Riu Ocho Rios

3.873.873.873.873.87
Riu Ocho Rios
#2 of 10 hotels in Ocho Rios
3.87 based on 396 reviews
Traveller pictures (32)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent

, Chapleau, ON
2019-03-11
This hotel is very big, but very intimate at the same time. The beach and ocean are amazing, plenty of chairs. The rooms are slightly dated but very clean. The buffets and ala cartes are all very good. Had a great week of rest and relaxation and will definitely go back. The hotel is stsrting a renovation in April so will look forward to see the exciting changes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks, food, service all 10's. The beach and ocean 10's. The fact that the resort doesnt use disposable plastic glasses and they do use paper straws 10's
The weak points
Rooms were a little dated but were still very clean and comfortable.
Certified

It wasn't what I expected

, Coaldale, AB
2019-01-23
I have never been to Jamaica but have travelled to both Cuba and Dominican. I paid more to travel to Jamaica with my wife so I expected more from it. The weather was mostly cloudy the whole trip, which I know is always a gamble but apparently the weather drastically changes from the airport to Ocho Rios. The 5 star hotel we stayed on was way too strict for it to feel like a vacation and we did not have access to food 24 hours, which sucks when you are jet lagged. The bus ride from the airport to the hotel was almost 2 hours and our bus driver did not even try to entertain us. We booked 3 excursions, one of which was the most popular and heard about one, Dunn's River Falls(not impressed), Horse back riding in the ocean(not impressed) and Konoko Falls(highly recommend). The tour guides make these trips worth it! We only had a “mute” bus driver for the horse riding who left us there for an extra hour, which has us all freaking out that he forgot us. They were very strict on the transportation to Dunn's River and it was WAY over booked to be enjoyable. Konoko Falls- I don't think I can say enough good things about it; small group, awesome tour guides, no pushy camera men, good food, very attentive staff all around, etc. Also don't even get me started on the airport: 2 hours to check in, boarding time off by an hour, no seats near gate, lack of food selection, etc. Let's just say I was glad to be home which is never how you want to feel about a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Konoko Falls Tour Craft Market Shopping Beach Ocean Nightly entertainment at the hotel Supper selection
The weak points
Horse riding tour Dunn's River Tour Transportation to and from the airport Prices/Money spent Airport Drug dealers everywhere
Certified

Awesome food and beach for snorkelling!

, Calgary, AB
2018-11-28
If you are looking for a nice 4-star all-inclusive resort, you will find it RIU Ocho Rios. We knew this prior to booking based on previous reviews but thought it worthwhile saying again as the star rating for this resort has still not been changed. This is advertised as a 5-star resort, but we would consider it a 4-star in regards to quality of drink choices (limited premium alcohol), service from waiters and waitresses, overall cleanliness of common areas (lobby, bathrooms, pool, beach), types of food offered (very limited high-end choices), general facility maintenance and upkeep (currently planned to be renovated next Spring), extremely dated decor and unmatched paintings/themes in the same room and theme restaurants. Aside from the star rating not matching reality, we really enjoyed our time at the resort.

In regards to food, the time we went (late November) must have been a quieter time (most restaurants were only closed once or twice a week, we had no issues getting into the restaurants we wanted to). I've read reviews that getting into restaurants can be challenging because of the multiple closed days (we witnessed this on our last day when the schedules outside of the restaurants had been updated indicating that they would be closed 3 - 4 days per week). We also didn't expect to eat right at 6:30 p.m. when they open and typically went down around 7:30 - 8 p.m. The food quality in the restaurants was great, but not consistent when we went back to the same restaurant a second night (different sauces used, salad ingredients were different and not as advertised - this could be due to a different chef, but a 5-star should have these minor consistency pieces down to a science). The Jerk Hut on the beach was decent, but not authentic jerk-style food (it looked like it was marinated in a sauce and reheated on the BBQ, not using the proper wood smoke for the true jerk flavour). The 24-hour Sports bar was a great bonus feature, the only change I would like to see is the selection of snacks. The choices were only restocked once a day (from what we could see), so they could be quite limited. If you got there when it was fully stocked, there are self-serve burgers (fresh lettuce and tomato toppings available, ketchup, mustard, relish, mayo, salt, pepper, etc.), hot dogs, basic sandwiches, fruit salad (very limited), plain nachos, cheese sauce (pump style), and popcorn. If you are looking for something fresh at all hours, you will be disappointed. The Italian restaurant was open until 2 a.m. and had much more variety for a late night snack. The buffet restaurants were great. Lots of options to choose from, especially if you are a person willing to try new things...we never went hungry or felt we were lacking in the food area. We loved the self-serve beer and wine stations!

The bars were hit and miss regarding service, but our drinks were definitely NOT watered down and sometimes the service was too good (drinks coming before we were finished, no time to say you wanted to try something different - so sometimes we would leave and go to a different bar instead LOL). There were a few times we were ignored completely, not sure why when the bar we were at was not busy.

Our room was comfortable and had a decent view of the ocean (we booked Deluxe Junior Suite Oceanview). Air conditioning worked great and the ceiling fan above the bed was a nice feature. We learned that if you open the patio doors, the AC shuts off, so if you like a cool room, make sure to close the patio door completely each time. The shower was iffy in regards to consistent temperature and water pressure, but not unbearable. We also had the jetted tub which was lovely after a long day walking around. The bed was firm, but very comfortable, there was an optional comforter in the closet (which we never needed). The pull-out couch was smelly and not comfortable (the cushions or frame need to be replaced), but we hardly used it as we were on the patio most of the time or used the bed for watching the flat screen TV instead of the couch. The mini fridge was great at getting our drinks cold and had a small freezer compartment (we filled a ziplock bag with ice from the ice machine to have on hand). I wish we could request the type of beverages instead of getting the same things every two days (we don't drink diet pop and didn't need the tonic water - club soda was nice to water down the sugary pop). The hard liquor cabinet was a great feature and I really liked the measured pours from the device on top of the bottle (options: rum, gin, whiskey, vodka). I would have liked to get some basic juice options instead of all the pop. They also include 4 beer (two regular Red Stripe and two lite) and two large bottles of water. There isn't a coffee maker, but with the 24-hour sports bar, coffee wasn't an issue and we could also get it with Rum Cream (similar to Bailey's) to start the day off right. ;)

The beach was beautiful, soft sand and shallow water for wading and snorkelling. Fish are plentiful and there is a small reef area for different varieties of fish and plant life to investigate. We also made use of the water sport activities (kayak, pedal boats, etc.). You have to sign a waiver each time and are reminded that you cannot swim in the area that you are using for the activity (swimming is only in the sectioned off areas next to the beach). There are sea urchins and the reef itself can be quite sharp. The waves are definitely bigger and I can see why it is a bit more dangerous to be swimming past the sectioned off areas. Chairs weren't an issue when we went, but if the resort was full, you'd probably want to get a seat sooner than later. The pool was also never an issue for getting a chair and the swim-up pool bar was great. Lots of guests leave their cups everywhere when they are done, so it can be messy, we did help a bit in this area when we could. I think most of the 'mess' that I've read about comes from lazy guests dumping their plates and cups everywhere. Although, we also witnessed a lot of extended socializing sessions among staff instead of actual work being done, so it's an area that could definitely still be improved on the resort side.

In regards to check-in and check-out, it was quick and painless. The bus ride to and from the resort from the airport in Montego Bay was approximately 1 1/2 - 2 hours, so if you are like me, make sure to use the bathroom just before boarding. LOL I hate having a wrist band, but I get that they need some way to track their guests and to ensure the people on the resort are actually supposed to be there.

The staff is sometimes completely engaged and sometimes not at all. I believe ongoing Customer Service training and optional staff reviews by guests, or 'secret-shopper' type people hired by the resort, for all staff would do wonders for the resort and it's reviews.

Overall, I would recommend this resort and would be willing and happy to stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Food selection and quality was excellent. - Beach was clean and there were always a few chairs to choose from. - Rooms cleaned daily. - In-room bar stocked every two days. - Patio had a decent lock on the door. - 24-hour bar and snacks.
The weak points
- Lock and key safe (multiple key copies are possible, bad reviews regarding this prior to our arrival caused a bit of stress). - All restaurants are not open on all days (rotation of days for specific restaurants - changes weekly), no reservations.
Certified

Just returned

, Ajax, ON
2018-09-04
Paid for an ocean view, got a garden view. First rooms or the older side of the RIU beds extremely worn and hard to sleep on. I talked to management and they moved to the upgraded suites. All i wanted was the ocean view i paid for a proper beds. I should not have to pay an upgrade for proper beds. However Carlton did make things right and went well above the requirements to assure i was happy. I would return however only to the side that has the proper bedding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service was outstanding as well as the beach.
The weak points
Unless you get an upgrade room , junior suite etc the beds are horrible.
Certified

A great family trip!

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-18
We spent a week at the Riu Ocho Rios resort! It was a fantastic experience! The staff were great and very hard working! The rooms are clean and well stocked (We loved the towel creations!). The food is great, all you need is the main buffet restaurant! Beach is beautiful and the staff work hard to keep things tidy. Pool is beautiful as well!
One last tip...make sure you get the jerk chicken at the Jerk Hut located on site at the beach...yum-o! Thank you Rio Ocho Rios for a wonderful stay!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, great food! Beautiful beach and Pool! Nice clean rooms! Resort is wonderful!
The weak points
No weak points!
Certified

Chris Jamaica Tours

, Brampton, ON
2018-04-20
My family and I had a blast at the Rui in Ocho Rios! The people, service and food was incredible. Most of all, our excursions we went on with Chris Jamaica Tours was the highlight of our trip. This is the second time my family has used Chris and he is fabulous! He is respectful, fun and very patient. We felt extremely safe with him during our adventures! Thank you Chris for taking care of our family!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Memorable Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-27
Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, food tasted great - Jerk chicken on the beach FABULOUS, beach was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
From the entertainment staff to the bartenders to the ladies that cleaned our room our experience was great. Very friendly and beautiful resort.
The weak points
King bed room not ready when arrived. They switched us to another room without a King bed. Then had to wait again for a King bed to come available. The "no reservation" at the A La Carts made it difficult to eat there. Had to stand in line right at 6pm.
Certified

Clean, well kept resort

, Halifax, NS
2018-01-28
We enjoyed our stay at this resort and it was the closest we have come to a smoke free one we've experienced.Lobby area, entertainment section & restaurants all smoke free. Our room was very nice, comfortable king bed, large washroom, sunken seating area and a large patio. Everything was close so not much walking. Public washrooms were kept exceptionally clean and well stocked. The beach area was raked every day and lots of comfortable lounge chairs available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A very clean resort. Friendly staff. Excellent wifi
The weak points
Paid extra $200. for VIP not sure if it was worth it other than our room being better than other building(?) It didn't appear that bracelets were checked to see if those not VIP were in areas/restaurants where they shouldn't have been. No faster check in.
Certified

The Mangement at this location is terrible.

, Whitby, ON
2017-10-26
##My vacation at this resort was a disaster, we normally take our vacation at Couples Sans Souci Resort but this time we where accompanied by our three boys and daughter-in-law so we decided to go to the Riu resort in Oho Rios, Jamaica, one of the manager lied so much to me it made me so upset on two occasion. I eventually reported it to someone by the name of Carlington Pryce, Public Relations Manager and was told an investigation would be started on it and they would get back in touch with me, its now 10/25/17 and I am still waiting on a response (lol). I can safely say I won't be taking my family to any RIUs ever.

1. We meet some acquintances in the elevator who told us that a promotion was going on where they would send guess who wanted to take advantage of their promo to the sister RIU in Negril, they told us more over breakfast. I then went to inquire about it at the front desk the attendant started the paperwork, told me to hold on and went in the back office only to return with the manger who told me that they no longer was offering it because everyone had already left which was a lie, I had just finish speaking to them and they did not leave till later that afternoon.

2. Next day we took a drive to Negril to visit Rick's Cafe, while there we decided to tour the Riu in question, we asked the manager there if we wanted to return can we use the facilities for the day was told by him all the manager from our Riu needed to do was send an email. Upon returning to our Riu I informed the manager and was told by him he would look into it and get back to me and he never did.

Seem like the managers of this Riu don't have a clue of what they are doing or are these privileges only for the few who they deem fit for them.

If i can give NO STARS I would..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Management.

Riu Ocho Rios

, Mississauga, ON
2017-10-03
My 10 day stay was wonderful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Response to any issues was prompt. The food was excellent. The room was comfortable and well kept in terms of cleanliness. Excellent beach.I would recommend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sleezy business practices

, Petawawa, ON
2017-05-15
My husband visits this resort once a month, for a week at a time with three coworkers. They are hetecto assist the Jamaican military in a large project.

Staff at this hotel told my husband when he asked, that it works be $75/n extras to bring me. Online prices reflect this. He asked how to pay the extra, since his work pays for him. They said just to arrive and pay the extra $75/night.

However, once we arrived (and they knew I was trapped here), suddenly the price was 40% more.

They would not answer why my husband was told $75, simply parroting "prices vary". That's NOT what they told my husband originally.

They ripped us off and I highly advise not supporting this hotel as they clearly lack integrity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
This hotel rips their guests off.

Vacation review for Riu Ocho R

, Waterloo, ON
2017-05-13
Great resort with lots of amenities. Good restaurants and pool facilities. Beautiful beach area with lots of lounge chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly polite and prompt. Loved the staff and facilities. Only need to improve the tennis courts. That was my only disappointment.
The weak points
Tennis courts. King size bed was too hard and not pleasant to sleep on.
Certified

Riu ocho rios

, st.john, NB
2017-04-18
We enjoyed our stay at the riu ocho rios resort very much. the staff was extremely friendly and the beach view was visible from almost every where, which I truly loved. One suggestion I would have in order to improve food service would be to have a second location for breakfast. It was very busy in the St.Ann restaurant. It would have been nice to have had a breakfast restaurant on the deluxe side. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, beach view from the resort, staff and room cleanliness.
The weak points
breakfast restaurant was too busy. a second location would have been nice.
Certified

Jamaica vacation

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2017-03-18
We travelled as two couples to Riu Ocho Rios February 2016. The bus ride was unusually long (almost two hours) with stops and very slow driving. We had previously stayed in Runaway Bay so knew the drive was over an hour, but this was a lot longer. Check in was quick and our rooms were adjoining with a pool and ocean view. However, we quickly learned that what we thought we had paid for and received Adults only, the hotel had changed to no longer have this section. While everything turned out fine, we expected to have Adult only and did not! The food was amazing, particularly the Japanese a la carte. The buffet was really good, but also really chaotic. It rained 5 days of our vacation and we made the best of it, but it added to the damper of not having the trip we thought we had paid for. We did one excursion to Dunn's River Falls and it was a lot of fun despite the rain. The Riu does need some updating, but staff were super friendly and accommodating however, the carrier rep was not when we voiced our concerns about the missing Adult section. Our room was always clean and comfortable. Unlikely to return as we didn't feel we got the best for our money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and food
The weak points
Long drive from Airport.

A Wonderful Experience

, Saint Clair, MI
2017-03-07
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, wonderful food. We stayed on the deluxe side and it was well worth it. Highly recommed this hotel and location. Excersions offered were great also. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The 2 a la carte restaurants were exceptional dining experiences. The Jerk station was awesome also.
The weak points
Everything closes at 11:00 pm with the exception of the Disco which was not so great. But all around a great experience.
Certified

Riu ocho rios

, Oakville, ON
2017-03-07
lovely beach and wonderful staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jamaican themed food and drinks were excellent as were the steaks throughout and particularly in Sir john's specialty restaurant.
The weak points
Spirits are included in the minibar but no wine. building and rooms are old and smell of mildew. lacks dedicated coffee shop and quiet area of entertainment
Certified

HORRIBLE VACATION

, Central Huron, ON
2017-01-17
Big time disappointed,stress out didn't expect that its gonna be a nightmare vacation, we were looking for this vacation.Aside from vacation i decided to come here instead of going home to spend my bday thinking it would be a great getaway for us but it was horrible,very very poor service, some staffs not even helpful we share our sentiments to the assistant and manager but it seems they don't care. The assistant manager of this resort is very rude the way she treated us and talked to us is unacceptable. First thing we get to the room our locker don't work, the tv is outdated and remote control not even working,our AC not working for a king size bed we get only 3 tiny pillows.I think we deserve to be treated fair for what we paid for this vacation.I strongly will not recommend this resort to all my family and friends and definitely this will be my first and last stay in this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Stay!

, London, ON
2016-10-17
My 3 friends and I went to Riu Ochos Rios from Oct 8-15.
This resort was a great value for the price. The food is amazing at the resort and better than any tropical place I have been. Drinks are just as good as well (they actually will blend you drinks right on the spot). But #1, was the staff, they are all very friendly and welcoming. Shout to Neshawn at the Deluxe Pool. He works hard everyday to help guests enjoy their time. He is hilarious and entertaining every day. The Jamaican people are one of a kind and their culture is truly amazing.
The beach was always clean, it was awesome you could rent a kayak or paddle boat for free (after signing a waiver). The beach party was the best night of the week. The only items that I preferred to be changed is the safe comes with a key (would prefer a coded lock) and you have a physical key to open your door (and only one). It would be nice to have swipe cards and more than 1. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Great food -Great beach -Great people -Great entertainment
The weak points
-Long ride from the airport
Certified

Good hotel

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2016-10-17
Everything was great except for the cleanliness of the main pool and the outdated rooms. The resort can use a few renovations but besides that it was a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, entertainment, the beach and the staff.
The weak points
Pool water, old looking rooms
Certified

Amazing

, Brampton, ON
2016-05-11
My husband and I loved this place!!
It was a little far from the airport but the comfortable bus ride was just perfect after a long flight.
Jamaica is a beautiful place definitely somewhere we will go back to with our son.
The hotel was great very clean and beautiful. All the staff was great and friendly.
The food and drinks were awesome never went hungry or thirsty.
Worth every penny and we highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to getaway!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Food and service was amazing they really know how to deliver 5 star everything!!! the beach is nice and close and long so great for walks.
The weak points
Nothing really everything was perfect. When we arrived the room we were assigned was not cleaned and there was a huge palm tree blocking my ocean view. We went back to the front desk and asked to be changed and it was no problem they quickly changed us.
Certified

Riu Ocho Rios

, Ridgeway, ON
2016-04-27
With a number of valid resort comparisons at hand from personal experiences, the Rio Ocho Rios is far below expectations for the price we paid.
Check-in process - ridiculous: line up to show reservation; then another line up for a plastic bracelet; then another line up for room key and safe key and at 4:30 p.m. our room was not even ready! After a long day of travel, we didn't have a room key until 5:30 p.m.
General: hotel does not have card swipe room passes yet - still metal keys; safes are still keys - not codes.
Room: smelled musty / moldy. Everything was perma-damp (bedding, clothes, etc.)
Grounds keeping: discarded cups and refuse sometimes sat in public areas for more than a day. Lots of dead palm fronds on the grounds and on the trees.
Beach: not kept clean (raking of seaweed and debris like water bottles and garbage). Much of the beach has been washed away (compared to when we were there in the past). After a full day of heavy rain during our stay, with much residual damage, there were no crews out to rake and spread sand around and rebuild gullies, etc. The first time we saw any maintenance (a single person manually raking) was in the afternoon of the day that followed the rain. The beach was ugly for nearly the entire sunny day following the rain.
Buildings and pools: beat up. Cracked and chipped tiles throughout the walking areas of the resort. Many missing or broken tiles in the pools. Cracked and chipped cement coping around the pools. Stucco cracked, crumbling and barely hanging on on the exterior of most buildings. Looks like the eaves may fall with the wear on them in places; mold streaked stucco in places.
Beach recreation: only 2 paddle boats of a possible 4-5 were in working order. 2 water buggies (with wheels) were not in working order. Windsurfer broken. Beach chairs pretty beat up.
Tennis courts: dead palm tree fronds, garbage and animal excrement (not from birds) were on the courts. After rainfalls, no proactive maintenance and sweeping done after rainfalls. We had to ask each time and then wait! After reporting a broken net, it was never fixed for the duration of our trip which rendered only one functional court. Holes in the fences and gaps underneath allowed balls to escape and were not easily retrievable.
Maintenance: we placed a work order for no hot water the day we arrived - Nothing was done about it. Hot water was not always available throughout the stay. The customer service desk advised to turn on all taps in the washroom and just let them run, which I did even though that's ridiculous and a waste of water.... still no hot water. Toilet broke @ 5 p.m. (running on) and we requested it to be fixed. At 11:30 p.m. it still was not fixed with no care or consideration to us. I had to call back to ask it to be fixed at bedtime. No apologies for inconvenience, lack of response nor care about guests not having a functioning toilet for the night or ever. It was fixed after mid-night.
Staff: buffets were chaos and a few of the kitchen staff were incredibly rude and belligerent. We were told to get out of the way and pushed by one individual on several occasions. This would NEVER happen on a cruise ship and has NEVER happened at any other resort. Inexcusable. Many staff will not move aside to allow guests to easily pass through. They were clogging up so much space with their carts when they should be much more discrete and aware of guests and step back or move back instead of stepping in front when they could clearly see us walking in an aisle. Again, very uncool compared to all other resorts we've been to.
The tables on the terrace outside of the main buffet restaurant are cluttered which makes it much worse to move around for staff and guests. Spread out the tables to flow farther along the terrace so that the main walking aisle is wider! Not rocket science. Even during quieter times, if you had a group of people (2 or more) in front of you down this corridor, walking at a slower rate, there was NO way to get by them with the tables causing the walkway to be unnecessarily narrow.
Food: good however, the staff was not on top of replenishing empty dishes - pizza, patties, nachos. You had to ask and wait and there was no consideration or concern for the guest. Attitude.
Environmental responsibility? During our stay, it rained a lot, but yet the lawn sprinklers were running for hours and hours with both during rain and when it stopped raining and more water was unnecessary. We saw pools of water collect around the resort from water sprinkler activity alone. Such a waste and contradictory to the resort claims of environmental vision.
Internet access: was weak in most common areas.
This resort was once really great. We were disappointed and will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice ocean swimming, soft sand, no beach vendors, solid a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
Beach erosion and cleanliness, beat up buildings, musty room, non-responsive maintenance, non-proactive maintenance i.e. tennis courts, stilt having to line up to book a la carte restaurants, check-in process
Certified

Great week

, Killarney, MB
2016-03-09
Awesome place with great location and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and food
The weak points
Spa prices
Certified

Good All Inclusive Hotel

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-03-02
Check in was super quick. They have everything laid out on a table so you are dealt with quickly and efficiently.

I was concerned from reading recent trip advisor reviews about mould in the room. When we got to our room there was a strong smell of damp/mildew in the room but that soon went when we aired the room. The climate is vey humid, towels didn't really dry and when we got home and unpacked everything was damp. Based on this humid environment I'm not surprised there was a slight smell to the room. It certainly wasn't overpowering and was not a problem after we had moved in.

Room was a decent size, small balcony which we didn't use, overlooked the garden with a small lake with fish, turtles and visiting herons. There was a TV, the old big style with older technology so couldn't plug laptop or ipad in but that wasn't a massive deal. Bathroom was a good size with double sinks and a tub and shower. Room had good sound insulation didn't hear anything in the night which was good.

Reception staff were always polite and friendly. Entertainment was regular throughout the day and evening from dance classes on the beach to pool activities and then the evening show.

Food was great. St Anns buffet for breakfast and supper was plentiful and varied. Pizzeria for afternoon and late night hunger pangs was reasonable, sometimes the pizza looked a little crusty but to be expected later on in the evening. Jerk hut on the beach and plantation for lunch were also good. Mandalay is the Asian al la carte but is actually just another buffet restaurant which was disappointing and the food wasn't too exciting either. The gourmet restaurant was fantastic and the Mammee Bay steakhouse was also good but the gourmet was my favorite.

Beach was clean and no hustlers during the day. If you ventured onto the beach at night there would be a couple of locals selling 'smokey' but they moved on respectfully if you politely declined. Even though there was a lot of reserving loungers at the beach and pool we always managed to find a spot. There are reefs just off the beach so snorkeling is good fun.

Beach towels were plentiful, in fact unlike other resorts I've stayed there was always fresh beach towels available at every time in the day.

Gym was decently equipped. Lots of advertising for the spa but we didn't use any of the services as they were so expensive - $120 (US) for a 50 minute deep tissue massage!

We weren't there for a wedding but happened to find the wedding hall on an exploring session. It was tucked away behind the hotel and quite secluded so very slight chance of wedding crashers which I thought was a good idea.

Free wifi in common areas which was pretty much everywhere except the rooms. it was strong enough to get at the pool and on the beach in some areas.

I enjoyed this hotel and if visiting the area again would definitely consider it again. Shawn at the St Ann's buffet was super helpful and friendly and Desroy at the Blue Mountain bar was a lot of fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Trip

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-02-26
Just back from a week at the RIU Ocho Rios and I have nothing but positive things to say about this resort
The staff , the service , the location , the food , the hotel and rooms were all a great value for the cost. We were very impressed with the RIU ..check in and check out was quick and efficient .. no lines . Food was plentiful and good quality with more selection than you could ask for . We stayed on the Deluxe side and the room was huge and clean and very nicely decorated. Beach was great as well as the pools ..get up early for a chair but they really do have as many around the pools that would fit .Loved this resort and wouldn't think twice about coming back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Food , Layout of the resort and entertainment
The weak points
No coffee maker in the room No towel hut on the beach
Certified

Enjoyable Time

, Thunder Bay, ON
2016-02-17
We traveled to Riu Ocho Rios January 23- 30, 2016 for our wedding with a group of 43.
The resort was beautiful - We stayed on the deluxe side. Check in was a breeze, was in our rooms within 20 minutes of arriving to the resort. We had the gardenview room but our garden view was a view of the garden, ocean and deluxe pool it was fantastic! definitely worth the money. Entertainment was great - I would especially like to mention *SHOWTIME* He was so kind to us and were very happy to meet him.
Food was excellent
Only bad thing I have to say about this resort is on the day of my wedding the water was shut off in the resort so we had to wait to have showers!!
Overall i would recommend this resort :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, Food and the beaches

Heaven in Jamaica

, Belmont, MB
2016-01-10
Beautiful, clean & the best staff! Highly recommended! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort is easy to get around, everything is central-great for gathering & so close to the beach!
The weak points
never seemed to be enough pool/beach loungers!
Certified

Most Relaxing and Worry Free Vacation Ever

, Valley, NS
2015-04-29
We were married at the RIU in 2008. When we arrived we were upgraded to the Deiuxe suites as a return guest. Everything was perfect. The food incredible. Booking alacartes was easy -no issues. There were always loungers available anytime of day on the Beach in the shade!! Can't say enough about the atmosphere and relaxing feel with everyone we came across. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Food - variety and freshness
The weak points
None
Certified

Great Time

, Ottawa, ON
2015-04-13
The hotel was really enjoyable, our room was spacious and clean, but had a musty closed in smell, we kept fan running an when not in room kept the patio door open to circulate the air. The pool was a nice size but was foggy, and in some corners was a film on top of water, looks like the needed a better filtration system. But beside that everything else was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great, resort was clean and good service, good variety of drinks and beach is very nice.
The weak points
Pool needs to be cleaner, was too foggy, rooms need better air circulation due to musty smell. A bit far from the airport.
Certified

Reece Belsey Vacation

, Richmond Hill, ON
2015-03-20
Wonderful experience, The resort was clean, the staff very friendly, food
exceptional and the beach just beautiful. I would certainly return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff and cleanliness of resort
The weak points
The food could of been warmer
Certified

Beyond expectations

, Hampton, ON
2015-03-18
Nice room. Food good. Friendly staff.
Beach was okay! Not a good walking beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room and food good
The weak points
Beach was not attractive
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Singles Seniors Beaches Couples Families

Are you a hotel owner?