Iberostar Dominicana

4.154.154.154.154.15
Iberostar Dominicana
#13 of 95 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
4.15 based on 198 reviews
Traveller pictures (63)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Great Experience

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-17
The hotel accommodations,the service and the employees were beyond our expectations. The food was plenty with an abundance of variety. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.
Thank you Iberostar for a great experience. Our next stay will definitely be a longer one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Perfect relaxing vacation!

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-28
This was the best vacation ever with our friends. The staff go over their heads to please you. The food is fantastic, the beach is the best, the room is very clean with big comfortable bed, huge balcony and the view is breathtaking.

Thank you Aris, without you this would not have been the amazing trip it was. You made this week a memorable one!

We cannot wait to go back!
Take care my friend!

Claudette [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

We just love this place

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-28
My husband and I have been at this resort several times and will continue to go. The service, the grounds, the food, the beach and the entertainment are excellent.

It is extremely safe and have never had any problems. You do not get hassled by beach vendors or anywhere.

The staff is what makes this place wanting us to come back. We are going back a second time this year and although we could have the choice to go elsewhere, we really have no desire to go to other places. For us, its our corner of the world we call paradise.

Finally a special heartfelt thank you to Aris at the front desk and Kimito Paulino at the Huguey buffet. These two people took such good care of us and we are trully excited to go back to see them and experience what true customer service should be. Muchas Gracias mi amigos. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and attention to detail that the staff provide
The weak points
Losing beach space because of the Prestige Club. There is still much space but need to stop expanding the beach space for tge club at the expense of those who do not want to be part of that.

Perfect resort for a relaxing vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-28
Our vacation started with a warm greeting and a happy smile by the assistant manager Aris. Cocktails were served while Aris explained the resort's facilities and services offered. The room was spacious, equipped with brand new mattresses, modern bathrooms and a nice balcony. The resort is clean and well maintained, landscaping was top notch with tons of palm trees and flowers. The staff on the resort was dedicated, polite and always ready to serve us. The beach is magnificent, with an abundance of palapas with enough place to put 4 chairs under it. The highlight of the trip was definitely the quality of the food. The Buffet had an amazing variety for every taste. The specialty restaurants were the best as they served high quality meats and top grade steaks. Again,a special thanks to Aris for an amazing job during our stay. He was always available when needed! His dedication was appreciated. We will be back soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service, beach and restaurant

Enjoyable resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-09
Very clean resort, friendly staff, beautiful beaches and pools. The food was okay. Liked that they have a lifeguard at the beach. Enjoyed the long walks on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Be there many times

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-04
We have become experts on this resort. We have been there a total of 5 weeks in the past 4 years and consider this place our second home. This time however we observed more the other tourists interaction with the staff. It amazes us how some people expect so much. These people work so hard and try their best to ensure all is perfect. It can happen that certain things get overlooked and if this is the case, just ask. In all of our times at this resort, we have learned to not be affraid to ask if we need anything in the very few times we have had to ask.

Please be generous and tip accordingly. We can't get over how many people don't tip. Yes these people need to make a living like we do. It is not about buying better service, it is to show respect for how hard they work.

We met the acting Director General Rosario Rosario and got to speak with her for a while. She takes great pride in the Dominicana and all the staff that work so hard. He professionalism reflects down to the staff. The list of people to thank is far too long but there are certain people that need to be mentioned.

Aris at the front desk is a perfect example of attention to customer satisfaction. We cannot thank him enough for all that he did for us.

Kimito Paulino at the Higuey restaurant took such good care of us. We always sat at the same table and he made that spot so special for us and his service is amazing not to mention, the Mimossas which are a great way to start the day. Thank you Kimito, you have become a true friend.

Francesco at the Lobby Bar made the drinks exactly how we wanted. My wife has a specific way of having a Martini and he made it exactly like she loves them.

The Star Friends really outdid themselves with the new show called " On the Rock" You must see this show. We have seen all the shows at this resort and this beats all of them including the Micheal Jackson impersenator show.

In closing, we love this place so much, we are going back in a few weeks for another stay. We are bringing my wife's senior parents which have never been anywhere like this. I am positive Rosario and her entire staff will make this first visit of theirs, the most memorable vacation they have ever had and making them like us, go back time and time again.

We are trully so gratefull to everyone for making the Dominicana feel like home. Again special thanks to Aris and Kimito Paulino. These two guys will go way out their way for you.

See you all soon...we are excited to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service Beautifull grounds Amazing beach Excellent food
The weak points
None that are worth mentioning

Great 10 day stay

, Dieppe, NB
2017-05-27
i traveled to the Iberostar Dominicana with a group of 6 from April 30th to may 10.
i was very pleased with the resort. the grounds were immaculate, amazing beach. and the food in my opinion was very good. we did not even bother to do the a la carte as the buffet was very good. the snack bars near the beach food was very good as well we did all our lunches there as we wanted to get back to the beach. the room was nice and it was clean . maid service was in and did great job each day.
i was the booking travel agent that travelled with the group of friends and family. i would return to this resort and recomend for clients as well. if you book an excursion be sire to go through your company rep. We had booked with a hotel rep through life comp[any as they were in the area of all the reps selling excursions in the lobby area. we booked the bavaro beach speed boat excursion and it was a complete rip off and not worth half of its value. in previous years i had done the same excursion with another company and it was a great excursion. this time was a big disappointment and rip off. so buyer beware. other than that the staff at iberostar were great everywhere. very good experience overall. the dive shop kessel divers affiliated with the resort are A1 and i would also recommend as i had done a dive with them. any question i can be contacted at troy@byota.com [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool and service

Great trip

, Stony Plain, AB
2017-02-02
Older well looked after resort, close to the airport, friendly staff, lots of activities for all ages. Everything is within close walking distance and there are golf carts for people with mobility problems. Buffets are very good with lots of meal choices, fresh food well presented. A'la cartes not so good. Disco only plays music geared toward the young crowd. Nightly shows are fun lots of audience participaction. Beautiful beach within walking distance of a flea market. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dominicana Punta Cana

, Windsor, ON
2016-04-24
The resort was awesome crew was best and friendly to us nice oceanwiev beach was clean aldo we had hard time to find free sports. One word extrodinery. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and crew were the best.
The weak points
Hard time to find free spots under the shadow at the beach.
Certified

Great Time

, Kanata, ON
2015-11-12
This resort has very good rooms and are clean with every thing working. The grounds are well maintained as are the buildings. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is very good. We will go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
every thing
The weak points
none

Iberostar dominicana resort

, Fort Erie, ON
2015-02-23
Great experience. Food, room, location all excellent. Will definitely return. Staff very friendly and helpful. A very clean resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The whole experience was excellent and couldn't have happened at a better time.
The weak points
Wasn't aware that only sunwing travelers had to pay a second fee to leave the country:(
Certified

Great vacation

, Brossard, QC
2014-07-14
Great experience overall.
Warm welcome, nice beaches, great selection of restaurants for breakfast & lunch [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, service
The weak points
little restaurant selection for supper if you didn't have reservations
Certified

Iberostar Dominicana

, Woodlawn, ON
2014-03-13
This is are third time to this resort. It remains as our favourite destination and will return over and over. Staff is friendly, helpful and very efficient. The rooms are large and kept clean by the staff. The food is good and plentiful. The beach is fantastic and again kept clean. We have nothing but great experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, excellent beach, clean rooms and good food
The weak points
none
Certified

Very nice resort - good value - we'll go back

, Brooklyn Corner, NS
2014-03-02
Overall very nice. We were there two weeks. The beach and grounds are really nice. We had a room overlooking the grounds in the front of the hotel and looked forward to seeing the flamingos each afternoon walking through the pristine gardens. The beach is punta cana perfect and well maintained and constantly being cleaned by staff. There is a nice reef for snorkling in a bouyed area to the right of center of the beach. Lots of fish and a wide variety of types and corals.
All the staff were always friendly and keen to ensure we were having a good time.
There are quite a number of stores on the resort with a variety of souvenirs available as well as necessities. Take lots of sunscreen, they charge $20 usd a bottle if you run out. Otherwise prices were reasonable and you can barter.
The sailboat I took out was in good condition. The sailing area protected by the outer reef is fairly large and provides lots of room to manuver.
The retaurants are very good. We lost airconditioning one evening in the mexican restaurant and the manager was around to meet the guests and apologise right away. The problem was fixed before the meal ended.
Our room was kept clean and neat, the fridge well stocked; the maid service was very good.
The only downside in the entire vacation was both my wife and I got sick from eating or drinking something in the middle of the second week. The symptoms were quite severe, montezuma's revenge I believe it is called. We did not leave the resort so whatever hit us we ingested on the resort. The symptoms lasted 48 hours. I did speak to the front desk about this who refered me to guest services, however we did not follow-up.
The internet in the lobby is very fast. We accessed it via an IPAD. We lost service during the last two days - they had router problems, and the front sesk would not refund any part of the 35 dollars a week we paid.

Overall we are very pleased with our experience at this hotel. This was our 7th trip to the dominican and we would certainly go back to this resort. Good value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are excellent, friendly, and caring. Resort is clean and well maintained
The weak points
Food poisoning during the second week took some of the shine off the vacation.
Certified

The perfect get-away

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2014-02-07
An amazing vacation, can't say enough good things about the resort, staff, etc! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful
The weak points
The Mexican restaurant wasn't the greatest, but still good
Certified

Beautiful!!

, Belleville, ON
2014-01-21
We had wonderful time at Iberostar Dominicana. Our junior suite was in a 8-unit villa -very quiet and pretty clean. The food in the buffets was great - we like salads and seafood, so it was great for us. At every meal there were new items. Plenty of choices. We even cancelled our reservations for the a la carte restaurants because we were happy with what was offered at the buffet. The beach was AMAZING! It was a very clean resort, staff was working non-stop. The entertainment crew did great job. We have no complaints at all. We spent a wonderful week and are planning to go back to the same place next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, clean resort
The weak points
None for us
Certified

Great stay at Iberostar Dominicana

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-21
If you are going for the beach this resort has it all. A gorgeous beach with white powdery sand and lots of palapas for shade. There is the usual nonsense with reserving them but you can manage to get one if you show up before 10am. We liked that you could have both your breakfast and lunch at the beach restaurant. It was a bit annoying that people ignored that you have to wear shoes and a shirt or cover up in restaurant. I find people around food in bathing suits (speedos) gross. They should enforce "no shirt, no shoes, no service".

Rooms are what we expected for a four star. They were clean but the bathroom was a little small.

Staff was friendly and service was good. The food is typical four star fare. Adequate choices for meals. Salads and fruits were plentiful, desserts, cheeses and breads were very good. There were pastas, pizzas and meat choices for the grill but very few cooked veggie choices.

Entertainment at night was fun and we enjoyed atmosphere in lobby bar.

I will warn you though that they have roosters and chickens that roam the grounds and every morning at five you will hear the rooster - not once but many times.

Our biggest priority when looking for a resort is the beach and for this The Dominicana meets our expectations. Overall we had a great stay and we will come back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, lots of palapas
The weak points
Slow service at times
Certified

Beautiful place

, Nepean, ON
2014-01-14
The hotel Iberostar Dominicana is visually stunning, beautifully designed with lush, spacious grounds. There are few oceanfront rooms but if you can get one, it's heaven on earth. The staff will do absolutely anything needed to make your stay perfect, they are always working to keep the hotel clean and guests entertained, and never without a smile and a hola. Kindest, friendliest people in the world! Buffets are superior with lots of choice, seafood a la carte was a bit disappointing, but the gourmet and steak restaurants were very good. Only one pool area, albeit a large area, which can get loud at times with activities; great for those who want the games, singing and dancing, not so great for those who just want peace and relaxation. We just hit the beach when the water polo game was on. Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food available at all times, friendly staff, lush grounds, entertainment and activities, junior suites
The weak points
One pool, sometimes noisy, seafood not as good as expected
Certified

Winter Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-13
Overall the Iberostar Dominicana was quite good. Not five star, closer to 3.5 or 4. The beach was really nice which is one of the main reasons for going, although you have to get there early to get a decent spot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beaches, pretty good food, kind staff.
The weak points
Reception was hectic, difficult to get a spot on the beach with everyone reserving spots.
Certified

A 10 days vacation at this amazing res

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-24
There are lots of food choices, all the time. We ate at French, Seafood, and Steak a la cartes ... - they were yummy. Buffet choices for breakfast (main or beach side) were awesome.
Staff are constantly working, entertainment team never stops. Bar and wait staff always friendly. Cleaning and groundskeepers friendly and hardworking.
Beach beautiful - weather awesome - hope to return soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, beach, cleanliness,entertainments
The weak points
bathroom, payment for a deposit box.
Certified

Dec 5-12, 2013 - Iberostar Dominicana

, Georgetown, ON
2013-12-18
Everything was wonderful. Beautiful grounds, clean room and better than expected food. We upgraded to the junior suite and it was worth it. Unfortunately there were strong winds since Bavero beach is on the north shore so no water sports like sailing were allowed. Five of seven days were red flag and 2 were yellow flag but the waves were fun. Two clay tennis courts and one hard court with great tennis staff. There are rackets that you can use ore bring your own. The courts were not busy. The resort was not full so it did not feel crowded. We tried the steak house, mexican and french speciality restaurants and all were very good but not large entrees. Entertainment was better than expected with several live music shows with very good musicians. Overall we found the food to be quite good and the staff easy to deal with. If staying longer than one week I expect the buffets may loose their appeal. The entertainment staff can be a little aggressive as the women do not take no for an answer if they ask you to dance. We do not lay in the sun for hours so finding a chair by the pool or beach was possible but the chair saving is ridiculous. By the pool I saw one couple with four chairs saved, two in the sun and two in the shade that they kept moving between. Also they had taken cushions off of other chairs so they had two cushions on each of their four chairs. On the beach I saw some who tried to build a shield from the wind using several chairs on their side. The worst part of the vacation was Punta Cana airport. Not the resort's fault but I have never experienced such confusion and long lines to get both in and out. The airport is now too small to process the large number of people now flying in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful clean grounds, pleasant staff, decent food
The weak points
Windy location, chair hogs, aggressive entertainment staff
Certified

Iberostar Dominicana November 2013

, Chelsey, ON
2013-11-24
We had a nice vacation at the Iberostar Dominicana. We found a good price online five days before our departure. It was our first time at an Iberostar resort. It didn't have the same flair as say a RIU palace but was great where it counts, food, beach, room, gym, cleanliness.
The food was great and plentiful. Front desk service was good and they tried to assist with any issues that crop up.
One issue that did crop up several times was a lack of facecloths, it seems there was a shortage or something. Also, before dinner it seems everyone in the resort must have been trying to shower because there was very little water pressure (sometimes the water stopped altogether.)
The in room safe worked well but was not included, $2 per day. Also no free internet, you must pay per hour, day or week at the front desk to get a password which expires.

For the money we paid, almost $1100 each, all in for 7 nights, it was a great resort. We had alot of fun, never had any trouble finding something to eat that's for sure.

There are alot of families with children there, something to keep in mind.

Also, the gym was quite good, better than some five star, higher priced resorts we have stayed at.

Beach was top notch. Beautiful white sand. perfect. Wavy at times but that goes with the territory on the ocean side. Usually found chairs, but people were clearly reserving them early in the morning, despite notices posted prohibiting it. Staff were not enforcing the rule of no saving. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beach, -food -gym
The weak points
-WIFI not included, must pay per hour/day/week. -faceclothes not replaced, seemed hard to come by. -water pressure/hot water scarce at peak time (right before dinner)
Certified

Excellent vacation!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-10-09
Worth every penny spent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people of the hotel were amazing.The service was excellent, food was beyond expectations. Beautiful beach, nice and clean room.
The weak points
Safety box fee
Certified

GREAT

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-09-21
Great location Great beach Great resort.
First time at this hotel, 3rd time in Punta Cana. " Best bang for your buck " I would definitely recommend the Iberostar Dominicana . My only disappointment was the nightly entertainment ( Mickey Mouse ).Service was great, food was good but was hoping for more food options ( same every day ). Last words... book it and enjoy. CHEERS!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great resort ,spent most of the time on the beach, very safe and clean.Very comforting to enjoy the beach without being harassed by peddlers.
The weak points
No FREE Wi-Fi in lobby. Nightly entertainment was terrible ,not worth my time!
Certified

Fantastic

, Mississauga, ON
2013-09-19
this hotel and their staff did a phenomenal job. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, the staff
The weak points
the mini fridge
Certified

Good value, but it's a 3.5 star at best

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-09-11
This hotel is good value, but it's a 3.5 star hotel at best. Food is mediocre and you only have limited choices of a la cartes because for every 7 days they only let you dine at 3. No room service, only the light beer. The cocktails are really nice. Tip a dollar or two to your servers and it goes a really long way. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relatively cheap. Nice Beach. GREAT Entertainment (shwapah!).
The weak points
Limited a la carte access (only 3 per 7 days). Have to eat at buffet a lot. Not enough high quality protein, all carb rich food.
Certified

Ok

, Mississauga, ON
2013-09-08
I had seen that the reviews were pretty good so I was expecting a little better than what I got. I am not an extremely picky person and have had a lot of experience with all inclusive resorts. Overall, the experience was not bad but I have been to many places that were much better.

The hotel needs a bit of a face lift aesthetically but I was not too picky about that. Many items in our room did not work properly including our phone and mini-fridge which was annoying but again, not a huge deal. You also have to pay for a safe in your room, which to me should be a free service. You also have to pay for internet. I can understand charging for in room service but even in the lobby you still need to pay. This is another service I think they should not charge for.

The maid was excellent and she cleaned the room very well so no complaints there. The service was great the majority of the time and everyone was very friendly to us. The front desk was pretty helpful too. The best part was the beach which was absolutely amazing, although finding a chair (and especially a palapa) was often difficult because the beach was busy.

One of the most important parts of the hotel to me is the food. The buffets were okay. There was always something to eat but it was very repetitive which got boring pretty fast. Also, other than salad and fruit there were not many other healthy choices. The a la cart restaurants were good and a nice change from the buffet. Our favourite was the Mexican restaurant. Another thing that they could improve on is allowing guests to try more than three of the restaurants per week. The drinks were also good.

Although we did encounter some problems here and there it didn't ruin our trip at all and we still had a good time but this experience does really show the difference between a four and five star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beach! - Service
The weak points
- Problems in room - Food could be better - Internet access - Safe
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Whitby, ON
2013-09-07
The hotel and grounds were kept clean. The food I would rate as a 2 same thing everyday they don't even change were they place it. Thanks to fries and bread I made it through 7 days. Location was a 30 min drive from airport so that was good. They had a lot of activities all day. Now the beach was absolutly beautiful. So if you want to relax on a beautiful beach and lose 10 lbs this is the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and clean grounds
The weak points
Food. Food. Food I am not a picky eater but come on
Certified

Nice resort, bad food

, Markham, ON
2013-09-07
The resort is beautiful and the beach was reallly nice but the food was horrible. We were on a 4 night stay and could not get any reservations at the restaurants as they were fully booked, so we ate at the buffet. Lets just say that if it weren't for the fries. I would have starved!!! The food was awful!! And the buffet options were the same everyday... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location, evening shows
The weak points
Food
Certified

Nice relaxing place

, Brampton, ON
2013-07-18
First and foremost, this is a four star hotel. So please do not expect 5 star service, otherwise you will be dissappointed.
We were there on the second week of July. It was a family trip along with inlaws and brother in law family as well.
The hotel was clean. We were placed in one of those scattered buildings. Good thing about it is very quite and spacious compared to the main buildings. They even gave us an extra double beds for my two kids. Just make sure they place you no too close to the mmain lobby or you won't be able to sleep at night because of the entertainment.
Food was good. We usually ate at the main buffet for breakfast and dinner. For lunch we usually ate at the buffet near the beach. There are two of them and both of them are good.
For the kids, there is a "pirate ship"/waterpark at the Bavaro hotel. Just have to walk over there about 5 minutes.
The chairs around the pool and beach get taken up pretty quickly. So if you want a good spot just head for there early.
All in all is a good place. We would repeat.
Here are some things to keep in mind:

Tip#1: Beware of ants and bugs in room. Make sure not to eat or bring any food into the rooms (specially sweet stuff)since they attract a lot of ants. We brought this up to the hotel and apparently it is quite common in any of the rooms so no need to complain. The only way to avoid them is to remove any food in the rooms. Also, sometimes the maids may leave flowers on the bed and towels. Just keep an eye as well because they also may bring unwanted bugs along with. Just ask the maid no to leave any flowers.
Tip#2: Early arrival. If your flight arrives before the check in time (3pm), make sure bring your swim suit ready in your carry on so you can enjoy the pool or beach. Otherwise you will be sitting in the lobby suffering the heat. Also, the main buffet doesn't open till 12;30pm. Instead, you can head to the buffet near the beach which opens at 11am and it is as good as the main buffet.
Tip#3 If you can't stand the "basement smell" characteristic in most resort rooms, bring one of those air freshners.
tip#4 Do not over eat. Most people come to this resorts and see a buffet and start eating like it is their last day. Then they get bad stomach ache and start blaming on the food. So take it easy on the calories. You will have lots of time to sample all the food.
Tip#5 Souvenirs. If you need any souvenirs head to the other end of the beach. You got more bargaining power.
whatever price they offer just counter bargain at 1/4 of the price.
Tip#6 Drinks. Alcohol drinks tend to be aa little bit diluted. also because the ice melts so fast. So when you order ask them to double up on the alcohol.
Tip #7. Slippery swiming pool. All the swimming pools (adults and children) have edges elevated at an angle. So be careful when you walk on it because it is quite slippery. Also, do not spend too much time in the water on the first day or you will get "water burn" (as your skin gets soft because of the water and you start walking in the pool, layers of skin get peeled off until you start to bleed) on your toes or feet unless you wear a watershoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best beach ever seen. Decent food. Good place for family trip. Good service overall
The weak points
Resort starts showing his age. Rooms need some make over.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?