Vh Gran Ventana

Vh Gran Ventana
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 1124 reviews
#2 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (646)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Should be listed for “seniors and as 3 star”

, Kitchener, ON
2024-02-04
Lacking activity for teens and young adults. Resort suited for seniors, slow country music playing every morning which we have never experienced before. One man band playing in buffet every morning also which was odd.
Not good value for money- poor quality alcohol, lack of variety of soft drinks and not enough access to food. There were actually times throughout day where you could not get food.
We paid for upgraded package but could only drink quality alcohol in privilege lounge.
Customer service was lacking, took almost 2 days to get repair person to our room.
Although room and grounds very clean and well keep- not worth what we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean resort
The weak points
Geared to older people, lacking activity and poor quality drinks
Sanitary measures
Clean
Certified

Returning guest finding lower quality services

, Newmarket, ON
2024-01-27
Our family went on vacation at this resort 4 times in total but this time we were significantly less pleased with the quality of services we received and we are far from being the picky kind. We could only think that the reason may be a change in the management team of the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
This resort is located on Playa Dorado which is an one of the strongest reason we chose to go there. The beach was always clean ànd the water super clear, when ñot windy. Relative short distance to the airport and a mid-size resort: also strong points.
The weak points
Some staff at the front desk are unfit for the role (and this is an euphemism). Room 3156 given to us initially is a better fit for storage and not to host guests. 4 hours to complete room cleaning. Cleaning staff nice but most don't understand English.
Certified

Resort

, Elora, ON
2024-01-07
There was a 20 year old raped by a security guard. Yes he worked at the resort. Yea he was a security guard. He dragged her to the beach and raped her.
Asked for bottle water and unable to get any even though resort is all inclusive.
Couldn't ever get a towel. Even during times says they were free. TOWEL GUY see my photos said we'll be here at 4 not 4:15. So rude.

Sink and tub clogged for 3 days. My husband had to break a hanger and fix himself after 6 phone calls and 6 visits to front desk

Kids couldn't play pool or ping pong after 6pm and had to be 16 to play. Towel guy (see pics) let some young kids play but refused many if we didn't give him money. Should be fired. Complete asshole.

Also he assaulted a principal when he tried to get a clean towel.

Absolutely disappointing. Will never go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
None. Worst place ever
The weak points
See above
Sanitary measures
NONE LMAO
Certified

Birthday Vacation

, Etobicoke, ON
2024-01-01
Beautiful hotel, very clean, neat and tidy. Workers were always cleaning and tidying to make things proper - picking up empty glasses, putting chairs away. When we went to eat, it was very difficult to get someone to acknowledge us and found that if we didn't take care of ourselves for drinks and cutlery, we would not get any service at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean hotel, beautiful beaches.
The weak points
If the hotel staff didn't know or recognize you, you didn't get any service. Did not like that we were always bothered on the beach by people selling stuff.
Certified

Music

, Traverse Bay, MB
2023-12-31
Great hotel - very clean but a little dated - good varletry of food both fresh and made. Pools are fantastic for families. Grounds are immaculate . Entertainment was good although sound was sometimes too loud to catch what the people were saying . Most staff very welcoming and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The bounding base on the music was not appreciated by most - there is some beautiful Caribbean music that is not pounding or offensive-
The weak points
need fresh caulking around tub - bathroom door wouldn't ' close.= just minor things -
Certified

Grand Ventana

, Oakville, ON
2023-12-31
Excellent venue-everything was good-we were disappointed with the room-it was supposed to be a King Bed-but instead it was a double [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Gran Ventana Stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-12-30
My second visit to this hotel and it was great. The staff were welcoming and so friendly at the restaurants, by the pool and front desk. The beach area always had chairs available. The room was kept very clean every day. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

A great stay

, Calgary, AB
2023-11-24
We were generally happy with our stay at Gran Ventana Beach Resort. Great food and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The food was great with a variety to choose from at the buffet. The staff was friendly and very attentive. A shout out to our server, Felix in the buffet restaurant. Our king sized bed was very comfortable. A variety of free activities.
The weak points
We think better orientation at arrival was lacking. We arrived at about 5 pm and very hungry but all the restaurants were closed until 6:30. The wifi was spotty in the public area.
Certified

VH Gran Ventana

, Halifax, NS
2023-04-27
When we first arrived, we were pointed in the direction of the building where our room was, with no map of the Resort or room location or a Bell Boy with your luggage to show you your room, he came up afterwards. We got lost for a bit and took the long way around to find our room.
We had an issue with water from the bathroom above our bathroom pouring down through our ceiling. Maintenance came and stopped the leak, but had issues with the front desk with the clean up and then eventually were given another room after 2 hours.
Communication between hotel and travelling Public seemed to be lacking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach, nice pool, clean Resort, variety of good food, friendly staff.
The weak points
There were not enough umbrellas at the pool or beach for shade. Booking al a carte restaurants was only on Sundays. We arrived on Tuesday and could only book for Friday, Saturday & Sunday at 8:30 pm; too late!!
Sanitary measures
That was fine
Certified

Will not be returning

, Sarnia, ON
2023-04-20
The hospitality here was horrible. The staff wanted nothing to do with guest. Barely saying hello.... and heaven forbid they smile.... some did but the majority didn't. The entertainment was by far the worst I've seen at resorts. I've never napped on vacation before but the second day after lunch my daughter and I went and took one
The rooms are outdated but I will say my bed was half decent. My boyfriends bed not so much. Booking the Ala carte was a joke. All the upgraded guest got the early dinners and the rest was either 830pm or 9.
Upgrade... I tried to get that at check in but was told I can't and it had to be done at the time of booking. When I said I didn't want to change rooms just give me the bracelet so I can have better drink selections I was told no. Tried 2 times for that. But people that upgraded said it wasn't worth it.
Seems it is understaffed as it took forever for drinks while at the buffet..usually getting asked when you're done your meal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Marcos was great at responding to my emails and getting our rooms close. The city tour we took booked on the beach was great. Our tour guide was really good. The weather was awesome and the other guest we met made for a better trip
The weak points
Staff
Certified

Definitely returning!

, Whitby, ON
2023-03-28
The staff make this resort special.
The chef has won top Chef in dominican and it shows in all the restaurants.
Every staff has a big smile and make you feel welcome. Each one, from the bartenders to the housekeeping.
Beach is soft golden sand with a shallow wade out ocean.
Resort is clean and well maintained. We were in a room by the quiet pool, no complaints with that as the buffet can get noisy in the early morning.
Our bed was kind of firm for our liking, but it was on the newer side, so no they dont have hilton mattresses, but theyre clean.

Entertainment staff had fun with the games, don't be shy, try the games.
At night was a little on the quiet side, but that suited us, shows/activities were starting at 830 or 9 and wound down around 1030, so maybe not for the hard party crowd, but perfect for families and early risers.

Try the mofongo at the octopus restaurant, and the fajitas at the ocean grill. Felix will give you great service at the buffet, get a grand mohito from Andrea at the pool bar, and play the games with Juan Carlos and Roberto. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food. Staff. Beach. Clean rooms. Clean resort. Beautiful.
Certified

Our stay at VH Gran Ventana

, Quinte West, ON
2023-03-18
We upgraded to the royal package 3 adults and 2 kids. The Royal package is well worth the extra money. You get better rooms. VIP lounge, premium beach towels that get changed everyday, butler service on the beach, private beach section with private beach bar, Unlimited a la carte dinning, and bell hop to take your luggage to your rooms for you etc.

ROOMS: the rooms were a good size, not too small and you dont spend a lot of time in the room anyways. We left our bags unlocked all the time, we just left our passports and money in the safe and never had an issue with anything being taken or missing. We got never bath towels everyday if you ask for the room to be made up and the room would be cleaned and made up. Never saw any bugs in the rooms. TV worked well and had a few english channels. Good water pressure and always had hot water.
FOOD: with the royal package you could get room service but we never did. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was hit and miss. Most of the food tasted very good but not much variety for what we are use to with other resorts. Lots of the same food was served everyday for example stewed white beans was served every dinner at the buffet. All the grill stations are amazing! The a la carte dinners are all very good. The Octupous one was by far all our favorite one. Steak is amazing at all of them and cesear salad is great. We all had a hard time finding drinks that we liked or that wasnt too strong. If you dont like strong drinks ask for a little bit of booze and they will put less in.
BEACH: The private beach is amazing, very clean and the bali beds are great. If you want a spot at the beach with a bali bed you have to go put towels down between 7am and 730am. If not you wont get a spot. The water at the beach can be calm and it can be rough and very strong. Depending on how windy it is the water can go from very shallow to very deep within minutes. If you have little kids i would suggest not leaving them alone in the water as it can become dangerous quickly. There is a life gaurd on duty but he doesnt watch the private area as much. There seems to be a very strong pull in the water near the reefs which seems to become a rip or swell and will pull you and is very strong. My kids are great swimmers and are 10 and 12 and was concerning for them on certain days here in the water. Lots of fish to see near the reefs...bring bread down and feed them they will swim even between your legs and feet. Very cool! My kids loved it. Water is pretty warm and the sand is beautiful. Go early in the morning down the beach and you will find lots of shells. Lots of spots in the water that dont have coral or rocks for good swimming. There are vendors at the beach but if you just say no thank you most will just leave you alone. Only a few dont take no for an answer. We met a vendour on the beach. Tall man with a blue jays baseball cap. His name is pedro martinez, he sells jewellery. We became friends with him and he isnt pushy at all. He is a very sweet kind man and would come visit us everyday to see how we were doing. Please find him and say hello. My family will always remember him!
POOL: the pool is very clean and a nice swim up bar. When we went it wasnt too busy until all the college students came and took over the pool. They were very loud so we decided to stay at the beach specially with having kids with us. It becomes very hot at the pool and at the beach there is a nice breeze.
ENTERTAINMENT: Warning if you like things to do and to keep busy this resort is not for you. There is a mall which is a 5 min walk from the resort but a lot of the stores sell all the same things. The entertainment at night is beyond terrible. I hate making bad comments but it really wasnt good at all. They try hard but the quality is just not there. I love entertainment at night and even with reading the reviews i didnt listen. The reviews are very accurate! The best thing they had was silent disco which was amazing. They had a beach party on thursday but we were too tired to go as we had just arrived that day.
STAFF: we had no issues with any of the staff here. They are all very friendly, sweet and caring people. Everywhere i went the staff would say hello or nod at me and ask me how i am. I never felt unsafe nor did my children. Moat of the staff all speak english, french and spanish. The staff at the private beach are great..they go above and beyond for you. All the staff work very hard and long hours. Please be kind!
Overall its a good resort, very quiet and be good for couples with younger children or retirement age due to the lack of things to do. Would my family go back to this resort, no due to the lack of things to do and not enough variety of food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and staff are the best at this resort. Very clean
The weak points
Drinks, entertainment, variety of food
Certified

Wonderful Resort

, Oshawa, ON
2023-03-13
We a family of 4 two-60ish daughter 30 and granddaughter 6 stayed for 1 week and wish it was longer. The food choices were numerous and fresh in the buffet although bacon was an issue for a few days however there are many choices . The pool could always find a chair although the ones with umbrellas were taken early however moving chairs around allowed for shade when required. The beach is large and they will make sure to find you the required chairs. Please keep in mind there are rocks in the ocean so wear water shoes. The upgrade we found worth it as the vintage club had a larger variety of beverages and quiet place to spend some time as well as snacks most of the day. We te at 2 of the 3 restaurants Octopus and the Italian (name escapes me) which was very good. There was entertainment of some sort each evening which was enjoyable as well as things happening during the day too. The kids club was the best one we have been to. Scarlett is a fantastic girl who enjoys children and our Granddaughter followed her everywhere lol. Truly a great representative of the resort. Would not hesitate returning here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food choices are numerous and fresh. Staff are friendly and helpful seem genuinely happy to be there. Rooms are comfortable enough although dated.
The weak points
Weak? Perhaps times listed are not gospel but remember you are on holidays.

Grand Vantana

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-06
Generally satisfactory
Beach is over crowded [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
staff and value for money
The weak points
Special restaurants need improvement
Sanitary measures
not noticed
Certified

VH Gran Review

, Bowmanville, ON
2023-02-25
Staff was friendly and engaging. The restaurants were all very good with plenty of choice and amount. Could have had more music around main pool area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was friendly. Beach was close and easy to walk on (not full of shells). Food was plentiful and very good.
The weak points
Room was not adequate. Didn't have hot water, water pressure or blow dryer until a complaint was made. Room needed upgrading as air conditioning was stuck on high and was not attached to it's monitor. Not all rooms were in this condition.
Certified

Fantastic vacay at Gran Ventana

, Whitby, ON
2023-02-25
VERY friendly, helpful staff! Excellent positive vibes here! Loved snorkeling (bring own snorkel) off beach and feeding fish…they love bananas and hard boiled eggs! Can walk for miles on beach… seaweed cleaned daily. Vendors on beach will leave you alone, with just a ‘no thanks' we didn't have a problem. Lots of daily interactive activities here to be as involved as you like. Evening entertainment was always fun, especially silent disco, karaoke, auction, Mr Gran Ventana, etc. ALL staff work very hard to make for a memorable vacay. They have a 40% return guest rate! Nice how the main pool, and beach are about a 5 min walk apart. Beach bar and separate restaurant have awesome daily wings, burgers etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent food, with the executive chef recently winning best chef in D.R. Tons of variety. Entertainment staff work very hard to make a memorable vacay..lots of daily activities. Go to beach in the mornings when it's calmer and head to pool after lunch
The weak points
I honestly can't think of any weak points, other than the wifi was hit and miss in our room, but good in lobby area
Sanitary measures
Always workers cleaning public washrooms, washing floors, wiping tables etc. gardeners always cleaning grounds. Hand sanitizer given b4 entering buffet. It felt very clean everywhere.
Certified

My Stay at the Gran Ventana

, Woodview, ON
2023-02-13
The hotel is a bit outdated. My room did not have a working ceiling fan, hallway light was burnt out and the bathroom was missing a hairdryer. Maintenance came to my door at 12:30am (middle of the night) to install a new hairdryer. Only allowed 3 a la carte dinners and they were very difficult to book. Food was delicious. Great variety at the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was delicious, staff were friendly. Rooms were cleaned daily.
The weak points
Rooms are dated. Only one plug in the room and it wasn't close to a table or the bed. Maintenance came to fix things in the middle of the night. Clean pool towels were not always available.
Certified

No Hot Water

, Pickering, ON
2023-02-09
I had hot water for only 2 out of 7 days. I travelled with 10 people and the consistency of hot water and cleanliness of the rooms varied between all of us. Some stayed in the main building by the pools and their rooms were much nicer than the rest of us that were in building three.
All the public areas were kept very clean as well as the public washrooms.
The food was really good throughout the resort. A large selection and good quality.
Pools and decks were in great condition.
The entertainment could have been better.
Beach was nice but could get quite windy at times. You can snorkel right off the beach as there is a fair bit of coral. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was good. Public areas clean Pool and decks clean
The weak points
Hot water inconsistent. Room cleanliness inconsistent.
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Bowmanville, ON
2023-02-09
We were excited to get an inexpensive vacation but the state of the rooms we got were proof that you get what you pay for. The main hotel was nice and the food was very good. Most of the staff didn't seem very happy to serve us in spite of our tips. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good food, nice beach
The weak points
building 3 rooms, badly made drinks, general attitude of staff
Certified

VH gran ventana

, Corunna, ON
2023-01-28
We very much enjoyed the hotel. It is a smaller resort but we knew that going in. Lots to still do. We enjoyed playing pool at night. The nightly entertainment was perfect with lots of seating available and 2 bars available at this time. Service from the swim up bar was very very good. Those staff are excellent and handle the rushes perfectly.
The Italian restaurant and octopus were very good. Food was delicious and service was great. The ocean grill was not good. I had a worm in my salad. The steak was not cooked and the grouper my husband ordered was not grouper. 2/3 isn't to bad though. The buffet was delicious for all 3 meals of the day. Only complaint was water and drink service was hit or miss but we understand it's busy and had no issue going to the bar ourselves for drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was all good minus ocean grill. House keeping was great, room was always clean with new towels when we returned.
The weak points
System for booking dinners is the worst I've ever seen at any resort. Waited in line only on Sunday for 1.5hrs Beds are very hard and uncomfortable Ocean grill was not good at all
Sanitary measures
Great. Had staff handing out sanitizer at entrance to buffet. We thought that alone was a great idea
Certified

Still great value, food, beach. Solid 4*

, Tiny, ON
2023-01-25
This is an older resort, first time I was here was 24years ago. It is the same great value resort, fabulous staff, long walking beach, good buffet food and fabulous A-La-Cartes. Our favourite was the Italian near the quiet pool! The beach vendors are all licensed, so once you see them a couple of times, they will leave you be, BUT if they catch you checking out their wares, you gotta know they will stop by for a visit. The concierge Solange is adorable and will help you with whatever you need. this was my 3rd visit, I'll be back. You simply can't go wrong with the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent value for the dollar. Good food, service, beach and staff. The pool is great with a zero entry area.
The weak points
Multiple visits by the maids on a daily basis is a bit overkill, the door signs could be renewed. Safes do not fit a standard laptop. Wifi is not the best.
Certified

Just “OK”

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-12-24
Spend your money elsewhere. Service level is atrocious. Totally understaffed. The workers try, but they are swamped. Rooms are dated. A few male workers very aggressively flirting and trying to have sex (directly asking at least 2 females in our group). They were told to go away since the females were married, but they persisted until management was notified. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Layout, food, pool area.
The weak points
Service, drinks, entertainment, room
Certified

Lovely Vacation

, Sainte Anne De Bellevue, QC
2022-10-20
Well run property with friendly staff, good food, spectacular beach and clean property. The only thing lacking was good entertainment. This is a place to relax for a 50 crowd. I will definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness, staff, property, food.
The weak points
Entertainment. Didn't dance once all week.
Certified

Awesome family vacations

, Burlington, ON
2022-08-18
We spent 2 weeks vacations at this hotel, from Jul29 to Aug12 2022. We choose it for 2 reasons:
1. We knew the property from a trip we did 10 years ago, and we liked
2. We knew the food is great

We arrived late night, we missed the dinner buffet, but we were able to have the late snack dinner at 11pm, The checking went smooth.

The hotel itself is so convenient, since the property is not huge, everything is close, main pool, beach, buffet, snack bar.

If you love walking on the beach, this is the place, you can walk a lot in either direction just to realize how fortunate you are of having the best beach spot in all hotels located in playa Dorada, shallow clear crystal water, clean, no waves since it has a coral reef protecting it, and very good for snorkeling

During our stay we requested a room change since the door room did not close properly and we wanted a quieter room, thank you to the Big guy for the help with the luggage. They gave us a room closer to the beach with a better view.
We have the chance to eat at the 3 a la carte restaurants twice, Italian, meats, seafood, all 3 great

The buffet had lots of options every day with international and local Dominican food. Thank you to the guys working in the kitchen, would be nice if you are provided with identifications so we would know your names. Thank you to the guys who provided service to us at the table: Hipolito, Dawelkys, Carlos, Xiomeris, Ana, Luis, Antonio

The daily entertainment keeps rolling from the morning, we participate at the ping pong competition, darts, horseshoe, frisbee, Bingo, bachata dance classes, aerobics, water balloons throwing. They also made beach party on Thursdays, we went twice and participate at the Limbo competition, super fun. The entertainment team made a great job: Juan Antonio, Scarlett, Michael and the ones not mentioned here

They also did something new, a silent party with 3 DJ's, three different music styles: you get a wireless headphone where you can pick your music, dance, and have fun, each channel will change the color of the headphone, so you know what is most popular at the time by looking at others

The Hotel has 3 bars, one close to the beach (Thank you Mayerlin, Domingo), one at the pool (Thank you Olson, Beato, Robinson) and one close to the stage (thank you Jose David, Andrea and the ones not mentioned here)

Our room was supplied daily with water and beer, no pops since we do not like them. Thank you, Jan Carlos, for the supplies and being nice every day, and thank you Selandria for the room housekeeping and smiling every morning.

The checkout at noon went smooth with Alvania, thank you Ciriaco for helping with the luggage. Later we received a courtesy room to refresh ourselves, the bus to the airport was coming at 6pm. If you ever need a courtesy room like us, be sure to have at around 3pm. We supposed to have at 4pm, but it took 30min the process since a lot of locals were checking in on Friday.

We look forward to coming back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, food, entertainment, staff
The weak points
it had water issues couple times during our stay
Sanitary measures
Staff used mask at all times on restaurants and bars

Great experience

, Mercier, QC
2022-04-16
Very nice hotel,very clean with a nice beach.
Pools: they have a 2 foot deep pool,a main pool with swim bar and further away they have a big quiet pool,it's for reading or just relaxing.
Three a la carte restaurants,we especially liked the grill restaurant.
Great deep sea fishing from sosua.
King size bed,there is always someone sweeping somewhere..around the pool,under the chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean,good food,20 minutes from the airport.
The weak points
Ccocktails are way too sweet,terrible wine (bring your own) and long check in.. that's about it for the negative

Good place for a relaxing vacation and great price

, London, ON
2022-04-12
For an all inclusive this is good value!

This resort is well-priced, clean, decent service, good food, two pools (which is great as one is a quiet pool). It's a smaller resort (but bigger than boutique). The beach is beautiful and you can walk it for miles. The a la carte restaurants were “just ok” for the quality of food and only available on certain days with spots quickly filling. The vintage of the guests was more senior than I'd ever seen anywhere - meaning over 65 - but also an assortment of other ages. Not many kids. We did not want to do anything but sleep. Cannot comment on excursions or anything like that.
We would go again for a quick and easy reasonably priced vacation to rest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Great resort. Friendly staff. Delicoius food

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-05
We were delighted with our experience at Gran Ventana. Staff were almost all very careful about COVID. I really can't understand why the aqua aerobics animators insisted on getting into the pool at the end and drawing participants into a tight circle. Yes I could opt out, but after a pleasant class, why do this.

The food was delicious and plentiful.

We enjoyed the Dominican Day and the small Carnaval parade that went through the resort.

Our room was lovely and comfortable.

Couldn't ask for more.

Our only disappointment was that the reef out front that we had snorkeled on in 2019 was dead. There were no corals, no fish and I guess as a result, no shore birds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Had a great visit but...

, Little Britain, ON
2022-02-15
Had a great visit and the resort is great. Had a few minor issues that the hotel did not take responsibility or ownership. Details not important. Not overly impressed with the Hotel reception staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great restaurant staff, grounds and pools.
The weak points
Hotel receiption staff not communicating and following up. Availability of room towels.
Sanitary measures
Not following their own protocols or enforcing mask wearing, expecially at the buffets and entering the speciality retaurants.
Certified

Good value for the money

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-02-13
nice place, friendly stuff, great beach, no complain, highly recomended [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Another stellar vaca!

, Alton, ON
2022-02-05
I've been coming to this resort for 11-12 years because it's wonderfiul.The staff are there year after year which speks to the management,which this year has returned to being outstanding again.Wecome back Oscar!The food is very good especially in the Octopus and Sappore restaurants.The staff are alway and friendly and give good service.Raul in the buffet is excellent at his job and is friendly and welcoming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good food.Excellent service-at the front desk,in the buffet,the maids,in the other restaurents.Beautiful big beach.The staff are helpful and amenable when asked for 'something' to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries.
The weak points
The wine at the bars and restaurants,excepting Sappore, is not pleasant.Thinking it should be stored in something other than a plastic bottle.
Sanitary measures
Sanitizing before entering any restaurant.Masks worn at outdoor bars as well as indoor ones and always masked in the restaurants.Staff were always masked.Internet access frequently sketchy in the rooms.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024