Barcelo Maya Beach

Barcelo Maya Beach
4.074.074.074.074.07
4.07 based on 457 reviews
#24 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (89)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Amazing Experience

, Richmond Hill, ON
2019-10-28
Everything in this hotel is nice, This was our 5th year coming to Barcelo. The service here is excellent. From food selection to customer service, clean beaches and pools. Along with many activities for the whole family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service, Particularly from Angelo Serrato who looked after us .
The weak points
Our room AC didn't work , but they quickly switched our rooms once we acknowledged this issue.

Maya Beach Lobby Bar

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-09
My husband and I have been coming to the Maya Beach for the last 11 years. The staff are like family to us. The bartender Alberto Alcocer in the Maya Beach Lobby Bar is amazing. He's so knowledgeable when it comes to making alcoholic drinks and he makes a fabulous cappuccino. As soon as you walk in he greats you with a friendly smile and his hospitality is what people love to have when going into the lobby bar. He's the perfect bartender for the Maya Beach Lobby Bar. Go in and say hi to him, you won't be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Knowledgeable with drinks, friendly, service, sports on tv, conversation & best cappuccino
The weak points
None
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-14
Dear Mrs. Natalie, Thank you for your kind remarks from your experience lived at Barceló Maya Beach. It's so overwhelming to know, we have achieved with you and the family, a memorable vacation. Making once again, an overall satisfaction, we hope to host you soon. Warm Regards, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barceló Maya Beach

Amazing Service

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-06
We have been coming here for 11 years, the service and friendship from the front bellman is amazing. Anything we need they get it for us and go above our expectations. Israel Bonilla, Angel Serrato and Juan Montejo are fantastic. Top quality service, we love them ♥️. We met the new manager Jose Luis Serrato and he was incredible with helping us with our vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, beach, friends, service, restaurants, food, clean, our second home is paradise.
The weak points
None
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-14
Dear Mrs. Natalie, Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review, we are so pleased to read your positive and delightful comments. This mean the world to us, it marks the outstanding service that we are well known. We look forward to welcoming you to Barceló Maya Beach soon. Warm Regards, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barceló Maya Beach

An experience worth living

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-01-24
I went with my wife to Barcelo Maya Beach and it was an amazing experience. Everybody in the hotel it's always smiling and the staff is great, they have wonderful staff members that go out of their way to help you ensure that your experience is as good as you can get!
Special mention to Jose Oropeza who was our concierge during our stay! If you get the chance look him up, he is quite a charming young man who constantly looks to make your trip even more enjoyable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Try out the Premium Level, it really heightens your experience of the resort. Thanks Jose for recommending the service, it was worth every cent!
The weak points
Had some issues with the wines they serve as they are always at the wrong temperature, however staff can work with you in getting everything right if you ask them! Also beware, WiFi is not included (another reason to get premium)
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-05-14
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you have made on your recent visit to Barceló Maya Beach. This way can understand, how our guests have fully enjoyed their stay. Our main goal is to achieve the maximum satisfaction of our customers, we are so glad we have achieved this with you. Once again, we appreciate your valuable opinion, we hope we can have the pleasure of having you back very soon. Yours Truly, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barceló Maya Beach

Our home away-9th time

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-30
This was our 9th visit in 7 1/2 years. We love how as soon as you get there you feel welcomed by the best Bellman Angel Serrato and Israel Bonilla, Jaun was always saying hello where ever we saw him. If you ever need something they are more than willing to help or ask how things are going. The reort is very clean, always someone cleaning, cutting or setting up. Food excellent, always something for anyone, if on special diet it can be made for you. The pools are amazing, bar staff friendly and will make you anything you like, if dont like it will make you something else. Jesus Rodrigues at ElCelito pool bar (adults only) if the best, always a happy smile, keeps the pool area perfect and is a very hard worker.. Our waiter Jullian Pucido would have our table set and waiting every morning and his partner Sylvia.did the same on his day off. Alberto Alcocer barman at beach bar fantastic, Elena Fresita always a smile, hug and improving on her English every year :-). Looking forward to going back Jan 15/2019 for 10th time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, friendly staff, lots to do
The weak points
check in slow

Another Amazing Trip to Barcelo Maya Beach

, Guelph, ON
2018-11-28
We have just returned from Barcelo.This was our 10th time visiting in 12 years.Exceptional service at a Gorgeous resort.Huge thank you's to All at resort but 2 special men in our lives Angelo Serrato & Israel Bonilla they go so out of ther way to make our vacation Enjoyable & Memorable.Thank you very much and we will see you next year.....Cheers Amigos !!!! We Love Barcelo Maya Beach :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is immaculate,service is 2nd to none and the employees are so freindly and make our stay so satisfying.

My Happy Place!!

, Hamilton, ON
2018-10-23
We arrived at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort and greeted in the lobby from our favourite bell boys with open arms from Israel Bonilla and Angel Serato. These two men always go above and beyond to make sure they can help in any way for our entire trip.

We checked in to the Premium Club and met with Lorena Guerrero who helped us coordinate our group of 15 people all arriving at different times and was able to accommodate all of our room and dinner requests. This woman is amazing at her job and made our vacation perfect.

During our stay we ventured to many places in the resort and received fabulous service from Isabel Garcia and Jose Becup at yhe Tequila and pool bar, as well as Denali Logan Trejo and Jose Luis Mendez at the Piano Bar in the Tropical section.

During a rainy afternoon I spent a couple of hours at the Spa for the hydrotherapy circuit where the staff was very helpful in giding me through the circuits, my only regret is not getting their names! I left feeling relaxed and energized..highly recommended a visit to the spa.

The grounds are beautifully manicured and it is always something to watch how hard all of the groundskeepers work.

The ala carte dinners are like fine dining and the waiters are very attentive making each dinner special.

I can't say enough of how much I love this resort!!

Aerobics in the Tropical pool, snorkeling with the turtles by the Palace to swimming with the fish at the pier I can always find something fun to do! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jr suites are beautiful, friendly staff, delicious drinks , Yummy food, fast wifi never failed.
The weak points
I had to go home

Wonderful!

, Orleans, ON
2018-01-17
We went down to this resort for my daughters wedding - 40 of us.
This resort had something for everyone, beach is great, food excellent, entertainment good. They do an amazing wedding - the staff outdid themselves. It is a large resort that will be keep everyone busy, so many things to do you don't have to leave the resort! Recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All good

Barcelo Maya Beach

, Ajax, ON
2017-06-02
A big resort as 3 resorts combined. Food great, pools clean, always chairs and wonderful beach. CHECK in and CHECK out absolutely brutal and need more staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A big resort when combined with 2 other resorts. Beautiful grounds, lots of pools & ocean. Food was great and al le cartes. No bugs,lots of chairs. Shows in evening were entertaining/alot of talent.Staff very particular about table settings.
The weak points
Check in was brutal and took over 2 hours from start to finish. Check out took 1 hour. Need more signs on property. No entertainment on beach, drink service or music. Lack of flowers around resort, mostly vegetation. Gym lift 18yrs old rule.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach Resort

, Surrey, BC
2017-03-11
Grounds were very beautiful. We have been to many others that were not as nice. We had the worst room in the resort. The area we looked out on was small and unkept. Asked to move and received only promises and excuses for 3 days. Then we just gave up. Some place for mature adults to gather and dance/socialize in the evening would make this a much better place. We would not return as there was nothing to do after dinner that interested us. Resort is perfect for families with kids but not others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and pools. Very well landscaped . Lots of beautiful palms.
The weak points
Very little activities for adults 50 yrs of age with no kids especially at night. Aside from the Disco that doesn't open until 11:00 there is nothing to do. The shows are very amature but they try hard. The piano player plays for a short time one evening.
Certified

Great Hotel

, Pouce Coupe, Br
2016-05-20
You could tell the hotel has been renovated, the staff was great.
Only issue is we paid for the tropical side, which is more expensive and were given the beach side, which is less expensive. Also we were there for a family wedding and no one was even close to each other, which was a disappointment as well. However we made the best of it and had a great time.
Even though it says tips included, we tipped small amounts at the meals, and the housekeepers, as the staff went above and beyond in service and never expected any tips.
The hotel should also look at changing the uniform to include shorts as the weather was so hot and we felt sorry for the men dressed in black dress pants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were exceptional, Very clean hotel and grounds, great value for the money spent. They accept Canadian Money
The weak points
Internet was extremely expensive to purchase, gift shops, and stores you have to either pay by credit card or charge to your room, can not pay cash.
Certified

Great vacation

, Orleans, ON
2016-04-14
Initially it was off to a bad the card key did not work so another room was provided. To my surprise the next day a complement bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries was at my room. There was plenty food to choose from all day with pleasant staff to serve you. The beach was very good. There were a lot of activities to choose from, as well nightly entertainments.
I only chose one el la cart restaurant and had very good steak.
I'll be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service always with a smile. All issue were dealt right away. Very good location. Lots of shops to shop at. Was able to go to 5 out of 6 resorts. good bus shuttle service.
The weak points
Free Wi-Fi 24hrs. with a Wi-Fi info site showing all activities. with ability to communicate with others members of your party. So much going on not every wants to do the same thing. it would make it easier to reconnect.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach Resort

, Arnprior , ON
2016-03-09
I have just returned back from a 7 day trip to Mexico. I was staying at the Barcelo Maya Beach Tropical resort. The resort itself is in a beautiful location with lots to offer, there are four different sections of the resort that are combined. It is well maintained and the services are fantastic. This is a great place to go with family and friends. There are numerous water parks for the kids to play in through out the day. The evening entertainment was enjoyable, with multiple options. The food at the buffet was always fresh with moderate selection. There are a few buffets to choose from with different food options at different locations throughout the resort, and the restaurants within the resort were great as well. All in all it was a fantastic escape. Treat people with respect and you will be respected in return.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great services and staff throughout!
The weak points
Ignorant tourists... But you can't change people
Certified

Riviera Maya Beach Resort

, Ancaster, ON
2016-02-24
Hotel was great, Food was great too. Lots of variety to choose from. Had a vegan section if you needed anything ie. gluten free or dairy free they would make it special for you. Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of water sports/ variety of food/ extremely well kept resort-very clean!!!
Certified

The review

, Laval, QC
2015-06-14
Great Hotel but the food needs to be much better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great hotel
The weak points
Buffet quality of food was ok! Need better quality of food
Certified

Barcelo Maya April 2015

, Cambridge, ON
2015-04-26
Excellent resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent room, a/c consistent temperature and quiet. Staff was great, lots to do at the many Barcelo resorts. Nightly shows were good. Food quality, variety very good. Lots of places to eat and get drinks. Never had to wait in line anywhere for anything.
The weak points
Swimming was good but some bands of rocks when walking out in the water so could only walk out so far. Not as good as Dominican and Cuba but beach area was very good.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach

, Surrey, BC
2015-02-16
A wonderful holiday - staff excellent especially in the buffets and at the grill. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and beautiful location
The weak points
The Sunwing reps were extremely unhelpful. Internet access should be available at no extra cost. The bathroom and the room are in need of updating.
Certified

Amazing Place

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-20
The resort was beautiful, clean and well maintained. It didn't feel like we were vacationing on top of other people. Definitely will revisit! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was friendly, food was different every day, pool entertainment was awesome
The weak points
not a lot open in the evening, al le carte was booked solid until 9pm every night which was inconvenient.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach

, Toronto, ON
2014-10-02
This was our third time to this resort in eight years. The staff, food, beach, grounds here are all excellent. The green sea turtles are coming closer to people all the time as they are being fed bananas (and peels). We will definitely return to this resort as we feel at home here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, long beach, the grounds, great food & drink
The weak points
The new dolphinarium is too small
Certified

Disapointing

, Gatineau, QC
2014-06-05
Only stayed one night. As soon as we switched on the AC, a strong musty smell filled the room, making it hard to breathe. So we slept with open patio door and no AC. Found several stains on sheets, also thick rubbermattressa cover, very uncomfortable. bathroom not very clean, grout needed cleaning. We askedfor a room change, no other room available. Offered us champagne and 2 extra a la carte cards. (we were enttitled to only 2 restaurants, spanish and mexican) but advised us no other rooms available. We said no thanks. Had 2 meals at the buffet, lots of sausages and spicy stuff, catering mostly to spanish people which was about 80% of guests. The next morning i contacted the Travel rep and he found us another botel for the same price with nice upto date room clean sheets and no fowl smell. would not recommend this hotel due to mypersonal experience, don't know if other rooms were better At 11:50 am as i was leaving the room to catch a taxi to the new hotel, i received a call from the supersivor stating they had miraculessly found us anther room. Too late!. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice new lobby area, close to excursions, good bay for snorkeling. Staff was very nice except for front desk.(.they were useless).
The weak points
Beach has lots of coral, good for snorkling but not for swimming. Room drinks and food was sub standard
Certified

Family Vacation

, Strathmore, AB
2014-05-01
Resort was very nice my only concern is there was 4 of use and I booked the rooms as double occupancy but ended up with only one room so had to pay extra to get a suite that could house my family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Increadable beaches and lots to do in the resort
The weak points
No real complaints
Certified

Second time - it's still great!

, Hamilton, ON
2014-04-28
Pools, beach, and grounds are all kept quite well. Food was good - there was some foods we didn't care for, but it was still fun to try new things! For the most part, service was excellent. Would love it if they had bicycles for their guests to borrow. All in all, a great trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Many places to relax - could always find things to do, and places to nap ;) Dollar for dollar, a great resort.
The weak points
Repetitive entertainment/noise/music at one of the pools.
Certified

Beautiful place, with amazing beach

, Ottawa, ON
2014-04-28
All in all a nice trip a beautiful place with gorgeous grounds. The beach is right by the pool, and is full of tall palm trees to provide shade. No need to fight for chairs, always available no matter what time of day. We did not use the pool once even though I wanted to try their water massage fountains, the beach was too inviting. Plus there are tons of beautiful fish as soon as you walk in the water

We were in their "standard" superior room which was nice, clean and of a good size. We had a terrace in the garden which we enjoyed lots. The only critter we saw was a gecko the size of my pinky! Oh and great showers! We did bring our own products though as they have dispensers and prefer my own.

The food was delicious. We ate at the buffet every night. I usually go to all specialty restaurants, but the buffet was so good that we skipped it. I am a foodie and usually only go to 4 1/2 to 5 resorts (last one being the Paradisus Esmeralda) so I was extremely surprise and pleased at the quality and choices of the buffet.

Now the bad... The very bad. I only drink wine, one or two fruity drinks maybe but I like a nice crisp white wine. What is served at the Barcelo comes from a spout and keg, need I say more.

This wine wins the award for worst wine ever made and served! It was swill and the chain should be shamed into upgrading the quality of wine. They are a Spanish chain serving Mexican wine - I wonder if the share holders have been honored with a wine testing session! My message: serve decent Spanish wines! At least two options for each. Sauvignon Blanc and whatever other decent "cepage" is available in Spain. Note for the red, nothing with so much tannins that you spend the night in the bathroom or come home with purple mouth. I hope I was clear enough!!! Oh I forgot to mention, you can buy wine.... That sells for 12$ at home, here you can have it for around 60$. I am not kidding, the wine list had nothing under 55$ coupon or no coupon I felt I was being ripped off. They need much better marketing if they want to upsell.

Now for the rest of the bars etc, the service is always very nice and polite, they work hard everywhere you see them. We tip the grounds keepers, the ladies who sweep up, who clear up tables and anyone who goes above and beyond.

I spoke about the wine, now the alcohol ... I couldn't have wine so I looked for alternatives . Since I was in a regular room, I was subjected to more unbelievably bad alcohol lol! How can you mess up vodka cranberry ? Bad vodka.... Even the tequila was rough and of poor quality.

In the end the great location and food made up for the bad drinks. The staff was very friendly, but did mostly speak Spanish , no big deal, brush up on your Spanish [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall grounds, set up. Beaches and food.
The weak points
Wine, wine, wine and low quality alcohol
Certified

Our nightmare

, Athabasca, AB
2014-04-22
The hotel itself was fantastic. This was our first trip to Mexico and we had no idea what to expect. When we were picked up at the airport by the Best Day people we were told that we were to come to them to book our excursions which is what we did. At the time we had no idea that we could book our excursions through the hotel which is what we should have done. The Best Day people really pushed the "free shopping trip" to Playa Del Carmen. They told us that it would cost us a fortune to book through the hotel as that would be by cab and was very expensive but if we booked through them it would be free and as an added bonus we would get to stop in at a jewellery factory and see how local jewellery was made. We booked through them for our "free shopping trip". Our stop at the jewellery factory turned out to be nothing but a total farce. It was a jewellery store with VERY high pressure salesman and we were not allowed to leave when we wanted to and when my husband finally had enough and got extremely agitated we walked out the door and two salesman actually chased us outside and continued to harass us. There was a shuttle bus parked to the side of the building and as we were walking toward it we were told that we could not get on yet. I feel that we were not allowed to board the bus so that the pushy salesman had a chance to continue harassing us. When we got to Playa Del Carmen we were dropped off in a very seedy area and told that if we walked this way and that way and took a right here and a left there we would come to an area where there were shops (this was after dark)we got to the shopping area and we were immediately accosted by employees of the hotel that recognized us as hotel guests (servers, front desk, housekeeping) they apparently were the shop keepers as well as hotel employees and again we had to deal with very ignorant and pushy people (not at all like the act that they put on at resort)they insisted that we come in and buy things from their shops. They literally grabbed our arms and were pulling us into their shops. When we pulled away and would not go into the shops they got really nasty and said things like "come on in and let me rip you off" This behaviour reflected badly on the resort as I feel that the overly friendly service and tripping over themselves to make our stay comfortable was just a set up to butter us up for the nightmare that we faced when we left the resort. I am not sure that we will stay at this resort again as I have trust issues now and feel that the staff are not genuine and that we were set up as "pigeon's" right from the Best Day people right down to the hotel staff. If I were to stay at this resort again I would never leave the resort except to go on excursions booked through the resort itself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, food was great
The weak points
Staff were not genuine...only interested in the money they could suck out of the resort guests
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach

, Medicine Hat, AB
2014-04-02
This was my first time in the Mayan Riviera, and it was definetly worth the trip. The excursion I took to Coba was very enlightening, and I learned a lot about Mayan culture and Mexico in general. Although there was some construction going on at the resort, there was no undue noise, and the grounds were always kept up. I was impressed with the shuttle system that went from resort to resort in the Barceló chain. There was also lots of shopping areas at the resort. I would really like to go back some day. The only real negative thing I'd have to say is that it cost me way more travelling by myself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful complex, friendly staff,awesome food
The weak points
not being able to go to the other resort restaraunts or bars, even though the Palace and Colonial are no better than the Maya Beach.
Certified

Nice Holiday!

, Bathurst , NB
2014-03-25
All in all we had a wonderful week.We were a little tired after the long commute from the airport, but once we settled in we're happy with our choice of resort. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The grounds are well kept and we enjoyed seeing all the wildlife and birds outside our balcony. The pools are plentifull. And clean. The entertainment was not as good as we have had at other Barcelo Resorts. The food was basic, a good selection,it did not offer a big selection of seafood and on seafood night the scallops etc. was raw not cooked and it did not appear there was any place to get it cooked for you. So even though it was offered to you unless you wanted it raw , you could not eat it. The buffet selections were lukewarm to cold. Other Barcelo resorts, had covers on the servers. You had to take the cover off to serve yourself , but the food wAs MUCH warmer. A microwave would be useful in the dining room for those wanting their food hotter.This is my only complaint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach ,clean hotel,comfortable beds ,polite friendly staff.
The weak points
Unless you are having spagetti at supper which is boiled and served hot and ommolettes are great at breakfast because they are freshly made. The food in the servers is at best lukewarm. The food in the servers should be covered to help keep the heat in.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach and Caribe

, Pembroke, ON
2014-03-22
Barceló Maya Beach Caribe was ok,nothing spectacular.The resort was a good size and not a far walk for anything.Service was fine in the dining room.Beatrice was Great!Entertainment at night was good.No coffee self serve machines in the lobby for after hours or a early flight.Beach was the best part!Food should have some quality control.Making sure it it clean and nothing else in it.Will not be returning to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service is amazing.The beach is very nice.The staff are courteous for the most point.
The weak points
No self serve coffee in lobby.Balcony and bthrm cleaner.Towels stained.Bartenders often ignored you.Overcharged 28 dollars for excursions at checkout.Food repetitive,pin found in spinach.hair in the salad.CHECK YOUR FOOD BEFORE YOU EAT IT!Chipped cups...
Certified

Barcelona maya beach

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-08
See the ratings below [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff,food,and beach.
The weak points
Large complex that take some time to get used to,
Certified

Excellent as usual

, Guelph, ON
2014-03-05
We have stayed at this complex often, although not usually at the Caribe. With last years rebuilding of the Beach Resort the Caribe is now the most worn down of the 5 sections (it is slated for overhaul this year); that said it is still an amazing resort on its own, and part of a great complex. They pride themselves on their service and they should! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food (all restaurants)
The weak points
none - beaches aren't perfect but close to it.
Certified

Barcelo

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-24
rundown bathroom no free wifi in the rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly stuff
The weak points
Bad room service dirty ceiling.
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020