Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
3.663.663.663.663.66
3.66 based on 1064 reviews
#11 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (384)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

First trip to Memories

, Bowmanville, ON
2020-04-11
Travelled with family (immediate, siblings, parents) and had a great time. The ride from the airport to resort was quick. Check in was quick. Although our room wasn't ready at check in, we took advantage of walking around, checking out the grounds, pool, and beach. Our room took longer than expected to be ready but was lucky enough to have a family member whose room was ready when we arrived. Although a far walk from anything, it was a nice walk. Rooms are a little dated but didn't affect us otherwise. Kid shows were fun, we travelled with a 2, 3, and 7 year old who had a lot of fun. This was our first time to Memories and it was a great first trip for the kids. Everyone enjoyed themselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beaches, always able to get a spot for our big group (18 people). Pools nice and clean. Staff friendly.
Certified

MEMORIES FLAMENCO EXPERIENCE

, Brampton, ON
2020-03-22
SATISFACTORY EXPERIENCE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF IS AMAZING.
The weak points
FOOD WAS THE SAME EVERY NIGHT.
Certified

March 1-12 windy weather

, Orleans, ON
2020-03-15
The resort is medium sized and has a circular plan, which makes it accessible and cozy. The staff makes it lively and friendly. The buffet staff changes tops each day with visible different themes: pirates, tropical fruit, etc. The bar staff demonstrate their skills, as do the buffet chefs and restaurant staff, as do the animation staff, as do garden staff. The store is small and offers limited choices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant resort, friendly staff, meeting Canadian expectations, feeling at home given that the majority of tourists were Canadian
The weak points
The beach chairs were reserved by staff first thing each morning and sold for 1 CUC to those willing to pay. No tourist could ever get front row palapas without paying!
Certified

Memories Flamenco Cayo Coco

, Tottenham, ON
2020-03-09
the people of course are wonderful! The food was good....service was very friendly. The reservation desk for ala carte meals was definitely poor...not really sure if she didn't understand english well or whether she just didn't like me....went to see her 3 times and she screwed us up 4 times. Luckily, the people at the restaurants are far nicer....they let us in even though our reservations were either wrong or couldn't be found. Hotel itself has gone WAY downhill. This was our 2nd time at this resort and it'll be my last....mold in the hallways, shower walls looked ready to cave in, cockroaches......definitely would not go back there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the people and the beach
The weak points
the hotel itself
Certified

So much potential

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-01
Fantastic resort with great facilities, but needs better management of staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool and beaches. Great evening entertainment.
The weak points
Poor bathroom maintenance. Hotel rooms weren't well cleaned. Towels and sheets not washed. Staff generally not helpful. Little communication and information available.
Certified

Not very good memories from this Resort AVOID

, South Bruce, ON
2020-02-24
First off please read till the end. I really don;t want people wasting their time of money on this resort. This review is very honest I have visited Cube 4 times before this resort so I understand what I should expect. This resort is definitely not a 4 star, it might be a strong 2 star companies should be ashamed to even offer this resort. Departure from Toronto was 1 hour late, arrival at Cayo Coco was flawless direct ride to resort arrives shortly after 12 noon. Our group consisted of 14 people. Check in was a disaster 12 of the 14 didn't get a room till approx. 6 pm and not offered anywhere to change or leave luggage till rooms were ready. The majority of our group stayed in building #7 (please avoid) rooms were very outdated, furniture was not of good quality main dresser was actually falling apart bed was like sleeping on concrete slab, you get 2 pillows per person and if you put them together they might have totaled 4 inches thick. The only new item in the room was the mini fridge. Some rooms have patio doors that lock automatically when they are closed. One couple from our group found that out the hard way and were locked out on their balcony for approx. 1 1/2 hours after the front desk had been notified. Second floor of building #7 has no lighting in the hallways what so ever for the entire 10 days our group was there. Maid service on the 3rd floor was absolutely horrid. had to ask for toilet paper every day as the maid would not leave any if not asked. Our room 7311 had the floors swept once during our 10 day stay, our drink glasses and coffee cups were never replaced or for that matter even wiped out. We left tips and toiletries for our maid she gladly took them but service never improved. Buffet restaurant was okay typical Cuban buffet food was cold unless you stood in line and had it made fresh. Omelettes in morning are amazing the 3 chefs are fabulous. bacon good luck if there is any its either wrapped around a hot dog or its in a pan raw. If you do go to the buffet make sure you look for a woman named Leticia this girl is amazing she made sure our group had the same table for breakfast lunch and dinner for our entire stay and remembers everyone of us from day 1. Public washroom around the grounds ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING no seats in woman's washroom pack toilet paper cause there isn't any for the most part and the bathrooms were just horrible see pics. the resort ran out of milk 3 day out of 10 ran out of ice pretty much every day. Not all bars are able to make all drinks some only offer beer and rum punch. Soft drinks go ahead if you're brave. We spoke to other people staying at other resorts to see if they were experiencing the same or similar issues at their resort and oddly enough they were not, only seemed to be this resort. And if you think by upgrading to the Diamond club will be any better don't waste your money It was no better according to about 20 couples that we talked to that thought it would be better. This resort has recently had a major change in management, and is is very evident that the new management doesn't care about their customers, their staff or for the resort. The beach and the pools are the most amazing thing of the property. Other than that this resort is not worth spending your money on if you want to go to Cayo Coco go anywhere other than this shit hole PLEASE. I do want to give a big thank you to a couple of the staff that we got to know that actually made this trip just a little better. Leticia you have a very bubbly personality and made every meal fun. Jay you also make the days at the pool seem that much more fun, you and the rest of the animation crew work your asses off to make each day seem that much better despite the management support that is being provided. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & pools and the some of the staff
The weak points
Lack of management presence at the resort & the overall condition of facilities.

Hotel review

, Seaforth, ON
2020-02-18
No lights in hallway , we asked the front desk for lights in the hallway and nothing. We could see where the room was on the first day had to turn flash light on, ripped blankets shower head old rusty and leaking everywhere. cold water, same food all the time and cold, dishes all over the walkways for days.wood sliver on the door frame ripped my shirt, run down building patches everywhere. Light fixtures barely hanging on the wall in the room, run out of beer in some bars, customer service lady was rude. I understand that it was a decent price for a 4.5 star hotel but in our opinion it's not even 2 star. No management supervision.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches and location, like the excursions
Certified

Great Time

, Kitchener, ON
2020-01-25
Second time visiting and we will definitely be back as the staff make the stay unforgettable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing!! Entertainment is awesome! You will be well taken care of and made to feel at home
The weak points
The bathrooms around the resort for women is awful and sometimes non existent
Certified

Hotel and resort experience

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-23
We stayed in this resort and were disappointed with cockroaches, As soon as we opened the door room to our room and turned on the light the cockroaches were ruining all over. We phoned the front desk and they were not very helpful except saying we will send someone to your room. No one showed up then i decided not to ruin our stay just stopped thinking about it. Went to beach and enjoyed the sun. The next thing i was discussed by is the plates in the buffet, they are not washed properly and you can see ( if you look at certain angle) that the dishes are just wiped but not washed. My son twice took a plate and found a gum stick to it. Called the manager and showed him and he was very embarrassed by it and promised that they will pay attention to how the dishes are washed, but nothing changed. No more at this resort very disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Family Friendly Resort

, Lachine, QC
2020-01-02
Arrival at noon was a disaster. Greeting was non-existent and you are left to figure things out on your own or ask other vacationers. Luckily, we arrived in daytime. Not a drop of water in the room until 8pm. This is a big resort so get ready to wait in line for everything (information, food, etc.) Besides the weather, beach and food, you wouldn't know you're in Cuba. If you like north American activities, music and entertainment, it's home away from home. Myself, I was grateful I had downloaded Cuban music on my cellphone to have some cultural sense of where I was vacationing. I recommend this resort to families with young children. They're all over the place and there's lots to do. Mine are early adults and were bored. The view from our Bloc 3 ocean view Diamond Club room was amazing, close to the beach and far from the noise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds and beach were impeccable and absolutely beautiful. Plenty of chairs on the beach. Diamond Club restaurant and staff are amazing. Snack bar Bites is a must to avoid Buffet crowd.
The weak points
Blankets were stained and full of holes. Beach towels are difficult to replace and stained. Mattresses are way too hard. One of the rooms had a lot of bugs. No hooks in bathroom. Kids are allowed in the bar area at all times.
Certified

Good overall for the price

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-19
The beach location is among the best ive ever seen, water is crystal clear, sand is white. As with anywhere in cuba food needs improvement. We also had to change our room 3 times, leaking ac, no hot water, then broken toilet. Old hotel kind people. Not a five star resort a generous 4. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Impeccable beach
The weak points
Food is appauling
Certified

December week at Flamenco

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-17
Overall a decent stay in offseason. Room ready before check in time. Ala carte bookings were hard to come by, even on day 1. Buffet restaurant had limited selection of identifiable food. Service was spotty. Italian was a bust, Mediterranean and Asian were good. Snack bar good food and service but no burgers entire time. Hot water was received on day 6 but had warm and at least had water. Beach was great and lots of chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and the majority of staff. Snack bar, grounds Sandra room attendant and most servers were great.
The weak points
Food mediocre at best, lobby bar staff unfriendly morso in the morning. Show had one good night when band played.
Certified

December 2019 vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2019-12-09
I had the most amazing experience at the memories flamenco resort .the staff there are the most patient ,polite and helpful that I have ever seen and the property is very clean and we'll maintained .the property is very well laid out and that beach with its long stretch of white sand turquoise blue water is to die for.gold star service at the main bar at the snack bar and the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Take the ear plugs

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-05
1. Very noisy resort.
At the show i had to have ear plugs.
There ware non stop very noisy music at the pool area and on the beach. You can not avoid it.
2. They offer everyday spanish classes.
I waited and talk with animadores, out of 7 there ware only 3 spanish class [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food
The weak points
Very noisy Squeaking bad
Certified

We enjoyed our 2nd stay

, Ottawa, ON
2019-11-03
My spouse and I resided at the Memories Flamenco, Cayo Coco (Oct. 22nd – 29th). We had the Diamond Club option. Upon arrival, we were directed to a room for the Diamond Club guests. Iliana (rep.) explained the Diamond Club perks and answered our questions. Our room was not ready; we were only able to access it after 3:30 PM. We were in Block #2, on the 3rd floor (pool view) it was nice, clean and we enjoyed the view of the pool/resort. We appreciated having the vanity/sink separate from the bathtub/shower and toilet room. The maid service was good. On a daily basis, she did towel and/or sheet ornaments. The bathroom items were replenished when needed. Our fridge was not always fully replenished with the 2 beers & 2 soft drinks usually allocated on a daily basis. The food quality and temperature (hot) varied. The buffet had a wide variety of meats, pastas, cold cuts, breads, cheeses, fruits/vegetables, ice cream, deserts, etc..., but many items were not hot and seemed to only be room temperature. The AC could have been cooler as it was hot in the buffet restaurant. We also attended the Diamond Club restaurant for a few Breakfast, lunch & dinners. The service was very good and the food was excellent and at the right temperature. We enjoyed the Italian & Mediterranean A La Carte restaurants, the service & food were excellent. For lunch we also attended the 24 hrs. snack bar and enjoyed the freshly baked pizza and sandwiches with fries. Here the service was quick and the food was excellent. The service at the bars (beach (D.C) and lobby) was excellent. When we arrived, the upper pool water was of a greenish colour. Two days later, an employee put a product in the pool and the next day the water was crystal clear and it lasted until the end of our stay. The washrooms (women, men & handicap) next to the 24 hrs. snack bar were closed. We had to use the washrooms next to the towel exchange area. There was no washroom close to the beach area. All the washrooms we used in the lobby area were kept clean and constantly monitored by the personnel. We had no issues exchanging our beach towels. Since it was low season there were no problems for anyone to obtain a Palapa/long chairs at the beach. We arrived early and had the assistance of a beach employee. We did not use the Diamond Club (D.C.) beach section as we preferred the single palapas in the regular section, but we were close to the D.C. section. The location of the Memories Flamenco is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is fantastic; the sand is white and fine. There were no corals/large flat rocks at the Memories Flamenco hotel. There was only a few at the neighboring hotel (East side). We did not attend any night shows. We stayed in Block#2 close to the theatre (night show) there was music/speaking until approx. 22;30hrs. but, it was very quiet once the show ended. It did not disturb us. The gym & Spa are a good walk away from Block#2. It is located near Block#10. The equipment and AC in the gym (change room with shower) were all functional. The Spa is nice. I enjoyed the relaxing massages. The guests are mostly from Canada and some from Europe. All were pleasant and respectful of others. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & always give you an excellent service. Overall our vacation experience was very good and appreciated. My spouse and I would return to the Memories Flamenco if we can get a good price with the Diamond Club included. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with comfortable long chairs. Good A La Carte restaurants (Italian Mediterranean). Diamond Club restaurant had excellent service & food. Nice room with vanity/sink separate from toilet tub/shower. Nice gym & Spa
The weak points
At the Buffet the food offered was often not hot (room temperature) AC in the buffet restaurant not cold enough Internet access only accessible in lobby/front bar area. Not in rooms or elsewhere on resort. One pesos for 1 hour.
Certified

Holiday week in Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-13
Great time with staff meeting my needs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and pool. and weather was better than expected.
The weak points
Food could have been hotter but still a good selection Limited nightly entertainment from what was posted.
Certified

Parents be aware

, Brampton, ON
2019-09-16
We were at this resort (Memories Flamenco Beach Resort – Cayo-Coco) the last week of August 2019 with my 24-year-old female cousin and 12-year-old son. Besides the constant harassments that my cousin was faced with on daily basis from the male staff (bartenders, restaurant servers, pizza baker at the snack bar), my son and his male friend were sexually harassed by one of the male resort employees who was drunk (alcohol was served to him by the resort bartenders) and driving the resort truck. My son and his friend had to jump out of the moving vehicle because the employee wouldn't stop. Once we were in the lobby making raising our concerns loudly, of course, other young female guests came forward to report similar incidents. Please stay away or warren your kids as this is not about one bad apple but all the staff.

Feel free to contact me if you wish. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Everything else

Bad resort

, Georgetown, ON
2019-08-21
I don't think I would recommend this resort to my friends and families. This is my first time in Cuba and I think it might be the last because of this resort. I don't understand how they got 4 1/2 stars. They need to train their staffs better especially at the snack bar. My husband and his friend went there to get lunches and one of the waiter told them to put their shirt on(on the website it says beach wear) meanwhile there are other people sitting there without their shirts on. And they waited there and no one served them. They had to wait around 1 before they got their food and then the same waiter told them that they can't bring the plates out of the snack bar but we see other people doing that. I went to the snack bar the day before to get food for my son and I was allowed to bring the plate back to my room. The people at the snack bar is the worst. They treat the people that speaks their language like their best friend, and everyone else like garbage. We always tip the staffs everywhere we go but they don't appreciate it. At the same snack bar we went to get lunch and sat there for 2 hrs and waited for our foods, the people who came after us got their food before us. When you ask the waitress they keep on telling you that it's coming and they are busy. They need to have AC in the buffet and lobby, i feel like I am paying to stay at a resort and being tortured. Mosquitoes are so bad their (I know it's not their fault) but we only see them spray the resort once throughout the day. Honestly, this resort really need to make changes otherwise it will be out of business. I spoke with so many people at that resort and it's the same answer I am getting. This is the worst resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service at the Mediterranean, Italian and buffet was great. The beach is beautiful!
The weak points
No AC, bad service from front desk and especially snack bar. Shortage of food, cups and ice. Front desk we go there to exchange money to tip their staffs but they never give us small bills until you ask a couple of times.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation in Cayo Coco!

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-21
We had a wonderful vacation at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort with our 14 year old son. The resort is small and and a short distance to walk around the whole property. The beach and ocean was spectacular. The ocean was so crystal clear and sandy bottom all the way as far as you could walk with calm waters when we were there in July 2019. Plenty of beach shelters however we did go at 8 am in the morning to save our favorite one. The Snack Bar was our first stop every morning as they had the best coffee. Much better than the buffet coffee. Food at the buffet and snack bar was plenty and delicious. However, if you are a picky eater or not adventurous you many not enjoy the food as much, as it was very different. Don't expect the pizza, or burgers or pancakes to be cooked the same way as home...but it was all delicious. Hotel room was very dated and could use a refurbish however it was clean and had plenty of storage. Bed was comfy. We did have issues with low water pressure in the shower or no hot water a couple times but once we told front desk about it, it was fixed. The room was not 4.5 star standards as in Canada. I would say more like a 2.5 star but it did not hinder out vacation as I would say the resort itself was 4 star. We didn't spend much time in our hotel anyways. The AC always worked but was a little noisy but after a day or two you did not notice it any more. Basically no nightlife on the resort which did not bother us as we were in bed early. Only watched one night show, the Micheal Jackson one and it was great.
The staff in the buffet and snack bar were amazing! Tipping is extremely appreciated and even $1 CU they are very grateful. The pools were nice although I did not go there as I love the ocean. My husband and son did go a couple times and really liked it.
Recommend taking a taxi to Playa Pillar for the day ($50 CU) if you love the beach. AMAZING beach with and nice little beach restaurant serving delicious lobster.
Also recommend taking a taxi to Lenny's Restaurant ($25 CU) if you love lobster. Quaint little local restaurant located at a isolated point on the ocean. The seafood special was amazing! Great photo location.
We really loved our vacation at this resort..we have no regrets for choosing this location and would recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, ocean, resort grounds, staff, food, location.
The weak points
hotel room, no night life, lack of activities.
Certified

Our first Time in Cuba

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-29
On arrival the staff was very friendly. Everyone at Memories Flamenco always ready to serve with beautiful smiles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Typical Cuban Resort

, Richmond, QC
2019-04-27
I visited the Memories Flamenco April 18th to the 25th. This resort was chosen for 3 reasons. 1: 15 minutes from the airport and 2: the beach and 3: after visiting the resort next door 4 times it was time for a change.
All I can say is that this is your typical Cuban resort. Pretty much your standard room only ours had stained bedspreads, 1 small lamp in the room which made for dark evenings, humidity (couldn't seem to regulate the AC) and a safe that hardly worked. Yes we could have had these issues looked at but in order to have that done you needed to be in the room when the repairman came and they are not the speedest! First impressions are important so a clean bedspread is not too much to ask for in my opinion. We had 1 bottle of water in the fridge and 2 beer and 2 softdrinks. The last 2 days of the vacation I was not feeling well and was drinking alot of water. In order to actually get bottled water we had to leave a nice tip and a note to the cleaning lady otherwise none was left. There was no water to be purchased at the little store ALL week. That is unacceptable in a country where you must drink bottled water.
The food was disappointing also. Same food day in day out with very little variation BUT the soup was amazing!
For the most part the service was very good. Thanks to Daylyn at the front desk for giving us a room in block 1 and allowing us to keep our room until 4:30 on the last day. We really appreciated it! We kept the same beach towels all week because there seemed to be a shortage of those too and I don't think our sheets got changed all week but that was no biggy.
Like every resort in every county it was necessary to get up before 7 and go to the beach to reserve a shady spot if you wanted to spend all day on the beach. I liked the fact that we really weren't sitting on top of each other on the beach. The beach is the selling point for this resort in my opinion.
This is a very family orientated resort and my last negative comment is the fact that in the lobby and in the buffet restaurant kids are running all over the place unsupervised. I saw 1 little boy trying to climb up on to the buffet and other kids picking through the salad rolls at lunch time touching them all then actually putting 1 on his plate only to change his mind and put it back...gross!! Keep your eyes on your kids.
At the end of the day I had 7 days of sun on an amazing beach spent with my twin sister which was the sole purpose of my vacation. Will I go back to the Memories... probably not. If I decide to travel again I may splurge and go back to adults only resort in another country where there is fresh fruit and bottled water and toilet paper in abundanc [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach!
The weak points
Lack of variation of food. Very limited supply of bottled water.
Certified

Wonderful vacation!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-13
It was our first time to Cuba and we were very pleased with the trip. The resort has a lot of space,everything looks cared of, nice staff , very good atmosphere,very suitable for families. We asked to be placed in building 1 or 2. They placed us in 3d,but if was even better. A minute walk to buffet and to the beach and to the pool- right in between everything we need. And with small children it was so considerate,and also on the 1st floor,which saved us climbing stairs with little kids and beach things.
Food was various and we have no complaints. We found what was suitable for us and stuck with it.
Every evening they have very nice entertainment program. We all liked it - kids and adults. And during the day there's always smth going on for the kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Space, atmosphere,beach,pool,entertainment
The weak points
Occasional flooding of water into building during heavy raining. Little amount of roaches
Certified

Great vacation!

, Digby, NS
2019-04-06
We picked Memories Flamenco Beach Resort this year for our annual Cousins in Cuba trip, and we were not disappointed. The grounds were lovely and well kept, the beach was amazing with lots of shade and lounge chairs, the pools were well maintained as well (although could use a few more loungers there), the rooms were clean and spacious, the food was very good and the staff were amazing! Good time had by all, we will definitely be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, staff and entertainment crew were amazing.
The weak points
If I have to put a weak point, water pressure/ temperature was not great sometimes at supper time only. Any other time, it was fine.
Certified

Wish I never had to leave

, Burlington, ON
2019-04-05
The hotel and resort experience was amazing. The staff were exceptional, the views spectacular. I highly recommend the diamond club addition to your visit so you can enjoy the private side of the beach where there is lots of shade and comfortable seating as well as service to you. The sand is white the water turquoise and blue and the shows (especially the Michael Jackson show) are really impressive. I have been to other resorts on Cayo Coco but this one was better. Food was very good, particularly the diamond club restaurant. This resort is good for families, very safe and lots of kid activities, even a nice quiet baby/toddler pool. Or if you are going alone or with your spouse or want to party, there is a great late night crowd that gathers in the bar/lounges and a busy nightclub just a 10 minute walk away from the resort. Something for everyone. Do bring your mosquito repellent as early mornings and evenings they can come out and bite, otherwise no sand fleas or bugs in room or anything like that. Rooms were kept very clean daily by housekeeping. Worth booking ahead and requesting an oceanview, In my opinion Building 1 is great on floor 2 or 3, or any floor oceanview in building 2. These are also closest to Diamond beach and bar/lounge/main buffet, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Memories Flamenco - exquisite

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-28
This resort is great. I would go back again. The staff are great and accommodating. I have walking issues and the great bellboys - Alain & Israel - were great. Bartender outside the buffet - Amanray - was a super gentlemen. The food was good. The nightly entertainment was very good. Michael Jackson show was one of the best we have seen. I would recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

People make the difference

, Elliot Lake, KS
2019-03-27
15 nights.
Highly recommend for the beaches and the people .

The hotel itself was adequate. The beds need to be upgraded. Night lighting was poor. Be careful.

First week buffet not good. No fresh breads. Veggies mostly cabbage based. The
À LA carte restaurants were adequate. The beef is not worth ordering. The fish is generally very good. Asian and Italian were worst.

The entertainment was very good so people tell us. This was our fith return visit so we did not partake.

A beligerent drunk was a problem. We were told he was taken to the town jail for two days and then put on a plane back to Canada. It was good to see that they are enforcing good manners.
High praise for Yanis, diamond club, Enrique, pool chair fellow, Jerry Jim, beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

The Beach.....That is All!!!

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-19
My friend and I booked a 7 day trip to Memories Flamenco Cayo Coco. We upgraded to Diamond Club. We travelled to Cuba with what I thought was realistic expectations. Upon arrival we were sent to our room....we had requested building 1 or 2 (we had read they were the best) not ground floor (we are two ladies travelling alone) and two beds. We received building 4 ground floor and one bed. We requested to move and told there was no availability. We went to go to bed and there was blood on our sheet. We asked to have the bed changed and no one came....we peeled back the top comforter and left it on the floor and went to bed. The next day it was gone but not replaced! When we checked in we had 2 roles of toilet paper and 2 beach towels and 2 bath towels.....sounds good right? Well that is all we had all week! We used the bath towels for 3 days then left them on the floor to be changed...they were removed and not replaced. We never were able to obtain new beach towels either so for the remainder of the week we used two beach towels for both the beach and showering. We had to get toilet paper from other guests ...one of the many trips to the lobby asking for toilet paper and towels did get us 1 partially used roll of toilet paper and still no towels! Our bar fridge (which with Diamond club was supposed to be restocked daily) was also not restocked. Some days we got two small bottles of water, some days we got 1. We went days without beer. One other lobby visit had them come with 1 beer and 1 soda. A lady we met who was in building one which seemed to have far superior house keeping kept us in toilet paper and she had given us two beer on her last day. When the employee came to our room she refused to leave the 1 beer and 1 soda because we had 2 beer in our fridge even though they were gifted to us! Diamond Club my a$$! The beach which was lovely in the Diamond club area was supposed to have a drinks waiter all the time was only staffed less than half of our stay and on those days it was usually only until noon! The Diamond Club restaurant which is huge would only take a handful of reservations we were only able to get in twice and we tried to book our first morning there. On the 2 days we went the restaurants had maybe 4 tables of people! The bars ran out of stuff all the time. No Champagne, no mojitos, no WATER! Twice we caught them trying to fill our cups from the tap! The snack bar ran out of food by 4pm most days....or the majority. One day they had one option a tuna melt no fries! We could not get pizzas 5 out of the 7 days even if we went up at lunch time! No French fries most days! As I said I went to Cuba with limited expectations on food but the inability to eat or even get water at a 4 1/2 star resort that we paid good money for is rediculous! We had to purchase our own beer and water from the store.....that to me is insane! On day 4 our toilet stopped working and no one ever came to fix it so we had to fill the tank with our shower..... that of course only if there was water in the shower which was not always (which honestly we expected in Cuba) I have travelled to 3 1/2 star resorts and had better service, accommodations etc. This place is a under staffed under equipped DUMP! The only good thing we have to say about this hotel is the beach was beautiful .... period. Everyone travelling back to halifax cheered when the bus pulled up to take us home! I have never seen a reaction like this in all my travels! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach
The weak points
Everything but the beach
Certified

The Great , Good, Bad and Ugly

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-11
The Great - the beaches are fantastic
The Good - Food is repetitive, the a la cartes are good but nothing special - the staff was very friendly and mostly helpful, Alex and Tania at the beach bar and Lenay at the lounge, Maye our maid provides excellent service!
The Bad - Rooms are dated and need some TLC
The Ugly - We had coach roaches in our room and the shower pressure was non existence in the evening - we classified our room as GLAMPING (glorified camping). It seems toilet paper is a luxury item because they ran out of TP many times and many people went without and even requesting from the cleaning staff - sorry we don't have any right now!!!!
We also encountered coach roaches in the buffet!!!
I know its Cuba and the standard of living is much different then NA but really you pay good money for a vacation the least you can expect is the essentials. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Rooms and repetitive food selections There were many days that they ran out of bread so its hard to have a hamburger without a bun. Go figure - they ran out of beer at the beach bar and Pina Colada machine was broken for several days.
Certified

Memories Flamenco experience

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-08
Had an amazing experience i will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

It was ok

, St. Albert, AB
2019-02-17
The beach was amazing. Food very blah we had no hot water most time and at one time we had no water for the night. Toilet stopped working had plumber come and fix it at 9pm. The maid service was mean and left nasty letters in our rooms about how we should deal with our towels. Maids yelling at us for we walking on their floors after they mopped it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches was amazing and entertainment was amazing
The weak points
Maid service was below par
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020