Barcelo Bavaro Beach

4.184.184.184.184.18
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
#8 of 96 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
4.18 based on 347 reviews
Traveller pictures (88)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Barcelo Bavaro Beach Adults Only

, Mississauga, ON
2019-07-15
The hotel stay was wonderful and the people who work there are so friendly and guide you if you need help. They become like a family to us by the end of the trip. I felt comfortable and at home with my stay. I would definitely come back again in the future. Gracias. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service is excellent. Staff are so friendly and are helpful.
The weak points
Better cleaning services in the room would be nice.
Certified

Great vacation spot

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-03
This hotel is lovely. The staff were attentive and friendly. The place was clean . The food was great. The beach was the best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
It was a bit windy and the alcohol wasn't premium... wifi wasn't included in our package.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-12-31
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your All Inclusive type of meal plan, allowing our guests to take advantage of our different bars and restaurant throughout the day and are grateful for your highlight on the quality of the products and drinks including in its board. We are also very pleased to read that you found our team to genuinely friendly at all times. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards Sandy Pfeil Director

Great hotel at a Great location

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-24
Great and very large all inclusive by the beach hotel with two areas, one for adults only. Very diverse and quality food. Very attentive staff. Rooms are just ok, our room was a superior room very spacious but with two double beds, too small to sleep 4 adults. Room cleaneliness could also be improved. Wifi was not free of charge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and overall facilities, including the pool, gym and auditorium.
The weak points
Basic room cleaneliness. Wifi was not free of charge.
Certified

Barcelo Bavaro Beach - adult only section

, Kirkland, QC
2019-02-19
Very clean hotel and property. Staff were very friendly and many made the effort to speak English.

The shuttle train that runs between the two resorts was cute. We rode on it every day. The peacocks on site were beautiful and we fed them every afternoon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of the rooms and the property. Beach was amazing, we saw the seaweed brigade rake the beach every day. Food was good and the entertainment average.
The weak points
We would of liked to have more restaurants to choose from on the Adult section. Many of the restaurants were already booked and the remaining time slots were too late in the evening.
Certified

Wonderful place

, Thornhill, ON
2019-01-15
We were there for the forth time and it was as enjoyable as ever. A bit disappointed that most of a la card restaurants on the palace site are not longer complimentary to the guests staying on the adults site but other than that everything was fine [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
grounds, service, food, beach
The weak points
no free WIFI , charges for using ala card restaurants on the palace site
Certified

Lots to like and a few things to improve

, Mont Tremblant, QC
2018-04-04
Enjoyed a 10-day stay (end March - early April 2018) as a premium guest at Barcelo Bavaro in Punta Cana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was ocean front with amazing views of the beach from s good-sized balcony. Room was airy and bright - bed very comfortable. Enjoyed complementary room service. Pool amazing.
The weak points
At times, too much noise on the beach; bathrooms need an overhaul; food ok but specialty restaurants (except the French one on the Adults side) were awful.
Certified

Return visit

, Burlington, ON
2018-03-23
This was our third visit in 15 months (8 visits overall) and resort gets better each time.
The a la carte restaurants and service were exceptional and the staff everywhere are very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service from staff is outstanding
Certified

Punta Cana - Barcelo Bavaro Beach

, St Bruno De Montarville, QC
2018-02-20
This was the second time that my girlfriend and I chose this resort. We vacationed here last spring and this time my brother and his wife accompanied us. The facility is huge and tries to accommodate a wide range of tastes e.g. families/adults only section; up-scale boutiques; golf; several restaurants; casino; impressive and modern gym etc. The food is very good whether one chooses to eat at the various restaurants or whether one decides to eat at the main dining hall...food for every taste. The beaches are kept clean and you can walk for miles, safely and without being harassed (a few local entrepreneurs but for the most part respectful). The rooms were spotless and the entire site is kept very clean including the common bathrooms. I was a little disappointed in that some of the restaurants charged 15$ US per person and that there was a 10$ US charge (at some, not all restaurants) if you brought your own wine. I did not experience that last year. There was also a charge for wifi (45 $ US) that was not applied in 2017. Wifi was free at the casino only from 04:00 to 16:00. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacance 2017

, Dunlop, NB
2017-04-11
very nice, shower a bit small, over all good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelo Beach/Adult Side

, Edmonton, AB
2017-04-10
Great hotel, staff were very pleasant and in particular, they were excellent in the restaurants, bars, and pool side in serving. Some not quite as sure about their English, a great way to improve your Spanish!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outstanding staff & service.
Certified

Take me Away to Awesome ness!

, Sioux Lookout, ON
2017-03-29
Barceló Bavaro Beach, resort was awesome, we had a great room with a great view.... food was fabulous, and the staff above and beyond the service. will return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, price and presentation in landscape food, and staff!
Certified

Excellent week

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-03-12
This is our fourth year going to this resort and we enjoy it every year we go, have met many people and enjoyed spending time with them, nice resort and beautiful beaches, you can walk forever. The staff is very good if you have any questions just ask, will definitely return, this year we were surprised to see our room fridge had Coors light in it . The alacarte restaurants are very good I've always enjoyed them and the buffets are just as good,i have talked with a lot of other travelers there over the past and 99% have been positive. Thanks for reading [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, very nice resort, beautiful beaches,15 minutes from airport.
The weak points
Rooms are a little dated but I wasn't there to spend time in the room
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Kanata, ON
2017-03-08
This experience was beyond all of my expectations and possibly the best hotel we've ever stayed at when travelling to the Caribbean. We had some trouble with housekeeping staff missing us one day, but other than that it was fine. It was frustrating when we were not able to switch devices on wifi, but the portal seemed to get fixed over the course of the week, making it easier on us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The accessibility both to the beach and in the room. Great pathways and ramps everywhere. No place you couldn't get to. Super water sports staff!
The weak points
Wifi was not free and very slow. Trouble switching devices. Staff has trouble in English but very friendly.
Certified

Feb 2017

, Ottawa, ON
2017-02-28
Restaurants were either very good or very poor. Beach is fantastic. Shows were hit and miss. The circus is fantastic. Staff was courteous but had more trouble with English than hotels in Mayan Riviera. Wifi is not free, but you get 15 minutes a day on a PC at the visitors center. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach. Chez Gourmet and La Brisa Restaurants. No kids. Many activities on huge property.
The weak points
Coral Seafood is horrible with a cafeteria like feel. Santa Fe Steak House is like a Ponderosa Restaurant. Advertise free Wifi at a couple places but they don't connect.
Certified

Good Food, Nice Beach, Lovely Staff

, Aurora, ON
2017-02-23
I especially enjoyed the international and seafood restaurants. The steakhouse was nice as well. The Italian food was a nice setting and the food was fine but wasn't my favourite. I did not enjoy the waiter bringing an ashtray to two ladies in the seafood restaurant that constantly smoked next to our table. Also the adult only section had heavy smoke (not so much in the family section) so if you are a non-smoker be prepared to be around smoke especially in the adult only main bar near the entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, nice resort golf course.
The weak points
Lot of smoking in the adult only section and didn't appreciate staff bringing an ashtray to two ladies that didn't stop smoking even when they had food in front of them.
Certified

Amazing week

, Montreal, QC
2016-12-18
Barcelo Bavaro great spot for golf and everything else. I would recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation, will return!!

, Chateauguay, QC
2016-04-23
Excellent hotel. Service, cleanliness, beach were all above expectations.

One important comment when booking, if you are upgrading to ocean front, you must upgrade to "premium ocean front" otherwise it's not worth it. If you're on ground floor, you can barely see the ocean. And don't bother with sun deck upgrade, Its not worth it.

Le Gourmet a la carte restaurant was outstanding!
It's a must for all. But in order to really enjoy, purchase a good bottle of wine. House wine is barely drinkable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was phenomenal.
The weak points
The wine.... They really need to find a better housewine. I've seen many negative comments for years about the wine, but they don't seem too concerned about it.
Certified

Best vacation ever

, Montreal, QC
2016-01-13
The best vacation ever great resort.Will to back next year BRAVO BARCELO BAVARO BEACH. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Caledon, ON
2015-02-19
Beach is incredible. Staff are trained professionally and very nice at check in and all through the resort. We were a group but we didn't like having to book the A La Carts as there was only late suppers available to us unless we pushed and we went in the 1st hour we arrived told can email them ahead which would have been helpful to know. Coupon book is cheesy and should just be honoured. Drinks were very good and bottled water available everywhere. Loved it for the 3rd time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, drinks, chicken, location, secure and organized, shows and close to palace next door which is newly renovated and very modern.
The weak points
Fancy food decorated but not edible for me. Miss the old pizza oven, now its putting cheese on cardboard. No pool side food access.
Certified

Awesome Resort

, Beaumont, AB
2015-02-09
We loved this resort!! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back to this resort. Beautiful beach. We stayed in the adults only resort and it was never crazy busy anywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved everything!
The weak points
Nothing comes to mind.
Certified

Vacation barcelo bavero beach

, Amherst, NS
2014-03-24
This was our fifth return to this hotel and this particular beach. It is clean, staff are very caring and try to be helpful with our needs or questions. Beach is beautiful with more than sufficient lounges under many palm trees for comfort and shade from the sun if desired. Beach is white and very clean and food is generous, delightful, and very sufficient...When we found this resort, it answered all our wants completely and we would recommend it to anyone.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They try to understand what we want and are very willing to assist in whatever we need.
The weak points
We don't speak Spanish but try, and they try too to speak our language, English, and all the other languages we encountered there...
Certified

Everything we asked for and more

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-23
The staff at the Barceló Bavaro Beach provided us with excellent service. The Club Premium upgrade was well worth it. Our only complaint about the hotel would be the soundproofing construction between rooms is terrible. Even if you are normally a sound sleeper you will hear everything your neighbors are doing. I realize it is hard for the hotel to control noise but most of what we heard is normal talking voices. The golf course attached to this resort offered everything we wanted included personal pick up from our building. It was fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and location to the beach and golf course. The food was actually quite good and you could always find something for your palate
The weak points
Sound proofing of the rooms. It often sounded like your neighbors were in the same room as you This was very annoying in the middle of the night.
Certified

Our experiance

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-03
Overall the hotel was great. We had a problem with our room missing items like face cloths & hand towels. We had to try and convey to the maids what we wanted as their english was either poor or non existant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was very clean & friendly. Most of the entertainment was good.
The weak points
In the seven restaurants that we ate in, we found the food quite tasty BUT in most cases the food was either cold and/or not cooked. My wife sent a lamb dish back 3 times as it was still bleating.She asked for it to be cooked medium well.
Certified

My 2nd time at barcelo bavaro beach

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-13
this is our second at the adults only barcelo bavaro beach. We loved it, clean,staff very helpful, lots of variety with food, great restaurnats! great beach can go on very long walks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do, great food, great beach,
The weak points
none
Certified

Good but not the best value

, Burnaby, Br
2014-01-19
The beach is great. The food was good. They did not have the right room for us when we got there and they mostly have 2 double beds they need more king size bed to supply demand. We paid extra for ocean front and it is not worth it. The rooms are clean but the bathrooms are in need of a lift up but it is clean. They only have 2 bars one in the lobby and one by the pool so there is always a big line up bring a big insulated cup, it was nice but not the best value for the money I paid. I was expecting way more. Wifi is available for about US $50 for 7 days. You have to pay extra for better liquor and wine. The house wine is completely horrendous I would not even cook with it . It would ruin the dish. If you can go for less than 1200 all in from Vancouver I would say it is worth it. If not you can get a better deal at a 5 star hotel in Riviera Maya. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach good food
The weak points
Not a great value long waits for bars lots of smokers and no sections so you can be having dinner and have a smoker right next to you.
Certified

Fantastic!

, Gatineau, QC
2014-01-13
Great week at the Bavaro Beach. Hotel, food, service , beach and pool were top notch. Would go back anytime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, beach, cleanliness
The weak points
No free wifi
Certified

We'll be going back....

, Oakville, ON
2013-11-11
Friendly staff.
Fantastic beach.
Good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.
The weak points
After a few days, The buffet started to get repetitive.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Ajax, ON
2013-05-06
We were impressed with the hotel and room...looked very new but learned that they had been refurbishing over the last few years. Loved that there were no bugs...the most we saw was a house fly. Loved the beach! First hotel that we encountered an enforced dress code. They have taken it too far though...they don't allow men to wear nice bermumda shorts into the restaurants but it is ok for them to wear ripped, torn jeans or track pants - just as long as the pants cover their legs it was ok. Also a bit sexist that men cannot show their legs.

We were in building one but on the opposite side from the pool. Didn't hear any of the activities from the pool or theatre at all. This location was perfect as it was close to everything. Our only real complaint was that the food on the buffet was never really hot so by the time you got to your seat it was luke warm or cold. But great desserts including soft and hard ice cream and a chocolate fountain and crepes every day. We would go back to this resort ....and out of ten resorts we would only return to this one and the Palladium in Riveria Maya. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, beautiful beach, good ala-cartes, cleanest pool we have experienced in our travels, most staff very friendly. Shows were good. Liked that you could use the Palace facilities as well. Great gym and enjoyed the aerobics and pilates classes.
The weak points
The buffet food is not hot unless you get the made to order such as the egg station in the morning, or the pasta station at lunch or dinner.
Certified

Barcelo Bavaro Beach

, Ottawa, ON
2013-04-29
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have an excellent vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not over crowded but could be the time of year we went.
The weak points
The buffet themselves were good but a little on the cool side as far as temperature of the food.
Certified

Yuk

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-26
Left after one day and moved to Bahie Principe.Esmerelda paid the difference but worth it.....this is not a five star resort.. no service, awful food, and would not recommend at ALL [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We left....
The weak points
Service is awful....and food is fried, greasy and cold all the time. Bar service very slow, and coffee from machines??? and only one working out of 3??
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?