Ocean Riviera Paradise

4.244.244.244.244.24
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#13 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.24 based on 166 reviews
Traveller pictures (87)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Everything you want in a resort!

, Halifax, NS
2020-03-15
Lovely modern facility. We were pleasantly surprised by the ice cream shop and the cafe with lattes and macchiatos and delicious pastries, particularly in the mornings.
The Eden swim up junior suite was spacious and clean but a slight musty smell. We called the front desk and they had a dehumidifier brought up immediately, which solved the problem. The Eden pool is very popular for young and old but if you like peace and quiet, the privilege area might be better, as the Eden pool is a busy, happening place.
We found the restaurants quite good, especially Sakura and Blue Moon but the waiting time can be lengthy and Sakura is by reservation only. Unfortunately, the only time you can make a reservation is at 9 AM and it must be done the morning of, no advance reservations. The lineup is long, so be prepared to be there for 8 AM if you want a 6 PM seating.
If you have mobility issues, one concern is location of the restaurants. Since the shuttle only comes once every 10 to 15 minutes, we often ended up walking and my foot bothered me most of the week. My suggestion would be during peak (evening meals) times that 2 shuttles be running. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would give it a 4.5 out of 5. I did find the replacement cost of a pool towel (if you should lose it) a little ridiculous at $100. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a vacation place with lots of activities right on the resort. They even have bowling lanes open from 3 PM until 11 PM, I believe, and there is sort of a sanctuary for monkeys and those animals that look like a cross between an anteater, a monkey, and a raccoon. They are really quite cute! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do in a modern facility,
The weak points
More hand sanitizers should be at every restaurant and bar and the hostess should greet everyone with a “hello” and a mandatory squirt of sanitizer, especially during this time with the Corona virus.
Certified

Excellent Resort!

, Melville, SK
2020-03-09
This resort has a great layout! We stayed in the Daisy section on ground level which faced the water park. It was ideal for our little kiddo. The ground level rooms also have sun beds off of the patio which was a huge plus for us and we could walk right out to the pool. Food was amazing, even the buffets were great and had great selection ( and I am not a buffet person). The resort is right by Playa which is another perk. Room was very clean and nice. Very well maintained grounds. Loved the cenote and mangrove that goes through the grounds, there were many animals including tonnes of monkeys. There is plenty to do, and you can walk the beautiful beach for miles. The fresh smoothie bar on the beach is sooo good and the crepe bistro is a must! Our only thing that ruined part of out trip, was halfway through out little guy caught Hand foot and mouth (which is very common in toddlers and can be caught literally anywhere!). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for kids and families! Excellent food!
The weak points
Our toddler caught hand foot and mouth disease (which can be caught anywhere and is common) but definitely put a damper on the end of our trip.
Certified

Great Place to Stay

, Regina, SK
2020-03-08
We had an awesome time at this resort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are plenty of options to eat with only one restaurant that requires a reservation. There is plenty of beach to lay back but swimming in the ocean is not ideal as there is seaweed/rocks. No need to worry though as there is a pool at the beach and plenty of other pools to lounge around at. There is a casino/sports bar/karaoke/bowling/entertainment shows to keep you busy as you want at night. There is also tennis courts/ batting cage and a nice gym for those who want to stay more active. Because of the size of the resort you have a really nice jogging/walking trail. You can also go for a long walk along the beach. The rooms themselves were average but they were clean. The housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning the rooms. There is a lot to do for everyone including the mobility impaired- a shuttle runs around the resort to transport you with stops along the way. There is a wildlife area that features monkeys and I believe coati (Mexican raccoons), [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Service, Pools, Entertainment, Wild Life, Size
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Barrie, ON
2020-03-04
We had a blast. We enjoyed it.
The resort is pretty amazing.
Over all really great resort. My husband and I are even considering returning to it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing service Really good food Lots of fun activities Amazing shows, mexican Night. Love the wildlife
The weak points
Walk in a la cartes are a bit of a wait, it is what it is. Wifi is a little slow They would approach you re: timeshare at check in, but we didnt feel harassed about it.
Certified

My worst vacation yet!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-17
The service here is terrible. Don't bother upgrading to a swim up room! The sun is only on the pool until noon. Than you're in the shade. And even if you're ok with that, you're so far away from the pool, and not one person comes to take a drink order. Half the time our fridge wasn't re filled. We ended up spending $65 US on 2 bubba cups there just so we could go to one of the bars to get them filled with water so we had something to drink!
Our sliding door didn't lock, I had to ask for it to be fixed 5 times with several people. The first night we had to jam the door shut with sticks so we could go to sleep! We were there for our honeymoon, and they were aware of this. What a joke. None of the perks for honeymooners happened except a disgusting breakfast that was delivered to the room on the wrong day!!
Speaking of which, I have had better food in Cuba. My husband and I were both starving all week long. The only decent restaurants there were Route 66 (closed 2 nights we were there) and the Sakura.
When I finally had enough and went to the lobby to complain to guest services about everything that we were upset about, he point blank told me if you don't like it than don't come back here. So guess what. We won't be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is new looks nice
The weak points
Food service. Swim up rooms are a joke
Certified

Poor hygiene standards

, London, ON
2020-02-07
I would not stay here again. The hygiene standards at dining room were poor- unwashed grapes adjacent to cold cuts, bugs in lettuce, which was not cut up. Dishes left empty at various food stations were not replenished. No napkin to cover bread loaves while cutting and no hand sanitizers. When it comes to slicing meat they have no clue so beef and steaks in general were like rubber. Booked a poolside room, which hotel refused to acknowledge, giving us a “garden view room” with a
disgustingly filthy sun bed. Coati and raccoons running rampant over pool area and climbing onto tables. There are signs advising not to feed animals but staff do not enforce them. Anything but basic drinks, e.g. specialty coffees are extra charge. Sun beds by pool are invariably “reserved” by 8 am with many being left unoccupied until late afternoon. The other issue was lack of standards with respect to dress code at a la carte, with people in ripped jeans, tank tops etc. when dress code recommended dress shirt, long pants or Bermuda shorts etc,
If you are looking for an H10 the Ocean Turquesa is far better and the staff there were amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach
The weak points
Indifferent service, no replenishment at buffet, lousy steaks at a lacarte

Best resort ever

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-22
Amazing pools and beach
I will return for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise - 7/10

, Mississauga, ON
2019-12-31
The Hotel is new and has all the basic amenities down path. There are 6-7 pools so there is always space and pools are kept clean. There is no need to pay for Privileges' rooms as standard rooms almost are better situated for pools and get almost the same service for Privileges'. The Hotel staff needs a boost of some sort to assist better and communicate better to their clients. The shows at night were not that great. You are better off eating at restaurants than Buffet. The quality of the food at Buffet was not great. For vegetarians, it will be a struggle to find a proper meal. This hotel should not be selected for its Beach area. Beach has lots of seaweeds and rocks. if you are not careful about the rocks, you will definitely hurt your self. Be aware of wild life at the resort, if you are not fan of monkeys and lizards, this is not a place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel was clean, had so many pools, walk way is really nice. Really nice Mike's Coffee Shop, good selection of restaurants. Really nice Waterpark for the kids, Gym, and Tennis ground
The weak points
Overpriced Spa, Not good selection of food for vegetarians, Staff is not that helpful and communicative, If you don't tip, the service is not there. Beach area was not clean, had lots of rocks and seaweeds in the water.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation

, Moncton, NB
2019-12-28
Our family enjoyed our stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sales pressure to upgrade as soon as we walked in was quite annoying but after that Service was great!
The weak points
Lacked evening family activities - shows were quite late. Rocky beach.
Certified

Septic smell and poor service

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-12-13
The hotel smells like toilet. You won't be able to get the room you originally booked, the hotel is over crowded, staff are tired, nonresponsive and rude. They give more attention to spanish local Mexican. Canadians are no really welcomed there. The food is not good we got food poisoned. They do construction while people are in the room. We couldn't sleep due to excessive paint smell that was done in the room next door. Beach was not clean compared to other hotels. We checked out 4 days early and went to hyatt that's how bad this hotel was. It's a two star hotel good for cheap and poor people who don't understand quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rude staff
The weak points
Where do I begin. To summ it up if you are not local you are not welcomed there. Bathroom leaked. Ac did not work. Chemical smell from construction. Hotel smells bad at night.
Certified

Phenomenal Trip

, Coldbrook, NS
2019-05-27
My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Rivera paradise this past month with some very close friends for our annual winter vacation. Having been to Mexico previously we were certain of what to expect, good food, good service, and good drinks. Mexico has never disappointed us. We decided to go with the privilege upgrade which we have never done before and we were very happy that we did. Private check in was very fast and easy with no line up. It took only 15 mins to check in or time enough for the bartender to make us two rounds of drinks, Awesome! The privilege lounge was a nice place to go for a quiet dinner and drinks with excellent food and staff. The roof top bar at the privilege lounge was particularly nice in the evening for a night cap. We enjoyed the beach very much, we spent every day on the beach from 8:00 am until supper soaking up the 32 degree heat with a nice sea breeze. Our server “Judith” absolutely made our days on the beach relaxing and fun. She always knew exactly when to come by to check in on us and the beer, drinks, and tequila were spot on and ice cold every time. I have seen lots of hard working people in my day but Judith was the next level. She never stopped moving and always did it with a big beautiful smile! Most times she knew what we were going to order before we even asked. Also our butler Edwardo was extremely helpful getting us booked into all the restaurants and had great recommendations about what to try and the best times to book. Typically we ate breakfast at the Mexican restaurant buffet rather than the main buffet because it was closer to our room. Both were similar in terms of food varieties and quality was excellent. Favorites for me was the smoked Salmon, fresh fruit, and pastries. Of course no morning is complete without coffee and Mexico has some of the best, hands down. Rosa often waited on us in the morning and she always got us primed for our day. Coffee and mimosas. Like the lovely Judith at the beach your cup never had a chance to get empty. Rosa was the cream in our coffee each morning. Often we would see her working at the beachside buffet at lunchtime with the same drive from the morning carrying through. The Fresh pizza at the beach was yummy with many different options. Guaranteed to find a pizza you would like. Overall this trip exceeded our expectation and we have already talked about going back with our friends and family. The employees working the resort made our stay exceptional and pleasant. Special thanks to Edwardo our butler, Rosa the cream in our morning coffee, and the Queen of the beach “Judith the Smile”. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Okay hotel. Don't expect too much

, Saint-Laurent, Qu
2019-03-06
We arrived and requested extra beach towel card. They said one per person until made up excuse of bad back. Room ceiling was leaking with mold starting to form. Took 4 visits to lobby to get it partially fixed (they painted over the mold and disconnected the roof hot tub).
All restaurants were under -staffed, so that there were line ups at all times even when many tables were empty. The food was okay for a hotel, nothing worth mentioning. The grounds are a nice blend between concrete and jungle. Definitely not enough beach for the size of the hotel since it was difficult to find chairs or even space on the beach for chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, location, scenery, amenities. Great wifi
The weak points
Under-staffed, incomprehensible restaurant schedules, too many beach vendors, very stingy with towels, restaurant decors all similar (no creativity).
Certified

Ocean Riveria Paradise

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-04
It's a nice place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout of the resort. Loved the wide promenade running through the center from the lobby to the beach. Great to have a jogging path. Several pools, including one by the beach. Rooms are spacious and clean and have balconies. Shops on the resort.
The weak points
Service in the buffet was spotty. They should have specific staff busing tables. Concrete brick on the outer perimeter jogging path is a hazard due to uneven and loose bricks. I fell twice; sustained several cuts and a chipped tooth.
Certified

Stay in Ocean Riviera Paradise

, Red Deer, AB
2019-03-03
In general, not a bad experience.
Food was fair, the property of room and washroom was excellent, the gift shop was too expensive and they were calculating pesos and Can $ as they want to get the much profit possible. Staff was not all the time friendly, sometimes they were harsh and they were dealing with us in a rude way, especially Amaranto and the restaurant on the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room are clean, the service room did a great job maintaining the room proper and clean, the washrooms are also very clean, very well maintained
The weak points
The staff was sometimes rude and harsh when dealing with us. The manager of Amaranto was rude when telling us not to take the food out of the restaurant due to a medical issue with my daughter, he was dealing with us as thieves stealing food from him.
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise - a great stay!

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-28
Excellent experience. Quick check in. We had requested 2 queen beds and were put into the Privilege room to accommodate our request. Everyone was very friendly. Food was great. Loved the Steak Restaurant. Buffet was also good with lots of variety. They also take food allergies seriously.

Lots of pools and activities for all ages. Foam party was awesome and kids loved it.

We really loved the coffee shop and ice cream parlour. They were daily stops for us.

The beach was okay. Water was choppy and lots of seaweed.

Unfortunately, I experienced a medical emergency. The staff were amazing and went through the whole resort to find my wife and let her know. They continued to follow up with us to see how we were doing. They even had balloons in the room upon my return from hospital.

This is a resort we would consider going to again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly attentive staff Great pools and activities Good food Ice cream parlour Coffee Shop
The weak points
Beach - lots of seaweed. Kids did not want to be on the beach for this reason.
Certified

Great Experience

, Aldergrove, BC
2019-02-26
Hotel property was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were continually cleaning. Liked that we did not need reservations for most of the restaurants.
The weak points
In total our group had four rooms, although all the rooms had an odor, for some reason the room we stayed in had the strongest smell of must/mildew, I dont know what it was, but all our belongings smelt.
Certified

Gorgeous resort!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-23
We arrived to a Vegas-like luxe lobby and were upgraded to a swim-up room. The room was beautiful and immaculate as was the rest of the grounds. We are foodies, and chose this place partly due to the reviews of the food. We would rate it quite well - especially the Italian and Steakhouse restos. The Mexican (surprisingly) was the weakest, and the American was as would be anticipated (fair). We (myself and two young teens) loved the bowling alley, as well as the swim-up pool bar, the hidden pizza place at the beach, the ice cream shop, the ceramic painting booth, and the teppanyaki dinner and show (the only resto that requires reservations). My son liked the batting cage although it's only open very limited hours. The coffee shop was great, but they need to open a second one just like it at the other end of the resort (lines are too long, and I need my coffee!!). The entertainment shows were quite good - the theatre fills up so get there a bit early. The beach is very nice, but no snorkelling there really. Oh, and that swim-up room? The pool was significantly colder than the other pools, and my kids didn't really want to use it! :( Still, I enjoyed it the time they did, sitting on the patio in a super comfy swinging chair!

We only left the property once, to go into Playa del Carmen (there was plenty on the resort to keep us happy for a week). We paid a taxi to take us into town (about 10 minutes drive). We walked along "5th Avenue" for maybe 3 hours. The prices were not good, even with bartering, and it was pretty touristy, but we did get an excellent more authentic Mexican meal there (asked the taxi driver where to go).

Overall, we had a very good time and I would definitely recommend this resort. My only significant complaint about this place was that there are way too many people hanging around trying to manipulate you into buying things (photos, the spa, excursions and time shares were the main ones). The pressure to go to one of those organized spiels was extremely irritating. We didn't go, and it was fine, but they make it seem like you HAVE to go. Just be ready to give them a firm NO, if that's what you want to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful resort and rooms free bowling alley good food options great pools
The weak points
exposure to many sales pitches; hard to trust people as motives were not always clear
Certified

Twice at Paradise

, Wabasca, AB
2019-02-19
Second time at the resort, 2018 was awesome, we had Privilege and they gave us a room upgrade for free
2019 there was 5 adults and 3 children, tried to get Privilege, but no luck, we couldn't understand why. We had 4 rooms and had requested to be side by side, no luck, we were all over, one room in a separate building, 3 in the same building, one on the 4th floor other 2 third floor opposite of building [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are awesome and helpful groundskeepers do an awesome job with the plant(they should have a bucket for tips)
The weak points
one day we had no towels in room, not nice to come back to after a long day after an excursion
Certified

H 10 time share

, Wabasca, HA
2019-02-19
disappointed with my courtesy tour with H 10, only received a pendant and my friend received a pendant and 100 DOLLAR cash credit

be careful when arriving at the resort, there like vultures and check to see if you have a wrist band or not, if not, there on you

other than that, Hotel was beautiful and enjoyed the 14 days [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the selection of restaurants was nice and waiters/waitresses where awesome
The weak points
H 10 not treating everyone equally
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise Family Vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2019-02-06
Vacation for 7 people total including 3 children aged 7, 8 and 11. We've recently taken cruise vactions (Princess/Disney) and vacations at Iberostar, Bahia Principe and the adults Ocean resort, Ocean Maya Royale. I would say we are easy going travelers but the bar was set fairly high in terms of our expections for this vacation. I can honestly say we all loved our vacation at Ocean Riviera Paradise. The rooms were great, large and very clean with a large balcony . Our room was situated in the Eden building which is overlooking the Eden pool and crepe station . We spent most of our time at this pool but did spend a day at the beach as well as the children's water park . The beach is very nice but rocky and the water park was very enjoyable for my younger children . There are always activities at the pool and the entertainment staff do their best to engage guests , regardless of age . The food at this resort was very good , the buffet was large with many different options whether breakfast, lunch or dinner . We also ate at the beach grill several times and my children especially enjoyed the homemade pizza . We tried the Mexican restaurant, the Italian, the Japanese and Route 66. All were very good but our least favourite was the Japanese, the food was just ok. No complaints regarding the bar service or the service in the buffet or restaurants, we found all staff members friendly and willing to help . My children enjoyed the bowling alley, the kids club and my oldest loved the teen club .

All in all we would definitely return to this resort . My kids have said they liked it better than Disney cruises and have asked if we can go back ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff were great ! Everywhere we went in this resort was clean, restaurants, restrooms and entertainment areas .
The weak points
Beach is very rocky and we didn't get straight answers from front desk regarding late checkout or use of hospitality room after checkout . Not a deal breaker , truthfully the only low point of the vacation.
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-28
All areas of the resort were well kept and most staff friendly. The food was very good with alot of variety other than two that carried a lot of the same foods. We never had to stand in line to eat whether it was at the buffet or one of the ala Cartes.
The entertainment was great and I applaud the Entertainment staff who all really seemed to enjoy their jobs and worked long hours.
Didn't like to go around the lobby much due to employees trying to give you "Spa" information or selling you the H10 Premium.
The water close to the shore had a lot of rocks...don't know if it was the time of year but made it difficult to go into the water.
Being charged $100 pesos per person for an "Environmental Fee" and the "soliciting" are the only two issues I had which brought my rating of the resort down.
Otherwise.....we loved it there!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean. Good Wifi throughout resort. Dehumidifier in room. Food was great! Entertainment was great!
The weak points
$100 pesos per person Environmental Fee wasn't disclosed until we checked in. Too many "sales" people.
Certified

Rooftop Discrepancy

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-17
Not all rooftops are the same. They're categorized as "Junior Suite Rooftop" but some have tiny 200SF rooftops with walls on either side that block the sun (what's the point?) and others that are about 3x larger, or 600SF and amazing!

We didn't see any photos on the website about these smaller, narrow, unusable rooftops, so when that's what we were given, I thought there must be some mistake.

I went to Guest Services who called the Front Desk and told us to see Oliver, a Supervisor. Guest Services in our building couldn't look for a new room for us (?) and they couldn't do it over the phone - we had to walk all the way back to the front desk to take care of it ourselves. At this point, we'd been traveling for 10 hours and were pretty tired - just wanted to get settled and into our vacation. But we walked back to the front desk at the opposite end of the property and asked for Oliver.

We were told he was on his dinner break. Terrific. No one else could help us - it had to be Oliver (?). So we waited about 15 mintues and went back.

Oliver pretended to know nothing of our issue with the unusable rooftop, until I let him know that another agent checked for us and said we could move in 2 days - but that agent couldn't set up the move - again, strange. THEN Oliver knew about our situation and blankly told us that we got what we paid for. Rude.

We had to push to get a move set up - he begrudgingly went to a computer to have a look for us - big of him! He could care less that we were disappointed in our room. Once it was all set up, we asked for a confirmation but he wouldn't give us one - just told us that he set it up.

Then as we went to walk away, he asked us for our name again. There goes the confidence! At that point we really weren't sure if we were being given the run around or what.

The following day I went back to the front desk (I got my exercise on this trip!) and asked another agent David, if he could see if there was anything new that opened up since it was a new day. I said we would even move to a gardenview room if the rooftop was full sized - he said "that would be a downgrade - we can't do that." So even thought I was willing to take a room with no view, but quiet and what we wanted, they wouldn't let us do that. He said that we would HAVE to be OUT OF OUR ROOM by noon on Sunday and then wait 3 hours to see if our new room was ready or not. I said I wanted to look at it first - he said no, we couldn't look at it first, we had to take it. I said if it's better where we are, we'd stay put. I've worked in hotels my whole life and have never experienced such rude staff as at this hotel.

I was almost in tears - explained that we were celebrating our 21st anniversary - he didn't say congratulations or anything - didn't smile once - could care less about people who paid big money to travel there - and when I explained that this had been a terrible trip so far - he said nothing. So I walked away and he actually called after me with a condescending: "YOU'RE WELCOME!" and called the next guest over. I couldn't believe my ears.

David & Oliver at the front desk need training on how to treat people. How they treated us was unacceptable. When we left, David checked us out and not once did he ask how our stay was. Nothing. We are really nice people - yet treated like crap by the staff here. So odd. I wouldn't return to this hotel or recommend it. Our first impression wasn't good - really long lineups to check in and timeshare salesmen circling around like vultures. Very bad vibe.

I will commend the chefs - the food was exceptional. We loved the beach restaurant, the buffets and the Mexican Restaurant. We took a stack of 1's and $5's to tip with and tipped our maid and a few servers, but we took most of our money home with us, because no one really wow'ed us! The staff seemed tired and overworked.

The beach is so rocky, we both stubbed our toes and every day we saw first aid being administered to people who were hurt. Luckily we had good weather and were moved into the room we booked and expected to get and the trip turned around for the last 4 days. Had it started out differently, it would have been a totally different trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food
The weak points
Bad service at the front desk and throughout the resort - no one wow'ed us!
Certified

Travellers beware

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-16
My family along with 12 others family members and friends travelled to the ocean riviera paradise from Jan 4, 2019-Jan 14,2019. I would say this was one of the worst resorts I have been to in Mexico. Prior to booking I looked at reviews and they seemed great so I was very excited to stay at this resort.

The biggest disappointment was service (mainly front desk), and cleanliness (room was never cleaned properly), and the kids club was below average. When I called the front desk to let them know I was unhappy they didn't show any compassion. The man I spoke to actually said “it is not our job to be compassionate, we are here to provide service”. I told him reviews are important and mine wouldn't be a positive one. He didn't seem to care too much. And the Mexican restaurant was beyond disappointing..we couldn't even finish our meal.

The entertainment team along with the restaurant and pool waiters were friendly. But I started thinking..how does this hotel have such positive reviews? As the days went by..I realized that the staff at the resort PUSH the guests to post positive reviews online. They told us that when their name is mentioned they get $5.00. I'm not sure if this is true or not. But people feel bad so they do it, especially when they tell people what their salary is.

One of the guests we were travelling with was charged because they stained a pillow case. When they went to the front desk to dispute it. They told them if they signed a non disclosure agreement (not to write a bad review) they would wave the fee.

I am already in the process of posting my negative experience on social media and all forums. People need to beware. I am own multiple businesses in Canada..and my recommendation would be to really look at the management at this hotel. I would replace them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment team Waiters
The weak points
Cleanliness Front desk Management The grease show (why did they pull down their pants in front of children?)
Certified

Should've booked longer

, Coldstream, BC
2018-12-27
Had a great time with the whole family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and beach acces were excellent. Service and staff was awesome. Everyone was super friendly .
The weak points
The “$100” towel cards need to go. To charge that sort of money if you lose one is absurd. Made us afraid to take out towels for fear of losing one and in turn having to dish out 100 bucks. They were also stingy with towels in the rooms. Change this!!
Certified

Very nice resort.

, Calgary, AB
2018-12-17
It is our 3rd time in Mexico, this resort is better then other two we visited in a past. Kids loved kids club and kids pool. Nice green facilities. Beach is nice but you have to come a little bit early to get a spot under umbrella. Shore is better then neighborgood resorts but 3/4 under water covered in large rocks. But still has some nice and sandy areas ( if you want better beach you have to go to Cuba Cayo Coco or Sant Maria, in CanCun area they are not perfect) Resort is very clean and well maintenaned. Rooms are large with comfy beds. Food and beverages was good . Very nice coffee bar. I reccomend to visit Japanese restaurant . Never had a chance to play bowling because this place was overcrowded all the time. Many pools also are for adults only . This resort adults only and kids friendly in same time. Nice gym with good equipment, high ceilings with glass walls. Spa doesn't have anything for free ( normally any other resort have free sauna and jacuzzi) Sauna is 20$ a day pass. Also don't expect free water sport. It is says they have sailing boat free of charge but in real world they never pull it out, for 7 days I've seen one kayak on the water and sailing boats was parked far away always.
Also Wi Fi is free and its everywhere in the resort, good speed . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean facilities and green facilities, good food.
The weak points
Free water sports . Imported Drinks in casino for extra charge .
Certified

A true sample of excellent hospitality!

, Surrey, BC
2018-11-19
Amazing Resort, incredible staff & experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good hotel, perfect vacation!

, Surrey, BC
2018-11-10
We spent a week at the Ocean Riviera Paradise. It is a very good hotel. Food was wonderful, kids enjoyed a mini club, swimming pools and perfect sand for castle making. There were two things that could be count as disadvantages. First one, the sea was stormy all the time, there were some seaweeds, so don't bother to take a mask and don't expect to see any sea life unless you are going for a snorkeling tour. The second one: it was ridiculously difficult to get our room being cleaned up. We had left the room almost for a whole day and had to call on reception and ask somebody to make it up in the late evening. Every day. Room service should be improved definitely.
Otherwise the trip was great!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, swimming pools, animation
The weak points
Room service, stormy sea
Certified

Great new Resort!

, Calgary, AB
2018-10-29
It was new, clean and had an amazing buffet! It was relatively quiet when we went which meant no line ups at the bar and had the pool practically to ourselves! Lots of nightly activities to keep the kids busy, too! The beach was very clean but rocky once you got out a few feet. Great coffee and ice cream shop, but restaurants were just mediocre. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beach, lots of pools, new, clean rooms, good buffet, close to Playa del Carmen.
The weak points
Mediocre restaurants
Certified

Not good resort for groups

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-02
The resort is beautiful but not very accommodating for groups. Overall customer service is poor.
1. It started out with the check-in, we had to wait more than 2 hours in line to check-in. I guess weekends are busy for them but then they should have more staff or streamline the process.
2. Cannot make reservations at a la carte restaurants unless you buy a bottle of wine for $40 USD.
3. Not flexible at the buffet to give you a table for 8 which includes kids. Waited to get a table while they sitted others who cane after us assuming they were getting table prepared for us. They took us and gave us 2 tables of 4.
4. Very slow in taking drink orders i.e. soft drinks, coffee or water. Few times we were almost finished our meals before they came by to take your order.
5. Beach filled will seaweeds, I am a beach person so not good.
6. No complaints about the food.
7. Before you ask we always tipped handsomely regardless of service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, clean resort
The weak points
Service
Certified

Eden Jr Suite

, Saint-Leonard-Parent, NB
2018-06-13
Hotel is great, food is good, clean, but too many sale person for time share (they call it a different name). If someone is offering free stuff, believe me, not existing!!! Beach beautiful, but only have a spot to enter the ocean on your right, once you can enter, no more rocks in the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort!
The weak points
Sales person, beach.
Pro
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?