Fiesta Americana Cozumel

Fiesta Americana Cozumel
4.164.164.164.164.16
4.16 based on 31 reviews
#4 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cozumel
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Very nice small resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-14
This is a small resort and different from the multi pool, long beaches and huge buffet types we usually go to.
Pick up from the airport was fast and easy. As we had an early flight we got to the hotel around 11:15. We were told we couldn't check-in until 3:00 so had to hang around in our travel clothes until then. We were able to have lunch and refreshments though.
The hotel was well kept, nice rooms, cleaned spotlessly everyday, and a balcony with a view of the ocean. Breakfast was at the buffet by the ocean and served the usual fare, tasty though. Lunch could also be had here as well and the paella specially made a couple of times was delicious. There is also a beach hut with shrimp and fish tacos and other sea food which was amazing. Dinner was at the main hotel and there was an Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurant. No reservations were necessary and we were seated quickly, the Italian was our favourite. There is also a beach party night with food and a managers reception with food on another evening. Food was excellent everywhere.
Always plenty of loungers available at the beach. Actually there is no real beach as such but you enter the water through a rocky entrance. Water shoes make it easier, but it is somewhat awkward. there are some ladders at the other side but storm damage meant that only one was usable. There is good snorkeling as soon as you enter the water
Entertainment is limited at night but there was always something happening by the main pool bar and people to mix with, we made some nice friends.
Staff are fabulous and seem genuinely pleased to serve you. Some of the best we have met.
We will definitely be returning here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plenty of loungers, no restaurant reservations, great food, internet even on the beach, and THE STAFF
The weak points
people were arriving and leaving all times of the day, yet no rooms ready until 3 pm.
Certified

Great vacation spot

, Guelph, ON
2016-08-21
We arrived, as part of a package, mid-morning and were advised that our room would not be ready until later in the day. We were also advised that we would not receive our wrist-band until we checked in.

I mildly protested and within 20 minutes we had our room and wrist-band.

After that, everything was terrific. Service was great, as was the food, room and general atmosphere.

We're not beach people, so the lack of a sandy beach didn't bother us.

I would certainly return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, pool area, and service.
The weak points
Minor issues with check-in, but were quickly resolved.
Pro

Great stay at the Explorean!

, Rimbey, AB
2016-03-07
My husband and I stayed at the Explorean by Fiesta Americana from February 18th to 25th, 2016. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. No reservations are required for the restaurants which is a bonus and service everywhere on the resort is exceptional. The only disappointment was the spa. Don't waste your money on their massage services. Overall this resort is very clean and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic service! Staff is exceptional. Fish tacos at the Cevecherie on the beach are awesome.
The weak points
Massages at the spa were disappointing and the beach is across the street. If you're looking for a white sandy beach to walk or like wading into the water this resort does not offer either.
Certified

Wonderful, small resort!

, Ottawa, ON
2016-02-05
Me and my husband just arrived back from our honeymoon at Fiesta Americana and we had a really wonderful trip. The resort was fairly quiet while we were there.

Service was amazing at every bar and restaurant we were at, all of the bartenders/servers were amazing, super friendly and more than happy to do anything for you! Fernando from the buffet and mexican restaurant and Juan from the bar were so friendly we felt like VIPs whenever they were around!

The breakfast buffet was really good with an excellent egg to order station and really amazing apple butter french toast (sadly not every day). The Cevicheria on the beach had AMAZING fish tacos and fried fish (that's all i tried but everyone seemed to really like the various ceviches). The a la carte restaurants were good, we liked the Mexican the best (amazing beef appetizer full of cilantro!), we didn't try the sushi as we don't eat it. We also tried it the free room service a couple of Times (eggs and bacon that they bring you is real crispy bacon which you won't find at the buffet).

The entertainment at this hotel wasn't exactly what we're used to at all inclusives, my husband usually participates in all sorts of activities at this type of resort (beach volleyball, soccer, horse shoes... anything really) but this resort didn't really have that kind of thing. That being said, it is a small resort and it was really quiet and, when they did organize something, the participation was kind of pathetic so i really don't blame them. The entertainment crew did organize a bike tour and a snorkeling tour multiple times during the week which were really fun and informative! It was nice to get off the resort and we felt very safe with them.

On the up side, the slowness left the entertainment crew available to answer questions, hang it and socialize with guests which was awesome! Alejandro (Alex), Gustavo (Tavo) and Mario were so nice and we had some great conversations and even a game of pool with them!

Snorkeling right at the resort is excellent! We went out past the Money Bar (to the right of the hotel) and back and saw eagle rays, tons of brown spotted rays, a nurse shark, a blow fish, tons of lobsters and tons of colorful fish and coral!! There are beds and sunchairs at the ocean and there was always at least a couple of each available! Definitely better than a Sandy beach in my books! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling, quiet, friendly, clean, no reservations required for a la cartes
The weak points
No beach, few organised activities, buffet closed at dinner most days
Certified

Modest and Convenient

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-21
Good location, friendly staff and good price, but they should improve the food quality.I liked the laid back atmosphere and diving community staying there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
convenient location. Friendly and helpful staff.
The weak points
Food quality could definitely improve.
Certified

Great Place

, Rochester, NY
2013-04-10
Had a great time at the Fiesta Americana.
Great snorkeling right out front. Very clean, very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling out front of hotel - Friendliness of staff Cleanliness of rooms and buildings
The weak points
Only one restaurant - Lack of food entree on the supper buffet
Certified

Peaceful and relaxing

, Pierrefonds, QC
2013-04-07
The hotel grounds are not too far from the city but far enough to make it very peaceful. The resort said all the rooms were full but there was never big crowds of people on the beach or pools. Never a wait to dine and the food was excellent. The dive shop and dock were perfect to make early morning dives simple and even a shore night dive was very revealing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and service was excellent. Large glasses for drinks and drinks were very good. The dive shop, facilities and boats were excellent and so was the staff. Will likely return. Tour agent on site was extremely helpful for excursions.
The weak points
The wireless Internet was weak on the beach and not available in the suites.
Certified

A great vacation spot for relaxing and snorkelling

, Elora, ON
2013-04-07
We were very pleased with the resort. the aging facility was more than compensated by the cleanliness of the rooms, very friendly and courteous staff, and the quality of the food. Could use some simple construction to improve access to water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly and courteous staff and great food quality and selection.
The weak points
No sand beach and limited, rugged access to water
Certified

Over all excellent

, Hamilton, ON
2013-03-24
Over all excellent.....
Only complaint is that the food was cold, raw chicken was the norm. I would suggest that the kitchen staff take the food saftey course to bring them up to standards as in north America. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very accommodating.
The weak points
Cold raw food.
Certified

Decent time at Fiesta americana

, Mississauga, ON
2013-03-05
For the price a good place.
Quiet. For couples mainly. Definitely not for partiers and singles, I found they were almost non-existant.

Front desk have some issues with english language, but friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you like some quiet and seclusion.
The weak points
A little too isolated for me, and organized activities are completely lacking, and if you're really fussy about food, try another place
Certified

Relaxing vacation.

, Nobleton, ON
2013-03-03
Hotel was nice, clean, well maintained. A little updating necessary. Food and drinks were excellent and staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great snorkeling experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, food and beverages were great. Casual, relaxed atmosphere. Great snorkeling right at the hotel. Quick easy access to town for shopping/exploring.
The weak points
Wasted space in room could have been filled with another desk, bureau or table. Bathroom a little cramped. Clay roof tiles falling down. Could use more chairs and umbrellas around the pool - they were hard to get.
Certified

You get what you pay for

, London, ON
2013-03-03
Friendly personable staff
food had great taste
no safes in all rooms (disappointed)
okay beach
not enough lounge chairs
very small buffet selection, same thing every day.
Clean rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic staff, Clean rooms and common areas, the food had good taste
The weak points
poor beach some rooms have no safe
Certified

Fiestamericana, Cozumel

, Kitchener, ON
2013-02-27
Great experience at the Fiestamerica.
Really liked this resort. Food and location were really good.
We wished there was more entertainment at night to keep us occupied, but they did bring in a few dancers for a couple of nights early as the rooms are all above the main bar and the noise travels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location Layout Food Cleanliness Snorkelling Service staff
The weak points
Entertainment
Certified

Great vacation, great resort

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-02-24
Great place all the negative comments I read about this place are not true. This is not a party place but definetely holds its own. It's a older resort. Everything else is awesome. I would give it a 4-4.5 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice smaller resort with great staff and super clean. Very calm which made it perfect for our two toddler boys. Food was good...they did try to switch up the buffet menu as much as possible.
The weak points
Nightly shows were just ok. Beach water was a bit merky but only because we caught a few days of bad weather where the wind brought in a lot of seaweed. On the days it was good weather the water was spectacular...crystal clear and clean and also very calm
Certified

Great Place to stay for the money

, Stoney Creek, ON
2013-02-10
The hotel is very clean . The staff are always happy and eager to do anything you need .We enjoyed this hotel and would glaly return.Much better then expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Showers in the room worked great . The staff were very friendly . Hotel is very clean.
The weak points
No beach . No nightly entertainment
Certified

Amazing In Every Way!

, Belleville, ON
2013-02-03
We loved our vacation at Fiesta Americana! The food was great, the people were amazing and our room was perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, food and room were perfect!
The weak points
The beach wasn't great.
Certified

Fiesta Americana

, Maple, ON
2013-01-27
Excellent hotel, was only at about 30% capacity and less later in the week but that is not an issue. The staff are amazing and so polite. The food is excellent and always changing with dinner themes each night. The resort is spotless and they are always cleaning. Safe place, some guest left money on the bed for the maid and when they returned the bed was made and the money was placed back on the bed, they had to leave a note telling her to take it. Snorkeling was great of the man made beach, drinks were wonderful. Cant think of anything bad and they have Wi-Fi too. Great place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was excellent
The weak points
man made beach but lots of chairs, hammocks and easy access to the water, the island is built on coral so beaches are hard to find.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020