness
The weak points
The bars (Pool/ Beach) could use more staff. Buffet is great food is good but always the same. Maybe menu change each day
Certified

A great winter get-away

, Lakeshore, ON
2024-03-11
My wife and I experienced a pleasant wonderful vacation at this resort with its clean facilities, impeccable pools with swim-up bar and with good access to food and drink. The overall food quality we rated was at about 7 stars out of ten.
The daily room make-up service was very good. However on our arrival we found there were no towels in the bathroom and toilet paper appeared to be very scarce. We had to remind the maid to ensure to leave sufficient supply.
Also couldn't phone the office to make these corrections as it was inoperative. i.e. no dial tone. This is a definite priority item for guest and hotel safety and should have been repaired expediently. The front desk was informed several times, but it still was not corrected on our last day when we checked out.
Another safety item is the fact that many laneway lighting posts were not working with some very poorly to none maintained, some which showed live wiring protruding along the sides into the ground.
All in all, the staff everywhere including maintenance people, waitresses and other were very pleasant and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, comfortable accommodations and impeccable pools with swim-up bar and restaurants and eating pavilion conveniently located by the pool ares.
The weak points
Slow service at check in desk and although understandable being in Spanish speaking country, English was understood only by the desk and office staff. There also safety concerns I outline in the 'review' section/
Certified

No Fish....No Fish......No Fish

, Lamable, ON
2024-03-08
The hotel was nice, service was good, rooms were clean. There were some shortages for sure. If you are booking this resort please bring toilet paper and your own coffee. A la carte restaurants were very good but there was no fish anywhere on the resort to be eaten during this week and the coffee was horrid. So if you are looking forward to dine on fish and good coffee don't go to this resort. There is a Isabella Cafe at the marina near by you can get a delicious cappaccino for $2.50 canadian funds. 10 minute walk from the Paradisus Princese Del Mar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice property - friendly service - excellent beaches
The weak points
Shortages include toilet paper, coffee, fish and clean towels in your room. Got to the hotel at 11:30 am and could not get a room until 5:20 pm. So you pretty much lose a day waiting for your room
Certified

Paradusis Princess del Mar

, St Catherine, ON
2024-03-04
They need to have faster accommodation service when guests arrive earlier than check in at 4. Felt very insecure about leaving our luggage just by the entrance.
They required us to leave our passports at the desk for 4 hrs prior to our check-in stating it would make getting our rooms quicker. It is against the law for them to hold on to our passports. I didn't like that at all. Unfortunately it did not help quicken the check in process. Some waited til 8 pm to get their rooms. We also asked for first floor accommodations and we were put on the 3rd floor. My friend has a medical condition which made this very difficult. We asked to move but they said we had to wait yet again.
The change in accepting Canadian currency should be stipulated clearer on booking. I've been coming there for many years and always used Canadian. Now you want US currency. I was not made aware of this and it was a very big inconvenience.
Trips were great. Food was ok. Not the best but very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great views...most a la Carts were great. Pool was nice...beaches are great!
The weak points
Customer service at check in is brutal. It is against the law to keep a guests passport. Need better drawers in rooms and outlets in the bathrooms
Certified

Entertainment team

, Moncton, NB
2024-02-22
This was an exceptional resort and in these challenging times this is a very difficult to maintain the high standard that is expected by the guests.
Our trip started by us reaching out to Laura Pla Perez, Jefe de Ventas/ Sales Manager to get a beautiful birthday supper prearranged, and she made it happen seamlessly. Thank you very much Laura Pla Perez
International Entertainers
This group of people in all reality made our trip 10 fold more enjoyable than it would've been without them, they knew now how to work the crowd interact with a crowd and keep the guest interested in what is happening. However, within every group there's always one that stands out and within this group
Carlos M is an exceptional professional. He displays a true enjoyment of his job, and make sure that the guests of the resort are having the most fun they can have outstanding job rabbit. Carlos has the ability to almost make you feel like you are the most important people on the resort, but still interacts with everybody amazing. It is a special talent to know exactly how long to stay with one group before you have to split and go to another group Carlos has this mastered.
Daniel at reception, when we arrived, helped us greatly, and throughout the entire trip was very quick to acknowledge if you approach the counter.
Borja the main chef, if anybody has an eating concern, such as lactose intolerant, celiac, or any other type of eating specialty this gentleman takes his job very seriously and make sure that everything is made to your individual need, Thank you very much goes out to him. With this being said, the Miramar restaurant is an à la cart in the evening, and they also were outstanding with individual requirements.
Another one of the entertainers that's stood out was Mayelin, she has an uncanny ability of finding somebody in the crowd who will work with her and energize the crowd well done Mayelin.
Rand one of the servers at evening, outside cigar and piano bar he knows how to flow through the crowd interact with one table, without interfering with another, has a true gift of professionalism.
Maday was the beach bartender she was very good very quickly could remember your face and what you're drinking always made them to taste not just because they're at an all inclusive.
Leo Danys, on our final day we had a Canada celebration down at the Port Royal Beach restaurant Leo demonstrated his outstanding managerial abilities organizing the event, and helping to control the excited guest to allow his staff time to prepare.
Nacho, is the one in charge of the Port Royale Beach Grill he appears to be a sober faced individual however, once approached, he opens up and shows a special person inside extremely friendly and professional about his job well done Nacho. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Carlos M and his counter part Mayelin make an exceptional team
The weak points
No real wheat points within their control food limitations outside of their control. Reliability of the Internet, but again outside their control.

Exceeded Our Expectations!

, Regina, SK
2024-02-22
The resort was awesome and the beach was amazing. The catamaran snorkeling off the beach is highly recommended and worth the price. It is better then the seatour excursions snorkeling. The staff at the resort are very friendly and welcoming. Leo the front lobby manager to the gardeners maintaining the resort always smiled and said hello while keeping the resort beautiful. The amenities in Cuba are lacking but the resort always had what we wanted for food and drink. If they didn't have cappuccino in the cigar bar then we would go to the lobby for one. If they weren't serving Ron Punch at the rock bar the piano bar would have some. We had absolutely no complaints about this resort at all! We will definitely be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach is very beautiful There's coral about 50 yards from shore for snorkeling Resort was amazing and easy to get around Staff were welcoming and friendly
The weak points
No coffee maker in room Bath towels didn't get changed
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Review

, Woodlawn, ON
2024-02-22
Staff is excellent, friendly & always cordial: short of bath & pool towels at times: Should be rated as 4 star not 5. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Location: Beach: Afternoon & evening entertainment: Adult only: multiple restaurants.
The weak points
One restaurant was closed: Because of the resort's location near the end of the peninsula, on excursions including to & from airport, you are the 1st to be picked up but the last to be dropped off.
Certified

Our Cuba vacation

, Kingston, ON
2024-02-22
The first thing I must say is the people of Cuba are the kindest people I have met in all my travels. The resort was def not a 5 star. It is in need of upgrades. We paid for royal service due to long wait times for a room. Royal service is not worth the extra. They do not “spoil” you the way they promote it. The food is good. The entertainment was good. They do a very good job of “trying” again, the people are wonderful. The beach needs to be cleaned but it is beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
People are wonderful. Staff try so hard to please.
The weak points
Needs update in pool and rooms. Hot water issues. Royal service was not what we expected. We will not be returning to Cuba. Prostitution at resort.
Sanitary measures
Needs improvement
Certified

Definitely not a 5*

, Picton, ON
2024-02-20
We were extremely disappointed with this resort. The price we paid did not reflect a 5* rating. The bathrooms were dirty and never had TP at night when everyone was out and about. We had to beg for TP in our rooms and dirty wet towels left on the floor to replace were simply hung back up. They were so threadbare and disgusting. They advertised as having international drinks but never had white wine and the one hour they did, they only offered one cheap wine. The food in the buffet was always cold and tasteless no matter if you came as soon as it opened. Never an explanation or apology for no wine, no eggs, no beef, no potatoes, no TP, no towels. The list just seemed to go on and on. And no umbrellas around the pool which is necessary in a tropical climate. I supposed I would not have anything to complain about if I had paid half the price and had no expectations. I used to love coming to Cuba but after this experience, I will not be back. And I strongly suggest something is done or this country will go bankrupt. We were not the only ones who felt this way about this resort and others in the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Run down and dirty resort, no wine, cold and tasteless food. Lack of basic necessities like TP, towels.
Sanitary measures
Needs improvement
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

, Armstrong, BC
2024-02-19
Our stay from start to finish was a great experience. The staff was exceptional. The food was better than we expected. The rooms were outdated but satisfactory. The white sand beach was wonderful. We paid for a number of excursions and very much enjoyed ourselves. We were lucky to have great weather. The wifi was not poor but we made due. There was entertainment every afternoon and evening. The spa was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff was fantastic, the location was great, the beach was beautiful, the weather awesome. It was a great trip.
The weak points
Rooms were outdated but clean. The linens were worn but clean. The food was repetitive but good.
Sanitary measures
Rooms were clean.
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Saint-Philippe, NB
2024-02-18
Loved our time at this resort. Always something to do if you wanted and plenty of places to just sit and relax. Entertainment crew were very interactive and full of energy getting the visitors involved. Shoutout to Carlos (looks after the entertainment), Leo (looks after the lobby), Mayday (bartender at the beach bar). We would definitely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Lots of food selection, Gorgeous beach, Amazing staff, Clean rooms
The weak points
Shower heads need replacing, Ran out of clean beach towels way before the cut off time.

Disappointed

, Waterdown, ON
2024-02-15
Bus transfer included 7 hotel stops before arriving at our hotel…arrived 1 1/2 hours after leaving the airport. Pickup at the end of our stay was the same in reverse…first on and 7 pickups again. The resort was laid out nicely among pretty garden paths and lots of 3 story buildings. The beach was great with lots of loungers so always had a place to sit. Our junior suite was a nice size, albeit somewhat rundown. The biggest disappointment was with the food…on a daily basis we heard “no”; no eggs, no white wine, no red wine, no butter, and so on. The buffet restaurant served exactly the same food daily with no variety. The layout could have been improved to eliminate the long lineups as well. Finding a table became an Olympic sport! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach, nice pool Lobby coffee was good Our housekeeping lady was helpful when we asked for replacement towels
The weak points
Food…no variety. Long lineups for food No eggs Language barrier in the International restaurant Buffet coffee was horrible Our stocked bar included two sodas and beer twice when we paid for it. Otherwise we only got water
Sanitary measures
None that I noticed.
Certified

Happy travelers

, Toronto, ON
2024-02-06
We had a wonderful time
The staff is fabulous and friendly
We recommend wholeheartedly. The shortage of some items, pales in comparison for the heartwarming service and fabulous beaches,
We have spend 2 weeks in Paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY!

, Fergus, ON
2024-02-05
What a Beauty! Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa has it all! My wife and I spent 7 wonderful days in late January here and we are still talking about our great time at Paradisus. All our vacation objectives were met! We came from a very cold Canadian weather, and we're met with the warmth of the Cuban climate and resort staff. We left a home where we did all our own cooking and household chores and at this resort, we were continuously pampered. We experienced great customer service, lively entertainment and varieties of food and beverages. We were aware of the country's economic crisis, and we were flexible with our expectations.

The grand entrance way was a curb appeal at its best. The large outdoor fountain out front was especially appealing at night when it's lit up at night beckoning you to your home in Varadero. Well-kept orange flowering hedges and lawns grace the trimmed lawns along the driveway. A lofty colonial styled covered drop off and entrance walkway leads one into the vey airy and lofty lobby. Your luggage can be brought to the spacious reception counter area. Here we were further greeted by very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful front desk staff Daniel. He accommodated our request for an ocean view room, and he explained in detail the lay out of the resort. Alex and few other front desk staff looked after our inquiries during the daytime.

On the right side was a sprawling piano bar with different groupings of seating arrangements and a classic dark wooden long bar area. The bar staff were smiling, friendly and attentive to our beverage desires from a tasty cappuccino to a classic Cuban rum drink. All around the lobby were spacious openings allowing in sunlight and ocean breezes. Our favorite bar tender was Mario Luis, who was quick to smile, laugh, converse and made tasty beverage recommendations. We were free to request a song to the pianist or other music groups. Of course, tipping as we went. At the far end of the lobby was the eye appealing grand view of the very well laid out vacation property reached by a very wide staircase. There was a palm tree colonnade with a fountain in the middle. Beyond the colonnade were various shaped swimming pools, sunbathing areas, walkways, bars, decorative ponds, palm trees and manicured hedges. The amenities were well supervised and maintained.

Anisley Alvarez Aranda the Restaurant Reservation Officer was accommodating. She made sure that we will have a great time at the restaurants she reserved for us especially during my birthday. David, the Excursion Representative had an enticing variety of trips, activities, and events to experience. There was a liquor store, currency exchanger and cigar bar selling classic Cuban cigars. There was a large courtyard for a meet up place during the day and a colorful disco during the night.

Themed restaurants that were uniquely designed and decorated to reflect their ethnic origins. The Japanese restaurant had group seating tables with a large grill in the middle of each table. A chef dressed in a black smock and a bandana would very skillfully, entertainingly and energetically grill up a very tasty meal. He did this while juggling utensils, joking around, and making flames at times to further the entertainment and cooking. I had the shocking and fun privilege of pouring rum on some of the food to create the flames.

The Italian restaurant had part of a wall painted with a mural design of an old Italian city. My wife and I enjoyed a pasta dinner that had sauce with tender chunks of beef. It was so delicious that I asked for a little more and I was happily surprised to get another full plate.

A real treat was having my birthday dinner in the Hill Top restaurant which was really for those who are part of the Royal service class. The restaurant was classy in décor and atmosphere. The sounds of the grand piano coming from the lobby of the restaurant throughout really made things special and romantic. We both savoured a tasty king lobster dinner and smooth white and red wine. As Happy birthday played on the piano, we were served a rum flaming cheesecake and a fruit flange. We were so happy and impressed that we tipped everyone involved real well including the pianist and the washroom attendant.

At lunch time we always had fun going to the Port Royal restaurant aka Cuban restaurant (I call it the Inside Outside restaurant) located at the beach entrance. Everyday it had a different ethnic theme played out in the food, flags and musical entertainment. Yes, they even had a Canada Day theme Eh! We always enjoyed the variety of food at every meal. For breakfast we always enjoyed a full deluxe omelet. A couple of times the breakfast room kitchen ran out of eggs, but the chefs replaced the omelets with tasty stuffed crepes. Another morning they had no coffee available, and we we're offered tea. We were directed as well to enjoy a delicious cappuccino in the lobby bar after. Also, there was fresh cut fruit, cereals and baked goods including chocolate dipped donuts. Our favorite beverage servers Danays, Lily and Cristian made our dining experience fun.

I will say that it's important to tip well to all the staff including the gardeners as they depend on this especially as the country is facing an economic crisis. I would also recommend bringing and giving gifts to the staff as well such as toothpaste, toothbrushes, medicine, shampoo, clothing, pencil crayons, colouring books, swimming goggles, cookies, candies etc. Even if the people have money the stores can be out of many products.

On the right side of the pool area was a yoga room, spa and a well stocked spacious gym. Going beyond the pool area towards the beach were well laid out 3 storey guest accommodation buildings. Throughout the very well maintained and clean grounds are numerous coconut trees, palm trees, shrubs, hedges, benches, lawns, and wide pathways. Be sure to ask a gardener for a fresh coconut. He will chop a hole in it so you can drink the juice directly from it. After drinking he will then chop an end off so you can scoop the flesh out with a spoon. We found the young coconuts were very tasty. This is also worth a good tip.

The buildings inside were spacious with wide airy hallways and stairways. We enjoyed an ocean view room on the third floor. Every day our room was cleaned well, including a wet mopping by our attentive Housekeeper Yaima. Our room smelled good. Toiletries were restocked as needed like toilet paper, soap, and shampoo. We never ran out of toilet paper. Our shower towels were replenished the day we requested them. Extra beach towels were available at the swimming pool area. Our bed linens were changed as requested. The shower always gave us warm to hot water. Daily our room was restocked with bottles of water and beer by the beverage attendant. You can also get teabags and sugar if you request. The air-conditioning always worked well. The phone didn't work but they supplied one in the hallway.

The beach experience was amazing. There is endless private white sandy beach to enjoy with swimming, tanning, walking, and viewing the turquoise blue ocean scape. No shortage of reclining chairs and umbrella tables. Lots of very fun and enthusiastic Cuban musical groups would show up in different venues of the resort like restaurants, bars and pool areas. Every evening weather permitting we enjoyed an outdoor disco that sometimes involved special dance groups.

This whole experience exceeded our expectations! We give this resort Five Stars Plus! We plan to come back this year to celebrate my wife's birthday and we will bring family.

Thanks again.

Henry and Alma [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly & knowledgeable staff. Great customer service. Clean grounds, restaurants, hallways, stores, swimming pool and rooms. Variety choices of restaurants & food. Fun-filled & enjoyable entertainment. Great beach with white fine sand and turquoise sea.
The weak points
Internet access in our room was not strong. But it was good in the lobby near the Front Desk Reception.
Sanitary measures
The resort was clean.

Not a five star

, Newtonville, ON
2024-02-03
Was in Cuba 10 yrs ago and I really won't return I don't care how nice the beach is.im well aware you font go to Cuba for the food but this absolutely the worse resort I've been too . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach was nice ,but the beach chairs were terrible and very old
The weak points
There was always something ran out of.The rooms had no coffee we had to call for water bottles every day ,no face cloths .The buffet powdered liquid eggs ,one day ran out of coffee, rarely any protein Like chicken,beef,pork.Cross contaminated there meat .
Sanitary measures
Not the greatest more like a 2 star
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Ottawa, ON
2023-12-20
We had a very nice week, the first two days the weather was beautiful so we really enjoyed kayaking, went out with the katamaran! The room was spacious and clean, the food was plentiful, the entertainment was great! We were entertained while having lunch at the Port Royal! Had fun dancing! Will come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean ! Plenty of sea foods!
The weak points
Flies at the buffet! No labels on anything!
Sanitary measures
Get rid of the flies!
Certified

Amazing getaway adventure!

, Mississauga, ON
2023-12-14
Having such a wonderful time so far at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa! From the pools and multiple activities to participate in, to the spa, the bars, the beach and best of all the entertainment. We've met so many wonderful staff as well that truly make this spot even more special. Highly recommend taking a trip here if you're looking for a fun getaway with friends, with your partner, siblings, parents or even just on your own! You'll always meet people and the staff will be sure you're having the best time! I will miss some great staff, Alejandro at reception, Mary, Ridel and Naivi from entertainment who all truly did SUCH an incredible job! I hope to write more at the end of my stay but wanted to share some photos and fun updates so far! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment, drinks, 24 hour snack bar, beach, pool and games!
The weak points
Nothing!!

Beautiful Pools and Beaches

, Sudbury, ON
2023-04-08
The resort has beautiful pools and beaches, staff were friendly and helpful. The food was better than expected. The a la cartes were great and we liked that we could pick one almost every night. The 24hr “snack bar” is not really a snack bar, they have a couple food options usually leftovers from the night before's buffet. Unfortunately the rooms and buildings need a lot of repairs, they are in rough shape with broken, furniture and fixtures, holes in walls, mold, doors that don't close. Bathrooms around the resort were very run down and missing toilet seats and fixtures. Cabana's are falling apart. We only had hot water two afternoons during the entire week. I was told from people who stayed in the Royal suites that it was the same there as well. Rooms/ buildings are not 5 star quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beaches, pool was beautiful and clean. A la carte dinning was great. Lots of choices at the buffet. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Buildings need a lot of repairs and upgrades. Rooms and bathrooms are falling apart, and musty/ mold. No hot water.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

, Mississauga, ON
2023-04-07
We had an awesome experience from beginning to end. The resort was a little tired but clean and very beautiful, the staff were very attentive and friendly, food was good with a large variety to choose from, Beach was amazing and the entertainment was also good. over all we loved our vacation and we would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Great place to relax

, Windsor, ON
2023-03-31
We have been to Cuba 5 times before and Paradisus Princesa Del Mar is our new favourite. The staff are super friendly right from our maid down to the guy who keeps the grounds maintained. No complaints of the food. It's was always fresh and plenty of selections. Our vacation started off on the right foot thanks to Ekaterina from their sales team. If spreading time at the pool get to know Ramese. He was always checking on our needs and a great person to chat with. When you go down to their large clean beach definitely look for Isela or Mela for they will give you an incredible foot massage. I really can't find anything to complain about so Paradisus Princsa Del Mar will be our resort when we visit Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Some of the people I'd like to mention you made us really enjoy our vacation. Ekaterina, Isela, Mela, Leo and Ramses. Thank you for your friendliness and kindness.

Great stay in Varadero

, Thornbury, ON
2023-03-07
The hotel was very nice. Several a la carte restaurants, nice private beach and great staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar, Varedaro, Cuba

, Moncton, NB
2023-03-05
The resort has so much potential. A few sections were dated and no longer in use. Main areas, buffet and the one "a la carte" we were able to book were great. The 24-hr snack bar was also good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Weather was amazing. Beach was amazing.
The weak points
Weak point would be availability of most items you take for granted, ie Ketchup, specialty drinks, etc.
Certified

Perfect

, Gatineau, QC
2023-02-28
We had a wondeful time, wheather wss good, People so Nice and the room perfect.
One thing for sure we want to go back, because it was besutiful , and the tour of havane, Mataza, Valadero was fun , éducative and beautiful.The staff are very Nice and polite and the show wow it was very good. The bartender kety was very Nice to us, mode somme good drink . We want to go back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
None
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024