Rooms On The Beach Ocho Rios

Rooms On The Beach Ocho Rios
3.063.063.063.063.06
3.06 based on 31 reviews
#8 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Don't go there!!

, Montréal, QC
2019-02-12
Awful!! Outdated!! Cold management!!
I reserved for a week on Friday snd arrived on Sunday, they didn't have my reservation in their system because their office closes on the weekends. So I get to the front desk with my suitcases and my printouts of my booking and the lady at the desk tells me she can't find my reservation I'm not in the system. She left me hanging there for a few seconds until I asked ´ok, but I'm here now so what are my options? What do ee do now???? She asked me to pay for the night untill they sort it out the next day.
Ok so I paid for that first night even dough I had all of my proofs of booking.
I had booked an ocean view room and they put me in a parking lot view room. I argued with them that this is not the room described on my booking that was supposed to have the nice ocean view, hairdryer and flat screentv with cable!?! They said that this is what I had booked and that I could still see a tiny bit of the ocean pass the gazebo of the parking lot. After complaining for 2 days they finally changed our room. But I had to get my travel agency representative talk to them because they didn't hear me.
The hotel is outdated, need renos ASAP. Plumbing is rough no pressure when you flush the toilet and the water temperature changes when you shower constantly from warm to burning hot or warm to cold. It's stressful!!Be ready for an experience! I will never go there again!!! My husband is Jamaican and this is by far the worst place we've stayed in Jamaica. 100$ us per night? Ridiculous!! You could have better for less money. The owners of this place don't care about their guests it is obvious. I'm providing you with some pictures of my ´ocean view room' and of the furniture getting eaten vu termites. Ah yeah I forgot to mention, they have termites in their furniture. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Front desk staff, Hotel outdated, Continental breakfast (2 toast, 1 single serving of jam, a pc of watermelon) a real joke!!! I hate that place.
Certified

Worst Hotel I've Ever Stayed In

, York, ON
2017-08-13
This property is pretty much, you get what you pay for. Motel quality and service. We noted that we needed two double beds, we get in the room and its one king. I was with a male friend, but we were not together so we went down to change it immediately. We then get into a room with two double. As soon as I lift the sheet, I find a huge blood stain. Our AC stopped working, we had difficulty getting fixed, ended up changing rooms again. The phone didn't work so we had to go down stairs every time we had a request or complaint. Our toilet kept running, we left and came back to find our floor flooded. The housekeeper used our towel to clean it and left the dirty towel on the ground, the also never replaced our towels...told us they cleaned them off site and that we would have to wait. So I dried myself with a hand towel. Our washroom had hair on the floor and in the tub, none of which were ours. They would enter even with a DND on the door, so we always locked our items in our luggage. The beach is public so there were a lot of locals and hustling on the beach which was annoying, I woke up to a man sitting behind me and said, "you finally woke up". That was actually funny, but scary at the same time lol. They say breakfast is included but its only continental. Luckily we had brought snacks from Canada. Overall, this is definitely a 2 star hotel, only thing good about it is the location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing
The weak points
Everything
Certified

A fun getaway!

, Coldbrook, NS
2017-03-26
Although a bit dated, the hotel experience was fantastic! The staff are so friendly! A very enjoyable week. This was meant to be a relaxing week, which it was! But if you're looking for a place that has a lot of activity happening this would not be for you. It is close to downtown, so you can experience buying food from the local shops. Which you should do!
Our room, top floor facing the ocean with a balcony...AMAZING view! Loved it.
Close to all the attractions! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, view and central to all the tourist attractions!
The weak points
Breakfast
Certified

Rooms Ocho Rios

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-02
It was a great price and for that reason we got what we expected but don't think you are getting a Breakfast plan it is nothing more than some bread for a toaster that does not work, some day old baking and soggy cereal. Although there prices for breakfast were not too expensive this property should not be sold as a BP. Rooms were clean and tidy as was the hotel beach was not great but handy and close to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you want to be in Ochi you are within walking , great ocean views from your room.
The weak points
The ocean is weed and silty
Certified

First time

, Windsor, ON
2016-04-23
It was my first time in Jamaica, this little quaint motel was nicely priced and well worth the stay, we are already making plans to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people were the greatest, friendly and very informative
The weak points
The pool is a little small, but it does the job
Certified

Amazing

, Paisley, ON
2016-02-23
We flew into Montego Bay, The bus ride to the hotel was the start of our Jamaican adventure. Rooms was more than we had expected. Our room, while its furnishings are maybe a little dated,,, was very clean, the staff was super friendly. We always felt secure with the 24hr security on duty. Our room looked out over the pool, beach and bay. Restaurant staff was super attentive, got to know us while we were there. Cleaning staff did a great job, the hotel does not have an abundance of towels. We tipped well, and staff would always bring us towels fresh out of the laundry once they were done. Locally, There is a supermarket around the corner. grab some Jamaican cash before you come over and you can buy all your drinks, alcohol.. juice.. watta . etc anything not imported is priced really reasonable. There are craft markets and a local garden market, negotiate with a local a "tour" price and then see the jamaican way of life. Without a "tour guide" expect every single person you meet try and sell you something. As it is a port for the Cruise ships,,, there are a lot of Tourist trap stores selling "Jamaican" souvenirs. These are not locally made, so use your discretion about buying something made in china or indonesia to bring home from Jamaica. The weather was amazing. the Beach was amazing, the water was amazing. we did the Nine Mile tour and toured the Bob Marley Moseleum, what a great full day that was. Your travelling into the mountains on tight twisty roads.. take some Gravol if you have a sensitive stomach. IF you are looking for an inexpensive vacation and just want a clean great place to call home base.. or even just want to lay on a beach for a week,, I Can't think of a greater value for your money. My wife and I will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Beach, Cleanliness, Staff

Nice for the price

, Montreal, QC
2015-03-15
If you are looking for a minute deal (run away from Canada winter)- do not hesite book it. you may not repeat but for 1 week in is fine. hotel is RIGHT on the beach and afew min from pleny of supermarkets, restos, stores. Food is delicius and excursions are very affordable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
price, safe, food , Dunn falls are 30 min walk
The weak points
noise - a big costruction close by
Certified

Rooms ocho rios

, Ottawa, ON
2015-03-03
Great value for the price.
Very clean, great staff.
Lots of negatives, but as expected.
Should dump the included breakfast period.Horrible. Crowded, congested and slow. Not really a breakfast, at all.
Put in a buffet with perhaps some meat and eggs. Add the cost to the package or just have coffee, juice and water.
Lunch and dinner - food excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, great value. Very clean, friendly staff. Good location, lots to explore.
The weak points
-Construction next door. -Beach is small, and is half closed - due to construction. -no fridge, only one Ice machine working and bar takes all the Ice in the morning...can't get any ice til night. -limited hot water. Poor included breakfast.
Certified

JASON

, North Yorm, ON
2014-11-23
FOR THE MONEY YOU PAY IS GOOD
BUT COULD BE BETTER AND ALSO
THERE IS A CONSTRUCTION ON THE
WAY TO HOTEL AND ALWAYS CROWDED
AND NOISY. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOCATION AND BEACH
The weak points
IT IS A 2 STAR HOTEL AND ALSO THERE IS A HUGE CONSTRUCTION BESIDE THIS HOTEL UNTIL NEXT YEAR
Certified

Nice beach/city combo

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-21
The beach is quaint and accessible and nice to have the option of wandering into Ocho Rios for food and shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely to be right on the beach
The weak points
Pool bar is over priced and no happy hour.
Certified

Great hotel, great price and great vacation.

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-12
This was my 10th stay in Jamaica but first time staying in 0cho. It was my husbands first time. Hotel was great for us. Clean rooms, great location and staff were friendly. We stayed in room 1320. We had a great ocean view. We at the Jerk Centre, Mama Marley's, John Crows, Mothers and the restaurant right in front of the hotel. Food was great at all places. We purchased drinks at a near by supermarket. Great stay. If you are looking to party I'd go to Mobay instead. There was no real night life. If you are looking to just relax this would be a great choice. ONE Note: JAMAICA IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. THE LOCALS ARE ALL SALESMAN. THEY UNDERSTAND A FIRM NO BUT ARE WILLING TO TRY AGAIN. I enjoy Jamaica and the great people who there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, location and very safe.
The weak points
Slow internet and the drive from the airport
Certified

As expected?

, Dartmouth, NS
2014-03-06
Rooms at Ocho Rios (eight rivers) is a nice place to spend your time in Jamaica. The beach is wonderful and the staff is always friendly and courteous. Just a word of caution when you're not enjoying yourself at the hotel or on the beach. You will be hassled, haggled, pandered and begged upon everywhere you go in Jamaica as a white person. If you pay off these people in any way you'll move up to the next teir of hassling which are the shakedown police. They are not police but imposters looking to steal from you. The real police are around trying to protect you from these people. Stay within the lines, find yourself a tour guide and you will enjoy your stay in what really is a beautiful island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jerk chicken!
The weak points
Haggling (not at the hotel)
Certified

Poor

, Medicine Hat, AB
2014-03-02
Rooms have poor plumbing which plugged, black grout and ocean side is barred by a 8ft fence.
Front Desk clerks extremely rude [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accessory staff very nice
The weak points
Bathroom, floors dirty, desk clerks rude and access doors poor and don't work - meaning a long walk back to your room Nothing to do at night but listen to the repetitive super loud music at the pool
Certified

Very nice location

, St Paul, AB
2013-03-23
this hotel was not very clean and run down need some work in room. we also seen bugs in room very slow service in dinning room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
was the beach was very nice
The weak points
the whole hotel was very run down it needs a lot of work
Certified

Good value!

, Halifax, NS
2013-03-03
For the price we paid, we found this hotel to be a terrific bargain! Jamaica is a developing nation and so we did not expect every amenity. The room was lovely, the staff who worked to keep the facilities clean and tidy were polite and diligent, and the grounds were beyond expectations, especially for the price. Rooms has a great beach and even at full capacity, was not at all crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room was spacious and had a balcony facing the ocean. The air conditioning worked well. The beach is fantastic and spacious! The household staff were very polite.
The weak points
The room telephone did not work and was not fixed. One front desk woman was abrupt and not helpful. The system for breakfast takes time to figure out. Lacks smoking areas so non-smokers can avoid smoke with breakfast. Wifi was unreliable.
Certified

Needs Improvement

, Ajax, ON
2012-03-06
On arrival two rooms were pre-booked but not allocated. We had to settle for what they had. In one room the air conditioning did not work, after three complaints it was supposedly fixed. It worked inefficiently throughout our stay. After traveling for sixteen hours we showered and asked the housekeeper on the floor for clean towels, the reply was, "Did you not just come in this morning?" Towels were supplied on a second request to the main desk. They ran short of towels and supplied two guests in the room with one set of towels. At the end of the day we made a second request to the main desk and the towel set was supplied. There was no vent in the bathroom causing high humidity in the bathroom and room when we showered.The bathtub had old black stains in and around it. There was a dead roach on the floor. I requested telephone outgoing service from my room. The line was connected to the room of my family members resulting on us making an outgoing call on that line to verify. We were charged connection fees on both lines. The food was very well presented, tasty and satisfying. Seventy five percent of the servers were pleasant and seem to enjoy their job. All staff wore name tags. The dining area, outer building, landscape, area around the pool and the beach were well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room decor. Front desk, except for the phone mishap, receptionist were pleasant and helpful. Food and food service.
The weak points
Housekeeping. Guest's comfort
Certified

ROOMS on the beach

, Orangeville, ON
2012-02-22
Much better then I anticipated. Everything was great...beautiful & very clean room. Ocean view WOW The staff was exceptional. I would go back in an instant. I have recommended it 'already' to friends & family EXCELLENT [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing, clean, great location to town, excellent scenery from balcony.
The weak points
NONE
Certified

Almost a great vacation

, London, ON
2012-02-08
the hotel was as expected. however our original reciept was for eight nights but we were expelled from our room 15 hours before our scheduled flight after only 7 nights. our flight was delayed so we spent 17 hours on a patio chair or bus. we were accomodated a room at 4am and managed to get food and four hours rest before returning to the airport at 10am for our 3pm flight.we specifically chose this package so we had the extra day in the room so that we could rest before traveling home. my wife has several health issues that make travel uncomfortable.we tried to correct this error before leaving and during our stay but were told that our rep would take care of it.we asked our rep to look into the problem and was assured it would be taken care of by thursday.we checked the sunquest book daily, left messages on the reps phone the day before we were expelled we ran into the rep and were told she couldnt do anything the hotel was full.we are very disappointed with our service we feel we gave ample time to rectify the situation i feel the error is with the agencies involved not the hotel my wife spent 90 minutes on the phone yesterday trying to find out who was at faultand was sent from one customer service rep to another and got left on hold only to be hung up on . an apology would be nice we were impressed with the service once it was decided that we were to beindefinitely delay in under two hours we were on our way to a place to rest. too bad the day had been so long to start with due to the original error. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great view but in the middle of town
The weak points
unable to get in touch with travel rep and felt we were being decieved
Certified

Very unimpressive stay at Rooms Ocho Rios

, Ottawa, ON
2012-01-02
The customer service was hit, but mostly miss. Some staff were lovely - but some staff haven't a clue what customer service means. After our room was broken into (as was the one next door), we were given false hope about being reimbursed through the hotel's insurance policy. Employees at reception were anything from ambivalent to outright rude. The lack of very basic customer service killed our enjoyment of the hotel. The beach in Ocho Rios is NOTHING compared to Negril. Ditto for the social scene. I would STRONGLY urge anyone considering a stay at this hotel to reconsider. You may have an uneventful stay (in a mediocre room at best), but should you request anything of the staff, they'll turn on you immediately. Regrettably, I sensed reverse discrimination and it was most unpleasant. I could go on and on... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nil. Breakfast included 2 boxes of cereal, some bread with cheap marmelade, a couple of pieces of fruit (on a tropical island!) and terrible coffee. We went to a local grocery store to buy our own food. The gym is a joke. The security is a farce.
The weak points
The location on the beach is OK, but virtually every day our view of the ocean (on a small beach to begin with) was blocked by docked cruise ships. The guys in town are brutally rude to women in hyper-sexualized ways.
Certified

Great Place To Stay

, Ottawa, ON
2011-04-07
It was exactly what we expected . Perfect location and basic hotel . The only wish might have been cold milk at breakfast and fruit .. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and Beach
The weak points
Breakfast buffet
Certified

Rooms Ocho Rios Review

, Whitby, ON
2011-02-15
The location was good and the beach was great. It would have been nice to be able to enjoy a longer walk along the beach however. I liked that it was not packed and we could enjoy some degree of quiet.
The food coould have been better, however we did only experience the continental breakfast and did not order from the menus. The service (front desk etc.) could have been a little faster, more attentive, but overall everything else was as expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was great as was the beach. I liked that it was not packed and we could enjoy some degree of quiet.
The weak points
The food coould have been better, however we did only experience the continental breakfast and did not order from the menus. The service (front desk etc.) could have been a little bit faster, more attentive, but overall everything else was as expected.
Certified

Rooms on the beach--ocho rios

, Cardinal, ON
2010-02-24
One complaint---I needed a late check out, an extra 2 hrs and I was asked for $50.00 US. The last time I was there in October there was no problem and no charge!!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy access to main street & down town. Easy to walk anywhere. Not a large resort. Right on the beach.
The weak points
Could use more ice machines. Another exit at the west end of the building, to gain quicker access to main street.
Certified

You get what you pay for, I guess!

, Windsor, ON
2010-01-06
The hotel itself is nice looking and could be rated a 3 star on looks alone. But unfortunetly, service is included in ratings. The staff at this hotel have not been informed of their duty to service the cliental in a timely manner. The waiter/waitress staff in the restaurant and bar are almost in comas. How else can you explain 4 waiters with 10 people sitting for breakfast, and it took 20 minutes for one waiter to ask anybody if they'd like coffee before ordering? And yes I tried tipping and there were zip improvements to service. The pool bar has no scheduled hours. When a bartender shows up, the bar will open. Sometimes 10:30am, sometimes 1 o'clock in the afternoon. And if the bartender isn't given a float for the cash register, you don't get any change. There is a drainage ditch running directly beside the entrance driveway with a smell that is raw sewage. The location of this hotel is perfect if you're looking to be walking distance to all downtown bars, restaurants, shopping and flea market. The internet services worked for one day and was never repaired. Its too bad this hotel is run the way it is, because it is a nice looking building. Overall rating would be 2 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pool & beach. Restaurant food was good and priced reasonably. Room was nice & clean.
The weak points
Waiter/waitress staff were terrible. Management weren't concerned about the lack of internet services. The lawn wasn't kept up, but pool areas were cleaned daily.
Certified

Rooms Ocho Rios

, Hamilton, ON
2009-06-26
A pleasant enough hotel. Not many amenities, but they don't claim to be a 5 Star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020