El Cid Granada Mazatlan

El Cid Granada Mazatlan
3.853.853.853.853.85
3.85 based on 39 reviews
#5 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Terrible

, Brampton, ON
2020-02-08
The overall impression of this hotel is average, certainly not a 3.5 star. Very friendly staff. To eat, you have to walk about 1/2 kilometer to their buffet (Pergola Restaurant) eatery. A La Carte restaurants already booked for the whole week with only ONE available time at 9:30PM. All restaurants are a long walk to El Cid Castillo. Location is good but weekends are terrible because of some all night bars with blaring music until 4:00 AM. If you are a gym user, you will be allowed to use gym only if your have "tennis shoes". For that reason, I could not use the gym for the whole week, which ruined my trip. Temperature in January is not too pleasant either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very helpful and courteous
The weak points
Terrible food at their buffet restaurant Beach is about a kilometer away pool with snack bar is in El Cid Castillo, which is a long walk from Granada The water bottles in rooms are NOT free

Great Time at El Cid Granada

, Delta , BC
2019-03-11
Our 2 week stay at the El Cid Granada was fantastic, the rooms were very clean, the staff were excellent - friendly plus looked after every thing we needed. No problems finding staff that could speak English if needed. When you come down just remember to relax and take things in stride { 1 Mexican minute is not like a Canadian minute LOL } [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Premium Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-07
Resort is super clean and wonderfully kept up. All the staff, from the housekeepers, bellboys, front desk, money exchange, waiters, restaurant greeters, entertainers, bartenders, cooks, security guards and maintenance, they are all so very helpful and accomodating. You can't ever walk by them without being noticed and greeted. From my observations, everyone works so hard to make the guests feel welcome and comfortable. Excellent food, swimming pools, beach. This is our second time at this resort. We plan to come back again and again. Wifi is excellent and fast, connections are excellent anywhere in the resort, even at their new resort a couple of miles away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The evening shows are so professional and outstanding. Evening dinner and show are a real bonus. The numerous pools are lovely, so many places to explore, nice shops right in the resort.
The weak points
There are none.
Certified

Great stay for the price

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-04-01
We just returned from our one week vacation in Mazatlan. We are a family of five including 3 kids ages 13,11 & 9. We had a wonderful week at the resort. The rooms were clean and spacious and the cleaning staff was very punctual. We were able to use all of the amenities at the neighbouring Castillo hotel and we really took advantage of that. The pool at our hotel in the Granada is warm but very small and boring for our kids but the 2 at the Castilla had plenty to do with activities both around and in the pool. The activity staff are nice, friendly and energetic.
The restaurants were very good, especially the a la carte restaurants. We went to the Italian, (great food), Argentinian (awesome service and good food),Japanese, (great food including sushi) and Mexican (we loved the food but can not say enough good things about the servers, you rock Raul)
Special mention also goes to Jesus at the breakfast a la carte in the Granada, very attentive service.
The virtually only poor experience of our trip occurred when we attempted to check in. Our charter got us there early (around 10) and while the girl with red glasses (Oulett possibly) said we could leave our luggage in storage she was adamant that we could not get our bracelets yet. (Never mind our room which we were fine with) We were exhausted and she was snobby and extremely difficult to deal with. My sister had just returned from her trip here on the exact same flight and she teceived her bracelets but this woman was rude and would not budge.
Luckily she is an anomaly as the rest of the staff were top notch. She continued to give me the cold shoulder the entire trip but it didn't bother me, her loss. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pools, restaurants and service!
The weak points
Only weak point is the lady at check in with the red glasses
Certified

El CID Granada

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-12-24
We had a wonderful family time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food options were good
The weak points
Our bathroom was not the best. Our water tempature was very inconsistent and hard to adjust. Showers could definitly be upgraded.
Certified

El Cid Granada

, Thornhill, MB
2017-03-27
Quiet resort, not too much noise, the hot water was only tepid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, very willing to help
The weak points
No wifi
Certified

El Cid Granada, Mazatlan

, Whitehorse, YT
2017-02-20
Generally Good Experience. This is based on an all inclusive stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff, reasonably quiet, lots of activities with the use of 3 other resorts (all inclusive) English widlely understood.
The weak points
No free wifi (too expensive)
Certified

Good value for price

, Meadow Lake, SK
2016-09-22
hotel was older but was clean, everything worked . staff were great, pool wasnt busy at all until Mexican Independance day then it was busier. had to pay 10 bucks for WIFI per day which sucked, the beach was busy not enough chairs. Overall it was ok for the price we paid [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location for restaurants was good , almost a private pool,wasnt busy at all
The weak points
moldy smell in the room, not much room on the beach ,not enough louging chairs at the beach
Certified

Relaxing & Fun Time

, Three Hills, AB
2016-01-12
The hotel was older however very clean and they were painting to keep it fresh looking. Only complaint is we had hot water for our first shower after that it was just warm. Staff was amazing!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

El Cid Granada

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-24
Hotel was great, staff was good, food was excellent, but the bed was like a cement slab with bricks for pillows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, friendly staff, good food and entertainment.
The weak points
The beds I had last year were much more comfortable than this year.
Certified

Mazatlan Holiday

, Olds, AB
2014-03-16
Good. An older hotel but part of a larger group of hotels with new facilities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive had a variety of restaurants to choose from.
The weak points
Not always easy to get small change to be used for tips.
Certified

Pretty good

, Edmonton, AB
2014-02-23
Solid resort. Clean, comfortable, convenient. Service was usually good. Food was ok.
You had to make reservations for dinner, which was annoying, since they're weren't very many available (if you didn't call very early in the day), despite the restaurants not being full.
Some good tours available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room was large and very clean, no bugs! Nice big window and balcony. It was nice to stay in a hotel that was attached to 2 other hotels, because there was a large choice of restaurants, pools, services, etc. Drinks were fine, food was ok.
The weak points
The only downside was that there was was an outdoor chop shop over the wall from El Cid Granada and they were always painting cars, making the pool area smell toxic, occasionally. Luckily, there are 2 other pools.
Certified

Mazatlan Vacation

, Athens, ON
2014-01-16
The El Cid Granada Mazatlán is part of the El Cid Resort consisting of 4 hotels. The Granada has 1 restaurant the El Patio and 1 pool. The pool is quiet with sufficient deck chairs. The restaurant has excellent food but a limited selection. The room was clean and always supplied with fresh linen. We used the other hotels restaurants as they had a better selection of food but preferred the Granada pool as it was quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, access to other hotel facilities
The weak points
hard beds, having to sign for meals and drinks , having to pay for poor quality Internet
Certified

Fabulous service !!!

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2013-12-15
Exceptional service..staff goes beyond their way to make sure you have what you need...bartenders even remembers what is your favorite drink ..best service ever [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Food
Certified

Granada El Cid

, Roberts Creek, BC
2013-04-01
connected to 2 other hotels in same chain. Ours was the quietest so we could get away from the crowds when we needed to. All pools were great. Food was very good, lots of variety yet some 'comfort' items for the younger member of our group. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every staff member was friendly and helpful.
The weak points
room not done up one day.
Certified

Good Value

, Vancouver, BC
2012-12-30
We stayed at the Granada and spent 7 beautiful days lounging on the beach in front of the El Cid Castilla.

Food wasn't great, but the resort was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. We enjoyed it and would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean. Rooms were spacious. Staff were very friendly. Beach was nice.
The weak points
The food wasn't great. Very repetitive and somewhat bland.
Certified

Mazatlan Holiday Feb, 21-28/12

, Toronto0, ON
2012-03-05
We were offered the upgrade to the El Moro Tower, which we took for the first night, but were moved back to the Granada, as this was our location of choice, even though it is older. Our one bedroom suite (with two full bathrooms) was enormous, with a king size bed in the bedroom and two double beds in the area that included the kitchen/dining/living room. The furnishings were fine, just not new. The pool on our side, was in a courtyard, very nice. We also had complete access to the pools/beach/etc that were beneath the El Moro and Castilla Towers. The two main pools are heated, which was very nice, considering the weather was cool for Mexico (mid 20's with a breeze). The food was excellent at the al a carte restaurants that required 24 hrs. advance reservation and the food offered at the rest of the all inclusive areas was varied and good. We also tried one of the european plan restaurants (La Concha) which was also excellent, with a beautiful oceanfront view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and quiet, lovely beaches and wonderful staff.
The weak points
Weather and the ocean were too cool for me. Mazatlan was also too quiet, didn't appear to have much of a night life. Didn't like arriving late at night.
Certified

Hotel

, Vernon, BC
2012-03-03
This was my first trip to Mexico so it was a new experience for me.I found the Granada very comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly. Partway through our stay we moved to a room at the Castilla which we loved because of the wonderful view. The housekeeping at the Castilla was below expectations - the windows were very dirty, the bathroom floors were unclean, generally quite disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was awesome! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The weak points
The housekeeping and general condition of the rooms was not what I had expected.
Certified

Beyond Expectations Experience

, Picture Butte , AB
2012-01-24
We loved the Granada Hotel for its cleanliness and the breakfast area was great! It's nice to be served outdoors and the service was superb! Senor Frogs was noisy one evening but.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness and friendliness
The weak points
where was the free internet????
Certified

EL CID GRANADA

, Calgary, AB
2011-08-22
The hotel was awesome and everyone was extremely helpful. The room was clean and large. Beds were comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, lots of room, easy access to other sister hotel. Food was excellent in the hotel. Pool was warm and clean.
The weak points
Wheel chair access. Ramps too steep.
Certified

EL CID CASTILLA

, Calgary, AB
2011-06-01
Very good staff, upgraded my room to beach view. Overall definitely going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great atmosphere and staff
The weak points
Internet access was expensive, should be free
Certified

EL CID CASTILLA ......GREAT!

, Onanole, MB
2011-04-14
We stayed at the Castilla, as the Granada was being renovated. The food was great, as were the staff, rooms and facilities. A dream come true. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, pool areas, staff
The weak points
dust under bed
Certified

Cool for January

, Calgary, AB
2011-02-03
Upgraded to El Cid Castillo upon check-in as Granada rooms were closed to guests. El Patio restaurant was open however with excellent food & service! First time in El Cid resort. Nice variety of food/ services. Friendly staff. Bottled water in room not included so paid 120 pesos at checkout. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Choice of pools, restaurants, activities kept it new.Beautiful clean beach lovely to walk on. No adventure/ timeshare hassles at airport upon arrival.
The weak points
El cid Grenada closed for all intents & purposes. Had wanted smaller resort.
Certified

Mazatlan

, Regina, SK
2011-01-27
When we got there we had been moved to the EL CID MORO. This hotel was great. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I recommend this hotel very much
The weak points
Access to wireless should be in every room.
Certified

Jan 5-19 2011 Disappointed

, Regina, SK
2011-01-24
Very disappointed we couldn't stay at the Granada as hotel was under renovations. We were moved to the Moro which was not what we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had 2 bathrooms.
The weak points
Poor quality of food no variety and if you like chicken & fish this is for you.
Certified

El Cid Granada/Castilla

, Hanley, SK
2011-01-16
Although we paid the cheapest price for the Granada, $505 for the all inclusive, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Castilla for no extra cost !! Miles of beach to walk on plus enjoyable pools. If you're looking for a place to relax and enjoy the resort pools, this is the place. Very much a family resort, smaller waterslide for the little ones, plus deep enough water for everyone to enjoy. The food was good, but lacked a little on the presentation.The Mexican & Italian al a cartes were excellent. Two other a la carte restaraunts were shut down, probably because of the lack of people at the resort. The bars didn't have a menu to choose from, other resorts had a binder with pictures so you could choose any drink. Didn't enjoy the daily drink specials at all. Rooms were clean and not smelly.Not a typical Mexican resort with lots of colour, but would definately go back !! Local Mexican families were there on the weekend, probably outnumbered the tourists, but
still enjoyed watching families having fun! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of beach to walk on. Very few vendors. Heated pools. Lots of pools.
The weak points
Lack of Mexican atmosphere. Food lacked colourful presentation.
Certified

Great people!

, Edmonton, AB
2011-01-11
We loved Granada,even though it is a little old and tired (so are we!). After the crowds left on Jan.3, we were forced to move to Castilla (money saving move for them, I think). Still nice, but too noisy for us. They probably would have moved us again to make us happier, as they are very accomodating, but we just did not want to move for a third time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1.Overall, the food was very good. 2.Wait staff were great, activity leaders were great; all very friendly, nice, genuine people. 3.Our room in Granada was large, quiet, kitchenette, clean.Room in Castilla was smaller, a bit (not much) newer, clean.
The weak points
1.Buffets always get boring after awhile. 2.Activities, music, shows are all a bit tired and outdated; there is a need for refreshing. 3.Room in Castilla was centrally located & noisy.An exhaust smell intermittantly.
Certified

Yikes

, Calgary, AB
2010-07-21
We arrived at the Granada and they asked us if we wanted to upgrade our room, they said it was ony $70 and at the end of our trip they asked us for $90 USD. We were not told that it was in american currency.
We had trouble getting service at the hotel, and some people staying at the hotel spit on my boyfriend simply because they thought we were americans... We couldnt get drinks (orange juice in the morning) and the people staying at that country club were so rude to us. they were so rude that we couldnt even drink in the lobby.
we were told there was a Disco... No disco.
The resort was nice but the service and people sucked! Oh and jelly fish so bad you couldnt swim in the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean room
The weak points
too numerous to mention
Certified

Great experience!

, Abbotsford, BC
2010-07-17
We enjoyed the week away as a couple with the quiet pool at El Cid Granada and the excellent service at the restaurants (Jamie at La Cascada and Francisco at the Argentinian restaurant are the best!) We will come back next time with our kids as it is family friendly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fantastic food! good customer service at the hotel and a la cartes.
The weak points
dark, awkwardly located lobby. beach vendors can be a bit much.
Certified

Great value

, Calgary, AB
2010-06-25
This was great value for money for sure. The hotel was clean and spacious rooms, although we stayed in Granada we had full access to all amenities of the larger hotel, Castilla, which is connected. The food at the two hotels were excellent. Particularly the El Patio Argentinian restaurant. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Lots of people in and around the resort wanting to take you for timeshare presentations, if this isn't your idea of time well spent on holiday, you'll have to refuse often and firmly. Great beach with nice waves for bodyboarding in front of resort and great surf a short taxi drive away as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and friendly staff and wonderful value for money.
The weak points
Too many people trying to push time share presentations. It gets tiring.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020