Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
3.643.643.643.643.64
3.64 based on 1303 reviews
#11 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (819)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Loved this resort

, Lancaster, ON
2024-05-02
What an awesome resort and staff. I would 100% return and recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach - what an amazing view and beautiful waters Staff - friendly and go above and beyond Food- did not go hungry…. Didn't even eat all the snacks I brought… if you know what to expect for Cuba it was even better Room - clean, air conditioning
The weak points
Hot water - hit and miss Evening shows - I remember them being better back in the day…. Seemed like they were thrown together last minute
Certified

Staff are very accommodating and friendly

, Edmonton, AB
2024-04-22
Overall, this resort is very good value for the money paid. Staff treated me well and I have no complaints. Katherine, the representative was friendly and keen to help when asked. Kathy has great customer service skills and dealt with several issues during my stay. I can see she works very hard to keep guests happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great beach and pool areas are well kept and very scenic
The weak points
Shortages of items such as coffee and some drink items were sporadic, but easy to deal with. Just have something else like tea! if you need coffee every morning, bring your own as a backup.
Sanitary measures
Room was clean and well kept
Certified

Nice resort

, Ingersoll, ON
2024-04-03
Beautiful resort and friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Memories of Flamenco Hotel

, Niagara Falls, ON
2024-03-13
Clean room, friendly staff, great ocean view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean pools, great beach
The weak points
one towel for two of us to use all week, bought diamond & fridge was empty all week
Certified

1st time travellers to Cuba!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2024-02-22
We had a great week at Memories Flamenco!
We were well prepared by many as to how Cuba is in terms of shortages and things to bring with us so we weren't as put out as other people due to not having certain items. I can't say enough good things about the staff there. Truly incredible people who will bend over backwards to help you. Made many new friends and chatted with many locals (they are struggling pretty bad there and need the tourists). Don't exchange any money to pesos, they prefer the CDN or USD money. Great pool and beach area! Entertainment staff does a great job each day with activities and shows.
We would go back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cuban staff are INCREDIBLE!! Beaches are amazing!
The weak points
Food shortages. Coffee shortages. Minor maintenance issues.
Certified

WORST VACATION EVER! WILL NEVER GO BACK

, Second Falls, NB
2024-02-22
The trip was horrible from the start. Check in was supposed to be at 4 local. We waited in line at 4 to find out our room was not ready and to try again later. At 6 we were finally able to check in. When we did we discovered we were not in an ocean front room (that we had paid extra for). When I went to the front desk to inquire, I was told they could possibly move us in 2 days, to come check again then. After we finally got settled we were not moving all of our luggage again, so did not inquire about switching rooms again. When we got to our room we discovered we had no blankets. We went back to the lobby and were told they would bring them right up. They did not. We slept with towels the first night, until we finally received blankets the second night. During our stay we were rationed 1 L of water per day (for three people, one infant included). When I said this would not be enough and inquired where I could purchase additional bottled water, we were told this was not possible. On day 2 of our trip, the sewer backed up between our building and the one beside us. This led to literally sewage (shit and toilet paper included) being all over the walkway between the two buildings. See attached picture. This is absolutely not acceptable. This problem persisted for the duration of our trip (5 more days). We also did not receive toilet paper one day and had to go to the lobby to request some.

To say this was the worst trip ever, would be the biggest understatement in the world. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Trip # 9 to Memories Flamenco

, St. George, ON
2024-02-08
We come back mainly because of the staff. We have been to other places in Cuba, the shortages are the same everywhere and change daily. In Cuba, it is what it is. We love this resort for it's small size and how convenient it is to access the restaurants, pools and other amenities. We always chose Diamond Club mainly for the Restaurant. The Staff everywhere are amazing.
Since hurricane Irma in 2017 they have completely rebuilt the grounds/gardens and it now looks awesome. They have had some issues in the past year or so with water pressure but have been rebuilding that infrastructure building by building. We had no issues on this trip. The wifi on this trip was now available in buildings 1 through 7. Prior to that it was only in the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The Beach = A1, Diamond Club Restaurant is also excellent.
The weak points
The food choices, but this is the same for all of Cuba. No fault of the resort.
Sanitary measures
They are constantly cleaning and maintaining the grounds. The restaurants are always clean. People need to remember mosquitos and flies are not a resort issue. They are a tropical country issue.
Certified

Looks great in the pictures

, Emsdale, ON
2024-01-24
Hotel is starting too decline in alot of areas. Food is really not very good
Our son was sick for half the trip.
We figure for the most part if they're pouring you water it's out of the tap, you can taste it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach is beautiful, people are nice enough. No one bugs you too buy stuff. Airport transfer is quick.
The weak points
They are in the first part
Certified

Great stay

, Bryson, HA
2024-01-16
Hotels are dated but was liveable for a week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainement Management Bartenders and Waitresses
The weak points
The resort is older but the smell of urine in all public washrooms was nasty.
Certified

Trusted Memories Brand - never Again

, East Garafraxa, ON
2024-01-07
There were not enough supplies to satisfy a sanitary resort. On our last day there was not one bathroom with toliet paper. When we asked at the front bathrooms (where they had about 20 rolls) they gave my wife rations. In the bathrooms there were flowers on the sinks but there was no soap and it was not even remotely clean. 2 bathroom stall were over flowing with "stuff", 1 did not have a seat.

We expected food issues - and we figured it out. But the day we went to the diamond Club dinner - high level management sat behind us - eating pasta , calamari and what looked to be some beef. Don't do it in front of customers that are eating pork chops we could not cut through.

The front desk customer service, never took my complaints / requests seriously - gave them my room number and never wrote it down.

The chairs were broken and very uncomfortable by the pool.

Not enough chairs - only to find one of the staff was saving chairs to get tips. (Did not realize that until after I gave him a tip.)

Shady characters were around the beach and pool - selling cigars, "coke" etc.

What an awful experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach - wait staff in restaurants were very attentive.
The weak points
EVERYTHING Else
Sanitary measures
Makes me sick to think about it. Bathrooms were not clean - toliet paper was a shortage. We hid it in the room - so the clean staff would leave some - we were three people in the room they did not always leave 3 towels or 3 bottles of water. Not worth it
Certified

Excellent Property

, Milton, ON
2024-01-03
Stunning Views of beaches and really its out of the world. Pools/Bars were exceptional really. Restaurants are nice and food was good. Above all People of Cuba are so nice/cordial/hospitable that I will go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Tours were awesome and I suggest everyone should take tours. Beaches are again OMG. Pools side, bars, coffee shops are excellent
The weak points
Food quality can definitely be improved by adding grilled stuff and some more salads choices.
Sanitary measures
Excellent
Certified

Don't waste your money

, Severn, ON
2024-01-02
Run down hotel buildings and terrible food options - ran out of most food except pork, rice and pumpkin and mix for drinks. Most definitely my worst experience ever at an all exclusive resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent beach. Bread, butter, cheese, coffee and rum
The weak points
No food variety - especially meat No wine or mix for rum Disrepair of building, room, stairs No hot/warm water or water pressure Wifi down, asked for password every day
Sanitary measures
Clean
Certified

Cheap trip so what you get is ok

, Deep River, ON
2023-11-23
We don't blame the Cuban people but there are a lot of shortages. The place needs a lot of work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Love the ocean and sunshine. Clean rooms
The weak points
Food was lacking, unhappy workers (which I understand) I felt bad that people were complaining about everything.
Certified

Will not go back

, Montréal, QC
2023-11-21
We had paid for Diamond Club. At our arrival at 1 pm we waited to get our room until 4pm to finally not only get a room without 3 beds like asked but with no running water and toilet broken and none fonctionnel. (Building 3) We went then to the lobby to wait 4 hours to get told they had no new room for us until the following day and gave us a temporary room to just shower and use a toilet but that was not cleaned at all! The beach is eroded on the Diamond club side which makes it difficult to go in the water. Bring water shoes! We are alright but lacked eggs for a couple days and had no pop at all for our drinks. My in-laws also went with us and went without water in their room for 2 days for the shower and toilet also. The personnel could not change their room until 2 days later! They were also in building 3. I find this place to have poor management in their priorities. We will not be back. We do know the workers do their best but the front desk is not very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Workers are friendly Pool is nice Grounds are pretty
The weak points
Rooms smell like mildew Water issues in many buildings Public bathrooms are not very clean and have many times no toilet papers A la Carte restaurants do not have any better quality food then the buffet
Certified

Oct 19- Nov 2 Memories Flamenco, Cayo Coco, Cuba

, Branchton, ON
2023-11-11
I have been going to Memories Flamenco for 11 yrs now. This recent stay has broken my heart as to how rundown the rooms, buildings exterior, public washrooms, main buffet, the servers stations are in much needed repairs. My room #3217, had a musty smell and definitely was in need of updates. I always bring candles and room spray, this helped rid of the smell. I had 2 twin beds and a cot. The view from the 2nd floor was amazing overlooking the grounds and kids club pool. The water pressure in the sink was great, toilet flushed, no issues, the shower had little pressure and luke warm water. The gardeners have done an exceptional job, as the grounds look amazing. The public washrooms need repairs, especially the ones by the lobby bar. There is a disgusting odour in that back area. The phones in the rooms didn't work, to me this is a safety issue as in case of emergency no way to contact the front desk. Wifi is being installed which is a nice feature, however in my opinion other areas need attention first. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach and staff are what make people return here. Again the grounds are beautiful and have definitely been worked on over the years. The diamond club buffet is a great feature to have a quiet and AC breakfast, lunch or dinner.
The weak points
The rooms, public washrooms need repairs and lobby bar cushions are dirty & chairs are too big and bulky, take up too much space. l Plastic glasses and cigarette butts at the beach was aweful.
Certified

Stunning Beach!!!

, Lasalle, QC
2023-11-04
It was our second visit to Memories Flamenco.
Although our previous vacation was a bit disappointing (careless cleaning lady, empty mini bar, lots of flies in the buffet, poor menu...), we decided to return to Memories primarily because of the stunning beach!!!
We booked the Diamond Club package again, but next time no such mistake.
Let me be more clear.
1) « Early check in » service may not work for you.
Upon arrival unfortunately, our room was not ready till 4pm, so we had no choice but to change our clothes right in the dirty washrooms that are next to the lobby.
2) The Diamond Club restaurant has some issues. Beside its limited menu, the waiting time for ordering omelette is quite long ((
The coffee quality is not as good as coffee from the lobby bar.
The lunch time frame is also too narrow, only from 1 to 2pm.
3) The shortage of the supply also affects the mini bar filling with beer and soft drinks.
Indeed, we did not find a single drink (except the bottle of water) in our mini bar for the whole week.
Thanks to the manager Anna, who generously offered us two cans of beer on our first day.
Question for the hotel management.
If for some reason you temporarily can not provide some services (ex. daily filling mini bars with drinks…), so why wouldn't you lower a bit of price for the Diamond Club package? Or maybe be find another solution to compensate missing service? Why should the clients pay for something that is not being provided???
As for the rest.
The food in the main Buffet in general, was ok, the cooking staff do their best, special thanks to them!
Another disappointment is the absence of our favorite Mojito and Pinacolada (
The situation with flies this time was not that critical as before.
Animation program in the hotel is always on top, Bravo!
Finally, from the bottom our heart we would like to thank our manager, Anna for taking care of us! We also would like to thank our cleaning lady, two adorable ladies from the medical office and all hardworking people who on every day basis try to to make our vacation as pleasant as they could!☀️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach Landscape
The weak points
Lack of cleanliness in public area: washrooms, buffet Rooms: technical issues and luck of the towels and toilet paper Food/drinks: supply shortage

Not What It Used To Be

, Windsor, NS
2023-11-03
Overall - it's time for the Memories Flamenco to have some serious fixing up work done. I'm a 10 time returning guest. Maintenance and repairs are not being done, and the loyalty of returning guests is keeping this resort popular BUT our patience is being sorely tested. Food and drink shortages are common in Cuba, those of us who have visited in the past know this. Currently the shortages are among the worst I've ever seen. For non-drinkers the options are severely limited: cola and Fanta were available 3 days out of 7 (I personally brought cans of ginger ale and spoke with numerous other guests who has brought their own soft drinks as well). Pineapple and orange “juice” are concentrate mixes with artificial flavours and highly sweetened. No blender drinks, or slushy drinks except for one day at the lobby bar.
Water issues persist - many rooms were without water for several hours on a daily basis. I was able to shower daily, lots of hot water, but very little water pressure. Sometimes no more than a trickle. Some guests were filling their ice buckets from the pool to “flush” their toilets.
Pool: needs a deep cleaning! Water appears clear but tile is grungy in numerous areas. Also many tiles are broken/missing and have not been replaced for MONTHS (my last visit was in May, and tile damage noted then remains unrepaired as of October).
Food handling is a concern. Same utensils/plates are used for handling different raw meats (chicken, pork, beef) and also used for turning meats during cooking and serving to guest plates. At the made to order station there was one set of tongs used by the cook for all meats, at all stages of cooking and serving. Huge concern for health & contamination.
Friendly and pleasant staff as always, many guests return largely for the experience of the caring resort staff.
Beach is beautiful, some erosion, rocks and shells - water shoes recommended.
Music at the upper pool is repetitive and often far too loud (one day there was “happy birthday” song replayed in different languages for half an hour, high volume, while nobody was at the DJ hut). Sometimes it's necessary to shout to be heard, taking to someone right beside you. Other times it's background volume and very pleasant. VERY inconsistent. Entertainment staff are pleasant but should be advised that shouting into the microphone cause distortion and sounds awful. Turn it down, stop yelling and people will be able to understand what you're saying. This is particularly an issue at the “Orange Party” which is basically a shouting booze fest.
So long story short: food isn't good, DC restaurant is slightly better than buffet (Omar is so kind). Italian a La carte was the best meal I had all week. DC lounge has great air conditioning and is a comfortable place to rest.
Beds super hard. Very limited drink options. Maintenance is VERY badly needed in rooms, pool, public washrooms.
Food handling should be addressed ASAP. I spoke with numerous people who were experiencing stomach problems & lots of folks were sharing their immodium and pepto.
Memories Flamenco needs to be brought up to its former quality levels.
At this point I would assess the resort at a 2.5 or possible 3 star level, by Cuban standards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff. Lovely beach.
The weak points
Desperately needs maintenance and repairs. Food handling practices need improvement. Food and drink quality are poor. Pest control measures need improvement (flies, mosquitoes, roaches).
Certified

Not sure if we will go back

, Brantford, ON
2023-10-17
We decided to not pay for the diamond club, so here is our experience. It was a very hot week, at least 41 every day. There was never any ice for drinks in the buffet restaurant, constantly ran out of Pepsi for soda drinks. The hydro went out one day for over 4 hours. So that meant no plumbing or water. The flies were dreadful. Everywhere in all the restaurants. The tables, placemats or chairs never got cleaned at all between people eating! It made eating meals dreadful with all the flies sitting on each table from the food being stuck. The open snack bar was dreadful as the tables never were cleaned, and any food left on the tables, the birds were sure to get the left overs!! The staff keep the doors open in the restaurant but diamond club staff kept their doors closed during meals. They ran out of eggs for breakfast for 2 of the days, so we ate French fries . We were in building 3, and the water pressure was low. Two of the nights there was a massive downpour, and hotel does not provide umbrellas! The store doesn't sell them either. Food was terrible!! No variety and nothing was properly labelled , so you didn't know what was in the buffet. You get treated a lot better if you purchase Diamond club. Wifi is only in the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The property itself is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was cleaned and taken care of daily. The staff are very helpful and friendly, but look burnt out and tired :(.
The weak points
The cleanliness of all the restaurants, the store was expensive and no variety of things to purchase.
Certified

Memories Flamenco

, Ontario, ON
2023-09-17
I went for 4 days and the resort is very clean and has a great layout. I only had one Ala cart since I was there for 4 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pool Buffet was good and the seafood resteraunt was great Animation team was amazing Night shows were very good Beach was amazing but for the first ten feet the beach was covered with shells and you need water shoes Can't wait to go back
The weak points
Lots of mosquitos at night but you can't really help that Reception and check in is very slow and lots of guests budding in and no order to say You can only get wifi in the lobby reception and it is very slow Closest town is Moron by bus
Sanitary measures
The tools that they supply are quite large and if you loose them they charge you $25.00 for each one
Certified

Disappointing Trip

, Milton, ON
2023-08-27
Hotel was busy with lots of travellers and had good music at the pools. There were no balls on site to play any type of sports. Unfortunately we did not have hot water, toilets would not flush in the room, toilet paper was very hard to get, there were no tripical drinks eg. pina colada, margarita and the sanitation in the dining hall was below expectations. Extreme amounts of cross contanimation in the buffet and chefs eating the food with bare hands then serving the food (on the line).
My son had an anaphalaxis to all nuts. We were assured by the head chef and resort that there were no nuts on site. They were wrong and there were nuts in the ice cream. The manager and resort did not believe me even after I showed them the nuts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beach was stunning
The weak points
sanitation
Certified

May Not go back to Cuba again after this trip

, Etobicoke, ON
2023-08-22
Been to Cuba several times and set my expectations accordingly. I go for the beach and to relax.

We are quite easy going, low maintenance, go with the flow people. That said, with very few exceptions, the service at this hotel was horrendous.

I won't talk about the grounds, the rooms, the food, as we all know what to expect, but I have never experienced staff like the ones here (again with a few exceptions). When we arrived, I thought maybe they had a bad staff meeting, maybe they had a fight with their partner, maybe their kid is sick, maybe this, maybe that... but the bad service continued. It's as if we were an inconvenience anytime we ordered a drink or asked for anything at all for that matter. I understand life for folks there may be more difficult than for where I live and it may be difficult to put on a smile all the times, but I think they should still remember that they are in the hospitality business. I was so disappointed with the service that this was likely our last trip to Cuba, which is quite a shame, as my husband and I both love it there.

This is the first time I'm leaving a not so good review. I don't like to mess with peoples livelihoods, but I'm leaving this review in hopes that they're able to address these issues and make it better for others that visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Memories Flamenco resort

, Brampton, ON
2023-08-02
Hotel was okay. Large room with a fridge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach was clean and the sand was beautiful. Pools we're also gorgeous with a cute kids area.
The weak points
Food needs improvement in terms of flavour and vegetarian options. It would be great if they could always have salt, pepper and ketchup on the tables.
Certified

Amazing!

, Burlington, ON
2023-07-15
We were pleasantly surprised at the variety of food available! We had the Diamond Club upgrade which I highly recommend! The beach is breathtaking, the staff is superb! Great amenities. Also, the best coffee ever! Make sure you get the coffee at the bars as the restaurants are made different. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, swimming, coffee, best food I've had in Cuba in my 6 times there, tennis courts, beach grills, cigars, drinks are amazing.
The weak points
Wifi only works at the lobby, they were setting up for wifi throughout for Oct-2023. They fumigate like crazy every day and still lots of flies during the day and mosquitos at night. July is bad for bugs so we understand. Rooms are a bit dated but clean.
Certified

Vacation at Memories Flamenco

, Toronto, ON
2023-07-09
Overall, the hotel is good. It doesn't have many food or drinks options, some days we didn't even have eggs for breakfast. Even though the hotel is well maintained and cleaned there are too many flies and mosquitos everywhere. Most of the times, the AC at the buffet was off so it was really uncomfortable due to the heat and many flies on the food.
A must to Hugo (entertainment) and Pedro (at the beach)! Loved these guys! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pools, beach, entertainment all day, rooms, cleanness, coffee from the bar at the lobby
The weak points
Too many flies at the buffet, AC not working at the buffet, no good food options at the Chinese a la carte restaurant, no fans at the lobby, Wi-fi pretty much restrict to the lobby area
Certified

It just keeps getting better! Amazing Vacation!

, Oshawa, ON
2023-05-28
We have recently returned from our 10th visit to this hotel. And it won't be our last. In all honesty, last April we weren't sure if we'd be back. Many shortages in all areas, and I understand they were all across Cuba, but we decided to give it another try last September, and it was so much better.....and then again in April, and it was fabulous!!

The food was fantastic.....so many choices, and the tacos on the beach, which was a new addition to previous visits, were delicious. Jorge Nolasco, who is the Food and Beveridge Manager, has worked so hard to restore the quality and options to the guests. His presence is noticed, as he is there morning, noon and night, whether it's at the buffet, the restaurants, or on the beach. He and his staff (chefs/servers/bartenders) are one of the main reasons we will keep coming back to this hotel. Oh, and the Ambassador's Dinner is a truly amazing experience.

The grounds are beautiful.....the resort is not too big, and not too small. The gardeners work so hard maintaining everything, and always pleasant. Shout out to Osmany, one of our favourites, who went over and above to help us out.

The rooms are clean, and we had no issues with the AC (building 2). Slight problem with our safe, but maintenance was there very quickly to resolve it (ended up just needing a new battery).

The beach is stunning.....a few shells as you enter the water, but not bad, and within a foot or two, nothing but beautiful sand. I would recommend water shoes if you have tender tootsies, but it's not really an issue. The beach seemed to have less shells on the non-Diamond Club side I noticed, and easier to gain access to the water.

We were Diamond Club, and the DC restaurant was so nice for breakfast and lunch, but we also enjoyed the buffet too. Divan, one of the chefs, makes the best omelettes in the morning, always with a smile on his face and kind words for everyone.

We are now starting to look at booking this hotel again, even though we've only been home for a month. The staff make us feel as though we're family, and we love that about them. Some of our favourites, as previously mentioned, are:
Jorge Nolasco,
Mabel Mendoza Armas (Customer Service Manager),
Divan Concepcion,
Yoyo at the pool bar (so incredibly kind),
Marcos Gonzalez at the pool,
Jose Ramon Martell (incredible server in the buffet),
Janet Tellez in the Route 66 bar (for making fantastic drinks and being so entertaining while doing it),
Zoe Yarisbey Pardo (wonderful server in the lobby bar).

And the entertainment staff are the absolute best!! Landy, Diana, Luis (Black Shark), Hugo....and the entire team......so incredibly talented.....always something going on to keep everyone happy.

Love this place, and will not hesitate to come back again. Yes, not perfect, in light of the issues that Cuba is going through right now, but the incredible staff do their very best to accommodate you on your holiday with whatever resources they have. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The incredible staff, beautiful grounds, stunning beach, and excellent food.
The weak points
Lots of flies

Memories from Flamenco Resort

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-22
We just returned from our vacation at flamenco Memories resort.
Here is our Memories from vacation at this resort.
The only 4,5 star in this resort is the beach, there is long stretch of white sand beach with a lot of umbrellas and you don't need to worry about that you won't find one…
Here is what we have experienced on our vacation…
One of the worst impression from this resort is the main buffet. Honestly, the buffet should be closed due to the anti sanitary conditions.
To start with, there is no working air conditioner in the buffet and they keep the main door open which attracts the millions of flies. There is flies everywhere, on the main buffet area where the food stations are, on the tables and you won't sit a minute without a fly not getting into your food, it was disgusting.
A few times we saw cockroaches running on the walls and when we showed it to the waitress, she just shrugged her shoulders…
I complained about flies, cockroaches and anti sanitary conditions in the main buffet area to the customer service, but no changes were made…
I would be very surprised if nobody gets stomach sick due to such anti sanitary conditions.
Secondly, when you walk into the buffet there is never set up tables with a clean cutleries and every time you have to chase waitresses asking them to bring you a fork/knife that you can start eating and often you have to wait 15-20 minutes until someone will come to your table.

I am not even talking about the same food served for lunch and dinner every day and it cooked very poorly…
The only thing that we ended up eating every day was ham/cheese with pasta or rice…
I am not a picky eater, I was ok with eating daily some vegetables and fruits along with rice or pasta, but I felt bad for kids and men who were wondering around the buffet complaining about a poor food choices…
Surprisingly, there were no coffee in the main buffet, in any other resorts we have been, we were always served coffee or tea in the morning, but not in this resort…
After eating breakfast if you want to have morning cup of coffee, you have to go to the bar area to stay in line waiting for the bartender to make you a cup of coffee if they have one , as it also happened to us they did not have any coffee…

We booked an ocean view room hoping to have a nice relaxing vacation, but ended up being stressed and could not wait to get back home…
Another disaster we had to deal with was a millions of mosquitoes and of course there was no balcony door screens if you wanted to air out your room…
We were not sleeping well at night, as our air conditioner was not working properly and no option to open the balcony door to be eaten alive by mosquitoes.

Also every other day we did not have a clean towels in our room as the cleaning lady keep saying to us, “sorry the laundry is not working”…

To summaries all of the above, I would say do not waste your money coming to this resort, if you want to have a nice relaxing vacation look for other resorts as it's clearly very poor managed and it seems nobody cares if people will come back to this resort or not.
I would give only 1 star as a rating and I feel that management should be fired for having such a poor service in this resort…
Hopefully my review will help people to save their money and to avoid the stress on their vacation… [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Anti sanitary conditions in the main buffet ( flies,birds, cockroaches) around food stations…
Sanitary measures
No sanitary measures

Minus - 100 rating, even that's too much

, Richmond Hill, ON
2023-05-19
This resort should be shut down!!! If I could rate it a MINUS -100, I would. It is a health hazard both for the condition of the resort and for the food quality. The resort is not just OLD, it is like it was bombarded by bombs in a war zone. 12 Buildings and not one of them were in working condition. We know this because everyday we were at the front desk complaining and so was every other guest with the exact same complaints. Broken door knobs, broken showers, toilets, sinks, phones...My son vacationed with us with 2 small children and their room was exactly the same. Broken phone, toilet , fridge door, sink faucet. The maids were non existent. They had coffee machines in the rooms but NO COFFEE provided for 7 days. You had to ask for every basic necessity over and over. The sanitation of the public washrooms was deplorable. Every single public washroom in the resort was unusable. The doors didn't close, the seats were smeared in feces, no soap or paper towels. What we heard about the food shortage in Cuba doesn't even come close the the actual situation at this resort. The DIAMOND CLUB DOES NOT EXIST!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS A SCAM!!!!!! The exact same food served at the buffet was what was served at the Diamond club restaurant, actually even less food, only 4 trays in the buffet. All the Diamond club guests ate at the regular buffet because at least it looked like there was more crappy food there then at the Diamond one. The specialty restaurants are next to the buffet with the exact same FOOD and STAFF running back and forth. The grounds are way too big and totally unkept and abandoned, dangerous walking conditions with the uneven ground. It is totally NON HANDICAP ACCESSABLE. We message the resort before going asking about a wheelchair but they don't even respond to your emails. Every single staff member at the front desk was rude and lazy. The only nice, friendly and helpful staff were the shuttle staff and the family pool bar staff and 2 girls from the Buffet. The concierge staff at the Diamond club was non existent and did not resolve any of our issues. The Sunwing guy was useless. During the 7 days there was always something missing, days and days without COFFEE, BREAD, BUTTER,EGGS, POP, FRIES, MILK,PANCAKES, JUICE. If you saw something you wanted you had to grab it because it would be gone in a second and there was not going to be any more after that. So you have a shortage of food... but you can and should control the safety and the quality of the food. The only mix drink you could have was with GUAVA juice. Guava juice Guava juice, that was it for a solid week. That or nothing. There was NO FOOD FOR THE KIDS...NOTHING ...NADA...my grandchildren didn't eat for 7 days. Seriously!!!! It's not a joke...the extreme heat, no beverages and no food for a week is a serious health issue for a 2 and 5 year old. As I said days and days they didn't even have a piece of bread to eat... Everything that was at the Lunch buffet was served at the Dinner buffet, was served at the Diamond club buffet, was served at the specialty restaurants. The couple of items they did have was served EVERYWHERE, EVERYDAY AND EVERY NIGHT!! The same food or lack there of every single day and night no matter what the restaurant was called. Basically a vacation to HELL. I can understand that the food shortage is what it is for the country. But I do not accept the condition of the resort, the sanitation of the resort, the preparation of the little food they did have, the behavior of the staff and the fact that they continue to be in operation under these horrendous conditions and that no one is warned about it until they spend their hard earn money for a vacation to HELL. They can't control the food supply but they can control the quality of their staff and the upkeeping of the resort. It is no where near a 4.5. People that give this resort even a 1 rating are on DRUGS...cheap ones at that!!!! They say for the money you pay.... NOT EVEN FOR FREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can go on and on...Anyone reading this...I AM WARNING YOU, AT LEAST YOU ARE GETTING A WARNING, IT IS MORE THAN WHAT WE GOT. DON'T BELIEVE ME...IF YOU DO GO, DON'T YOU DARE COMPLAIN AFTERWARDS. ACTUALLY I HOPE YOU DO GO, THAT WAY YOU KNOW I AM NOT LYING. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
NON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The weak points
EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Certified

Don't Think We'll Be Back

, Newmarket, ON
2023-05-18
First off, the staff were amazing. We didn't participate in the pool activities because of our group dynamics and spent all our pool time in the pool bar area.

We had a couple issues with our room, the sink faucet sprayed water and the toilet didn't flush well but we alerted the front desk and spoke with a supervisor, were persistent, and both were fixed by day 2 and 3.

We asked for a crib and there wasn't one. But we again were persistent and got a crib. There were actually 3 full sized beds in the room plus the crib. When we got there we had only 2 pool towels even though there were 4 of us. The mini fridge was always leaking and never cold. Only stocked with water for non diamond club. Our housekeeper was wonderful, we gave her gifts daily (toiletries) and we always came back to great blanket designs and flowers. We were in Building 6 floor 3. We always had hot water with good pressure.

My kids had a hard time finding food they would eat. The food shortage is real. Some days no eggs, no coffee or tea at the buffet and only once in the rooms, 2 days no bread, no milk for the kids, one day there was a cereal station, on our last day no juice, and 3 days there was cola. Our servers at the buffet were so great. They did the best they could.

You get an hour a day for wifi, only available in the sports bar (that wasn't open unless it was raining then they would move the night entertainment in there), the lobby, and the lobby bar. That's it.

The beach was very beautiful but lots of shells so bring water shoes. We aren't really beach people because the sand bothers my husband (the aftermath of it being on every body part).

Bring your own drink cups, there were limited plastic cups. We brought cups because of other reviews we saw so no problems there.

I guess in summary you get what you get, they did the best they could with what they have available. We won't be back to Caya Coco unfortunely. I feel we were misled with the hotel description and pictures, by the end of the week we just wanted to go home just so my kids could finally eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, Room, Nice Resort Layout, Mini Disco, Staff, Pool Bar
The weak points
Variety of Food, WiFi Access, Rooms, Accessibility, Kids Club, Flies in Buffet.
Certified

Challenging times in Cuba

, Hamilton, ON
2023-05-17
The resort was ok. The beach was phenomenal but otherwise our trip was severely effected by the lack of supplies.
Also the flies were exceptionally bad. We did not see the resort spray for flies at all. It impeded our ability to enjoy any meal or a coffee in the lobby.
The buffet restaurant where most meals were had had no A/C and again the flies were brutal.
The egg/pancake/grill cooks gave great service though.
It was inconvenient that Wifi was only available in the lobby. It took time away from our trip to make a point of logging in to check on things back home.
We seldom enjoyed any cocktails as most things we asked for were not available. We basically only drank flat beer and rum punch.
There was only rosé wine available at mealtimes.
There was no coffee available in rooms where there was a coffee machine provided.
We had no running water for a period of almost 24 hours. That meant no flushing toilets, running water at sinks, no ice, no water for coffee etc.
I became extremely ill after this day and wasn't able to enjoy eating or drinking for the remainder of the trip.
The public bathrooms were always in a state of disrepair and questionable cleanliness. There were never functioning hand driers or paper towels to dry our hands.
Staff were reluctant to make change for our pesos. It took us 2-3 days before a staff member would break a 500peso note for us.
We found the grounds extremely dark in the evening. The only functional lights were near the lobby area. The resort was relatively large and there was a lot of walking to get to and from our rooms. With a slight visual impairment, I struggled to see my footing at night.
The beach bar did not supply glasses for drinks so patrons had to bring their own. So was frustrating if you didn't have one.
The maid did a good job though we did not meet her.
We did encounter a handful of staff that gave good service but overall this was not my best trip to Cuba.
I would seriously question going back unless significant changes were made. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, beach, beach. And the nightly entertainment was very good. Also the service at the churro stand was very good.
The weak points
See body of review above.
Certified

Beautiful Ocean and resort

, Richibucto Road, NB
2023-05-08
This was our 2nd time visiting this hotel. We visited in December 2021 and again in The first week in May.
Roberto and Maria at the Diamond club made our trip memorable. We will return just to see them.
The rooms are in need of upgrades. May is not a great month to go because of the flies. They are bad because it is their rainy season. Food is hit and miss because of the shortages but we always found something to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The grounds and ocean. Roberto and Maria in the Diamond Club are the best!!
The weak points
The rooms are in need of upgrades. The first time there several items in the room were broken and the shower didn't work. Major renovations to the buildings would increase my ratings.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024