Riu Palace Riviera Maya

4.384.384.384.384.38
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#51 of 117 hotels in Riviera Maya
4.38 based on 149 reviews
Traveller pictures (31)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Riu Palace Rivera Maya

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-10
Excellent service, significant buffet food choices. No need for the specialty restaurants, buffet is plenty awesome.

Drinks, food, and service were all “top shelf”. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, service, service. WIFI everywhere. Great location; minutes to shopping.
The weak points
Although the actual beach is gorgeous, the water most days had too much seaweed in it for us to enjoy. Used the pool for the most part. Did not like the Japanese restaurant, and also heard the same from other guests when we were there.
Certified

Great

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-01
This was our third time in this hotel. And I will come back again. Regardless the cons. Because for me beach and food are major priorities.
If somebody is looking for night life, entertainment, high end decor, pools and bars - may be not the best place to go.
I did want to mention though that over the years quality went down. Entertainment staff is not as professional as before, majority don't understand English, shows are extremely poor (due to unprofessional staff). Don't take me wrong - people are really nice, they work hard 24/7, just not the same level as it used to be. But I suspect that this hotel is not an exclusion. This probably happens everywhere. They try to keep prices low.
Beach is great because it's all sand, you can walk all the way to Playa Del Carmen or the same distance in the opposite direction.
Food is great for me because there is great choice of fish, seafood, meat, chicken, vegetables, fruits and deserts (they even have flan sometimes - I love it). There is restaurant (buffet during the day) right on the beach, so you can have lunch with ocean view and nice breeze. It is wonderful!
Rooms are little dark for my taste and outdated, but cleaning staff does amazing job cleaning them 3 times a day. We just put the red sign after first time, because we really just slept at night in the room. Spent the rest of the time outside. Isn't it the purpose of going there? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, grounds
The weak points
Entertainment
Certified

Nice Hotel but NOT 5 star....4 is even generous

, Pierrefonds, QC
2017-11-01
We bought this as a 5 star but it is not. Built in 2006, this place is in need of renovations. That being said, the staff is wonderful, friendly helpful and fun. Enrique at the beach was especially amazing ! Ridiculous amount of beach vendors really spoil the rest at the beach. Also advertised were beach activities, but the hotel has contracted that out to a company to sell you these things that are typically included. Food was great however we both (along with a number others we talked to) dealt with digestive issues 1-2 days, so something went wrong somewhere.... Housekeeping does a great job, except they start early in the morning rumbling through hallways with their carts (woke me up every day !) and stay out all day long in the hallways(perhaps they need more cleaning staff to get it done quicker). With the paper think walls, there was always noise, walkie talkies and staff heard out there.Entertainment was typical. Our first stay at the strip in Playa Del Carmen, and they way over-packed all the hotels together. We had expected a more appropriate place for couples, but it was overloaded with kids....We liked our stay, but doubtful we'd ever go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, awesome staff, clean facilities
The weak points
Needs to be updated, need to soundproof walls and doors, hire more staff, water sports are NOT included, way too many beach vendors, over crowded area
Certified

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

, Thunder Bay, ON
2016-03-04
Beautiful hotel with old world charm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location for a walk into Playa. The beaches are beautiful and great for walking. Access to the 4 other Riu resorts near by. Very clean resort.
The weak points
Some of the a la cart restaurants wernt up to par with other resorts. The entertainment was just ok. The resort or pretty much shuts down at 11pm so not great for those looking for night life.
Certified

Riu Palace

, St. John S, NL
2015-04-19
Awesome resort, highlights are the beach, food, service, and high quality of buildings and landscape. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and location.
The weak points
None
Certified

A true palace

, Reston, MB
2015-01-21
My husband and I went to this hotel and loved it. Excellent rooms, service, food, and beach. The staff is efficient and friendly. The food is amazing. A ton of room on the beach. You don't need to rush down to get a spot. Even shade spots by the upper palm tree area. Very clean and well maintained. We will definitely visit again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service. Amazing food. Clean. Lots of room on the beach.
The weak points
Internet only worked in the lobby.
Certified

, St Catharines, ON
2015-01-17
This riu palace is a dream you won't want to wake up from, super amazing staff, really good food… & lots of verity, Playa Del Carmen just a 15 min walk, or 5 min bus ride away… coco bongos & senior frogs a must visit, lovely beach, extremely clean, & well maintained resort, if anyone has a negative comment about this place… ignor it. PS Zanek, Choco, Ralphy, Ricki, and all the girls keep up the great work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the surrounding area, food, pool, beach, very clean.
The weak points
Internet access not that strong, but not a big deal.

Excellent Vacation!!

, Alliston, ON
2015-01-05
We just got back from a weeks vacation and loved this Resort!! The whole experience was very enjoyable!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were excellent!!
The weak points
Too much seaweed on the beach but this was the case at all of the resorts where we were.
Certified

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-09-08
We had an awesome time at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Staff were very accommodating and courteous and really did everything to make your stay outstanding! I love staying at Riu chain, because I know what I am getting and all of that is top quality. Will definitely book another Riu when I book an all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and hotel were amazing. Fabulous pool and swim up bar!
The weak points
I can't say enough wonderful things about this fabulous hotel The only thing I would say is that we had a bit of an issue with the toilet, but I have experienced this before in the Caribbean. More activities in the afternoon at the pool would be great
Certified

Leslie's Review

, Devon, AB
2014-03-02
The resort was almost perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and the beach were the highlight of the hotel. The 5th ave shopping strip was only a 15 minute walk away with lots of shops to choose from. Very quiet and really never seemed that busy or crowded.
The weak points
The air conditioning was always working and never shut off. The room was cool but never to the temp we wanted it at. The bath towels were not very soft and were not very comfortable to dry off with. Other than that we had an incredible holiday.
Certified

Nice for the price

, Edmonton, AB
2014-02-26
We have stayed at two other Riu Palaces (Cabo San Lucas, 2005, Riu Palace Mexico 2007) and knew what to expect. Great service, dependable food in the buffet and nice clean beaches. This property needs updating and is showing its age, but the service is as good as ever.

The pool was not as clean as it could have been. Much cleaner in the morning and occasionally unknown floaty bits including chicken (!) by afternoon. The beach was great with security and few salespeople. Warm clear water and sugary soft white sand. The drink service to the beach was slow as was the pool service but there was an amazing barbecue each day on the beach.

Traveling with a 6 year old to this property was a great idea. Reputable kids club with evening nanny service. Fernanda was our evening nanny and she was great. She also works the front desk and came in the evenings when we booked her (fee for service but completely within reason given her credentials). Since this wasn't the fanciest palace (Riu Palace Mexico was newer with fewer children.) there were enough children for my kid to play with at the pool and club.

All in all, pretty good. I would book not again but would choose it after it's next update. The riu palace Mexico was really nice with some updated features and better pool and beach service (you can visit all the properties and compare if you stay at the Palace). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location beach and service were unbeatable
The weak points
Pool cleanliness and dated/warn property.
Certified

Great vacation

, Chelsea, QC
2014-02-26
The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is a gem within this beautiful gated residential community of playacar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location in gated playacar (can do a great 6km walk or jog around the commnity, friendly service of all the staff, and the sandy, large, palm-treed beach.
The weak points
Timing of restaurant reservations (6:30 too early, 8:45 too late) and need for stronger internet access around pool and on the beach
Certified

Great vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-20
We liked our 2 weeks vacation very much at the Riu Palace R.M. The food and service was excellent. The Front Desk very helpful. The beach just beautiful, we like to swim in the ocean(sometimes a little wavy, but ok). We enjoyed the special restaurants,specially the Steakhouse, Krystal and Botafogo. The buffet had lots to choose from and lots of specialities. Overall we had a relaxing vacation and we would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stuff very friendly, good food, beautiful beach. Lots of palms for shadow when needed.
The weak points
People ignored the "do not reserve beach-chairs" sign.
Certified

Ist time travelling as a couple

, Brockville, ON
2014-01-29
good food excelent service clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
exceptional service! We ordered wine from room service once we were back in our room from the pool and the next 2 nights it was thoughtfully delivered without a call!
The weak points
none
Certified

Service and food excellent

, Kamloops, BC
2014-01-27
This was tooted as a five star which I am sad to say was not. The Staff and the food were amazing but the hotel is sadly needing an update. We had no hot water to speak of for 8 out of the 12 days we were there.The staff tried their best but we were never offered another room or anything for this inconvience. There is hardly any entertainment privided. Customers to the hotel continue to put stuff on lounge chairs and save them. Some people never return to them all day. There are chairs but not where you would like to sit. The beach is lovely but needs to be cleaned. Sunwing rep was not very helpful when we arrived either just told us to look in the book to see when we were to leave. Never mentioned shopping but did mentione all the tours she recommended. There is only a few ice machines on each side of the hotel not on each floor and they do not work very good. Our over all impression was that it was expensive for what we got. Oh last but not least we did not get the king bed as we had asked for but 2 small double beds. Our room smelled musty from the first day but improved as kept the door open. I would not recommend this hotel maily because of the cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the food were excellent.
The weak points
Lounge chairs were saved and staff did nothing about that and no hot water.
Certified

Great Times at the RIU

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-21
This hotel is RIU's top in the complex of RIU's in Playacar (Playa Del Carmen). Great setting, PERFECT beach, great rooms, but above all - OUTSTANDING service. The ratio of service people to visitors is very high, and they're very sociable and always ensure your drink's fresh and you're having a great time.

Food was very good here. I mostly ate the seafood and mexican stuff at the buffet and it was all high-dollar choices vs. what you would get cheaply in Canada. Specially booked Restaurants were good, and a couple really stand out (Krystal, Chili's).

Everyone we spoke to at the RIU was happy and having an excellent time. Most said they would go back, my party included.

Note - this is less of a party hotel, and more of a true 5-star, so while there are very good shows put on at night (hola Ricky, Diego, etc!) there is no disco. Easily solved by the 4-star RIU which is a 5m walk down the road within the secured complex having a disco that you can access.

There are only a few areas that this resort could improve:
1. Outdoor hot tub with 24 hour access [they have a sheltered one in the spa, but only until 8pm,
2. The rooms were oddly humid/damp while we were there, and we never spent enough time in the room to crack the front and balcony doors and air it out properly... so that's basically two. Some complained about wifi access (which is free, and covers the whole compound), but it worked flawlessly for me on my android device the whole time I was down there (HTC One).

All in all, fantastic stay and a great bet for that hard-earned week away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SERVICE is unbelievable - always prompt, sociable and nice, and no whiff of depressing servitude (like cuba). BAR STAFF and ENTERTAINMENT STAFF are really top-notch. BEACHES are unreal.
The weak points
Ventilation in the rooms should be improved. There's no exhaust fan, and showers add to the always-present humidity.
Certified

RIU PALACE RIVIERA MAYA

, Burlington, ON
2014-01-13
In need of an overhaul, we had no hot water all week. No acknowledgement or communciation about the issue or when it would be fixed. Staff looked like they were bombarded with unhappy guests.
My first experience at a RIU property may be my last. The beach was great and the staff (except the front desk)were full of energy. The pool was OK many broken umbrellas. Place needs a face lift, mattress in our room very hard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff(except for the front desk) were awesome.
The weak points
No hot water was extremely unsatisfactory, all week. I cannot belive it was not addressed or compensated for.
Certified

Awesome for our first visit to Mexico!

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-08
The front desk was always so helpful from booking our tour with the Local Quickies directly, to helping us get money from the bank machine in the lobby or buying phone cards to phone home with the instructions written out on how to use the phone. The hotel was always clean. The rooms were a good size with nightly turndown service. The buffets were fresh and had a wide variety of food to choose from. For my husband's 50th birthday the staff manager at the buffet decorated and gave us a special table. The kitchen staff made a delicious chocolate birthday cake and it was brought out with all the staff surrounding our table singing a special Mexican song for my husband. This was truly amazing for them to do and we were so grateful! We loved the different themed nights at the buffets and for the evening entertainment. Excellent service by the staff at the buffets and outdoor area where the nightly entertainment was from clearing our plates to serving drinks. We loved the animation crew! They were all so friendly and entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed participating in the daily activities put on by the animation staff. We had 2 days where they did a beach party and had a barbecue on the beach which was a lot of fun. You can walk to Playa del Carmen in front of the hotel along the road to the right on the sidewalk or along the beach which takes about 20 mins. There is also the Plaza Playacar shopping mall as you walk out front of the hotel to the left which is about 10 mins. I preferred to shop here as opposed to Playa del Carmen because you didn't have constant pestering by shop keepers and you could still get great deals. The beach area had large palm trees if you wanted shade and lots of chairs to choose from. There was a guard on the beach the whole day for the RIU beach areas. There were no rocks on the beach or when we went swimming in the ocean. We will definitely be coming back again to this hotel in 2014! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful front desk staff, clean hotel, very good food at buffets, loved all the animation staff,awesome beach and great location, within walking distance on beach to Playa del Carmen and plaza Playacar shopping mall
The weak points
The infinity pool was very clean all day but the lower pool tended to get dirty by the middle of the day.
Certified

It was ok. Could be better.

, Saint Laurent, QC
2014-01-01
Rooms were not as expected. Everything else was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools & beaches
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

We had a wonderful time, despite unseasonable rain

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-19
We've always thought Bahia Principe Esmeralda in Punta Cana D.R. was great...but, the Riu Palace Riviera Maya in Playa del Carmen is a big step higher for a little more money. Smaller is better. Food is freshly prepared in front of you (not brought out from the back kitchen). All the staff are fabulous and friendly (including the front desk!). And, NO TIMESHARE pitches! It's great being able to walk to a nearby good-sized town (Playa Del Carmen). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful employees.
The weak points
Poor internet access.
Certified

Great Palace

, Cornwall, QC
2013-11-28
We had a great time . The resort staff were very friendly and worked very hard to please you. Couldn't have asked for a better vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness. Location near beach
The weak points
Location of washrooms near pool/beach-- need more
Certified

Fabulous

, Headingley, MB
2013-11-25
The resort is beautiful! It is very clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The buffet choices were endless and the a la carte restaurants were excellent !
The beach and ocean are spectacular as is the pool and swim up bar.
It was our second visit there and we will definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
None
Certified

Paradise

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-25
Everything exceptional [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All perfect
The weak points
don't have
Certified

NOV 2013 Holiday

, Strathroy, ON
2013-11-10
the hotel was clean, the food was excellent, the staff was helpful and the services close together, the beach was very nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great food selections, all amenities were close, cleanliness and beach
The weak points
daily activities could be better, had to ask for room towels twice
Certified

Riu Palace

, Toronto, ON
2013-10-25
We enjoyed this trip and hotel very much. We have been to the area and to other Riu Palaces. This one was a bit more expensive but the difference in cost was well worth the upgade in terms of the room, the food and the service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, rooms, food
The weak points
Having to book a restaurant in the afternoon and wait in line to do so. They fill up quickly.
Certified

Riu Palace Riviera Maya opinion

, Bradford, ON
2013-09-20
We liked everything! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach ,garden and food!
The weak points
None.
Certified

Family Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2013-09-18
The food was good, the entertainment staff was awesome, the shows were on the dull side compared to other Riu resorts we have stayed at. I would not be staying at this one again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent, the entertainment was good and the entertainment staff was awesome
The weak points
Our room was poor, had a mould smell to it, once home we had to throw everything in the wash and leave the suit cases outside to air out.
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Calgary, AB
2013-06-20
We really enjoyed our time at RIU Palace Riviera Maya. The personnel were very knowledgeable, nice and always making sure we were enjoying every moment of the day. We strongly recommend them to everybody. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Internet access
The weak points
The resort might consider to add laundry and dryer machines for the guests.
Certified

Above expectation!

, Calgary, AB
2013-05-16
So far the best Riu resort I've visited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location and beach, extremly friendly and helpful staff especially beach/pool activity instructors. Amazing and diversified food.
The weak points
Some linguistic/communication problems with support staff
Certified

A trip that became a paradise.

, Ajax, ON
2013-05-07
First class in every way. We paid extra for the suite and got value in every way. One of the best trips my wife and I had. Unbelievable staff, a dream come true. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, food, beach, entertainment. Would go back in a heartbeat.
The weak points
Poor Internet reception, but who cares, everything else was first class.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?