Secrets Wild Orchid

Secrets Wild Orchid
4.154.154.154.154.15
4.15 based on 41 reviews
#20 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Amazing

, Windsor, ON
2020-02-25
It was our second trip to Secrets Wild Orchid. We had an amazing time. Erika made our piano visits more enjoyable. Sheri at the grill made my favourite chips and Lady love with the entertainment team was unforgettable. She's an amazing person loves her job and very unique. Staff at the beach were incredible. Food was good. We enjoyed our second visit and was sad to leave. It's a must visit. Piano Bar very entertaining. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Secrets Wild Orchid

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-25
We enjoyed our stay but there were a few things that would have made it better. We found there were too many a la carte restaurants and would have liked at least one buffet dinner option. Also, our room did not have robes in our closet as promoted by the hotel. The bathroom door did not close as it was off its track (at the time we checked in) and we were surprised when alcohol was on the room service menu, yet we could not get a bottle of non-premium vodka sent over as we were told "we were in the wrong building". The room mini-fridge/bar only had 2 cans of Jamaican beer and shockingly, ordering a bottle of Absolute vodka would cost $93 USD. Quite often our room service meals came differently to what we had actually ordered and in some cases the food quality was not great. Also wanted to mention we found the pool water a bit cold. Overall, we did enjoy our stay but thought the hotel 5-star rating was actually closer to a 4-star as compared to other resorts we have visited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people were very kind and helpful and always so very friendly! The service was very good. The bed was very comfortable and we got great sleep. The grounds were very well kept and the resort is located in the absolute perfect spot.
Certified

Fantastic Place to Stay

, Warman , SK
2016-02-27
The first thing we noticed upon arrival was the incredibly beautiful, well manicured buildings and lush plants. We were greeted at the main entrance, escorted to our Preferred Building, then taken care of from then on.

Our room was beautiful, overlooking the ocean. We had a tub on our balcony (thought jacuzzi prior, but tub was fine. Jacuzzi in the room anyway.

Staff all over the hotel were great, friendly, helpful, and fun.

There is a lot t do. Several pools, several bars, nightclub, and about 9 restaurants on site.

We spent most of our time relaxing. It was paradise for 7 days.

Remember, it's an adult resort, so if you have kids, this is not available to a family. I love travelling with kids sometimes, but every now and then, we need to get away on our own, to act like it's a honeymoon ;) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of the staff were amazing. Most went out of their way for some special requests we had. The grounds are beautiful. The beach is private and great, People who work on beach are friendly helpful and fun.
The weak points
Some of the grounds crew get a bit 'over friendly' with the spouses of some people, if you know what I mean. It is very difficult to get small bills to tip people. You need many $1's $5's. Boutique is $$$ but great staff. Very high % at $$ exchange
Certified

Secrets Wild Orchid

, Orleans, ON
2015-03-09
My husband and I really enjoy our experience at the Secret Wild Orchid. It was our fourth visit and it feels like home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I feel it is the best resort in the area.
The weak points
I can not think of any.
Certified

Hope to come back

, Lethbridge, AB
2014-01-08
One week well spent. Great restaurants. Tipping staff goes a long way in adding to the experience. Half of the staff we met were great while the others seemed indifferent to providing good service. Preferred club is a nice exclusive area for those liking more quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants (accomodating to dietary needs) Beaches, pool areas Walking paths/gardens New years events Entertainment activities (yoga, aquacise, crafts) Spa
The weak points
Room noise (neighbours) Non private water closets Housekeeping inconsistent
Certified

Great retreat from the Kids

, Thornhill, ON
2013-12-20
Food was lacking in quality, not enough fresh fish, fruits etc..
Room, grounds and service was great (no attitude from staff- all very friendly). The resort has a great layout, all rooms face the beach or lush grounds, all restaurants at night have beach and mountain views. All amenities are in minutes walking distance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GREAT LOCATION- Beautiful grounds, restaurants are along the beach/scenic view from dining areas.
The weak points
food quality was average, (they tried hard-but it didnt hit the mark) not enough fruits or fresh fish!
Certified

Had Greater Expectations

, Brampton, ON
2013-09-24
Secrets Wild Orchid is a beautiful resort however despite of its beauty it lacks the much needed atmosphere that allows guests to let loose and have a truly fantastic time. We paid extra to stay in the preferred club side (not really worth the money) which offered us a room with a beautiful view, soaking tub on the balcony, free internet and access to premium liquor. That is about it. Each and every guest has access to all of the restaurants which are all located near the Preferred Area of the Wild Orchid side. The swim-up bar pool area is where most of the guests flock to however it lacks that party vibe most all inclusive hotels have, no preferred access needed. Not many planned activities during the day. The staff (mainly the ladies) are super friendly and extremely attentive bringing us drinks just in time for a refill. Food is fresh and quite good for the most part. The beach is clean and well kept. The water is clear and mainly with a sand bottom. Some areas do have a little bit of rock. Overall it is not a bad resort however as we do travel quite a bit our stay at Secrets Wild Orchid is not one that will be talked about a great deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice modern hotel Clean Good staff
The weak points
Not enough entertainment
Certified

Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-30
This was our 2nd trip to Montego Bay and both times we stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid (1st time in Preferred, 2nd time in the regular building since Preferred was sold out when we booked). If we were impressed the first time, the 2nd time blew it away. Upon our arrival we were greeted with the usual "Welcome Home", and they really made an effort to make us feel like we were at home. Everything about this hotel is top notch in my opinion and i will definitely look for Secrets in any destination i travel to.
Staff - incredible!!! whether it's an "act" or genuine, they make your stay unforgettable. They are extremely polite, helpful and funny. Kevin at check in was awesome. Coco makes coffee's at the breakfast buffet, just looking at his face in the morning makes you smile, he's hilarious. Leonard at the preferred beach is full of energy and keeps the drinks flowing. These are the names i remember, but everyone from the bell hops to the waiters at the restaurants to the guys who cut the grass, all friendly, helpful and always smiling.
Rooms; You get what you see in the picture. It's good size, comfortable, and all the rooms have a view of water (not all of the open ocean though). Really we were only in the rooms to sleep, to wash, and to get ready for dinner, so even less would have been sufficient. Who spends a lot of time in their room when you're on vacation in Jamaica anyways?
Beach; Obviously the picture on the website is photoshopped. It really is beautiful, but as per other reviews, it is rocky (especially at the regular beach, preferred beach is much better). I'm a beach person, i didnt go in the pool not even once. Water is clear and not too deep. It's perfect for cooling off, swimming, and snorkeling.
Restaurants; I found the food to be excellent (obviously not comparing it to restaurants in Toronto, but to other tropical destinations). Secrets has 9 restaurants (inc. Italian, French, Mexican, Japanese, Caribean)to choose from where the food is all good with a selection for everyone. The restaurants at the pool are great for lunch, and the buffet has a really good breakfast. Friday night is Surf & Turf dinner at the buffet, also really good. Then there's the Jerk Cart that comes out at the beach for lunch, which is awesome. The only improvement I would make is to the 24 hr room service menu. Its ok for a snack in the room or for the late night munchies, but the selection is not great.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to everyone. I would put it in the same category as a Sandals, but a few hundred dollars less expensive. I read some reviews of people complaining, but if you're looking for perfection stay home, or spend a few thousand more. For the $2K price range, i think this place lives up to the billing.
Preferred Club; The preferred club costs about $50/night/person on top of the booking price. With it, you get;
-room in the preferred building. This building has the best location since it is close to the restaurants and the piano bar where the evening entertainment is. They also have an area in the lobby where there is food out all day and bottles of alcohol if you're in the mood for a shot. I didnt touch any of this food because it's kind of left out there unattended most of the day, but the people i was with ate it and didnt mind it.
-Preferred beach. I think it's worth the upgrade just for this. The beach on the preferred side isn't as busy as in the regular side so there's no problem finding a seat, its less rocky, and a lot quieter.
-Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. I LOVE this feature. It allowed me to keep my Iphone on Wi-fi for the whole week and it worked everywhere. I was able to go online, check email, send Imessage & whatsapp messages without having to use my phones data package and incur roaming and data expenses.
For the extra $350 I would definitely go Preferred. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Staff -Restaurants/cafe/bars -location (vicinity to airport) -Preferred Club (building location,beach,& wi-fi)
The weak points
-Room Service Menu
Certified

Great Holiday

, Mississauga, ON
2012-12-30
Beautiful resort. You feel like you are in a small town instead of a resort. Every detail thought of such as slushie and fresh fruit carts, movie in the court yard, coffee bars and bands you can dance to all night. Rooms were perfect and staff are very friendly and attentive. We will return. Just perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and entertainment
The weak points
No free Internet
Certified

Wild Orchid

, St Clements, ON
2012-12-07
We really enjoyed our stay at the Secrets Wild Orchid. If your debating between Wild Orchid or St. James they are basically the same, the Wild Orchid is a little bit closer to the restaurants and night entertainment. We upgraded to the Oceanview rooms, i don't think that was necessary, if you are on floor 3 or higher you will have an ocean view. Food and drinks were excellent. The pool was a little to cold for my liking. I was in Jamaica 5 weeks earlier and the pools at that time were much warmer. Not sure why this would be in such a short time. The staff in this resort are awesome. A highlight for my husband was the blackjack and poker game. They could have this everyday. Taxi's to the hip strip are expensive....60.00 US for approx. 3 hours. My one complaint would be internet access, i wish this would be included in all the room categories. The only way to have this included is to go "Preferred". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is beautiful, staff is wonderful, good food.
The weak points
Internet should be included in all rooms, and the pools should be heated. The hotel should provide a free shuttle to town.
Certified

Our Honeymoon - Sept. 2012

, Ottawa, ON
2012-10-21
Highlights:
- nice property, modern, relatively new, well cared-for, good facilities
- spa services and massages were very good
- 24 hour room service was nice-to-have
- the romantic turn-down service was a nice surprise

Lessons learned:
1. We paid around $800 extra for Preferred Club; it was nice to have a tub on the balacony but we only used it once, and the other benefits are insignificant. You generally have the same access as everyone else. Avoid Preferred Club.
2. Airport transfer felt disorganized and uncomfortable.
3. House wine is "no-name" red and white. Any other wine costs money and you must buy it by the bottle, starting at $29USD.
4. Tips are "expected" for better service at the bar, coffee shop, etc. where you will be a repeat customer.
5. Beaches are man-made, small, and rocky.

Recommendation:
We had a relaxing 7 days at this resort. People were generally nice, the food was okay, the room was nice. If you can get it at a good price then go for it.

Personally, we will not return because we feel we can probably get similar/better experience for a better price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities, spa, 24hr room service, turn-down service
The weak points
Preferred Club value for money, airport transfer, wine selection and cost, tips, beaches
Certified

Great Resort

, Brampton, ON
2012-10-12
Great resort, service outstanding, excellent food at all restaurants. Swim-up rooms are NOT worth the extra money. There is absolutely no privacy as it faces a main pool and they are not very wide so little room to swim in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service by staff, excellent food, clean resort and rooms. Preferred Club gives you option for more quitier area and closer to restaurants
The weak points
too crowded to see the entertainment. Swim-up rooms not worth the extra money.
Certified

Dream Vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2012-10-09
it was first time in Montego Bay, we loved the resort, beach and food was Excellent, definitely i would go back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food / Restaurants, room and the views
The weak points
the show time late, we can,t make to 10:30 PM
Certified

SECRETS WILD ORCHID

, Welland, ON
2012-09-19
GREAT HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, GREAT FOOD, WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR COUPLES IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A BEAUTIFUL RELAXING VACATION... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room was beautiful - great view beach/food was excellent
The weak points
none
Certified

Excellent

, Moncton, NB
2012-04-25
Best resort we've stayed at yet. Very friendly staff, excellent service, great restaurants, always found room to sit by the pool or beach but had to claim a chair early if there was a specific spot you wanted. Drink service on the beach and pool side was great!

The Jerk Chicken on the beach was excellent as were most of the restaurants (3 for lunch and 7 for supper).

Evening entertainment was a bit lacking, highlight was break dancers 1 night with a steal drum band. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly service all around, seems like everyone from the waiters, to beach sports staff is always singing.
The weak points
Everyone gets spa vouchers when you checkin, they're useless. You can only use them on $100 services and can't combine. Complelely redundant, the spa will give you the equivalent discount without a voucher but won't combine the discount with a voucher.
Certified

Nice!!!

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-20
First time in jamiaca, and first time at an adults only 5 star, and I will never go lower again. Stayed 1 week at the Wild Orchid, Preferred Club.
Location-15/20 minute drive from the airport. Fairly secluded on a tip of the island that looks exactly like the picture.
Resort- set up is perfect. Restaurants, piano bar and evening entertainment all set up along a strip, makes it feel like you're in a village instead of stuck on a resort. We had the preferred package (well worth the $350 in my opinion). The building is in the best location, the private beach is the nicest of the 3 on the resort, least amount of rocks on the beach and in the water, and an abundance of chairs and beds. Plus the included wifi allowed me to never have to use the data on my iphone and it worked throughout the resort.
Food-I've been to Cuba (terrible), Dominical (ok), Mexico (ok), but this was by far the best food i've had in the carribean. choice of restaurants, italian (i'm italian and was worried to eat here, but it was a lot better than i thought it would be), mexican (have the Quasidillia as the appetizer), french (best one), Jamaican (didn't try it), Japanese (alright), plus the buffet. All in all food was good. First time i came back from caribbean having gained weight.
Staff - Friendly, always smiling, will do pretty much whatever you require to ensure that you're taken care of.
Entertainment - Check out the piano bar if you like to get drunk and sing to 80's tunes with a bunch of strangers having a good time. Every night they had different show on the main stage. they were ok, finished pretty early.
Rooms - top notch rooms, exactly like in the pictures. some people complain about the privacy in the washroom, i didnt find it to be a problem, plus i was sharing the room with someone i'm very comfortable with. My only complaint is about the pillows. Didn't find one that I liked out of the 6 that were on the bed. If you like to go to sleep early, make sure you get a room on the ocean side it's a lot quieter at night. The swim out rooms looked cool in the pictures, but no one really used them. Plus they're on the main floor so you have no privacy as they look out onto the pool.
Pool - The main pool looked average, didnt go in it. The pool in the Wild orchid preferred side was tiny, but it was big enough for the small number of people who were using it.
OVERALL - great experience, i'd go back for sure. in my opinion worth the $2K it cost to go there. I'd suggest the Preferred Club package if you like a quieter, more relaxed vacation.
**Single people, groups of single guys especially.. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!! you will be bored out of your minds!! This is a 100% couples resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-clean -great staff -great choice of restaurants -Wild Orchid preferred beach is beautiful, quiet, relaxing with plenty of room and chairs/sunbeds -excellent location -very relaxing holiday
The weak points
-regular area is packed and pretty loud. hard to find chairs on the beacah
Certified

The Perfect Resort for a Honeymoon

, Medicine Hat, AB
2012-04-08
Secrets Resort was more than what we expected! It is very well maintained inside and out and the staff were always more than willing to help out in any way you needed. It was so nice to be able to easily find privacy when we wanted to and to keep busy with activities at other times as well.The layout of the resort itself was absolutely perfectly designed. It never felt crowded in the least and was always very romantic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was fabulous at All of the restaurants and we would highly recommend Portofino (Italian) and the Japanese grill!!
The weak points
Some parts of the beach were quite rocky but most of them were powdery white sand. We felt that all of the tipping suggestions were unnecessary as you pay a high enough price to be there to begin with and it is supposed to include all tips
Certified

Great vacay at Orchid

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-27
This resort is worth checking out. The service is fantastic, the rooms are very nice and the food is excellent. I don't think the preferred side is worth the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service and great food.
The weak points
Man made beach does not provide for natural setting, but it is still visually appealing and is great setting for a nice swim in the ocean.
Certified

Secrects Wild Orchid

, Aberfoyle, ON
2012-02-20
Exellent staff, good food and great weather. Nothing to complain about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, location and weather. No one made you feel like you had to tip but they are so nice you can't help yourself.
The weak points
Beaches were average
Certified

Simply Amazing

, Lively, ON
2012-02-03
As an experienced traveler I was thoroughly amazed by this resort. You will not be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Highly recommend the Portofino and Bordeaux restaurants.
The weak points
Sorry to have to leave!!!
Certified

Nice Resort and very friendly Staff

, Spruce Grove, AB
2012-01-01
The resort was very nice and modern and the staff were some of the most friendly people I have ever seen at any all inclusive I have been...and I have been to many. Secrets is basically associated to dreams resorts however Dreams seems to have a bit better food especially for breakfast and lunch..maybe this was because the dreams resort i had been before was in mexico where the all inclusive market is much more competitive....I'm not sure....however the dinners were quite delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff Nice beaches Good selection of international liquor
The weak points
Breakfast and lunches and room service menu
Certified

Unforgetable Vacation!!!

, London, ON
2011-12-27
From the moment we arrived this hotel provided everything we had expected and more. Room was beautiful, food at the restaurants we attended was delicious and grounds were very clean and well kept. We would definitely return to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was beautiful and bed very comfortable.
The weak points
I couldn't find any!
Certified

Beautiful

, London, ON
2011-12-20
Couldnt ask for more. It was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool, beach, swim-up bar, mexican desert shots
The weak points
no tour of resort when arrived, no snack bar
Certified

Excellent trip

, Chatham, ON
2011-11-21
We had a wonderful time. The resort was very top notch and excellent food as well as rooms and service by all the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly place with lots of activities.
The weak points
The front desk did not answer the phone. It took all afternoon of calling every 20 minutes to have someone answer.
Certified

Amazing

, Stouffville, ON
2011-11-15
This resort was beautiful. We went for our anniversary and had an amazing time. There's so much to do, lots of activities during the day and at night, even movies outside in the courtyard! We had the chance to see a few other resorts while picking up guests for an excursion and Secrets Wild Orchid definietly looked like one of the nicests resorts in Montego Bay. Staff is great, especially the entertainment team, always making sure everyone is having a good time. I'd go back in a second! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was beautiful, everything looks brand new. The rooms were great, the bed beyond comfortable. Food and service were excellent. Pools were always nice and warm. Love the jerk chicken and coconut stands at the beach.
The weak points
Walking into the water on the beach was pretty rocky. There is 24hr room service but the menu is very limited, although a few times we requested something not on the menu and we were accomodated. No problem man!
Certified

Over Priced for what is provided.

, Regina, SK
2011-02-09
Hotel was nice - very lowkey, entertainment started late, very little Jamaician music, they played alot of '70's. no one motivating the crowd or keeping things lively. This is the first trip ever where we were bored out of our minds, The food was good, but a very small selection. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Rooms and nice layout of the resort.
The weak points
No seafood, no party music, no great entertainment,Very Boring.
Certified

Great honeymoon

, Kitchener, ON
2011-01-27
Fantastic resort! Great service, beautiful suites, awesome food, etc.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Too many to list!
The weak points
Nothing, really..maybe a tad pricey.
Certified

Nice place for Vacation- Friendly Crew

, Vancouver, BC
2011-01-02
Nice Place for vacation for adults, couples nad seniors. Very freindly staff and crew. Jamaican people are really tourist friendly and happy people to be around. good location, good beaches, not much sport activity.
Relaxing for a sun and sand vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People and crew were really friendly.
The weak points
Long wait for restaurants. Poor intenret access.
Certified

Reasonably Good Value

, Vancouver, BC
2010-12-24
The location and property are lovely. The service was very inconsistent, however - some staff members were outstanding, most did the bare minimum, and many were downright sullen and unfriendly. I immediately reversed my tipping policy from tipping everyone, to tipping only those who were friendly and helpful.

The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, but missing a few minor touches - great thick towels and bathrobes provided, but no hook to hang them on, and no soap dish provided. The oversize shower was fantastic, with great water pressure, and the jetted bathtub was equally great. However, the "hot tub" on the balcony was not as advertised. It was just a bathtub, and the water pressure was so low that it took 1 hour and 45 minutes to fill, making it completely useless. This was not corrected after reporting the situation to the Concierge.

For those considering booking the swim-out suites - be warned that the water is ice cold and is more of a moat than a swim-out, as it doesn't connect to the pool.

The breakfast buffet had an amazing array of choices. The French restaurant was pretty good too - the rack of lamb was consistently excellent. The Japanese restaurant and teppanyaki show were also very good.

The wireless Internet service was a bit annoying as it there were apparently multiple servers throughout the property. Moving from room to restaurant, to pool, and to other locations, resulted in a dropped connection and a requirement to log in to a different server. There was always easy access via the 2 computers provided in the Preferred Club lobby, though.

One other issue to be aware of. While there were many great perks associated with paying for Preferred Club, as other visitors have noted, there is nothing to stop guests who have NOT paid for this service from enjoying them for free. Anyone can walk into the Preferred Club lobby and use the computers, help themselves to the food and premium liquor that's provided all day and evening, and take advantage of the beach and pool areas reserved for Preferred Club guests.

The entertainment provided wasn't the greatest, as compared to resorts I've visited in the Dominican Republic, but that's not what most visitors are there for. It was okay.

Overall, it was a positive experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A beautiful and well-located property that is meticulously maintained, and spotlessly clean. The hydrotherapy facilities at the Spa are amazing - not to be missed.
The weak points
Most staff members were downright unfriendly - avoiding eye contact when walking past, and cold and unsmiling when interacting with guests. Pools don't seem to be heated, and very slow drink service at beach and pool.
Certified

Average! Not a 5 Star

, Toronto, ON
2010-11-23
We did not have a great experience at the hotel. We were there from Nov 14th - Nov 21st for our honeymoon and were thinking that this would be a 5 start hotel but it turned out it was a 3.5 star. First when we checked in they made us wait almost 1 hour for the room to be ready than they told us to go to the room and when we got there the room was still being cleaned and the lady told us to wait outside. The food is average not horrible and not the best but sufficient. The Beach is the best part of this resort. The water is amazing and it has the best off beach snorkeling I have ever experienced. The people working there are nice for the most part, the entertainment staff is veru talented. We went on the hotel organized bike tour and it was horrible. The escort took us through this dingy plaza, which was still being constructed stopped at a Texaco gas station. On top of it three different bikes broke down out of a total of 8 bikes and eventually we had to all walk our bikes back to the hotel. The card key lock mechanism in our room stopped working and we had to wait an hour to get into our own room late at night because the engineer had to some and replace the batteries.

We would not go back to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach
The weak points
The quality of the resort facilities
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020