Reef Playacar

3.743.743.743.743.74
Reef Playacar
#91 of 117 hotels in Riviera Maya
3.74 based on 138 reviews
Traveller pictures (61)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Another great time at the Reef

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-03
We love the Reef and have been coming for years. This was our 7th time. Great food, perfect weather, room configurations that we asked for, everything was outstanding (except for the pillows - too lumpy). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, food, the jungle, beach, proximity to town, staff
The weak points
pillows, some air conditioning issues (quickly resolved)
Certified

Family vacation

, Leamington, ON
2017-05-04
second time and still love it. hotel is smallish, which i liked, easy to get around lush beautiful grounds. the beach is beautiful !!! food above average for an all-inclusive, beer great( dos equis) red wine just ok. the beds were quite hard, rooms clean but a little outdated.very spanish feel to the property. hot water was hit and miss. good service for the most part. bar service outside a little overwhelmed , only one bartender. overall 4/5. Gillanders, from Ontario stayed march 2017 for one week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, staff, adequate outside lounge chairs,,umbrellas, day beds ,
The weak points
a little too quiet,( more music and activities,) lack of hot water (showers)
Certified

Reef Playacar Love

, Toronto, ON
2017-01-11
Better than we remembered, love this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, location, staff, food, weather
The weak points
musty smell in room
Certified

Disappointed

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-25
Poor recycled food, no daytime/poolside activities, understaffed, EXTREMELY expensive internet ($15/day) with slow connection, Beach never cleaned of seaweed ( unlike all the other hortels on the strip), at best a 2 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food
Certified

Our stay at the Reef Playacar.

, West Saint Paul, MB
2014-03-15
Not a bad hotel, but not a 4star. Mostly older people there. Had a few grumpy people on the beach. The Italian restaurant was great. The service could have been better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Italian restaurant was great.
The weak points
service could have been better.
Certified

Great Winter Break

, Williams Lake, BC
2014-02-19
Went to a friend's wedding and the whole group of us really enjoyed the event. The staff went out of their way to do everything they could to make it a wonderful holiday, which it was. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful spot and great service.
The weak points
Ridiculous charge for Internet access.
Certified

Couldn't imagine a better place!

, Englishtown, NS
2014-02-18
My husband and I had never been to a resort before, we usually stay in hostels or B&Bs or backpack, so we didn't know if we would like this kind of trip. Boy were we wrong! We were there for my sister's wedding and it was the most relaxing, enjoyable holiday we have ever had! The resort feels very private, there are a lot of trees in the centre area, and it has a great jungle feel. Lots of places to sit and we loved going for Spanish coffee in the cenote. The rooms are spacious and we had a beautiful balcony right in the trees. The food was fine, with lots of selection at the buffet and a snack bar and the a la carte restaurants were good too. (One does cost extra) The best part of our stay was the staff. They were incredibly friendly and genuine. My husband and I have a tourist business and we know the demands that can be put on you in the industry but we never saw any of the staff being less than friendly or helpful. We are learning Spanish and everyone was good enough to help us to learn more. (We really need the help, believe me!!) The most fun was teaching our new friends some English while they taught us Spanish. The wedding was beautiful and flawless. We danced on the beach under a full moon, what could be more romantic? The food for the wedding was delicious and the wedding cake was beautiful. As I said, the resort feels very private. It is not a "party" resort, which was perfect for us as we don't really like that lifestyle. If you are really into the part scene then this might not be the place for you. We went to one of the evening shows, which was well done and there is a live show every night, but we were too busy to get to all of them! Wifi costs extra, so be aware of that. We chose not to get the wifi and to make a complete break from the world. If you are looking for a place to relax, with a private feel to it, then this is the place for you! Ask Mario in the lobby bar to make you a BBC, you won't regret it! (Unless you don't like banana...then get a mojito!)
We left having made new friends and hoping to return as soon as we can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff, good food, beautiful beach, maximum privacy, gorgeous grounds
The weak points
wifi costs extra, but really, on holiday, who needs it?!
Certified

Reef Playacar Resort

, Millet, AB
2014-02-12
Very nice place to stay, it is small but had very good workers their and lots of security, felt safe. Would recommend to anyone else to go there. It is also close to everything you wish to see in the Playa Del Carmen area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very pretty grounds and on the beach
The weak points
Buffet could be better
Certified

Pleasantly surprised

, London, ON
2014-01-29
Outstanding, resort was better than expected very good value for the money. Will consider a return trip next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean small good food excellent staff walking distance to Playa del Carmen no complaints
The weak points
Room furnishings could use a refresh
Certified

Not quite as nice as we hoped for a 4 star

, Wainwright, AB
2013-11-12
This is a nice small resort. They were renovating the lobby at the time of our stay, so it did not look very apealling when you pulled up, but it was quaint inside. The rooms were clean but nothing fancy, and they all had a balcony which was great. It felt like we were in a treehouse as there is so much forest to look at. You do have to get used to separate charges at this hotel. We booked a superior room, but still had to pay extra for Safety Deposit Box and Internet. The Mexican Ala cart was also an extra charge, but you could go as often as you like. The beach was fantastic. Always lots of pool and beach chairs. Lots of animals running around, and we love that. Food - it was ok. Never did see bacon at breakfast, and we were there for 10 days. House wine was very good. The hotel does phone you every two days and ask you about joining their vacation club until you tell them firmly you are not interested. That was a bit annoying [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, and location to shopping. The wildlife wondering around as great
The weak points
Time share pressure, and up charges on menu's, at bars, etc. $3 for coffee at lobby bar!
Certified

Great place!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-06-03
Beautiful place, small but good for relaxing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staffing around the resort
The weak points
Front desk wasn't very helpful
Certified

Second time and can't wait to go back!

, Lechine, QC
2013-04-27
Absolutly charming resort! The staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach, excellent food and the hardest working staff you'd ever want to meet! From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out our stay was seamless. Best bang for your buck and we can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, location, general appearence of the resort and the staff
The weak points
I have absolutly no negative comments about this resort, it met and surpassed all my needs.
Certified

Cannot Wait to Go Back!

, Medicine Hat, AB
2013-04-26
The Reef was everything we hoped it would be and beyond!! This resort was beautiful, friendly, and so comfortable to stay at. You never feel out of place, here! The atmosphere was out of this world, and we loved the fact that it was not a huge "hotel complex" like place. It was quaint, and everything was easily accessible. We also liked that it was quiet and not a party place! We could relax and enjoy ourselves! The food was great, and each staff member was so friendly and fun to be around! It was very sad to say goodbye, and we are so looking forward to returning! This was our very first trip to Mexico, and could not be happier with the choice we made. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The size and atmosphere of this resort is worth it's price in gold. The food was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was awesome! Quiet and relaxing! It was everything we wanted!
The weak points
There were only two minor issues which almost are not worth mentioning, but the beds were a little hard, which didn't matter to us, and the Italian restaurant was a little under par, but there were so many other choices to eat at it didn't bother us.
Certified

It's ok,not great

, Nothyork, ON
2013-04-14
Beautiful surrounding, friendly staff except pool bar. Thin wall,no sound proof.
Ocean is very rough ,couldnt get in water . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort,friendly staff
The weak points
3star hotel overall
Certified

OK but needs some help!

, Olds, AB
2013-04-02
Nice location, but could use some better management. Staff was great, but need some direction. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Mario was excellent...his work ethic is beyond. Nayali was fantastic, Victor was great, the little smiley guy from the front desk!
The weak points
running out of simple things like salad dressings,salsa,slow service,no towel cards,
Certified

REEF PLAYACAR

, Lethbridge, AB
2013-03-29
Rooms are nice and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and ocean.
The weak points
Service and food choices.Allways run out of food.Very weak choices for an all inclusive resort.
Certified

Small and charming

, Dryden, ON
2013-03-18
This resort is in a beautiful location. It's small so there are always lots of chairs at the beach or pool, and never a line up for a drink or at the buffet (and the resort was fully booked when we were there). The staff is very friendly. We traveled with our 2 kids aged 5 and 8. There weren't many other kids there but the staff did crafts, games and crab hunts with them so they had a great time! We purchased the premium package which gives you access to nicos beach bar (top shelf) and the hot tub - but our kids weren't welcome in this area. So we couldn't really take advantage. With the premium package you can also eat at the a la carte's for free (others pay $5 each). Go to the reef's website to see exactly what you get for the upgraded package vs. basic. Just know if you get basic not everything will be available to you. Overall, we liked this resort. The price was right and we felt we got what we paid for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location, staff, jungle grounds, food, drinks, small relaxed atmosphere
The weak points
paper thin walls you can hear everything, our kids were not welcome in nico's/hot tub area even though we bought the premium package to have access to this part of the resort.
Certified

Great Vacation At The Reef

, Stoneycreek, ON
2013-03-06
Resort was set in a tropical forest complete with cenote. grounds were kept imaculate. rooms were dated but kept in good repair and maids did agreat job of cleaning.The staff is very friendly always trying to please with a simle or joke. The staff works very hard for the guest weather in the bars front desk or restaurants.Food in the buffet was good there was always a good selection.Mexican restaurant was very good. Itailian restaurant was excellent.
overall this was a great comfortable relaxing resort.Many thanks to Willberth [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location 10 min to playa del carmen
The weak points
Had to get up at 5:30 to get good chairs or beds
Certified

Not what we were told

, Brandon, MB
2013-02-19
We stayed at the Reef for one week. We booked 3 months in advance, and paid extra for the "Superior Premium" package. We requested a king size bed at the time of booking. Upon arrival, our room had two double beds. We spoke with the front desk several times, requesting that we be moved to a room with a king-size bed. We were told during each conversation that there were no king-size rooms available, but that we should be grateful for the room we got, as it was normally kept for members only. We had friends staying at the same hotel, and their room was bigger, and recently renovated. It was FAR nicer than the room we were in. The front desk then told us that we had better bathroom amenities than what our friends were receiving. We checked, and they were exactly the same. We were never moved to a room with a king-size bed.

The Reef Playacar's website says that when you book the "Superior Premium" package, you are not required to pay the "surchange" at the a la carte restaurants for the better food. The actual quote from the website is: "Choice of 2 a la carte restaurants without surcharge (Botticelli & Terraza Grill)". Upon ordering the specified menu items, we were advised that we would be charged extra. When we pointed out that we had paid for the Superior Premium package, they advised we would be charged anyway.

Superior Premium was also supposed to include Premium drinks. This is also a misrepresentation. I drink Malibu rum, and not a single bar in the resort had it.

There were also no bath robes in the room as stated on the website.

Bottom line, I will not stay at this resort again, and will not recommend it to friends. However, the Playacar location is one of the best areas I have ever been to, and I will return to this area again, just to a different resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location, location. Also, other than the front desk staff, the entire rest of the staff were fantastic. Special mention to Armando in the lobby bar, who was particularly fantastic.
The weak points
Misrepresentation of amenities. Front desk staff were rude and unhelpful.
Certified

Nice Time at the Reef

, Orleans, ON
2012-12-23
Spent 2 weeks at the Reef. It was exactly what we needed. Our stay was in a Superior room which included most of what is required for a comfortable stay:safe, coffee, A-C, ceiling fan, King-size bed, fridge, bottled water. Don't be surprised by the initial smell of sulfur when you start your shower. The water comes from underground rivers (cenotes). The smell accumulates in the pipes and quickly disappears after a few seconds.
The food was aboundant and varied although they could improve their methods of keeping everything warmer.
The beach is beatiful. The hotel is fairly close to Playa del Carmen both by the beach and avenue (15 min. walk).
Above all this is a very safe place to spend a holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close location to town, shopping, restaurants
The weak points
Internet access very expensive
Certified

Never again

, Richmond Hill, ON
2012-11-11
The worth vacation ever [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location
The weak points
Food, food, food!!! Not handicap nore stroller accessable . Too small. Poor Enterteiment
Certified

Not bad for what we Paid

, Misissauga, ON
2012-06-12
Once we switched our room to a suite things were much better. The food in the hotel is not the greatest - very repetitive menu. Good if you are not a picky eater or looking for anything fancy. Location is great & beach is beautiful! Excellent for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location of hotel was great. Beach beautiful!
The weak points
Unless you are in a suite rooms are very small and dark. Food not the greatest.
Certified

REEF PLAYACAR

, Thornhill, ON
2012-05-29
NOT VERY ACCOMIDATING. WE PAID FOR A SUPERIOR ROOM AND WAS NOT GIVEN BUT THEY TRIED TO COMPENISATE BY GIVING US A T-SHIRT. ASKED FOR A EXTRA HOUR FOR CHECK OUT AND WAS DENIED. LOVED THE EMPLOYEES AND LOVED THE AREA. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF WAS GREAT. BEACH GREAT.
The weak points
MANAGEMENT IS HARD TO DEAL WITH
Certified

Decent

, Brampton, ON
2012-05-19
The resort is small but well kept. The beach and food was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. Our first room was unacceptable due to Ants, however the front desk put us in a new one right away and that much better. We always had fresh towels in the room and plenty of bottled water. Plus if you get up early enough you can get a cabana bed. The resort has a decent amount of them to go around.

Some of the downsides of the resort were the lack of nightly entertainment. If you wanted a club experience you had to go to Coco Bongos (which is worth every penny. Most amazing club experience ever!) Plus it is not too far from the resort either.

The excursions are worth it too. The resort has them posted for you or you can book through your vacation rep which is handy. I highly recommend doing the Xplor- ziplines, cave swim and ATV's. Such a great experience!

We got to see a few weddings on the beach front. All were very well put together and beautiful.

I would stay at The Reef again, it was a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is small and easy to get around. It has a great beach and the food was fantastic. You didnt have to make reservations for the a la carts either. Everyday we got fresh towels, our hotel room was clean and comfortable.
The weak points
The first room that they tried to put is in was unacceptable because it had a serious ant issue. The front desk got us a new room right away and it was much better. The washroom wasn't perfect but we made the most of it.
Certified

Great Deal!!

, Bowen Island, BC
2012-05-11
Overall my experience at the Reef Playacar was fantabulous, especially when considering the price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, clean, and helpful friendly staff.
The weak points
Food was not that great.
Certified

Reef Playacar

, Thornhill, ON
2012-04-20
Just cane back from short (4 nights) vacation in Reef Playacar. Small Property. Jungle setting - very nice. A la cart grill restaurant is a waste of time. Buffet has small variety but food is tasty. Tuesday night dinner at the theater is a disaster. Reminds me of a bad wedding. Buffet is closed Tuesday night so you have very little choice. First you stand in line outside for about 20 min. Then they seat you at a large round table with strangers and then you have to stand in line for food which is divided in to two sections so you stand in line two more times for about 10 min each. Beach was nice but the sea was rough with strong winds and high waves. It was scary watching the scuba divers struggling through the surf and climbing aboard the dive boat while the boat is thrown around in the waves. Surprised no one got seriously hurt. The double beds on the beach were always reserved by someone, even at 7 AM. looks like people leave their towels over night which is not right and should not be allowed. 5PM tea time in the center of the resort was very nice and they were serving champagne which we enjoyed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Propoerty
The weak points
Tuesday night dinner
Certified

Loved it!!!!!

, St Andrews West, ON
2012-04-12
Loved that it was a small resort. Very well maintained. Food was excellent, alot of choice. Beach was gorgeous. Would defenitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service were exeptional.
The weak points
Wifi only available in lobby. Very unhandy.
Certified

Great holiday

, Foxcreek, AB
2012-04-06
the resort was fantastic,and would recommend it to anyone thats going to mexico, the food,and drinks were great, the rooms were clean and the staff were awesome. Will visit again in the future. We didn't get our king size bed we requested with our up grade package though, but still had a awesome room, no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautifull resort, perfect location
The weak points
need more beer in stocked fridge. lol
Certified

Our vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-03-27
The resort was awesome! The grounds were very beautiful and exotic. Staff was excellent and very helpful. The rooms were clean and the staff did a great job. Food was excellent. Lots of variety. internet access was also good but a bit slow. the pool, and beach were also awesome! the entire trip was perfect. We have no complaints [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we will definitely go back next year. All the staff were fabulous. Food was excellent and the location was perfect.
The weak points
Walls are thin. Continuous sleepless nights because of the people stomping on the stairs and slamming doors in the middle of the night.
Certified

Awesome Time at the Reef

, Cambridge, ON
2012-02-05
First time in Mexico...won't be the last!!! Great lil resort in Playa del Carmen. Right from the time we arrived till the time We left the experience was phenomonal. when we arrived Oliver made sure we got to our room which was just what the vacation god's ordered, comfy bed, beautiful view from the balcony, next morning went to the buffet for breakfast staff was so friendly and the food was sooo good!! Local fruits in abundance(papaya was delicious) omelet to my liking, I have never eaten so much guacomole & salsa ever. The view from anywhere at this resort was outstanding. Jesus the bar tender made a faboulous mango daquiri. Miguel at the Grille restaurant was an entertaining host. This resort of all in Playa del Carmen was the closest to 5th ave which is a must if you travel here, it's a lil city all it's own with an abundance of silver shops, bistros and bars... Good times... Went on an adventure tour with a company called Adventurasmaya...Awesome.. Snorkelled, ziplined , repelled and visited the cenotes. Sabino our tour guide was a hoot! The only small complaint I have is that the resort did not have SOL beer at hand, we endined just going to a local plaza and picking up a case. All in all one of the best vacations I ever had :) I would like to thank Alex our sunwing rep for giving us all the hotspots to visit, very informative. Can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach & food were awesome
The weak points
No Sol beer on resort
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?