Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa

Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
2.892.892.892.892.89
2.89 based on 46 reviews
#9 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (13)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Go elsewhere..

, Kingston, ON
2018-10-08
Grounds, rooms, beach, entertainment, drinks, pool, location, ambiance..the whole package..way below sub par..”SPA” experience...not even close..
This was our experience almost a year ago when we traveled to Shaw Park..the reviews back then were accurate and it seems not much has changed..not worth the time..if it was free we would not return.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant staff..they we understanding and tried to make the experience better.. All rooms were beach front Busy when cruise ships in..quiet otherwise
The weak points
Dark, run down, dated, bathrooms very small, small beach, many times no hot water, bugs, rooms mildly smelling & poorly lit, balcony doors nor safe had functioning locks, bar poorly stocked, waters not great for swimming. Wifi lobby only..

LOVE/HATE EXPERIENCE HERE

, Brooks, AB
2015-02-25
Love/hate experience loved that my room was 10 steps from sandy beach, everything else sucked big time. No food choice and ran out of food at every meal never to refill, ran out of booze daily, hotel is a dump, Manager is rude to guests and staff. Never could change beach towel, internet only in front lobby. Way too expensive for what you got(or didn't get) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach access awesome, quiet place, small and easy to get around
The weak points
LACK OF FOOD,LACK OF FOOD CHOICES, RAN OUT OF LIQUOR EVERY DAY, ROOM IN NEED OF UPGRADE, GENERAL MANAGER,
Certified

Shaw Park Exactly What I Needed

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-13
I wanted to rest and de-stress, Shaw Park was the perfect place to do this. The hotel has all the amenities you need, beachfront, swimming pool, water activities, a disco, a spa and my favorite full body massages right on the beach. The king sized bed in my room might have been the best I have ever slept on. The food was authentic Jamaican and delicious, so glad to have tried that than just eat the same thing I always eat at home. The bar was stocked with everything you could want and the staff was so nice, I serious,y can´t stress how wonderful they were, every single one. The location of the hotel was perfect for me, about a 30 minute walk to Main Street, so you can get anywhere easily, but you are also distanced and have privacy. Being beside White River, also allows you to easily mingle with locals if you´d like, and the fishermen who live next door will take you out on their boats, it´s spectacular. If what you want is someone nice, cozy, safe and uncomplicated I highly recommend Shaw Park, I would absolutely go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Privacy, authenticity of a Jamaican Experience, ammenities, staff, beach, food, bed.
The weak points
Internet is free all day but only in the lobby and the bar. My bathroom did not have a tub and they do not provide shampoo or conditioner. There is currently only one place to get a drink, the bar, so if you are on the second floor you have to walk down.
Certified

Shaw Park Beach Hotel and Spa

, New Maryland, NB
2014-03-02
The food, staff, beach and other guests were great!

In a nutshell, this resort is ideal for people looking for a relaxed vacation on the beach with good company. 90 per cent of the clientele while we there were couples aged 40 and up. There was no partying until dawn (or maybe we slept through it :), but there was as much opportunity as you wanted to strike up friendships with interesting people from both North American and Europe.

The buffet had a wide variety of food that was replenished promptly. On the occasional cruise ship days, or when there was a conference on, there could be a line up but we just grabbed a coffee or a drink while the line cleared, which was usually under 15 minutes.

The beach itself is beautiful and goes on for over a km which makes for a nice, safe walk with no vendors approaching you other than at the very far end where some locals may approach you to sell shells, crafts, rafting trips on the White River and boat tours on the sea. They are respectful and those hotel guests who used their services while we were there were very pleased with having had an authentic experience.

More than enough beach/pool chairs were always available.

Staff in all areas were very friendly and made proactive offers of assistance if you looked like you needed or were looking for something.

As for the rooms themselves, the king bed was comfy and the air conditioning systems are new and efficient. Not all rooms have safe keys, but the front desk will move you to one as soon as one is available if that is important to you. Rooms may be tired (e.g. the caulking in the bathroom was cracked and needs to be repaired), but the view made up for it!

The resort itself is about a 10-15 minute drive from Ocho Rios and some reviews that we read prior to booking mentioned taxis being available outside the gate of the resort, but we never saw any. Maybe the front desk would call a taxi if asked. Also, there is gas station/convenience store/pharmacy about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Once at the main road (about 10 minutes into the walk), there was no shortage of taxis with red plates hailing us to see if we needed a cab.

We booked two tours with the hotel - Dunn's River Falls with Snorkeling and the Plantation. The first was even more fun than I had anticipated and the second was an opportunity to see the interior of the Jamaica, and I learned more than I had expected to, so I would recommend either one depending on your tastes.

All in all, this resort was very good value for what we paid and the type of vacation we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff and beach great! Buffet had wide variety and replenished promptly.Beach/pool chairs always available.Staff in all areas made proactive offers of assistance if you looked like you needed something.
The weak points
Not all rooms have safe keys - they will move you if asked. No taxis at resort. Shuttle is $10/person with limited time/choice of destination)- maybe front desk would call taxi if asked. Rooms are tired but views make up for it!
Certified

Yikes

, Brockville, ON
2014-03-01
1stday no hot water 2nd,3rd day NO water 4th day no hot water and finally got a room we could shower in . The 3 floods that happened in the hallway and room ...well
Staff very unfriendly ! Especially front desk lady she was foul when asked a simple question . Sad hotel and it is too bad because the beach is just great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Staff are just awful rude
Certified

Shaw Park Beach Hotel and Spa

, Ottawa, ON
2014-02-18
The lobby resembles a sugar cane plantation style. This is the only area that offers Wi-Fi. The disco is dark, small and dated. The games room only had a pool table with one cue and felt like a sauna. The people are very nice and the food was very good. Steps to the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fantastic and the food was delicious.
The weak points
Lack of evening activities. The bathroom was in need of a serious renovation.
Certified

Hotel Is Falling Apart

, Nipawin, SK
2013-04-07
The hotel is falling apart the shower broke in our room and others that we talked to. No up keep at all at this hotel. They have boat loads of peoples showing up to eat, and they told some people not to eat because it wasn't for us. There is one bar running at a time not 3. Slow service from the bar. The beach was beautiful. Rooms are old but clean. Some of the staff is really friendly others hassle you for money. Security would not leave us alone wanted money. We met some really amazing people there. The food was great! Ate like kings. If you come here DO NOT play over 1000, I would have rather paid more and been somewhere nicer. There were more issues that it was worth so I would not ever come back here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach. friends we made.
The weak points
Service, Manager, hotel falling apart, rooms
Certified

Shaw Park Beach Hotel

, Middle Sackville, NS
2013-02-13
Nightly entertainment was little but the resort itself was very clean. We had a great time at this resort & will definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was not crowded & there were not many children to listen to. Great place for at least 4 or more people to go to. Very relaxing & the local people were really nice to us.
The weak points
the variety of food & fruit could be better. I didn't know there were so many ways to cook chicken.
Certified

COMMENTS

, Cantley, QC
2013-02-10
THE RESTAURANT OPENS TO LATE, DELUXE ROOM NO KEY FOR THE SAFE OUATCH AWFUL NOT MUCH ENTERTAINMENT NEVER GO BACK [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH EXCELLENT
The weak points
RESTAURANT HOURS
Certified

I'll be back

, Barrie, ON
2013-02-05
This was a very nice place,quiet, clean and great staff. Very friendly people. Never bothered once by sales people.Nice, clean beach... No complaints [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beaches, Food
The weak points
2 hour Bus ride,Didn't have everything that was advertised
Certified

Nice quite place to stay

, The Pas, MB
2012-06-24
The hotel was a nice place to stay if you wanted peace and quiet and very romantic place to stay with your other half. It was dated but the staff was very friendly. When we were there, the pool was closed and looked like it had not been open for weeks but, we are ocean people we come to see and swim in the ocean. The food was good and my
husband loved the jerk chicken even though the food did not change much over the week. The weather was not the best, it rained half the time but, the rain was always warm. We rented a cab for the day and was taken all over the country side, if you want a great tour ask for Ian Rickets. It was awesome, the area was very tropical compared to Cuba and Mexico. We seen and climbed Dunns river falls and one of Mick Jagger's homes. We had a great time in Jamaica and would go back. 2 things we did not like where the lack of excursion staff knowledge within the hotel. They never seemed to know what you are talking about. When other excursion people came to the hotel from other hotels, they seemed to be able to help us. We usually do quite a few excursions when we travel but, this time the opportunities where not there at this hotel. So next time I would try a different hotel. The other thing was at the end of the trip when it was time to get picked up from the hotel the tour company forgot to pick us up. We had even confirmed that morning for pickup. The hotel staff was very helpful and got a hold of the tour company for us and got them to pick us up an hour and a half late. We were quite worried about missing the plane. We will not travel with Nolitours again, they actually yelled at my husband for not calling sooner and was very rude. We did confirm that morning. In the end, this trip was very good. We enjoyed the hotel and country side and would like to see more of it. But, we would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a quiet place to relax and not recommend Nolitours because of the type of service we recieved. Have a great time in Jamaica! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was great, staff was great,room was very nice and on the beach, bonus!
The weak points
pool closed, excursion staff lacked knowledge and not very helpful, Nolitours forgot to pick us up on the way back to Canada and yelled at us
Certified

A great couples spot

, Truro, NS
2012-03-29
We loved it here its not a new building but has a lot of old charm and everyone working there made the vacation very pleasant .The food is outta this world so many choices everyday we never were bored with our meals.Don't forget to tip the cooks as they do an awesome job and are not tipped usualy like the bar tenders and the room attendents. The beach is beautiful as is all of Jamaica such a green lush enviorment .This is a quiet place not a lot of night life but that was ok by us we enjoyed the quiet nights listening to the frogs peeping and the waves lulling us to sleep everynight. The massages under the Almond trees on the beach are very nice too.We would come back again and stay longer next time a week was to short. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the people the food and the beaches
The weak points
not much entertainment,air conditioning was musty smelling so we just opened our door and left the air off .Hard to not have things damp in that humidity we understand that.It would not stop us from going back.
Certified

Shaw Park

, Barrie, ON
2012-02-25
This hotel was below my expectations for a 3 star. A lot of TLC is needed throughout the resort. There is no activites happening. If you want a very quiet place, this is it. Pictures are deceiving... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quaint; very quiet; nice beach; nobody ever at pool
The weak points
old; needs some TLC;rooms are musty; no activities
Certified

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good food.

, North Battleford, SK
2012-01-31
Got what we paid for. Room was clean and comfortable. Beach area was excellent. Food was great, but not Jamaican as expected. Tours offered were expensive but worth it as drivers made sure you were safely returned to hotel and stopped anywhere you wished along the way. Long walking tours could have been separated as two sites in one was hard on knee injuries and elderly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly and helpful with all requests.
The weak points
The meals where excellently prepared and served BUT we expected Jamaican which came only on cruise ship days and fruit which was only once during the week.
Certified

Rest and Relaxation

, Keswick, ON
2011-04-05
We had very relaxing vacation.The staff were the freindlist of the places we have gone.When we went into town we were not preasured by locals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,Location,Location. The staff were sooo freindly. The Hotel is setup more for adult to relax but children are welcome
The weak points
Being an older hotel you run into maintanice issues which are fixed within 24 hours
Certified

3 star is 3 star

, Greely, ON
2011-03-08
Staff were slow but friendly; food was good with variety. Location on beach was awesome! No entertainment. Hotel in need of more up-keep. If you're looking for a place to quietly relax and not expecting exceptional things, this will fit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Hotel up-keep
Certified

A Great 3 Star Resort for Non-Fussy Travellers

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-07
The staff at Shaw Park are phenomenal. They go out of their way to make sure the guests are happy with their stays. We decided we wanted to get married while we were there, giving the event coordinator only 5 days to organize a ceremony for us, as she came through with great results! If you're looking to be waiting on hand and foot with all the butt-kissing and you want to be entertained your whole trip, stay somewhere else. If you're easy going and can enjoy not being pestered by wait staff every 5 minutes, stay at Shaw Park. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing and so polite. They are very accommodating and helpful with planning any outside excursions.
The weak points
Everything runs on Jamaica time, so if you're a steadfast scheduler you may be frustrated.
Certified

Shaw Park Beach Hotel

, Hamilton, ON
2011-03-07
Hotel was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. We arrived Saturday after midnight, so technically it was Sunday, you would think that the hotel would accommedate us by allowing a late check out (our flight was not until 945pm Sunday)management started to remove property from peoples rooms and checking them out. One night we did not have ANY towels because the dryer broke down. There was no cable until we complained to the owner of the hotel...all in all it was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. Staff was nice, polite and very friendly and the food was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was EXTREMELY pleasant and very helpful in any way possible
The weak points
rooms are very far from the the resturant and bar...rooms are not sound proof
Certified

SHAW PARK BEACH HOTEL AND SPA,WHAT A MESS!

, Brockville, ON
2011-03-01
We have recently returned from a trip to the Shaw Park Beach Hotel and Spa in Ocho Rios, To state that we were disappointed with our trip would be a huge understatement. In fact we are demanding a full reimbursement of the value of the trip (frankly we believe that we should also have other costs covered as well...What we encountered at this Hotel is beyond comprehension, and Sunquest and Itravel2000 would be well advised to de-list this hotel as a travel destination. I will not expand too much Of the people we have spoken to about this trip many have suggested that we take legal action especially in consideration of the security breach at the Hotel and how we were treated in regard to the death in our family back home. We will go to media and take whatever other steps are needed to ensure that our voices are heard around this matter and that we are refunded in full.
*NO water on 1st day!NO working A/C for 3 nights!NO Phone from Tuesday-Saturday!NO Cable TV/Internet Friday/Saturday! NO outgoing or incoming Phone services throughout Hotel Friday evening! ATE meals with spoons at breakfast due to lack of service!NO Coffee some mornings!NO Afternoon tea or very short on most days!If you missed lunch you did not eat till at least 7pm Dinner! Beach towels usually not available, Random luck if you get 2 towels for the day!Shards of glass on the beach,beer bottles etc. NOT SAFE!Meals are good not great, service was a hit and miss at best!HOUSEKEEPING ALLOWED PEOPLE INTO OUR ROOM!!!!!There was pee staining on toilet lid when we arrived in our third room changed and still remained till we left on Saturday!COCKROACHES and RATS Unacceptable!BUFFET Stations was not changed at MOST times for the next Buffet! unsanitary beverage glasses! Raw or not fully cooked meat such as prefabed hamburgers!So called GYM unsafe working conditions!As mentioned on website NO •Room service...with no phone in room how is this possible!
•Nightclub/disco no aircondition or not working
•Travellers cheques accepted and cashed IF the FrontDesk had any Monies!
•Fitness gym room on site...UNSAFE
•Restaurants on site...WHERE,did not see
•Bars on site...only one open maybe at 11 am and then disco one open after outside bar is closed at night and only open until 2ish
•Indoor games room...which is a pool table
•Ironing board/Iron...where is the iron
•Hairdryer...Where is the hairdryer!
•Casino - on site...Where is the CASINO
NO entertainment on a regular scheduled basis!Bar not open when it is to be opened at 11am!
•Cooking classes...NO posting, if any!
•Weekly managers cocktail party...NO Posting if any!
•NO hot/cold towel on arrival!
ADULT Pool is where guests bring their children to swim with poor water quality and circulation...never seen a pool attendant cleaning!!
SPORTS ACTIVITIES...very LIMITED!
•Sunfish sailing REALLY!only one Boat and if functionable!
•Kayaking..ONLY 2 boats within the whole hotel!
•Snorkelling Same mouth equipment reused for all guests!
•Others: non-motorized watersports included
where and when not posted or have seen at Hotel or Beach area!complimentary introduction to scuba, complimentary snorkel lesson in pool, DID NOT SEE!
We did not feel safe at this Area! AGAIN this should be DELISTED or given a ONE Star at the most!!!
Some of the Kind Staff and Ocho Rios Locals DO NOT Like the OWNER OF SHAW PARK BEACH HOTEL AND SPA! Our Drivers had no nice words to tell of this Hotel or the Owner!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel and spa should be called...The last Choice Hotel

Very Unhappy and never returning guest,
Angela and Rene [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Àlex- BellBoy Tina our Server if seated by her Verone our Sunquest representative
The weak points
As Noted from HOTEL REVIEW... we stilled had to recommend for someone to send this survey forward..so this NOT RECOMMENDED FOR ANY ONE AT this Destination!!!!!!!!!!
Certified

Great low price vacation

, Pickering, ON
2011-02-09
We had a great time here! The hotel standard was as expected but the food was better than we thought it would be. They served up quite the mix of Jamaican and North American menu and also threw in Chinese style too.

The staff was friendly and took care of requests promptly. I would definately stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and good food with friendly staff and quality service.
The weak points
AC unit was quite noisy and no room service.
Certified

Short stay

, Keswick, ON
2011-02-06
Great spot to relax. Great staff! Hotel a little dated but always very clean. WiFi is available but only in lobby. Water pressure in showers is very low. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A dated hotel with endearing charms. Needs some upgrading. Staff are the best we have come across. Very relaxing atmosphere.
The weak points
Poor water pressure in shower. Really bad!. Long bus ride from airport. Over an hour
Certified

Shaw Park awesome quiet get away

, Upper Letang, NB
2011-01-24
At first I was a little disappointed as we dropped several other travellers off at 5* hotels. It only took a day to feel right at home. Shaw Park Beach Hotel is the correct name, it is a beach hotel. Located directly on the beach. If you are a traveller that likes quiet and intimate time with your partner this is the place for you. I would compare this to a bed and breakfast feel, staff get to know you with less than 60 people staying it was very personal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi access, 5 steps from the beach, very personal, $5 taxi from the busy town or a 45 minute walk, lost my safe key (no problem), lost one beach towel (no problem)that would have been a $125 anywhere else. Staff doen't expect tips but happy to receive
The weak points
Not new, in a wet area, no activities for teens or kids. Shower goes from very hot to very cold several time during each shower, not enjoyable.
Certified

Do not send people here

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2011-01-22
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. Dark, smelly, old, dirty. The room we had the first night had dirt and mold on the ceiling and the molding was coming away from the walls...the floors were all stained and the sliding door wasnt on the runner. We were moved after a complaint the next day to a better room which was cleaner. The TV didnt work, or the airconditioning. The bedside clock didnt work and I was told by the front desk that none of them worked and that I shouldve brought a watch!!! The list goes on and on, but suffice to say I will never go back to Jamaica after this experience. Please dont send anyone else there.....the place should be closed down. The food wasnt good either, chicken and rice EVERY day for lunch and dinner......come on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is nice
The weak points
Dirty, old, dark, moldy, smelly.
Certified

Time to relax

, Mississaug, ON
2011-01-20
Service was the best. Hotel is tired and needs up date. Food was great and chef willing to make you anything if what is there is not appealing. How great is that. Love the afternoon tea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service, beach
The weak points
accomodation, weak AC or hot water issues had to move room
Certified

Our lovely week in Jamaica

, Charlottetown, PE
2011-01-17
We loved this hotel; well-run, beautifully maintained period hotel; staff and management well-trained and courteous; obliging. A plus to be right on the beach. The food was good also. we would go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful period hotel; clean, courteous staff; good food.
The weak points
Could use a beautician one or two days a week for shampoos,manicures, etc.
Certified

So/ so hotel

, New Glasgow, NS
2010-03-22
I believe in it's day..this was a wonderful, beautiful hotel. It's in desperate need of attention. The rooms are old and shabby. The food needs some major attention. We had air conditioning problems,and had to change rooms which resulted in being down graded, the power went out 2 times and for a time the hotel was without water. The food was boring and very poor selection. The deserts were completely tasteless.On the up side, the staff at the hotel were amazing, wonderful people, the beach was great, but for the price we paid it was definitely sub par. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was outstanding.
The weak points
Loss of air conditioning, resulting in having to change rooms(downgraded) loss of power(twice) loss of water, and mundane food.
Certified

A good place to relax

, Porcupine, ON
2010-02-22
The hotel was as expected. The staff that are there were good. There was not always enough staff working but for the price you get what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was great. The food was good.
The weak points
Not organized for activities, on or off the resort. Not enough staff.
Certified

Shaw Park Beach Hotel

, Elizabethtown, ON
2010-02-18
Since a vacation is all about what you make of it...the hotel is only a small part of the whole experience..This hotel is beautifully located, with a long stretch of private beach free from local traffic, no solicitors whatsoever. The food is adequate, drinks were sporadically available...even beer was not always available..(often not)...The hotel is in need of some serious maintenance..roof was leaking in the dining room etc. The bathrooms were tiny, no water pressure and no ability to control the temperature...and NO OUTLETS in the bathroom...so you dry your hair sitting on the bed...
The ground floor rooms are literally two steps to the beach and you hear the waves crashing on shore all night...it s delightful..
The exchange down the road from the hotel provides CHEAP taxi fare to town as opposed to the 20 bucks the hotel makes "special arrangements" for you to receive...walk two minutes and you are in town for $1 per person.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location was great, private beach, the breakfast chef!!!!, Maxine in the restaurant was fabulous....and Sereal from the exchange outside the hotel provided us with the best lobster I ever ate!!!
The weak points
Manager is indifferent and difficult. The wine is terrible!!! they ran out of beer several times as well as anything else you seemed to want to drink....the staff tried to accommodate but management didn t care one bit..
Certified

Shaw Park Hotel, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

, St Basile Le Grand, QC
2010-02-15
The Hotel was very dissapointing to say the least, it was very old, tired and in need of a huge amount of maintenance. It should not have the rating of 3 star. The rooms were grubby, mismatched with very old furniture. Not all the in-room safes worked nor did the electric outlets. The bathrooms were shabby, missing tiles, ceiling tiles broken and old, the hot water was cold for the most part, it happend several times that there was no running water from the hot tap be it hot or cold, the toiletries that are provided even in the cheapest of motels were not provided here. Remotes for the T.V. were available only upon request. Balcony patio doors were dirty. Food was passable,buffet every meal which soon became very repetative. Staff for the most part were attentive. Regulations not upheld i.e. although there was a designated smoking area people were allowed to smoke while sitting around the bar and in the dining area while others were eating. I would be embarrassed to recommend this place to anyone and most certainly will never stay in this Hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Everything except location
Certified

SHAW PARK HOTEL

, North York, ON
2009-07-06
Hotel was situated too far away. Food and entertainment were poor. Staff were friendly. No shopping nearby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff were friendly
The weak points
Location and food were miserable.Nightly entertainment was poor
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020