Jewel Dunns River Beach Resort

4.184.184.184.184.18
Jewel Dunns River Beach Resort
#1 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
4.18 based on 78 reviews
Traveller pictures (33)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Not as Advertised

, St. Thomas, ON
2020-01-30
My husband and I booked this resort to celebrate our honeymoon. What a disappointment! We were booked into a Sapphire Room when we are purchased a Diamond Ocean View Room. When we brought this to the front desk's attention, we were told it was a glitch and their system and they did not have a Diamond Ocean View Room to give us. They did move us to a Diamond Room but as the lady at the front desk said "not their best room". It was on the second floor and did not have an ocean view. In fact it overlooked a roof below and part of the other resort's maintenance sheds. We were told we would need to stay there until our proper room was ready for us on Wednesday afternoon (we arrived Monday). The room was not completely ready for us when we arrived and we had to call down to the front desk for robes and to have our mini fridge stocked. The shower/tub leaked and the electrical outlets in the bathroom had melted. The front desk woke us up at 7:30 a.m. on Wednesday to tell us to pack up and be ready to be out of our room at noon. Our new room was not to be ready until 3:00 p.m. After numerous complaints to the front desk, our onsite tour representative (who was amazing), and finally to the manager, we were given a $150 resort credit to be used during our stay. Our Diamond Ocean View Room was advertised as having a separate jetted tub and shower - they were not separate; in room premium liquor - they do not include this any longer; stocked mini fridge with beer, wine, and mixers - did not include wine and was only stocked with two beers a day, some water, and some pop; 24 hour concierge - there was only one or two concierge staff in the hotel lobby that everyone used, we did not get individual service as advertised; and 24 hour room service - there is not a room service menu and it is a $5.00 service charge. Bed was hard as a rock and room was starting to look dated. When we complained about these services/amenities not being provided, we received a "sorry" and a brush off from staff. They did not seem to care that we were there to celebrate our honeymoon and were disappointed. We spoke to several other couples who also were put into wrong rooms and had to wait to be moved.

Pool was ice cold; pool did not open until 10 a.m. and closed at 6:00 p.m.; rotating closure of restaurants; little to no nightly entertainment; music at pool was so loud you could not have a conversation; beach was overcrowded; front desk staff were not helpful; lots of bees/wasps around bars and at the beach (so many that I actually got stung), etc.

I would not recommend this resort, especially at the price point it is being offered at. If you go, don't bother upgrading to the Diamond rooms. They are not worth the extra money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds; large pool and swim up bar; clean beach; coffee bar
The weak points
See my review
Certified

Jewel Dunns River excellent

, Brampton, ON
2020-01-25
I love the authentic Jamaican experience, from the food to the entertainment. Staff service excellent and knowledgeable. Smaller hotel than others therefore a little more intimate experience. A little bit of everything for everyone. True definition of the culture they bring it to you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Authentic Jamaican experience
The weak points
ATM down too long
Certified

Would not recommend, this resort has gone downhill

, Cambridge, ON
2020-01-18
This was our 10th time in Jamaica, second time at Jewels.
We upgraded our room to honeymoon butler suite for an extra 1400 dollars. At the end it was not worth it.
Starting with room, very clean and spacious, however it was dated. Shower tub combo does not work well together....water goes all over the floor when you have a shower and this not because the shower curtain was not properly pulled.
Housekeeping - we had to chase for face cloths and had soap. Plus one day they didn't even refill coffee.
The butler - almost no existent. We have had butler service before these guys have no idea what the job entails.
Extra charges - all inclusive should mean all inclusive, not if you want something sent to your room there an extra $5 service charge.
Elevator - we had to take the cargo elevator 9.5 days out of the 10 days we were there. Wanted to use the stairs instead, but we're told they were for emergencies only.
Towels for the beach - if you did not pick them up before going back to the room at night, none were available till later in the morning.
Beach - very rocky....believe this had to do with the winds we were getting. However the resort staff should have been cleaning on a daily basis like the other resorts do. Only a few sun shelters on the beach, if you did not get there early you were out of luck.
Bar service to the beach - extremely slow....and we always tip the server, imagine if we didn't.
Entertainment - poolside we don't not participate so I cannot comment on this. Evening entertainment - not the greatest, we are use to having great shows and there was not much to speak of.
Food - good food, not over the top like in some resorts. However we did not have one bad meal the whole time we were there. The downside was choices were limited. Not all restaurants were opened every night. So you basically had the choice between whatever event was taking place and one of the Platinum or Italian restaurant, sometimes the buffet was open in the evening sometimes not. The restaurant wait staff was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean.
The weak points
I believe they are trying to scale back the cost in staffing and by doing this they are reducing the service to the guests
Certified

Jewel Dunn's river

, Etobicoke, ON
2020-01-03
Friendly place clean excellent overall experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-31
Overall a very good resort, friendly staff, good coffee at IRIE Cafe and fresh pizza made at JESTERS right by the pool. Small beach but private, clear warm water and no seaweed. We ate at Coral buffet all the time and overall food was good although they should increase the staff at the omellete station to avoid the long morning wait time. Nice , clean room and surprisingly quiet AC. Good evening entertainment , steel drums band and a reggae band [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
the only complaint is that on our last day somebody from the spa tried to sneak an unapproved spa appointment with the schedule for daily activities , and there was a significant fee for not attending
Certified

Jewel Dunns River Beach Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-12-22
It was a beautiful hotel. The food was not good at all. The buffet was terrible. If there was no jerk chicken and fries we would have staved. The pizza pit was good. No seafood not red stripe beer. Steak and seafood were an extra cost and it was supposed to be all inclusive we were disappointed. Tips were asked for all the time. No tip no service period. We as Canadians tip after we are served, not at this resort tipping was expected ASAP [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location and beach.
The weak points
Food was terrible, no alcohol in room like website said, there was a shooting next to the resort and two men were killed.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Pointe Claire, QC
2019-04-12
We had an amazing time, the staff were so friendly and hospitable. The food and service were great, the resort was very well maintained and clean. Would definitely recommend and go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Only weakness was wifi was spotty but perhaps that was a good thing!
Certified

Honeymoon

, St Thomas, ON
2019-03-11
We had such a great time!!
Staff was very helpful, the food was great. The extras such as dining under the stars, beach party, honeymoon and anniversary cocktail party. The room upgrade and couples massage was the icing on the cake. This was a great spot to spend our honeymoon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
I was charged twice for my room upgrade, still waiting for a credit
Certified

Fantastic!

, Edmonton, AB
2018-09-09
It is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. Great food and laid back feel. Small but has everything you could want. Very relaxing - good value for money. No need to book ahead for the a la carte restaurants and you can go as often as you want. They don't even make you wear an all inclusive wrist band! Would love to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful, professional staff who genuinely want you to have the best holiday.
The weak points
Air conditioning in room was not very efficient. Bathroom small.
Certified

Too pricey for what you get

, Edmonton, AB
2018-01-19
overall if it was not for the nice friends I made, I would not of been impressed. the entertainment at night is very lacking. the disco never had anyone in it. We found a cock roach in our room and no one seemed to be bothered or even apologetic. The food was good, most of the staff were friendly but only if you tipped them. Bar service was slow. it was disappointing our room fridge didn't have beer and when we asked we were told we had to pay for it. My understanding of an all inclusive was you didn't have to pay for alcohol. seemed kind of cheap the only way to have alcohol in room fridge was to pay way extra to upgrade your room. they should say their is only 2 designated smoking areas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food.
The weak points
the entertainment at night is very lacking. the disco never had anyone in it. We found a cock roach in our room and no one seemed to be bothered or even apologetic. no music at night where pool table, nothing in room that tells you where anything is
Certified

Yaaman!

, Milton, ON
2017-05-09
The whole trip was no problem mon. Cozy, warm, and entertaining. Great food, great drinks, great staff. Even though the hotel was full, we never had to compete for a lounge chair, umbrella, or table. Two disclaimers: 1. I do recommend paying for a private transfer from the airport as the bus takes a couple of hours, but, as they say in Jamaica, there are no problems, just situations. 2. If you are a beach person, to which I am not as there is no swim-up bar at a beach, you may find the beach small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Food, Pool.
The weak points
Distance from the airport.
Certified

Beautiful views and amazing food!!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-03-24
Stunning views, great food. Would not recommend for a wedding unless maybe you upgrade the package. We went as just the 2 of us but we felt that we were not all that "special" as we didnt have a larger party and some of the package inclusions were not afforded to us on our wedding day we had to ask for them. Bit of a bummer there but it didnt ruin our day it just didnt make it "perfect". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food!! The food is amazing!!!
The weak points
Wedding services, photos expensive and subpar
Certified

Second time at the Jewel

, Guelph, ON
2017-02-09
This was our second visit to the Jewel and it won't be the last. We stayed in the Diamond section this time which had an ocean view, a bar that was stocked daily, and you could also order bottles of liquor which were put in dispensers with optics, free room service was also available. The room was always cleaned perfectly every day.
Food: We used the buffet for breakfast and lunch most days. For breakfast there was the usual fare with a nice omelette station. Lunch had plenty of options and we also tried the pizza and some jerk chicken at the grill for a change. A special dinner was given for returning guests one evening outside by the main pool and was excellent. We also ate at the Japanese, Moonstone ( Italian) and Platinum ( fine dining) a la cartes. we liked the fact that bookings were not required except for the Japanese restaurant because of limited seating. Our favourite was the Moonstone because of the location where you sat outside right next to the ocean. With these choices, plus the beach party and bar b q, and the dinner on the pier ( not to be missed) we didn't venture outside of the resort to eat. A special Superbowl event was staged at the beach with a large screen tv and hot dogs, popcorn and beer was available to all.
The beach is small but perfect for bathing. We had one windy day which blew a lot of seaweed onto the beach. The staff worked hard to clear this away and the beach was clean the next day.
There was more evening entertainment this time, usually in the Bling disco/showplace, but the resort is usually very quiet by 11 pm.
All of the staff are excellent and so friendly, they really make a difference.
Any problems were quickly dealt with. They really try to make it a home away from home.
The pools are clean with swim up bars, but the water is a little cool compared to the ocean.
All in all a wonderful vacation at a small friendly resort where everything is within walking distance and I recommend it for a relaxing break. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, no booking for restaurants, nice beach,easy access to everything.
The weak points
The pools could be a little warmer.

Great winter escape location

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2017-02-01
Only had one problem with strong paint fumes where we were initially allocated but staff were amazing and relocated us straight away. Wonderful waking up to have peacocks outside of your room & lovely resort kittys (esp tom tom). Amazing chocolate banana & coconut pizza - not to be missed :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a problem with the room we were initially alloxated as the hallway was being painted and the fumes were strong. We were relocated and given a lovely upgrade to 5223. Thank-you. Great waiter called Montgomery.
The weak points
The spa should provide shampoo, conditioner and body lotion in the showers by the steam room and sauna. Also robes and slip on slippers for use whilst using the facility to and a touch of class.
Certified

Fantastic resort!!!

, Laclahache, BC
2016-11-17
My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at jewel dunn's river beach resort. We had a wonderful time, the staff is first rate and the resort is beautiful and clean. Room was great, food was fantastic. Never had trouble getting a lounge chair at the pool or the beach. Staff is friendly and helpful, don't have a bad thing to say! Thank you for a incredible holiday [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very well maintained and clean resort.
The weak points
Really our only complaint is the pillows are terrible. Pretty petty complaint. Haha
Certified

Amazing Amazing Amazing

, Lindsay, ON
2016-11-06
Amazing vacation right from getting off the bus. Courteous hard working friendly staff. Very clean well kept resort.Food was excellent. Cant wait to go back again. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone considering or asking. The next amazing part was getting proposed to. Ya mon. Well done Jewel Dunns. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Courteous staff Well maintained resort.
The weak points
Short beach Dinners late time 5:30 would be better
Certified

Amazing!

, Calgary, AB
2016-07-03
Loved this resort. When you first walk into the lobby you get a feeling of luxury.

The people were absolutely amazing. The staff kept everything in tip top shape at all times. Also, everyone seems to genuinely enjoy their jobs. It doesn't matter who you passed, whether it was a manager or someone from the cleaning staff, you would always get a warm greeting.

The food was good. I enjoyed the Italian restaurant the most as it was delicious and has a spectacular view over the pier. My tip is get there right at 6 when they open and you will have a prime table overlooking the sea.

The beach isn't very long but there was always ample room. Just don't be surprised when you reach the fence as you will get a few whistles and calls. There are people on the other side that are selling things.

There are 2 pools one larger than the other. I spent most of my time at the big one. Very well kept and clean. The activities by the pool are also very entertaining (Sassy is hilarious).

We stayed in one of the Emerald Lanai rooms and it was beautiful. It didn't cost much to upgrade but it was in a wonderful location. I was a little frustrated with the wifi as it only worked in certain spots on the resort and sometimes in our room. After I went on an excursion I found out that we actually had it really good. At the Bahia Príncipe they only get one hour and on one device. So after that felt that we actually had it really good with the wifi.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort as I will definitely be coming back. Thank you so much to all the staff for making this trip such a wonderful experience. I hope to see all you friendly faces in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were outstanding
The weak points
Wifi connection was lacking
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Tignish, PE
2016-05-04
Awesome Vacation. Restaurants, Bars, and Pools were close together and near the beach which was great. The staff was friendly and entertaining. Loved the "Dining Under The Stars" and "Beach Party". The beach was small but it was beautiful. I would definitely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Very clean resort. Comfortable beds. Excellent food and lots to choose from.
The weak points
No Liquor in the room.
Certified

Great resort!

, Arnprior , ON
2016-02-17
I love this resort. I would not hesitate to recommend The Jewel Dunn's River to anybody. It is a small resort and tends to be on the quiet side. The staff is wonderful. If you like walking a long beach then you may be disappointed because the beach is small. There are plenty of chairs and shade for everyone. Go and enjoy!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, atmosphere
The weak points
small beach, Wifi not always reliable except in lobby
Certified

Best Resort I've stayed at!

, Paradise Hill, SK
2016-01-13
This resort is the perfect size. It's not too big which is nice when you are travelling with others, you don't need a meeting place because its easy to find them. The food is amazing, the staff are amazing and the peacocks that roam free are beautiful. The resort itself is well kept up and very clean. The beach is not very big but its white sand and there are always chairs available throughout the day. There are two swim up bars which is really nice, one in the sun and one in the shade. There are so many things to do at the resort and entertainment all day that we only left the resort for one excursion. It is very close to all the excursions, max of a ten minute bus ride. It was also nice to go to a resort where it was all adults. I highly recommend this resort to stay at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to excursions. Amazing Staff. Very relaxing.
The weak points
1 hr 45 min from airport.
Certified

Pleased

, Richmond Hill, ON
2015-01-15
My experience was wonderful ! The staff really makes this place. The resort is smaller then most but I feel that is a plus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff.
The weak points
The beach is small but still beautiful! Maid did not do anything special even though we spoiled her!
Certified

Great - unless you smoke

, Ottawa, ON
2014-09-04
We enjoyed everything about our time at the Dunns River Resort except the new non-smoking policy. Most of the smokers were surprised that they could not smoke on the beach or at the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was delicious and varied. The staff were friendly. The beach was small but very nice.
The weak points
The non-smoking policy was a pain. No bars opened before 10am (so, no baileys in coffee unless you remembered to grab it the night before).
Certified

Jewel Dunn river

, Barrie, ON
2014-05-20
Below expectations.
The beach was small.
The food was far below my expectations.
We ate most of our meals at the fast food venues.
I would not recommend the resort to anybody.
It is a run down Sandels !!
I would love to know what makes it a 5 star resort, the place was disappointing to say the least. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather !! The fast food venus had the best food.the rest do not bother !!
The weak points
The food at the buffet was very limited, staff disorganized, inefficient. The food at the Italian restaurant was bad, bad, bad. They are unable to cook Italian food. I had to get on my knees to see into the safe in our room. This is not a 5 star resort,
Certified

Highly recommend this resort, would go back

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-17
This resort is a perfect size and great layout. You are close to everything, 3 minute walk from your room to the beach, pool, lobby, restaurants, etc.

Food is amazing, jerk chicken, and the pizza (generally I do not order pizza on vacation but this one is different, jerk pizza, ackee pizza and wood oven, cooked fresh for each person). No towel cards which is great.

Staff are great, friendly from security to singing gardener (Rohan) to all the entertainment staff who work so hard.

Beach is small but is private, only Jewel guests and you cannot walk to the other resorts along the beach. I was there when it was at full capacity and I never had an issue getting a beach chair, any day.

Best part is you do not need reservations for dinner, only at the Japanese restaurant, the others you just show up and the longest you have to wait, if ever, is 10 minutes and its beside a bar so you can have a drink while waiting.

This is not a 5 star hotel but I would go back and I would recommend my friends, family and colleagues stay here.

Why go to Sandals and pay twice as much when this resort has everything you need and its small and quaint, great food, clean and the layout is the best. They also have lots of nature, almond trees, ackee trees, palm trees on the property.

The gym is nice, lots of equipment, and daily activities, yoga, walking, pilates, professional tennis player who is great (I learned a lot from him).

If you are looking for a great resort, excellent food, safe, clean, quiet beach with no problem getting a lounge chair, two pools, close to everything. Stay here. This place was much better than I expected.

As we had two weeks of clothes for two people we always have an issue with closet and drawer space but the dressers were deep and were able to fit our clothes with plenty of room to spare.

The only weak point is that we requested a King at the time of booking and again by emailing the resort two weeks in advance. They said they could not get a King for another 7 days so no sense unpacking to pack and unpack so we just stayed where we were. We tried to sleep in the same bed but we sank in the middle so we just slept in separate beds but it would have been nice to get a King as requested twice. In addition the Emerald Room was dated like a highway motel which was fine but they could have painted the walls a colour instead of everything white. The bathroom was too small if you were on the toilet, you could barely shut the door. The shower curtain was also too short it did not reach the middle of the bathtub so every time you showered, you would flood the floor as it did not reach the top of the bathtub, this will eventually cause mold/mildew and it would an easy fix to get a longer shower curtain. The safe is also in a very awkward spot in the far corner of the closet so you had to crouch down and wiggle into the dark corner of the closet to get something out of the safe which was a bit challenging. The room/bathroom was the weak points but how often are you in the room and in the safe? I would go back to this resort.

Forgot to mention the evening entertainment, best I have been to and I travel a lot, the house band (Rhampayge), Silver Bird Steel Band, Gem Myers, even staff talent show was excellent, very talent staff. The also have a piano player every evening in the Tree Lounge (Tree Lounge is beautiful spot very pretty) and another piano player sing along in the piano bar. They even had a steel pan player in the daytime named O'Brien from Caribbean Melody he was very good and he is a good instructor as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is excellent. All staff are exceptional entertainment to the singing gardener. Layout of the resort, it is close to everything, only 3 minute walk from any room to beach, restaurant, lobby, pools, bars etc. Resort is extremely clean.
The weak points
The room but how often are you in the room? All the walls are white & 2 double beds when we requested King. Bathroom is too small & shower curtain is too short, each time you shower, you flood the bathroom as curtain is not long enoug
Certified

Great value

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-05
We stayed over New Years and found that our room was not cleaned in a timely manner. Our fridge was not restocked with water on New Years and our phone did not work. Overall these issues were minor and did not detract from our stay. For future guests, avoid the special occasion buffets (they are chaotic) and eat at the a la cartes. Join in the special events after dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location.
The weak points
Chaotic buffets for special events.
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Kitchener, ON
2013-05-05
The resort gives a quality vacation with a variety of food, entertainment,beach/pool and friendly staff.If you are looking for a place to enjoy the sun without kids at a moderate cost this resort is perfect. It is not a true 5* because it is smaller, has less activities and the food is good, but not excellent. It was exactly what we expected- a very nice resort. The standard rooms are clean, beds and pillow comfortable,fridge, coffee maker,& balcony looking out to sea. Restaurants:Japanese best,& Italian 2nd best al a cartes. Pizza- wood oven- excellent in courtyard. Buffet had lots of choices with daily theme nights. Omelet, taco, salad, pasta stations at beakfast and lunch- something for everyone.Gourmet had interesting selections but was not to our taste. Internet free in lobby no trouble hooking up wifi.Bars were good with TreeBar serving any fancy drinks you would like. Bar tenders were excellent with or without tips, but you should tip at least occasionally in thanks for good service. The Beach is small, but water is nice with good sand bottom, clean, no rocks or weeds. Water crew has free catamarans,snorkeling and kayaks on site.Pools are cool, clean, busy and have swim up bars attached.There are floating lounges available (nice)at both pools. One pool is large with all the activities that last all day (noisy if not participating);the other pool is smaller qnd quiet for reading. The grounds are well kept, service is good with a friendly staff in all areas. You can play pitch and putt in front of the hotel. The course is not great, but fun for a change of pace.Other activities are: karaoke night, pool movies,beach/pool volleyball, basketball,tennis, and waterpolo. Overall its a 4-4.5* with little to complain about. I have stayed next door at the Riu and in my opinion Riu is a little better because it is larger and offers more, but we wanted an adults only on March break, so I would recommend it the Jewel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is small making it easy to get from place to place.there are several food and drink areas for a variety of choices.Entertainment was good with live groups and house stage crews.Overall the resort is a very nice choice for a relaxing holiday.
The weak points
The beach is clean and water is inviting with no seaweed or rocks but it is small compared to Riu next door. Pool activities are loud at the large pool so if you want quiet you must go to smaller pool where space is limited so must go early to get chair.
Certified

The Jewel

, Everett, ON
2013-04-22
Nice quiet resort. Nothing to really to complain about. Great staff and weather made for a great time. Thanks Jamaica [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, beach, layout, small and quiet
The weak points
Rooms with poor views could ruin a vacation. We got moved so there wasn't an issue.
Certified

Jewel Dunn's River

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-03-18
The Jewel Dunn's River is an amazing resort and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Every staff member takes the time to ask how you are enjoying your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
can't think of one
Certified

Food Posioning TWICE in 1 week

, Mississauga, ON
2013-02-06
FOOD POSIONING
Re: The Jewel Dunn River Beach Resort & Spa
Jan 26, 2013- Feb 2, 2013
Worst experience of my ENTIRE life… They have a poolside grill where they serve pre-cooked burgers and the mayo sits out all day on the counter. They serve pre-made jerk chicken wraps, but the pre-made food isn't even refrigerated, so it's just crawling in bacteria. The poolside bar and grill have the worst dish washing station ever. They “clean “the dishes with white paper towel and dirty dish soap, and the occasional drink you get from them has white paper towel particles in it. The grill bar serves beer from an old beat up camping cooler.
My second night at the Jewel, Both my partner and I were violently ill. Along with 2 other couples.
I can't say everything about the Jewel is bad… the room sizes are fairly large, and the pool and beach were awesome. They had a great spa, and the overall look of the hotel was very nice. But all in all, I have never in my entire life had such an awful experience. I do NOT recommend you go to ANY Jewel resort unless you want to be violently ill, vomiting every 15 minutes for 6 hours straight. And the worst part of it all, I was so sick I couldn't even pack my bag to leave the room at 11am because I was lying on the bathroom floor dying and I was charged $60.00 for late checkout… Thanks Jewel! WTF
The creepy towel boys make you not even want to use the pool because of the harassment you receive when you try and get a towel from them.
Everything from the excursions, to the gift shop was highly overpriced. Even when you tipped the bar tenders $5-$10.00 it was if it was never enough… When I had my spa day we tipped the 2 women $30.00 each for the hour massage.. And they both didn't even say thank you? These people were so unappreciative. This was my first trip to Jamaica, and my last because I never want to experience that again.
I have been on countless trips to Cuba, Costa Rica, Dominican, Florida, Las Vegas, England, Scotland, BC and I have NEVER been treated so poorly and left feeling so ripped off and robbed of my hard earned money.
The Jewel is far from being a 4 or 5 star hotel. They need to have a good look at their sanitary procedures, and food preparations, and above all their customer service needs to be severely re-evaluated
Best of luck if you plan on going to the Cruel Jewel  [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, rooms
The weak points
food sitting in sun at beach bar/grill, beer served from camping cooler
Certified

The Jewel

, Ottawa, ON
2013-02-03
We were very impressed with the Jewel. People are great and service wonderful. Have been to many all inclusives, bang for your buck, this is worth what you pay. It was a Sandals- many of the same staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are what make the resort wonderful. Food is great for an all inclusive.
The weak points
The red and white wine are not great. Small beach.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?