Hotel Villa Cuba

Hotel Villa Cuba
3.183.183.183.183.18
3.18 based on 831 reviews
#36 of 70 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (321)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Villa Cuba

, St Cathrines, ON
2024-05-14
This was my second time at this resort and I was excited to see all of the staff from our last trip. They remembered us and were so happy to see us again.

We went to a baseball game and did some shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very friendly staff. If you have a request they will do whatever they can to accommodate. Very close to shopping.
The weak points
There could be more interaction or hype with the special activities around the pool to get people involved.
Sanitary measures
The bathrooms by the pool need to be tended to a little more often
Certified

Hotel Villa Cuba - excellent value!

, Montréal, QC
2024-04-10
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Villa Cuba, very clean hotel, excellent drinks, the food was very good. The chefs did an excellent job with the ingredients on hand. Beautiful beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean, beautiful beach, very few line ups at the bar, good food.
The weak points
Internet access, shower, water always going on the floor, couldn't keep the half door closed
Sanitary measures
excellent, staff always around cleaning the floors especially in the pool area
Certified

Good budget choice

, Medicine Hat, AB
2024-04-05
Second time here (first was for New Year's Eve). I just love the staff and travellers you meet here. Took a chance on the Supersaver room. At NYE I was moved to Los Morelos (but given wrist bands for both places). It was nice, quiet, the lobby there is a convenient place to sit and drink and dance. But I think the food is better at Villa Cuba. I stuck to the pasta bar and vegetables whenever it was available. I learned to search it out at the bearch restaurant if it wasn't at the main one. My teen loves the chicken and also the hamburgers. A loud cheer to animación and the entertainment who really put in effort to make things fun. Even if I was the only one there, animación put on stretches on the beach and aquafit in the pool every morning. I also that the cleaning staff, maids, garden and pool workers who constantly were out there ensuring our holiday was super. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent staff. Easy to meet people. Great location on the beach and a pleasant walk to the town of Varadero. Food is not bad!
The weak points
So. Many. Stairs. It's old and you can see where it needs sprucing up. Wish the restaurant had outdoor seating. Elevator didn't always work.

Came back stressed

, Montréal, QC
2024-02-09
Apart from the staff, this hotel sadly is dying. On my last full day, I was crying over the worst vacation ever I had.

On 3rd night, I had to change room as the door system didn't work anymore. I was sent to a room where the door system didn't work neither. So another new room. It was moldy, furnitures crooked, safe covered in rust. The ceiling was full of water coming from the above bathroom. It would flood my bathroom floor everyday and droplets keep falling on my head whenever using toilet or sink. There was water closed to the ceiling lights. The repairman they sent said it was normal. I asked for someone to fix it the following day. At the end of the following day it wasn't fixed and understood nothing was to be done. I was afraid to shower and would rinse off at the beach shower instead. My towels I had to use everyday for sponging the floor.

Then there was food intoxication. tion on the 3rd evening. I spent all night throwing up. A lot. I am a woman traveling alone so I tried to call the reception for help. I couldn't leave the bathroom. I was afraid to pass out. Well... The phone didn't work and I was too far from the reception. I was weak and pain in my back and abdomen. I ended sleeping all following day instead of going on a paid day trip to Matanzas. At the end of the day, I managed to go out and try to eat at the buffet but sight of meat got me nauseous. I talked with other guests who also have been sick. The meat are undercooked and the warm table isn't at the right temperature to keep them safe. Food is basically server room temperature. Glad I had meal replacement bars with me. Been back for 2 days now and my stomach is still fragile.

I was able to meet the representative of the package provider on the last full day. He was aware of many guests having to change rooms regularly and about the food poisoning of Saturday night. He was kind to help me getting reimbursed the missed day trip.

I only have good words for the staff who tried helping me. With the limited means they have.

I understand it is Cuba, I didn't expect luxury, but this time, I was left more stressed than at beginning of my trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, location, beach
The weak points
Rooms and food

Mould

, Grand Bend , ON
2024-02-06
due to an extremely mouldy room (pillows,bed,chair,) my boyfriend and I became very sick due to mould exposure. We spent most of the week stuck in our room which caused us to become more and more sick.
If it wasn't for the sickness it would have been a great trip. Most staff were very nice and the beach was great. I just wish we got to enjoy it more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beach breakfast staff
The weak points
mouldy room causing sickness
Certified

Mother Daughter Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2024-01-21
This hotel was very nice and very kind staff! Might have been the time of year we went but it wasn't too busy! Beautiful beach and walk isnt far from where we stayed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean beach, clean resort, ocean is beautiful and could walk out far. Would stay here again! Friendly staff
The weak points
Phones in room didn't work. No medical help on site. Bamboo dinner place (reservations only) didnt have a lot on the menu.
Certified

Hospitable staff, but resort shows its age

, Edmonton, AB
2023-12-07
I almost cancelled when I read the lousy reviews on this and other sites. But, as they say, the price was right, and I figured the excellent beach was a good enough draw.
Overall, Villa Cuba exceeded low expectations, just. The staff were lovely, reception desk dealt professionally with issues, the pools were nice and the room, while in poor physical shape, was clean. There was toilet paper. There was shampoo and soap. I got two fluffy bath towels, but no facecloth or hand towels. The water never got hotter than lukewarm, but . the AC was good, no bugs were spotted and the balcony was a nice extra. The ancient safe worked with a key card and there were no door security issues. Housekeeping did a good job with daily cleaning and bottled water supplied daily. There was no plug for the bathroom sink, so you had to be careful not to drop anything.
Wi-fi was good, but needed reconnecting frequently. Several times I got a warning note saying more money was needed to continue with wi-fi, but the front desk got me back online each time I got locked out. The wi-fi was free in the all-inclusive package.
I had one strange incident in which after flushing the toilet the water pipes produced a very loud "whooo" sound which went on and on. I went to reception at 2 am to report it, and they sent for the maintenance person who did show up promptly. It wasn't fixed for 24 hours ... but it was fixed.
The pools were nice, the beach was a bit of a walk from the main building. I passed a broken water hydrant which was on its side and it wasn't repaired the week I was there.
There are A LOT of steps in the main building and please note they are not even, so you have to really pay attention. Wobbly handrails added to the risk factors. Someone said the resort was very quiet and therefore great for seniors, but I would say seniors need to be very careful getting around this resort.
The resort boasts an "included" coffee bar and the coffee was excellent, the best I have experienced in years of visiting all-inclusive resorts. But the food overall was pretty bad. There was no fresh fish, the buffet never changed. They serve fatty beef and pork many ways, usually reheated. The pork was often so chewy it was inedible. Omelets for breakfast were a good choice. The bread was fresh, but butter/margarine was not usually available.
The Bamboo specialty "Asian" restaurant offered good service, but the food was far from Asian. On the menu, the starters offered were all unavailable, except for soup. My main was a version of a Mexican fajita and dessert was the same ice cream and or cake square that was in the buffet.
The buffet cake squares all look interesting, but many tasted identical. Fruits and juices were quite limited and salads were tired.
So food was an issue, but one expects that in Cuba which faces all sorts of supply problems.
Howeverm I do think the warmth of hospitality, the beach and pools, make the Villa Cuba worth considering for the budget traveler. It's frankly depressing that the building is so poorly maintained overall because, with effort, this aging resort could still offer a wow factor. But one suspects this simply ain't gonna happen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach, of course. The friendly staff. And the coffee!
The weak points
Building and grounds needs considerable work to reach a basic standard. Food quality quite poor.

An older resort but amazing staff

, Sandringham, NL
2023-04-24
Our overall experience was ok, the first room we had was off the main building and the room was very small! We upgraded the next day to a bigger room, it was clean but the bathroom sink leaked water in under so all the water ran on the floor. The shower was broken so we had to hold the shower head in our hand and most days we had cold showers because there wasn't any hot water [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The rooms were clean and our maid Tamara was awesome!
The weak points
There wasn't much activities at the resort, the types of drinks were limited and not many restaurants to choose from. The pool closed at 6PM!
Certified

Great time at Be Live Experience Varadero

, Goderich, ON
2023-03-05
We enjoyed our time at this resort. We did move to a different room as we were not happy with our rooms we were given.We did pay for an upgrade and would have paid extra when we booked if we saw the rooms on the internet we would be getting at the supersaver rate. Very friendy people and the country needs us to visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
I was surprised at how good the food was. I was quite pleased! Others on our flight home complained about their resort food.
The weak points
I think only one public washroom on the whole resort had soap in its dispenser. (Our rooms had bar soap) The washrooms that the employees who were preparing food used had NO soap. We witnessed this.
Sanitary measures
No soap in the washrooms is necessary. I do realize Cuba has been through a tough time but sanitary measures are low.
Certified

Ecxelent resort for price

, Moncton, NB
2023-01-04
Nice clean and spacious resort Very frendly poeple and staffs this is my second stay food was good not a big selection but you eat good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good location close to town and beach Got several accomodations hotel room small block with rooms and villa
The weak points
Litle old but it`s Cuba
Sanitary measures
All good
Certified

Worst place to stay at!!

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-24
When I booked I had booked a villa, we ended up with a room, I went to the front desk and explained that I reserved a villa, lady at the front said there were no more left. The room we were given was run down, door didn't shut right and shower didn't work, I complained and got a new room, it flooded and got our clothes soaked, next room the air conditioner and tv didn't work, and the 4th room the key card and lock didn't work, every time we wanted in our room we had to go to the front desk and get someone to open it for us. Finally they put us in the hotel next door after 3.5 days of our vacation being ruined. I don't suggest to stay in this hotel as it is runed down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There are a few sweet staff members
The weak points
Not worth the money at all. Stay somewhere other than here.
Certified

After 2 years

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-14
The Hotel was just perfect, at first we were in an older villa, but than changed after the first night, I feel they should not continue to book people in that villa. Food was awesome, Beach bar bartender Hernando was the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff were very freindly
The weak points
Lots of flies in the main dining area, would like to see less of them.
Certified

A Solid 3-Stair Resort

, Pincourt, QC
2020-02-28
I spent one week at this resort mid-February with a friend. This was my first time here, having experience with numerous other resorts in Varadero. Rooms are smaller than what I have been used to and some are downright horrible. We stayed in the 4000 block and the room was acceptable.
Rooms. We were first given a first floor villa room that was totally unacceptable. The room was not much larger than a closet and in very poor condition. We requested a change and were accommodated the following day. We were moved to the 4000 villa block (more like a condo block) where the room was small, but had more room for everything. Bathrooms don't seem to have counters for toiletries, and there are no dressers in any of the rooms I'd seen. Sheets were clean and beds comfortable. Good sized closet to hand things up in. Seems most air conditioners have been replaced with the newer models and worked well.
Resort site. Lots of walking required. Everything is located in the main building which is multi-level. 2nd floor is the buffet, 3rd floor (at the end of the building) is the liquor store, 4th floor is the lobby with the lobby bar at the very far end and down 6 steps. Two sets of elevators and lots of stairs. Not good if you are mobility challenged or elderly. Personally, I prefer a resort with everything somewhat centrally located.
Pool. Great pool area with 3 distinct area and 2 jacuzzi's (never worked while we were there). Lots of chairs and a few umbrellas. Pool bar and snack bar were central to the pool and in a covered area to get out of the hot sun.
Beach. Nice walkway to the beach with a wooden pathway at the end and showers along the way. Beach was always packed, so one needed to get down there early to reserve a chair.
Buffet. Typical Cuba food. Very repetitive but you will not starve. Personally, I always win with the fresh fish for dinner and eggs or pancakes for breakfast. Serving staff was great and willing to please.
A La Carte Restaurant. We only went to one and ordered the veal with wine/mushroom sauce. What a joke. The "veal" was the same tough beef that was being served in the buffet (none of our party of 4 could finish it) and it was hard to find a mushroom or 2 in the "sauce". The waitress kept apologizing (she was well aware of how awful the "veal" was). Apparently, according to other guests, it was delicious a few days prior to our visit. We didn't go to the Oriental restaurant due to lack of time, but heard that it was pretty good.
Staff. Reception staff was friendly and very accommodating. Lobby bar staff and pool bar staff very busy and not so friendly. I always tip, but even with tipping, I couldn't seem to garner many smiles from the bar staff. Chambermaids were great. Ours left towel art every day and little notes thanking us for our gifts (we brought toothpaste and other toiletries to leave as tips).
We took a walk to the sister resort, Be Live Las Morlas (next door). Much smaller, but with everything very centralized. The furniture in the lobby was much nice and more modern. I would love to try it out next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool area was great (lots of chairs and very clean). The reception staff were friendly and accommodating as were the chambermaids. Beach was lovely. Resort was well maintained.
The weak points
Rooms are small and dated. Common washrooms are old and smelly. A lot of walking, stairs, elevators to get from buffet to bars to the lobby. Not good for mobility challenged or seniors.

Varadero

, Mont-Tremblant, QC
2020-02-17
I took the solo and my sister and her friend took a room closer to the beach I liked my room very much it was big and a big bathroom the main building was very nice but the food not to good for the buffet part mostly repeats same food but the others restaurant were very good the staff very friendly. I did have problems with the safe it took almost 3 days to have it fix so I could use it.
And there were a few times the elevators were out [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Be Live Experience

, Hamilton, ON
2020-02-03
This resort is a friendly one! The rooms are dated but remember you are in Cuba - the top 3 things to have in Cuba- hot water, flushable toilet, and air conditioning! Our room was at a great location on the resort - half way between the beach and pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- friendly staff - food okay - you won't strive! - walking distance to varadero - beautiful beach but bring bug spray/calamine lotion/Benadryl - I got bit by the sand fleas (aka no-see-ums) they are little but mighty.
The weak points
- I got a smoking room but requested a non-smoking room - however, there are a lot of smokers!!! - check out should work with flight schedules - our flight was at 10:00 p.m. and we had to check out at 12 noon - 7 hours without a room is a long time
Certified

My review

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-31
The hotel was nice and clean however the shower was pathetic, the staff is very helpful. the food was nothing to brag about it was always the same type of buffet however I would definitely go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff very helpful
The weak points
shower disgusting ,food repetitious and boring
Certified

Second time and still love it!!!

, Regina, SK
2020-01-17
I love this resort. It is small and friendly. The food is okay and I can always find something I like. The rooms are nice (in the hotel) and the beach is wonderful. The staff are amazing! Anna (our maid), Felix and Ivan (entertainers), and the numerous other bartenders and servers. I feel safe at this resort and they were always willing to help with any issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, beach, location, people!! All strong reasons to return.
The weak points
Bathrooms could use a little update/renovation.
Certified

BLE Varadero

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-09-20
The room was bad and the bathroom was very bad. The phone in the room did not work, on the bathroom one light of three was working, the bathroom tap lost water. We reported the problems but they never fixed them [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and location were good
Certified

Be live varadero

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-26
Days went fast. Perfect weather during our stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Old but beautiful building. Surrounding was kept clean. Entertainment was good a bit too loud
The weak points
Villa was infested with bugs. Beds had crawling insects. Bathroom needs a new tub. I say it's 2 star hotel. Dining room served food mostly with bacon bits. Very little choice for vegetarians.
Certified

Not good

, Drumheller, AB
2018-12-24
Was not impressed. room safe system messed up and could not get into safe to retrieve cash or telephone for TWO days. staff were rude about trying to help rectify situation as well. I would not go back... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not Impressed

, Carbon, AB
2018-12-19
Placed into a Room when a Villa was Booked. Told I received a Supreme Upgrade. was over looking the construction area in front door and Garbage and receiving area. 4 days in the Room with no Hot Water.Finally got Villa on 4 night, Excellent. Found all staff friendly except for front desk. NO Plans on ever returning, Sorry Orlando,Best bartender at Pool Bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Villa's, 24 hour bar service
The weak points
Front desk Staff, Hotel rooms
Certified

Travel only

, Rr#3 Shore Rd, NS
2018-03-26
The beach was awesome, pure white sand and warm ocean
The pool was so large didn't feel crowded
Would certainly recommend several excursions that will pick you up at hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cheerful and helpful staffs Friendly tourists and gorgeous weather Thoroughly enjoyed our sugar cane excursion and family farm excursion learning about Cuban culture Several souvenirs shops to chose from
The weak points
We had a villa which had up to 4 rooms, just the two of us, would need more rooms filled for company Bed comfortable, poor quality furniture-outdated, bathroom faucets everywhere the chrome polish off Would like hotel rooms
Certified

Beach is worth it!

, Hunter River, PE
2017-05-05
Be Live, or as we called it the "Be Quiet" resort, is an outdated mediocre vacation spot. Although our room was clean, the bathroom was gross and tub wouldn't drain. The main buffet area was clean with great staff but most of the food wasn't good. I survived on their delicious breads. Main hallways were mouldy, elevator only worked some times, and pool area smelled of urine (from the cats?). It's not a huge resort and it's a beautiful short stroll to the most amazing beach. Soft white sand, gorgeous clear rockfree seaweedfree warm aqua water. Wow! Spend your days here and you'll be happy. However, there is no music playing. Evenings - No bands. No fashion shows.etc Just a sad short show at 9:30pm. Luckily we wanted a lazy relaxing week so we weren't too disappointed in the lack of activities. We made our own excursion to Havana. That and the beach made this trip worthwhile. We would go back to the Varadero area but not to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach!!! Staff in the buffet area and pool bar. 2 hours from Havana. Did I mention the beach? :)
The weak points
Outdated and dirty. Not a lot of activities. Mediocre evening shows. Food is not great.
Certified

Good hotel

, Saskatoon, SK
2017-03-03
Lots of stairs and elevators were sometimes slow. Food was okay. Snack bar was good. Staff were friendly. Generally okay for the price. Front desk was not helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment
The weak points
Customer service at front desk
Certified

Solid value, great people

, Vancouver, BC
2016-11-14
I don't go to Cuba to feel pampered, but Be Live Varadero was consistently clean, the food was good and the people of Cuba are amazing, including the folks at the resort. I actually found the front desk team particularly fast and helpful, which was a welcome surprise as standing in lines is part of an authentic Cuban experience. I don't want to set expectations that you are going to a 5 star resort by North American standards, but this was good value for the money and I'd go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Be Live Experience

, Colborne, ON
2016-02-08
-1st room was dirty,toilet broken.Front desk was very accomadating and moved us the next day.This is our 4th time to this hotel.Improves every year.Taxi drivers do not know where this hotel is located.Signs still say VILLA CUBA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food and service.No lineups
The weak points
Lots of stairs for us old people to climb.Cats inside the restaurants.
Certified

Cuba Villa

, Narol, MB
2016-01-30
It was ok. Seven days of rain but can't control the weather. Definitely would go back but note to self check the weather forecast [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

As expected

, Oromocto, NB
2015-03-11
This is my second time to Varadero and I decided to stay at this resort because I wanted a Villa where it would be quieter than in the hotel part itself. I was very lucky! It was quiet and the people sharing the villa were also respectful. I had #3360 on the second floor near the beach. Yes, the furniture was very old in the room but the room was clean and the bathroom was huge with a bathtub and 2 sinks. There was also a huge common living room downstairs. The only negative was the garbage bins that were across from me. They stunk by mid-week and needed to be emptied.

The hotel is rated as a 3.5/4 star which probably isn't true, but you have to understand that this is Cuba. The hotels are older, but I thought in general was clean. Don't compare it to Mexico or other areas.

There were a lot of Canadians at this resort and it felt like family. We always stopped to talk to each other and made plans to meet up in the evening to go downtown which is only a 15-minute walk. Varadero is very safe and we never had any problems.

I have read comments about the staff not being friendly. Maybe they don't smile all the time, but you have to understand the hours that the servers are on their feet. Secondly, there are some very rude guests that aren't nice to the staff.

It's Cuba and the food isn't great, but the a la Carte restaurants were. I always found something that I could eat.

One negative is the entertainment by the pool. During the afternoon, it was very loud. I really don't care about a dance competition between girls from different countries. And the smell of sewage on windy days near the pool wasn't so great either. Don't get a room facing the pool area if you want quiet because you won't get it.

But I would have to say that I went to Cuba for the best beach and to meet people and have fun in a safe country and that's what I got. Sorry to those whose rooms weren't renovated, etc. I wouldn't be happy either, but the front desk always tried to find you another one if you weren't satisfied.

I would stay here again!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Villa was quiet, big and near the beach. Some have private pools. Lots of friendly Canadians. Close to downtown. 9th floor bar with a view of beach Best coffee bar Nice beach 15-minute walk to downtown Friendly staff
The weak points
Sewage smell near one side of pool area, but the other side was okay. Food was the same every day.
Certified

Sunwing

, Ottawa, ON
2015-02-17
I think there should of been 4 burners to make the crepes so it wouldn't take so long. The jacuzzi didn't work and a warm pool would of been nice. The converting money was to expensive.The coffee, juices, fruit was wonderful. I had seen 2 cockroaches at the crepe station and told the girl and she killed them. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Some railings need to be tightened. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was wonderful
The weak points
Communication when bus was late for pick-up to airport.
Certified

Never going back to this hotel

, Montreal, QC
2015-02-08
This is not a 4* hotel,not even 3*. The public washrooms dirty and stinky sometimes even closed due to the dirtiness. The snacks not good at all, the tables at the buffet sometimes not clean they don't give a good service, if we needed something we had to get it our own ex. drinks or cutlery at the bar often run out of beer. Our room was ok exept for a broken bed. The hallway dark we had to use the light of our cell phone to get to our room. It was hard to make reservations for a la carte restaurants. I wouldn't recomend this hotel to anybody. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
varadero in general is a nice place to visit.
The weak points
Hotel villa cuba
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024