Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka An

Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka An
4.484.484.484.484.48
4.48 based on 738 reviews
#4 of 139 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (240)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Sian Ka An

, Halifax, NS
2024-04-22
We love this hotel. My Fiance and I just returned from our second vacation at the Sian Ka An and we will definitely be returning. The staff here are extremely nice, helpful and welcoming. The resort itself is very well kept and clean. We really enjoy the relaxed, spa-like environment of the resort and it's only a quick shuttle ride away from the beach and other resorts. The nightly entertainment is awesome and the performers are so talented! We highly recommend for adult couples of any age, if you're looking for a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. Can't wait to come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Breathtaking Scenery!

, Kitchener, ON
2024-04-20
I loved the amazing scenery, very beautiful landscape. I loved having access to all the other Bahia resorts and their amenities. I like the smaller resorts so it's easy to find your way around. Most of the staff was friendly. Loved the spa, great job on a manicure! I didn't like the buffet food, some of it was very bland, and the restaurants are not for picky eaters like myself, so I didn't go to any. Almost impossible to get a reservation anyway… [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Quiet atmosphere, being able to have access to all other Bahia resorts, also it's a nice smaller resort. Spa does a great job on your manicure.
The weak points
Rooms smell very musty, beds are hard/uncomfortable, gift shop staff very rude/unfriendly, buffet food not the best tasting. Not much selection of food at restaurants, if you're a picky eater you won't be able to eat anything.
Certified

AMAZING

, La Prairie, QC
2024-04-02
Although I have written reviews for this hotel before as this was our 11th stay, this resort never ceases to amaze and impress. For all of the naysayers out there, take a breath, do your homework ahead of time and you won't need to bitch and complain about not being directly on the beach and having to take the supplied transportation services to go to the beach. Here's another idea, after overeating at the buffet, you could also stroll over to the great private beach club as it only takes less than 30 minutes to walk over! Finally, management are well aware that the rooms may not reflect their 5 star rating as they are a little tired looking but unless you intend spending your vacation in your room instead of staying at home in your room, all you need is a clean room, a comfortable bed, a shower and facilities which they do supply.

The Pinero Group are currently focused on supplying BEYOND AMAZING 5 star customer experience and Aurora, the General Manager, runs a tight ship and keeps her team focused on doing just that! Through the years, we have seen Management changes which have not always been successful, but this team is truly a Dream Team!!!

The food is always tasty and the variety provides something for everyone. The chefs are focused on serving quality products and are always searching for ways to improve on the consistency of the temperature. Jorge and his team are constantly searching for ways to satisfy customers and are always available at meal times on the floor for any requests you may have. I also found the Cenote this year had a superior quality and variety of food available at lunch time.

Maiko have changed their menu since the pandemic which I feel may have been a mistake as the former was, in my opinion, superior.

No ask was too big and they were attentive to our every need and request and ALWAYS followed up to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. My last days at the resort were unfortunately punctuated by an unfortunate accident. I tripped on the sidewalk leading to the golf practice range where I was meeting my husband before lunch. Two guests saw me and rushed over to assist as did some of the hotel staff and a first aider. Special mention to Javier and Samantha who were part of the group I now call my rescue 'Angels'. I suffered a concussion, badly banged up my knees, face and shoulder. My new glasses broke my fall and prevented my temple from hitting the concrete. The resort doctors were there in a flash as well as the ambulance who took me to a private hospital in Playa Del Carmen. Samantha and Javier stayed with me while my husband called our insurance carrier to arrange all payments. Lots to be said for great medical travel insurance!

The resort was attentive upon my return to supply ice and whatever I needed. Thank you Samantha, Javier and Aurora for making me feel safe and part of your family!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE AND SERVICE
The weak points
Rooms are a little tired
Sanitary measures
NUMBER 1

Bahia Principle Sian Ka an

, Windsor, ON
2024-03-04
Aside from the lack of wash clothes in our room, this resort was very very good. The food was excellent with a huge variety of food choices. The service throughout the resort was excellent and the place was clean and well maintained. We had equally good experience at the other resorts associated with Bahia. We had wanted to participate at the Fire Beach party but upon arrival were told our drinks were not included. Since this event was at a resort location with a resort bar, and the event was advertised as having an open bar, we were disappointed and left before the main event took place. Otherwise I would highly recommend Bahia [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service, food and entertainment
The weak points
lack of wash clothes. Had to ask specifically and when room was made up, our used wash clothes were removed but not replaced. This resort is a two hour drive from Cancun, so a significant travel time has to be accounted for with airlines and attractions
Certified

Our first time resort

, London, ON
2024-02-18
The Sian Ka'an was lovely and clean, the staff were exceptional. My husband had a fall, the Front Desk staff followed up to see if he needed assistance, which was so appreciated. The quality of alcohol on the “all inclusive” especially the wine was not up to par, the decent wines were extreme expensive. Due to a lack of product we were advised that it was not possible to refill the fridge in the room with product, we waited hours for water to be delivered, as we were room bound. All else was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good, clean and hard working staff
The weak points
The all inclusive package was not satisfactory, Difficulty replenishing the mini bar.
Certified

Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an

, Halifax, NS
2024-02-05
Not a great experience.
- We were not told that we should book restaurants 10 days before our arrival. As a result everything was booked when we arrived
- Check in: Didn't receive towel cards and every time we went to reception to ask for them, they told us they didn't have any. Couldn't get any towels for the whole trip
- They put my 89 year old father on the 3rd floor (with no elevator) and refused to move him to a different room
- We asked for bedding for pull out couch and never received any
- Restaurants were empty everywhere but they refused to seat us until we paid them at least $40 USD
- My father fell getting on to the shuttle. Reception said they had no first aid kits and no doctor on call and that we were on our own
- We signed up for a snorkeling excursion through the resort and were told that it was a boat for no more than 20 people. When we got there, the boat held over 100 people - not suitable for my elderly father [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was good when we were able to get in to the resturants
The weak points
Everything was weak, most notably customer service was terrible. Staff did not care and did not try to help
Sanitary measures
No issues with this
Certified

Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an

, Bedford, NS
2024-01-30
Amazing trip! The staff working were incredibly friendly and helpful during my stay. It was clean, the food was great, at the restaurants were wonderful about my friend's seafood allergy. The pools and beaches were lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
It was amazing having access to all 4 resorts while staying at Sian Ka'an. My friend and I were a bit younger than the typical crowd at Sian Ka'an, so we would venture to the other resorts or hacienda if we wanted more of a lively crowd. It was perfect!
The weak points
N/A
Sanitary measures
Great! The housekeeping and cleaning staff worked very hard to keep the resorts clean.
Certified

Christmas in Mexico

, Cold Lake, AB
2024-01-04
We have stayed here 7 times and by far this was the worst for quality of food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service in all areas was excellent which allowed us to enjoy the trip
The weak points
Food selection was poor as well as the food was generally Luke warm to cold.
Certified

An honest review.

, Drayton Valley, AB
2023-11-07
Firstly, as seen it's across the highway from the beach, which isn't something they're hiding, but they continuously talk about the convenience of the trams they have to the other parks. It is anything but convenient, you wait a lot! Also if you're at another resort trying to go back to Saan Ki'an you're likely to wait 30 mins every time. There is 3 very small pools none of which have a swim up bar, the staff would come serve you and mostly were pretty regular, but that's not near as convenient or fun. Was near impossible to book restaurants (unless you book weeks in advance which isn't mentioned) and if you manage to they're most likely in the other three resorts so you've got to leave minimum 45 minutes prior to make sure a tram shows up. The ones we were able to book were good food. Otherwise we were stuck at the lobby buffet night after night, and if you have allergies you'd better bring your epi pen. There was one bar in the lobby, that most definitely wasn't much of a vibe, the stage for their shows was small as the one at your local dive bar. I'd say one of the biggest complaints was there was NO 24hr disco or bar at any of the four resorts. We had a 24hr snack bar that would occasionally be attentive if you could get clean plates/silverware and a server that was able to communicate. Let's face it though, no one is having a fun party at a snack bar, let alone the poor service. Also it seemed daily the power would go out a few times a day for 5-20 minutes. Internet was pretty sparse across the resort. I will say my room was very nice, and the cleaners were excellent. Staff were all friendly, and attentive other then the snack bar staff. Penthouse is not worth the extra money just to pay for rooftop tub which we were not told that they filled until the second last day of our trip. The regular double room is almost nicer as it has a bigger bathroom and mirror and sink because of not having the stairs to the roof. The stairs to our penthouse was tile and when it rains it's extremely scary as there are no handrails. We had to climb up the stairs due to slipping. When we seen them squeegee cement stairs over the tiled stairs completely pissed me off. Constantino jesus and Jordan at the snack bar we're phenomenal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Constantino Jordan Jesus Ariel
The weak points
No nightclubs No after hours Not worth the penthouse The delay in the trolleys
Certified

Worst I've been to.

, Edmonton, AB
2023-11-07
Firstly, as seen it's across the highway from the beach, which isn't something they're hiding, but they continuously talk about the convenience of the trams they have to the other parks. It is anything but convenient, you wait a lot! Also if you're at another resort trying to go back to Saan Ki'an you're likely to wait 30 mins every time. There is 3 very small pools none of which have a swim up bar, the staff would come serve you and mostly were pretty regular, but that's not near as convenient or fun. Was near impossible to book restaurants (unless you book weeks in advance which isn't mentioned) and if you manage to they're most likely in the other three resorts so you've got to leave minimum 45 minutes prior to make sure a tram shows up. The ones we were able to book were good food. Otherwise we were stuck at the lobby buffet night after night, and if you have allergies you'd better bring your epi pen. There was one bar in the lobby, that most definitely wasn't much of a vibe, the stage for their shows was small as the one at your local dive bar. I'd say one of the biggest complaints was there was NO 24hr disco or bar at any of the four resorts. We had a 24hr snack bar that would occasionally be attentive if you could get clean plates/silverware and a server that was able to communicate. Let's face it though, no one is having a fun party at a snack bar, let alone the poor service. Also it seemed daily the power would go out a few times a day for 5-20 minutes. Internet was pretty sparse across the resort. I will say my room was very nice, and the cleaners were excellent. Staff were all friendly, and attentive other then the snack bar staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
I will say my room was very nice, and the cleaners were excellent. Staff were all friendly, and attentive other then the snack bar staff. If you were able to book a restaurant they were good.
The weak points
Nothing but weak points. Food, lack of bars, pools, internet, electricity bumps, horrible trams to get anywhere, honestly need more then the allotted 255 characters
Sanitary measures
Fine
Certified

The place is amazing a lot of trees and Iguanas

, Hamilton, ON
2023-08-25
Love the resort/hotel amenities and the people. They are very respectful and the place is clean. Everyday a housekeeper comes to clean and change linens. It's peaceful and quiet ( adults only), [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
You will love the service, server asked you always what you like to have anywhere you are in the resort even in the beach.
Sanitary measures
Sanitizer available and staff provide in the doorway
Certified

Wonderful Honeymoon

, Vancouver, BC
2023-08-13
Could not have been happier with this resort
The staff were all absolutely incredible, the atmosphere very calm and relaxing and the food was amazing at the buffet and the 2 alacartes (though we did have access to the restaurants of the other Bahia resorts, only Don Pablo came close)
Mosquitos were not as terrible as some reviews would have you believe
There is a lot of seaweed on the beaches though they do a great job of cleaning the beaches and the water is still very nice to swim in
Trolleys always came quickly to get us across the complex, never waited very long and was very convenient though we enjoyed the pools at our own resort to not need to venture out too often
Rooms were simple, elected for the penthouse jacuzzi though did not use it as much as expected - it's quite hot even at night. Two AC units ensures a very cold room. Soft bed great pillows
Recommend bringing a large reusable cup for drinks as the resorts pool cups are quite small - though staff came around quick enough to offer refills and the bar was never far off [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-very calm tree relaxing atmosphere tucked away in the jungle -beach a quick 10 minute trip away -AMAZING food -access to Akumal, Coba and Tulum resorts -AMAZING staff
The weak points
-mosquitos (though again not as many as feared) -sunscreen is expensive at the resort! Bring lots -would have been nice if the pools were a bit deeper -wish it weren't so far from the airport!!
Certified

Wonderful Trip

, North York, ON
2023-07-20
My trip was awesome - "God in the detail" - it was the customer service, the esthetics, the food, the room service - was done with grace.
Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The hotel represented its name - Luxury. And the service was respect ful and clean.
The weak points
They could have had more vibrate nightly entertainment wherein you did not have the leave the resort.
Sanitary measures
The hand sanitizers were empty. - None around the resort nor in the restaurants.
Certified

Best resort I.have bin at in mexico

, London, ON
2023-07-20
It's located in Mayan jungle setting with beautiful view, friendly staff well kept resort. There are trolleys to get you around. So a 10min trolley ride and you are on there private beach. The food was well cooked the pools were warm but clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
It was a great change from being on the beach like every other resort, seeing the wildlife was amazing
The weak points
The trolleys was sometimes half hour in between
Certified

Our truly marvellous experience at Sian Kaan

, Coquitlam, BC
2023-06-28
Magnificent, welcoming, peaceful. Warmest hospitality that I have never experienced in any resort hotel to-date, friendly and caring staff. Food was par excellent. Of note to my fellow travellers, that the staff is the strongest point of this resort. Starting from the reception to the bar, to the buffet, to the room and pool, to the ala carte restaurants ( x 2 only sadly), to the ground staff, the cleaners of the general areas, the Spa, the Entertainment each one had a smile and salutation but, they were at the same time most hard working and attentive. Keep the staff happy, it brings back your guests each time. We plan to visit Sian Kaan again for my milestone birthday November 2023. Hope that the Entertainment Team will welcome some Bollywood themes. It will be my pleasure to entertain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
THE STAFF IS THE STRENGTH AND BEAUTY OF THIS HOTEL. PLEASE REWARD THEM WELL.
The weak points
ROOMS ARE TIRED. THEY NEED SOME UPGRADING.
Sanitary measures
A LITTLE MORE SANITIZATION WILL BE HELPFUL. MORE WIPES AT EASY DISPOSAL AND HAND SANITIZERS.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Grande Prairie, AB
2023-06-17
This is a lovely resort with the most amazing staff. It is very relaxing here and set in the jungle. Loved it and will return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, scenery, lots to do, food
The weak points
A bit far to the beach
Certified

Sian Ka'an vacation

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2023-05-05
We travelled as a group of 6 to Sian Ka'an. On arrival we were greeted with the cooling towel and delightful welcome cocktail. We had all stayed at this Bahia complex before (Akumal and Tulum) so knew what to expect. Check in was seamless. Two of our rooms weren't quite ready (we arrived around noon so to be expected) so we went to the one room and changed for the pool and headed to the snack bar for a quick lunch.
Our rooms were ready as promised - we were in the 26 B block on then second and third floors. Rooms were lovely with great balcony views. Lots of hot water and great pressure. Can be loud at night as folks seem to congregate at the 24 hour snack bar.
We spent most of our time at the beach either in the Sian Ka'an section or Akumal or Tulum beach. The trolley rides were fun and always an opportunity to meet new friends.
We had 6 a la cartes and the food was amazing at each one. Can't say enough about the Bahia food. Always amazing, and so much variety at the buffets.
The pools at Sian Ka'an were a little too warm for our tastes preferring the beach and the breeze.
Great entertainment nightly at Sian Ka'an. The bugs do bite some so bring your bug spray.
Drinks were always delicious anywhere you were- pool, lobby, buffet, a la cartes.
The staff were amazing! Always helpful and accommodating.
Wifi is pretty good. Occasionally weak or you need to turn off and on to establish connection.
We loved it here, have always wanted to try it and so glad we did. Not likely to return purely because we prefer to be on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, food, beautiful atmosphere!
The weak points
It's not on the beach, but a short trolly ride gets you there.
Sanitary measures
Lots of hand sanitizers around the resort. Very clean.

Horrible séjour vol d'argent porte défoncés

, Montréal, QC
2023-05-01
Je ne comprends absolument rien mon voyage était planifié depuis environ 3 mois javais tellement hate chaque 3 semaines je regardais les avis j'allai même voir les avis négatifs mais il n'y en avait pas !!!
Aujourd'hui je vous raconte ma pire semaine de vacances dans le sud a vie
Pour commencer on ne me donne pas la chambre pour la quel j'ai payé
Comme je suis pas difficile je l'accepte et je dors dans une chambre de moins bonne valeur
Je me rend compte directement le lendemain matin de mon arrivée que la femme de ménage passais même si l'affichage était présent pour dire de ne pas rentrer
La raison c'est que j'avais du matériel électronique de haute valeur (meme mes assurances ne couvrent pas)
La première journée je me disais que c'était sans doute un manque d'attention donc je n'y porte pas attention plus que ça
Par contre le deuxième jour j'appelle la Conciergerie et je leur précise que je ne veux pas de service aux gens il me répondent que c'est correct il n'enverront plus personne
J'avise également la réception qui me dit le mettre au dossier de la chambre
Le troisième jour c'est là où est-ce que ça se corse plus
Par chance j'avais eu envie ce joujours de partir a playa del carmen j'ai amené tout mon matériel photographique pour profiter de l'expédition mais à mon retour j'ai forcé les constater que la serrure avait été forcée par un outil qui a détruit la porte sur le côté de la porte et dans le cadre de porte je vous mettrai les photos dans la description c'est alors que je décide d'appeler la réception pour les inverser qu'ils avaient été encore le ménage avait été encore fait ce troisième jour-là et que quelqu'un avait forcé ma porte ils ont fait venir la sécurité les managers et j'ai rempli un rapport d'incident ou un rapport que je ne sais pas trop quoi j'ai constaté également que j'ai perdu environ 200 dollars US au total si je calcule la conversion avec beaucoup d'acharnement et de colère j'ai été capable de changer de chambre et par la suite j'ai même demandé d'être transféré dans le Baya principe Tulum ce qui était relativement très très très très très très très très très bien vraiment aucune comparaison comment on doit qui est beaucoup plus calme moins stressant et qui semble beaucoup moins cher pour ce que j'ai payé je vous avoue que je suis très déçu également de la plage qui comporte énormément d'algues c'est vraiment désagréable et non praticable je crois sincèrement que mon voyage à Cuba était beaucoup plus agréable pour vraiment moins cher même si la nourriture était bonne au Mexique à Cuba à Cuba c'était vraiment mieux donc je vous mets les photos ici pour montrer que la porte était vraiment brisée et que quelqun a rentrer dans ma chambre et que c'est vraiment pas normal aucune caméra n'était pas présente autour et voilà je ne recommande pas cet hôtel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
La nourriture
The weak points
Porte défoncés

Vacation

, Cote St Luc, QC
2023-03-28
my experience was great. I received a free upgrade when I got there. The food and drinks were great and plentiful especially the al a carte restaurants anazing. The pools ere great and the staff were always friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
the food, drinks, staff, shows,pools, aquafitness classes, and swimming with the dolphins.
The weak points
Not having a hot shower for most of my stay, and the last day I had breakfast atvthe snack bar and had to wait a long-time for maple syrup.
Sanitary measures
The hotel had great sanitary measures against Covid 19
Certified

Amazing hotel

, Cote Saint-Luc, QC
2023-03-25
The hotel was amazing .the staff did anything for you .did too much would call the room fo you need anything. Also entertainment excellent food excellent .nice presentation. I love this place and recommend anyone to go .it's amazing . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Excellant resort!

, Notredame, NB
2023-03-18
This resort is excellant! The service is top notch and the resort itself is beautiful! We had a great experience here. As a couple visiting for our honeymoon, we also had the option of visiting the other Bahia principe resorts associated with this resort and we were never deceived. The beach was a short trolly ride away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
This resort is excellant! The service is top notch, the food is very good (from the buffet to the à la carte restaurants), rooms are kept clean, no issues in the rooms.
The weak points
The resort is located 1hour and 30 minutes from the airport, which could turn some people away. Also rocks in the water at the beach. Could have more beach chairs.
Certified

Quiet resort but needs improvement

, Nepean, ON
2023-03-03
My experience at this hotel was far from perfect. My husband and I arrived late at this hotel and when we were brought to our room we've noticed that it was never cleaned after previous guests checked out. We were moved to a garden junior suite with blinds that were malfunctionning (not even able to close them), dirty bathroom and two seperate single bed. We refused to stay in that room and were moved again. Three rooms later, we were put in a room that was decent but that obviously needed a lot of attention. We noticed right away that the ventilation system coming from the rooftop unit was extremely noisy and that there was no hand soap in the bathroom (we requested some right away). We left to enjoy the rest of our evening and when we came back, we proceeded to go to bed and noticed that there were holes in ALL THE SHEETS, some were even 1-inch wide. The bed frame was falling apart, it was making a lot of noise just by sitting on it and was unstable (the legs were crooked). The mattress was old, not protected and hard as concrete. The shower head was broken and we had to hold it in order to shower. To our disguss, we found fresh BLOOD on the flat sheet, other stains were found as well on the pillows. It was now almost midnight and we just gave up, we didn't want to complaint again.
The day after we arrived, we had to request hand soap again since we never got the one requested the day before, we also requested hand/face towels since they were none in the room, we had to insist a few times to get those. On the third day, housekeeping never showed up for an entire day, (even if we tipped well), we needed water and fresh towels, it was a reasonable ask in my opinion. My room key stopped working after a few days and I was stuck outside my room, I was told to go to the reception to sort this out, I refused and a nice hotel employee helped me sort out this mishap. To compensate all of the logistics issues, someone from the hotel gave us a bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries, which was very kind. At one point during the week our sheets were changed but this time we found FOOTPRINTS on them and again, other stains on all the bedding (i.e. rust, black mold, etc.). We found dirty footprints in the shower later that week as well, like if the maid's shoes were dirty when she cleaned it. We ended up cleaning the shower ourselves to make sure the dirt/mud was gone. I would also like to mention that the noise coming from the rooftop A/C unit was atrocious and prevented us from sleeping for the whole week, it was like sleeping next to a turbo jet. When the concierge called me the during my stay to ask if everything was ok, I complained about this but nothing was done on that front afterward. I realize that we don't go on vacation to live in our hotel room but the problems encountered were just too much for us, especially since they pretend to be a "luxury 5-star" hotel.

On a positive note, I will truly miss the smiles and kindness of all the hardworking employees that took care of us at this hotel especially Faustino, Erick, Annabel, Salomon, Luis, Carlos, Joel, etc. Also, the hotel's grounds are truly beautiful, the food was amazing, the pools and the beach were also very enjoyable. Sadly, this hotel is not a "5-star" and I will probably give my money elsewhere next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Grounds, kindness of personnel, food, pools
The weak points
Maintenance and cleanliness of rooms, location, ventilation noise
Sanitary measures
non existant
Certified

Resort amenities good, rooms not so good

, Stony Mountain, MB
2023-02-20
The staff and facilities at the resort, including the restaurants were excellent. The room (I was moved three times), were not of a quality higher than a 3.5 star. The rooms in Sian Kaan, are showing disrepair and are not of the quality expected. Blinds crinkled and rusted, patio 15 meters from the storage for liquor with Dolly's passing by regularly. Air conditioner failed on the first unit that we had. The second unit was two beds poorly joined together to try to simulate a king bed ( unfortunately the place where they joined showed an obvious bump).
The third unit was the one listed above with the crinkled blinds. After three moves and approximately 4 hours of wasted time in the middle of our stay, we settled on not moving again and sticking it out. The resort did try helping out with some perks, but only when it was demanded by us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great food at the restaurants. Service was good.
The weak points
Room quality.
Certified

Sian Ka'an 2023 Review

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2023-01-18
We were extremely happy with the hotel, all staff members (too many to mention names but not one that was bad!) The only issue we had was the hot water...it was sporatic, some days first thing in the am we had it but most days we didn't. the only beach that we truly enjoyed was at Tulum. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
staff, grounds, room, entertainment
The weak points
hot water, stairs
Sanitary measures
excellent
Certified

Not as good as last visit

, Kanata, ON
2022-12-20
The staff are the best the food on the most part good except the snack bar that was not very good. The resort is very clean and enjoyable. They discontinued the butler service was very disappointed. It is 90 minuets away from airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
staff
The weak points
snack bar food

Absolutely amazing stay

, Calgary, AB
2022-09-22
We had an amazing stay at the Sian Kaan. Everyone was so nice! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The food was so good.
The weak points
It's a lot going around. But we didn't really mind it.
Certified

Vacation

, Berkeley, ON
2022-02-06
Hotel was fantastic, staff very friendly and excellent with covid precautions, felt very safe there
Hotel beautiful and peaceful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Une des pires expériences.

, Montréal, QC
2022-01-17
Le personnel est aigris et la période covid à vraiment laisser un hôtel qui ne mérite pas plus qu un 3 étoiles à Cuba
Très peu parles anglais et pourtant occupes des postes de manager. Ils n aiment pas les touristes et ne s en cachent pas
La nourriture est une honte. Chaque jour les mêmes service aux buffets. Les restaurants à la carte proposent la même chose saur que quelqu un vous sert! C'est absolument ridicule que vacances air canada puisse proposer ce genre d hotel.
Faites vous une faveur et allez ailleurs ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Soleil
The weak points
Service Propreté Alimentation
Certified

Worst expérience ever.

, Montréal, QC
2022-01-14
Came here 5 years ago and things have definitely change.
Now it felt like a 3star hotel in Cuba! I paid an upgrade to move to Akumal instead because it was closer to the beach) i lost à whooooole day to get my other room. Front desk had trouble when inputing my details for my upgrade, they obviously didnt know how to use their plateform. The most frustrating part was that when they told me to come back a
I had to explain myself again. This could have been resolve simply by having the other guy tell him to upgrade my room. I didnt feel valued and i felt like they didnt care at all
The restaurent were closed. The buffet is so so Not A LOT OF optionS and lot of fried FOOD. Always the same menu, all day FOR THE WEEK...
Please do yourself a favor and booK another hotel. Definitly not a 5 stars hotel for Mexico standards [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Sun Beach Sand And the bad wifi So it obliges you to not check you work emails
The weak points
Food CUSTOMER SERVICE FOLLOW UP
Certified

Terrible disappointment

, Baie-D'Urfé, QC
2021-11-14
Let me start this review by saying we were loyal Bahia lovers with almost 30 visits to their hotels in the caribbean and Mexico over the last 10 years with 12 of them st Sian Kaan including getting married there in 2017 so yes we used to love this place and we are experienced travellers with typically 3-4 trips per year to all inclusives.
2 years of not visiting Sian Kaan due to the pandemic was hard and we missed the hotel and the staff we grew to love so when news that it was opening finally prompted us to book for opening week, we booked the best room they have in the penthouse suite, emailed our hotel contact to request our room preference and dinner reservations and we were happy to have our requests met. Upon arrival to our happy place we were greeted by obviously excited staff, given our welcome drinks and room keys and then whisked off to our rooms. When we opened the door to our room is where the nightmare begins and the first thing we see is half of a glass light shade dangling down oops no problem they can fix it which they did 3 days later after several requests. We started unpacking and started to notice little things like the ac remote did not work, no coffee maker( a few days later we got 1 but no coffee lol and only got coffee in the room once all week), only 1 of the 2 ac units worked after i took the ac remote from the open room next door, the tv remote had no batteries, the safe had no batteries, the phone did not work, beginning to get the picture yet? We sure were getting the picture that no one had checked out our room in the last 18 months the hotel was closed to guests or during the last 90 days before opening that they were preparing the hotel for opening. Batteries were brought the next day for both the safe and tv remote but the TV did not work and after 4 visits by technicians they gave up on the tv and after 3 days of us having to carry around our valuables including jewelry, laptops, cameras etc for 3 days they finally changed the safe after we finally refused to leave the lobby until it was repaired, are we having fun yet? The hot water situation for the first 3 days was on and off so we were not able to use the hot tub that we paid for but finally the time had come one of our favorite things to do after dinner it was hot tub time because we had hot water and we found a concierge who agreed to prepare it for us while we were at dinner and when we were ready my wife gets in and i turn it on to see black crap come streaming out of the nozzles, of course no one had even tested it not to mention 2 of 3 glass safety panels around the hot tub were missing, that ended that night. One true 5 star thing to do most days in our room was to use our ice bucket to pour water into the toilet to get it to flush due to the low water pressure we had all week. The trolley carts that bring you to the beach and a la carte restaurants would take if you got lucky 30 minutes or up to 45 minutes every ride so if you visit the beach and a la carte once each per day we were losing between 1 to 2 hours per day of our time every day.
The high points were the wonderful staff and the a la cartes were all good. The hotel is in bad need of renovations, in fact it needed them 3 years ago and why they did not fix even the most basic obvious things while they were closed is incomprehensible to me. The beach itself for SK is very rocky and near impossible to walk into. As loyal repeat guests we feel we were totally let down and felt without value, they took our thousands of $$ and gave us a horrible room and from talking to other guests many many had the same issues as us so even changing rooms was a gamble, in fact multiple guests told us they had changed 4 or 5 times.
Shame on you Bahia Principe for letting this hotel get in this state, the staff and the guests deserve better! Shame on you for taking money from travellers desperate for a get away and put them in rooms unfit for habitation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The restaurants were good and the staff was great.
The weak points
Beach, shuttle service, rooms were horrible.
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024