Cofresi Palm Beach And Spa Resort

Cofresi Palm Beach And Spa Resort
3.403.403.403.403.40
3.40 based on 172 reviews
#12 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (41)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Worst trip south

, Summerside, PE
2020-03-25
Would never go back, seems like every second or third person you met were down sick,one of our travel companions lost their bracelets and was charged two hundred dollars american for a new plastic one,total rip off staff wasnt very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Cofresi

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-11
Lovely place, beautiful setting, well organized. Excellent customers skills.
Myself and my kid enjoyed tremendously. For sure will go back. Pools are clean and well kept. Beach is beautiful. Enjoyed the food. place is well kept.
There are stairs so for people with strollers and elderly people I would advice to make arrangements. Overall great experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Shows and activities are well organized.Great food!!! Excellent client care!
The weak points
a little bit more kids activities would be great....
Certified

Worst place even

, Whitby, ON
2020-03-07
Rain for 3 days no electricity..no hot water. Toilet don't work. Room leak roaches in room. Staff is rude and have no manner. Shuttle service very poorly.

No shuttle to take you in town. Have to fine your way by taxi. If you have uber app and know where you're going. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My maid was great. And my bell boy. That was the best part
The weak points
Food is salty did not get the change to choose how you want your meal. Especially if you've High blood pressure. Given then 1☆ is generous they deserve 1/2☆ VIP wall collapses. All they want to do is force you to buy time share in lifestyle.

Good value

, Elliot Lake, ON
2020-02-07
This resort appears to be an older resort but was well maintained. Staff was wonderful from my first day on arrival till the day I left. There was absolutely no shortage of food or refreshments and loungers were never a problem. I went as a standard guest and was happy with everything. There is VIP available and it does offer up more perks. Personally I did not look into it for this trip but it may be something to look into in the future. This resort is very large, built on a hill. So if you have mobility issues, VIP does offer up golf carts. Otherwise there is a shuttle service available for basic transportation. There are plenty off pools and pool bars. You can spend your days either enjoying Cofresi resort or the sister resort the Tropical. If I would recommend one thing for this resort it would be that they need more umbrellas for shade at the pools near the lobby. It is difficult to find shade from the hot sun without having to go inside the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, safe
The weak points
Need more umbrellas.
Certified

Cofresi not the same

, East York, ON
2020-01-31
Well were do I start, let's see:
Not a 4 star
Not enough beds on beach (numberous moved to VIP section and fence moved to consume more beach area)
Not as good flavor of food at buffet ( go to Casablanca @ tropical) shuttle takes you there in 5 min
Most all entertainment is at tropical ( shuttle)
Room did not have dressers
You have to pay for safe
Make sure you check sliding patio door ( ours did not have a pin to lock) or bring a 10 penny nail
Hot water was almost nonexistent
Rolling blackouts (don't both setting clock)
Only 1-2 plugs in room for charging
We just got back from the Lifestyle Tropical and this was by far our best stay
If you go stay in newly updated buildings 5 or 6
There are a lot of beach beds there (some with curtains)
They have a great sushi bar (zen)
They bring you drinks
They will bring you snacks (wings, panini, burgers, etc)
This is the better of the two resorts
Unless you pay for VIP at Cofresi
So based on our trip in December 2019 and Jan 2020
Cofresi 3*
Tropical 4*

Footnote:
Bring $1 bill (US) they don't take luney's and exchange rated isn't good at hotel (50%)
Try to get a upper 2nd or 3rd floor
There currently appears to be a women's panty napper at resort, my wife and another 1st Floor tenant had theirs stolen
If you have left over candy (Christmas, valentines, Easter, etc) bring it. They love chocolate, gum, candy) leave $1-2 tip with candy on pillow for cleaning lady
Extra bottles of water may appear along with more bathroom soap, shampoo, body wash
Enjoy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If available stay at Lifestyle tropical
The weak points
Food, beach beds, little to no hot water, rolling blackouts

Great vacation

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-15
We had a beautiful vacation , even though I was really nervous about the comments , but I am glad that we choose this resort! We had a Junior Suite, big , modern room, clean, the building close to everything.
The only thing that bothered me -the golf carts- i understand that you have to offer something for a membership, VIP.... but the fumes are disgusting, why not electric cars?
The restaurants were good, the brasilian phenomenal, the chinese...the food was good but the service was bad, the waiters dumped the food in front of us, and they didn't even bother to pass by our table, so we ate, we left, I doubt thas somebody noticed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort
The weak points
Golf carts

Cofresi palm beach stay

, Scarborough, ON
2019-12-11
Do not go to this hotel only 3star at most food in buffet not good was there for 10 days not impressed had my iPad stolen out of my room second day security found it on 5 day no wifi on resort only if you pay lots of stairs to climb shuttle comes around resort every. 15 minutes never go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Not enough choice in buffet and all drinks are made out of slushy ice not enjoyable
Certified

SCAM FALSE ADVERTISED HORRIBLE FRONT DESK AND CS.

, Montréal, QC
2019-07-28
WARNING! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT THIS RESORT. I PAID $9000. FOR 2 ROOMS 14 DAYS FOR MY LITTLE FAMILY. WORST STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK, LOTS OF LOCALS WERE CUTTING IN FRONT OF US DURING CHECK IN WAS TOLD IS $200 IF YOU LOOSE YOUR BRACELET $3 IF YOU LOOSE YOUR ROOM KEY CART. WAS GIVEN 42111 AND 42115 EVEN THOUGH I REQUESTED A CONNECTING ROOMS THEY DIDN'T CARE IF MY KIDS WERE ALL MINORS. SHE CIRCLE OUR ROOM IN A MAP AND THAT'S IT. NO TIME FOR HER TO ANSWER MY QUESTIONS. KEY DIDN'T WORK THROUGH OUT THE STAY RUINED OUR VACATION WHEN YOU HAD TO KEEP WALKING UP TO THE LOBBY AND IT'S ON A MOUNTAIN WITH MULTIPLE STAIRWAYS UP AND DOWN HILL. 11 RESTAURANT IS A LIE. WANTED TO BOOK ITALIAN AND WAS TOLD DURING THE 2 WEEKS IT DIDN'T OPEN. THERE ARE ONLY 3 RESTAURANT OPEN EACH WEEK. IT'S POSSIBLE THEY WERE LYING TO US AS I MENTION SERVICE CLIENT WAS A NIGHTMARE. I BURST INTO TEARS THE NEXT MORNING WHEN WAITING FOR THE SHUTTLE EACH TIME IT SHOWS UP WAS ALMOST FULL AND LOCALS DOESN'T CARE IF YOU WERE THERE AHEAD OF THEM WAITING THEY CUT IN FRONT OF YOU. VERY MISLEADING THE ALL INCLUSIVE WITH THEIR BUFFET IS OPEN FRIDAY TO SUNDAY AND IT CLOSED SO YOU NEED TO TAKE A SHUTTLE TO ANOTHER RESORT 7 MINUTES RIDE TO CASABLANCA BUFFET IS LOCATED AT THE TROPICAL RESORT AGAIN SHUTTLE FROM HELL YOU HAVE TO WAIT ON FOR BREAKFAST LUNCH AND DINNER FROM MONDAY TO THURSDAY. THEIR BUFFET IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE PEARL BUFFET AT THE CONFRESSI. BEST SHOWS IN THE EVENING AGAIN YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE SHUTTLE TO THE COLLESIUM 7 MINUTES BUS RIDE FROM HELL. I HAVE TO SAY AFTER THE SHOW IS THE WORST AS ONLY 1 SHUTTLE AND WE FEARED FOR OUR LIFE AS LOCALS ARE DRUNK AND PUSHED IN FRONT OF YOU TO GET IN THE SHUTTLE. WE LITERALLY WAITED 45 MINUTES TO GET IN THE SHUTTLE SOMETIMES AT MIDNIGHT WITH LITTLE ONES. BECAUSE THEY HAVE 1 SHUTTLE RUNNING AND OVER 700 PEOPLE WAITING IT WAS A NIGHTMARE AND REAL DANGER. THEIR SCAM IS TRYING TO SELL YOU MEMBERSHIP STARTED AT $33000 TO $20000 TO $12000 TO $5000 AND WHEN WE GOT UP HE TRIED TO OFFERED IT TO US AT $1000. I TOLD HIM NO THANK YOU! NO CONTRACT THEY ASKED WHAT'S YOUR CREDIT LIMIT BEFORE THEY EVEN TELL YOU THEIR PRICE. IS A SCAM DO NOT BUY. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESORT FROM HELL. THE STAFF ARE VERY RUDE WITH NO MANNERS. YOU NEED TO LISTENED TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS ON THIS RESORT ARE ALL TRUE. DO NOT GO [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Cofressi resort and spa

, Alliston, ON
2019-03-24
It was great.. they could update rooms to make sure air conditioner is ok and no bugs coming in. For what you pay not bad. Food great. Clean around pool. My 2nd time there and I would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

I wouldn't.

, Windsor, ON
2018-04-07
Issues on issues for my boyfriend and I.

Food was impossible to get unless you had a reservation for any of the restaurants besides the buffet(which also had specific hours), IN ORDER to make a reservation for dinner etc. you needed to be there between the hours of 9-11 and 3-5 something along those lines, so if you like to eat regularly or on your own schedule I don't recommend. Two bottles of water were provided daily, which is not as much as one would think it is especially two people who drink 10-15 bottles per day. COULD NOT STAY HYDRATED. In my opinion the alcoholic drinks also no bueno, WAY too over poured and very hard to enjoy. best part #1 was when we ran into a family emergency back home our second night there(OUT OF 8) and needed to to get back to Canada, WELL its only possible to arrange between the hours of 9-5 or whenever your rep is available, not a huge deal but deal breaker. BEST PART #2 In total we were there for 3 days (AGAIN OUT OF 8) and were not able to receive a refund on the rest of the days (OR THE LOCK WE HAD TO PAY FOR, FOR OUR SAFE) we were not able to be there. We also had to sign a waiver as to why we were leaving early. The staff on the other hand was absolutely amazing and very polite, although, I would avoid everyone on a VIP golf cart as all they want to do is take you on your "welcoming tour" and try to sell you a time share, we honestly missed our tour because we were sleeping (neighbours woke us at 4 a.m COULD HEAR EVERYTHING AND I MEAN EVERYTHING..... THROUGH THE WALLS.) and were hassled anytime we were spotted so someone could bring us on this tour. no, we did not go on our tour I simply Smiled and told them we had already received it. I suggest the same to anyone who Visits this place, if you don't want to be hassled ON VACATION.

Oh, and did I mention no refund?

If you want a relaxing vacation, where you can stay hydrated, enjoy your alcoholic beverages and not be hassled on a regular basis for your tour I would just avoid.

**** LOTS OF WALKING HILLY AREAS AND STAIRS WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE WITH MOBILITY ISSUES*** [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Two week stay, January 2018

, Woody Point Bonnebay, NL
2018-01-27
Overall, our stay was good. There are some obvious maintenance issues that should be addressed, ie lack of water pressure.
We cannot say enough good about the staff. Our bell boy, Leo was very helpful. Johnson who books excursions (located by the beach) was amazing. Our cleaning lady Julia, the people on the front desk, the staff in the restaurants are all exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la cartes are absolutely amazing. Food served at both The Pearl and Casa Blanca is also very good. Best we have ever had at an all inclusive resort.
The weak points
The rooms. Our AC did not work well. To keep our room cool, we had to keep the washroom door and black out curtains closed at all times. We could only take a shower early mornings or late evenings. No water pressure during daytime hours.
Certified

Cofresi spa

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2017-02-13
This resort is a big resort. With lots of hills and stairs to walk. There is no wheel chair access.
So be prepared for lots of walking [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and great staff.
The weak points
No free wifi anywhere. No 24 hrs food or drinks
Certified

Avril 2013

, Bearn, QC
2016-10-16
Beaucoup trop grand comme site. C'est tellement perdant!! Les spectacles sont loins mais super beaux! Il y a beaucoup de piscines partout c'est fou! Nous avons passé du temps dans le coin VIP sans y avoir droit mais WOW!! La plage est très ordinaire. Ce n'est pas Cuba!! Il y a plusieurs buffets et la nourriture y est excellente. Aussi dans les restaurants à la carte. Nous avons très bien mangé. Le personnel est accueillant! «John Wayne», celui qui attire les gens pour aller en randonnée à cheval était vraiment sympathique! Merci pour la soirée au Baseball! Très apprécié! Franchement, c'est un super beau site mais vraiment trop grand. Il fallait marcher tellement longtemps et de s'y retrouver était un vrai casse-tête chaque jour. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nourriture!! Piscines et bars partout!!
The weak points
Trop grand site.

Really nice

, Richmond Hill, ON
2016-08-03
The resort was gorgeous and the pools were nice and clean but the joining room walls are very thin and our neighbors were very loud so we had to complain to the front desk twice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean pools
The weak points
Loud neighbours
Certified

Amazing resort

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-08
The people are amazing the food is amazing all the pools are amazing the beaches are amazing everything is amazing. This was my first resort and I definitely will be going back. There is a good amount of walking around the resort but I did come back with a bit of weight gone! I would definitely recommend this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, people, food
The weak points
Walking
Certified

Cofresi resort

, Beresford, NB
2016-02-22
Gazoline golf cart travelling too fast around resort, lots of fumes, sewage smell around Hotel , beach not that great ..... 4 out of 6 people got sick during our stay of one week .....2 very sick [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Meh, it'll do

, Ancaster, ON
2016-02-21
Stayed at confresi for a week with my boyfriend. Hotel was nice minus all the golf carts, motorcycles, and cars driving around the resort grounds. Food was okay, we both got sick the last day and everyone we talked to afterwards got sick for a couple of days as well. Beach isn't very nice if you like to walk on it (very short Beach) the resort also has a poo like aroma when you walk along the grounds. Beautiful scenery though and room was clean. Wouldn't go back. When reading this take into account we're in our early twenties so we don't have high standards. The price was cheap so we went. Wouldn't pay more than 900 to go here though [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Scenary
The weak points
Smell, traffic on resort, food
Certified

Excellent Holiday

, Stevensville, ON
2016-02-08
The hotel was beautiful and the people where friendly and helpful at all times . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and cleanliness was amazing the grounds were beautiful
The weak points
The beach is small but beautiful and the Al a carte times where late for dinner .
Certified

It was good, until it wasn't...

, Toronto, ON
2015-02-03
The Cofresi Resort was nice enough in itself; the grounds were nice and clean, the staff was mostly nice, and the rooms were alright (maybe not 4 star, but still nice). That being said, you get what you paid for and we got a great deal. We did however, have a bit of a cockroach situation, but in the bathroom only.
However, after getting comfortable with the food (you always hear stories and are afraid), I decided to get adventurous and try the seafood. BIG MISTAKE! The end of my trip was spent in a Hospital on IV and medications for over 24 hours. I was so ill that I was afraid I wouldn't be able to fly home.
I was not the only person either, as there was at least one more person with me at the hotel clinic, with the same symptoms.
I wish I had better things to say about this trip as it was my first all-inclusive vacation ever. But unfortunately, that is not the case. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools are very clean and the levels are tested several times a day.
The weak points
The staff was hit or miss, there were cockroaches in the bathroom and they poisoned me.
Certified

Christmas & New Year Travel

, Mississauga, ON
2015-01-04
Don't waste your money & time!
All information on the resort, including images, pertain to the "vip" shareholders sections of the resort that there is virtually no access to for people who purchase regular all-inclusive packages. Overall, the service is worse than anywhere we have traveled to and the accommodations are 3 stars, at best (run down, old, broken showers, etc). The beach is non-existent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
customer service (rude & non-responsive staff), segregation (can't access most areas), organization (check out, event reserv.) facilities - not operational showers, no hot water, no access to certain things, smell of sewage / sewer system
Certified

Cofresi palm beach resort.

, Mississauga, ON
2014-12-02
We went with two other couples. We were in building 302. It is centrally located in the resort.
Price was good. Sunday beach party was awesome. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Few things were wrong with the room but as soon as we complained, they took care of the issues. Two things that we found bad With this resort are, smell from the nearby sewage and too many stairs.
I know they can't do anything about the stairs since this Resort is built on mountain, but I am sure they can control the sewage issue. Overall I am very pleased with this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, friendly staff and good price.
The weak points
Smell from sewage and too many steps to climb.
Certified

Good Times

, Milton, ON
2014-10-29
I went to Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa resort with my Wife and another couple. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room. We had a ground floor in building 40. It was large, had a great bathroom that was open to the whole room. The food was good at the resort, I really liked the Mexican A LA Cart. My one complaint is that the resort is split with time shares, the time share holders get substantially better options for food and drink, and are treated a little better. As well the first day there they hit you with a time share sales pitch. This wastes time from your vacation and we found the person pushy. Other than that for the price you can't beat the value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, Pools,
The weak points
Class system, Sales Pitch.
Certified

Confresi Palm Beach Resort

, Toronto, ON
2014-09-13
Cofresi Palm Beach Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches beds were a bonus to getaway from the heat and take beautiful relaxing naps......
The weak points
Entertainment needs a lot more variety If you don't mind stairs and I mean "Stairs" there is a lot of them in any direction you go to..... Don't fall for "Tour of resort the as they call it cuz its only for you to upgrade and spend more $$$$ time shar
Certified

Not bad but not great

, Mississauga, ON
2014-07-23
Rooms are good. We had the junior suit. Services are OK as long as you tip them. The beaches are unclean. I didn't like the idea of VIP members. They will try to sell you the membership during all your stay. Golf Cars and hotel shuttle are running everywhere with very bad driving habits which make it completely unsafe for the kids. It became very crowded on the weekend and there were no food on the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, many swimming pools. Many restaurants.
The weak points
Cars running everywhere make it unsafe for the kids. Some areas are only allowed for VIP members. Pressure sales for the club membership ( lifestyle holiday club vacation). Smell of sewage.Very crowded on Saturday and Sunday with not enough food.
Certified

COFRESI PALM BEACH AND SPA RESOR

, Sutton, QC
2014-04-27
Overall nice place
But the sewer smell in front of building 30121 is terrible! Smell came in our room at night! Could of had better explanations where to find things! The time share people very aggressive for the first 2 days after that left alone Buffet on the Tropical side much better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of staff very friendly
The weak points
Bus ride from airport is more like 45 mins the smell from sewer!
Certified

Great Vacation

, Barrie, ON
2014-04-16
The Staff were polite and helpful,the food was very good and the time share people actually took no for an answer.The only negative for senior, like me where the stairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff,Food, Beach, Weather
The weak points
Stairs
Certified

March Break at Confresi

, Kanata, ON
2014-03-18
This was our second time in Puerto Plata and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Confresi this year. We read many reviews before booking and can easily say that many of the negative ones were not very accurate. The resort is very well kept and quite clean. Our room in the 303 block was nothing special but was clean and the AC worked well. There are many restaurants and bars throughout the resort but we alternated between the main lobby pool and beach/beachside pool. Each day you can find an area to relax away from anyone else or find others to chat with and have a great time. The beach area leaves a bit to be desired compared to other beaches I have been to but overall it is nice and sure beats the winter snow back home. Views of the area are beautiful as most of the resort is on a hill. Be prepared to walk a bit to get from place to place but we enjoyed the exercise. The entertainment was the best we have seen down south. Confresi is attached to the Tropical and you have access to both resorts and are invited to special shows and parties throughout the week. The HUGE Sunday show was canceled due to weather so that was disapointing. Some reviews said that staff are constantly trying to get you to buy into the Lifestyle group, this is false. You can however see the benefits if you were to be a member. We were given a gift and went on a tour of the large complex on a golf cart, saw the villas and a phenomenal house that can be rented if you are a member. We were also taken to a members only beach. We never felt like we weren't inclusive even though we were not VIP. Food was average to above average from past trips and the a la cartes were great, especially the Italian. Overall, we enjoyed the vacation and would consider going back in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, entertainment, complex and availability to go to other resorts
The weak points
Not much
Certified

Bad experience

, Stoneycreek, ON
2014-03-14
below expectations, you should believe the bad comments. This is a resort that is geared towards VIP and time share crowd. The resort is very big and there are lot of mini buses, carts and motorbikes going up and down and is so noisy that is hard to get any sleep.Traffic is worst than on the highway, we had to change the room but second one was not much better. I've got food poisoning on the 4th day and my husband on last day. It was so bad that for a day I could barely move. Beach is very small, rocks in some areas, not enough chairs or shade, resort has the most unfriendly and unsmiling staff ever, even after you tip them. Lots of yelling at night and there is security on the grounds but they are not doing anything about it, every night there was a struggle to get to sleep.Most of the pools are for adults only but that doesn't stop families with kids to use them, again staff either put a stop to this or take the signs down.
Not worth the money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
food, room, beach,service
Certified

Sister get away

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-12
very clean, beautiful, & peacful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the area where our room was. Very beautiful, peaceful, & clean!; at first it was a bit of a walk, but once I understood the lay out of the resort I enjoyed the cardio! Love the fact that the hole area was very clean, there was no plats everywhere
The weak points
Not too many choices on food. Yes I know we only went for 4 days & 3 nights but I really like that we where unable to eat at the al la cart restaurants that we had in mind. too expensive for the time we spent there.
Certified

Would not return

, Orleans, ON
2014-03-05
The resort was beautiful. We upgraded to an ocean view room and it was very nice and big. The pools are great, however we wanted to relax at the adults only pool and it was always full of kids.
The salesmen for the VIP memberships are everywhere. It is definitely all about the VIP members.
The food was ok. Most of the a la carts were good. Johnny's was horrible.
The buffet was tiresome. I found the food much better in Cuba.
My husband has been sick from the food for a week.
We had a lovely week, but the negatives out way the positives and we would not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room was great. The resort is beautiful.
The weak points
The food. The sales reps for the VIP memberships.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020