Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

3.903.903.903.903.90
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar
#10 of 65 hotels in Varadero
3.90 based on 507 reviews
Traveller pictures (114)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nice hotel

, Ancaster, ON
2019-09-09
We stayed in the first week in Sept. No problem getting a lounge chair. Great time to go as the resort was not full. Food was the same every day. Not too much variety however I came for the beach which was warm and amazing. On my birthday we went to a la Cart and they surprised me with a cake and champagne. Very nice. Only disappointing part was the food. Otherwise well kept grounds. Entertainment gets affected by weather as is outdoors. They need an inside area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-09-16
Hello dear Mary Thank you very mucho for your review and for enjoy your holidays in our hotel. It is so nice for us to know that you liked our rooms with sea view. I shared your good comments with the staff; opinions like yours motivate us to do our job with happiness. We look forward to see you again . Sincerely

Best animation

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-23
We got here and the hotel had a Cuban day with Cuban music animation . It was AMAZING!!!! Shout out to Nayvi❤️❤️ She was amazing and very nice ! We loved her!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Nancy Thank you for your lovely review posted and for enjoying your holidays We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to thank you for your comments on our facilities, and animation We hope to see you again and will be happy to host you again. Yours sincerely Mari the Community Manager

Amazing 3 week stay at this little gem!

, Gatineau, QC
2019-05-15
My husband JM and I were on this lovely resort, Royal side, from April 14th to May 5th (3 weeks).

We LOVED LOVED LOVED our stay there! Everything about the trip was amazing and we have nothing negative to say, aside from perhaps a bit of mosquito action in the Miramar restaurant, but aside from that, it was fantastic!
We are going back next year, 100%, in hopes to be as amazed the second time around, as the first !!

Highlights are as follow:

1) Beach - lovely beach, well maintained, comfy chairs, and enough space between the palapas to remain in your bubble. Never crowded, no need to highjack chairs at the crack of dawn, just great!
2) Scenery - soooo beautiful and well kept place, the buildings are lovely, the trees all over, the flowers everywhere, it was just beautiful and so were the pools!
3) Our room - HUGE, ocean view even though we did not ask or pay for that, boy was I happy to see the view when I walked in that gigantic room!! Amazing - clean and just so spacious!
4) Service - we were treated close to perfection the entire stay, all the employees, wherever you are served are very professional and courteous, super pro-active, and very very kind.
5) Gym - we went every day, I think it's a pretty full gym, and the staff was nice and on time!
6) FOOD - our biggest surprise was with regards to food. Yes normally, the food in Cuba is not that great (never horrible in my opinion, just perhaps, bland and not too much variety), however, this time??? NO MAM!! It was fantastic!! For 3 weeks, we ate morning, lunch, snack in the afternoon, and dinner and it was amazing every time! YES, you heard me! EVERY TIME!! We tasted everything and it was all delicious, and I am a pretty picky eater. We enjoyed the food at the buffet in the morning, at lunch and at night, and the restaurants were even BETTER than the buffet, which was hard to believe. Lots of variety, lots of flavour, great desserts and just wowowowowowo!!! I ate as well as in Jamaica and better than in 99% of the Mexico resorts I have been to. LEGIT!

I would like to thank all the staff for making our trip so lovely, and here are some folks we would like to put forward for their outstanding service:

Bell boys/room service
Amazing staff, all of them very patient and kind for driving our 4 luggage's and golf bag around for us!

Cleaning lady
She was awesome, and our room was spotless throughout!

Beach chair keepers
Alfredo & Fernando, both as efficient, both on the ball, both very hard workers who paid attention to detail. And Alfredo, I found very very kind, we talked a little and I really enjoyed his company.

Entertainment
Felix, very good water aerobics' classes in the sea, I enjoyed those! I also danced on the beach once with him, even though I was solo, I had fun!
Marialys, we had a good Spanish class with her, and then we learned how to make a grasshopper, a flower and a fish out of palm tree leaves, it was lovely.

Royal buffet
ALL the waitresses were amazing, very kind, very sweet, very attentive and just perfect service overall.

Pool snack bar
THE best wood oven pizza you'll ever ha!!! Chorizo pizza and Hawaiian pizza, simply addictive and soooo delicious!!

Beach bar
Iniacio (Nacho) - certainly a very effective bar tender and kind man! My husband liked him very very very much, so much so that they will keep in touch. He was great!

Hilltop restaurant (that restaurant in itself was a hidden gem - we went at least 6 times and tried the whole menu, just delicious food and my fave about it was the chocolate pyramid dessert - wow!!)
Javier - just a fine young and vibrant man, he was always in a stellar mood, always on the go and sooooo efficient, he was great!! He speaks a bit of French and English and we really had a soft spot for him.
Dorian - our favourite waiter of all time, just so professional, beyond what any waiter has ever been. That guy could serve at any 5 star restaurant in North America and make so much money, it's insane. He just had it. No idea where he got his training, but he was simply perfect in every way. He is my husband's highlight of the trip. We love him very much and hope to see him next year when we return.

Butler Service
Randy - our main butler, was just soooooo efficient, soooooo proactive, soooo kind, and helpful, that we legit never even had to lift a finger for any of our reservations, our my husband's golf days. He made our lives easy as can be and we are very thankful to have been assigned to him. He's most likely the best!!!
William, who replaced Randy, drew us the loveliest bath!
Ernesto, was also great.
Yan was very good as well.
They are all very kind and hard workers, very organized and on top of things at all times.

Sakura
Evilio - this man, the best of the best, made us sushi (not a thing there, not on the menu). The sushi plate he made us twice, was THE best sushi I have ever had in my entire life! YES! I SAID IT! It was out of this world and we felt very lucky to receive that treatment from him, not once, but twice. The appetizer he made us was also out of this world. I could not stop thinking about those sushi and if it were just me, I could have had that as a meal, every night for the rest of the stay...

I recommend this resort - Royal side, and I have been giving out the name of it ever since I got back from vacation. I HIGHLY encourage people who love Cuba to go to that resort as it will make for a superb time, I promise.

Note that we did go on the other side, and it was as beautiful over there than it was on our side. Love the set up (restaurants and plaza, and pool table as well as ping pong table, little market, money exchange shop, gym, aerobics class, and all that). The main lobby was lovely over there but the one on the Royal side was gorgeous, and we were close to everything, so it was great!

If you want a top notch service, Paradisus Princesa del Mar is the way to go!

Very happy costumers,
MJ & JM (AKA Juan Marco & Maria-José) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food & Service, Beach scenery!
The weak points
Mosquitos in the Miramar restaurant
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-05-24
Dear Marie Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon. Yours sincerely, Mari the Community Manager

Great Resort and Vacation

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-04-30
We stayed in the Royal Service and had the Honeymoon Bonus. Overall, it was a great vacation and I would return here in the future.The additional cost for the Royal service was minimal, but the additional services and amenities were well worth it. The included green fees covered the additional cost alone. Our butler, Val, was extremely pleasant and efficient with all of our requests. Our room was very nice with ocean views and excellent location with close proximity to the beach, restaurant, lobby bar and pool. If you're ok with the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, opt for the Royal Service. If you want to be closer to the party, restaurants and activities then Royal Service is a 5 minute walk away. The overall location of the resort is at the far end of the strip, so keep this in mind when travelling outside the resort. It is $20 each way to downtown, and you will be the first pick-up and the last stop for any tours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is amazing with endless sand, warm and azure blue water. The service everywhere was excellent. The overall appearance of the resort and landscape is beautiful.
The weak points
The food is mediocre across the board. The buffets are unimpressive and the steak seems to be the same mediocre cut and preparation in every restaurant. The entertainment was also mediocre. There were also lots of mosquitos at night - bring bug spray.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa del Mar

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-19
The resort was excellent and the entertainment every night was over the top like nothing we've ever seen before at other resorts. Not sure why people complain about the food as we ate everything…no problem. Yes some of the food was bland but for the most part, it was good. The pools were great, alcohol was flowing fine and the ocean was like bathtub water it was so nice.

In addition, the A-La-Carte restaurants for the most part were very good with the exception of the Italian restaurant which is probably why they're going to be renovating it next month. We were surprised that from time to time some of the restaurants were out of certain items like butter and various appetizers or main course items but not a big deal.

We also did two excursions whereby we did the Jeep Safari and a private day trip to Havana and not the bus tour which both were very good. We also went to Veradero on two separate occasions to shop, have lunch and mingle with the locals.

The only damper was that my spouse had a severe reaction to mosquito bites to the point that she had to get an injection and was placed on three different medications. Her lower legs were full of large red lumps and some of the lumps actually blistered. She was very self-conscious of this as people stared everywhere we went making her uncomfortable. Aside from this, we loved the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff and fabulous entertainment and plenty of food.
The weak points
No face clothes and towels could have been replaced more often. Sand flees at the beach were nasty and the mosquitos which couldn't be seen but bites were certainly noticeable.
Certified

Paradisus Princesa DeL Mar , Excellent resort

, Hardwicke, NB
2019-04-14
The resort was excellent , my first time to Cuba , one of my best vacation , would recommend this resort to any one and will be returning for sure and as for the food that everyone complains about , this resort has good food , never had any sickness issues , thanks to everyone for the services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point is the staff are so nice everywhere on the resort, beaches are the best yet, the resort is very well kept and clean everywhere and had no complain about the food at all.
The weak points
None!
Certified

5 stars resort ????

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-30
Terrible service from Buffet and other A La carte restaurant, the management needs to enforce excellent customer services if this is a 5 stars resort. Foods are not appetizing ( no choices at all.) Room on ground level has mosquitos, I got 8 bites 1st night, door can not close. A La carte dinner is always full booking, but most restaurants are 40-50% empty all the times.??? Need to address the booking system or change to no reservation, but first come first serve. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only 1 excellent service was from Bamboo restaurant, the best server I met throughout my stay. The overall landscape is great.
The weak points
need more food variety, do not just serve fried egg, scramble egg, omelette, natural egg.. sausages with different colors. Room is not clean, no pen, no facial tissue, door can't close, mosquitos inside room. Customer service needs big improvement.
Certified

Not a great trip

, Thunder Bay, HA
2019-03-28
The food was very poor. We liked the hot dogs but most days during our vacation they were sold out even at the beginning of days . We had ask for room service most nights because we did not eat our suppers even though we stayed in royal service and when they answered the phone the instead of saying hello they spent 1 minute telling what food they don't have. Both me and my girlfriend got sick during our trip.
The pool restaurant at royal service made up its own schedule and one day was not even ready to cook until after 1.5 hours later than 1 pm until I complained . I was told to go to the buffet I said if I wanted to eat inside instead of outside in the sun I would have staid home in canada and ate there. Most days if they had 10 choices on the menu at pool restaurant they would have 3 available .
Half the staff was so nice and the other half was very miserable even though I spent 600 on tips for a 7 day trip. When I complained it was like an inconvienance they made an effort as my last day the pool restaurant had a full menu and was open on time .
I told there manager that I own a business and when I can't keep a schedule I lose business. I think people never showed up for work and that is why we were screwed but I told them a good business when people don't show up for work the bosses have to pick up the pieces to ensure the customer does not feel the loss. My second year there back to back this year royal service and was very disappointed and likely done with Cuba now as a result .
The Sea Bass was great at one place and the French Restaurant was great but the rest was really bad including the over cooked lobsters I paid extra 3 times to enjoy .
This likely a waste of time filling out but there were a lot of other complaining about similar issues and even worse . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-24
Great place with good food, clean, beautiful beach, friendly staff, amazing entertainment specially Luis kept us entertained all day and we learned how to dance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place , clean, good food, gym , salon , spa everything you need

Best girls trip to Cuba 2019

, Moncton, NB
2019-03-23
We had arrived late at night. But got into our rooms quickly. Our rooms were all in the same building and on the same floor. Leo had arranged all our accommodations and restaurant reservations. A special thank you to Leo for organizing our stay and all our restaurant reservations. We enjoyed all our a la carte restaurants especially the Japanese restaurant.
We also enjoyed many of the resorts nightly shows. And participated in some of the beach and pool activities. Like dance lessons and water aerobics. On Tuesday we attended the disco at the Melia del Marina resort next door. Great dancing and music. Absolute wonderful time had by all of us!! An extra special thank you to the Animations crew especially to one young man Luis(Juan Luis de la Cruz Favier). He has an amazing talent at helping us feel comfortable and showing us how easy it can be to learn new dance steps. With his friendly and lovable personality. Thank you Luis!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful service!!

Wonderful Experience

, Fort Frances, ON
2019-03-21
It was my first hot vacation. My adult daughter and I went and it was absolutely magnificent!! The staff were amazing, so kind and helpful. The beaches were gorgeous, the pools incredible and the weather perfect! 31 degrees and sunny every day. I would definitely recommend this resort and am definitely going back. Next time with hubby [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff. Our maid was awesome. Beaches outstanding, pools were beautiful and refreshing. The food was great. It was the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, we had the best time ever!
The weak points
None
Certified

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-17
Great spot. Friendly staff. Entertainer Yordan Olmo was very informative to us and did an excellent job entertaining. We have been around the world and I can say we will be back! Also a shout out to lobby bar staff Javier, Mario, sandy and cigar bar staff member Euben! Thanks to all of them we had a great time and any questions answered. Its Cuba <3 Enjoy for what it is. Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Spectacular experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-17
We booked this resort solely on website searches and upon arrival we could not have been more pleased. The staff in the royal service was exceptional with beautiful accommodations and site. The resort was large and beaches are incomparable. What made this experience so excellent was the entertainment staff members especially Yordan and Irina! Very friendly and helpful to make our stay more enjoyable. We can not wait to return !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment! Hands down amazing! The staff members Yordan and Irina went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing vacation!
The weak points
My only complaint would be the excessive use of plastic cups and straws...as with most resorts I am sure however there is better options. I would strongly hope to see them switch to no straws or paper ones and reusable plastic cups.

First time to Cuba !

, Boisevain, MB
2019-03-11
This resort was rated 5 star, but definitely only a 3 or maybe 4. Rooms are dated & could use some up-dating. The pool area was great ! The beach was close & just perfect !! The meals were okay...better than expected.
The buffet got a bit tired after a week...always the same. We had okay meals at the a la carte restaurants. Overall, a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool area ! Quick walk to the ocean & nice beach area. Pretty good entertainment at night. Front desk staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good ! Great staff at pool & beach bars !!
The weak points
Rooms need a face lift. Mini bar never restocked unless we phoned to ask. Buffet at lunch & dinner was always the same. Staff not quite as friendly as I expected.
Certified

Review for princessa del mar

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-11
The hotel is nice. It's not overly
Big which is good makss it easier to get to and from your room to other parts of the hotel. The beach is beautiful and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Pool
The weak points
Nightly entertainment wasn't great, No dance club on resort. A lot of the staff weren't very friendly ( beach staff is great) Needs more than one snack bar The snack bar was constantly out of food.
Certified

Hide souveniers

, Fortune, NL
2019-02-28
I purchased a set of children's maracas, it went missing from my room. The only other people who had access to my room were staff. Other things I could have dealt with was a not so fancy suite although clean . I recommend the jacuzzi suite, it's modern. There's little difference in the butler upgrade. Upon entering our building the walls were dirty as were the doors. But our room was kept very clean. Our air conditioning was repaired but the room was slightly cool and the bed clothes and even our beach bags were damp. Others too complained about the a/c.We were on ground floor, there was no privacy balcony. Anyone on the grounds could have walked up to our patio door. Staff were friendly and very prompt. The grounds were nice and the pool and beach were lovely. There was a large assortment of food to choose from. The nightly entertainment was excellent. Over all it was a nice resort. But i lack trust when an item went missing from my room. I would feel uneasy staying there again. I sent an email to the resort with no response. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Helpful in unexpected tragic circumstances

, Alvinston, ON
2019-02-21
We unfortunately had our holiday cut short due to fire at home. The staff could not have been more caring and helpful in our time of need. They got us to the airport and home as quickly as possible with few complications. Our experience at this resort was absolutely excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beautiful beach, good food, enjoyable bartenders at the beach
The weak points
Even though there were snack bars available 24hours we found that it was tough to figure out what was open when, however we were only there 3 days so maybe if we could have stayed longer we would have been able to figure it out
Certified

Paradisius Del Mar Varredaro

, Waterloo, ON
2019-02-11
This resort was very well kept and relaxing. We had the Royal Service. The room was not as nice as the Junior Suite that we had when we stayed at the Paradisius in Holquin a few years back. The food was good but sometimes on the cold side. I am not sure if smoking is allowed in the actual rooms, but our neighbors were smoking in their room and the smell was coming through our airconditioner. Our room smelt like an ashtray at times unless we shut the airconditioner off. Walls were thin and heard the people in the room next door and below us. Below us they were a little on the loud side, liking to brag about the sexual activities of the night prior with another from the same resort...kinda disturbing....

It was a shame that our neighbors were inconsiderate of the other guests around them...this absolutely was not the resorts fault.

Because of these factors I would probably consider going to Holguin instead next time.

Overall the staff was great and the room was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was relaxing and quiet. Glad we got the Royal Service. Nice not to fight for a chair by the pool.
The weak points
Room and inconsiderate guests as neighbors. Would have liked to seen a tour, with a guide, just to show us the local sites, and explain the culture and answer any questions that we may have had.
Certified

ONLY gets better

, Hamilton, ON
2019-02-02
This was my wife and I's 19 stay at the Princesa, and the hotel has got better every time we return. The staff are amazing from senior management to the maids that clean the rooms, even the maintenance personnel are ambassadors for the hotel. We were treated Royally, the room was beautiful and kept very clean The food was just great the Hill top, the Japanese ,Miramar, the Rock House and the Main buffet all were superb ,couldn't have been better. The hotel grounds are kept in pristine condition and very well manicured. The beach is beautiful and beach bar excellent as well as Nacho, Mila and Lily the bar tenders, and they do tender to your wants and needs. Again the management staff at Royal service very good and Director Walter, great people and always available. Can not forget Desk Manager Daulen (thanks). This is our Hotel of choice in the beautiful country of Cuba. Thank You for another wonderful vacation. Tom & Pauline Murray. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

First trip

, Val Therese, ON
2019-01-29
This was our first trip and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The staff at the resort were all very friendly and helpful. The food was good, always a great variety at the buffet. The only obstacle with the buffet was the lack of signs for the food. I have a food allergy and for the most part e everything is grouped (meats, seafood, pasta sections) but there are some section that have a wider variety of items.
The grounds were beautiful. The room was good with a very comfortable bed.
We would strongly consider going back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, variety of food available at the buffet, 24 hour snack bar
The weak points
Lack of signs in the buffet if you have a food allergy
Certified

Great spot

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-20
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
We took part in many excursions and not once ever felt uncomfortable leaving the resort. The staff and local people are very generous and kind.
The food at resort was edible, but being my 5th time to Cuba , we are not theyre for the food , the tastiest thing we ate all week was the cheese steak sub on the airplane ride home. Beach was well maintained and lots of room for everyone to stretch out. The a la cart restaurants (in my optinion) were not worth the time to make reservations for. You have to wait half hour in line to make these reservations, cause they only have one person working at the desk. Then once you eat at the aperent themed restaurant you will find out out that it's no better than the buffet and it's all quit generic. They have a grill restaurant just in front of the beach and we were gonna eat theyre , but after noticing the grills they we're using over the bon fire were refrigerator shelving and have been painted yellow , we decidied not to eat they're. Our room was kept clean and fresh flowers every day. (Always tip your room lady first day )

Bano's (washrooms)
Public washrooms are not very clean and you'll find someone standing outside every one asking for money to use the bano. This is not mandatory to pay. Use the washroom , and if you found it to be clean and tidy then please do tip the person at the door. But if it's a mess then you dont have to give them anything.

The hotel over all was a great place to just get away and relax. No big party crowds. The rooms are set back far enough away from the nite time events. The facility needs a little TLC . By Cuban standards it's very beautiful and probably one of the best places you can stay at in Cuba. If you don't pay for the royal service you won't have internet in your room. So you have to buy internet cards for 1 hour increments . The only available area to use the internet is in the lobby or by the pool. I found this to be very frustrating cause we would try to face time the kids every evening to say good nite and because it was so loud in the lobby with live bands playing we could not hear anything and they couldn't hear us. Maybe they should set up a quiet area for people that want to video message. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great holiday

, Laval, QC
2018-12-27
I've been to Cuba a few times before (Holguin, Varadero, Cayo Coco). My boyfriend and I visited the Paradisus Princesa del Mar resort in December. This resort was beautiful, clean grounds/rooms and friendly staff.
The entertainment during the day and in the evening was average.
It was overall a good and relaxing vacation. The wifi is not easily accessible, therefore, it makes it easy to disconnect from it all.
I would definitely recommend this to family and friends who are looking to visit Varadero. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort/room, beautifully decorated and friendly staff.
The weak points
The entertainment (both during the day and evening) and the food was average was average. And we got many mosquito bites.
Certified

4 Night Couple's Vacation

, Tottenham, ON
2018-12-15
My experience at this hotel was mediocre. The check-in process was flawless and quick. The hotel groups were a tad run down, and amenities were outdated. Rooms are clean but again just a little outdated. Food was alright, it is Cuba... I wish they had a different theme every day instead of the same food for dinner all the time. The Japanese a-la-carte was VERY good, I highly recommend it for this hotel. Overall it was good, just not my style being a younger adult. I thought it was a little boring for me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice quiet adults only resort. Food was acceptable.
The weak points
It would have been nice if they cleaned up the seaweed off the beach. The beach in some areas had a lot of broken shells so it hurt your feet to walk on. The resort and its rooms are very outdated, the property could use a major renovation.
Certified

To celebrate 28th Marriage annversary

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-12-14
I was at the Paradisus Princesa del Mar hotel with my wife to celebrate my 28th marriage anniversary. The way I have been treated for my visit really impressed me. Very kind of Yasnivy who has to make all arrangement for anniversary and Front Office staff who could help us to upgrade Royal service with a reasonable price I really like.

I would like to recommend Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort to all my company employees [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Paradisus Princess Del Mar

, Richmond, BC
2018-12-06
All rooms had no or very little hot water. All the bathroom fixtures were very old and not functionalable. Bedroom furniture were old and need repair. Restaurants food was not that great, specially Chinese.

Overall this resort did not seem like a 5 star- more like 3.5 to 4 star.
We booked this resort because of 5 star review, it looks that we have been misguided.

Only good thing about this resort were beaches and nightly entertainment and service from the staff.

We booked three rooms for our family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Still the Very Best

, Hamilton, ON
2018-11-22
Another stay another great time, this was our 18th trip to Princesa and we brought another couple with us to experience the beautiful resort. Everything was just perfect the staff the food the hotel property is so beautifully kept and well groomed. The couple that came with us could not believe that such a resort was in Cuba because they had been to Cuba before and never experienced such good food and care by the staff of Princesa. The Cuban staff make this hotel the very best, you become part of their family when you visit them. Some people that stood out were Daulen front desk manager ,butlers Randy and Yan, R.S. desk Ivis and all the ladies of reception, beach bar Nacho, Mila and Lily there are so many great people too many to list. Do not listen to people if they say food in Cuba not good that just means they have never been to the Princesa. Thank You Princesa del mar for a great time . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Cuban staff
The weak points
none

Excellent Excellent Excellent!!!!

, Beachville, ON
2018-11-11
We stayed at this resort on the royal service side. Amazing!!! I can't think of one thing to even mention that was a problem. Very clean, landscaping is flawless, excellent food, friendly informative staff, fantastic day trip, the evening entertainment far surpassed my expectations, the beach is white sand and clear blue water. Honestly we travel a lot! Everyone needs to check this place out! I took over 1300 photos in five days and they all look like they came from a magazine. Not only was the royal service great, the history and the culture was so interesting. Plus! The beds where extra comfy! We will be back! I think this will be our annual destination! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Perfect resort!
The weak points
No weak points, this is as perfect as it gets!

BEST ENTERTAINMENT ON BEST VACATION EVER!!

, Brampton, ON
2018-10-09
My BEST vacation ever!!!
What I love about the hotel you asked? The Spa, the beach but the entertainment takes the Oscar award!!!

As an entertainer, you and your team are responsible for the daytime activities and the evening entertainment. They are to ensure the guests enjoy their holidays and want to spend as much time as possible inside the hotel. Well, when I arrived on a vacation to this wonderful hotel, Osmel Torres Alfonso made sure this was inevitable. I want to personally thank him as he stood out from the crowd - BEST of the BEST!! In addition to the breathtaking ambiance in this Paradise, Osmel's confidence in his job did not go unnoticed. He is a very confident and highly motivated gentleman with a passion for entertainment.With such unrelenting enthusiasm, he possesses the ability to work as part of a team and I've seen him on occasion working on his own, with a smile!!!

I was very excited to find out that Osmel has excellent communication and public relations skills so he can speak to a high level of the English language (and Spanish of course) so it made it easier to talk to him and the team and interact with us so it bridged the language gap, thereby alleviating any chance of miscommunication. He told me about the Zumba classes starting in ten minutes after breakfast time. With such superior leadership and public relations skills, he was able captivate our attention, ensuring that our stay was memorable, asking us what we think about the activities or shows and even promote the evening shows. This is how we found out about Cuba night!!!.In some cases the theme nights of the hotel.

In conclusion, Osmel Torres Alfonso possess very astounding qualities of a great entertainer!! He is an asset to the team, the hotel and the Entertainment Industry. Paradisus Princesa del Mar is so lucky to have him in their employ.

During our stay at this terrific 5-Star hotel, we experienced nothing less than the royal treatment suited for the Princesses that we are. The entire staff with special mention of the cooks were amazing. always attentive to our needs especially Georgette.

I arrived at this Resort with an open mindset and departed with a treasure chest of memories which surpassed my expectations. I am 200% sure that I will visit this piece of Paradise again, someday soon!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

PARADISUS ONCE AGAIN

, Nepean, ON
2018-09-18
I travelled to the Paradisus Princesa del Mar June 11-18, 2018. This was my fourth trip to the resort in just over a year. I guess you can tell how much I like the resort by the number of return visits in such a short time.

Upon my arrival at the airport I took a taxi to the resort so I was sure to not miss a minute of my holiday with bus delays. Once at the resort I was taken to a lovely room with an ocean front view. It is so peaceful to have coffee on the balcony every morning with breakfast from room service. This is one of the few hotels that room service is included regardless of your room category.

I left my room and immediately went to the pool bar to see my friends who I had been missing terribly. When I got there I saw a wonderful sign that was for me saying BIENVENIDA ANGELA we love you. It was so nice to be at my segunda casa once again.

My favourite bar at the resort is the main pool bar. The atmosphere at the main pool is always upbeat and lots of fun. Barby is the best and always there to make sure you are happy. She has a smile on her face and a warm welcome for everyone.

My favourite restaurant is the Hilltop. The food there is absolutely superb!! I had all but one of my dinners there. The staff are very attentive and remembered me as soon as I walked through the door. This is also where the returnees dinner is held. I had my last dinner before returning home at the Restaurante Miramar. I had a lovely shrimp and lobster pasta dinner prepared for me by the Miramar chef as a courtesy because I am a repeat guest. It was a great end to my holiday.

I want to give a huge shout out to Mari Arguelles Galvan for always answering any questions every time I contacted the hotel. She is a wealth of information and always willing to help.

During my stay I experienced nothing less than royal treatment by all staff members. This resort is absolutely beautiful and always my first choice. I am already planning my next trip back in the near future!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Get Away!!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-09-02
Great Resort, Now I am speaking for the “Royal Service” end of the resort I cannot really tell you what happens in the “general or common end”

The Room is phenomenal and relaxing. Very modern and up to date. Now with regard to the chamber maid, you have to remember you are in Cuba and they are very busy and take things very literal, so when you want to be left alone or when you want your room cleaned or when you want the turn down service you will need to put the sign on the door. They cannot read your mind.

I found the food great…I personally come to Cuba for the fresh fish and amazing fruit…I didn't come for the burgers or whatever so take that into consideration when you read reviews about the food. I really like the restaurant in the Royal end, also the Hill Top restaurant has an amazing variety and view and the steak and wine selection are top notch.

The staff all over the resort are great, but they are super amazing on this end. Once again, I do not want to leave anyone out or say no one is great in the royal service but for breakfast service I really liked Yeni and Martha for remembering my orders, Darian And Mary Carmen were great in the bar area, and Miguel was great for my personal needs as a Butler.

The three cities tour is breath taking bring granola bars, also let the butler know you are going to be gone that day so they can expedite your room service when you come back from the tour. The Havana tour is great as well.

Its Cuba- so don't be afraid to tip, seriously change like 30 to 40 pesos into 1peso pieces or 3-peso bills and just sporadically tip through the trip, also don't be selfish and trashy, tip the tour guide and bus driver

All in all, a great experience…once again I am speaking for the Royal Service side of the hotel I cannot tell you what happens at the other end. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great facility amazing room great staff amazing service
The weak points
Wifi is only available in certain areas
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?