Beaches Ocho Rios Spa Golf And Waterpark

Beaches Ocho Rios Spa Golf And Waterpark
3.543.543.543.543.54
3.54 based on 24 reviews
#7 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Family trip

, Bramton, ON
2020-02-17
Service by the staff was very good. Food was good quality and tasty. The desserts were excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was the best of any hotel we have stayed in.
The weak points
Room needs updated. Internet needs to be better. Shower head was poor, need to change to an adjustable
Certified

Awesome Family Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-06
Beaches Ochos Rios is an awesome family resort. The staff go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. There are lots of activities for kids (kids camp, water slides) and water sports for the whole family. Rooms are nice and the resort is small enough to walk everywhere. Kids enjoyed mingling with Sesame Street characters throughout their stay and loved the Sesame Street shows in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family friendly resort with lots of activities for the whole family.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Wonderful Family Experience!

, London, HA
2018-01-16
Our family of five had a wonderful time staying at the Beaches Resort in Ocho Rios Jamaica. The resort was well cared for and clean all the time, including our room. It never seemed overcrowded which made it a comfortable place to be.

We enjoyed the food at the buffet and in the A La Carte restaurants as well. We loved being able to choose any restaurant, any evening, even if we had already been there. The Bar B Q and pizza restaurants for lunch and late night were also fantastic.

The best part of our stay was by far the staff. The people working in the resort were always happy, friendly and easy to get to know. There wasn't a single staff member that we came into contact with that didn't make it a point to say hello.

Damion at the front desk greeted us when we arrived and stopped me to ask how we were doing every time I passed by. Our regular bartenders, Paul and Andre were a lot of fun to hang with at the pool bar. People who served us our meals, including Sheldon at the buffet, Anthony and Stevein at the Italian restaurant, Shevon and Aldane at the Parisienne and Ramone at Neptunes turned our dining into wonderful experiences as well. We even got to know Romane, a lifeguard at the pool as he played ball with the kids.

Then of course there's the Entertainment crew. Alex, Ajay, Rushan, Ashly, Ashley, Cregg, Rushane, Gay-Lee...they ROCK! They worked hard to keep everyone entertained all week and did a fabulous job...especially considering the weather wasn't great.

And finally the most important person helping us was Staci Anderson. She is from the Kids Camp. She spent considerable time with our youngest son who has some special needs. She kept him happy and busy when he wanted to be away from us. She took him to dinner when he got hungry and to the XBox room when he wanted to play. He loved Staci and kept asking when he could see her!

We would definitely visit again...to see all our "friends" at Beaches Ocho Rios!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was fantastic (can't say enough about the staff!), the resort was always clean and comfortable, spacious room, delicious food
The weak points
The weather wasn't awesome, the beds weren't the most comfortable and the wi-fi was very spotty and inefficient.
Certified

Beaches Ocho Rios

, King City, ON
2017-03-09
Best Resort and vacation I have has with my family yet!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, great food, fantastic resort
The weak points
beds were too soft
Certified

Overpriced

, Morrisburg, ON
2016-03-04
Hotel staff is excellent and facilities very clean. This can be said about many of the resorts . Beaches is suppose to be the top rated. My wife , daughter and myself don't agree. It is nice and food was adequate but by no means was it worth almost paying double for what you can receive at other resorts. First time experience and it will be the last. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness
The weak points
Overpriced
Certified

Great week on Sesame Street!

, Milton, ON
2014-02-08
Beaches Ocho Rios was perfect! We were able to have enough family time together as well as alone time (when the kids were in kids kamp). A very relaxing vacation.

Food/Drinks-There was always something for everyone. Can't say anything bad about the food. There was one buffet for breakfast with fresh smoothies/omelet/pancake, waffle, french toast stations. Lunch options included the buffet, Neptunes sit down menu and the BBQ (awesome chicken roti, jerk chicken and made to order hot oven pizzas...yum!). Dinner included the buffet or two sit down menu options. The BBQ was also open late night.
The bartenders were all good. There was premium liquor at all bars (you just had to ask for it). The only beer was Redstripe or redstripe light.

Service-Everyone was so friendly and goes out of their way to ensure you have a great time! From the front desk to the waiters/waitresses to the lifeguards to the activities & Kids Kamp staff.

Rooms-We had a step down living room with a double pull out sofa and there was two double beds on the main level of our room. The balcony was large and our oceanview was amazing. Always hot water and very clean. The mini fridge contained soda, water and bottled juice for the kids (no beer).

Kids Kamp-Our girls LOVED it! The only downfall was the age groupings. Age 3-4, 5-7. We have a 4 and 6.5 year old. They wouldn't let them go in the same class. It did work out fine though as they did alot of activities together with these two age groups. The girls loved their 'teachers' and asked to go back everyday. Each night they studied the next days itinerary to decide which program they would attend the next day.

Sesame Characters-we found the characters were much more friendly here than at Turks. They spent more one on one time with the kids-stopping to take pics, give high 5's etc.

Gym-I used the gym 3 different mornings to get my runs in on the treadmill as the beach was very small and not practical to do 10-12km runs on. It was very clean and the equipment was top notch. The view from the treadmill overlooked the pool/ocean. There was always bottles of water or pitchers of fresh lemon/cucumber water and towels provided in the gym.

Pool-we spent time at all pools. The kids loved the waterpark so we split the time between there and the main pool where the swim up bar was located. The waterslides were lots of fun and it was nice to have big ones for adults or kids and then the little ones for the kids. One thing to make the waterpark better would be to have the rubber turf instead of cement.

Beach-very small but well maintained and the water was actually warmer than the pool. Lots of great water activities included. Water bikes, paddleboarding, banana boat rides, glass bottom boat etc. We actually saw dolphins on our glass bottom boat ride!

We look fwd to another Beaches vacation in the future. Hoping more locations are opened as we only have the Negril one left to try out ;) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids Kamp-outstanding staff, kids LOVED it! Sesame Characters-more friendly and willing to pose for pictures/give high 5's etc. Service-from EVERYONE (front desk, kitchen, entertainment, pool, grounds etc.)
The weak points
Small beach Long drive from airport
Certified

Great family vacation spot

, Mono, ON
2014-02-05
The hotel was great, rooms spacious enough as you don't spend much time in them. The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure the whole family is having fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly, waterpark is awesome, kids club is great.
The weak points
Extras are really expensive, so plan wisely for off-resort excursions; the hotel is a very long 2 hour bus ride from the airport, prepare the kids for that; beach is great, but not expansive.
Certified

Not worth the $

, High River, AB
2013-12-10
staff are amazing, friendly and fun!
small resort and beach
good for small children
beach was dirty
bathrooms not cleaned often [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent staff
The weak points
is not same caliber as Beaches Turks
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2013-11-07
My husband and I travelled with our daughter, son-in-law, and two grandkids. First time at this resort. The service, food, reception, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff were A-One. We had upgraded oceanfront rooms with bar, concierge, and turn-down service at night. Although the beach is small, it is very sandy. The watersports centre is well equipped. It takes approx. two hours to get from the airport to the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, the service, the cleanliness, the kids' program.
The weak points
There were bees around bars and outdoor eating areas. We were told they go away before the busy season. There are a lot of stairs, although there is an elevator. The floors (tile, marble, cement) are very slippery; in certain areas, not very visible.
Certified

Excellent Resort!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-04-17
Excellent food and service. Staff are just terrific. Rooms are clean. Variety of dining choices. Great for children, teens, honeymooners or any age of adult couples. Would recommend to anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, service and food. Beach is great as is the pool and entertainment.
The weak points
Distance from airport! 2 hours.
Certified

Fun in the sun

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-02-09
Food fantastic!
Service extrodinary!
View-priceless! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food service water sports view
The weak points
sofa bed in room was in poor condition
Certified

5 Star Price, but not 5 Star Quality/Service

, Port Hope, ON
2012-03-27
This hotel did not live up to the 5 star expectations, and was 2 hours from the airport. Poor service in the restaurants and slow service at the bars. The pool was very cold and was dirty (plastic, straws, leaves, etc) from sun up to sun down. The hotel looked run down even though they had just gone through a renovation. Very disappointed in this Sandals related resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Water Slides, Variety of Food, Cabana Service
The weak points
Dirty Pool and Grounds, Hard Mattresses, Dirty Bathtub, Incorrect Room Class given, Poor Service in Specialty Restaurants
Certified

January 5-13 2012

, Medicine Hat, AB
2012-01-22
We have been to 5 Sandals/Beaches resorts and knew what to expect. However we were at Beaches Turks and Caicos the year before and kind of compared the two. First off we love Jamaica and the people and that part just didn't disappoint. The resort itself is quite small and they were always out of something, whether it was the bar, the bbq park or at the buffet line. Service at Arizonas was good, but very slow, with the food quality very good.
The hotel was only at 47% capacity and was great for us having no line ups for anything and lots of room around the pools. If it was busier as it was when we first got there, things were very crowded. Also my only real complaint was that none of the pools are heated and the ocean was warmer, made for some really uncomfortable cloudy afternoons.
Overall, if you are looking for a resort that offers quality of a Beaches atmosphere on a budget, you want to go down waterslides, have lots to do outside the resort within a short distance, this resort is for that FAMILY!!
One more thing, the drive is long to and from the airport, and know that the island is very poor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches puts out a good product, the food was very tasty and there was a lot of different choices. The staff as usual go out of their way to make your stay as special as possible. In Ocho Rios there is always lots to do off the resort.
The weak points
There wasn't always enough food for everyone and they were always out of something at the bars. Beach area is bad with literally no swimming areas. Peddlers encroached on our private areas in the beach.
Certified

Family Break

, Mississauga, ON
2011-03-21
We stayed in a honeymoon beach suite over March break and loved it. The room was a bit dated, but was large, comfortable and had an amazing walkout directly to the beach. The resort itself had plenty to do for families and the food was usually very good. The waterpark was excellent, and the large main pool was also large & lots of fun. Tennis courts, beach / water sports all fun as well.

People were all typically very friendly and very nice and helpful to kids. We have previously stayed at the Beaches in Turks & Caicos which is newer and much larger and more spread out. Boscobel is more compact but still has tons to do for kids, adults & families. Drawbacks - the beach at Boscobel is small but nice, would not recommend if you are are a beach person and enjoy spending all your time there. You can also get wifi in your room and all over the resort but they charge you like $45 per week for it - not great considering a number of other high end resorts provide for free. Bus ride from Montego Bay airport is also about 1:45 - long.....

All in all, nice family resort with lots to do and we had a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great family resort with lots to do for the kids. Friendly staff, clean, and good food / drinks.
The weak points
Lots of stairs throughout resort. Long way from the airport. Small beach.
Certified

Almost Amazing Trip

, London, ON
2011-02-07
We had amazing trip to Beaches Boscobel. The people there are Friendly,Courteous, open and will bend over backward for their guests. This was our 2nd trip going to a Beaches Resort. It was the better of the 2 so far as we plan to go back. The Hotel is small and compact and is easy to get around. The staff bend over backwards for the guest. The resort being given a makeover that is 75% done. The new paint, repairs to the resort, new furnishing and going to flat screen TV's. The food was fresh and very good. If you did not see it they some how got you it. We were at the main buffet and my son want pasta but they did not have any pasta that my son wanted. So the staff went to the Italian restaurant and got him his pasta. The all the executive chefs made round at the all the restaurants and even one of the Sous Chef Rodroy remember my children s name when we saw then out side the restaurant a few days later.
The Trip to the resort is long about 2 hrs depending on traffic and it not like traveling on Canadian roads. Passing with on coming traffic. It was and adventure.
We had 2 small bumps in the trips at the resort. One was the loosing of my Dinner for Two on the beach reservation which was to be our Valentines day dinner. But the staff recognized there was a problems and had alternatives that were just as good as the dinner on the beach. The 2nd was a leak in the pipe up stairs that was looked at but should of been a move it only happen at the day 1 and day 7 but they should of offered to move us.
If you do go where you sandals when you go between pools. The Cement is very slippery and we saw lots of people barefoot and go down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff friendly and caring. Great Camp staff the food was good.
The weak points
The Distant from the Airport. the slippery cement
Certified

Nice hotel, food and good alcohol

, Mississauga, ON
2011-01-18
The beach is ok. The hotel is not complete. Still no exterior showers or taps to rinse coming from the ocean or pool. Great food. Imported alchol is great but the main bar closes to early. Hotel staff are fantastic. Oceanview room was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Far from Montego Bay
Certified

Beaches Boscobel

, Saskatoon, SK
2010-04-12
Overall our family enjoyed the resort. We had been to an all inclusive previously with Iberostar so we were using this as a comparison.

The people were wonderful! The resort was older but in good shape. Everyday someone was paiting or fixing something so well kept.

The location was beautiful - into the side of a hill/mountain. Lot's of things to do if you like to be active.

We did find the resort catered to families with younger children. Our son if fourteen and there was not alot for him for activities. A few days into our trip he met some teens from the states and they connected with the crew that coordinate activities. From there on in the trip he had things to do in the evening with other teens which was great.

Overall the food was good - great people serving you. I spent part of a day at the Redline Spa - a little pricey for the service. But expected this at a resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff - they were great!
The weak points
A little too young for our family. Though a positive if you have children under ten.
Certified

Ya mon!

, Brampton, ON
2010-03-24
Loved the location, local people and staff at Beaches! Great place for the entire family. Lots to do! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, local food variety, view from Oceanfront room and local people
The weak points
Beach was small/short, rooms should have been nicer for a 5 star.
Certified

Beaches Boscobel

, Cornwall, ON
2010-03-19
This hotel in the Beaches chain is very dated. Needs major overhaul. Beach is very small. I would not recommend for the price that we paid. Food was good but still not at par for price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The People
The weak points
Very dated Hotel
Certified

Booked Boscobel got moved to Negril

, Oakville, ON
2010-03-15
We vacationed Mar 4-11/10. This is the first time visiting
Jamaica, and the first time at a Sandals/Beaches property. After booking Beaches, looking at their website, and paying considerably more then previous vacations, our expectations were very high.

Upon arrival at the airport in Jamaica, we were informed by the Sandals reps that we were being relocated. They then tried to move us to Sandy Bay, which we refused, so finally we were told they would put us at Negril. Overall, this resulted in about a 30 minute wait. The Sandals manager at the airport that dealt with us was very kind, it was just a long process that after a day of travelling you do not look forward to having to go through.

Once we arrived at Beaches Negril, we were told we could sit in the lounge where they would get us checked in. The check in process is nice because you can sit down, however, too lengthy, again after a long day of travel!

The rooms are average, and the first room that we were put in faced the road, and overlooked the kids playground that became overrun with partying teenagers from the resort each night after dark. I asked to be moved, and the girl at reception did get us transfered to an comparable room, but oceanview, much better location, and much quieter.

The staff are excellent at Beaches, maids, gardeners, everyone has a smile and a hello for you. The food at all the restaurants was very good, tons of choices, and great quality. The Last Chance Saloon was very slow service wise, so with kids it can be a challenge. The Japanese restaurant was good and fun, however if you want a reservation you need to be at the buffet restaurant at 10am on the dot, in order to get a spot for the night.

The beach is absolutely beautiful, gorgeous white sand, clear blue water, stunning, and warm!! Definitely the best beach we have stayed at. The watersports are great, and very accessible. The swimming pools are very cold, as is the lazy river, the ocean was warmer.

We had a good vacation, but were very dissappointed with the lack of activities geared to families. They advertise themselves as a family resort, but the kids club is tucked away in the middle of the resort, and there is nothing going on, at the pool, or beach for the whole family, with the exception of beach volleyball, which for a 6 year old is difficult to participate in at best. In my opinion, this resort is more geared to parents who want a vacation with alot of free time, and to be able to drop their kids at the kids camp, and then not see them for the rest of the day. We will probably not rush back to a Beaches resort, as we want something that is geared to the family as a whole. Don't get me wrong, we had a great time, and the good outweighed the bad, however, next time, we will continue to do more research so we find a truly "family" friendly type "all inclusive"! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, food and water sports.
The weak points
Family geared activities
Certified

Beaches Boscobel

, Newmarket, ON
2010-03-10
The hotel and staff were first rate! We had a great family vacation, and would recommend this resort to others! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service,food,cleanliness,amenities
The weak points
beach area was small
Certified

The kids had fun!!!!!

, Barrie, ON
2010-02-06
First let me say that if you are going to Jamaica make sure you fill out one Customs card per MEMBER of your family, We where told by West Jet that it was one per Family and it took an extra 30 Min to get through. Then our bus ride was 2 and 1/2 hours from the airport to the resort, Not alot of fun with two young kids. The resort was OK the food was OK and the People where friendly. I don t think this hotel should be rated a five star we stayed at Atlantis last year and that was Five star I would rate Beaches about a 3 1/2 star.If you are looking for a dream vacation with your family look elsewhere if you are just looking for some fun in the sun your kids will like it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of Canadians Good Weather
The weak points
Hotel Money sucking attitude
Certified

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

, Etobicoke, ON
2010-01-15
For the Cost of the trip I would not return. I have been to other places that were cheaper, and much better in terms of location, food, and ambiance. The weather was not great when we were there so I think the weak points are more pronounced, but my overall impression was reserved. From what I saw of the area, it is one of the nicer hotels in Ocho Rios. I have been to other sandals resorts and have better impressions of the other sandals resorts. Food was average, nothing special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Scuba diving, snorkeling, water park (better for kids 3-10)
The weak points
Certain staff were very courteous, others not so much. Water in pool was cool, my 1.1 year old did not want to go in due to the cold water.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020