Vh Atmosphere Adults Only Resort And Beach Club

Vh Atmosphere Adults Only Resort And Beach Club
4.334.334.334.334.33
4.33 based on 102 reviews
#1 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (67)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great the first week, disappointing the second

, Beaconsfield, QC
2020-02-19
The first week we were there was fantastic. The service was excellent, the staff helpful.
Within 24 hours, once the hotel stated to fill up to always full capacity the hotel changed completely. There was always something missing on the buffet tables, the staff was rushed. Beach towels not replaced on hang to dry on our room's chairs, etc. Very disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adults only, clean, food and landscape
The weak points
Away from the beach (15-20 minuties walk), shuttle gets you half of the way.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Great Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
We loved our stay at this resort and plan to go back. It was very picturesque, small, quiet and you could always get a lounger by the pool or the beach. The staff is fabulous and the amenities and grounds are very nicely kept and clean. The food was very good. The beach is about a 6 minute walk from the resort which we liked. A small bit of exercise after all the indulging. There was always someone with a golf cart available to drive you if you preferred but we always chose to walk. The beach is beautiful and long. The resort has its own designated section at the beach with a bar and food. My husband played the golf course twice and really enjoyed it. The ages at the resort were mixed but the majority would have been 50 . The only downside was the rooms were average. We had a particularly bad one. The front desk suggested we check back in the morning and they would try to switch our room. We had come with friends and were right next door to them so we decided to keep it but would make sure to not get that room when we come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was wonderful and we loved everyone but some of our favourites included Isaac and Rosanny.
The weak points
We had a very poor room. We were in 1725 and backed onto the water pumps which was supposed to be a garden view. Very unsightly. We also had drywall coming down from the ceiling in the bathroom from moisture. Will be sure to never get that room again.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon

Excellent Resort

, Gatineau, QC
2019-06-06
Great hotel, excellent food, good location, perfect small adult resort with dynamic employees. I would recommend this resort if you want to relax and enjoy good customer service. Positive feedback on all aspects of this hotel. We loved our stay and we will return again! Great two weeks at the perfect VH Atmosphere.
Olmedo : gentleman and he will do an extra job to please the clients.
Aleurys : Mr. Baseball is a perfect gentleman and very polite.
Edison, Ramon, Freddy, Kelvin : very good service.
Levinton : polite, very good service.
Rosy, Rosa, Alina : good work and excellent customer service.
Marcos, Orlando : great job at the grill.
Felix : great music.
Delfy, Waldis : polite, good entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, friendly employees, customer service, quiet room, pool, beach, location...
The weak points
All perfect so NO weak points!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-21
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at VH Atmosphere Adults Only & Beach Club. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and exceptional staff during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Loved the resort

, Glace Bay, NS
2019-05-07
VH Atmosphere.
Have to say sorry for not doing this review sooner but it has been a very hectic time with us moving three times in a year. We stayed at this resort for a week in April, 2018. I can not say enough about the management and staff at this resort. I developed a lung infection, which in no way was connected to the resort, and became seriously ill. The staff at the front desk continuously called to check up on me. It was through their coaxing, and that of my wife, that I made the trip to the medical facility near the resort. Gerald and a driver drove us there and Gerald stayed with us through the ordeal and prayed with my wife for my recovery. Things were more serious than I thought and I came close to death. The doctor their was incredible. Through a birage of medications and IVs I slowly came around and was put on a number of medications to get me through our stay at the VH. The compassion that was shown to us by the staff there was amazing. We will never forget their level of concern. Thank you to one and all at the VH Atmosphere and the doctor and nurse at the Medial Center. You literally are life savers!
The resort itself is a beautiful resort. The food was good, no complaints at all, with a nice variety and great service. Staff is friendly and courteous. The grounds are continuously cleaned and kept up. The lobby, buffet, al a cartes, pool and bar are all in one area. Very close to each other. It is a beautiful pool, but does need a hand rail. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the cleaning staff do an amazing job. But for those who like spending time at to the beach, you will have to go to a sister resort, which is across the road from the VH. It is anly a few minutes walk so not a big deal. There is a shuttle cart that regularly runs there for those who do not want to walk. It is also a quiet resort, which we liked. We will definitely be going back once we finally get settled after our last move. Once again thank you to one and all at the resort and medical center. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

VH Atmosphere

, New Maryland Fredericton, NB
2019-04-28
Hotel was great. Food was amazing. Service was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food. People.
The weak points
Not on the beach but not far to walk. We booked a junior suite but were put in a very small room on check in. Wasn't great. I asked to be moved and was put in a room much larger with king bed. Much better but was not what I booked. Was big & quiet.so ok.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-07
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

So so

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-24
Our room was nice and comfortable but we were in building 16 which was a fairly long walk from the main building. The pool area was nice but felt a little small. The beach was a short walk but I enjoyed it. What needs improvement is the food, drinks and entertainment. It felt like everything came out of a package or from a machine. Coffee...a machine. Pizza...pre-made crust. Salsa and nachos...out of a jar and a bag. Drink mixes...out of a machine and not nearly slushy enough. I didnt starve but I think there is room for improvement. With a smaller hotel I expected fresh and more made to order options. The service was inconsistent. Some of the staff were very friendly and others not so much. The bartenders at the beach were grumpy and the food down there was really terrible. Fries sit there for a long time. Nothing I ate felt overly fresh. It sits around from the start of the meal to the end. I made a point of going as soon as the buffet opened to try and get fresh food but even that was hit and miss. As far as entertainment, there was very little. I'm used to some live music or at the very least a DJ in those hours between dinner and the show which started at 9:30. Post dinner time was boring so we usually just went back to our room. We liked the international restaurant but not the Italian. The staff there were fighting with each other the night we went there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms were comfortable and clean.
The weak points
Food. Drinks. Entertainment.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Beyond Expectations

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-19
Our stay at VH Atmosphere was simply fantastic. It is a beautiful, clean resort that offers everything a large resort does but in a much more intimate setting. The food is excellent, the staff is even better. Everyone from the morning buffet staff to the restaurant staff, maids, DJ, gym and entertainment staff were friendly, engaging and wanting to make our stay a positive experience. We are already looking to go back again this year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants Gym facility Entertainment staff Size Infinity pool Setting
The weak points
None
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
What a lovely review - thank you so much. Your comments will no doubt be useful to future guests. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back

Upgrade or Don't Go!

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-16
Initially, we had not elected for the Royal Package. However, our vacation would have been ruined if we had not decided, on the third day, to spend the extra money. Once we paid the addition $553 (CAD) we got access to the private pool which was lovely and quiet - not noisy and crowded with bad music. And, we got access to drinks that we could actually drink - not sugary with watered down alcohol. Upgrading also gave us access to the private area on the beach which was much less crowded and much quieter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is by far the strongest point of this hotel. It is across the road, but safe and long and beautiful!! Another key point was the simple 20 minute ride with the VH customers (only two of us) being the first off the bus and the last to get on!
The weak points
The standard package is the weakest point. The pool is lovely but noisy and crowded and the "entertainment" is lacking. The drinks are absolutely awful. The food in the buffet was tasty, but the a la cartes were a disappointment. We both got sick.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon

Overpriced

, Waterloo, ON
2019-02-26
Not a bad place but overpriced for what is offered. I am thankful that we upgraded to the Royal service as drinks made anywhere else were not very good at all. Food is some of the worst I have had, though staff was friendly enough.
Beach has a shortage of umbrellas or shade in Royal section and beach service was very poor.
MANY better options in this price range [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff is pleasant and resort is kept clean
The weak points
drinks and food need lots of improvement.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the food and drinks - we are always looking for ways to improve. Thanks again and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back for a much-improved stay.

Excellent holiday!

, Mississauga, ON
2019-02-18
We loved this place. Small and quiet, it was perfect for us. Service and staff were excellent, and the food is amazing. I don't like buffets but we ate there several times for dinner because it was very good. The a la cartes are excellent as well. Great beach, calm water for swimming and very walkable for miles! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-03-01
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at VH Atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Decent Place If All You Want Is Peace & Quiet

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-06
About a week or so prior to our arrival, I tried contacting the resort by email on their website with a question, but never got any response.

Due to flight delays, did not get there until 4:00 am and had to wait until the breakfast buffet opened (7ish) before we could eat....not a great start, but ok.

If all you want is a nice, clean place to relax, free of screaming kids or partying students, then this would be a great option, but if you are looking for a variety of things to do or a party atmosphere, then I would advise you to look elsewhere. The activities available here are very limited and it is an older crowd which seem content to just lay on the beach or by the pool. We liked having a quiet room to retire to at the end of the day, but otherwise found the resort very boring.

The rooms are nothing extravagant and a little damp (good luck getting your clothes and towels to dry), but otherwise are kept clean and suffice.

The beach is long and very sandy for swimming, although the water does get deep very quickly. There are a couple of mini-reefs to snorkel around, but with very limited fish near shore.

We read many reviews about how friendly and accommodating the employees were, but we found they struggled with english and were not overly outgoing or friendly on average. There were a few exceptions, most were polite at least, but also a few who seemed rather miserable and seemed to hate their jobs.

One of the most important aspects of any resort for me is the food and drink selection. Unfortunately, for me, both the food selection and the drink selection were very disappointing. The food, while decent, had a very limited selection due to the size of the resort and was essentially the same every day and at every meal. Sure they made a few minor changes from day to day, but by the end of the week, we had pretty much run out of things we wanted to eat and were looking forward to coming home for something different. The drinks were perhaps even more disappointing, as they always seemed to be either too strong or too sweet. Unfortunately, we are comparing this resort to a couple of Mexican resorts we have been to in the last few years, and there is just no comparison. The food and drink selection we had in Mexico was far and away better than here and I suspect any Dominican resort.

Overall, the resort comes as advertised, they try hard, but there is just not a lot to do and the food and drinks grow old on you in a hurray. I doubt we will go back to Dominican Republic any time soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, Clean, Nice Sandy Beach, Affordable, Free (but slow) Wifi
The weak points
Not Much To Do, Employees Struggle With English & Not Overly Friendly, Essentially Same Food Every Day,
Certified

Super Friendly and Clean

, Lindsay, ON
2018-12-14
We loved our stay! I think our week from 4th to 11th was under capacity, which made our stay very comfy. No line ups at buffet til last morning after 2 large groups arrived. Grill for eggs could put 4 peoples orders rather than one at a time. Lots of empty lounges at beach and pool. Loved the smaller feel of ATMOSPHERE. Get to know more guests. Cart to and from room very efficient, if needed. I'm limited in walking length. Bit of a walk down laneway to beach if walking issue, from where cart drops you off. I was fine, but could be issue for other persons with walking issues. Every staff SUPER friendly and genuine!! Must book between 8 to 10am for one of two restaurants. One open every other evening along with buffet. Tummy off after Veal dinner and since home. LOVED LOVED LOVED!! Plus made new friends who live 30 minutes from our home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Not able to just walk over to beach in a couple of minutes. Need rail to hold onto for elderly and people with disabilities into pool. Need more entertainment rather than 90 percent by guests karaoke, guess that tune.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2018-12-14
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for your kind feedback, it is a pleasure to know you had a magnificent stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Quiet and relaxing

, Waterloo, ON
2018-12-12
A very small and quiet resort for those who just need a week to relax. Adult only with a challenging golf course attached. Guest profile is mostly older Canadian. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff - friendly and efficient. Nice coffee bar. Good food in buffet always fresh. Very clean and well kept.
The weak points
Limited selection in buffet - because of small size. No handrails into pool - a constant complaint. Trip hazards for less mobile guests.
Certified

Quiet Haven

, Lakeville, NS
2018-06-23
We loved this small quiet hotel. We don't want loud music or parties. We don't need lots of people. We just want peace and quiet, and this little gem delivered. We were there right after the “ flood”. Considering what they had been through... that had done a great job of getting things back to normal as fast as they could. The food was great. They do a great job of having something for everyone, for a small resort. The walk to the beach is nothing and is good for exercising. The beach was quiet. The local venders did not bother us. If you want them they will come, but very polite when you are not interested. The food at the beach buffet was good, although not a big selection.... but not a big deal. The drinks were good everywhere. Room was good. We had a small issue with our key card a few times and I hope they will get that figured out. The view from our room was just the walk way, but that was ok with us. The balcony was cement on our room, but some do have an iron railing. If going again, and I hope to, we would request a room with a golf course view. Not sure the room category for this, but I will find out.
All in all, if you want a quiet spot to have some time to switch everything off, have some good meals and a late night swim ( the pool is open until 10.00 pm, which is unheard of in the Caribbean) this is a great little hotel. If you can add on the upgrade to their more inclusive club... that would be amazing. If you want party, loud entertainment in the day or evening, don't go here. And don't come here with your boom box or blue tooth speakers and try to make this what you want. There are lots of hotels out on the beach for that. It is perfect just the way it is.... but they could buy the resort next to it, make that into the VH Stratosphere and have it a more upscale part and this place would be even more amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, quietness, Gardens, nature all around you, look in the lake for the ducks, turtles, fish, look in the trees at all of the birds. Close to the airport.
The weak points
Loud music at the pool a few times. Issue with housekeeping and our key card( all got fitted, but it took a few tries) lots of smokers, but that is not the resorts fault. Chairs on the balcony were not the most comfortable.

Great choice for a relaxing, quiet getaway.

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-30
Objective was to relax at a quiet resort & VH more than delivered. Room was very comfortable, variety & quality of food was great and staff was very welcoming & accomodating. Wasn't directly on the beach but I enjoyed the very short walk although there was always a cart service available if desired. Beautiful grounds surrounded by a golf course. Travelled alone & always felt safe in the Playa Dorada area. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to a friend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quick trip to & from the airport. Lots of variety of food and hours of meal service were very liberal. Full wifi was a bonus and very reliable.
The weak points
Only slight disappointment was there was no option of a soaking in a tub, only a shower but that was easily overlooked.
Certified

Vh atmosphere

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-11
nice experience but some more work can be done to improve hospitality i and my family are vegetarian hence not many food choices only if chef can know some vege recipes without adding ham even to patatoes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nicely laid out clean friendly staff if you know spanish cool place to relax
The weak points
no dj in evening or any sort of entertainment after dinner
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020