Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach And Spa

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach And Spa
4.394.394.394.394.39
4.39 based on 359 reviews
#7 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (165)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Catalonia Royal Tulum is 7 stars out of 5!!!!

, North York, ON
2020-03-19
My experience at this resort could not be matched by any other resort!

Everything from the customer service, the food, the beach, and the accommodations was phenomenal. All of the staff really thought of everything and took care of everything. Super friendly and accommodating, no request was too much of a hassle for them to complete. Everyone from the waiters to the concierge was a courteous, happy, and informative. Isabel helped us check in - and wow she was so amazing! She was incredibly sweet but also really thorough and concise. She gave us the best tips about where to get food once we arrived as she must have known that we were hungry before we even mentioned it. We love her! Arturo at the front desk was always helping us break our large bills to smaller denominations. He is great at conversation! He is super humble and friendly!!

The food at our resort was amazing!!! At first, I was skeptical tor try an asian cuisine restaurant in a Mexican resort. I had extremely under estimated Tao Cat! The food there is incredibly delicious and the their desserts are even better. Even the buffet food is good, I had to convince myself to not overfill my stomach. The authentic restaurant Adelita has huaraches, fajitas, and tacos like you wouldn't believe. It really opens your eyes to what little we know about authentic Mexican cuisine due to Tex Mex food. The pizza and snack bar (Sorrento) has the best ceviche I have ever tried. Super fresh and soft, the fish literally melted in my mouth. I had ordered that almost every day around lunch time and had no regrets. The best part? No need to make reservations..... for any of the restaurants on the resort! How amazing is that!!! We will truly miss Quetzabel and how sweet and wonderful her demeanor was! We would always look forward to seeing her around breakfast time!!! Her sweet and uplifting character made Catalonia rise above other resorts.

The people who run the daily games and activities are also super fun! Always energetic, uplifting, and happy! Shout out to Jose (Chema) and Nicolas!!!

Food and water is also really clean. I chose not to take a Dukoral before I left and had no problems. I saw ice being brought out in bags so you know they buy their ice instead of using the tap water. Water, cutlery, tables, and chairs are always cleaned. I had no problems at all. After cleaning service, the room was always clean, no specks of sand on the ground or anything. There was a safe in our room as well for added security, I didn't feel worried about my personal belongings at all. The shower was wide and spacious! Internet access can be reached throughout the entire resort as well! NO delays! And there was also a mini-fridge that was stacked with snacks and water everyday!! Yum!

The beach was super close to the room and super clean! It was like something out of a travel commercial : clean, seaweed-less soft white sand, and crystal clear blue waters. It is truly paradise! If the waters are calm, you can also rent a kayak and go on your own adventure for an hour as part of the resort. And you are also free to walk up and down the beach for your own adventure as well.

Last but not least, we have to give an amazing shout-out to EDDY! His job is to make sure all guests enjoy their time at the resort and he did not disappoint. He first greeted us with his super friendly demeanor and from his manner of conversation ,we knew he wasn't talking to us just to sell us something. Eddy gave us invaluable tips and recommendations on how to fully enjoy our vacation. His suggestions on tourist excursions and traveler's safety was incredibly useful!! He helped us achieve the best day trips which got us to the destinations and landmarks we really wanted to see without having to settle for destinations we weren't all that crazy for. Sergio also helped and we couldn't be more grateful. They both helped us book a day excursion to Playa del Carmen for shopping with Best Day Experience. My friends and I were able to get many souvenirs to bring home. THANK YOU SO MUCH EDDY FOR EVERYTHING!!!

All in all, I do not have any outstanding negative remarks to say about this resort. You honestly get what you pay for. The quality, customer service, and accommodation is all absolutely wonderful. Thank you Catalonia for all your hospitality! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food - delicious Customer Service - 11/10 Accommodation & Beach - Like paradise Cleanliness - 10/10

Great resort

, North Vancouver, BC
2020-02-27
My wife, daughter and I spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Tulum and we all had a great experience. Beautiful, recently renovated room, the beach is fantastic (all white sand, no rocks or other things to look out for in the water) and the staff were very friendly. We did not chose the privilege package as we didn't think there was enough value in the extra $$. 1 a la carte restaurant closed each day, but we didn't find this inconvenient and never had trouble getting in to which ever one we wanted. Would definitely go back again a we love the Catalonia resort chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is fantastic and the room was very nice
The weak points
Like many all inclusive resorts, the food was just okay.
Certified

Catalonia

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-01
We had an excellent vacation at the Catalonia Royal Tulum,
Very clean, most of the staff very friendly and professional,the beach is amazing. Needs improvement at the buffet cooking stations, same food every day and the cooks not efficient at all. Over all I recommend, it's worth the long drive from the airport . The host Quetzabel is the nicest person there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good experience

, Mississauga, ON
2020-01-31
My experience was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, clean, we enjoyed la cart restaurants , impeccable service, and the food was great ! The beach was amazing!
The weak points
Buffet in the evening could be better,
Certified

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-26
We purchased the premium romance package.........If you call a few hearts on the wall that look like baboon butts then this package is for you. This was one of the worst resorts we have stayed at. Right away you could tell of the older ambiance, the decor and staff outfits were really out dated.
the first morning after our late night arrival we received a phone call at 8am reminding us of an appt at 10.....not impressed.
It was stated we would receive a new renovated room, that was not true.
Our room was supposed to be stocked with liquor....apparently that means 2 beers.
The bed was old and squeaky. Even slightly rolling over in an alcohol induced sleep would wake you. The faucet in the bathroom sink sprayed in all directions at almost the pressure of Niagara falls. The toilet seat was loose and shifted in all directions...gents...be ware.
We were only given 1 hotel key as they didn't have enough until a couple days later.
We had gone out for dinner and upon our return I went to put our belongings back in the safe. It wouldn't let me in, stated there was an error. The safe had definitely been tampered with while our room was being "turned down".
It seems that they over sold the "premium" packages and were just putting those guests in any room.
The room service was par at best. Made my wife sick, and we are talking about a burger and salad, nothing exotic.
Besides the room being completely disappointing, the staff was nice and friendly. The people at "beloved bar" were amazing, the daytime entertainment staff kept the good vibes going. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Daytime entertainment staff was a lot of fun, lots of games and interactive events cleaning staff did a great job
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Regina, SK
2020-01-22
My girlfriend and I arrived at the Catalonia Royal Tulum to an amazing open lobby with a very quick and friendly check-in and welcome drink. We were made to feel at home by everyone we were greeted by and our room was perfectly set. Every detail was perfect!
The layout of the resort was very simple and made it easy to get from one place to another. It is not a huge resort, but has everything you could want.
The beach was the nicest I have ever been on. White sands, VERY clean, plenty of loungers, and not one spot was rocky or with seaweed in the water.
The pool area was perfect place to cool off after a day on the beach. Plenty of chairs, volleyball, ping-pong, fountain, and of course the swim-up bar was very good.
Great restaurants right off the pool area for lunch, or just a snack. The BLoved lounge was nice to sit at to have a drink while watching the ocean waves roll in. Oh, and the Tequila bar by the pool was the best.
The main buffet restaurant was out of this world. Always clean, great food - anything you can imagine or want - with incredibly friendly and quick seating and service from each member of the Catalonia staff. The a la carte restaurants were a nice option (no need to make reservations which was very nice), we tried each of the Mexican, Italian, and Asian - enjoyed them all.
After supper, we would grab a drink at the Margarita bar and listen to a live lounge singer or band in the lobby area. Then it was off to watch a great show by the pool in the evening.
The grounds were impeccable. The path from the lobby to the ocean went right through the jungle, with coati, a heron, turtle, fish, and yes even a friendly kitty (which my gf named Luna) to greet us at various times.
We did not get to the Rauxa show, or the disco bar, (or the gym, lol), but am sure all of those would have been great as well.
This was my 4th sunny vacation, and I had always thought I'd want to try different resorts each time. I may have to make an exception for Catalonia! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Food was phenomenal Accommodations were amazing Wildlife Great experience with everyone who worked there
The weak points
Away from the lobby, Wifi did not work as well; not the point of vacation anyway so not a big deal at all
Certified

Excellent time at Catalonia Royale Tulum.

, Bolton, HA
2020-01-22
Me and my grandson arrived to Catalonia Royale Tulum, we were greeted kindly. The entire resort was spotless, along with our room. The animation team was awesome. Victoria, Jessica, Andrea, Roni, Luca and Pietro were full of energy, and represented the hotel well. Vicente, Gabriella, Ernesto, Celine and majority of the bar staff were excellent. Every staff member we met, did their job efficiently, and kindly. They represented the Catalonia branch well. We would definitely come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice resort, perfect beach

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-07
very nice hotel and excellent service. This is the 4th time in Riviera Maya and the first time we promissed to go back.
We had a good time in this nice resort. We benefited also from the nice weather. The sea water was calm and we could watch the fish even without snorkel equipment.
Good food and good service in the restaurants (no reservation needed). The wifi worked everywhere (some blind spots).
2 Km beach of white sand to take long walks.
Only kayaks and pading boards for the water sports. Probably a small catamaran would be good.
Nice shows, especially for the new year's eve.
Very nice personel everywhere. Special mention for the reception personel, Gabriel which we met in two of the a la carte restaurants and Rosa for the beach service. Very good room service, don't know the names. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, snorkeling service bar and restaurants (no reservation needed) wifi everywhere
The weak points
rooms need some renovation (some of the buildings got it already) service personel in restaurants seemed timorous water sports need some upgrade

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Pierrefonds, QC
2020-01-06
Fantastic getaway for a couple on their Honeymoon. The service was without a doubt very accomodating at all times. Everything that was expected from this trip was accounted for in more ways than can be put into words...The icing on the cake was the weather and let's not forget the Beach with no seaweed to be found. Lastly I will add the use of water shoes is not necessary as the beautiful beach sand goes out nearly a mile so you can walk without worries of getting your feet cut on any rough surfaces. A Beautiful hideway resort not be ovelooked when planning your next couple vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice place to visit again

, Scarborough, ON
2019-12-31
Stayed 7 nights during Christmas, an unforgettable and enjoyable holiday. More restaurants in different style, very nice staff and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach with white fine sand, peculiar walk path over jungle.
The weak points
Need rebuild or demolish the building beside beach volleyball court.

Nice hotel but not for everybody

, Brossard, QC
2019-12-27
Luxury ressort for couple but not for 3 people. Room with 2 beds or 1 king bed. Difficulty to have room ready and even in restaurant need to wait for table for 3. Privilege member is a must to have access to a very nice restaurant in front of the beach. Front desk and room service very good.Overall, nice vacations at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1- White sand beach 2- Good food (2 buffets, 5 restaurants no reservation) 3- Restaurant Bloved on the beach (privilege) 4-Small resort less 300 rooms,5 min. To beach under mangrove trees
The weak points
1- Beach drink service not reliable or ignore your order and lack of supervision 2- Bloved restaurant too small for the number of privilege members 3- Lack of security on the beach vs Cuba or Dominica Rep.

Paradise!

, Belleville, ON
2019-12-05
Stayed at Catalonia Royal Tulum for nine days and never wanted to leave!The resort is just amazing! The property, the beach and the rooms are exceptionally clean ( and I am a cleanliness freak ) ! The food is very good , plenty to choose from to please everyone's taste. The beach is beyond belief and the staff does an incredible job keeping it clean from seaweed . The Rauxa show was great accompanied by a superb meal, the plating of it was just a piece of art! The nightly shows by the pool area were also very nice.
But what makes this gorgeous place outstanding is the staff! Can't thank enough each and everyone of you guys, you made our stay there unforgettable ! Special thank you to Isabel from the front desk who took great care of us from the first minute upon arriving, to amazing concierge Tanya from Guest Relation, to incredible hostess ( and my Spanish teacher:) ) Quetzabel who always made our day start right from breakfast ! To the BLoved staff -David , Angel, Esteban, Rosario, Fabiana, Eduardo, Fanny, Carlos, Isaias , Antonio, Maria Del Rosario and Flora ! To the beach waiters Jorge and Manuel for keeping us hydrated and '' agreeable drunk" :) ! To Wilber from the juice bar on the beach who has been working there for many years and proudly wears the medal of recognition on his chest! To Cinthia who is very passionate about her duties, very amiable person enjoyable to talk to! The Rauxa show was exactly what she described it would be! To our maid Elena for keeping our room spotless! Unfortunately, I can't remember all the names of you amazing, hardworking people whose job sometimes was invisible, but still made a huge difference and was very highly appreciated! Miss all you guys!
Would I recommend this hotel ? A thousand times - yes!!! We definitely are going to be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness , staff, food.
The weak points
Slow internet. The food is too good to stop eating! :)

What a beautiful time

, Markham, ON
2019-12-02
A fantastic experience. Wonderful staff, always friendly. They actually were happy to look after you. The food was excellent, only one poor meal in 2 weeks. The beach service at Bloved was outstanding. Overall the resort was excellent. I will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All employees were really great. The cleanliness on the beach was phenomenal, every day they cleaned the beach and removed what little seaweed had accumulated overnight.
The weak points
The room was very "tired" it needed renovating.

Fantastic experience!

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-02
Everything about this resort was great! We absolutely loved it! We liked the setting in the natural environment, in the rainforest close to the beach, excellent food, cleanliness and comfort of the room and kindness of all staff. Our cleaner of the room was so nice and considerate! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beauty of the setting Welcoming and diligent staff Excellent food in a la carte restaurants as well as overall Natural juice bar at the beach!
Certified

Good Resort!!

, Montréal, QC
2019-07-07
I don't usually put comments online for the hotels that I go to. But this time, I felt the need to give a praise and say back, “thank you”, to the staff who contributed towards my trip and made it a memorable one.

This resort has everything In order to relax, enjoy the variety of food available and the beautiful nature in a clean and safe environment. Noticed that many guests have been to this resort multiple times.

I would like to give a special thank you to the following staff who went above and beyond to make this vacation very successful:
Pamela
Frida
Hector
Rosa
Jose (Reception desk)
Johnny
Andre
The lifeguard (Many thanks for the help with my foot treatment...)

Few things at the resorts that need some room of improvement but definitely not an issue to enjoy your vacation.

Regards, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Again and again

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-31
Last May was my 10th time at The Catalonia. This should be a clue! It is definitely my drug of choice. The reason I go back, is just because it is a perfect place to be. I feel completely at home there with a major touch a warmth (being from Canada).
This time I went to celebrate my 60th birthday with my son of 26 years of age and his girlfriend. They fell in love with my paradise, had an amazing time and want to go back next year.
As soon as you arrive to the Catalonia, their hospitality is above anything that I have seen. Their mission is to make sure you will be happy for your vacation. And you will be. Rain or shine.
1 hour and 15 minutes away from Cancun airport, it is worth the extra ride. Located in a jungle on a very quiet beach, you get the best of both worlds. There are many palm trees on the beach to stay under the shade. No palapas and that's ok. It's a fire hazard anyway. The staff as well as the guests are amazing. I always meet wonderful people from the UK, States and Europe. Over the years I made solid friends that I have the pleasure of seeing again at the Catalonia. We are addicted to the Catalonia. It is a quiet resort with only adults of all age groups and everybody gets along very well.
They have a wonderful Spa and it is worth getting a massage there. You can also get massages on the beach a little south from the Catalonia but it is NOTHING compared to an experience at the Spa.
Don't miss the dinner show, RAUXA! Fantastic food in a very original presentation and the show is amazing. Not for conservative hearts. Unfortunately we missed it this time. It was their break time, so we have another reason to go back.
When I was there, they were building an addition to the pool, a bar! Not that I really care for it because I'm a beach person but I'm sure this will please a few customers. It should be ready by July 2019.
One concern could be the sargassum. Again, it's nature. One day here, one day gone. This should not be an issue for you. Wherever you go, nature can surprise you. Just don't miss out on this paradise.
I plan to go back before the end of 2019 for my 11th time.
I give it a 5 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, environment, staff, food, rooms, beach, pool, gym, spa and drinks of course. No reservation needed for dinned! Casual attirement.
The weak points
Guests that feeds wild animals. Wish they would stop that. These animals are wonderful bug repellents. If they are fed, then they don't do what is natural for them, eating bugs...

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Calgary, AB
2019-04-16
Beautiful small resort with excellent food, very friendly staff and lovely beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points are the food, no reservations needed at the a la cartes, lush tropical walk to and from the beach/lobby.
The weak points
Only a few minor complaints -- I didn't like how the Exclusive Travellers Club staff wanted to sell you their membership (every day someone would approach us). And in a perfect world, there would be no smoking anywhere..... even on the beach.
Certified

Exceptional Service !

, Brossard, QC
2019-03-02
The service is exceptional, the staff is always smiling and their attention to details is great!

The Food is excellent in all the different restaurants.

Provileged fee is a must to get access to BLoved! The scenery at the BLoved is a must so is the culinary experience!

To go resort for couples!!

Thank you, had a great week! ;) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional service!
The weak points
Not for singles!

Catalonia Royal Tulum

, Aurora, ON
2019-02-12
Our stay at this resort was fabulous. What made our stay so special was the beautiful beach and the amazing service we received from everyone. Arturo Angel at the front desk was extremely helpful and efficient. Quetzabel, the hostess always met us with a warm and friendly smile which we always appreciated. At the buffet Manuel Jimenez and Gerardo Canul served us with wonderful hospitality and efforts. It made our meals stress free.
The Steakhouse was absolutely our favourite restaurant where we dined 2 evenings. The steaks were delicious and the service by Gabriel Canol made our meal a fine dining experience. Kudos to all of the well trained service professionals!! We would definitely come back to this resort. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has a beautiful sandy beach that is not too rough which allowed us to use the cayak on calm days. The hotel crew were very good at keeping our area on the beach seaweed free at all times.

Incredible!

, Rosedale Station, AB
2019-02-11
We loved this resort!! I loved the seclusion of the rooms and the size of the resort is very appealing. When I booked it I was a bit disappointed there were no ocean views from our room but after staying there I much preferred the jungle views and the coati were a big source of entertainment. The entire staff were beyond wonderful and would bend over backwards to meet our needs. I wish I would have written down a few names. The food was very good, we ate in the steakhouse grill often. Seaweed was a bit of a problem, but the staff worked tirelessly to try and keep the beach clean (this has zero reflection on the resort, just an observation) The resort is quite a ways away from the airport, but this is what we wanted. The shuttle was comfortable and the drivers very professional. We didn't have a problem finding chairs on the beach and only had to wait once for dinner. That was completely fine, we were given a pager want went for a drink. We found there was not many Canadians at this resort, lots of Europeans. That was great fun too, brushed up on our Italian! I loved the fact we could party if we chose to or find smaller more quiet venues. There is not a doubt in my mind we will go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The smaller size of the resort was perfect!! The entire staff and crew were fabulous! Couldn't be happier.
The weak points
We had a hard time exchanging money into smaller denominations for tipping. We only went for a week and it was not even close to being long enough!

Great place to relax, great beach, great staff!

, Montréal, QC
2019-02-07
Stayed for 1 week with my boyfriend in week of January 20, to celebrate our birthdays. Chose it for its size and relative isolation from mega hotels. Narrow layout, so a teeny (but pretty) walk if you want to go lobby to beach. None of the rooms have oceanview but the lush vegetation and well-maintained gardens in between room blocks is beautiful, so you get nice greenery and aren't staring into someone else's room or at a parking lot. I chose to upgrade us to Privileged category which gave us a 3rd floor room in the Agua pavillion, one of the closest to the pool/beach area. Lots of coati running around the central walkway in between the room blocks (speaking of which, don't bother with heels as this is uneven stone with lots of gaps, you'll bust your neck).

Privileged also gives you access to the B'Loved restaurant, which basically became our go to for meals... great service, and a reasonably high quality of food. Gabriella and everyone on the B'Loved team were so nice and so attentive. We never made it to the buffet but did try the Mexican (not very romantic lighting but ok food) and Asian (lovely outdoor setting but nothing like Asian from back home). The upgrade also gave us access to the hydrotherapy which was welcome on some days when we didn't have glorious sun. A little confusing to realize that the dry sauna and steam room are on the 'men's side and so you have to go out the back end of the women's changing room and back in on the men's side. Beautiful, peaceful central area to chill in.

Beach was perfect and walkable in either direction. Rough sea days mean lots of seaweed but that's not the hotel's fault and they work tirelessly to remove it, with guests helping too!

If I had to pick a complaint, it would be about the Exclusive Travelers Club sales guys trying to get you to buy in. We had to be firm a few times but then we were usually left alone after that.

CWT is mostly about relaxation and a quieter, more mature clientèle was what we noticed. There was a discothèque but not much going on in there, could use a bit of an atmosphere overhaul. We'd have like to see a bit more musicians and not 'jammed into a corner' of the main lobby but I think the hotel layout made this difficult to position elsewhere.

Altogether a great week and I would recommend for people looking to relax and enjoy great service with a smile! (even if your food ends up taking more than a 'Mexican minute', sip a good tequila, relax, enjoy! #BeCatalonia) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Stay!

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-31
My boyfriend and I came to Mexico for a relaxing holiday and this resort did not disappoint! Rooms are clean, grounds are beautiful, food/drinks were excellent and above everything we found the staff to be amazing. Ivan at the front desk was extremely helpful and speedy with check-in. We also met Gabriela who was super friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel taken care of! We didn't partake in too many activities however the individuals running the events seemed fun and always in good spirits. Some might say the location is not ideal, but we rented a car for a total of $15 for 4 days so it was no problem getting to and from the airport. We also really liked the location because it was close to Tulum where we visited the Mayan ruins and went out to dinner. Our only complaints were the individuals selling time shares, and the photographers - although both groups were very friendly we found they could be a little aggressive at times. Overall if you are looking for a place to party this is probably not the spot for you, however if you are looking for a relaxing getaway with a partner/friends/family than I would highly recommend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Friendly Staff/Excellent Customer Service -Food Allergy Awareness -Beautiful Beach/Grounds -Clean Rooms -Excellent food and drink options

Amazing resort, Outstanding food, Beautiful beach

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-01-28
Went to CRT from January 16-23. We loved our stay and experience. From the moment we got off the shuttle and stepped into the lobby we felt welcomed. A special thank you to Arturo who worked at the front desk and answered any questions we had during our trip. We decided not to upgrade to Privelege and felt we did not miss out on anything. Even without upgrading the food and experience is second to none. I understand that the food is amazing at the "Priveleged" restaurant Bloved but we thouroughly enjoyed the food at all the other restaurants and buffets. A special shout out to Nicholas who served us in the buffets several times and did an amazing job.

We tried several restaurants during our stay. Our favorite was definetely was the steakhouse grill. Amazing food!!! We also enjoyed the Tao Cat and the Italian restaurant. For the rest we enjoyed the wide range of foods available at the buffet.

The resort itself is extremely clean and wonderfully quiet. The walkway from the lobby that winds between the housings units all the way to the beach is a beatiful walk at any time of the day. The birds chirping and coati's running around keep you company as you meandor through the jungle. There were several times that we were approached by "timeshare" salespeople but they leave you alone if you tell them you aren't interested.

There are various activities planned throuhout the day to keep you entertained. The entertainment team does a great job in putting on beach volleyball, bocce ball, horseshoes, darts and other fun activities. Never a dull moment when they are around. Special shout out to Pamela, Frida, Hector, Erik and Joelle. Thank you!!!

The beach was one of the best parts of this resort. The soft, white sand was a pleasure to walk on and the ocean was pleasantly warm. Although it did get a bit crowded with all the chairs since the beach is not huge it was fine. We always found a place to sit and enjoy the beatiful scenery, sipping on the delicious drinks that were served by two hard-working servers. We did have some sea-grass wash up on the beach while we were there but for the most part the workers (and some guests) worked hard to clean up the best they could.

Our room was clean and since we did not spend much time in our room it worked fine for us. We were in room 1002 and it did smell a bit musty but that's to be expected in such a moist and warm climate.

We did not do any official excursions but I did go to the beach club just to the south and asked if anyone could take us fishing. The guy led us to an older gentleman named Petro who took us out for an afternoon. What an amazing time. Petro took us just off shore and we caught fish all afternoon. Definitely a MUST if you enjoy fishing!!

Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. Thank you CRT for everything. We had a great time!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach
The weak points
Pool was a bit cold, room was a bit musty smelling. Nothing too bad though.

Catalonia Royal Tulum Review

, Nipigon, ON
2019-01-18
Very friendly, helpful staff
Great food
Great sand beach with natural shade and lots of chairs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very helpful, friendly staff Great food Great sand beach with natural shade and lots of chairs
The weak points
Hotel does not observe towel return policy WiFi is slow

Continues to be a relaxing getaway

, Victoria, BC
2018-12-27
I have visited this hotel before, about 10 years ago, and it's still as nice, if not better.

Arturo and Christian at check-in handled an overbooking problem very well for us and got us a room at their sister resort for the first night. It was a pain, and not nearly as nice a property, but what can you do. If there's no room, there's no room. Anyway, they were both great, and helped us out a lot.

Edwin from the Excellence club was super friendly and always had a smile and something funny to say.

The beach is a lot more crowded than I remembered it. 10 years ago there was only two small restaurants south of the resort. Now there are large clubs full of locals and day trippers alike.

The beach is still fantastic with sugar white sand and great close reefs for snorkelling. Lots of fan coral and a giant brain coral, all totally covered in fish.

Lots of local wildlife to see. Birds, Coati, Agouti, Iguana, etc.

The Raxha show was funny and entertaining and the food was really good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms were large and clean. Food was great. Staff were all super friendly and the service was fantastic. Tasty drinks, too.
The weak points
The overbooking and loss of a night was a real pain, but handled as well as they could

Dreaming of a White (sand) Christmas

, Vancouver, BC
2018-12-27
This trip was planned as an escape from another drab Vancouver winter for my girlfriend and I, and it lived up to expectations. We found Catalonia Tulum as part of a Westjet Vacations package, and chose it because of hearing about the great beaches in Xpu Ha, as well as being in between Tulum and Playa del Carmen so that we could explore both cities. To be honest, this was my first stay at an all-inclusive so I don't have anything to compare it to, but staying with Calalonia Royal Tulum set the bar high.

The rooms are basic, but we didn't spend much time in the rooms anyways - after laying by the pool, on the beach, eating great food at the many restaurants, and exploring the cities outside of the resort, all you need is a comfy bed and a cool room to come back to and crash. That's exactly what we had. There is also 24 hour room service (the menu changes after 11pm).

The restaurants were all great, and the daily schedule for meals is laid out well. Breakfast buffet in the lobby until 11am, Lunch buffet at the beach from 12-4, and the Dinner buffet and a la carte restaurants open at 6pm. There is a snack bar at the pool open from 11am-6pm to fill the gaps so you are never without food. Our favorite restaurant was Tao Cat (asian). Neither of us felt sick the whole trip - we ate all varieties of foods, had ice in our drinks, and drank the filtered water. Maybe just don't drink out of the taps (there's bottled water in the fridges in the rooms anyways, so that shouldn't be a problem)

This was more of a rest & relax vacation for us, so we chose not to participate in much of the daily activities or nightlife. It all sounded good, and the dedicated entertainment staff is very encouraging to get everyone at the resort to participate. If they seem overbearing at times, they are just doing their job.

Free wi-fi over the whole resort, including the pool and beach is an excellent feature. With everyone using the wi-fi, expect longer loading times for movies.

We can't wait to get back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff! We were happy with how friendly everyone was. Great beach - soft sand, the reef to explore just off the shore, quiet outside of the other resort guests. Sit in a chair and watch the sunrise! Adults only
The weak points
Some of the staff may not speak English fluently - pick up a few Spanish phrases or use an online translator to help you out (I like SpanishDict.com) A little far from the airport - about 1 hour, 20 minute drive

Nice trip 2018

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2018-12-23
It was our first time in Mexico. We really enjoyed our trip. We opted for a smaller resort for adult only to be quiet. It was the case. Nice beach, no seaweed, nice resort, we particularly appreciated the fact that we didn't have to fight for chair at the beach or to reserve restaurant. We did some snorkeling, there is a nice reef accessible directly from the beach. We had 4 days of quiet sea ideal for snorkelling and then 2 days of nice waves and had fun with the rented boards. Food was good, the asian restaurant was really nice and the offer was varied at the buffet. Thank you Rosario for the nice Margaritas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, quiet, small resort for adult only. A lot of chairs available on the beach.
The weak points
Jacuzzis are only accessible for privileged guests that pay an extra 300$.

Beautiful Hotel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2018-12-12
Isabel at the front desk was very kind and accommodating. She made our wedding anniversary hotel stay very special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Warm and friendly staff
The weak points
None

Catalonia Royal Tulum 10

, Montréal, QC
2018-09-23
Avantages: Excellente chambre grâce à la réception Amaury. La nourriture est fabuleuse, très variée et avec beaucoup de saveur. L'hôtel est au milieu de la jungle et vous pouvez voir de nombreux animaux intéressants. Tout le personnel est très sympathique et certains parlent français à la réception. Belle plage et vous pouvez faire d'excellentes promenades. Il n'y a pas un seul point négatif. Tout est spectaculaire. Merci pour tout. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellente chambre nourriture est fabuleuse

Better hotel ever

, Burnaby, BC
2018-09-10
I want to thank all the staff of Recepcion for giving us a warm welcome and for helping us so much to enjoy the hotel and the surroundings. Since we arrived they have not stopped smiling and being kind to us. Before leaving the hotel we asked to speak with Mr. Amaury, Head of Reception to thank him for so much hospitality from his team. The best part of going to the breakfasts was to go through Reception and be greeted with a good morning Mrs. Ota and a big smile. In the buffet there is a lot of variety of food and the juices are delicious. The staff service throughout the hotel is wonderful. The music in the lobby, in the bars and during the animation activities are excellent, very Caribbean and joyful. Nice Beach, nice cocktails. Comfortable beds and enough in all areas of the beach. One negative point is the towel change service in the rooms. The housekeeper girl did not change our beach towels daily, luckily we were able to change them at the Reception. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk The staff
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020