Emotions By Hodelpa Puerto Plata

Emotions By Hodelpa Puerto Plata
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 170 reviews
#4 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (159)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Small family resort

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2024-05-17
First vacation ever, two adults (30's) and one child (11)
Staff were friendly.
The resort was much smaller than expected. Only one shop on resort with high prices.
Entertainment was lacking.
They advertise beach equipment they had nothing available for beach or pool.
Room was average I was happy with the view from our patio.
The food was lacking, comparable to Cuba.
Beach was beautiful but water was cloudy so snorkeling was out of the question.
Beware of the excursion you choose for travel time. I suggest booking with the hotel directly rather than your travel agent.
Bar drinks were below average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good if you have young kids
The weak points
Lacking for entertainment shows and at the beach. Slow pace.
Sanitary measures
Seems ok
Certified

Emotions - Review

, Ottawa, ON
2024-03-28
Had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Everything close by Excellent beach
The weak points
Buffet food often cold Each room should have small table and at least 2 chairs
Sanitary measures
good
Certified

Nice mid-size resort

, Ottawa, ON
2024-03-27
We really enjoyed our two-week stay at Emotions.
Staff: everyone was very efficient and friendly
Rooms: our room was comfortable and clean; we always had hot water in the shower. The only hic is the water running out of the shower onto the bathroom floor, but we remedied this by putting a rolled up towel just outside the shower.
Buffet: the buffet had nice variety, with a different theme every night (I've never seen so many types of bread/buns in one buffet!); the pasta bar was very good; the only negative is the wine, which was ok at best, and sometimes not drinkable (tasted as though the bottle was opened months ago). Breakfast was very good, with lots of options.
À la carte: the Mexican restaurant was our favorite, although we didn't try the Dominican.
Beach: clean, plenty of lounge chairs, nice beach bar/restaurant, shaded areas (cabanas - on a first come basis; lots of trees a bit further back). There was some seaweed in the water during our second week, but you could still find spots to access the ocean. There are beach vendors like anywhere else down South, but they are not pushy at all. The only negative was that the beach can get pretty crowded when cruise ship groups show up.
Pools: great for families, with animation all day long. The hot tub was not very hot however.
If you can afford it, book a room with a swim up pool (for adults only); that was my only regret. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff Breakfast buffet Close to the airport Hot water for showers
The weak points
The wine at the buffet
Certified

Emotions

, Brampton, ON
2024-03-22
Great experience, wouldn't set foot in the pools. Beach was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great hotel, amazing staff. Need to focus on keeping pools clean, healthy and safe.
Sanitary measures
Pools were sadly disgusting. They were not clean. I would not want anyone swimming in them.
Certified

Emotions

, Windsor, ON
2024-03-19
This was our 49th wedding Anniversay and we were so happy with our choice of hotel. Everything was wonderful and we have no complaints whatsoever. Hoping we can return next year with our children and grandchildren. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Such friendly staff. Great cleanliness and all eating areas were really good. Our senior area,pool area and sleeping facilities were excellent Excellent cleanliness
Sanitary measures
Excellent
Certified

Excellent Hotel

, Regina, SK
2024-02-18
This hotel has friendly staff, a nice layout with lots of options for stuff to do such as multiple pools, archery, wall climbing, bike rides, batting cages, arcade and a little casino! There was a cigar shop, little bar with beer from around the world for extra cost and a boutique store onsite plus a spa. Food was great with lots of variety and different themes everyday. The resort room had plenty of space for our family of 4 to stay in. When we did have a simple issue in room, staff was promptly there to deal with it. Room attendant did an excellent job.
Would definitely stay at this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food, staff and layout of compound
The weak points
Honestly had none
Certified

So-so resort

, Pickering, ON
2024-02-09
We had a good time but the resort overall is so-so. It's tired and desperately in need of some updates. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the drinks were always plentiful and ice cold and the buffet food was always tasty. Our room was always cleaned well but there were 2 ceiling leaks that were never dealt with and our fridge did not work. The pool is always cold and often has debris on the surface (bugs, small leaves, etc) which makes me think the filter doesn't work well. The floor of the pool is rough in spots as well. We ate at the Mexican a la carte and it was tasty but the air conditioning vent was dripping condensation onto our table which was off putting. I would definitely say this resort is more like a 3*, so just know what you're paying for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Close to the airport, Safe area, Small & comfortable feel, Friendly staff, Yummy buffet & cold drinks
The weak points
Pool, overall needs updating
Certified

1st family vacation

, Cambridge, ON
2024-01-21
Overall great trip. The staff here is amazing. Fun and friendly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Dec Vacation

, Coldwater, ON
2023-03-10
This hotel is very clean, and the staff is great! Everything was in close walking distance and the beach was very nice. Lots to do for families also.
We where in the adult only section and it was well located to all the amenities. This could be a 5 star resort except for lack of variety in the drinks (some are extra $) and some of the la carte restaurants lacked serves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, staff, nicely updated room. adult only pool, court yard area with main pool and coffee shop
The weak points
drinks, anything that was a little upscale was extra $ where as other resort off them as included with all drinks.
Certified

Emotions

, Brampton, ON
2023-02-25
Overall average holiday, would not come back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach is beautiful, staff at the resort are lovely and try their best to accommodate. Housekeeping, gardening and wait staff are very friendly and hard working. Food and room is average at best.
The weak points
The individuals who are selling timeshare are very pushy, we could not leave the restaurant without being stopped. It really dampened our holiday. The drinks are not good, watered down. We only had hot water twice during our week long stay at the evening
Certified

Decent Vacation Spot

, Etobicoke, ON
2023-02-23
Second time going to this resort. The first time was in 2018 and it was a great experience. Very clean. Friendly staff. Food is good and there is variety. Especially enjoy the boutique look of the resort and the coffee shop.
The beach is decent, but too much seaweed this time. Last few days it was cleared up. I guess it's out of the resorts control.
Very poorly designed showers. Water overflows every time you shower. Have to put towels on the floor to soak up water. It's messy and annoying.
Had to call reception a few times for water refill in the minifridge. No umbrella provided and it rained a few times. Complained to reception and they said they didn't have enough umbrellas for all rooms.
A few times there were not enough clean beach towels by mid morning. Had to reuse from the day before or wait until later.
Would have been nice if there was a beach party or some kind of beach entertainment. Beach restaurant a la carte is too expensive.
Overall good vacation spot, just needs improvement on some little things that can be easily fixed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean. Friendly staff. Food was good
The weak points
Wine servings very stingy. Hard to get someone to come refill in timely manner. Not enough water provided to the room. No umbrellas provided. Very poorly designed showers. Water overflowed all over the bathroom floor with every shower.
Certified

Mixed feelings

, Concord, ON
2023-02-11
Our overall experience is a positive one, but there were issues during and after we left that leave a rather sour taste in the mouths.
We are frequent travellers and do not expect a 5 star experience from a "4 star", especially not in the Dominican. The staff were generally friendly and fine although it shows that they are just having a job. Enthusiasm isn't part of the job requirement. Some also seriously lack respect and manners, at least to the standards we were brought up to in Europe. Rosa tried to make up for the problems as best she could.
Periods of no hot water, exactly when it would be needed the most, late afternoons.
The nightly entertainment, if one actually expects to see any, is weak at best and is rather amateurish. The people try, just are not trained to perform and have lack the talent. This is not personal criticism, again they do the best they can, it is just so far from quality one should expect, it shouldn't happen.
WIFI sucked throughout the complex. It is "free" and available, but slower than the old dialup service 20 years ago!!! Get your own internet if it is important to have it.
We left a little something on the bed every morning for the cleaning staff that obviously was gone by the time we got back to the room. When we left for the last time we forgot to empty one of the drawers of the nightstand and , well, they too those items as well instead of notifying the office. When I inquired by phone about them finding the items we left there I was told to "check my luggage more carefully". The items essentially got stolen. Not the end of the world, they were just some clothing items, but the fact that the staff offered no remedy at all, instead told us to look to the bottom of our suitcase more carefully is just simply insulting. Theft is theft, no matter how you try to explain it. We will never ever spend our money at any place that is affiliated with HODELPA. The worst thing about this is that what happened to us has NOTHING to do with the hotel chain. It is all about the individuals working for them. It is sad that because of employees a business has to "suffer". And it isn't right. Individuals make or break a business. They should be responsible for their actions. Hopefully they will contact us (they have all our contact information) and offer some sort of remedy. The thief needs to be fired regardless of the value of the items stolen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The Italian Restaurant was by far the best experience in terms of food.
The weak points
Please read the review to the end.
Certified

Wonderful beach front resort

, Angus, ON
2023-01-19
This is a hidden gem!! Check in was quick and easy and we were escorted to our room. We had a family deluxe room. It was large with 2 queen beds and a sofa lounger. Bathroom with shower. You could see some wear and tear but the room was very clean.
Pool was much cleaner this trip. (Visit in July had very dirty pool)
Beach is beautiful.
Resort is small and well laid out. Everything is within a 3-5 min walk. Room to beach is 2 min. Room to lobby is 2-3 min. Lobby to beach is 3-5 min.
I would return to this hotel for the beach rather than punta cana beaches.
Food: buffet is buffet. You won't go hungry but it is lacking. Dessert section is small and so is the fruit options.
Restaurants were all excellent. Loved the Italian
Beach grill was not my favorite but it fills the belly when you want a quick lunch barefoot by the ocean.
Internet was very very slow. Could really use improvement
Staff: exceptional!!! Agustin at breakfast was our guy. Never had to ask for a thing. He was amazing to all his guests. Roberto was also exceptional. Always go go go. Keeping the guests happy and cared for.
Ada in guest services really made our week. She was accommodating and really cared for our needs. (Travelled with a special needs child) she took care of our bookings, our late check out and our request for an off site visit elsewhere.
I truly believe the staff are what make this hotel wonderful. We will return for a 3rd visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach is amazing. Staff are wonderful and friendly
The weak points
Buffet could use improvements. Internet needs revamping
Certified

Family vacation

, Pointe Claire, QC
2020-03-15
We had great time on our vacation.
our company was great, we travelled with family and friends - 13 in total.
we enjoyed the restaurants, the pool and the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the coffee bar was great, pool restaurant was excellent most servers were friendly
The weak points
our room leaked, water was coming in through the ceiling, we had to ask for water daily instead of having our fridge stocked
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Oromocto, HA
2020-03-07
Our stay at Emotions was wonderful. The resort itself is the perfect size. We never had to wait in a food line!!!! The staff was very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great size, friendly staff
The weak points
would like to see a better seating area at the reception. The only one they have was outside infront of loud speakers. We love to play games and cards and found there was no spot for it.
Certified

Emotions

, Oromocto, HA
2020-03-01
the hotel was wonderful.. we had a swim up room with a view of the beach.. Two out of four rooms in our building/pool flooded during a tropical rain but we were safe and still swimming.. there were some negatives about the resort but were very small.. there was no bar or place in the lobby to even get a drink of water.. on a rainy evening people gathered in the lobby and then had to leave... ice cream was not always available in the buffet and the price in the coffee shop was really expensive.. the rooms were big, modern and clean, the staff was awesome, the beach had some seaweed after the storm that blew through but they were out there early every morning raking.. there were some venders on the beach but they know how to take no for an answer.. lots to do for children, especially love the skating rink and climbing wall.. its a 10 min walk to the mall which is also inside the compound so felt completely safe walking there,, would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff was great, the rooms large, modern and clean..the beach was beautiful.. the buildings were close and it was just a 3 minute walk everywhere from our room.. the food was good, well cooked and well presented.. we loved it and would go back
The weak points
the selection of food in the buffet was repetitive, no bar or place in the lobby to get a drink, no place to hang wet clothes or towels b.. we got 2 free 15 min massages which they would not combine into one half hour she tried to upsell the whole time
Certified

Enjoyable vacation

, Longueuil, QC
2020-02-13
We enjoyed our stay at the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beautiful beach that you can also go for long walks, friendly, warm staff, excellent choice of fruits and vegetables
The weak points
-bathroom has poor lighting and ceiling leaked after rainfall -you will be approached by vendors but in general they leave you alone after you say no
Certified

Great stay

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-01-26
We really enjoyed our stay@ Emotions By Hodelpa Playa Dorada. Staff very friendly. Rooms are very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best Vacation

, Mascouche, QC
2020-01-16
I went to Emotions by my self, i love to take my vacations alone to relax!! And i thought it would be a normal relaxing week but no!LOL! It was seriously the best resort ever!!
The staff make you dance and participate in all kinds of games all day and night! Theres prices to win and its just really always fun to see or participate in what they have going on!! There was partys on the beach, at the resort, in the club every night there was something!! Its never boring!! Because of the staff and they're games and programs i learn to dance a little bachata and then all week i danced!! It was so much fun!!!
The food was very good! I dont eat meat but i eat fish and all week i ate salads, shrimps, fish, eggs, fruits and lots of veggies and everything was perfect!!
I also dont drink any other milk then almond milk and they had some!! First resort Ive been that had almond milk.
There is plenty of chairs on the beach or at the pool and theres always entertainment everywhere!!!
DJ Aris is super good making sure to keep us Dancing
Jose, Javier, Richie and all the other geo are super super good!!! They work like crazy to make sure we have fun and that we are having a good time!!!
I took the adult room and it was worth it to me to just be a little more quiet sometimes because you have an all adult private pool and bar and also the 24hours room service is very good!! Theres something for everyone from pizza and fries and buggers to salad with salmon and pasta!!

Because its part of 14 resort Complexe we can go out of the resort and still be safe! I did go out with other visitors though i think thats still important no matter what!

My trip was seriously perfect so much so that im going back in February!! This is the first time im going back to a resort 2x usually i like to try new but i seriously felt like home away from home... like i said the Staff is amazing and they make you feel like part of the family... like friends!! Im going back to relax by the beach, dance and have a good time!!!

Oh almost forgot, the room is super super clean also modern and bathroom also very clean!!
the cleaning ladys they are also perfect my room was spotless!!! And they were super sweet with the staff!!

The wifi is PERFECT everywhere even on the beach i never lost connection!

Hope this review helps people to take a decision!! I know i chose this resort based on some reviews on this website!! ☺️☺️☺️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Food Beach EVERYTHING!!! Lolll
The weak points
It was december so we had a bit of rain!! But not the resorts fault!! Lol

The all inclusive with Extras.

, Blainville, QC
2019-04-23
General impressions on the Hotel / complex are that it is a small resort with a great location, some points really need improvement. greeted with a welcome cocktail upon checkin was a nice touch, rooms are spacious and comfy. The minibar included was barely filled to our needs, 4 people in the room only one water bottle, even after asking for more. The beach is incredible but lacking shady areas (palapas or other), we had to rise early to secure a shaded area. The site mentions 5 restaurants, should be noted that only 4 are available to all, the other is reserved to Elite members, which is one the irritants of the resort the salesperson were constantly trying to lure us into that meeting to access elite members. The eternity pool is yet another extra on the resort, accessible only to spa clients or for a 10$ USD. One huge positive, the animation crew specificaly Jose Ortiz, and Adelfi De La Rosa were incredible. They went over and above to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The 3 a la carte restaurants (no reservation needed) we're nice a plus for the dominican one. Should also be noted that on weekends floods of local tourists come in and things can get very crowdy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, beach,
The weak points
pushy sales tactics, below par service.
Certified

Unsafe

, Saint Catharines, ON
2019-02-13
All my money was stolen from my locked safe in my room. $1350 US and $50 Canadian. Hotel doesnt claim any responsibility. Police report done. After telling people to be careful my room door was left wide open. Trying to scare me for talking. I was scared. Same food little vaiety. Service poor after money stolen as no tips. Kids splashing And taking over bar pool. Terrible vacation . False advertisement VIP swim out will get free massages etc. We got nothing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was nice firat 4 days. Staff good until my money was stolen
The weak points
Thieves poor service. Intimidation small variety of food hotel false advertising sweep theft under carpet

Emotions Playa Dorada

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-31
Hotel was beautiful. All very new. Grounds will be even nicer once all the plants have had time to grow. Staff very friendly and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We traveled in low season so service was great. No waiting for anything. Buffet food was in its own room with automatic doors.
The weak points
The buffet needs to get real bacon for breakfast.
Certified

Vacation

, Belleville, ON
2018-10-25
Had a great week wished entertainment was a bit better but we wanted to relax and that's what we did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Emotions

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-22
First impression, immediately following our registration was being accosted by hotel representatives wanting to sell upgrades. The hotel was more interested in getting those upgrades than keeping guests happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment crew were excellent, very friendly and engaging. Nice Beach and pool areas. Grounds we're kept very clean
The weak points
Constant harrassment by hotel representatives wanting to sell "upgrades". Poorly designed rooms - shower flooded when used - staff did not care. - food mediocre
Certified

Vacation at Emotions by Hodelpa, Puerto Plata, DR

, Montréal, QC
2018-01-24
We booked 2 rooms are the Emotions by Hodelpa resort, Puerto Plata from Jan 9-16, 2018.
In general, we are happy with the time spent at this resort. The staff is very helpful and polite, they greet us every time with their hands on heart. Many thanks to Alba from the Reception dept. for helping us to change our rooms (due to problems with the bathroom).
The resort is under renovation so it is understandably that you hear some noise early in the morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Food quality: bufret with good variety plus 4 à la carte restaurants. - Staff service: excellent in every way. - Beach cleanliness: very good. - Rooms: newly renovated, large and clean
The weak points
- Shower and toilet: in one of our rooms, water runs out from the shower area (gap under the glass wall). Some toilets don't flush well and or leak. - Tennis court: only 1. in some areas, balls either bounce wildly or don't bounce, needs top sand
Certified

Wonderful Modern Resort

, Oakville, ON
2018-01-07
My wife and I spent Dec 26th to Jan. 2nd at the New Emotions in Puerto Plata. Bottom line the resort is wonderful. As other reviewers have said the resort is still not totally renovated yet, we might have been the first to occupy our room in the adults only section. Check-in took a long time. Make sure to pack shorts or swim suits in your carry-on. As the resort is still a work in progress some things didn't work. We got the room service menu on day three but the phone didn't work to call in an order. The elevator broke on day five so we had to walk up 4 floors to our room for the rest of the week. The newly renovated rooms are very nice. The walk-in shower is huge, it had three shower heads! There was premium toiletry products, and hot water was plentiful. We loved the adults only area with its own pool and bar. It was quite for relaxing and small enough to get to know your neighbours over a pre-dinner drink. Food was very good. We ate at the a la carte restaurants mostly and really liked the Dominican restaurant and the Italian restaurant. The New Years feast in the buffet was outstanding. The beach was very good, and we always managed to get loungers with shade. The staff at Emotions is outstanding. They went out of their way to help and accommodate the guests. Roberto, the bartender at the lounge bar (it didn't have a name yet) was terrific and introduced me to some wonderful Dominican rums. Will we return to Emotions? Let's just say we spent the last couple of days scouting out future room locations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New modern rooms Great staff and service Very good food
The weak points
Renovations continuing Long check-in process

Pleasant surprise!

, Laval, QC
2018-01-03
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Check-in took a bit longer than expected. Our room should have been ready at 3pm, but was only available 2 hours later. Resort was nicely renovated. Big pool, hot tub, swim up bar and kids pool. The restaurants were all very modern with contemporary design flair. Food was delicious. Very fresh with plenty of choices. Rooms were spacious and beds and pillows were very confortable. Since the hotel was so new, there was still lots of construction going on (unfinished rooms, construction crews, holes in walls) and one restaurant on the beach was not yet open. It was interesting to see new things added every day (new path lights, new garbage cans/ashtrays and new pool chairs/tables added around the pool area). There were activities for the kids: arcade, tennis court, rock climbing wall, batting cage and archery. There's also a golf course and shopping mall right around the corner of the hotel. The animation team was great, very energetic and friendly. Our room (building 19) was right next to the theater where they hosted the shows every night. It was extremely loud at times and the music and cheering would keep us up at night. The beach and pool area were very clean and were not overcrowded during our stay. The beach beds (huts) had built in USB ports and plugs to charge any electronics which was a great touch! Only things which we found disappointing were the leaky roofs in the buffet restaurant and several areas around the resort. The showers were badly designed and water would leak everywhere on the floor. The toilets had no water pressure, and ours would clog up almost everyday. Our TV had no signal and it took 2 people almost an hour to figure out how to fix it. The signal dropped again a few days later. I didn't bother calling them back to fix it. It would have also been nice to have coat hangers in the closet, but I'm sure they would have brought some if we had requested them. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definately go back once all the little hiccups have been fixed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Buffet Ergo's was delicious! Seafood was outstanding! - Beach snack bar was very good! - Access to wifi throughout the resort, even on the beach! - Coffee shop was very good! - New and clean resort - Beds were very confortable.
The weak points
- Bad shower design. Water would leak everywhere. - No water pressure in toilets. Would clog up alomost every day. - No TV signal upon arrival. Took alomost 1 hour to fix and signal dropped again after a few days. - Leaking roofs throughout the resort
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024