Sol Rio De Luna Y Mares

Sol Rio De Luna Y Mares
3.863.863.863.863.86
3.86 based on 1049 reviews
#6 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (458)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Luna y Mares 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-14
My wife and I have been at this resort 19 times. Obviously we love it; our “home away from home”. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful setting, Wonderful staff, many longtime “friends”
The weak points
Renovations in progress, keep it going, more needed for this great resort. Record- keeping on returning guests needs tweaking...reminders needed.j
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-05-13
Thank you William Crane for posting your review and for choosing SRLM as your "home away from home". We are working in updating our resort as much as we can. We hope next time we will be able to fulfill all your expectations. Stay safe and healthy! Hoping to see you soon, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

March Spring break 2020

, Kirkland, QC
2020-03-09
Hotel still in renovation mode so not many options for different eating locations. Beach was great and water sports easily available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, café bar
The weak points
front desk staff not able to understand English or French
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-05-13
Thank you Maria Luisa De Grazia for letting us know your opinions, it is great that you loved our beach. We are working in updating our resort as much as we can. We hope next time we will be able to fulfill all your expectations. Stay safe and healthy! Hoping to see you soon, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Karel & Michaela

, Pierrefonds, QC
2020-03-01
Hi,
This was 11 times visit. One of the best resort ....price to quality
We do not use the restaurant service, just buffet /exceptionally restaurant on the beach for launch.
Prefer the Luna section where we look for silence /3th floor with ocean view/
Staff are very friendly and we like to come back year after year
bring always some gift for them
-The bathroom should be update/ ......prefer the shower corner/
-Since the visitors are going older, .. and they have problem go to the sea......I recomend instal solid wood post on the beach and attached the strong cord leading to the sea... just 20-metrs/ or 50 feet and attached the end to the buoy...so the older people has some support when going to sea and out of water.
The cost will be minimum and this can help solve the present problem.
-Spa centrum....here it shoud be increase the temperature in the sauna..... since the 60oC is not enough/ recomended at least 80 o C. and automatic switch after 3 hours of use.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautifull beach Esmeralda/ very pleasant staff/good food
The weak points
-Bathroom need update
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-05-13
Thank you very much Karel & Michaela for your suggestions and review. We are working hard in order to sort out all our shortcomings regarding improvements. You are right about our strong points. Hoping to count on your visit once again. Best regards, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Celebration of Valentine and birthday!!

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-24
First and foremost my review may well be biased because this was my 8th visit to this hotel...……..consequently I was treated to preferential experience but that apart the hotel may suffer from being old and therefore renovations are undergoing as I tell. I have just come back 23rd February after a 2-week memorable stay . The infrastructure may be old but what makes the difference is the people that serve you ………..they are so pleasant and appreciative!! I think the management is responsible for creating this demeanor within the personnel but the best aspect is the beach which is pristine and clean...……….the sand is like icing sugar!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-05-13
Thank you Gurdip Maan for your opinions, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays! We are working on the refurbishing as much and as fast as we can. In the meantime we know that our staff makes the difference. Hoping you will return to enjoy the great beach and white sand. Best regards, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Sol Rio de Luna y Mares: Heavens Above!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-22
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares: Heavens Above!

Christopher Columbus on arriving not far off the shores of this area in 1492 called it, "one of the most beautiful places" he'd seen. Today, this 4 star rated resort will likely satisfy visitors but be prepared for lots of walking especially if you're located in the far reaches of the Luna section beyond 5000 block. Though some like that "faraway, quiet place," others don't. Lucky us, we were relocated from a bland room of disrepair in 8000 block (on day 3) to the Mar's 2000 section and much better room with a great balcony and ocean view that Columbus would still marvel at today.

THE GOOD STUFF

The choice of resorts offering you an amped-up activity and entertainment section (Mares or Mars) and quiet, relaxing alternative (Luna)!

The lovely views esp. from the Mare's hilltop resort and our room, among the best we've had in Cuba.

The spacious, stylish, breezy 24 hr Mare's lobby bar vs the cozy, intimate, sheltered lobby bar at Luna.

The 24 hr Luna snack bar with great French fries, good cheeseburgers, chicken sandwiches and pizza (but only between 12 and 3 P.M.).

The table service at the lobby bars and cleanliness of these areas, common areas and bathrooms (free of those fast running critters). Nice to have dry, clean real ashtrays too.

The excellent Cuban bands playing "traditional Cuban music" (at the Mar's section mostly)! Plus, kudos to the very good Girl Band playing pop music.

The largely bug free holiday! No black flies, no apparent sand fleas, and no mosquito issues (except for the snack bar bathrooms).

THE NOT-SO-GREAT

Not knowing the Mare's El Ranchon restaurant (a feature website photo) and Luna beachfront restaurant would be closed. The Mar's beach grill restaurant was thus so busy you couldn't get a table most times. Plus, the Mares convenience store was closed all two weeks with repair issues.

The expensive tour operators' excursions incl the Holguin day trip that cost $100 Cdn per person! Try the other local providers whose signage o/s the buffet restaurant offers lower cost alternatives that sound good.

While the pools are big and have lots of loungers, the sprawling beach offers poor palapas' shade and finding chairs where you want them difficult. Dragging them to where you are, can be a "big drag." Just don't see why the guys in charge of the chairs, don't just leave them where they are as people leave those spots?

The rough water beach with its sinking sand shoreline and fast drop-off although this may had been due to the stormy weather of our first week.

The one, very busy buffet restaurant with lots of fish and organ meat but far too little chicken, precooked or grill. You can get an excellent breakfast here but otherwise food is merely okay. Ice cream good as always though.

Running out of sparkling wine on day three and the a la carte reservations guy who didn't warn me I needed long pants at the Int'l restaurant. Not fun running back to change esp when it was the last seating. Substitute pants had a broken zipper and didn't fit, lol.

Mould (green) on cooked pizza one day and "musty tasting" shrimp one evening at the otherwise pleasant Italian restaurant. Credit the Food Manager, he investigated immediately and was gracious.

The "asthma inducing," pesticide spraying (in Block # 2000 at least) at the Mare's resort. My second last day was the worst as I returned to the room just after they sprayed. This ill effect lasted a full day, including thru the next 5 A.M. wakeup, go home day. Mind you, they needed to spray and I asked them too, no choice though.

In CONCLUSION, this older hotel has its share of maintenance issues and closures right now but it's a SPECIAL place with something for everyone and hard working, entertaining and pleasant staff. Among the standouts are Praxilenes (Proxy), the coffee maestro and BEST lobby bar server, Dora from the snack bar, Minerva, our chambermaid, the plumbing staff, and Jacqueline, simply the best Rep we've had in over 20 years of visiting Cuba! Plus, who can forget, the scenery and beautiful views?

Cheers, may your travels be merry!

Steve Anthony, Toronto [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, scenery and choice of both hotels. 24 hour food and beverage service.
The weak points
Older hotel with repair and refurbishing needs. .
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-05-13
Thank you Steveanthony_toronto for your detailed review and your kind words about the landscape, our facilities and services, the 24 hour Snack bar and the beverage service. We are also happy that you appreciate our staff´s dedication to provide the best service they can. Regarding the rooms and infrastructure we are indeed investing in improving it. Best regards, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Great Staff

, Mississauga, ON
2020-01-31
My 15 year old daughter and I just returned from this hotel. The service was great. The staff especially the entertainment staff was always helpful and ready to go above and beyond to make our vacation great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Yoga / stretching on the beach with Leo was the best.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-21
Thank you Lola for your nice comment and for recommending us. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Hopefully you come back soon. Kind regards, Belkys Reyes Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

A lot of renovations

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-11
A lot of changing. Rooms are better. If all bathrooms will be renovated would be even better. Nice to see that small plastic cups not used anymore. Thank you to all staff for hard work! Was very busy time and no holidays for them. Can't wait to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-14
Thank you Marina so much for your review. We are thrilled we were able to make a good impression on you and we are most proud you are coming back to visit us again! All the staff will be very happy to see you again. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Perfect Winter Getaway

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-05
My husband and I had a great experience at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares. The beach was fantastic with plenty of space and loungers no matter what time of day you got there, and clean throughout the whole length of the beach. The pools were well maintained and clean too. The rooms/bathrooms are outdated in look, but functional and clean. The public washrooms throughout the resort are clean and stocked with toilet paper. The restaurants were great and the buffet had a good variety of food. If you are looking for a quieter stay, the Lunas side of the resort is best. We will definitely be back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, and cleanliness.
The weak points
Reception clerks seemed to know the least English of all staff, which made it a bit difficult to understand when seeking help, but were very friendly.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-08
Thank you Laura! We are most proud of making you feel so welcome! It is our best reward ever! Looking forward to having you here again. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Sad hotel

, Montréal, QC
2019-12-30
Just got back from 1 week xmas vacation, I was a returning guest and i can see quite a few changes from 4 years ago, all are bad. To start with the first bad one , the whole resort looks sad, old, outdated, rundown. My room in block 5 was not clean,very old looking, water on floor in bathroom from leaky toilette , AC wasn't working well, very noisy to the point of not being able to sleep.
Something to note, the Hotel is undergoing some minor renovations, I was able to see some workers and a blocked entrance but don't expect
too much out of it.
Restaurants/buffet , HYGIENE is one big thing to mention, they have not been able to set simple rules, no covers or specially made food displays . There is always something missing , food and supplies.Hard to get plates, bowls, you need to waste your time waiting for all these things, management doesn't care that you have a short vacation and you don't need to waste your time on their incompetence, that's not why i'm paying for my vacation. Fruits? Forget about it! Same papaya every day, no edible grapefruit, water melon, ah, you get bananas! Desert also something awful, some ice cream, some sweet bread with some cream on top or used as layers, the rest of food nothing bad nor good, chicken, pork, beef as you choice of grill prepared meat . Some fish, tilapia is king.
The beach is nice as always, need to improve on chaiselongs , not enough of them, very old but why repeat this word? Everything is old in this hotel! Don't forget to get back your ticket upon returning your towels, a lost one is probably 25 pesos.
Service is sometimes good sometimes bad, generally speaking service was better than everything else.
Internet is also a fraud from what i've experienced , i've bought the service and regularly paid time to keep replenishing an internet account that would quickly go to zero , so from a 3 hours paid time you actually get to use 50 to 60 % out of it, the rest is being stealed from you.
Another way to make money is at the check out time and departure time, i've paid 4 more hours to keep the room , make sure you pay for the hours you really need , not reimbursable fee.
Front desk on the departure day was not in the mood to even say thank you for your stay or any other comments.
Bottom line, i won't recommend this hotel but if you really find a good deal and you don't mind all of the above, go for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service
The weak points
meals, hygiene, missing supplies, old rooms, old hotel
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-08
It is a pity Gabriel that you felt that way. We would have liked to contact you during your stay to sort out any inconvenience. We are indeed working on improving our buildings and we appreciate your suggestions. Please, feel free to contact us directly to my email address in case you decide to stay with us again. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

One pleasant vacation

, Gloucester, ON
2019-12-18
I just came from two weeks stay at this resort and I enjoyed it very much.
The beach and property were amazing.
The grounds all over the resort are beautiful and well-kept by busy grounds' staff.
The beach is long and sandy with crystal clear waters and lots of room at any time. It has many trees which provide additional shade and comfort, besides having plenty of men made shades.
The food was also good! The buffet had different kinds of meat: fresh fish daily, the most amazing chicken, beef, pork, pasta- all prepared in front of you and to your liking. Loved juicy hamburgers at the Luna snack bar as well.
My room at the Luna side was spacious, spotlessly clean, quiet, with beautiful view.
The personnel truly makes this resort unique. They all (from those at bars & coffee stand, to servers in restaurants, maids, entertainment..) were amazing: courteous, patient, very attentive, and efficient. They always had a friendly smile no matter how busy they were.
Special compliments go to Irina, Spanish language teacher! You are wonderful: beautiful, patient, helpful!
I must also mention Robert- an excellent tour guide, with vast knowledge of Cuba's history, of nature (which he selflessly shared with us), and of rum and cocktails.
Overall I loved my stay here, thank you Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, and I thank all your hard working staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All of the above!
The weak points
The walkways should have better night lighting
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-08
Thank you so much Lily S for your review. We are thrilled we were able to make a good impression on you and we are most proud you are coming back to visit us again! We will make sure Irina and Robert will be praised for their good service. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Another Great Holiday at Sol Rio de Luna Y Mares!

, Boylston, NS
2019-12-10
We visited this resort the week of Nov 30-Dec 7. Again, it didn't disappoint. I have read reviews about this resort, and yes it does need upgrading. They are currently working on 100 rooms and doing some touch ups around the Resort. BUT that is not what gives this Resort it's charm. It is definitely the workers. We brought our Grand-daughter for her 8th and 9th birthday. It just couldn't be any better. Irina and Jessie made sure her party was perfect. She spend every day with Irina and I have to say, this woman is truly a super-hero! Our grand-daughter attended Mini Club every day and loved all the activities that were planned. Irina pays so much attention to the children and it is indeed an important job. We totaly trust her with our grand-daughter and we feel that she is just as safe as if she were with us. Irina and the rest of the Recreation crew truly makes our stay unforgettable. They are constantly involved with the vacationers and have lots of things planned for us. My grand-daughter has formed a bond with Irina and she loves her very much. The staff truly makes this resort unique. I did experience something that upsetted me terribly though. The day before we left, my husband and our friend returned our towels to the towel shed on the beach. He was given a return slip BUT the guy working in the shed, George, I believe must have failed to mark off that we returned our towels. He did, however, give us our part of the return ticket. Unfortunately, that night my husband was tidying the desk and must have inadvertidly thrown out the ticket stub. The next morning, upon checking out, we were informed that we HAD NOT returned our towels. No amout of arguing was going to fix this problem. The front desk clerk and the customer service rep, including security, forbade us to board the bus to the airport until we paid for the towels (that we had already returned). So $50 US later, and an hour lost, we headed for the airport. So lesson learned. Either take your own towels or take a picture of everything thing you do as proof that it was done. I am terribly disappointed that this happened to us. Otherwise, we had a wonderful stay and everything else, including the entertainment, was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Irina at the Mini Club and her Animation Crew deserve a 10 for sure. They are an awesome group of young people who strive to keep you happy!
The weak points
Language barrier at front desk. Front desk personnel are not very friendly The way the beach towels are inventoried There should be at least the ability to book 2 adults, and 3 children to a room. At this time, that is not possible.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-08
Thank you Carmen for your review, and for telling your friends about us. We will highlight Irina and Yesy for their good service and for making your holidays special, which is our best accomplishment. You are right, our staff is one of our strongest points. We apologize for such a situation with your towel and we hope this inconvenience doesn't affect your wonderful vacation experience. It will be such a pleasure to welcome you back to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Amazing vacation spot!

, Hamilton, ON
2019-11-29
I have been to Varadero 26 times and got talked into going to Holguin to this resort! Never going back to Varadero this is authentic Cuba! The staff at this hotel were amazing and we're not after tips like in Varadero [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are beautiful the staff is amazing and the food was better than expected!
The weak points
The hotel is older and has a couple issues but that's easy to overlook with the beautiful grounds and the floral and fauna
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-04
Thank you so much Francis Collin for your review. We are thrilled we were able to make a good impression on you and we are most proud you are coming back to visit us again! Regarding the rooms and infrastructure we are indeed investing in improving it. There is a real fact of offering more pleasant and more comfortable rooms to our guests in a near future. Hoping you will give us the opportunity to show you our improvements on future visits. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

Luna Y Mares - Great value for money

, Embrun, ON
2019-05-26
Luna Y Mares resort is well located in the Playa Esmeralda beach next to the Dolphin in ocean aquarium, close to the Guadalavarca market, horseback riding right out front of the hotel to the caves, and nature trails through a preserve right next door with great photo lookout points over the entire bay. Service in the restaurants is excellent and attentive. Front desk check in is slow, so be prepared to wait. Beaches are clean and snorkeling is lovely by the wall near Rio D'Oro resort in the bay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location for horseback riding, great beach, nature walks, and close to the market. Overall, great value for money.
The weak points
Slow service at front desk for checking in and out. Towel exchange is on beach and hours are limited, so if you want fresh beach towels you have to pay attention and go whenever you have a chance.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Thank you Renita Pol Seguin! We are most proud of making you feel so welcome! It is our best reward ever! We hope next time we will be able to satisfy all your expectations regarding the check in time and towel exchange, as is our main desire. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Great resort

, Lasalle, QC
2019-04-24
great hotel. but needs some renovations and upgrades to rooms. beach is the best. service is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach. Nice grounds with a lot of trees and nice landscaping.
The weak points
Variety of food could be better. The same food and with limited choices every day. Rooms need upgrades. Especially beds and mattresses.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Thank you Mikhail Nejelski for letting us know your opinions, it is great that you had a wonderful experience with us. We are working in updating our resort as much as we can. We hope next time we will be able to fulfill all your expectations. Kindest regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

SOL RIO DE LUNA Y MARES

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-02
It is the only resort we have gone to 3 times so that says it all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, the great service and the food.
The weak points
The concrete walkways need to be repaired as there are deep holes in some areas and the walkways should have better lighting for night time.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Hola Phillip Elliott, Thank you so much for your kind words and for your preference! We appreciate your suggestions. Looking forward to welcoming you again! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Best Cuban vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-03
We were very pleased. Excellent customer service. Resort was clean and our room was ok. Not the most luxurious but very well maintained. We were close to the beach. 24 hour snacks! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Thank you Leena Nahabedian so much for your opinions, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays! We are working on the refurbishing as much and as fast as we can. In the meantime we know that our staff makes the difference. Thank you and best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

2 ladies and a baby

, Montréal, QC
2019-02-06
Went with my pregnant daughter and granddaughter 19 months. Loved it, it's perfect for couples 40 and up and young families with strollers. Accessibility is great every where. Felt safe and pampered the whole trip. This was my second time, definitely going back, I need a vacation after going with a toddler. Highly recommend it, exceptional service from David the hotel manager. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is beautiful, probably the most beautiful I've been to in Cuba. Second time I go, will return in a heart beat. Service we received from David the hotel manager was exceptional.
The weak points
No weak points, I'm going back asap One week is not enough!
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Hola Maria Picciano, Thank your for your lovely words. It is great to know we were able to make you and your family feel so welcome and safe. We hope to welcome you all again! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Delightful vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-05
The resort is situated in a secluded area on Esmeralda beach.it took 75 min to get there from holguin airport. Beautiful gardens all over the resort are constantly taken care of by professional staff. The beach is gorgeous,it has many trees,including palms, which provide natural shade and comfort. There are a many stairs, since resort is situated on slopes, but always ways around for people with limited abilities. All dishes, sheets, towels are clean, I didn't
See no any stains in 14 days. Food is normal. If you would like to spend time waiting for the meal of your choice to be prepared in front of you, you always can do that: different kinds of meat, fish, pasta, pizza, etc. As alternative
To the buffet, there is snack bar, and 2 restaurants at the beach bars. The intertainment is great. The front deck
Staff is very helpful and accommodative, in case you have problem, they are willing to solve it in your favour. People working at this resort are very professional, courteous and
hard working. They love their job and doing their best every day. My special thanks to my friends at the buffet: Anna Elisa,
Leannis, Rubiseida, Idalia, Marle. They always served us with a friendly smile, dignity and respect. I really enjoyed Luna side lobby bar, where I had my afternoon coffee, thanks to professional bartenders Orlando, Yanet, Sandra. My big thanks to Rubisel at snack bar. Gardeners Victor, Osmel; beach staff: Arnando, Daniel. I am very appreciative to nice maids Arelis and Eleine who where cleaning our room. Thanks very much to all staff and management who worked hard in providing of our wonderful vacation. I look forward to see all of you again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, resort grounds, cleanlinness, intertainment, all hotel personnel, management and positive atmosphere
The weak points
In comparison to all positive aspects, I won't mention weak points, because was not concentrating on them.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-26
Hola Larisa Borisenko, Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any request for your next visit. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Good but old

, Richmond Hill, ON
2019-01-15
do no expect a 4.5 star location and service that you get in dominican or any other Caribbean places.it was our first time in Cuba. we heard a lot of horror stories about food in Cuba but it was like we went to Mandarin restaurant. there was a lot of variaty in everything.
the first day we arrived I asked the front desk people to give us a room with a view of the ocean if possible but they told me I have to pay more which I was not willing to do. they gave us room 5119. as soon as we entered the room the smell of mold was so strong that was hard to breath.the airconditioning was of which wasnt very welcoming. but what threw me off the most about the room was its bathroom which was nothing like the pictures they advertised in their website. the bathtub was so old that the paint in some parts of it came of and they had painted on top of it.the tiles were broken in some places. I was beyond furious and told the guy who took us to our room that I am staying in this room. so we went back to to front desk and the ladies there kept saying I have to pay more. ( I have already paid way to much considering our time of travel). so I asked to speak to the manager. when she came I explained that this is not what they advertised and I want a room with nice clean new bathrooms. she worked on the computer a bit and asked the front desk people to give us a room on the third floor with upgrades with no extra charge.
other that that we had a pleasent stay. people are super friendly but you can tell they expect to be tiped everytime. which we didn't of course.beach is very nice and secluded. most of the people we met there have been repeat tourists. they had great entertainment both for kids and adults.
overall a lot of Fun but wont say I go back again. I like to see different places not just one place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food. friendly staff great entertainment. im in into alcohol but their coffee was awsome
The weak points
rooms very old but clean. the whole reaort lools very very dated. pools are old but nice.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Hola Natali, Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any request for your next visit. I have to tell you that the renovation of the rooms has been started and in the near future our hotel will show a new image. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager jefe.ventas.srm@meliacuba.com

Cuba Visit

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-11
I like the lay of the property, in that it provided opportunities to walk and exercise. The food was not the best but it was good to eat. Most of the staff were great in making sure that our stay was enjoyable and safe. I am not happy about the lay of the room, it only had one bed and I was told that it would have two beds for my friend and me. The upstairs bathroom desperately needed repairs, water was coming down in our bathroom. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The property is large enough to provide for many activity.
The weak points
I think workers should be allowed to stay on property so that operations/entertainment would not be closed down so early.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Hola Potterswheele, Thank you for sharing your opinion. We hope next time we will be able to satisfy all your expectations, as is our main desire. It will be such a pleasure to welcome you back to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

Magical Resort

, Boylston, NS
2019-01-10
The old addage "you can't judge a book by it's cover" is true to it's word with this gem of a resort. It's what is on the inside that counts and that is truly the people. It is dated, yes, but they are really working hard at upgrades. We just returned from a 7 day stay and I would definitely go back. The room was always spotless. The view was of the pool and the ocean and it was beyond beautiful. Check in was seamless, although they front desk folks could speak better English BUT we managed just fine. The bartenders, Ivan and Ron, were awesome and so obligging. The entertainment crew especially Jennifer, Jessie, Alonia, Robert and the two new guys (sorry, can't remember their names) were so much fun and worked so hard to get everyone participating. Irina in the Mini Club was truly a beautiful person. My 8 year old grandaughter totally fell in love with this woman. She was kind and genuine and I trusted her to no end to make sure my grandaughter was happy and safe each time they spent together. The food was Cuban...but cooked well and everyone went above and beyond to make sure you were happy with your meal. The grounds were impecably clean and manicured. No wonder there are alot of repeat guests to this resort. Oh and did I mention the beach? It was, by far, the best and most beautiful beach in the Carribbean. Yes, I will be one of those return visitors. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the staff were amazing. The grounds impecable and the beach out of this world.
The weak points
The front desk clerks should be able to speak better English. The bathrooms could use a bit of updating.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Thank you so much Carmen for your detailed review. It is great to know you think this is a magical resort. We are thrilled we were able to make a good impression on you and we are most proud you are coming back to visit us again! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

Best Vacation in Cuba

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-06
Of all the places we have been to in Cuba over the years, this was the best find!!! It's a 5 stars Cuban hotel in my book that is located in a quiet and secluded part of Cuba. Very clean hotel all around and had a good view of the ocean from our room and felt very safe. We had a super relaxing time and made good friends. The pool was well maintained. Of course, relaxing on the beach with the balmy wind and view made our experience really worth it. Great weather too.. Only three mosquitoes bites and no sand flies or sand fleas (unlike Varadero) throughout our stay. My favorite beach activities were the catamaran rides and snorkeling. Our son loved the hotel, the mini kids club, and mini disco. He is still talking about his “best friends forever” there. The hotel staff was amazing and warmly connected with our son. The meals were great and had a large selection of fresh fruits and veggies. The hotel manager (Jorge) is a hands on type of person and on top of everything. He connects very well with the guests and their needs. Thanks Jorge for every thing! As we keep reviewing the pictures and discussing our memories and experiences, it makes us want to go back tomorrow. We will be going back soon enough though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Thank you Christina! We are most proud of making you feel so welcome! It is our best reward ever! Looking forward to having you here again, Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

Hidden Gem

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-06
Rarely do I have anything to say about trips to Cuba until our last trip to Holguin Sol Rio De Luna Y Mares changed my mind. We give it 5 stars for a Cuban hotel. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, it was obvious that this trip to Cuba would be different from all the numerous ones we had previously taken. The hotel shows as a classy hotel that is immaculately cleaned and wonderfully laid out – top notch security too. The check-in was amazingly quick and the staff was hospitable and attentive. Our room was super cleaned every day, fresh (no moldy smells) and the beds were comfortable with new sheets daily, ample supply of towels, pillows, refrigerator, beach towels, toiletries, soaps, bottled water every day, and the air conditioning was great, etc.; need I mention the spectacular ocean view from the balcony!!!! The meals selection was more than adequate and surprisingly well prepared. Loved the breakfast and Italian stations – oh, tones of different fresh fish daily. The cooks do listen and make every effort to meet your needs ( rum banana flambé with ice cream is insane!!!!) . The bars are well stocked and the drinks are not watered down – some of the best Mojito's and Gin Tonic's in Cuba for sure!! Waiters were attentive and quick in filling orders. The selection and quality of the ala carte restaurants is great given what Cuba has to work with. The beach was simply awesome with lots of space and natural shade everywhere so no need to wake up at 5am to go reserve a spot. The beach is immaculately cleaned and the water sports are incredible. We took the small catamarans out several times, went snorkeling, and had a super time. Through the hotel, I charter a boat for deep sea fishing – it was the real deal; not a mick mouse boat and crew. Ended up with some amazing catches and live footage. The pool is thoroughly cleaned constantly, the pool bar is well stocked, and the activities were entertainingly fun! The spa great and the gym is adequately equipped. For those with kids, the kid's mini club is a great day care center if you need some personal time to do other things!!! The staff is friendly, very attentive, and engaging with the kids; there were many activities for the kids to do including PlayStation video games, opportunity to visit the local zoo, and go on a horse and buggy ride, they provide snacks, drinks and what kid doesn't like ice cream after running around with their BFFs and building sand castles in the shade? The kids mini disco was the best and funniest times for sure!!! The hotels after dinner entertainment is tasteful and elegant and the theater shows were well coordinated. The early morning fresh coffee is out of this world – nice way to watch the sun rise with a freshly made latte or expresso. The hotel manager (Jorge) is top class and on top of everything – we always saw him up and about into every detail from wee hours of the morning and well into the night constantly working on improving every aspect of the tourist expectations; which resonated with the hotel staff as well. Please, please keep up the good work!!!. Oh, there are hardly any Mosquitoes on this resort!!!!!! They fumigate every so often. We made some new friends of whom some were repeat customers and all had genuinely great things to say about the hotel. We are certainly planning on returning now that we have found a great gem and new friends in Cuba and now back here in Canada!. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super clean, quality service, no mosquitoes, amazing experiences.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Hola Hidden Gem, It will be such a pleasure to welcome you back to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares! We couldn't be happier that you really enjoyed this trip to Cuba! Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

What a dump!

, Marieville, QC
2018-09-29
This hotel is a dump! When we got there I knew something was wrong. Super long check in, reception personelle with snotty attitudes, when I went to the reception bathroom there were four out of four urine stalls that were out of order, two of the four toilettes were out of order, and the stench of urine was unbearable. I rented a ocean view premium package room. What a horrible, disgusting room! In the first 3 minutes I saw some sort of bug running past on the floor, so I moved the bed and saw some more...COCKROCHES!!! The next morning I left this hell hole for another hotel. This place is perfect for drinking till you drop (the only way you could sleep) the furniture is finished, the doors are not even safe. Stay away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The site is the best of all in that area. (Not the hotel...just the site)
The weak points
Dirty, no maintenance, unfriendly service, disgusting.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Hola Nroy, It is a pity you felt that way. You are right regarding our site including the beach. We are working in updating our resort as much as we can. We hope next time we will be able to fulfill all your expectations. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

I have a pretty mixed feeling

, Burlington, ON
2018-08-15
I have been to the place in the end of May. I tried to write a review at Trip Advisor but they have not published it. I think it was because they always avoid publishing too many unplesant comments. So I closed my account there and writing here.
My overall impression was pretty positive until one day when I came back from one-day tour I found out that somebody lived in my room when I was out: they used everything and left a dirty t-shirt & the used condoms. As well, they replaced a 700 ml bottle of rum with one of 500 ml. My complaint about it was ignored by a receptionist.
My overall impression is pretty mixed: I liked the beach, ocean, food and some personnel, but I did not like some rude and thievish staff.
If you go there, please never leave your expensive clothes in the room, lock everything in a safe box. Do not give them too much for tip: they always want more and never grateful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean, beach, some food, some staff
The weak points
Your room can be used by staff if you out of the resort for one-day trip or so. Do not leave expensive clothes or souvenirs or bottles of rum.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Hola Vn, It is a pity that your perception of our staff. Guests are certainly not expected to tip to receive a good service. It is our pleasure and pride to offer the best service we can without any expectations. The staff knows its duties well. We respect the guest's items although they are outside of the hotel. I don't understand why you comment in that way. Many guests thank to the staff to return them the articles that they lose during their stay. Our personnel is honored. Regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

4 out of 5

, East York, ON
2018-06-20
when they fixed the patio door not locking and replaced 3 or the 4 light bulbs it was ok from then on. anyone going to this hotel should bring a sleeping bag the thicker the better as the beds are not the best I had to put 2 blankets under the sheets and then is was ok. Saying that you don't have to walk very far to get to the beach like some hotels the location and beach are ideal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
located directly on the beach
The weak points
the wooden chair in room was out of place
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-08
Thank you so much roger heron for your opinions, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays! We are working on the refurbishing as much and as fast as we can. In the meantime we know that our staff makes the difference. We hope you come back soon. Best regards, Belkys Reyes - Sales Manager

Second visit but not our last!

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-17
Perfect beach and friendly staff, what more could you need?
This was our second visit to Cuba and our second visit to this hotel. Both trips were great. We found the food good in both the buffet and in the a la carte restaurants. The only disappointment was one lunch we had at one of the beach snack bars - la nina.
Our favourite a la carte was the Caribbean for the perfect ambiance - right on the beach with exceptionally good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Staff Food Coffee
The weak points
If I were really picky, the building is just beginning to show its age a little
Certified

Simply outstanding vacation!

, Calgary, AB
2018-04-17
It is very nice hotel, but needs upgrading. Our room was very spacious with a big balcony. The washroom was okay, but needs some renovation. Good point is our washroom never had a mold smell. Overall, we liked our room and service.
We watched some shows in the hotel. However, they need more entertainment and animation events on evenings.
Food was good, everything what we need and eat every day back home, otherwise, if they have a plenty of meal with reach selection, we could eat more than enough that is not good either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sun, see, waves, beach, coffee, people, snorkeling, white sand, catamaran tours in the see! Spacious room and balcony, see view.
The weak points
Service in Italian restaurant. Hotel needs upgrading.
Certified

Typical Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-02
This hotel was probably very nice 15 years ago and still has lots of character, but definitely needs a major renovation. I have traveled to Cuba 10 times and can honestly say this hotel has the worst buffet so far. The food is typical Cuba average but the setup of the buffet is awful. The lineups for the grills (breakfast omelets, lunch and dinner fresh grill) block all of the other food trays - so when you go to the buffet be ready for a frustrating situation to get food.
Beach chairs can only be obtained through the guy managing them (they are locked up tight with chains) and if you leave your chair without something on it for even 2 minutes he will immediately come take it back. The beach has lots of shade. The most available shade of any hotel I have stayed at in Cuba.
Overall this hotel is a 3.5 star by Cuba standards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach with good snorkeling.
The weak points
Setup of the main buffet.
Certified

Not for kids or teenagers save your money

, Innisfil, ON
2018-03-28
never complain about anything. I read reviews and try to give benefit of the doubt. Staff sooo unfriendly which i was shocked at for Cuba.
Rooms ok for Cuba and food ok.
First three nights no hot water. When addressed it was fixed the 4th day but then went back to luke warm. Had to shower at gym. My children were served booze over and over. They are 12 and 13. They kept telling me drinks tasted funny and i would tey and was so angey. Addressed it as they wore red braceletts and they ignored and said they would never allow this. Day after day this happened. My 11 yr old niece was also given alcohol. Do not trust your kids are safe. Had to try most drinks for them. So ridiculous!! Worry about others and what could happen as sometimes kids have no judgement. Most teenagers would never tell their parents.
Please dont bring your children. Keys never worked for room. We stayed on luna side which is quite a distance from lobby. Everyday couldnt get in as key wouldnt turn light green. EvERYDAY!!!!! Then half the time no toilet paper!!! Maid never replaced. Had to get from public bathroom as nobody came after 4 hrs of noooo toilet paper. Al la cartes brutal. Stick to buffet. Lots of cockroaches in buffet though. Yes the price was good but definately not worth it. Feel ripped off. Went to customer service and they never helped. Wrote to hotel after and owner wrote back saying they would never do this. Look at other reviews and you will see similar issues. Just wanted to warn parents to protect your kids from something really bad happening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020