Couples Sans Souci

Couples Sans Souci
4.504.504.504.504.50
4.50 based on 70 reviews
#3 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Couples Sans Souci, Ochos Rio, Jamaica

, Ottawa, ON
2017-12-10
Wonderful hotel with quaint little coves and hidden spaces for a couple to enjoy!! The staff at this resort are incredible, they will accommodate any request within reason!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the food were amazing!! No tipping allowed!
The weak points
If you like long strolls on a beach this is not the place. The beaches are small and rocky!
Certified

Definitely not a 5 stars resort!

, Lasalle, QC
2017-06-06
Hotel infrastructure around Cuban 3 stars:
- old bathrooms
- poor water pressure
- barely warm enough water, sometimes no water at all.

Moreover, no buffet in the evening.

Furthermore, buffet menu very limited and, for example, during the day or evening, no tropical fruits such as mangoes for few days.

2 hours drive from the airport.

The resort definitely is not worth spending $2,000.00 per person.

We would not return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The views, and the grounds.
The weak points
Old resort. Food choices.
Certified

Perfect couples getaway

, Stouffville, ON
2017-02-10
From arrival at airport to departure at airport Couples Sans Souci keeps you feeling pampered and calm. Their service is seamless - always bang on!
Resort is one the most prettiest we have ever visited - and I have seen many. We stayed in Gardenia block and because resort is constructed into a hill there so many stairs. Our block is one of the furthest from the beach but not from everything. Does not matter which block you are in at some point you will be climbing the Beautiful grounds. Beds were comfortable - rooms a tad dated - balconies large - restaurants are all good and food is amazing. Bars are great and something for everyone. Au Natural beach is private - smallish pool - bar, gated. Main beach again on the smallish side - nice sand - no rocks in the water - beach service is great! Water sports are good - my husband did the diving and said it was OK - snorkeling OK - not OK because of service but you do experience better underwater views at other islands then in Jamaica. Walk around the large pond go see the huge cotton tree. Clean resort and the entire staff are all very nice people.
Many return guests which says a lot for this resort and we would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Absolutely the perfect care-free getaway!

, Calgary, AB
2015-09-15
The resort had everything we could have hoped for. Great food, fantastic service, tons of choices for entertainment, space to relax, free outings to local attractions. The service was incredible and we felt that every staff member went out of their way to ensure that we had the best experience possible. They had lots of choices for places to eat on the resort and each one seemed better than the last. There were plenty of options for fun on and off the resort. I'd particularly recommend the included scuba trips. Other local attractions included The Blue Hole waterfall (probably the best trip we made, though it's separate and not included in the resort package), Dolphin cove (grab the discount from the airport booth on your way in!) and Dunn's River Falls.

I'd highly recommend this resort to any of my friends and would consider returning for sure. Some reviews mention the stairs, and they may be a factor for some, but neither of us found them to be a nuisance at all.
Overall 10/10 in my opinion. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Peace and quiet when you wanted it, but lot's of fun available. Service was 10/10. I can't say enough about how great our trip was.
The weak points
None come to mind. Stairs I suppose if you're less mobile.
Certified

Sans Souci, Jamaica

2015-02-02
The best vacation we've had yet. Even though the resort wasn't new, it was very clean and well run. The staff were super-so so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strength of this hotel is it's staff. Super friendly and couldn't do enough for you. When there was a problem it was fixed very promptly.
The weak points
The only complaint we would have is all the stairs to climb. But that is also part of the hotel's charm.
Certified

Great spot for couples

, Ottawa, ON
2014-03-03
We loved that at any given time you could be alone at certain spots.We often felt we had the resort to ourselves!!
Great service,great food...definitely a resort we will return to !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food,room service was awesome,staff was great,the resort itself was beautiful
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Another Great Experience

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-23
This was our 8th. visit to Sans Souci and we very much enjoyed our two weeks. This influenced us in marking the survey "as expected" where first time visitors may have rated the same item as "beyond expectations". The continuity of staff really adds to the experience. We have noticed a steady improvement every year in the level of service and especially the staff's responsiveness in handling questions/concerns. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff who remember you from previous trips and do their best to make your stay enjoyable. Prompt followup on any questions/concerns. Better weather than last couple years helped.
The weak points
The anniversary gala was spectacular but the buffet set-up and line-up system was somewhat frustrating.
Certified

The first of hopefully a lot more stays!

, Lion S Head, ON
2014-01-22
Where should I start? It was wonderful, the room was big and airy, with view of the ocean, amazing staff, amazing food and beautifully taken care for grounds! This relatively small resort was just intimate and great, the fellow guests were a lot fun to be with and enough to do around for that first week of ours! We are aiming ob going back there, that's for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, grounds, nature, au naturel beach - we loved it all!
The weak points
Tell the folks to bring water shoes... Hubbie stepped on a sea urchin, that hurts...
Certified

Couples San Souci: Romantic & Relaxing!

, Camrose, AB
2014-01-18
We booked the one bedroom beachfront suite. We were very happy with our "Begonia" (B block) room. The King size bed, large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower were all so wonderful. The bedroom could be closed off with folding doors.
Our room was close to the beach with the watersport activities. It was close to the small lake featuring turtles, water birds, pelicans and tiny fish. In addition the lake was encircled with a walk/run/bicycle trail. The Au Naturel beach is nearby the lake.
From our room, the buffet restaurant was only a 1 min. walk and the Beach Grill was perhaps a 2 minute walk.
The one-to-one staff to guest ratio means your every wish was anticipated or taken care of promptly and graciously.
Beautifully kept tropical garden style grounds are spread out over a larger area than normal for a resort on this island. We were constantly finding secluded pools, Jacuzzi's or hammocks on our walk and stair climbing treks.
Tipping is include in the room price. This was very nice, in that the staff treated EVERY guest as special, and we found all staff to be so friendly and gracious - no one vying for a better tip.
Dining options vary from the casual Beach Grill to the Elegant dining in the Casanova restaurant. Wednesday is lobster night - it was delicious! The buffet for breakfast or lunch always had such fresh foods - especially the salad greens.
With only 150 rooms - even though the hotel was fully booked when we were there in January, it never seemed crowded. There were no line-ups for food.
There were several free excursions offered, but I only partook in the PADI certified free scuba dive.
Otherwise, the week was spent in the romance of the resort's atmosphere, enjoying our surroundings and each other's company for the most romantic, elegant and restful vacation we have ever had! We will be back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. The one to one staff to guest ratio. 2. Beautifully kept tropical gardens. 3. Tipping is included in the hotel price. 5. Strong daytime activity program & evening special events. 6. Evening meal choices range from casual to elegant
The weak points
!. The resort is built on a hillside so there many staircases to manoeuvre, which some people find difficult, however we actually liked the fitness opportunity that the steps provided us with! 2. The Gift Shop is right at the resort's gateway.
Certified

Couples Is For Couples

, Newmarket, ON
2014-01-12
The property is unlike most resorts in that the layout and fauna create a botanical gardens environment. Unfortunately, however, it looks like the cost to support the grounds has caused management to neglect the rooms. Our room had numerous broken tiles, walls in need of repair and paint, rotting wooden railings etc. In sum - rooms quality is not 5 star quality (closer to 3. What makes it a great resort - the staff. They are amazing. Never have we been treated so well by the staff. They made the difference. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Special mention: Gracey Ann, Dean, Radcliff (tenniss pro, Albert & Keston. The tennis courts are in perfect condition and the free lessons are beyond expectation. As previously mentioned the grounds are amazing.
The weak points
Condition of the rooms. It's hard to believe management has let the rooms slip so far under current 5 star standards.
Certified

Great choice

, Ailsa Craig, ON
2013-12-06
A quiet getaway for any couple.
We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel except the bathroom in our penthouse suite. No bath tub which was available in a smaller penthouse suite which we originally assigned to. The nude beach was a good option and our first experience. We went everyday for a few hours and it was refreshing to be with so many easy going people.
The food was first rate and golfing and scuba included were also an added bonus.
We would go back again and spend more time at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller more relaxing resort.
The weak points
Having a Jacuzzi tub in the penthouse suite would have been nice.
Certified

Fabulous Resort Destination

, Oakville, ON
2013-12-03
The resort, the grounds, the spa, the service, the people, the food - all were absolutely fabulous. We would highly recommend Couples Sans Souci to any couple looking for a relaxing first class getaway! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
size of resort, location, grounds, staff, inclusive of tours
The weak points
1 week may not be long enough
Certified

20th Anniversary

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2013-11-08
We had a wonderful week and you will not hear any negatives from us. We travel annually and the staff here are the hardest working and friendliest lot we have ever encountered. DWD TJD [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are exceptional and the grounds are amazing.
The weak points
Evening entertainment
Certified

A week of romance and subtle relaxing fun

, Slavelake , AB
2013-06-19
My partner and I had an unbelievably and unexpectable wonderful time during our seven day stay!!! We look forward to someday returning with one or two of our close coupled friends...(Norman,and not Norma,is my name).... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the service from everyone in all aspects. The friendliness of the staff all around.The entertainment,sports activities including watersports.The food and beverages;the exterior/grouds/gardens.
The weak points
No fans in the bathroom to circulate the air. Was not able to have a good view of the ocean due to the surrounding trees in front of the balcony.Someome knocking at the door at night offering towel service,too late. annoying!!!
Certified

Paradise at couples Sans Souci

, Georgetown, ON
2013-05-18
Couples Sans Souci exceeded our expectations. This was our first trip to Jamaica and the couples chain. We have travelled to many all inclusives but the attention to detail at Sans Souci is evident in all facets of the resort from check in, accommodations, excursions and food and beverage. On top of that, the staff was excellent and the couples chain should endeavour to retain its current staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were stunning--truly felt like a tropical paradise. Romance is the key focus. The grotto, waterfall, spa, mineral pool all were stunning. The main beach and pool were accessible and fun. The sea was easily navigated by kayak and paddle boats.
The weak points
Many stairs (although we loved this). The decor is showing its age but is still charming
Certified

Great Vacation

, Pt Claire, QC
2013-04-01
We had a great time. Very private. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A very private resort committed to customer satisfaction.
The weak points
Pool bar lack of constant music was a bit annoying. And the pool bar opening at 10am vs 9am, as other resorts do, was disappointing.
Certified

Vacation to remember

, Ottawa, ON
2013-03-26
Highly recommended. Awesome location, great weather, fantastic staff. No such word as "no". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, food, staff all beyond expectations.
The weak points
Lacking of beach drink service.
Certified

Top shelf resort

, Vaughn, ON
2013-02-20
3rd visit to Sans Souci. Great staff, friendly atmosphere, more suitable for ages 35 which was perfect for us, phenomenal food. Best resort in the Caribbean that I know and I have traveled extensively [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and staff
The weak points
90 mins from Mobay airport
Certified

No Worries .. so true

, Valtherese, ON
2013-02-11
It's a long way to get there and back, but once there, you get the true feeling of being in paradise. Everyone goes out of their way to greet you and make sure you are happy.

This was our best trip so far. (Taken 10) We always said we would not go to the same place twice, after being here we are reconsidering. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beauty of the grounds. The inclusions and the au naturel option.
The weak points
Their check out system needs work. It takes way too long. This is not an error of the workers but the system that is in place. Not for people with mobility issues as there are many stairs & hills
Certified

Peace and Tranquility

, Fort Erie, ON
2013-01-30
My husband and i spent a fabulous week at CSS...this hotel has old world charm that we have not had at any other resort..we have been to Jamaica two other times and love the country..this was a great resort with great service..the amenities were so plentiful..all the water sports, trips to Dunns River Falls and Margaritiville and shopping were all included as well as meals, alcohol and almost anything you would want was included..i read a review where someone complained that they only had two beer in their fridge every day...this may be true but all you had to do was call room service...they would bring us a bucket of ice, carafe of wine, bottle of vodka and gin, soft drinks, orange juice and i'm sure anything you wanted..the staff were terrific...the rooms are older but once you were there for a few hours you wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else. We were in a one bedroom beachfront suite...perfect...we walked out our door and pool and beach were right there...the food was great and plentiful as were the drinks. They have a theme barbecue once a week with great food and entertainment..they also have a gala night which happened to be their 7th anniversary...the Issa family who own the Couples resorts in Jamaica were there as the minister of Tourism and other dignitaries..it was beautifully done with lots of hard work going into it...This is a peaceful resort which we wanted for our winter escape...i could not find one thing to complain about...some found the bus ride to the resort too long but we sat back and relaxed and enjoyed the scenery...which was beautiful...i saw enormous growth in Jamaica in the last two years and just see it improving and growing quickly...some of the highest end resorts which you would not find in most tropical vacations...we can't wait to return to Jamaica and to CSS..we would also like to go to the other Couples resorts in Negril and see how they compare to CSS...i'm sure they will be run to the same standard as CSS..i also would like to thank Tyler from I Travel 2000 for all his work...he was a pleasure to deal with...don't hesitate to go, you won't regret it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entire experience was terrific and we have been travelling Caribbean twice a year for many years.
The weak points
We could find no weak points.
Certified

The perfect Vacation!

, Parry Sound, ON
2013-01-29
Thoroughly enjoyed our week here. EVERYTHING is included, so nothing to worry about! The food was delicious, the staff super friendly, and the resort small with everything you need. Only downfall for us was that it is a little far from the airport (a solid hour and a half without stopping!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Food EVERYTHING is included (water skiing, scuba diving, glass bottom boat rides, kayaking, tennis lessons, golf, trip to Dunn's river falls, tips)
The weak points
Far from the airport, a little dated but very clean
Certified

Honeymoon paradise!

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-16
Oh my god! We had our honeymoon at Sans Souci. It was an amazing experience. From the moment you step out of the bus, the staff are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The food and restaurants are out of this world! This resort set the bar so incredibly high, it will be impossible to find anywhere that compares. We will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, beach bar, bartenders. The many nooks and crannys you can find and never see another human. There really wasn't anything we could find that disapointed us.
The weak points
None, zip, nil!
Certified

A Little Bit Of Heaven

, Caledonia, ON
2013-01-15
This property is everything I expected and more! I went here 13 years ago and was hoping that not too much had changed and was plesantly surpised that it was just how i remembered. The food and bar service is great...staff are amazing...a great place to relax and have fun...if ur looking for loud hustle and bustle this is not for you!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and staff are amazing...food is available 24 hours a day...never line ups for food...small resort so you get great service...dont have to hunt for chairs by pool or beach theres always lots available...great place to relax
The weak points
it is almost 2 hours from the airport
Certified

Will Go Back

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-05
From arrival to departure staff strived to make us repeat customers. The resort is a mature property that is well maintained and clean but not modern. It has all the amenities and lots of character. It is a very intimate setting for couples. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are well trained and focussed on customer service. Food was excellent. Resort has only 150 rooms on a large property providing an intimate setting. We never waited for service and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The weak points
Bathrooms could be refreshed.
Certified

Awesome!!

, London, ON
2012-03-26
This trip was amazing. It was flawless. The resort was beautiful, the food was delicious and the staff was so friendly! Loved it!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, relaxing, indulgent
The weak points
Older rooms
Certified

Couples Sans Souci

, Spy Hill, SK
2012-03-25
WOW, it was great. Our 3rd time to a Couples Resort (1st Nigrel, last 2 times Sans Souci). I would highly recommend this resort!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The folks who work there. They are outstanding and also the resort itself.
The weak points
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, can't seem to think of one.
Certified

Great Resort

, Milton, ON
2012-03-25
Great food!!
Great Service!!
Relaxing Holiday!!
Suites are tired but clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service and cleanliness
The weak points
tired décor in suites
Certified

Great trip once again

, Raris, ON
2012-03-15
The Sans Souci was as great this time as our previous visits. The staff and food exceeded our expectations. Fantastic trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic service and food
The weak points
AS an interior designer the rooms could be tweeked and updated slightly to provide more of a tropical feel
Certified

Great Time

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-25
Wonderful vacation as always at Sans Souci. The food, intimate environment, scenery and service compensated for the less than perfect weather we had for the first few days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food quality Intimate environment Physical beauty/layout of resort
The weak points
Stairs could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues
Certified

Another Perfect Vacation at CSS

, Toronto, ON
2011-12-27
We have travelled to this resort four times now, and it continues to exceed expectations. The resort is set among old growth tropical trees and as you walk along the stone steps and pathways, you encounter one exquisite romantic space after another -- stunning views and private nooks. The food is always excellent and the service outstanding! This is not a mega, manufactured, over-populated resort with sparse vegetation, it is an older, well-maintained, piece of paradise. Two James Bond movies were filmed here...no wonder you feel like your vacation is set in an old Hollywood movie! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous setting, great food, stellar service, small resort population for resort size, very friendly staff.
The weak points
Beach BBQ night has a fashion show component that is focussed on selling items from the gift shop. Tolerable, but not desirable.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020