Vh Gran Ventana

Vh Gran Ventana
3.993.993.993.993.99
3.99 based on 953 reviews
#3 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (334)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

VH Gan Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-27
This was our 2nd time here - we love it!! Resort is so clean, food is awesome with lots of selection and the people who work here are fantastic. They went above and beyond during this health crisis helping everyone and ensuring everything was clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment crew - fabulous (Samuel, Rayson, Luis, Scarlett, Anna, Jovanny, Juan Carlos) Best waiters - Joan. Best at front desk - Ybelka.
Certified

VH Gran Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-05
The hotel was clean, friendly staff.

We tried three times to make reservations at the three restaurants, but kept being told to come back. We only got one reservation on the last night of our stay. There is not enough variety in the buffet restaurant to eat there every night. Very disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is amazing, very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful beach area.
The weak points
There are not enough umbrellas around the pool area, not enough huts on the beach. Having to get up prior to 6 a.m. to get shade is not acceptable.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Disapointed

, Hastings, ON
2020-02-06
The first part of the stay was excellent,the room, building we were in has been updated,the grounds,pool, service, the beach are all well maintained and the service, staff, food in the main restaurant, was excellent. One day we had only hot water in the room and for the last three days of our stay, we
had no hot water or no water at all. There was no water to flush the toilets. previous reviews have mentioned the same problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Aside from the water problems,We could find no complaints.
The weak points
water problems for the entire resort, problems connecting to WiFi, management did not keep us advised of water problems
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

VH Grand Ventana

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-05
Nous sommes allés au VH Grand Ventana 1 semaine.
Cetais bien. Fait beau et chaud sauf notre derniere journee de la pluie raison pour aller au Mail quelques boutiques et souvenirs.Mais y retournez irais autre hotel. Buffet correct. Restots a la carte excellent. Employés super bon service et polis. Chambre très propre. Jamais eu a payer pour coffre. Chambre prete juste a 16h30.Pas une bonne idée etre pret de la piscine. Les spectacles tres répétitifs. Wifi gratuit a salle de spectacle fonctionne pas a moitié du temps. Manqué d'eau. Pas de pallapas a la plage apres 7h00 a.m.Le Paradise Island super belle plage pour faire de l'apnée WOW incroyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Chambre propre, restots a la carte excellent, employés super polis et souriant, plage super belle, buffet correct.
The weak points
Notre chambre pas prête avant 16h30, payer pour le coffre 16$ US jamais vu ca, fallait se lever avant 6h30 pour pouvoir avoir un pallapas a la plage, manqué d'eau froide, manquè d'eau chaude, manqué d'eau, demandé une chambre avec lit Queen eu lit double,

Great vacation

, Sackville, NB
2020-01-24
8th visit to gran ventana and never disappoints. Had the premier upgrade and private,fast checkin,food always excellent with lots of variety,clean rooms and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

VH Gran Ventana

, Erin, ON
2020-01-12
Staff, grounds & food was great
Vendors on beach annoying, they won't leave you alone the minute you arrive till the minute you leave [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, staff, property was good
The weak points
The minute you arrive on the beach vendors stalk you and don't leave you alone wanting you to buy their items. I wanted to read my book but they would interrupt me EVERY time.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Amazing beach

, Oshawa, ON
2020-01-08
The room was not good , air conditioner was backing up and leaking on the floor . We had no hot water for the first 2days and then warm water after that [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food was very good and most of the staff was very friendly, the beach was amazing
The weak points
the room was clean but no hot water for showers and the bed was hard as a rock
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Good resort but way over priced

, Stoney Point, ON
2020-01-04
I love kids but prefer adults only resorts. This would be a good place for a family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds and beach are immaculate. Beach is beautiful with lots of fish so bring your goggles and snorkel. Food was very good and lots of choices. The staff in food and bars where always working hard and pleasant.
The weak points
Only good entertainment was the Michael Jackson show. Try and get the quiet side of resort if you want to fall asleep before midnight. Bed is hard as rock and pillows are too full. I still have a sore neck. Rooms are nothing special but clean.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Another Holiday at Gran Ventana Resort, POP, D.R.

, Bracebridge , ON
2019-11-28
We returned for our Fall holiday because we truly do enjoy Gran Ventana & all its aspects. It is a big Resort but if you have mobility issues, there is no problem in getting a ride on a golf cart to take you wherever. The food is very good & lots of choices; the Hotel is very clean & well maintained; the rooms are a good size & full equipped. However, the number 1 reason that this Hotel has going for it, is its Staff! They are phenomenal to say the least. A few names come to mind: Luis Carlos, Raul, Dennie, Felix from the Buffet; Carlos, Iradio & 'the rock' can't pronounce his name - three porters; the Reception staff, the gal at Customer Service; the staff at the Ocean Grill. Everyone who works there, makes you feel very special.
(Incidentally, no big deal, but that is not the price we paid for our Holiday). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the cleanliness, the whole Resort!
The weak points
If I have to mention a weak point, it would be the beds & pillows. The beds are too firm & the pillows need to be replaced. Not a big deal I guess but...………….
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

September 2019

, Sydney, NS
2019-09-26
This was our 13th stay at GV. It's a small resort that has everything we look for in a completely relaxing holiday. It is extremely clean, the food is amazing, staff are excellent, beach is amazing. I String recommend this resort.
We go back in April 2020 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-07
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Great Vacation!

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-05-08
Resort was great, food was very good. Was great to have a fridge in the room with bottled water and drinks but unfortunately the drinks refill were missed. The coffee and tea self serve was great and maybe extend the time to at least midnight. Tennis courts were great but since it was too hot during the day, night time tennis is much better if the courts have lights. All the resort staff were very friendly and always helpful. Thanks for the fun week at Grand Ventana. Overall, vacation was great and will definitely come back to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Besutiful Resort

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-01
Hotel was clean... well layed out.... food was awesome . Map given of hotel was too small print... hard to read and never did find small quiet pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean... friendly mostly.... beautiful beach
The weak points
Entertainment not the greatest....
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-23
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

WONDERFUL MARCH BREAK!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-02
Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful time at the VH Gran Ventana. I don't even know what to say about the people who work at this resort. They are so absolutely WONDERFUL and I feel that I cannot do them justice with words alone. Friendly, kind, attentive, helpful, funny, they really go above and beyond to make you feel warm and welcome. Food at the buffet was ok, but quite good at the a la cartes. Kids club and supervisors were awesome as was the entertainment staff. Bartenders by the quiet pool were AWESOME!!! Rooms are a good size with a nice balcony. Fridge stocked daily. Housekeeping very good. Our only critique is that the owners of the establishment seem to have forgotten about their investment. Time to loosen your purse strings ladies and / or gentlemen. The rooms and bathrooms are in MAJOR need of an overhaul. Time to fix all the leaking going on in the bathroom, inspect the matresses and boxsprings and figure out where the squeaking is coming from, ensure that the TV is working, even after 15-20 minutes of operation and please please please add more drawers in the room and in the bathroom as well as more hangers in the closet. That small counter does NOT accomodate a family of four. Finally, spring for irons and ironing boards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, nice beach, great entertainment, very quick bar service, SUPER clean, helpful, GREAT spa service
The weak points
Dated. TV in our room was not working properly, one of the beds squeaked very loudly and the toilet had flushing / leaking issues. Storage in the room and in the bathroom does NOT accomodate a family of 4.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. Looking forward to your next visit.

March Break 2019 at VH Gran Ventana

, Markham, ON
2019-03-19
Stayed a week at this resort with the family and had a great time. Weather was great and the beach waters were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and the resort was very clean and safe. We also appreciated it was close to the airport so we were able to get their quickly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good and my kids loved the buffet pasta station where they made pasta dishes to order. There were lots of activities for the kids also.
The weak points
Rooms were comfortable though maybe a little dated. This didn't matter much for us as we only used the rooms to wash up and sleep. Free internet was poor though. I'd suggest people consider their carrier's data plan or the paid internet on-site.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-08
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

Week at Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-01
I cam here on the recommendation of a friend. Was very satisfies with my say, I wanted to be able to access quiet places as I hadjust lost my husband. The resort is large enough so that there are places where you can escape if you do not want the “partying noise “. The staff were excellent in accommodating me. I highly recommend upgrading to the royal package [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, good food, excellent staff, clean beaches
The weak points
Wish the rooms had more furniture for storing clothes, had to live out of the suitcase for the week.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-03-12
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Would return again.

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-23
Enjoyed the hotel and was glad I was in unit 3 away from the noise and caos of the main area. I found the food to be good with changing daily menu. Drinks and food were plentiful. Enjoyed the clean beaches no sargassum and was impressed by cleanlines by the workers at the resort. I would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of rooms, resort and beaches. Good food and changing daily menu.
The weak points
Demeaning entertainment directed at woman- Twerking contest, sexy posing contest, blindfolded woman on knees trying to eat a bannana dangling on a string. All rather arcaic some woman left the stage in discust before contest began.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-03-01
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for your kind feedback, it is a pleasure to read you has a magnificent stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Excellent stay!

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
We had an absolutely amazing time here. The staff are awesome. Excellent beach. Excellent food. Very clean rooms. My only complaint is that the beds were VERY uncomfortable. Other than that....great resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

VH Gran Ventana

, Ohsweken, ON
2019-01-22
This hotel is good. The workers are very energetic and friendly! The beach was beautiful. It was so calm and clear. We were able to snorkel right on the beach, which the kids liked. There were games and water aerobics at the beach daily. When you first arrive at the beach there are people trying to sell jewellery, excursions, massages, but if you tell them no they will leave you be. We enjoyed the beach snack bar. The buns for the hot dogs and hamburgers were fresh and we loved the chilli cheese nachos. We were able to kayak for one hour per day as well as go for a bike ride each day. We were able to play ping pong, pool, and foosball. The pool was nice and had a volleyball net, there was also fun games set up by staff throughout the day. There was a "mall" on the property where we were able to buy items that were not available right at our resort. Such as a ball that skips over the water and many different souvenirs at a pretty reasonable price. Our room was near the pool and action, which we didn't mind. Although families with young children might not enjoy all the noise that went on until around 11:00pm. We were able to go on our deck and listen to the music or watch the shows. The shows were okay.
The wifi was horrible! The free central wifi area barely let us connect unless it was early morning or around midnight at night. When we first arrived we had to pay $16 for a lock and key for our safe in the room for the week. Our room didn't have any dressers and smelled a little musty. We were not able to adjust our AC. In the evening we were cold, but if we shut it off we would be sweating in the middle of the night.
The food was good and a good variety. Overall, the resort was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach! The water is clear and calm. Snorkelling right on the beach, free kayaks for one hour a day, free bikes for one hour a day. There is a beach snack bar. The people that work there are so energetic, friendly, and helpful!
The weak points
Poor wifi! You have to pay $16 for a lock and key for the safe in your room. There was no dressers for our clothes. We were not able to adjust our AC, the room was a little musty.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. While it is one we are not happy to receive, we appreciate your honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We also listen to all feedback weighing the positive with the negative.

Grand ventana premium

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-04
The hotel is clean. The staff is very friendly. The buffet is good and hygienic. There is always a lot of place available at the buffet it is a very nice area. The Octopuss restaurant is average. The italiens restaurant is the best one. The ocean grill restaurant is average and I was not so sure about the cleanliness of the place.

The beach is very long, you can go on long walks 10km easily. The beach at the hotel is not the best one as it is very narrow compared to the other beaches. At around 3:30pm it gets very windy on the beach and if you go on the other beach on the left of the hotel the wind is half the force. So most people tend to finish their day at the pool around 3:30-4pm and if you arrive too late you will not find any chair at the pool.

The premium club is worth it for the private area on the beach and the late check-out if you need it. Otherwise the vintage lounge is very restricted, you can't bring you cafe or drink outside of the lounge even if you transfer it in a plastic cup they will not allow you to leave the lounge with your drink. It is ridiculous because we paid for those premium drinks and I think that we should be able to drink them wherever we want. The lounge is very dark at night, it is impossible to go there and play games, it is too dark. Furthermore they never open the windows which is shame as it looks over the whole resort.

The rooms are ok. I had back pain because the beds are not very great.

I would not recommend this resort and I would not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly
The weak points
Beach too windy
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-01-31
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. While it is one we are not happy to receive, we appreciate your honest assessment as it will help us improve our performance. We also listen to all feedback weighing the positive with the negative.

First visit

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-08
VH GRAND VENTANA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The atmosphere and the employees were great. The food choice selections were for all types of eaters.It was quite entertaining to see the young children during mini disco time. I enjoyed the variety of each night entertaining presentations.
Certified

Hotel Review

, St Catharines, ON
2018-09-21
My second time there is 2018 already booked for Jan 2019. Not a large hotel but for me just the right size. Rooms clean with good maid service. Food is good the restaurants are clean food good. Buffet is excellent. Checking in and out easy excellent service. The staff is so friendly and provide excellent service. Would recommend to anyone. Easy and short commute to and from air port. Overall I loved my stay and will continue to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service friendly staff great food and good entertainment.
The weak points
Need coffee makers in every room
Certified

Great Vacation

, Orleans, ON
2018-06-04
It was my first time at VH GRAN VENTANA, Puerto Plata. We were three adults and enjoyed the off-peak season. We only had 1/2 day of rain in 14 days. The food was well prepared and delicious. The pool area always clean and very enjoyable. The beach was also good but breezy on some days. Overall, I would return to VH GRAN VENTANA in Puerto Plata. The free Wi-Fi was non existent and disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
Certified

Great First Time Resort Experience

, Fredericton, NB
2018-04-20
The resort was everything I expected. Friendly staff, great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Upgrade to premium was worth every penny.
The weak points
Room safe was not included in the price.
Certified

Again an Excellent stay/service

, Ottawa, ON
2018-04-11
My spouse and I resided at the HV Gran Ventana Beach Resort for one week starting March 28th. Check in was quick and efficient. Our luggage was taken to our room at approx. 3:00 PM by a resort employee. Our room was on the 2nd floor as we requested. It was nice and location was as we requested & clean. The balcony had two chairs and a small table. A fee of $16.00 US for one week is asked for the safe box key, we took it. The 32 inches flat screen TV (once replaced as defective at first) had approx. 65 channels and worked fine. There was only one French channel (TV5 news), the remaining were a mixture of Spanish & English channels. The curtains are very opaque. There are light switches on both sides of the bed which was helpful when getting up at night. We enjoyed the ceiling fan. The air conditioning was powerful/cold; we kept it in the low position. The maid service was excellent & we had our fridge & bathroom items replenished when needed (we even had a replacement towel service in the evening...). We had hot water and somewhat good pressure when we took our showers. There is free Wi-Fi in the theatre area, which is ok in that area only. The food was excellent at all the locations we ate: Main buffet with a variety of meats, pastas, fish, cheeses, pickles, breads, fruits/vegetables, ice cream, desserts, etc...). The lunch buffet restaurant next to the beach also had a nice variety: soup, pizzas, chili, nachos, fries, chicken (grill cooked or fried), hot dogs, hamburgers, fish, quesadilla made fresh, fruits, pickles, made salads, desserts, etc…. We ate at three of the A La Carte restaurants. All reservations were made ahead of time in the lobby area of the Beata building. The appetizers, main courses, wine & deserts were just all sooo delicious & the service was excellent. The service at all of the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pools were clean. There were washrooms near the main pools & beach area (1). All washrooms were always kept clean and an employee was monitoring the cleanliness. We usually got to the beach around 08:45 hrs. and there we were able to obtain a Palapa/long chairs. This is the first resort that I saw a Palapa/long chairs reserved for handicap persons. It is located next to the beach bar/restaurant and is accessible via a ramp. Well thought of…. Some of the long chairs at the beach are older, the fabric is tired and needs attention/replacement in a near future. The location of the HV Gran Ventana is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West( [preferably East) for a very good distance. At one point a security guard will advise you that if you pass him you are on your own (West section, wilderness, no resorts). The Beach is very nice. On a daily basis, employees rake the beach for weeds/etc… and take them away. We did not attend any night shows. The guests are mostly from Canada and Europe.
Most were pleasant and respectful of others. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night in specific areas. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly and pleasant & always give you an excellent service. This was our 4th time in Dom. Republic and we really enjoyed it. This time again we did not have a minor stomach discomfort in DR. I guess this is due to the cleanliness of this resort. The food was cooked to perfection and there are many hand sanitizer dispensers throughout the resort. Also, we were informed that all the water used to clean the food or for the ice is purified water. My spouse and I are planning on returning to the VH Gran Ventana in the future since we had again an excellent relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

VH Gran

, Dryden, ON
2018-03-20
This was the first trip like this with my kids, and they totally enjoyed themselves and would go again. Pool was great, music playing most of the time, activities for all ages were available. Entertainment was good in the evening( but was missing a night club on the resort) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good and a very good spread for everyone, buffet was the way to go. Great service and very polite staff is very key!
The weak points
The WIFI was not the greatest and when you did pay only one person at at a time cold be on which is hard for a family of 3.
Certified

Good

, Kentville, NS
2018-02-20
Stayed here for a week and everyday there was some sort of entertainment going on. Food was good always had so many selections. We were supposed to have a king bed but had two doubles. Overall I'd rate Gran Ventana 4.6⭐️. Would recommend this place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

VH Grand Ventana

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-07
Overall was great. People very friendly great service. Hotel was very clean. The food was good. Close to airport short trip to hotel. Would rate it 4 out of 5 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Vantana

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-26
Very warm and friendly. Staff very accomadating and always there to help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean rooms and the whole resort is very nice. Would recommend this resort for your vacation.
The weak points
Did not think the nightly entertainment very good. Was very disappointed.
Certified

VH Grand Ventana

, Repentigny, QC
2018-01-15
I enjoy my week.
The food and drink are good.
Beach is nice.
My room was a little bite too close from the theatre....many noise at night....

I will like to have a little background music in the restaurant a la carte.
Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, staff
The weak points
No music in restaurants
Certified

Good cheap last minute getaway.

, Gatineau, QC
2017-08-21
This was a last minute trip as we were on holidays and it was cheaper to fly south then stay in our own country for a week, bonus for no laundry and no cooking! We love to travel to Sandals resorts so our expectations were not high. After visiting Cuba we were let down by the food. We heard lots of people complaining about the food in the DR, however the food was excellent. I think I gained 8lbs in the week we were there. The hotel itself is a great size, nice and small. Not too far too walk from our room to the resto's beach or pool. The Room itself was pretty basic. We had a small tv, small fridge that was restocked daily with 2 cans of beer, 1 pepsi, 1 7up and 2 bottles of water. There was a safe but that was extra money for the key. There are no irons in the rooms. The A La carte restaurant's, claim there is a dress code for men (No shorts etc...) however it seemed that they all turned a blind eye when it came to people coming in.. Shorts, sandals, flip flops, even saw some with tank tops and hoodies. I was way over dressed when eating (Guess I'm used to the Sandals resorts a little too much). The resort is not an adult only (which we knew) lots of teenagers in the pool, they took up a lot of space and energy.. We found that some parents just told their kids to go swimming while the parents took off for the day. Another problem with Dress code was at the pool, it states that there is no nudity at the pool, but yet we saw women and some kids, topless. Nothing was said and once again, turn the blind eye. The daytime entertainment at the "party" pool was lacking, they would start at 3:30pm and go till about 5:30pm. They would not go all day long as other resorts. The "party" pool was small, sometimes it felt overcrowded, even being the quiet season. It wasn't the busy season, so getting chairs at the pool or the beach were not a problem, but come winter I can see it being a problem. The beach was amazing long and went on forever, lots of space. The only downfall, the beach peddlers.. Every 5 -10 minutes someone would come by and try to sell you something.. Even though we tell them no, they persist. We didn't even spend 2 days on the beach for this reason. We were there to relax, not too be bothered. We are runners so we tried the gym early in the morning (Gym opens at 8) there is no AC in the gym, there is a sign to not open the windows. There was no water in the machine, and no towels re stocked. 2 out of 3 treadmills worked. However 1 would just randomly shut down in the middle of a run. The machines are dated and rusted due to the humidity levels. We decided to do our other 3 runs during the week on the beach. Free wifi... Don't expect much, it's in one area and it can take 30-45 minutes to connect. It was almost a cellphone free week! Some days we gave up, we didn't spend money to sit on our phones while there. Other then the minor setbacks that we can live with it was a great trip and would recommend the VH to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Selection, Staff, Beach, Bars, Proximity to the airport.
The weak points
Small "party" pool, entertainment during the day, basic stuff in the rooms were extra cost(Safe, irons etc..) The gym (no AC, no water, no towels)

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020