Secrets Aura Cozumel

Secrets Aura Cozumel
3.393.393.393.393.39
3.39 based on 23 reviews
#10 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cozumel
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Paradise in the green zone (Western side)

, Sudbury, ON
2019-04-23
This resort is a real Paradise for divers and snorkelers. 24h access to Cafe Coco was a great feature. Preferred Club was so worth it.Extremely green and clean. Sky Bar for sunset. Easy beach access anywhere on the resort. Best restaurant Bordeaux (5* service) and Portofino. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Charming efficient and awesome staff, MEX culture, snorkel and diving access, Adult only and very clean resort - tidy - Easy Beach access everywhere
The weak points
Food quality - temperature, rare seafood - Unlimited vacation sales pitch
Certified

Disappointed

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-18
We were very disappointed that this resort was not as we had hoped. Having been to a Secrets Resort in Huatulco Mexico last year we had high expectations.
This Secrets resort in Cozumel does not meet five star standards. The rooms were old and tired. We booked a junior swim up room but it didn't look anything like the pictures.
Unless you book a preferred club type of room you were not allowed to use a certain pool that faced the ocean and as such the pool that we were allowed to use did not have any view of the ocean. There are many broken tiles in the pool and my boyfriend cut his foot in 3 places.
Most of the food was bland and tasteless. And a few of the restaurants portions were so tiny that you felt hungry when you left the restaurant. Every morning we ordered from room service, not once did they get our order correct.

Four of us travelled together and all four of us were sick by the time we left the resort. At no point did any of us eat off the resort or on the airplane. So it was quite obvious where we got sick, yet when we reported it to the desk they blamed us for being sick that we could not prove we got sick on the resort. We spoke to many others on the resort who were also sick. A group of 14 that it only been there three days had 6 of them sick in bed. Not once did I ever see hand sanitizer at the restaurants. I have travelled for 30 years and have never been sick. I saw staff members leaving the washroom that I was using and they did not wash their hands. I have worked in healthcare for the last 30 years and have never been sick from my patients.

This resort truly needs to undertake exceptional methods to prevent people from getting sick. I would imagine that whoever stayed in our room after us will probably be sick as well as unless the room is sanitized appropriately the germs will be everywhere.
I lost the last three days of my vacation to being sick and I'm still sick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dream come true!

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-04-18
Absolutely loved everything! It will be hard for future vacations to measure up! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Aesthetically stunning

Diving Saved the Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2016-02-27
We were a party of 4 who were looking to change up from our normal February Diving holiday. The resort met many of our requirements, Adult Only, All-Inclusive, Beach and diving access. As well as in our price range. We did upgrade to Preferred Club - Oceanview and are very glad we did. Upon arrival Yussell took excellent care to ensure that we were welcomed and comfortable. He brought us to the VIP check in area as it was early evening when we arrived. The next morning we met with our VIP concierge all VIP staff was exceptional especially Mariana at the VIP pool area. Other exceptional staff include, Carlos, Vicki, Adrianna, George (Oceana). The spa was located at the sister property and is well appointed and a true pampering experience. Room was clean and up to date. The storage space was limited, we asked for extra hangers and they were brought up to our room promptly. We did have a problem(leak) with the Air Conditioner and it was fixed promptly. Housekeeping replenishing was inconsistent. Some days you had facecloths, some days you didn't, hand towels maybe/maybe not. We did ask that our room be cleaned at 10 am daily and it was generally upheld. Turn down was anytime between 6 and 10 so some nights you got it sometimes you didn't. The daily Pringles and M&M's was a nice touch. The worst part of the stay (apart from the Unlimited Vacation sales Pitch) was the food, We were there for 14 days and not once did we get a hot meal. It was room temp if you were lucky at any restaurant we tried at Sunscape or Secrets. Service at all the restaurants was slow, we began to expect a 2 hour eating experience at any restaurant (apart from the buffets). On the plus side I did lose weight on this vacation! The diving saved this vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Dive Access, snorkel access, Drinks, Adults Only, VIP
The weak points
Food Quality/Food Temperature, Unlimited Vacation Sales
Certified

Stéphane et josee

2015-02-23
Décevant su niveau de la nourriture, manque de choix tant au buffet que les restaurant à la carte.pour le reste service la propreté tout étais excelent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Restaurant
Certified

Really enjoyed our stay...

, Waterloo, ON
2015-02-08
We have stayed at the Occidental twice before and this was certainly a step up. We traveled with another couple and both stayed in a pool view room. The rooms were spacious with a generous bathroom, king size bed, stocked mini bar and hammock on the patio.
Food was very good with lots of variety and staff was attentive and pleasant. Some of the staff was new and struggled with english but we all tried our best and always got what we wanted.
Will go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds well kept and everything was clean and tidy. No reservation or limits at the al a carte was great. Lots to do and entertainment staff are awesome. Nice to have the market grill as a buffet option.
The weak points
Nothing really...but the swimming pools were cool...and so were the drinks!

Very disappointedl

, Grande Prairie, AB
2014-11-23
The hotel staff and food were excellent but the overall room and facilities were far below expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and food were very very good
The weak points
The rooms smelled moldy and mildewy. The washrooms smelled very bad especially the beach one which was also above on of the restaurants
Certified

Secrets Aura - April 2014

, Breslau, ON
2014-04-11
Ninth trip to Cozumel - but first trip to Secrets Aura. Overall, this is a typical resort with a nice beach. Close to prime diving, and some evening activities. Rooms are large and clean. The downside - extremely slow restaurant service and no vegan options. Prior to arriving, we were told "no problem - we can take care of your food requirements". After arriving however, no one would take accountability to help make that happen. A basic language barrier seems to be the main problem to adequate service levels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent location on the island, nice beach and overall - the facilities are fine or as expected.
The weak points
Glacial-slow service in restaurants. Main reason for the slow service is because few of the staff can actually speak English - this makes it tough for them to deliver service. The result: a natural tendency to avoid customers. No vegan options.
Certified

Excellent value for the money

, Hemmingford, QC
2014-02-09
I would highly recommend this hotel based on excellent food, accessible bars, friendly staff and beautiful rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room and view were exceptional. Food was excellent. No reservations required for a la carte restaurants. Several bars dot the landscape and they are well stocked. Only had to wait for restaurant seating twice for about 15 minutes. Highly recommend
The weak points
Internet access slow, kept disconnecting and not available everywhere. Beach contained rocks in the shallow water.
Certified

Very nice resort

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-30
Nice hotel, great staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff, resort layout
The weak points
No hot water for 2 days, repeated menu
Certified

Avoid This Garbage (Basura) Resort

, Markahm, ON
2013-11-22
In my view, this resort should be taken off from your portfolio. The employees are trained to power sell products and services non-stop at the resort from the front desk to the restaurant employees. At times they are very aggressive at trying to make you purchase unwanted products and services. Also, the employees think that you are some teenager who is on his or her first vacation and will definitely challenge you at times. The restaurant employees were very rude. Avoid their “Oceana” restaurant; they have few young punks serving there, they are rude beyond comprehension. Another restaurant to avoid would be “Bordeaux”. Food at the resort was below par for a four star hotel. Also, you have to go through the hoops to get replacement water and other drinks. This was my twenty-fifth time in Mexico and I have never ever have encountered anything like this in my entire adult life. Very bad service, very rude staff, I had the worst vacation for the first time in the past twenty years. This was my first and will be the last trip in a “Secrets” brand resort. If you can avoid, please avoid going to this garbage (basura) resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong points at this resort.
The weak points
Employees, Restaurants, Food, and watered down drinks.
Certified

Not just for Honeymooners!

, York, ON
2010-11-15
Charming and efficient staff, gorgeous surroundings, well maintained property and excellent food all combined to make this one of our best trips ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodations and service
The weak points
The coffee was very weak and there was no espresso available.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020