Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa

4.374.374.374.374.37
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
#1 of 13 hotels in Huatulco
4.37 based on 118 reviews
Traveller pictures (58)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Adult Extended Family Vacation

, Stony Plain, AB
2019-07-04
There was a little problem at check in but it was resolved and the hotel gave my in-laws an upgraded room at no extra cost. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great. Didn't go to any of the shows because it was too hot in the theater. Didn't care for the glass bathroom wall in the room - I like a little more privacy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, beautiful resort, amazing amenities in room, Secrets Unlimited Luxury (unlimited calling to Canada/USA, unlimited connectivity wifi)
The weak points
Beach was like walking on glass shards. Not enough chairs at pool area.
Pro

Relaxing Week

, Calmar, AB
2019-05-01
Beautiful hotel with great service and even better dinning. Located on a stunning and secluded bay where you can enjoy the golden sand beaches and snorkeling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurants, pools, location and beach
The weak points
Wifi access is really spotty
Pro

Secrets Huatulco a paradise in itself

, Vancouver, BC
2019-01-17
Top notched Hotel, very clean and well maintained. The service and food are excellent. The staff are always there to make sure your have a fantastic experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather is always sunny and warm. The city is safe.
The weak points
Lack of plugs in room to plug your electronics.
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-20
Not a bad room to be had; they are all oceanview! Loved that the resort was small with its own beach. The staff were above and beyond nice, from the bartenders to the restaurant staff to those who cleaned our room - everyone made you feel welcome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and location are the resort's selling points.
The weak points
Bathroom set-up doesnt leave much for privacy, and if one is up earlier than their partner it's hard not to wake them up as the vanity is too close to the bed.
Certified

Best trip ever

, Plamondon, AB
2018-04-14
Secrets was an amazing resort. The weather was over 30 degrees every day, the water was warm in both pool and ocean. We went snorkeling in the corner off the left side of the beach. There was 100's of fish eating bread right out of our hands, it was a great experience.
Went out fishing with Valentino's fishing charters. Caught lots of fish, seen lots of dolphins and a sea turtle.
Plan to go back next year with friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern resort, clean, great restaurants, Oceana seafood restaurant was our favourite, great service, no bracelets, warm water. Great fishing. Had Bud light beer, Canadian's were happy.
The weak points
I had to leave, lol
Certified

Sadly, not what we expected

, Scarborough, ON
2018-04-12
The staff are very friendly, accommodating and attentive. The grounds were lovely and the views were spectacular, but the resort is not what the reviews say it is. The rooms are in a general state of disrepair. The decor is very outdated, the large sliding wall/mirror in our suite was distorted and warped.The shower floor tiles were rotting and the shower and tub area were covered in black mold. The rooms were very noisy with the guests and the cleaning staff constantly slamming the heavy, wood doors. We were told that the food at the resort would be vegan friendly, but this was not the case. Very limited menu selections for plant based eaters. We were hoping for a peaceful, relaxing vacation, but did not experience one. Very disappointed and will not visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, the pool area, the beach, the views and the friendly staff.
The weak points
The food, the accommodations and the noisy guests.
Certified

Greatest

, Kindersley, SK
2018-04-12
We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were all very friendly except at the beach where the boogie boards, sailing, paddle boats are. Terribly rude. Will definitely return and recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hands down one of your staff named Oseries (hope I spelled that right). He went over the top for my husband and I. Have to admit I got choked up saying goodbye to him.
The weak points
Nightly entertainment. Could use something more upbeat!!
Certified

Secrets

, Stony Plain, AB
2018-03-31
Beautiful resort with service second to none. Employees always ready to help you out with a smile [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reservations for restaurants not required. Food was great. Maid and turndown service was spectacular. Friendly employees and atmosphere
The weak points
Says long pants are required for restaurants (we were turned away from one on our first night) but saw many entering with shorts, some even jean cutoffs or swim wear on other nights
Certified

Amazing Resort...too bad about some guests

, Milton, ON
2018-02-18
Secrets Huatulco is above and beyond in almost every way. The food is amazing, the grounds are lush, the views are spectacular, the spa is unparalleled, and the weather is perfect.
I have nothing but praise for the ultra-polite and hardworking staff, and want to recommend this resort to anyone who would like to feel an authentic Mexico you cannot get from Cancun.
However, with only a couple of exceptions, the guests staying here are repulsive human beings. Phoney to your face, while being conniving and petty behind your back. Be warned, you must be up at 5:45am every day to claim your chair with your towel -a ridiculous practice I note is prevalent in all resorts, but especially vindictive here- or you will not get a spot by the pool for the entire day.
Even then, certain guests will take it upon themselves to move your items and pretend that yours were not there when they arrived. Of course, you could involve staff, but they cannot really do anything about certain families deciding to set up shop at a particular spot everyday. Woe to the guest who dares try to rest there lest they be accosted with f-bombs. Canadian too they were. 65 . Classy.
If I was to return, I would have to make sure I had a room with a swim-out pool. This way, we could easily avoid these toads.
You cannot rate guests in a review, so my rating is not reflective of that. My rating is reflective of the immaculately kept rooms, the easy going style of the hotel staff, the incredible food, and the charm of Huatulco. Special thanks to Candy, and the ladies of Lemascal and spa. Additionally, Euseibo the champion of the breakfast grill, and all the staff of the Mexican restaurant.
As for the guests, beyond a couple of exceptions, I'm mortified that these people call themselves Canadian as I have never met a bigger group of self-entitled low-lifes. I do believe these baby boomers have been coming here for so long they truly think the resort is named after them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Spa, The food, the staff, the weather.
The weak points
Some self-entitled guests.
Certified

Zen

, Ridgeway, ON
2018-02-06
Everything was great company just needs to put out more chairs would solve the pool chair problem.everything else is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great location,clean, good staff,
The weak points
Not enough chairs by pool or have one employee dedicated to pull blankets off chairs after half hour. People want ther cake and eat it to by beach and by pool with chairs.
Certified

Honest Review

, Saskatoon, SK
2018-02-03
We have stayed at Dreams Huatulco before, and I expected this resort to be a step up. The weather was hot, the pools are great, the food was good, staff was excellent/ But the layout of the resort was confusing. We were in building 3, and in order to get to the beach we had to take a series of 2 different elevators and walk through a bar area. The towel game is in full swing, so unless we got up before 7 am there were no chairs with shade. The beach and pool bar ran out of bottled water one morning, yet I went to the Sky Bar and they had lots.The rooms lack soundproofing to the point where we could hear conversation in the next room. If we returned to the Huatulco area I think we would stay at Dreams since it is a more compact resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, pools, staff
The weak points
Layout, steep slope on the beach, evening entertainment,

Secrets Huatulco

, Calgary, AB
2017-12-28
Modern architecture and ambiance, clean beyond reproach, perfect quiet location (at the edge of the resort).
Restaurants above average with very efficient and friendly staff.
Everybody tries to accommodate you in a way that at one point you feel almost guilty (your wish is their command). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I love Huatulco , so I am biased. The hotel has the highest overall standards in the area (from what I had seen so far - four vacations in Huatulco and counting).
The weak points
The beech / water is not so friendly for people that are not into swimming.....one can drawn 5 meters from the shore. One end of the beech was taken over by the local vendors (there is a short path from the street with direct access to the beech).
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Surrey, BC
2017-11-28
Excellent resort....food very good....wine OK.....Staff excellent....Bars OK [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Drink quality and wine could be better
Certified

Best hotel experience!

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-04-27
I highy recomend this hotel. If you can, get a room with a swim out pool. It absolutely made our trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and service was outstsnding. Room service was very prompt and there were 5 restaurant choices and each one was impeccable!
The weak points
I would have liked to have seen more live music until later at night. The bar shut down most nights by 11pm
Certified

R & R Heaven

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-04-25
I was looking for a nice place to come and just relax with no concerns and I found it here at Secrets. I felt pampered with no cares or worries and this was one of my best vacations ever.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I truly felt they cared about their guests. Definitely coming back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are very helpful, friendly. Resort is very clean. Restaurant food is very good. Rooms are very nice great views. Entertainment is very good. Staff are very good with engaging guests to play volleyball, aerobics etc.
The weak points
The only weak point would be to have better directions on getting to your room. On the first day I found after long travel to get to Secrets we were told where our room was just by pointing at staircase go that way.
Certified

Secrets Huatulco

, Toronto, ON
2017-04-11
Fabulous resort and spa!
Rooms were gorgeous, wonderful view of the ocean. The food was delicious and I loved that we could go to any restaurant any day with no need for reservations.
Staff were always smiling and beyond helpful.
I really prefer a long beach to walk along, not able to do that here.
Spa had an incredible view and the spa staff were the best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and great food!
The weak points
rough dark sand , no beach to walk along
Certified

Huatulco Secrets

, Victoria, BC
2017-03-02
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel --or anything close to it. One key elevator was out of service for 5 days; my room key failed to work on 6 days; restaurants were closed on days during high season; etc [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beaches, great location; well trained staff
The weak points
corporate feel of penny pinching (low quality food; poor quality programs; endless pressure to buy and pay)
Certified

Secrets January 2017

, Rimbey, AB
2017-02-03
Fantastic experience at Secrets Huatulco [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, snorkelling, pools, food and consistent sun and heat :)
The weak points
Tough to get a poolside chair if you are not an early riser
Certified

Amazing!!!!!!

, Yorkton, SK
2017-01-13
We had an amazing time at Secrets in Huatulco. The staff, food and hospitality were top notch. The entertainment team should make use of their sounds system and announce to the guests when activities will be starting. The singer Jorge is a top notch performer, he should be there more often. The other singers are okk, but with 85% Canadians who don't undertsnad Spanish it could become boring. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Secrets Huatulco

, Barrie, ON
2016-12-29
The hotel was very good, I felt that a buffet should be open for dinner everynight as all 8 restaurants are not always open. Beach was is breath taking, bad experience with the Secrets representative regarding a tour and sunwing flights and service certainly does not compare to the Secrets bad match. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Break from Reality

, Spruce Grove, AB
2016-01-15
When we visited this resort two years ago, we could not believe the pampering, comfort, beauty and hospitality that was bestowed upon us. While still relatively newcomers to the travel 'scene', because of the incredible weather, we decided we would try to make Huatulco as regular a destination as possible. Back again this time, Secrets did not disappoint. The high end in standards that we have experienced to date in cuisine, service, and amenities in an all-in-one were on display once more.
They know how to do it right at Secrets. When it was mentioned that this was booked on our 25th anniversary, and that someone had also dropped the ball in acknowledging us as returning guests, they immediately took action to ensure we were treated 'just a bit better'! Nicely done Secrets - another return trip when possible will definitely be in our plans! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the non-reservation system for restaurants, the available times of them and the different cuisine are very strong points. The all inclusive premium spirits and bar locations are another, as well as staff, service, and cleanliness.
The weak points
Not many. Perhaps a bit better organization for excursions, departures, etc. as it can be confusing especially for first time visitors. Also the gift store seemed to be a bit more pricey than I remembered, compared to the same goods found in town.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-11-29
every room has an ocean view, the a la carte restaurant system is excellent, wonderful service, friendly staff, very hot, would definately return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ocean view, hot sun, sandy beach, huge pool, friendly staff, short drive from airport, excellent food selection, with wonderful a la carte system
The weak points
be aware of strong waves with some undertow
Certified

Huatulco Secrets.

, Vaughan, ON
2015-02-12
it was beyond my expectations, everything about this resort was excellent, the weather was perfect the whole 7 days. the staff could not do enough for you, will return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
their was nothing about this resort, that was not fabulous, i would return in a heartbeat.
The weak points
the ocean was a little rough to swim.
Certified

Secrets Huatulco is a great secret!

, Lacombe, AB
2014-11-26
We loved our stay at Secrets! Lovely to have a quiet relaxing holiday (read no children) & have great food and service. The staff are warm and friendly. There could be more seating available for the bars. The elevators are slow and like a greenhouse inside - very dangerous! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, staff were all wonderful. I would definitely go back.
The weak points
Crappy wifi! Never could get a connection in an entire week! Elevators are unsafe! If they ever had a malfunction you would die from the heat in them!
Certified

OK but not five star

, Ottawa, ON
2014-11-17
Great water, weather, attitude of staff. Not extraordinary service or food. It was a good week but our standards are high. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, pools, attitude of staff but they were inexperienced.
The weak points
Restaurants were inconsistent. All food came out of a Mexican kitchen and it all seemed Mexican.
Certified

Secrets in Huatulco

, Vancuver, BC
2014-04-24
Excellent hotel and location. Perfect for couples - we traveled with 2 other couples and it was highly enjoyable. Would definitley recommend entire experience of Huatulco and this hotel in particular. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, location, pools and beach!
The weak points
Although fairly quiet there was a group next to us that partied at 2 and 3 am - on two occasions. The staff did end the party on the second night as per my request. Toilet and shower areas offer little privacy with see through frosted glass.
Certified

Overall great experience

, Regina, SK
2014-04-04
overall great experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff continue to be excellent and very helpful, even though English continues to be a struggle for most
The weak points
Poor communication concerning the Earth Day 1 hour blackout. Nightly performances were underwhelming
Certified

Great Adult Getaway

, Beaumont, AB
2014-03-13
We had never been to a adult only resort so we didn't know what to expect. There was a good mix of all ages and mostly couples. The rooms were amazing with beautiful unobstructed views of the ocean. The beach was a gritty sand that got very hot during the day, but still beautiful. We had a couples massage and agreed that it was one of the best massages we had ever had. This is so far our favorite all inclusive vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food in the a la carte restaurants was very good. The views from the hotel rooms were amazing.
The weak points
Resort could use more umbrellas by pool and beach. The weather was very hot and shady spots were hard to find. Internet signal was non-existant in the rooms and in general very weak.
Certified

Wonderful holiday

, Langley, BC
2014-03-09
The hotel was beautiful, we were welcomed with a drink and given our room right away, it was our anniversary so they upgraded us and gave us a bottle of champagne and had a Happy Anniversary banner on our door,all restaurants were very good, we liked Bordeaux and Casteways the best.The view from the sky bar was beautiful.The weather was hot and the sand too.Rooms are clean and very modern,nice showers and hot tubs,the beach was nice, the ocean was warm,some big waves but once you get out past the first wave it was great.There is another private beach through a path you can walk to.The service was great,everyone smiled,drinks were good and you could even get grew goose.Would go back in a minute. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent food, nice warm water and private beach,nice rooms,staff were great
The weak points
could have bands that played more modern music or at least 80's and need a better disco
Certified

Secrets Huatulco

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-06
Beautiful resort, beautiful place. Great food, kind hardworking staff. Quiet, hot, gorgeous. Who could ask for more? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, weather, relaxation. Book building 5 if you can. Don't think the swim ups are worth the extra cost.
The weak points
Older crowd, not much night life or adventurous things to do during the day
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?