Don Lino

3.453.453.453.453.45
Don Lino
#9 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
3.45 based on 265 reviews
Traveller pictures (132)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Plutôt positif

, Montréal, QC
2020-03-11
Nous voyageons back pack habituellement mais avec une petite cocotte de 2 ans j'étais contente de ne pas avoir la bouffe à gérer. Il n'y a pas gros d'Activités mais pour nous c'était parfait nous avons surtout faire du snorkeling parce qu'il y a quand même des jolies petites spots de poissons et c'était un bon début pour une petite de 10 ans qui ne s'est pas du tout ennuyé.
Les bons plans :
- La petite plage moins de corail juste à gauche en sortant de l'hôtel à 2 minutes à pied.
- Playa Bianca accessible à vélo en 10 minutes (avec les vélos de l'hôtel en état moyen, ça se fait très bien) pas de vent, pas de corail, très calme.
- Le lobster pour 5cuc à côté de Playa Bianca en arrivant à la plage, tu tourne à gauche et il y a un petit container bleu avec un petit set up de tables et chaises
- Prendre le taxi avec Ruben (serveur au bar de la plage) pour 30cuc AR, se rendre à playa paquet, pas du tout de corail, pleins de poissons, sable fin, mer très calme, ça vaut la peine de sortir, catamaran... le petit resto à la plaza est bon et pas trop chère.
- Le massage sur le chemin qui mène à l'hôtel, pour 20cuc, 1 heure, massage très doux.

Pas de moustique quand nous y étions.
La 2 ans a dormi sur le petit matelas terme rest que nous avions apporté mais elle s'est faites pas mal piquer.

Il y a du cheval aussi, la balade dure moins de une heure et c'est sympathique, surement encore plus sympathique si tu parle espagnole plus que moi :)

Il n'y a pas une immense piscine mais nous ne recherchions pas nécessairement ça, nous voulions profiter de la plage et de la mer, ce n'était pas un critère pour nous.

Je recommande donc, pour ceux qui ne veulent pas être envahie par les Québécois, il y en a mais ce sont essentiellement des habitués de la place, il y aussi les famille cubaine qui viennent pour une nuit, en famille. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pas trop grand et un peu familiale; propre; calme; beau et bon restaurant à la carte le midi mais aussi en général; chambre très correct; service rapide pour résoudre des petits problèmes (clim)
The weak points
Un constat plutôt qu'un point faible : les chaussure d'eau obligatoire, désagréable : les mégots de cigarettes dans le sable.

Still the same country cottage feeling!

, Verdun, QC
2020-01-25
This has been our 7th visit in the last year. There have been changes, new mattresses, new porch chairs, new palapasses on beach, new chairs on beach, (be careful of people asking for money for the chairs) new sofas at reception. The food is still the same, shortages on variety of fruits & vegetables but still very good. The amazing personnel are still there to fulfill your special needs, The beach restaurant with Maikel is perfect for a change at lunch and the food is excellent. Unfortunately for us, our 2 weeks were windy, rainy, cloudy and cold, not the fault of Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel, cleanliness of rooms, pool, country cottage feeling!!!!
The weak points
Rocky beach, variety of fruits.
Certified

Perfect quiet getaway

, Novar, ON
2020-01-23
I traveled on my own for the expressed purpose of a quiet time away. The resort did not disappoint. The food was good old fashioned home cooking (Cuban style), nothing fancy but hot and plentiful well rounded fruit, veggies and protein choices.
The beach was clean but you should bring water shoes to get into the ocean because of the rocky shore. I did manage without but would have been more secure with them on.
Many vacationers were repeat customers. I might be one of them! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well maintained resort. Everyone was pleasant with rudimentary to excellent English.
The weak points
One small pool. Cuban families pay to spend the day (or weekend) on resort. I really don't see this as a negative other than the noise level increases. I experienced a windy and slightly rainy week which was abnormal for that time of year.
Certified

My vacation at Villa Don Lino

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-15
It was a good vacation. Food was O.K. Staff was friendly. Resort had bikes that you can rent for free from 9AM till 4PM.
And the countryside has side roads with a scenic views. Beach is O.K. but you need a rubber slippers because of corrals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodation was OK. Food O.K. Free bikes for rent.
The weak points
Juices in cafeteria were not natural -sweet ink. Yogurt was 2 times in 2 weeks. Fruits were just papaya and grapefruit. TV has 7 channels and only 1 English CNN. No entertainment - shows.
Certified

Relaxing and Picturesque

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-24
First time visit to Don Lino, week of April 12th-19th (~13th trip to Cuba)
Impressions: 1. Beach is very picturesque, soft white sand, and lounge chairs always available. BUT water should be used only with extreme care due to pervasive coral and presence of sea urchins - not recommended for children. 2. Pool is small, but satisfactory - cleaned very morning.
3. Staff: No more or less friendly than anywhere else we've visited in Cuba. No problems, Flora in the dining room always had a smiling face and a glass of wine for us. 4. Rooms: We had booked a bungalow and had requested top floor - initial room assigned was on lower floor, a/c not working, was very musty smelling, ashtray in room, missing hair blower, 2 small towels - we were switched after complaint made. Replacement room on the top floor was up to the usual Cuban standard. Bring shampoo ( not provided but we were aware in advance) The in-room safe (included in price) was found to be completely inoperable but we did not want to risk moving to a less satisfactory room, so we lugged the valuables (passports, phone, cash) around all week which wasn't ideal. We feel that the hotel should want their guest's valuables to be secure but a working safe was not high on priority. 5. Friday night disco: (New) - caution - available to locals as well as hotel guests. music blasts until the wee hours - definitely an issue for nearby rooms 1-10. Bigger issue - theft - one hotel guest was expertly relieved of her iphone by party-goers the same night she arrived - hotel staff told her this was not the first time they had heard that complaint. 6. Buffet: Well presented, and fresh. Repetitive offerings, but cleverly presented in different ways - range of food items was more limited than we've found at the larger hotels, but this could be partly attributable to the current food shortages; no fresh bananas, tomatoes, or fresh pineapple, limited chicken. However we didn't starve, we could always find something to eat. 7. Property maintenance: Generally neat and tidy appearance. It was spring break for the Cubans (so a lot of kids) and windy, so any cups left poolside were found blowing around resort, sad to see. Safety concerns noted about the lighting outages on pathways, and lack of handrails on the wooden pathway to the beach.
Despite some of these negative issues, we had a wonderful time, as usual in Cuba. Would we return? Probably not, but only because we love to go into the ocean for a dip. (We knew this prior to booking but we wanted to enjoy this area of Cuba and didn't regret our decision.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Spent our 56th anniversary there

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-03-16
very quite
some work needed on the beach
very clean
road going into resort needs repair. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good for Cuba.
The weak points
Pool is TOO small for the new rooms they have added
Certified

Awesome

, Toronto, HA
2019-01-02
Don lino was more then what i was expecting. It has left me breathless . Staff was amazing not enought words to express how i feel. Its my new home away from home [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome
The weak points
No wifi
Certified

Don Lino in June - (too) quiet

, Ottawa, ON
2018-06-24
This is a 2* hotel. I had what I paid for, maybe a bit more. I found this hotel better that other 2* hotel. The stuff is keen to feel you good. Ask for a Spanish coffee. You get a good one. The restaurant is clean the the personal very helpful. Food is not bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet
The weak points
no entertainment, or next to nothing
Certified

Return Visit

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-03-20
Date traveled: Feb 18-Feb 26
This was my second visit to Don Lino and I enjoyed the resort once again. I was in a different standard room (close to the pool) and found it adequately appointed. What food I did eat (ate off resort more than on) I found to be good quality and temperature perfect. I loved the new Pina Colada stand, so tasty. The Staff are the best, so kind and friendly. I also enjoyed a few of the resort activities. The Beach day had awesome food and drinks, as well as some archery practice. I also enjoyed the “mock” rooster fight. Those little boxing gloves they put on the rooster's spurs are too funny.
As far as off the resort, I can highly recommend Yudi's manicures and pedicures. You will find two manicurists on the road to Playa Blanca (10 min up road). Her place is on the right and her sign says Yudi's. You will spend less than 1/4the price for services you would receive up in Canada. She is an artist for sure. She also cuts men's hair. I love that her place is road side (the other is not) because you can also look out the window and watch the coming and going of life in the Playa Blanca community. If you're looking for a reliable, kind and friendly horse buggy driver. I would recommend Yunior (Junior). Just walk to gateway and ask for him. I can say that I will be returning to this resort over and over [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good quality for the price

, Wentworth-Nord, QC
2018-02-21
I had reserved a bungalow, but we were lodged in a 3 room cottage... If you want the bungalow reserve a standard room. Some renovations made a noisy environment. Bring rubber water shoes and snorkling gear. Staff was outstanding. All around we loved our stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, quaint, clean and an amazing staff will make me return!
The weak points
Power outages. 3 days in a row 20 minutes long around 6 pm.
Certified

Don Lino

, Montreal-Nord, QC
2017-03-27
Bonjour,

J'arrive du Don Lino, en plus de la plus ou moins belle température, froid et venteux, la mort du ''Lider Maximo'' (le deuil nacional, interminable 9 jours), et d'innommables jours de pluie...tout n'allait pas très bien, madame la Marquise.

Première nuit, au réveil: full palmettos (coquerelles énormes) dans la chambre.
(bon, changement de chambre en vue)

Deuxième nuit à la chambre 1004, habitué à ces chambres, je ne vais même pas voir...je rentre ma valise, et part chez des amis à Freyre...
retour en PM...
Constatations: pas de siège de bol de toilette, lavabo de salle de bain se draine sur le plancher... séchoir ne fonctionne pas, je branche le mien = le breaker saute (tabarn...!), je remet le breaker à ''on'' derrière la chambre. Bon, je suis douché et prêt pour le repas du soir...ouvre la porte...force, essaie d'ouvrir la porte, rien à faire, suis enfermé à jamais ! (lol)
Je téléphone à la réception...pas de son, aucun bruit dans l'appareil...(misère...)
Je monte sur la chaise près de la fenêtre, essaie de débarrer la fenêtre...rien à faire...suis condamné à y passer le reste de mes jours...la pôle à rideaux décroche et les rideaux me tombent dessus...(simonac, m'a devenir momifié?)...cogne dans la vitre : évidemment personne ne m'entend la musique forte de la piscine toute proche enterre mes poings dans la fenêtre...cogne dans la porte...finalement au bout de 15 minutes, une demoiselle passe et me voit dans la fenêtre, elle court à la réception...
J'explique le tout au travers la porte à Ana (relation publique, qui elle, est désolée de la situation) qui va chercher le gérant, il vient, au final il défonce la porte...un air bête de ma part...réparez donc ça avant que quelqu'un ne meure dans une chambre sans que personne ne le sache.
Le ''ketch'' de la poignée était tellement rouillé que c'est lui qui a cédé lors de l'enfoncement de la porte, pas le cadrage...
ça vous donne une idée de l'entretien fait...ils sont trop occupés à bâtir de nouvelles structures qu'ils en oublient l'entretien des plus vieilles...

En résumé, un voyage de ''m....'' !
Plus jamais le DL.
Point final.
Fini.
Ciao Rosetta. ;-D

(ma revue pour Novembre et début décembre 2016, copiée/collée de trip Advisor) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

3 Times & Counting!!

, Waubaushene, ON
2017-03-26
Love this place. Clean, extra friendly. Only resort around. Small resort so everything close. Staff gets to know you.Horse & buggy is the way to see the sights. Ask for MECHI by name. He is young, out-going,fun, speaks English & points out the places of interest along the way to Playa Blanca (to restaurants & pristine beach) or Sainta Lucia the town about an hour away. He will wait for you while you shop and help you in anyway he can. He is a gem! Ruben is awesome @ the resort. His talents are endless. If you need anything ask for him! We will be back in December Don Lino!! Can't wait! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
3x's already. Twice in the last 12 weeks. Love the quiet, laid back, friendly atmosphere. Staff now calls us by name upon arrival Relaxation Horse & Buggy Ride?? ASK 4 MECHI by name!! He speaks good English & is young, friendly, outgoing & fun!We love hi
The weak points
Beach is nice & clean. Ocean has coral so water shoes are needed. Could be more entertainment. Food is ok..nobody starved. Not for teens/yahoos etc.

Average

, Morden, MB
2017-02-20
as expected in an low budget vacation.Room cleaniness is really lacking at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quite, not real busy.
The weak points
Maid cleanliness. The maids do absolutely as little as possible.Leaving gifts and pesos made no difference.
Certified

Don Lino

, Fenlon Falls, ON
2016-04-08
Depending what you are looking for. Time alone off the grid. RR time this may be the place . VERY BASIC. Things may or may not work .Would have liked more fish.
Ya you do not know till you try. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Tony for rec. and Room Service
The weak points
Nothing to do. No Extra available within resort
Certified

Don Lino Holguin review

, Burlington, ON
2016-02-22
Had a good time at Don Lino. We read all the reviews so we new what to expect, so don't expect a 5 star experience from a 3 start resort. We were booked into a "ocean view" room at first, but when we went into the room it was very dark and musty. There was almost no light from the windows and was very depressing. My wife could not be in that room for the two weeks we would be there. I went back to the front desk and requested a change. They were very willing to accommodate and gave us the newer bungalows, which although being very dark inside was much better.

Beach: The beach is not that long for long walks and is really a coral reef so it is very rocky so you definitely need water shoes. If you like snorkeling, then this is will be great for you...lots of colorful fish just a walk away. Make sure you walk (30 mins) or take a horse/carriage ride to Playa Blanca beach...it is beautiful and all white sand.

Food: While not as much variety the food was good. There was always as least three or four meat dishes including grilled items and lots of veggies to choose from.

Entertainment: There are local bands playing daily at dinner - nice touch. As well for nightly entertainment there are local bands that perform at 9PM - 10PM. These bands are not paid by the hotel so depend on tips from the audience and are really good, so please chip in, they so appreciate the help.

Again, this is a rather small resort isolated from other resorts in the area. There is not a lot of walking to do other than to Playa Blanca (keep your eyes on the road as many horses traverse it..) If you want a quiet time relaxing by the beach, then this will do as it is budget priced and worth the stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly and always willing to help out. They include some free activities, horseback riding, bicycles.
The weak points
Beach is rocky due to being on a coral reef. Food could use a bit more variety. Not a partying resort, after 10, things pretty much shut down for entertainment.
Certified

SNACK BAR

, Repentigny, QC
2015-03-26
Quiet laid back older single adult resort the food is good but not large selection snack bar was great burgers and fries, band in buffet could be better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
PRICE
The weak points
BEACH FOOD
Certified

Don Lino

, Rockland, ON
2015-01-05
I had a fantastic time at the Don Lino. The staff are who made it so. Although I was a little surprised at the lack of a bank and no Internet access being offered, I still very much enjoyed my trip...it would have been nice to have vendors come to the hotel at least a couple of days while there, but it wasn't far to the market and reasonably priced to get to and from. I would have liked a little more to be offered at the store at the hotel seeing as there were no vendors. When staying here make sure to have a 220 travel adapter as that is what is offered in the rooms. We were lucky that we had brought some pre charged adapters and a solar charged one to keep most of our electronics running. All in all though we had a fantastic time :) thanks to the fantastic staff who went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and answered our many questions. You are all awesome :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a lovely stay. The staff were fantastic and as helpful as they could be. This was my first New Years away and we were treated to a feast and had entertainment after:) bring water shoes for the beach.
The weak points
I was surprised that Internet was not offered at all and neither was banking at the hotel. Although it wasn't to far to go for the bank it would have been nice to have it more convenient. No vendors came to the hotel.
Certified

Very good for the price

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-08-26
I have been here before, it is an isolated location, good for people who do not like the crowd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, friendly
The weak points
rocky beach
Certified

Little hotel in paradise

, Fonthill, ON
2014-04-20
If you are looking for rest, relaxation and sun at a good price then this is the place. Clean, neat and good service. People super friendly. Very Safe!! Take water shoes. No complaints from me. For the price it was great value. Recommend a flashlight. Take a bubba mug and leave with the staff. Take some extra toothpaste, razors as giveaways, ladies knee highs or feminine products. Work gloves too. They love Canadians. Happy people. Venture out into the surrounding villages and eat in some of the restaurants. Experience local Cubans/Cuba. Wonderful culture. Oh and ladies don't expect hair dryers and take your own shower products. Great little piece of paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were excellent and would do anything to assist you
The weak points
Food variety was limited and repetitive at times
Certified

Meet expectation

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-24
Very nice renovated room in the new two story cottage, however bathroom is not great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean is great and beach is not crowded.
The weak points
Bathroom cleanliness. Food diversity
Certified

Don lino

, Rockland, ON
2014-03-13
Cozy little place. Stuff is polite, rooms are clean, they offer some activities like bikes and horse riding. It's not a big motel/hotel, so at the end of the stay everyone knows each other. No line ups in the buffet, supper accompanied with local musician playing local music. There were some activities between 9-10, after 10 they roll the carpet..Beach is very rocky..you will need water shoes.And it is excellent for snorkeling..Very nice beach 25 min walk away, it's called playa blanca. You can take ride there by taxi, or horse..or walk.. Locals are friendly.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small cozy place. Quiet after 10 PM. Nice beach for snorkeling. Friendly locals and stuff.Offer free bikes and horse riding. So you are not isolated and can take a ride around.
The weak points
No internet access, no money exchange. Safe is the room I was given was broken.Only one pool.
Certified

What a gem

2014-03-03
We were a little apprehensive about booking Don Lino, but were pleasantly surprised when we stayed there. Check in was fast - only 5 people in front of us.
Room was clean and comfortable. The balcony faced the ocean. the ocean is rocky but you just need water shoes. There are sandy beaches nearby. food and service good. Staff - wonderful. efficient, friendly and helpful. pool - clean and refreshing. We are looking forward to returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
peace and quiet. clean. not too big. country setting location on it's own, no other hotels nearby.
The weak points
beach party was a flop because they should direct the type of music to the majority age group which was 50 . There are no weak points!!!
Certified

Peaceful quiet resort

, Lisle, ON
2014-02-26
There have been improvements to Don Lino since March 2013. There is more variety in the food, and there is entertainment in the evenings. Every year a little better. Keep it up! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely staff, good shows in evening, clean, and quiet. Close enough to big city to go on excursions. Another sandy beach within walking distance
The weak points
Windy at beach due to being on Atlantic coast, and can get lots of rain even in dry season
Certified

Don lino

, Fournier, ON
2014-01-27
service was super staff very nice and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
restaurant very good service food was good all cubans are soo nice
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Place to rest and relax

, Hanover, ON
2014-01-23
This was mt 4 th stay at Don Lino.
I liked the small hotel more before the new bungalows,but it is still quieter than other hotels.Most of the guests go out and explore the area.
I personally go to Holguin and visit my many friends,walk to Playa Blanca and swim or visit friends there or go for a bike ride.Next time I hopefully get time to go fishing with local fishermen.
I love the area,the people are so friendly and the staff in hotel is great.What I do not like is some tourists,who complain about weather or other things,that are not conrtolable.
I do not like to upset the staff,who is working hard to make our stay as comfy as possible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only hotel in the area.No disco.Family friendly,they love to help elderly and familes with small children.
The weak points
no water jugs in rooms.not enough bicicles,lots of tourists like to go for a ride.
Certified

Hotel review

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-15
My experience was well beyond expectation. Hotel very clean, staff very friendly, food good, beach beautiful. They can improve in entertainment department, although water ballet "Ballet Acua'tico Spirall",directed by Jamila Ramirez was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms very clean, staff very friendly and accommodating, beautiful beach
The weak points
lack of amenities ( store, bank ),entertainment,
Certified

Don Lino!!!!

, Montreal, QC
2013-10-07
I arrived at the airport and decided not to take the taxi. Instead I took a gwagwa ( a cuban bus) I went to bayamo, played music with people in the city, then I slept on someone's roof for the night. The day after I went to don Lino in Gwagwa. It was not easy, but everybody in the streets were really taking care, and time to indicate me the directions. I finally arrived with a "coche" (it's horse trailer) at don lino after 5 hours of road.

When you have been in someone 's house in Cuba then Don Lino is more than a 5 star hotel.
Everything is clean, there's a good clim, it's calm, people are nice, the sea is beautifull.

But, then you have the choice: stay at the Hotel and speak with retired canadians, or take a bike and go to the village and see and talk with the local people. They will invite you to play domino, they will pass you a glass of ron and say "toma mas amigo" Then you will understand what's the real cuban life.
The neighbourhood was really affected by the storms the 2 last years, some people have no roof anymore and are unable to buy a one for their family. For 100 $ you can buy a roof to somebody. Then you will have friends for life.
Anything you can give will be really appreciated. Tools, lamps, usbkey, tshirts shorts shoes, caps, soap cream, perfume, candy bars, your old computer... ANYTHING

Cuban's want to see something's new. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
calm, bungalows, at the sea
The weak points
not enough party at the hotel
Certified

Hidden gem

, Tatamatouche, NS
2013-05-06
Had a great time , met lots of nice people that go there regular, friendly staff they are like a big family, they will help you with your day trips some drive taxi on days off , great resturants in town only 7 k away , buggy rides are great. not great swimming , beach is nice , small pool but well maintained. rooms by pool the best which you can still see the beach , not a lot for kids to do [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great place for a quiet vacation , no crowds , very friendly staff
The weak points
maybe the food could improve, but there was always something to find to eat. i could have stayed in a 3 star for same price and be closer to excurstions that would have been cheaper but i am glad i went here and would go again
Certified

Hot time

, Elmira, ON
2013-04-25
Room was fine, like an old Muskoka cottage without the age. Wood walls, ceiling & floors (bungalow) ocean view.
Food was ok for the low price paid. A little far out in the boonies but nice beach. Not high action place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
Far out, no night life.
Certified

Excellent hotel for the price

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-04-04
If you don't mind being away from the city and shopping, and spend sometime only on the beach, this is for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach, Drinks, Staff.
The weak points
No stores, No nightly programs, No bank, Far from city.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?