Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

3.883.883.883.883.88
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar
#10 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
3.88 based on 528 reviews
Traveller pictures (118)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Quality of hotel

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-17
L'aire conditionné ne function pas pour 3 jours !
Pas de l'eau chaude déjà 5 jours !!!!
Très sale partout. Rien rénové depuis 16 ans !!!
L'odeur dans la chambre !!!
Pas de shampoo ou de produit de nettoyage!
Tout devrais être rénové ! Nettoyer !!!
Nothing works. Aire conditionné broked
Non hot water for 5 days
Stinky !
Hôte need renovation !
The staff are nice !
Beach not clean ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are nice
The weak points
Non hot water !!! Non aire condition- broked ! Stinky Hotel need renovation big time ! Internet accès 3$ for 1 hr !!!
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-22
Cher Alisa Tout d'abord merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre commentaire avec les autres utilisateurs de TripAdvisor. Nous sommes ravis de savoir que vous avez vraiment apprécié le destination. Nous comptons beaucoup sur les commentaires de nos clients afin de perfectionner nos services et apprécions énormément que vous ayez pris le temps de les écrire. Nous mettons un point d'honneur à offrir à nos clients un service de très grande qualié. Nous regrettons beaucoup tous les inconvénients auxquels vou savez été confrontés et nous serions très heureux de vous faire changer d'avis. Nous espérons donc pouvoir vous recevoir bientôt au sein du Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Cordialement, Directeur Général. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

Christmas in Cuba

, Regina, SK
2020-01-01
Overall this resort was great. Our room was situated in close proximity to pool, beach and restaurants and grounds were beautiful. The entertainment and activities were excellent. Food was good (for Cuba) although variety lacking at times. Serving staff were always friendly and polite. Customer service desk does not help you. We had an issue with towels being stolen off beach chairs and they took our room number and that was it - no concern whatsoever. We ended up arguing with them about it at check out and refused to pay for them. May be a scam to get extra $ for the resort as all guests have the same towels and they are left on chairs at the pool and beach all the time while guests are enjoying the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good servers and waiters. The beach and pool areas were clean and appealing. The a la carte meals were very good and filling. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Bad customer service desk staff. Water in the rooms were not always replenished daily. Water was not delivered even after repeated requests.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-03
Dear Steve Thank you to write such a long review about your experience We will study every item, and we will learn over them. So I would like to apologize about these aspects you have disappointed a little. The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our customer service and reception are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you. We will do our best to improve these aspects for your next time We hope to see you again in your next visit to Varadero Sincerely Community Manager

Excellent 5* Resort and Service

, Burks Falls, ON
2019-12-23
As a travel agent, I am always looking for weak points. I can honestly say that there were none! We stayed in Royal Service (a beautiful ocean view suite) and our butler (Ernesto) was amazing. We did not use him as much as most people but he was always there when needed. The resort is beautiful and the Royal section has its own pool and beach area. Very quiet and relaxing. Beautiful beach. People say you do not go to Cuba for the food. However, we had no complaints and loved the varieties in the different restaurants that Ernesto booked for us. Our favourites were Hilltop and Sakura. We are already planning to return for our wedding anniversary. I would highly recommend this 5* resort to my clients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and attention to detail.
The weak points
None.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-27
Dear Martin Roberts It is very rewarding when we achieve our goal to provide an excellent experience, as it was in your case during your visit to Paradisus Princesa del Mar. We are grateful for your kindest review. All our efforts are focused in giving the best in each and every area and service in the hotel. We remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need prior, during and even after your next stay in Paradisus. Warmest Regards,

Cuba Dec 2019

, Gatineau, QC
2019-12-21
It was good. Cuba is Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Drinks. Staff very nice
The weak points
Access to beach difficult. Deep sand. Need boardwalk or dock
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-27
Dear Louise Jodouin We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us. There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments. We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest's expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay. Best wishes,

A great stay

, North Vancouver, BC
2019-12-02
Great experience! Really nice beach, food was good, room was very nice and the entertainment during our stay was exceptional. The staff were friendly and helpful and. It was nice that there were so many activities available including tennis, volleyball and hobie cat sailing ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service, shows, sports.
The weak points
Limited fresh fruit- and no lemons / limes for drinks. Gym had a lot of broken equipment - will this be fixed before I come again? Internet was hard to come by. Would like it included.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-05
Dear Richard Triggs Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team who contributed to this great experience. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service and make your stay even more comfortable! Warm regards, Managing Director.

Excellent resort

, Nipawin, SK
2019-11-05
We have been to PDM in Veradero many many times over the past 10 years! We usually try to go every single year and sometimes twice a year. We absolutely love it, we have always enjoyed an amazing vacation there. We have always had a lovely room, the food has always been very good for us, we have never had any issues with food. The staff are amazing and so helpful. For us it is one of our very best vacation spots to go to, and we love it so much, it is one of the reasons we keep going back again and again. It has become a home away from home for us. We both give it a five star rating. We have stayed at other hotels in Cuba as well, and they were good also, we have no complaints about them either. But for us Princesa Del Mar It's truly the best. We can't wait to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff! No food issues, nice big rooms, beautiful resort, amazing beaches, lots to do and see! Lots of entertainment ! Just a really great place to vacation ❤️ We love this place ❤️
The weak points
Some staff do not speak English, wish we spoke more Spanish, room service can be a bit slow at times ! No major complaints really! We've had really great stays !
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-12
Dear Ma&Pa-M Thank you for your lovely review about Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Your compliments has been passed on to the team, thank you for rating his service as outstanding. We hope you will take some time out in the future to visit us, Best regards,

FANTASTIC Adult-Only Resort!

, Hamilton, ON
2019-11-05
We have been to PPDM numerous times. This resort is top notch! Cuba offers beautiful beaches and breath-taking views, but this resort surpasses all others. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The grounds are spotless and the rooms are pleasant and inviting. Plenty of water provided in the rooms along with a stocked mini frig. Pool bars, lobby bars and all those in between will spoil you with delicious tropical drinks or ice-cold beer! If you are searching for an adult-only bit of paradise, you can't go wrong at PPDM.
Food is fine! We always have plenty on our plate and are never hungry!
For those interested in fun in the sun, there are always activities at the beach and pool. If you're there to relax, rest assured, you'll go home rested but will be planning your return trip to PPDM!
We would like to say a special THANK YOU to Mari, the Community Manger who does SO much for her customers. No matter the inquiry, she finds the answer and helps you with a warm smile and kindness. She is certainly an asset to this resort. We love seeing her each visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pristine grounds. Very friendly staff. Clean sandy beach. Close to Varadero markets and site-seeing. Energetic and friendly fitness instructors on the beach and at the pool for fun activities. Lobby bar open 24/7 if you're a night-hawk! :)
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-12
Dear Marianne Thanks you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent experience in Paradisus Princesa del Mar. We was delighted that you choose to come and visit us and enjoyed the service and overall experience. And from our part we will do everything possible that your next visit will be even better. You are always welcome. Kind regards,

Très bien

, Saint-Lazare, HA
2019-10-27
tres bien, tres propre, bon service! repas correct pour Cuba [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
plage, personnel chambre 3112
The weak points
heure d'ouverture des resto sur l'heure du midi, ouvre seulement à 1230 hr
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-30
Chère cliente, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire si élogieux suite à votre visite à l'hôtel C'est un plaisir de lire que vous avez passé une excellent séjour parmi nous. Nous sommes également ravis que la qualité de notre service ait entièrement répondu à vos attentes. Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement Cordialement,

Nice hotel

, Ancaster, ON
2019-09-09
We stayed in the first week in Sept. No problem getting a lounge chair. Great time to go as the resort was not full. Food was the same every day. Not too much variety however I came for the beach which was warm and amazing. On my birthday we went to a la Cart and they surprised me with a cake and champagne. Very nice. Only disappointing part was the food. Otherwise well kept grounds. Entertainment gets affected by weather as is outdoors. They need an inside area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-09-16
Hello dear Mary Thank you very mucho for your review and for enjoy your holidays in our hotel. It is so nice for us to know that you liked our rooms with sea view. I shared your good comments with the staff; opinions like yours motivate us to do our job with happiness. We look forward to see you again . Sincerely

Best animation

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-23
We got here and the hotel had a Cuban day with Cuban music animation . It was AMAZING!!!! Shout out to Nayvi❤️❤️ She was amazing and very nice ! We loved her!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Nancy Thank you for your lovely review posted and for enjoying your holidays We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to thank you for your comments on our facilities, and animation We hope to see you again and will be happy to host you again. Yours sincerely Mari the Community Manager

Amazing 3 week stay at this little gem!

, Gatineau, QC
2019-05-15
My husband JM and I were on this lovely resort, Royal side, from April 14th to May 5th (3 weeks).

We LOVED LOVED LOVED our stay there! Everything about the trip was amazing and we have nothing negative to say, aside from perhaps a bit of mosquito action in the Miramar restaurant, but aside from that, it was fantastic!
We are going back next year, 100%, in hopes to be as amazed the second time around, as the first !!

Highlights are as follow:

1) Beach - lovely beach, well maintained, comfy chairs, and enough space between the palapas to remain in your bubble. Never crowded, no need to highjack chairs at the crack of dawn, just great!
2) Scenery - soooo beautiful and well kept place, the buildings are lovely, the trees all over, the flowers everywhere, it was just beautiful and so were the pools!
3) Our room - HUGE, ocean view even though we did not ask or pay for that, boy was I happy to see the view when I walked in that gigantic room!! Amazing - clean and just so spacious!
4) Service - we were treated close to perfection the entire stay, all the employees, wherever you are served are very professional and courteous, super pro-active, and very very kind.
5) Gym - we went every day, I think it's a pretty full gym, and the staff was nice and on time!
6) FOOD - our biggest surprise was with regards to food. Yes normally, the food in Cuba is not that great (never horrible in my opinion, just perhaps, bland and not too much variety), however, this time??? NO MAM!! It was fantastic!! For 3 weeks, we ate morning, lunch, snack in the afternoon, and dinner and it was amazing every time! YES, you heard me! EVERY TIME!! We tasted everything and it was all delicious, and I am a pretty picky eater. We enjoyed the food at the buffet in the morning, at lunch and at night, and the restaurants were even BETTER than the buffet, which was hard to believe. Lots of variety, lots of flavour, great desserts and just wowowowowowo!!! I ate as well as in Jamaica and better than in 99% of the Mexico resorts I have been to. LEGIT!

I would like to thank all the staff for making our trip so lovely, and here are some folks we would like to put forward for their outstanding service:

Bell boys/room service
Amazing staff, all of them very patient and kind for driving our 4 luggage's and golf bag around for us!

Cleaning lady
She was awesome, and our room was spotless throughout!

Beach chair keepers
Alfredo & Fernando, both as efficient, both on the ball, both very hard workers who paid attention to detail. And Alfredo, I found very very kind, we talked a little and I really enjoyed his company.

Entertainment
Felix, very good water aerobics' classes in the sea, I enjoyed those! I also danced on the beach once with him, even though I was solo, I had fun!
Marialys, we had a good Spanish class with her, and then we learned how to make a grasshopper, a flower and a fish out of palm tree leaves, it was lovely.

Royal buffet
ALL the waitresses were amazing, very kind, very sweet, very attentive and just perfect service overall.

Pool snack bar
THE best wood oven pizza you'll ever ha!!! Chorizo pizza and Hawaiian pizza, simply addictive and soooo delicious!!

Beach bar
Iniacio (Nacho) - certainly a very effective bar tender and kind man! My husband liked him very very very much, so much so that they will keep in touch. He was great!

Hilltop restaurant (that restaurant in itself was a hidden gem - we went at least 6 times and tried the whole menu, just delicious food and my fave about it was the chocolate pyramid dessert - wow!!)
Javier - just a fine young and vibrant man, he was always in a stellar mood, always on the go and sooooo efficient, he was great!! He speaks a bit of French and English and we really had a soft spot for him.
Dorian - our favourite waiter of all time, just so professional, beyond what any waiter has ever been. That guy could serve at any 5 star restaurant in North America and make so much money, it's insane. He just had it. No idea where he got his training, but he was simply perfect in every way. He is my husband's highlight of the trip. We love him very much and hope to see him next year when we return.

Butler Service
Randy - our main butler, was just soooooo efficient, soooooo proactive, soooo kind, and helpful, that we legit never even had to lift a finger for any of our reservations, our my husband's golf days. He made our lives easy as can be and we are very thankful to have been assigned to him. He's most likely the best!!!
William, who replaced Randy, drew us the loveliest bath!
Ernesto, was also great.
Yan was very good as well.
They are all very kind and hard workers, very organized and on top of things at all times.

Sakura
Evilio - this man, the best of the best, made us sushi (not a thing there, not on the menu). The sushi plate he made us twice, was THE best sushi I have ever had in my entire life! YES! I SAID IT! It was out of this world and we felt very lucky to receive that treatment from him, not once, but twice. The appetizer he made us was also out of this world. I could not stop thinking about those sushi and if it were just me, I could have had that as a meal, every night for the rest of the stay...

I recommend this resort - Royal side, and I have been giving out the name of it ever since I got back from vacation. I HIGHLY encourage people who love Cuba to go to that resort as it will make for a superb time, I promise.

Note that we did go on the other side, and it was as beautiful over there than it was on our side. Love the set up (restaurants and plaza, and pool table as well as ping pong table, little market, money exchange shop, gym, aerobics class, and all that). The main lobby was lovely over there but the one on the Royal side was gorgeous, and we were close to everything, so it was great!

If you want a top notch service, Paradisus Princesa del Mar is the way to go!

Very happy costumers,
MJ & JM (AKA Juan Marco & Maria-José) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food & Service, Beach scenery!
The weak points
Mosquitos in the Miramar restaurant
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Marie Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon. Yours sincerely, Mari the Community Manager

Great Resort and Vacation

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-04-30
We stayed in the Royal Service and had the Honeymoon Bonus. Overall, it was a great vacation and I would return here in the future.The additional cost for the Royal service was minimal, but the additional services and amenities were well worth it. The included green fees covered the additional cost alone. Our butler, Val, was extremely pleasant and efficient with all of our requests. Our room was very nice with ocean views and excellent location with close proximity to the beach, restaurant, lobby bar and pool. If you're ok with the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, opt for the Royal Service. If you want to be closer to the party, restaurants and activities then Royal Service is a 5 minute walk away. The overall location of the resort is at the far end of the strip, so keep this in mind when travelling outside the resort. It is $20 each way to downtown, and you will be the first pick-up and the last stop for any tours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is amazing with endless sand, warm and azure blue water. The service everywhere was excellent. The overall appearance of the resort and landscape is beautiful.
The weak points
The food is mediocre across the board. The buffets are unimpressive and the steak seems to be the same mediocre cut and preparation in every restaurant. The entertainment was also mediocre. There were also lots of mosquitos at night - bring bug spray.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa del Mar

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-19
The resort was excellent and the entertainment every night was over the top like nothing we've ever seen before at other resorts. Not sure why people complain about the food as we ate everything…no problem. Yes some of the food was bland but for the most part, it was good. The pools were great, alcohol was flowing fine and the ocean was like bathtub water it was so nice.

In addition, the A-La-Carte restaurants for the most part were very good with the exception of the Italian restaurant which is probably why they're going to be renovating it next month. We were surprised that from time to time some of the restaurants were out of certain items like butter and various appetizers or main course items but not a big deal.

We also did two excursions whereby we did the Jeep Safari and a private day trip to Havana and not the bus tour which both were very good. We also went to Veradero on two separate occasions to shop, have lunch and mingle with the locals.

The only damper was that my spouse had a severe reaction to mosquito bites to the point that she had to get an injection and was placed on three different medications. Her lower legs were full of large red lumps and some of the lumps actually blistered. She was very self-conscious of this as people stared everywhere we went making her uncomfortable. Aside from this, we loved the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff and fabulous entertainment and plenty of food.
The weak points
No face clothes and towels could have been replaced more often. Sand flees at the beach were nasty and the mosquitos which couldn't be seen but bites were certainly noticeable.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa DeL Mar , Excellent resort

, Hardwicke, NB
2019-04-14
The resort was excellent , my first time to Cuba , one of my best vacation , would recommend this resort to any one and will be returning for sure and as for the food that everyone complains about , this resort has good food , never had any sickness issues , thanks to everyone for the services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point is the staff are so nice everywhere on the resort, beaches are the best yet, the resort is very well kept and clean everywhere and had no complain about the food at all.
The weak points
None!
Certified

5 stars resort ????

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-30
Terrible service from Buffet and other A La carte restaurant, the management needs to enforce excellent customer services if this is a 5 stars resort. Foods are not appetizing ( no choices at all.) Room on ground level has mosquitos, I got 8 bites 1st night, door can not close. A La carte dinner is always full booking, but most restaurants are 40-50% empty all the times.??? Need to address the booking system or change to no reservation, but first come first serve. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only 1 excellent service was from Bamboo restaurant, the best server I met throughout my stay. The overall landscape is great.
The weak points
need more food variety, do not just serve fried egg, scramble egg, omelette, natural egg.. sausages with different colors. Room is not clean, no pen, no facial tissue, door can't close, mosquitos inside room. Customer service needs big improvement.
Certified

Not a great trip

, Thunder Bay, HA
2019-03-28
The food was very poor. We liked the hot dogs but most days during our vacation they were sold out even at the beginning of days . We had ask for room service most nights because we did not eat our suppers even though we stayed in royal service and when they answered the phone the instead of saying hello they spent 1 minute telling what food they don't have. Both me and my girlfriend got sick during our trip.
The pool restaurant at royal service made up its own schedule and one day was not even ready to cook until after 1.5 hours later than 1 pm until I complained . I was told to go to the buffet I said if I wanted to eat inside instead of outside in the sun I would have staid home in canada and ate there. Most days if they had 10 choices on the menu at pool restaurant they would have 3 available .
Half the staff was so nice and the other half was very miserable even though I spent 600 on tips for a 7 day trip. When I complained it was like an inconvienance they made an effort as my last day the pool restaurant had a full menu and was open on time .
I told there manager that I own a business and when I can't keep a schedule I lose business. I think people never showed up for work and that is why we were screwed but I told them a good business when people don't show up for work the bosses have to pick up the pieces to ensure the customer does not feel the loss. My second year there back to back this year royal service and was very disappointed and likely done with Cuba now as a result .
The Sea Bass was great at one place and the French Restaurant was great but the rest was really bad including the over cooked lobsters I paid extra 3 times to enjoy .
This likely a waste of time filling out but there were a lot of other complaining about similar issues and even worse . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-24
Great place with good food, clean, beautiful beach, friendly staff, amazing entertainment specially Luis kept us entertained all day and we learned how to dance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place , clean, good food, gym , salon , spa everything you need

Best girls trip to Cuba 2019

, Moncton, NB
2019-03-23
We had arrived late at night. But got into our rooms quickly. Our rooms were all in the same building and on the same floor. Leo had arranged all our accommodations and restaurant reservations. A special thank you to Leo for organizing our stay and all our restaurant reservations. We enjoyed all our a la carte restaurants especially the Japanese restaurant.
We also enjoyed many of the resorts nightly shows. And participated in some of the beach and pool activities. Like dance lessons and water aerobics. On Tuesday we attended the disco at the Melia del Marina resort next door. Great dancing and music. Absolute wonderful time had by all of us!! An extra special thank you to the Animations crew especially to one young man Luis(Juan Luis de la Cruz Favier). He has an amazing talent at helping us feel comfortable and showing us how easy it can be to learn new dance steps. With his friendly and lovable personality. Thank you Luis!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful service!!

Wonderful Experience

, Fort Frances, ON
2019-03-21
It was my first hot vacation. My adult daughter and I went and it was absolutely magnificent!! The staff were amazing, so kind and helpful. The beaches were gorgeous, the pools incredible and the weather perfect! 31 degrees and sunny every day. I would definitely recommend this resort and am definitely going back. Next time with hubby [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff. Our maid was awesome. Beaches outstanding, pools were beautiful and refreshing. The food was great. It was the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, we had the best time ever!
The weak points
None
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-17
Great spot. Friendly staff. Entertainer Yordan Olmo was very informative to us and did an excellent job entertaining. We have been around the world and I can say we will be back! Also a shout out to lobby bar staff Javier, Mario, sandy and cigar bar staff member Euben! Thanks to all of them we had a great time and any questions answered. Its Cuba <3 Enjoy for what it is. Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Spectacular experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-17
We booked this resort solely on website searches and upon arrival we could not have been more pleased. The staff in the royal service was exceptional with beautiful accommodations and site. The resort was large and beaches are incomparable. What made this experience so excellent was the entertainment staff members especially Yordan and Irina! Very friendly and helpful to make our stay more enjoyable. We can not wait to return !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment! Hands down amazing! The staff members Yordan and Irina went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing vacation!
The weak points
My only complaint would be the excessive use of plastic cups and straws...as with most resorts I am sure however there is better options. I would strongly hope to see them switch to no straws or paper ones and reusable plastic cups.

First time to Cuba !

, Boisevain, MB
2019-03-11
This resort was rated 5 star, but definitely only a 3 or maybe 4. Rooms are dated & could use some up-dating. The pool area was great ! The beach was close & just perfect !! The meals were okay...better than expected.
The buffet got a bit tired after a week...always the same. We had okay meals at the a la carte restaurants. Overall, a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool area ! Quick walk to the ocean & nice beach area. Pretty good entertainment at night. Front desk staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good ! Great staff at pool & beach bars !!
The weak points
Rooms need a face lift. Mini bar never restocked unless we phoned to ask. Buffet at lunch & dinner was always the same. Staff not quite as friendly as I expected.
Certified

Review for princessa del mar

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-11
The hotel is nice. It's not overly
Big which is good makss it easier to get to and from your room to other parts of the hotel. The beach is beautiful and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Pool
The weak points
Nightly entertainment wasn't great, No dance club on resort. A lot of the staff weren't very friendly ( beach staff is great) Needs more than one snack bar The snack bar was constantly out of food.
Certified

Hide souveniers

, Fortune, NL
2019-02-28
I purchased a set of children's maracas, it went missing from my room. The only other people who had access to my room were staff. Other things I could have dealt with was a not so fancy suite although clean . I recommend the jacuzzi suite, it's modern. There's little difference in the butler upgrade. Upon entering our building the walls were dirty as were the doors. But our room was kept very clean. Our air conditioning was repaired but the room was slightly cool and the bed clothes and even our beach bags were damp. Others too complained about the a/c.We were on ground floor, there was no privacy balcony. Anyone on the grounds could have walked up to our patio door. Staff were friendly and very prompt. The grounds were nice and the pool and beach were lovely. There was a large assortment of food to choose from. The nightly entertainment was excellent. Over all it was a nice resort. But i lack trust when an item went missing from my room. I would feel uneasy staying there again. I sent an email to the resort with no response. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Helpful in unexpected tragic circumstances

, Alvinston, ON
2019-02-21
We unfortunately had our holiday cut short due to fire at home. The staff could not have been more caring and helpful in our time of need. They got us to the airport and home as quickly as possible with few complications. Our experience at this resort was absolutely excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beautiful beach, good food, enjoyable bartenders at the beach
The weak points
Even though there were snack bars available 24hours we found that it was tough to figure out what was open when, however we were only there 3 days so maybe if we could have stayed longer we would have been able to figure it out
Certified

Paradisius Del Mar Varredaro

, Waterloo, ON
2019-02-11
This resort was very well kept and relaxing. We had the Royal Service. The room was not as nice as the Junior Suite that we had when we stayed at the Paradisius in Holquin a few years back. The food was good but sometimes on the cold side. I am not sure if smoking is allowed in the actual rooms, but our neighbors were smoking in their room and the smell was coming through our airconditioner. Our room smelt like an ashtray at times unless we shut the airconditioner off. Walls were thin and heard the people in the room next door and below us. Below us they were a little on the loud side, liking to brag about the sexual activities of the night prior with another from the same resort...kinda disturbing....

It was a shame that our neighbors were inconsiderate of the other guests around them...this absolutely was not the resorts fault.

Because of these factors I would probably consider going to Holguin instead next time.

Overall the staff was great and the room was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was relaxing and quiet. Glad we got the Royal Service. Nice not to fight for a chair by the pool.
The weak points
Room and inconsiderate guests as neighbors. Would have liked to seen a tour, with a guide, just to show us the local sites, and explain the culture and answer any questions that we may have had.
Certified

ONLY gets better

, Hamilton, ON
2019-02-02
This was my wife and I's 19 stay at the Princesa, and the hotel has got better every time we return. The staff are amazing from senior management to the maids that clean the rooms, even the maintenance personnel are ambassadors for the hotel. We were treated Royally, the room was beautiful and kept very clean The food was just great the Hill top, the Japanese ,Miramar, the Rock House and the Main buffet all were superb ,couldn't have been better. The hotel grounds are kept in pristine condition and very well manicured. The beach is beautiful and beach bar excellent as well as Nacho, Mila and Lily the bar tenders, and they do tender to your wants and needs. Again the management staff at Royal service very good and Director Walter, great people and always available. Can not forget Desk Manager Daulen (thanks). This is our Hotel of choice in the beautiful country of Cuba. Thank You for another wonderful vacation. Tom & Pauline Murray. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

First trip

, Val Therese, ON
2019-01-29
This was our first trip and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The staff at the resort were all very friendly and helpful. The food was good, always a great variety at the buffet. The only obstacle with the buffet was the lack of signs for the food. I have a food allergy and for the most part e everything is grouped (meats, seafood, pasta sections) but there are some section that have a wider variety of items.
The grounds were beautiful. The room was good with a very comfortable bed.
We would strongly consider going back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, variety of food available at the buffet, 24 hour snack bar
The weak points
Lack of signs in the buffet if you have a food allergy
Certified

Great spot

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-20
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
We took part in many excursions and not once ever felt uncomfortable leaving the resort. The staff and local people are very generous and kind.
The food at resort was edible, but being my 5th time to Cuba , we are not theyre for the food , the tastiest thing we ate all week was the cheese steak sub on the airplane ride home. Beach was well maintained and lots of room for everyone to stretch out. The a la cart restaurants (in my optinion) were not worth the time to make reservations for. You have to wait half hour in line to make these reservations, cause they only have one person working at the desk. Then once you eat at the aperent themed restaurant you will find out out that it's no better than the buffet and it's all quit generic. They have a grill restaurant just in front of the beach and we were gonna eat theyre , but after noticing the grills they we're using over the bon fire were refrigerator shelving and have been painted yellow , we decidied not to eat they're. Our room was kept clean and fresh flowers every day. (Always tip your room lady first day )

Bano's (washrooms)
Public washrooms are not very clean and you'll find someone standing outside every one asking for money to use the bano. This is not mandatory to pay. Use the washroom , and if you found it to be clean and tidy then please do tip the person at the door. But if it's a mess then you dont have to give them anything.

The hotel over all was a great place to just get away and relax. No big party crowds. The rooms are set back far enough away from the nite time events. The facility needs a little TLC . By Cuban standards it's very beautiful and probably one of the best places you can stay at in Cuba. If you don't pay for the royal service you won't have internet in your room. So you have to buy internet cards for 1 hour increments . The only available area to use the internet is in the lobby or by the pool. I found this to be very frustrating cause we would try to face time the kids every evening to say good nite and because it was so loud in the lobby with live bands playing we could not hear anything and they couldn't hear us. Maybe they should set up a quiet area for people that want to video message. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great holiday

, Laval, QC
2018-12-27
I've been to Cuba a few times before (Holguin, Varadero, Cayo Coco). My boyfriend and I visited the Paradisus Princesa del Mar resort in December. This resort was beautiful, clean grounds/rooms and friendly staff.
The entertainment during the day and in the evening was average.
It was overall a good and relaxing vacation. The wifi is not easily accessible, therefore, it makes it easy to disconnect from it all.
I would definitely recommend this to family and friends who are looking to visit Varadero. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort/room, beautifully decorated and friendly staff.
The weak points
The entertainment (both during the day and evening) and the food was average was average. And we got many mosquito bites.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?