Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach And Spa

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach And Spa
4.414.414.414.414.41
4.41 based on 390 reviews
#6 of 137 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (252)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Amazing Resort

, Manning, AB
2024-02-15
This resort set a new standard of travelling that I will find hard to beat I'm sure. The food was delicious, the staff was very friendly and the animal presence was a neat experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The buffet and restaurants had lots of variety and great quality. The staff were so friendly and easy to communicate with. The jungle-like feel and animal presence brought a unique touch to our stay.
The weak points
My room wasn't able to be close to the people I was travelling with. The nightly food room service wasn't as high quality. Both were very minor negatives.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Rosslyn, ON
2024-01-31
As expected the resort was 5 Star. Check in was seamless and fast. Our room was perfect and the bed was great. This stretch of beach was awesome. Breckfast and Lunch buffet were always good. All the Ala cartes were perfect. Our Favourite was Toscana. Entertainment was fun and we really enjoyed the glow party themed night in the pool. For people looking for a relaxing vacation at a smaller resort we highly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Nice Resort!

, Osoyoos, BC
2024-01-28
Over all, a good experience. If your looking for a party atmosphere, this is not your resort. Good food, lovely grounds, great staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing jungle walkway through center of resort.
The weak points
No dedicated entertainment venue, If its raining, they move into the Hotel lobby. Not the best location for a show. No elevators. If your in a wheel chair or need a walker, avoid this resort.
Certified

Beautiful but not overly clean room

, Blackfalds, AB
2023-11-06
This hotel is beautiful, but our room was not up to par when we arrived. Our bed had sand in it and a vanity box in the bathroom had one dirty Q-tip in it. Our room was not often cleaned during the day. Food was good most of the time. I loved the choice of restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Outstanding Resort

, Spruce Grove, AB
2023-10-21
The hotel is exceptional, with the room an excellent size and well-maintained. The resort grounds are stunning, the pool is a great size with lots of lounge chairs, and the beach is idyllic. There are plenty of food options and bars, and the staff were all top-notch. Plenty of in-resort activities every night and free dive lessons, kayaks, and paddle boards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach and location, and the staff
The weak points
Hotel doesn't directly offer tours/excursions, so you have to book through third-party groups that hang out at desks in the lobby.
Certified

Relaxation

, Vancouver, BC
2023-09-04
My niece and I enjoyed a very relaxing week away. Just what we needed. The staff and hotel were great, the beach is amazing!!! Food at the buffet was very good while the themed restaurants could use a little tweaking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, beach, pool, buffet
The weak points
Themed restaurants
Certified

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!!

, Vaughan, ON
2023-06-12
The layout of the hotel is gorgeous! The moment we got off of our bus we were treated like royalty. The staff goes above and beyond to make your comfortable, have everything you need, and happy. Honestly my boyfriend and I have nothing bad to say about this place because it is exactly what it was advertised. If you're looking for a nice relaxing week, this is the place to go!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-no children -great drinks -amazing staff -beautiful scenery
Sanitary measures
the whole place was spotless the entire time we were there.
Certified

A must stay in Riviera Maya!

, Scarborough, ON
2023-03-27
From the moment you set foot on the property the staff make you feel welcome and at home. Everyone their makes sure to greet you and ask if there is anything you need. The property itself is situated on beautifully kept lands and with no resorts around it, makes for a nice and peaceful time. The buildings are all well kept and cleaned. The food was good for an all-inclusive resort, new options offered daily at the breakfast/lunch buffet. As for dinner there are 5 options available by reservation and one offered to Exclusive members only. So you have plenty of option when it comes to meals. Overall I recommend Catalonia Royal Tulum to anyone wanting a great time in the Riviera Maya away from the huge tourist area of Cancun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great location Friendly staff Plenty of activities

Quaint, Friendly and Beautiful

, Bowmanville, ON
2023-03-24
We just returned from a great relaxing visit with 4 other couples. This resort is charming and intimate. I loved the grounds, with its jungle path, nature, animals, the beautiful beach and pool. We booked here because it was adults only and small. We travel a lot during March break and don't want to deal with the spring breakers barfing in potted plants. You won't see that here at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. There is still lots of fun to be had but you won't likely get woken up In the middle of the night as the party animals run through the halls whooping and being obnoxious. There is a more mature crowd here (age wise) but still a few younger adult travelers were there as well.

We stayed in the first building in a superior Junior suite and our room was nice. We didn't upgrade into one of the renovated rooms but our room was well appointed. The shower was great and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The coffee in the rooms sucks.

The food was good. We didn't have any complaints. Just some odd or annoying things like no ketchup at breakfast for your eggs, or no butter for your buns at the grill restaurant. The staff in the restaurants are terrific. The included wine is not great. The drinks are inconsistent in how they are made, depending on the bartender. The lobby bar (Margarita's Bar) is the best, and the second best is the Tequila Bar. There is great service staff at the beach and pool. The Sorento was my favourite for lunch. The buffet was ok and coffee is not good and there is no cream to be had, but the cappuccino at the bars is good. Service overall at this resort is very good. The wifi is dependable.

The Rauxa show was amazing! The entertainment team was terrific. We participated in the Olympics, aqua fit, Bocce ball, bingo, and corn hole. This resort could step it up in terms of having more entertainment in the lobby area at night. I really enjoyed the Latin music and dancing the one night. The Mexican night was ok but the Mexican food in the buffet that night wasn't great but the Mexican food in the Adelilita is great.

The beach is beautiful but we had to deal with seaweed most of the week. The resort cleans it up to a degree but depending on the waves it comes back in. We just had to walk past it on the beach and once in the water it was good. We had yellow flags most of the week and a red flag on the last day. The pool was lovely. Both the pool and ocean were warm and I loved them both. The hot tub is actually hot.

We didn't do any excursions or try the spa. Overall this is just what I needed, good times with friends, while soaking up some rays, and relaxing. I would come back anytime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Grounds, beach, pool, intimate resort, great service, wifi, food was good
The weak points
coffee was not good, could step up some entertainment
Certified

Best vacation ever!

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-08
What an amazing hotel! Beautiful landscape and even better service. Nelsy at the front desk was so pleasant and helpful. The entertainment team was top notch. Diego made our trip better than it already was. Shout-out to Georgina, Charli, Johnny and the rest of the entertainment team. Highly recommend and would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Foothills, AB
2023-01-26
Nice small resort. Very friendly hotel stuff.. They r renovating parts of it. We stayed on the main level though I would prefer on the top with more open balcony.
Good breakfast and lunch buffet. For dinner we had to make reservation at one of the 4 restaurants. They all were very good.
The pool and the beach were beautiful. There was lots of entertaining during the da also lots of palm trees for shade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The location, the beach and friendly hotel stuff. Environmental friendly, no paper plates and plastic cutlery
The weak points
Only evening performances at the pool area with dancing and DJ music. Theater was closed
Sanitary measures
Very good
Certified

Un gros WoW

, Trois Rivieres, QC
2022-12-14
Un resort qui sort de l'ordinaire avec une plage superbe à ce temps aucunes sargasses juste une journée avec quelques-unes qui flottaient et ramasser le lendemain matin on a pas eu le temps de les voir au sable!!!
Nous n'étions pas privilèges donc n'avions pas droit au restaurant le Blove et au Spa gratuitement mais nous n'en avons pas souffert.
On se sent dans un zoo on voit des animaux à tout les jours. Les restaurants à la carte sont tous excellents!!! Le RAUXA est spécial on assiste à un souper spectacle!!! Et vraiment délicieux.
Le buffet est excellent aussi et très varié.
Les chambres sont granges très propres et de style chic avec boiseries. Les lits hyper confortables…
La piscine près de la plage est très grande et très bien entretenue. Il y a un bar dans la piscine. Les employés sont sympathiques nous avons eu un coup de coeur pour Carlos et Raphaela au casse-croûte de la plage et Marcela à la plage qui nous donnait un très bon service.
Le wifi est vraiment partout jusqu'à la plage et gratuit!!!
Donc dans l'ensemble on était super bien. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
La plage la bouffe l'espace même si c'est un petit resort
The weak points
Aucun
Certified

Couple retreat

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2022-09-17
Perfect hotel for a romantic getaway
Quiet adults only resort
With a beautiful beach
Thanks to Amaury the resident Manager
Paul and Georgina in entertainment
For making my vacations memorable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

The Perfect Resort for a Relaxing Getaway

, Dundas, ON
2022-03-28
The Catalonia Royal Tulum is smaller than many resorts in Mexico & the Caribbean. That's one of it's strong points. The resort is easy walkable and it has a user-friendly layout. Since this is an adults-only resort, you could expect a party crowd, but NO - all guests were there to relax and are not into the party scene. Those who wanted to party could go to Coco Bongo off-site. Although an older resort, it is well maintained, clean, staff is friendly, food was good and we had a lovely time. Thanks to EVERYONE at Catalonia Royal Tulum for a great getaway! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Small resort Friendly staff Cleanliness of resort, buildings, grounds, and restaurants Quality of food in restaurants
The weak points
Not weak points, but be aware of the following: 1. It is more than an hour from the Cancun airport 2. The white sandy beach is not super wide - probably 200-300m max 3. See weed (sargassum) was an issue for 2-3 days, but cleaned every morning
Sanitary measures
All resort staff wore masks all the time. That includes outside workers. Covid testing was available on-site. We felt very safe.
Certified

Great vacation in the sun

, Brossard, QC
2022-03-20
Very good experience during my stay at this hotel. The staff is super friendly and the service is wonderful. A smaller resort than what I've previously experienced but that had its advantages by not being crowded everywhere you go. The walk from the room to the beach is the best ever, built in the jungle. Make sure you see it when it's dark outside as it's beautifully lit. Food is very good, whether you eat at the buffet by the beach or in any of the A la Carte restaurants. Rooms are older décor but clean and spacious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff friendliness, walk to/from rooms to beach, food, juice bar, cappuccino
The weak points
Rooms with older décor
Sanitary measures
Excellent
Certified

Catalonia

, Peace River, AB
2022-01-27
This place was perfect. Very friendly staff all the time. The place was very clean and room service was early or on time when we ordered it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful walk ways between the buildings, beach and front desk.
The weak points
A bit of a drive from airport but it was just over an hour, not that bad
Sanitary measures
Very conscious about COVID but not over the top
Certified

I would go again!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-01-04
We loved every moment of our trip. As a non-party couple in our late 20s, CRT lived up to our expectations for our first all-inclusive vacation. Between the quality of service, food, drinks, entertainment, and weather, we were satisfied with the value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great service. Good day time activities. Nighttime entertainment was great - especially NYE. Food and drinks were great. Weather was consistently 28*C
The weak points
Our room service order was very late and very poor quality. About one hour from Cancun airport.
Certified

GREAT EXPERIENCE even in the midst of Covid

, Longueuil, QC
2021-01-18
I have been to many countries and many hotels in my life, and Catalonia Royal Tulum has been the best exérience by far.

Arturo at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful, he also speaks fluent French which was great for my wife.

Every corner of every place was so clean it was unreal, we also appreciated how careful they were with the COVID measures, all the employees wearing masks and cleaning all the time.

The entertainment team was really funny and vivid, Ana, Rosa, and Lily thank you for your energy and kindness.

You have to try the steak restaurant, go there and try their Arrachera steak, it's delicious.

Also the buffet La Palapa is great and full of tasteful choices, I hope you will be served by Quetzabel because she makes you feel special, like Rosario, Carlos, and Osiel, the servers.

They also keep the beach clean of sargasso and the beach is beautiful.

If you go to the Spa, ask for Nubia, the best massagist ever based on my wife (whose mother is a massotherapist).

Honestly, we are already looking forward to go back, they make you feel at home.

Thank you to all the team who makes Catalonia Royal Tulum works so well.

Carlos Catari.
From QC, Canada. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service, service, and service! Best service ever, they make you feel better than at home. Very good Wifi and it is available everywhere, even at the beach. You gonna love this place is amazing, very relaxing and delicious.
The weak points
Some rooms have a strong humidity smell, but we asked Arturo at the front desk for a change and it was done without hesitation.
Sanitary measures
Better than Quebec: they take your temperature before getting into the hotel, taxis, bus, airports, the clean your shoes, bags, and luggage. At the hotel, EVERY SINGLE EMPLOYEE was wearing a mask all the time and they are always cleaning everything.

Excellent Spot

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2020-11-30
I travel south each year and usually go to Mexico. I love the people and the culture.
This year I picked this spot and was pleasantly surprised.
The beach is pristine. Great swimming conditions. No rip tides!
Life guard always on duty.
This is an 18 plus hotel, no children.
Due to covid the hotel was running at about 25% capacity.
The staff always made us feel like family.
They remembered our names. Always watched out for us ( we are seniors) and made us feel safe.
The food was fantastic! We tried all the restaurants but couldn't choose a favourite because they were all excellent.
We used the spa, this was my only one disappointment is that the spa is connected to the gym so people are very loud and walking by sweaty going in and out of the washroom.
Gyms should be closed off from spas.
Our hostess in the spa was Perla and she was great.
The restaurant for breakfast hostess, her name was Quet... can't remember spelling was so happy and sweet.
Roberto in the Tao Cat and his associates were amazing.
Hector, Lilybeth, Roselina? Were amazing and so fun to be around.
Room service and front desk as well, excellent and professional. Sports area for paddleboards staff were super. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food , staff, cleanliness, safety, location, in general a great spot.
The weak points
Gym/spa - too noisy. Gym takes away the relaxation feeling. Night activities starting at 9:30 was late for most people. 8 would be better. We missed a lot.
Sanitary measures
Excellent. Felt safer there instead of home.

Catalonia Royal Tulum is 7 stars out of 5!!!!

, North York, ON
2020-03-19
My experience at this resort could not be matched by any other resort!

Everything from the customer service, the food, the beach, and the accommodations was phenomenal. All of the staff really thought of everything and took care of everything. Super friendly and accommodating, no request was too much of a hassle for them to complete. Everyone from the waiters to the concierge was a courteous, happy, and informative. Isabel helped us check in - and wow she was so amazing! She was incredibly sweet but also really thorough and concise. She gave us the best tips about where to get food once we arrived as she must have known that we were hungry before we even mentioned it. We love her! Arturo at the front desk was always helping us break our large bills to smaller denominations. He is great at conversation! He is super humble and friendly!!

The food at our resort was amazing!!! At first, I was skeptical tor try an asian cuisine restaurant in a Mexican resort. I had extremely under estimated Tao Cat! The food there is incredibly delicious and the their desserts are even better. Even the buffet food is good, I had to convince myself to not overfill my stomach. The authentic restaurant Adelita has huaraches, fajitas, and tacos like you wouldn't believe. It really opens your eyes to what little we know about authentic Mexican cuisine due to Tex Mex food. The pizza and snack bar (Sorrento) has the best ceviche I have ever tried. Super fresh and soft, the fish literally melted in my mouth. I had ordered that almost every day around lunch time and had no regrets. The best part? No need to make reservations..... for any of the restaurants on the resort! How amazing is that!!! We will truly miss Quetzabel and how sweet and wonderful her demeanor was! We would always look forward to seeing her around breakfast time!!! Her sweet and uplifting character made Catalonia rise above other resorts.

The people who run the daily games and activities are also super fun! Always energetic, uplifting, and happy! Shout out to Jose (Chema) and Nicolas!!!

Food and water is also really clean. I chose not to take a Dukoral before I left and had no problems. I saw ice being brought out in bags so you know they buy their ice instead of using the tap water. Water, cutlery, tables, and chairs are always cleaned. I had no problems at all. After cleaning service, the room was always clean, no specks of sand on the ground or anything. There was a safe in our room as well for added security, I didn't feel worried about my personal belongings at all. The shower was wide and spacious! Internet access can be reached throughout the entire resort as well! NO delays! And there was also a mini-fridge that was stacked with snacks and water everyday!! Yum!

The beach was super close to the room and super clean! It was like something out of a travel commercial : clean, seaweed-less soft white sand, and crystal clear blue waters. It is truly paradise! If the waters are calm, you can also rent a kayak and go on your own adventure for an hour as part of the resort. And you are also free to walk up and down the beach for your own adventure as well.

Last but not least, we have to give an amazing shout-out to EDDY! His job is to make sure all guests enjoy their time at the resort and he did not disappoint. He first greeted us with his super friendly demeanor and from his manner of conversation ,we knew he wasn't talking to us just to sell us something. Eddy gave us invaluable tips and recommendations on how to fully enjoy our vacation. His suggestions on tourist excursions and traveler's safety was incredibly useful!! He helped us achieve the best day trips which got us to the destinations and landmarks we really wanted to see without having to settle for destinations we weren't all that crazy for. Sergio also helped and we couldn't be more grateful. They both helped us book a day excursion to Playa del Carmen for shopping with Best Day Experience. My friends and I were able to get many souvenirs to bring home. THANK YOU SO MUCH EDDY FOR EVERYTHING!!!

All in all, I do not have any outstanding negative remarks to say about this resort. You honestly get what you pay for. The quality, customer service, and accommodation is all absolutely wonderful. Thank you Catalonia for all your hospitality! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food - delicious Customer Service - 11/10 Accommodation & Beach - Like paradise Cleanliness - 10/10

Great resort

, North Vancouver, BC
2020-02-27
My wife, daughter and I spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Tulum and we all had a great experience. Beautiful, recently renovated room, the beach is fantastic (all white sand, no rocks or other things to look out for in the water) and the staff were very friendly. We did not chose the privilege package as we didn't think there was enough value in the extra $$. 1 a la carte restaurant closed each day, but we didn't find this inconvenient and never had trouble getting in to which ever one we wanted. Would definitely go back again a we love the Catalonia resort chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is fantastic and the room was very nice
The weak points
Like many all inclusive resorts, the food was just okay.
Certified

Catalonia

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-01
We had an excellent vacation at the Catalonia Royal Tulum,
Very clean, most of the staff very friendly and professional,the beach is amazing. Needs improvement at the buffet cooking stations, same food every day and the cooks not efficient at all. Over all I recommend, it's worth the long drive from the airport . The host Quetzabel is the nicest person there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good experience

, Mississauga, ON
2020-01-31
My experience was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, clean, we enjoyed la cart restaurants , impeccable service, and the food was great ! The beach was amazing!
The weak points
Buffet in the evening could be better,
Certified

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-26
We purchased the premium romance package.........If you call a few hearts on the wall that look like baboon butts then this package is for you. This was one of the worst resorts we have stayed at. Right away you could tell of the older ambiance, the decor and staff outfits were really out dated.
the first morning after our late night arrival we received a phone call at 8am reminding us of an appt at 10.....not impressed.
It was stated we would receive a new renovated room, that was not true.
Our room was supposed to be stocked with liquor....apparently that means 2 beers.
The bed was old and squeaky. Even slightly rolling over in an alcohol induced sleep would wake you. The faucet in the bathroom sink sprayed in all directions at almost the pressure of Niagara falls. The toilet seat was loose and shifted in all directions...gents...be ware.
We were only given 1 hotel key as they didn't have enough until a couple days later.
We had gone out for dinner and upon our return I went to put our belongings back in the safe. It wouldn't let me in, stated there was an error. The safe had definitely been tampered with while our room was being "turned down".
It seems that they over sold the "premium" packages and were just putting those guests in any room.
The room service was par at best. Made my wife sick, and we are talking about a burger and salad, nothing exotic.
Besides the room being completely disappointing, the staff was nice and friendly. The people at "beloved bar" were amazing, the daytime entertainment staff kept the good vibes going. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Daytime entertainment staff was a lot of fun, lots of games and interactive events cleaning staff did a great job
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Regina, SK
2020-01-22
My girlfriend and I arrived at the Catalonia Royal Tulum to an amazing open lobby with a very quick and friendly check-in and welcome drink. We were made to feel at home by everyone we were greeted by and our room was perfectly set. Every detail was perfect!
The layout of the resort was very simple and made it easy to get from one place to another. It is not a huge resort, but has everything you could want.
The beach was the nicest I have ever been on. White sands, VERY clean, plenty of loungers, and not one spot was rocky or with seaweed in the water.
The pool area was perfect place to cool off after a day on the beach. Plenty of chairs, volleyball, ping-pong, fountain, and of course the swim-up bar was very good.
Great restaurants right off the pool area for lunch, or just a snack. The BLoved lounge was nice to sit at to have a drink while watching the ocean waves roll in. Oh, and the Tequila bar by the pool was the best.
The main buffet restaurant was out of this world. Always clean, great food - anything you can imagine or want - with incredibly friendly and quick seating and service from each member of the Catalonia staff. The a la carte restaurants were a nice option (no need to make reservations which was very nice), we tried each of the Mexican, Italian, and Asian - enjoyed them all.
After supper, we would grab a drink at the Margarita bar and listen to a live lounge singer or band in the lobby area. Then it was off to watch a great show by the pool in the evening.
The grounds were impeccable. The path from the lobby to the ocean went right through the jungle, with coati, a heron, turtle, fish, and yes even a friendly kitty (which my gf named Luna) to greet us at various times.
We did not get to the Rauxa show, or the disco bar, (or the gym, lol), but am sure all of those would have been great as well.
This was my 4th sunny vacation, and I had always thought I'd want to try different resorts each time. I may have to make an exception for Catalonia! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Food was phenomenal Accommodations were amazing Wildlife Great experience with everyone who worked there
The weak points
Away from the lobby, Wifi did not work as well; not the point of vacation anyway so not a big deal at all
Certified

Excellent time at Catalonia Royale Tulum.

, Bolton, HA
2020-01-22
Me and my grandson arrived to Catalonia Royale Tulum, we were greeted kindly. The entire resort was spotless, along with our room. The animation team was awesome. Victoria, Jessica, Andrea, Roni, Luca and Pietro were full of energy, and represented the hotel well. Vicente, Gabriella, Ernesto, Celine and majority of the bar staff were excellent. Every staff member we met, did their job efficiently, and kindly. They represented the Catalonia branch well. We would definitely come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice resort, perfect beach

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-07
very nice hotel and excellent service. This is the 4th time in Riviera Maya and the first time we promissed to go back.
We had a good time in this nice resort. We benefited also from the nice weather. The sea water was calm and we could watch the fish even without snorkel equipment.
Good food and good service in the restaurants (no reservation needed). The wifi worked everywhere (some blind spots).
2 Km beach of white sand to take long walks.
Only kayaks and pading boards for the water sports. Probably a small catamaran would be good.
Nice shows, especially for the new year's eve.
Very nice personel everywhere. Special mention for the reception personel, Gabriel which we met in two of the a la carte restaurants and Rosa for the beach service. Very good room service, don't know the names. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, snorkeling service bar and restaurants (no reservation needed) wifi everywhere
The weak points
rooms need some renovation (some of the buildings got it already) service personel in restaurants seemed timorous water sports need some upgrade

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Pierrefonds, QC
2020-01-06
Fantastic getaway for a couple on their Honeymoon. The service was without a doubt very accomodating at all times. Everything that was expected from this trip was accounted for in more ways than can be put into words...The icing on the cake was the weather and let's not forget the Beach with no seaweed to be found. Lastly I will add the use of water shoes is not necessary as the beautiful beach sand goes out nearly a mile so you can walk without worries of getting your feet cut on any rough surfaces. A Beautiful hideway resort not be ovelooked when planning your next couple vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice place to visit again

, Scarborough, ON
2019-12-31
Stayed 7 nights during Christmas, an unforgettable and enjoyable holiday. More restaurants in different style, very nice staff and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach with white fine sand, peculiar walk path over jungle.
The weak points
Need rebuild or demolish the building beside beach volleyball court.

Nice hotel but not for everybody

, Brossard, QC
2019-12-27
Luxury ressort for couple but not for 3 people. Room with 2 beds or 1 king bed. Difficulty to have room ready and even in restaurant need to wait for table for 3. Privilege member is a must to have access to a very nice restaurant in front of the beach. Front desk and room service very good.Overall, nice vacations at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1- White sand beach 2- Good food (2 buffets, 5 restaurants no reservation) 3- Restaurant Bloved on the beach (privilege) 4-Small resort less 300 rooms,5 min. To beach under mangrove trees
The weak points
1- Beach drink service not reliable or ignore your order and lack of supervision 2- Bloved restaurant too small for the number of privilege members 3- Lack of security on the beach vs Cuba or Dominica Rep.
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024