Aston Costa Verde Beach Resort

Aston Costa Verde Beach Resort
3.743.743.743.743.74
3.74 based on 1330 reviews
#10 of 17 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (701)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful

, Truro Heights, NS
2024-04-30
The resort is wonderful, the staff very helpful and the beach gorgeous. Snorkeling right off the beach. We were booked into the back section of the hotel, but went to the front desk in the morning and they moved us that afternoon to much closer rooms. Everyone was very helpful and we love the lobby bar and the club pool bar ( our two fave bartenders are Malady and Marisleydis), thank you ladies for making me no sugar added drinks. No complaints whatsoever. Would definitely go back to this hotel. The whole country is definitely lacking essentials, so we didn't expect a big selection of food. We were well fed with what they had. I hope things get better for the people soon. Thanks to everyone for making our vacation wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, staff, lobby bar and club service.
The weak points
The walking from the back section to the main hotel. Not great for anybody with mobility issues.
Sanitary measures
Everything was kept clean.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-05-06
Dear Shauna, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide excellent service and a comfortable environment for all our guests, and we are delighted that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs....Marcos

Food shorages, 24hrs no water had great time

, Hawkesbury, ON
2024-04-10
We were here last year and found the grounds slightly degraded in one year. The pool repairs were very noticeable. Last year there were a lot of tiles missing. Overall the grounds were well kept with lots of gardening staff present. Inside the main buildings cleaning staff were also present. There were more shortages noticed this year in the bathrooms, such as soap and toilet paper. But these shortages were dealt with pretty quickly. We never saw the same shortage in the same location more than once a day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The people overall are great. Cleaning staff, Gardeners, Cooks, and Servers. We seldom saw an unfriendly face. The Animation staff went above and beyond to keep you busy. (Special shout out to Eduardo & Adrian who kept me busy playing Pickleball)
The weak points
Requested a building location close to the front as my wife was recovering from a broken ankle. It took two days to get moved to a front building. Quite a few bugs greeted us and 3 calls to front desk to get them sprayed. Lost water in building for 24hrs
Sanitary measures
Bathrooms were always clean. Toilet paper and soap were hit and miss, but these shortages were usually dealt with quite quickly.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-04-15
Dear Jack Mclean Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience, your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear that our staff was attentive to you when you needed it. Regarding the pool, that has been resolved. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit...Marcos

Great resort

, Leduc, AB
2024-02-11
Hotel is beautiful. A little dated in a few areas but not a big deal at all. Food was decent. Never went hungry at all. The staff is amazing, so nice and bend over backwards to please. The beach area is amazing. Snorkeling of the beach is very good. Lots of species. I would 100% come back and plan to for the price. If you're looking for a beautiful resort, great people, amazing beach come here. If you're looking for the Mexico experience, do not. Price reflects everything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, beach, locals, ocean, snorkeling, drinks, pools,
The weak points
The food a little bit. I wouldn't say weak
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-02-20
Dear Graig Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely yours, General Manager Rosa Noemi De La Rosa

Nice beach, poor food

, Toronto, ON
2024-02-09
Having been to Cuba ten times you come with adjusted expectations. So I was not surprised to find poor quality food in general. There is however no excuse for overcooked lobster, "penne carbonera" which turns out to be spaghetti in a white sauce etc. Service overall nice, with some really great staff and some surly. The beach was nice. Consider the pool in the morning and beach in the afternoon if you want quiet. We seemed to overlap with reading week and there was a significant amount of partying going on [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach is great. Allessandro did a great job at engaging our family with language classes.
The weak points
Some staff surly (Jerry @ beach, man @ Club Lounge). We paid for the Club upgrade only to find the club pool and beach were used for the general public. That left only the a-la-carte restaurants which had nice settings and service but served awful food
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-02-20
Dear Tom Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; regarding the food quality , in this moment, we are having an hard time with the supplier, but we keep doing our best, our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely yours, General Manager Rosa Noemi De La Rosa

Cuba for the beach and the climat!

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-23
The Ashton is a very pleasing resort and easy to get around from room to beach and buffet. The infrastructure and amenities actually worked. Overall, one of the better hotels I have stayed at in Cuba. If you have any mobility issues let your travel agent know and the Hotel. I prefer ground-level accommodation as opposed to third-floor rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach and well-kept grounds.
The weak points
Nothing really.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-01-30
Dear Richard Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely yours, General Manager Rosa Noemi De La Rosa

Very misleading , 3 star at best

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-18
just returned from a 9 day stay, and this resort is a solid 3 star and should not be quoted as more. i will break down my stay by category and honestly:

Food:
- snack bar extremely disappointing, was served pasta with cherries once ???
- buffet is repetitive and they recycle everything into a supposedly new dish
- club resto is good, had some good dishes there especially cuban soup
- a la cartes are same as buffet, all served with rice and cabbage, french onion soup is broth and a tablespoon of onions, no cheese. cordon blue chicken is overcooked.italian was awful, beef milanaise was cooked to cardboard.international was not bad, had very tasty fish. no grill at the beach. fortunately we had eggs

Room:
-very basic, no garden view as requested but a jungle
-blow dryer overheats, bring your own
-they can use new blankets very old and worn
-very comfy mattress
-A/C is awesome
-shower is great, always with hot water
-always had beer and water replenished
- huge tv, although channels are all spanish

Beach:
-absolutely GEORGEOUS and the highlight of our trip
- good snorkeling

Pool:
-pool next to snack bar closed, only club pool open

Lobby:
- zero entertainment , full of older drunk men
-excellent spanish coffee
- front desk very responsive, had buggies all the time, and adressed problems right away
- staff very friendly

Drinks:
- mixed drinks are awful, taste like gasoline
- cold beer and wine very good

In summary, has the potential to become a great resort , but management and owners fall short.
All in all , average holiday at an average resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beach, beer, grounds
The weak points
food, mixed drinks
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-01-22
Dear Constantina Chlomisios Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback to help us understand, react and troubleshoot the hotel to ensure that all guests have a great stay with us. The issues you had with the food and beverage services will be looked into and we will do our best to rectify the problem, we have changed our menu in the Italian restaurant, and have included a selection of 8 types of dishes in our Snack bar. Regarding beverages, we have a wide selection of Habana Club, International Whiskey, Domestic Whiskey and 10 different types of juices in each of our bars, we apologize they were not to your liking. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our level of service. Best regards General Manager

Wonderful experience

, Toronto, ON
2023-12-29
The room is spacious, comfortable, clean with good lighting, setting, air conditioning and warm water. In the wash room it even has a clothesline. The mesh chairs on the balcony are useful when I come back from swimming with wet swimming suit. In the big closet I like a shelf more than the cabinet. If more hooks in room and wash room that would be more convenient. The coffee machine doesn't work for unknown reason.
The beach has small sandy floors under water. There are a lot of rocks which maybe not good for swimming but good for watching fish. Once I realized that I like it very much. The water is so beautiful when weather is good.
Water sports gears and services are wonderful.
The food options are not much but okay to eat. The culinary skills seem not good enough. The soup looks like mixture of leftover dishes and very salty. The meat tastes like wood. Beards are very good. But they are not available all the time. Fruits and vegetables choices are not much.
Entertaining is the most worst part I have ever seen in 5 Caribbean resorts I visited. I am not fun for that. So it doesn't affect me much.
The front desk staff seems not know on site vendors well. The information is not shared publicly properly. Some information was even not accurate, or even wrong.
The Wifi service is not published with accurate information. It is 3 hours per day by default. After that limit, travellers can ask more. The wifi connection quality is limited. The best part is the room has wifi.
The map for the resort is not easy to understand even the resort is small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice beach and water sports services
The weak points
Can be improved food and entertainment The life jackets are too old.
Sanitary measures
Bird droppings on chairs in restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2024-04-17
Dear Wei On behalf of the entire Aston Costa Verde team, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We take all of our guests' comments very seriously and will relay your concerns to our team to ensure we provide the best possible experience for our guests. Please note that these comments do not reflect the high standards of service and quality that we strive to maintain. We value your comments and will use them to make improvements in the areas you have highlighted. We hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Sincerely,

Never Going Back

, Kitchener, ON
2023-11-30
No water put in fridge, didn't know separate tipping necessary, by the time I figured it out I had been lavishly tipping the maid, thought she filled water. When I realized water guy was having temper tantrum I decided screw him and got mug filled at dining room every meal. Forced to steal toilet paper. Pasta rice and hot dogs done in 20 different ways, not a healthy combination. Hot dog meat in everything. Fish was good for supper. No eggs for 3 days. Bacon showed up then. Snack bar had a hot dog with half a wiener and cheese sandwich, always out of French fries. Told the food was even worse before we arrived, hard to believe. No specialty restaurants open. No activities like water fitness or anything. Very little grounds maintenance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, warm water and fair snorkeling. Swimming pool was kept nicely. Shows at night goid effort.
The weak points
Bring your own toilet paper for airport and resort. Bring your own food. Fridge filler needs to be fired.
Certified

Great location, beautiful grounds, lovely staff

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-28
Our first post-COVID trip out of the country turned out even better than expected. Arrival and departure via air-conditioned coach went smoothly. The Aston was as gorgeous as the photos indicated; the beach, the gardens, and the pool. The 'low' season meant that some facilities were not open but the uncrowded pools and beach more than compensated for it. It was also relatively easy to book the restaurants. The buffet had lots of tasty options even if it did not vary much from meal to meal. The restaurants offered some change even if the food was not necessarily better than the buffet. We do not drink enough to review the open bar but they seemed busy enough.
Presumably due to the lower occupancy, we also got more WIFI access than some previous reviewers. Even so, we were economical with it by downloading the pages we want to read and turning the WIFI off. The tile floor in our room was sparkling clean and we appreciate the daily supply of bottled water. The air conditioning was efficient and we spent the hotter times of the day inside. Although it was just a short walk to the beach and not a much longer one to the buffet (via shortcut), there is always the option to catch the little open-air cart.
The staff was great; a tribute is especially due to the various individuals involved in recovering our laptop that was left on the bus on arrival. Reception seemed singularly unconcerned and assured us that it would be found, but when we contacted the vacation group, nobody had seen it. The agent initiated a series of phone calls and tracked down the laptop in about an hour. Whatever the challenges the Cuban people are facing with sanctions and downturns in the economy, the visitor would be the last to feel it. Whether from a personal point of view or a political one, I would love to return to Cuba. Aston will be my top choice! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
Would have loved more fruits and lemonade/ limeade/ coconut juice although it is probably a seasonal challenge.
Certified

Great Resort

, Ottawa, ON
2023-04-01
I noticed that anywhere you went on the resort it was very clean. The employees very nice and courteous. Two large pools with swim-up bar.
The room was nice and clean with large washroom. Lots of hot water for shower.
The beach is nice and even have small sail boat rides and paddle boat free but we tip them.
Was impressed with snack bar, french fries, ham cheese, hot dog which was very good.
Food at buffet and French Restaurant was very good. If you upgrade to Club, do it before you leave. Cheaper. It will give you access to the Club House Restaurant which is very good. Also the cigar bar. No beef, lobsters or shrimps. But Worth going to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
First few days, no variety and what you had for lunch, same for dinner. But the third day we saw a big difference in the variety. Had pop only 1 day. If you choose ocean view, don't see it from 1st and barely on the second floor. You see it on 3rd floor!

Not sure we'd go back

, Toronto, ON
2020-04-27
We went to Fiesta Americana on Wed February 11th - Wed February 18th in 2019 and had an amazing time and decided to go back the exact same week in 2020. We were disappointed this year.

Here were the pros from last year:
-weather (only rained one evening for about an hour)
-food was excellent (for Cuba's standards) with fresh fruit everyday, a person available to make fresh smoothies, even options such as brie cheese were available
-not crowded, don't have to get up early to save a chair by the pool/beach

Cons from last year:
-broken chairs (almost all of them have broken bases which make very uncomfortable for lounging)
-very slow service at the snack bar
-ran out of all bread throughout the hotel most days
-we were in the main block which was really loud

This year's pros:
-weather - above 30 everyday, didn't see one drop of rain
-got invited to a 'special dinner' one night with 8 others (4 couples) where we were served surf and turf in exchange for a review...
-great spot
-we were in block 17 which was (in our opinion), second best block. If we could choose, we'd request 16. closest block that is not right in the centre of the action. We don't like being a mile away but don't want to be right in the centre of the action kept up late from disco music, etc.

This year's cons:
-they brought in over 1,000 local cubans for Valentine's day (Friday) and Saturday. It was awful because that resort cannot handle that many guests. Not enough restaurants, not enough food, not enough toilet paper, not enough currency. Just plain awful. Every food lineup was hours long. They ran out of most of the food at every restaurant (imagine going to an italian restaurant and being offered penne noodles with white sauce and no meat as the ONLY thing left on the menu). Many of the Cubans were rude and would quite literally push you out of the way and butt right in front of you in lines. Huge disaster.
-currency was always out at the hotel. they wouldn't break large bills into smaller ones so we tipped a few times and then stopped tipping until they'd break our bills (tried 3 days in a row before they finally had smaller money)
-the above mentioned problem trickled into everything else.... toilet paper was always out, food was always out, etc
-almost every lounger is broken and uncomfortable. we got up super early to reserve 2 of the 5 good ones around the main pool

Still a cheap trip with great weather if you can let go of the anger you face trying to line up for a simple drink or coffee. And if you're ok for a couple days standing in line for an hour before getting seated at a restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-weather - good spot for a february vacation -nice beach -blocks 16-20 are good blocks to get a room if you can -cheap trip away
The weak points
-long lines for bars and restaurants -broken loungers (95% are broken, no exaggeration) -no toilet paper in the washrooms often (bring your own) -food runs out when they let locals in... go early to the restaurants
Certified

Disappointing

, Montréal, QC
2020-03-15
The hotel is old and small, limited things to do.
The staff can be rude at times.
The food was horrible.
The beach was nice but lots of rocks in the water. Bring water shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment for the kids at night was nice. The beach was nice but lots of rocks in the water. Bring water shoes.
The weak points
The food was horrible. Only 3 station for hot meals,,,30 to 45 minutes wait to be served. There was a shortage of fruits. The cheese had mold on it. The buffet heaters didn't function so the food was always cold. The juices were not good.
Certified

Nice place for the price.

, Orillia, ON
2020-01-28
Went in January with 2 kids on our 12th trip to Cuba. This resort has a beautiful beach, and 2 very large pools. (The pools tend to be cold though). We upgraded at the front desk to a family suite. It was huge with a king size bed, 2 bathrooms, living room with pull out couch. If you want quiet rooms that are still close to the restaurants and beach, buildings 16 and 17 are best.

Food was average for Cuba. Bland pastas, etc. Lots of seafood at this resort though if you like it!! The buffet had shrimp, fish, calamari, and seafood things I don't even recognize. Drinks were great and easy to get at the many bars sprinkled all over the resort. The lineups for different food items move very slowly and I sometimes gave up waiting. (20 min for ice cream was normal) For those that like a la cartes- this resort does not take reservations for a la cartes. It's just first come first served, so there's lineups for them until about 8:00 every night. Kids club was pretty dead except for the huge bouncy castle that was set up twice a week. Biggest I've ever seen. Nightly shows were just ok. Lots of soloists singing celine Dion...Wifi worked ok, but to get it you have to line up and go into a moldy office where the wifi keeper sets up an account. It takes a while, and I'm sure their government is reading this as I type after all the info they needed:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Suite was great, pools are huge, nice beach. They had a huge bouncy castle for the kids twice a week.
The weak points
Pools are cold. Lineups get long . Entertainment was weak. Not much happening at kids club.
Certified

Amazing beach

, Brossard, QC
2020-01-23
Vacationed Jan 8-17 / 20.. we had a good time , check in was easy, The first week, food was good with lots of choice , I presume due to the full capacity. The second week was disappointing.Employees are great , grounds are clean, the beach was awesome , clean, was a pleasure to see, too bad visitors still don't pick up after themselves!!!! Great entertainment, much enjoyed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Visitors need to respect and keep beach clean
Certified

Two weeks in Holguin, Cuba

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-02
I upgraded our room to include a walk in shower and not a shower in a bathtub which cost us an additional $120. each for the 2 weeks, but it was well worth it. The room was updated and clean, however, far for me to walk to the pool or buffet area with my walker. I view of this, I utilized their room transportation services by calling the lobby to request that I be picked up. At times, we had to call the lobby twice resulting in a waiting period of a half hour to be picked-up because the message wasn't relayed to the chauffeurs in the first place. The food, well it's Cuba! It is apparently common that the food received is far less than the amount of food ordered. Consequently, for about 3-4 days they didn't have flour so anything made with flour like pancakes, cakes, etc., were non existent, as well as bananas, and potatoes. The weather was great, all in all we had a pleasant vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly and always willing to help in any way that they can.
The weak points
Their is somewhat of a language barrier depending on which staff you talk to.
Certified

Would not recommend to anyone

, Lachine, QC
2019-12-07
Overall I would not recommend. As I got incredibly sick on the 3rd day, I was unable to enjoy the food since I was so scared to get sick again. The emergency stairs were very dangerous and we were using it because our elevator was broken to get on the 4th floor. We were not so lucky with this hotel. Thank God we had amazing weather all week so we could enjoy everything outside the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, katamaran, super weather, oceanview room
The weak points
Food was so so; no variety and no taste, the cleaning of the room was terrible; we washed our toilet for 4 days!!! No ATM machine, therefore cannot use bank card - only credit card is accepted.

Gracias!

, Montréal, QC
2019-10-20
Fiesta Americana Holguin Costa Verde is a perfect place for a vacation, whether on your own or with a family or friends.
The hotel room was comfortable, with chairs on an outside balcony. No radio, no wifi, and not necessary. This was really getting away from all those distractions (but there was tv if you needed it). There is wifi available in the lobby area if you really need access.
Food was local and fresh. I loved the variety of fish and the fresh fruit and juices. Service was excellent. Had the most amazing coffee (and spanish coffee!).
The ocean is the highlight. Beautifully clean with velvet sand beach, shallow for kids and amazing snorkelling.
The grounds were beautifully maintained and smelled wonderful. Bonus electric vehicle was available to pick you up and drive to the main building or back to your room.
There was entertainment each night and again, something for all ages, including kids. Excursions were also available.
There is also a large pool that many people enjoyed but I did not use it. Why, when there is a lovely ocean?
The people working here are among the best people you will meet; Cubans are amazing hosts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Cuban people are so friendly and kind; I felt so welcome. And the ocean, of course, was another high point. This was a truly relaxing experience.
The weak points
Would have loved even more seafood variety for meals, but really, there is no weak point.
Certified

Horrible!

, Aurora, ON
2019-09-15
This is not close to a 4 star hotel. The food was not good at all, they did not have any options. No ketchup, hot sauce, pop other than cola most of the time. They did not even have mints for mojitos. The service was poor even though the resort was empty.

There were some nice staff for sure and even they had mentioned that the resort has gone worst since the ownership has changed.

I have been to Cuba many times and this was the worst resort compared to the others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
See above.
Certified

Big change

, King, ON
2019-09-15
Quality of food has changed extremely since new ownership, very poor food quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Same staff
The weak points
Food, soft drinks.
Certified

Disappointing

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-27
Pools close super early - don't expect to swim after 6pm, the staff will kick you out.
Restaurants are not open - website shows 9 restaurants but only the buffet and one other restaurant are open each day.
Many food products not available - fruit over ripened, bread extremely dry, not many options. We lived on Omelette for breakfast, and over cooked pasta for dinner. Many meats (specifically chicken) were served uncooked.
Phones only work in the lobby, don't expect to use your phone from your room.
The staff is pleasant, rooms were clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very nice we will be back

, Toronto,, ON
2019-04-24
1 to 10 result = 10 the best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice beach, friendly staff, poor food

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-21
Just returned from our vacation from Fiesta Americana. Our objective was to have a good time on the beach with the kids, which we absolutely did and have good access to cycling (brought our own bike) - which my husband did. The drivers are VERY respectful of cyclists.
If your objective is to experience the finer side of things - premium food or beverage, premium rooms, wifi in rooms - this is not your spot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, lots of free water crafts (such as catamarans, kayaks, etc), friendly staff, the massage therapist on staff (Marco) very good, great spot for cyclists
The weak points
All of the “weak points” are really first world problems but seeing as it caters primarily to Canadians and Western Europeans: Poor selection of food, water outage for half a day, broken door lock, rooms in main building in real need of TLC
Certified

Loved it here.

, Wolfville, NS
2019-03-06
This is an amazing resort. So many a la carte restaurants to choose from, no reservations needed. So much variety in different types of food-all excellent. Buffet has a huge selection. The food was superb! Entertainment every night. Staff were friendly & helpful. This is a large resort but within a short period of time, anyone can find their way around. Beach was always packed, lots of water activities for everyone. Only downside was having a room overlooking the pool which was very noisy at night since entertainment usually happened here & people up early in the morning sitting at the pool side tables. This is a party resort. All ages here from children to elderly. However, I was more than happy with this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food choices. Super friendly guides. Beautiful grounds. Canadian dollars changed to pesos at reception which was very convenient.
The weak points
Crowded, noisy if your room faces the pool.
Certified

Great Stay!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-26
We would absolutely come back to Fiesta Americana. Here are our thoughts:

Pros:
-Beautiful resort, well taken care of. They were doing some renos while we were there but things were looking good
-Pool was beautiful, and a cool shape
-Beautiful beach - as always, Cuba beaches are great
-Friendly people/staff at the resort.
-Good food at the buffets- everyone always complains about the food in cuba but I thought it was great. They had 2 fresh omelette bars in the morning, plus a fresh pancake bar. They also had 2 people cutting fresh fruit and making fresh fruit smoothies every morning. They had bananas, pineapple, apples, grapes, etc. They even had brie cheese! Yum!
-Unlimited a la cartes (including an Italian restaurant which was awesome! We always tried to line up right before 6 or you'd be waiting a long time and we don't like to eat late)... this was mid-Feb, and they said they were fully booked while we were there, so not sure if it's always like that.
-Weather was amazing - we only had 20 minutes of rain for a week, and the highs were all 29-31.
-Men don't need closed-toed shoes or pants at a la cartes
-Seemed like the buffet was open at all hours between 7:30am to bed time (not sure 100% but I think so)

Negatives:
-Loungers ALL BROKEN - this was by far the most annoying thing of the week for us. Every single lounger by the pool had broken plastic. So the loungers basically provided no support and I watched some bigger/older people try to get out of them, they couldn't.
-Slow service at snack bar. Usually this is the "quick food" that you can stay by the pool for. They only had hotdogs, hamburgers and fries and you averaged an hour wait to get one. They also had a bread shortage while we were there so they didn't have buns most days. Good news, the buffet was available for quick food.
-No service by the pool. This didn't bother us but it does bother some pool. I think they were too busy to have people walking around to take drink orders
-Washrooms near the pool - not sure about the men (he wasn't observant), but the women's washroom had 1 stall broken and out of service the entire stay, 1 stall had no toilet paper holder and I HATE not knowing if the TP had been on the ground, touched all over, etc. The last stall had a door that wouldn't close [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, pool, beach, friendly, good food at buffet/italian a la carte (didn't try others), unlimited a la cartes, weather
The weak points
Loungers all broken, slow service at peak times at the snack bar, women's washroom near pool
Certified

I would not recommend this resort

, Lake Echo, NS
2019-02-19
I'm typically not a difficult person to please while on vacation, as long as the sun is shining and I can get a drink promptly I'm a happy person. Unfortunately for this resort the weather and a nice (But very rocky) beach was the only thing it had going for it. Seems short staffed. You had to wait in lines all the time for a drink sometimes waiting up to 20 minutes. Wait staff never approached me in the seating area in the lobby to ask if I wanted a drink, and in the 24 hour snack bar you could sit with an empty glass for up to a half hour before someone would come by and offer a refill. One night I wanted to test the waters and sat in the lobby/ lounge area for an hour. NO ONE asked if I wanted a drink. First 2 days there they had no single pesos so I was forced to tip a minimum of 3 pesos for everything (Even just for a coffee) and this still didn't help me get even decent service. (I tipped very graciously the first 3 days hoping it would help pick my service up a little bit). They also very tactically rotate their staff in all the departments, so it is hard to build a good report with any person as they are always in different places and different times.
This resort seemed overran by the Cubans while I was there and their service from what I could see was definitely better then mine.
One afternoon in the 24 hour snack bar I ordered a hamburger and hotdog with fries. I waited for over an hour and a half to receive them but yet 2 cuban familys that sat down about 20 minutes after me received theirs 20 minutes before I did.
No after super entertainment so not a lot to keep the kids entertained before bed. Evening entertainment didn't start until 8-830.
Kids club open 10-12 and again from 3-5 so a bit inconvenient for parents.
Make sure you get to the beach early and get your seat picked out other wise there will be no where to sit. Beach is packed.
Food was great, but very little to choose from in the buffet. Make sure you get to the buffet as soon as they open otherwise you can wonder around for 10 minutes trying to find a seat (4 days I sat there and didn't even get offered a glass of water with my meal) There are a lot of different restaurants to eat at, but good luck trying to figure out what time or days they are open as there are no schedules posted anywhere.
The toilet in my room leaked the entire time we were there. Maid service was made aware of this and said they would send someone (Never happened) I had to wrap towels around the toilet to stop it from leaking into our room. Maid service didn't bother to clean up the towels so by the end of the trip I had 5 towels on the ground to soak up the water.
Over all like I said in the title I would not recommend this resort to anyone.
When talking to other tourists it seemed like they all were having the exact same experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Beach, Good Snorkeling, New beds,
The weak points
Bad service, long waits for drinks and food, crowded beach, no early evening entertainment
Certified

Will not return EVER

, Caledonia, ON
2019-02-11
I don't know where to start because there were so many things we saw during our stay that should never happen in the service industry but did. I was told before leaving to not compare Cuba to the service levels and quality one would receive in Mexico or the Dominican but never expected what we witnessed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hmmmm strong points... the weather, meeting some great people and the fun we made ourselves.
The weak points
The weak points...the accommodations were not secure or clean. (Main floor room with broken patio door, dirty floors, washed the drinking glasses with the same gloves they had just cleaned the toilet with, no milk or flour products for 5 of the 7 days!
Certified

Great holiday

, Ancaster, ON
2019-01-21
Fourth time at this resort, New owners have made significant upgrades to rooms (mattresses, bedding etc) grounds. Staff all the same. Checkin was quicker and more efficient. Leo from Public Relations was excellent help with the planning of tree in honour of late brother in law. All alacartes excellent as well as the buffet. Food more than adequate. Beach excellent
Would highly recommend to everyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms clean and updated - food excellent
Certified

First time at this resort

, Rodney, ON
2019-01-03
Overall we were happy with our experience here. We had 2 issues needing attention and they were both dealt with promptly. Check in was fast and efficient. We enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night. 2 nights were very busy so the wait was longer. You have to line up just before 6 to avoid the lines. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service. Beautiful beach with water sports included. Nice snorkeling at the beach area. Comfortable beds.
The weak points
Entertainment could be improved. Michael Jackson, illumination, magic etc would have been great. There was entertainment but seemed very similar each night. One night they had a solo musician in the lobby which was enjoyed but only one of 7 nights.
Certified

Sunset for Blau

, Verdun, QC
2018-12-28
Unfortunately the hotel is getting older and the quality is going down. We have been staying here since 2008 five times. Now the half of the hotel is empty because not so many guests come.

One night we got rainfall from the ceiling for the whole first floor - water level was ankle deep. Nobody showed up to help or inform; the electricity was still up. We had to move to another room, which was an unpleasant adventure with two little sleeping children. The guy who was recommended as a manager assistant could not speak English.

As a compensation we agreed on two half-massage sessions for free.

So just be ready for some challenges, and everything will be OK.

It is still an option for someone, like me, with stressed budget. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- best part of the beach (but it is free for everyone) - good choice of fish, meat, and cheese; perfect papaya and banana and amazing coffee; - live musicians and dancers; - water equipment rentals (free): kayak, pedalo, catamarans, snorkeling etc;
The weak points
- limited choice of fresh vegetables; bread is not good because of some crisis; - no more fresh juice anymore - just beverages; - no more reservations for alacarte restaurants; the restaurants themselves became worse. no more lobster dinner
Certified

Good price Good resort

, Brampton, ON
2018-11-27
This hotel was Very nice. Room was in the old area room was clean had just been renovated. Our room in block 6 was close to the pool restaurants lobby beach and bars. Bathrooms throughout the resort were always clean Grounds were very well kept.
Bar staff and servers in buffet were very pleasant and helpful.
Resort was not too busy at this time of year. No lineups at bars and restaurants. We did not go to Alacarte restaurant.
Beach was clean with lots of loungers and cabanas. Pool had lots of loungers and cabanas.
We will return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort clean pools clean bathrooms clean. Staff very friendly.
The weak points
Lack of variety of food in the main buffet. Snack bar food was very basic. No entertainment /music around the pool in the day time.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024