Moon Palace Cancun

Moon Palace Cancun
4.234.234.234.234.23
4.23 based on 141 reviews
#69 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Christmas vacation

, Kelowna, BC
2020-02-14
We had an amazing stay at the Moon Palace. We travelled as a family over Christmas. The resort is beautiful, the pools and beach were awesome. My son spent most of his time playing beach volleyball, the activity people were so much fun. The beds were comfortable and I have to say they have the best pillows I have slept on, I wish I could buy some for my own home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort, beach, pools
Certified

Moon Palace Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-08
Overall a very good experience. The only negatives were the jellyfish bites (not the greatest beach front) and the sales pitch that took all day instead of the 90mins promised in order to get access to the waterpark at the Grand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities (kids club, pools, waterpark, games room, restaurants) were all very good
The weak points
The beach is not the nicest (lots of seaweed makes the water a muddy brown instead of clear blue) also, my family got stung by jellyfish. We also had to waste an entire day for the timeshare sales pitch in order to get access to the water park.
Certified

Great location.

, Cochrane, AB
2019-01-07
Staff was excellent , everyone was so friendly and helpful. i've been to many resorts in the Mayan Riviera and this was the first time everyone got sick :(
Make sure you take the vaccine and have Imodium with you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was great, quick transfer from airport, nice spacious rooms and many restaurant options. The New Years party they put on was a lot of fun
The weak points
Cold pool and no hot tubs. Very little evening entertainment.
Certified

Moon Palace

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-29
We really enjoyed the quality of the food offerings and the variety of restaurants. Nice to have wine choices in both red and white. Most resorts have one choice or 2 if you are lucky. Flo-rider is a blast. Entertainment is average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, staff
The weak points
entertainment - I am sick of Michael Jackson shows.
Certified

Great place for kids young and old

, Fredericton, NB
2018-03-14
Everything was perfect from the time we arrived until the time we left. Our kids are hoping to go again next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service were fantastic. Resort very clean and studious to any request. Staff friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Beach did have sea weed but it's the ocean so what do you expect :) The pools were definitely better for swimming in though.
Certified

Loved this resort best one we have been to!!!

, Red Deer, AB
2018-02-25
From the first moment we walked into the resort to the last moment when we left we were spoiled. The resort smelled beautiful, the service was impeccable, the food was fantastic with incredible variety. I loved all the different pools and extra activities that you could take in. We loved all the music and speakers throughout the resort. We were disappointed that the water slides were not open yet but are hopeful that we can enjoy them next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic resort we have every intention that we will return next year to this resort we loved everything about it!!! Food, service, pools, rooms, room service, activities, size of the resort lots of walking, music, and wifi which was everywhere!!!
The weak points
Just the fact that the water slides were not opened yet Lots The seaweed but not a big deal

Moon Palace Cancun

, Galiano Island, BC
2018-01-15
The hotel is away from cancun townsite and there is no public bus to get there. you have to take a taxi, $30 each way. we did have sunset hotel and nuzrac hotel to visit but had to pay to go to the grand...the 3 moon palace hotels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food! lots of options and very good food and service! outdoor show and bar singer
The weak points
housekeeping. we had the housekeeper from hell. Despite leaving a daily tip Music around the pool very noisy. uncomfortable deck chairs
Certified

Moon Palace Nizuc

, Mayerthorpe, AB
2017-11-15
Good experience, i would re visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic, staff was great, entertainment was very nice.
The weak points
Beds in room where to small only double size, would of liked queen size, they offered to bring extra beds, but room was to small for extra beds
Certified

Lifetime Experience !!!

, Brampton, ON
2017-10-29
This hotel gave us the flexibility to vist the other 2 properties as well . All the staff were very knowlegable and guided you as per your needs .
The night live shows were par excellance and got your feet taping .
Was part of baby turtles release and felt elated.
The teenagers were occupied in the wired teen lounge and other daily activities.
For the experience i had at this resort - I will be going to this chain of hotels for majority of my vacations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and knowledgable. Looked after your needs . very clean and LOTS of activities if you want to take part. Did not have to leave the property for anything
The weak points
Nothing that sticks out - the beach had sea weeds wash ashore - but the resort overcompensated with a huge selection of pools and cleaned it often
Certified

Not worth the cost

, Beaumont, AB
2017-07-05
Had a great time with our family however would not return to this property [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms and washrooms were very clean, house keeping cleaned rooms 2 times daily. Good hair products,
The weak points
Food was not very good at all, same thing in the Buffett every morning and lunch we avoided it for dinner so we could eat! I found it was not prepared with love but more so slapped together. Beach is not at all swimable. Resort credits are cash grab.
Certified

A small piece of heaven

, Mono, ON
2017-01-27
The resort...the staff...food...activities all top of the line.

Courteous..helpful....friendly...

Could not have asked for a better place to vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just okay

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-23
It's good if you only want to sit by the pool all day. But there are plenty of great resorts at much more affordable prices. You pay for the size of the resort. Up close, it's actually a bit run down, old furniture, a bit dingy in some areas. It was just okay for us. The resort credits cost money to use, and the staff try to convince you not to. The tell you that you can take better versions of the excursions if you pay regular price. Plus, we went on a tour and the bus left us behind. Hotel didn't seem to care at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Facebook.com

, Etobicoke, ON
2016-08-01
Everything is great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent experience but can be amazing

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-14
Long story short, first of all, when we fly to Mexico we didn't set together. It's a family trip and ends up my parents didn't eat or drink because they don't speak English and didn't see beside us. Second , we went with our friends and ends up our 4 room didn't get chance to put together.
Last thing is about the food. The food is very so so. The only good restaurant is the one serve the Brazil restaurant. We were very disappointed by the food!! Also about our room, there r few items doesn't work in our room. The savety box, hair straighter and the light in front of the mirror. Everything else is good. The services is excellent!! The environment is excellent and the spa is amazing!!! Also, the play room is amazing toooo!!! Kids love it so much!! He staff is very nice and patience. Over all we had a good time!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent customer services!
The weak points
The food is not as good as we expect.
Certified

Grand moon palace

, Brampton, ON
2016-05-02
The staff was excellent and made our 10 days stay amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort

, Brampton, ON
2016-04-26
Great Service, Great Food, Hotel is very clean and Maintained.
Staff are extremely friendly and appear to like their job.
Beach is nice but lots of seaweed is washed up and in the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facility and Staff are 10
The weak points
The Beach is nice but lots of seaweed is washed up on shore every day. The staff work hard to clean it daily but makes it less appealing to go in the ocean
Certified

Worth Every Penny!

, Edmonton, AB
2016-04-23
Expensive but worth it!

There are actually 3 "resorts" side by side and you have access to all 3. There is something for kids of all ages! The wave rider, the pools, the teens club. The kids club is a dream and I had no concern leaving my kids for the afternoon while I enjoyed the spa.

You can rent bikes, free mini golf, there would seem to be a lot of walking given the size of the resort, but if you walk the front paved sidewalk along the ocean it is no problem! They do have a bus that provides transportation to the other resorts. But walking is enjoyable along the ocean. Plenty of service around the pools along with lots of food options around the pool areas.

The Italian restaurant at the golf course is delicious! The golf course is beautiful. The resort credit is a really nice touch.

The drinks are delicious! The entertainment in the evenings and around the pool is super fun. The 24 hour room service has great selection. The beds are comfortable!

It is a quick ride from the airport, but not near other resorts so you would need to get transportation into Cancun if wanted. You have privileges at the Beach Palace in Cancun and we went there once, but were there 2 weeks and never had a need to leave the resort.
Single parent with 2 kids ~ felt very safe and secure.

We enjoyed every second and will return to a Palace Resort again no questions asked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Where to start? Pools, water slides, wave runner, kids club, teens club ~ quality of food and drinks. Top notch!
The weak points
The beach ~ lots of seaweed, but that is with the area and not much can be done. The hotel does their best to rake it up each day.

5 stars at Moon Palace!

, Halifax, NS
2016-03-14
We have been to Mexico many times and Moon Palace is an amazing 5 star resort. Very modern and clean, beautiful grounds. The food and drinks were excellent, tried all the restaurants, no reservations required except for the Italian at the golf course. Great to be able to try the restaurants in all three sections. We stayed in Nizuc, loved the lobby bar and the cafe (served crepes, paninis, special coffee, ice cream and lots of freshly baked sweets). Our room had a partial ocean view. The bed was like sleeping on cloud 9,enjoyed the in room jacuzzi, huge shower with rain shower head and regular. Room also had lots of closet space and free safe. Spent time at both beach and pools, wait service at both great. Friendly staff and excellent service. Great resort for all ages. We would highly recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, jacuzzi suite, Beach and great service.
The weak points
Swam in the ocean but water can be a bit murky some days. Didn't keep us from swimming.
Pro

MOON PALACE RESORT in Cancun is AMAZING

, Moncton, NB
2016-03-12
Huge resort with amazing staff, delicious food, beautiful rooms, scenery is gorgeous, awesome pools. Loved it! Was blessed to take part in the release of baby turtles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was simply amazing. Always smiling, very helpful. Had a small issue with jacuzzi and maintenance was on it within 5 minutes. Great choices of restaurants and bars... food is like no other. Grounds are amazingly kept, scenery is breathtaking.
The weak points
Distance from room to restaurants... but grounds are so beautiful that it made it pleasant.
Pro

Great family resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-23
Hotel was beautiful and our room was amazing. It very big so be prepared to walk a lot. The kids activities were great. There are lots of restaurants but if you like to go to an non-buffet there was usually a wait for a table. The resort credits were a nice bonus. The beach would have bee beautiful if it wasn't totally covered with sea weed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is beautiful, the staff were amazing. The kids activities were excellent.
The weak points
The beach was covered with seaweed. They were trying to clean it up but it washed up as quickly as they could clean it. The restaurant line ups for dinner were huge. One night we waited an hour and a half to get a table.
Certified

Moon Palace Awesome!

, Mississauga, ON
2016-02-01
Ok so.. if you can ignore the fact that this hotel does not have a great beach then it is a 10/10. The beach here is nice however the water is not. There is a lot of seaweed but you have access to the sister hotel Beach Palace and there is a shuttle that takes you there.. so if you can get past that you will love this resort.
Food is top Notch!!! The amount of activities for kids is amazing with teen clubs and one of the best kids clubs I have ever seen with mini movie theater, pedicure center and bug indoor climbing area. Also how can I forget the surf simulator!! Wow all I can say is WOW this hotel is amazing. If you have no children you will still love this resort. The Sky Bar and the Pub are amazing. Bring your stretchy pants because your diet will go out the window at this resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Pro

Moon palace

, Surrey, BC
2016-01-26
great
Was a fun trip
Staff was really helpful
Wi-Fi all over [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Pools
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort (November 2014, 1 we

, Milton, ON
2015-07-22
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort (November 2014, 1 week)

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we received unbelievable customer service. Everyone was very friendly, polite, happy and professional.

The hotel itself it's a state of the art property. Everywhere beautiful marble floors and walls. The architecture and interior design of the resort is breathtaking.

The landscaping was gorgeous.

The rooms were very clean. CHI hair tools and bath products were in a bathroom.

There were so many beautiful restaurants and the food was very delicious.

There was a coffee bar in the hotel where you can get fresh sandwiches, pancakes, ice cream, chocolates etc. We couldn't get enough of it. It was to die for. Ruined my diet completely.

We never had to wait for anything anywhere in the hotel.

We used the hotel credits for a spa services. The experience was very relaxing and the atmosphere was peaceful.

So many fun activities for the whole family. Kids love the Flow rider using a body board.
The playroom for kids was fantastic. So many different activities.
The arcades and video games were amazing.
The evening entertainment was fantastic.

The beach was clean but the ocean water was murky and had lots of seaweed which is the only negative thing I found with the resort.

There were so many beautiful and clean pools connected with bridges.

It was a fantastic vacation that I am still thinking and talking about it and keep comparing every other resort I travel to with Moon Palace. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
EVERYTHING
The weak points
BEACH

Moon Palace

, Burin, NL
2014-05-01
It was excellent !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the overall service, the food is excellent
The weak points
The beach but really there is no control over seaweed. The do try their best
Certified

Moon Palace, CANCUN

, Westmount, QC
2014-04-27
This is Manhattan RITZ quality all over!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is Manhattan RITZ quality all over!!
The weak points
beach!
Certified

Its a Palace

, St Thomas, ON
2014-03-31
Can't say anything bad about this resort, been to six 4.5 - 5.0 star resorts and this is best one yet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and extras, lots of seafood selection at meals. Super fast free wi-fi in rooms and lobby - pool areas
The weak points
water has seaweed at edge of beech when entering ocean
Certified

Love Moon Palace

, Stonewall, MB
2014-03-29
This hotel was wonderful in almost every way. The facility was beautiful and had all a guest could want. The service was very accomodating and always friendly. Due to the natural shelter the beach was not of the quality one would expect in Cancun but the pools were beautiful, fun and clean. You have the priviledge of using the beaches of its sister hotels if you wish. Any sort of tropical drink was of poor quality, however the simple drinks were up to par. The food was simply outstanding, make your reservations early. I made the mistake of booking my side trips through a trava agent prior to arrival and paid way too much. This hotel gave us $1500 in hotel play money with which you could do all of the fun side trips as well as play golf, spa or buy tequilla etc. After visiting a few hotels and speaking with other visitors on our tours I think Moon Palace ranks very highly on the great place to have a hot vacation list. It is huge, 2500 rooms and is seperated from all the cancun locations which seem to be one on top of the other. No problem with spring breakers! Dont waste your time with the timeshare presentation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, facilities
The weak points
beaches, drinks
Certified

Excellent

2014-03-26
We loved the Moon Palace, staffed were extremely friendly going above and beyond. The hotel, rooms and pools spotless and the meals to die for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large rooms, loved the Chi products, free long distance calling, cleanliness, resort credit.
The weak points
The beach had a lot of seed weed but we still enjoyed it and the people at the service desk were a little pushy.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-26
We stayed at the Nizuc which is in the middle of the Grand and the Sunrise. We have never been to a resort where all the staff are so friendly and accommodating. The waiters were amazing and brought whatever you needed even if it wasn't on the menu or on the buffet. The staff at the pool were fantastic with bringing drinks, food, chairs. There are so many different restaurants to choose from and they were all very good. We loved the Brazilian at the Nizuc. The Swim with the Dolphins was right in front of our hotel and we used our resort credits and did it twice because my granddaughter (and all of us) enjoyed it so much. My only complaint would be the weeds at the beach but they are working on clearing them. They have so many pools that we didn't miss going to the beach. They have a free shuttle bus to the Beach Palace about 15 minutes away and closer to the city of Cancun. The beach there was beautiful. They even gave us a hospitality room for an hour for us to freshen up. One week is not enough!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness of staff; food; pools.
The weak points
Beach; entertainment
Certified

Fun in paradise

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-16
Good hotel. Poor beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food
The weak points
Poor beach
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020