Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca

3.393.393.393.393.39
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
#11 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
3.39 based on 1205 reviews
Traveller pictures (370)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Same Hum Drum

, Glen Ewen, SK
2020-03-17
Nothing jas changed. Same place we started going to about 10 years ago. 5 star Hotel next door almost ready to open. Hotel is lacking things from time to time. If you just go to get drunk you will not miss much. If your like me and don't drink you will miss things. No coffee at the 24 he snack bar in the mornings. The buffet same you won't go hungry but it's not 5 star. Watch out for a mass influx of vodka drinkers,they take over the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large Resort. You can find a place to be alone. 4 pools to choose from.
The weak points
You can't rent scooters as they don't have enough. Tried 5 times finally gave up.
Certified

Good for the money

, Innisfil, ON
2020-03-15
This resort was pretty good for the price .
The workers were great , the snack bar food was really good we never went hungry , drinks were not that great and they do not give you bottle water at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees were excellent , rooms were clean, lots of hot water,
The weak points
No water given to guests at all. Nothing in fridges in room, slow moving lines for pasta and omelettes , we bought drinks on the beach
Certified

Our 2020 trip

, Pinawa, MB
2020-02-23
We have visited Club Amigo Guardalavaca many times in the past. We feel that for the price it is a good deal. More expensive resorts may have more perks but we spend a lot of time visiting our Cuban friends made over the years so this works for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach! Villa room comfortable and clean. Friendly staff ( as you will find most Cubans) . Very safe at resort and surrounding area.
The weak points
Food quality not as good in general as other years. This could be caused by world political situations causing difficulties for Cuba to get goods however improvements can probably be made to what they do have.
Certified

Love this place

, Bowmanville, ON
2020-02-07
This is our 2nd time here. We love the simplicity of this resort. We were in villa block 3 great size rooms. We upgraded to villa 9 for an amazing ocean view 9210. We loved it! It's a bit further to walk but we were wanting to walk anyways. Lots of food to pick from. I had a hard time because I'm very picky. I'm not a fish or seafood person [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach amazing Staff amazing Views amazing Clean and well kept
The weak points
Only downfall is the Russians. I'm sorry and it's not everyone but they are so RUDE, bud in line, take all of the food off the grills, loud. I wish the staff could speak up but they just take it I'm sure as they don't want to loose any tips.
Certified

Amazing week

, Montréal, QC
2019-04-05
Stayed at the bungalow section! the section is nice and well situated...in front of the pool(with swim up bar), close to the stage where the nightly entertainment, snackbar, bank and the buffet and 1 a la carte resto. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff are amazing. very accomodating and all eager to help make your stay a pleasant vacation.
The weak points
the resort is huge and maybe a litle hard for someone with mobility problem.
Certified

Good large sized resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-31
Resort is quite big and is a little crowded. Good for general tourists. A bit of congestion at front desk and cafeteria, but the service is good. Food is ok, not a lot of variety, a bit of hit and miss. Area near disco and pool is a bit noisy, but can request to move to a quieter room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall experience is ok. No major issues.
The weak points
Crowded, food a bit bland.
Certified

Canadian winter getaway

, Ailsa Craig, ON
2019-03-04
Amazing grounds with friendly staff. Great food and drink selection but meal time crowded & noisy due to one of the restaurants being closed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Club amigo

, Ilderton, ON
2019-02-27
rooms were not ready when we arrived, however, after a 2 hour wait, the rooms were ready for us. Rooms clean. grounds are very well kept. Food is acceptable. we requested rooms beside our friends and this was not to be this year. However, they did manage to get us in the same villa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of the staff in the restaurants are wonderful. Most bartenders and servers are great too. The grounds are beautifully kept. Grounds keepers are friendly too.
The weak points
Restaurants open and then closed (no reason). public bathrooms need to be fixed. No toilet paper. Taps not working. Toilet not flushing. Some are dirty
Certified

1991 first visit

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-18
This year was excellent! One of the best!
Thank you for beautiful room! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Holidays in cuba

, Truro, NS
2019-02-12
we had problems with the rooms, the sunwing rep and public relations we very quick to resolve problems we had,the staff were great,food was good,found that parties go very late sometimes till 2 in the morning, resorts we have been to in cuba have a quiet hour where the noise stops around 11pm,no such thing here,we still enjoyed our time there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Club Amigo/Club heaven on earth

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-14
We just returned Sat from a week at Club
Amigo Holguin Cuba. The resort is a very large resort and we had a room at the very far end which was too far for someone with bad knees. After a few hours of attempting to talk to the front desk on day 2, we upgraded to a room in the main building. It was much nicer and convienient but if you have a problem with noise likely not the best place to be. When we go back we will book a Villa or Bungalow which dont have the slamming door issues. Overall i loved the resort. Food was better than a 5 star we stayed at last yr. The staff are so lovely. Servers in the buffet were limited in numbers so if you need a spoon just get up and go get it yourself. Too many people to the number of servers. No biggie. The weather was awesome and such a nice breeze every day but one. I would definately go back cause our stomachs tolerated the food and water with no issues which is big for us. Try it and if you dont go with expectations of royalty you will enjoy a lovely vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather was perfect, lovely pools, staff was lovely. Food was good although repetitive but always lots to eat. Theres always ice cream lol. Handicap access for wheelchairs and elevators in main building.
The weak points
Very busy resort and lots of noise. Upgrade when you get there to a Villa or Bungalow if quiet is what you are going for. Bring a pillow from home too
Certified

Club Amigo Atlantico my favourite hotel

, Oshawa, ON
2018-11-11
After visiting in hotel Club Amigo Atlantico 12 or 13 times I am very satisfied. I was very satisfied from first time visiting there in 2013 and I see lots of improvement inside hotel and around. Staff is very professional ready to listen to satisfy customer. Offered special dinner for returning customer. Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, clean rooms, safe area and friendly staff also beautiful beach what invite me in Club Amigo Atlantico.
The weak points
Other hotels offer bonus for returning customer. In beginning I received Rum few times.
Certified

My stay at resort

, Peterborough, ON
2018-11-10
I have been to this resort three times and will return every year. My daughter got married there and the wedding planer they have on resort was amazing. The staff was fantastic as they made you feel like they have known you for years. We got to know the staff in hotel and restaurants and they are very pleasant. Have been to some of the local farms and have been treated like family. Overall I would recommend this resort for your vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Family of 6's experience

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-07-01
We really enjoyed our stay at Club Amigo. The first day was shocking to see so many Cubans there...... they are friendly, but some of them really loud and drink a LOT....... We didn't like that environment for our kids. So when we discovered the "quite" pool........ we decided to spend more time at it. Most of the staff were really nice.... we loved the beauty salon (and of course the girl who works there) and the prices in comparison to Canada....... Every night they have "show time" and we all loved it.... we danced, sang and had so much Fun..... specially the aqua show..... it was beautiful!!!!!
Food: it was good for breakfast although you have to wait quite a lot to get a tortilla or an omelette. The natural juices were delicious and the waitresses and waiters really nice.
For lunch we decided to go for snacks (hamburgers, pizzas, hot dogs or ham and cheese sandwiches) they offer at the snack bars all over the hotel...... that way we "saved" some time enjoying the pool or the beach.
Dinner at buffet was all the same and the kids didn't really like it, so we were lucky to make reservations for 3 different restaurants (La Espada, El Fuerte & Benny) the food at these 3 different places were very good and the staff really really nice and minded!!!!!
The rooms were always clean and the cleaning team was awesome with their beautiful designs with the towels and blankets..... the kids were amazed.
We traveled with a 2 yr old who still wears diapers....... we couldn't find a changing table in none of the public washrooms....... so I had to change her in "public"........ I have 4 so it wasn't complicated for me, but my husband wanted me to go all the way to the room to change her..... that wasn't an option...... I grabbed 2 chairs or a sofa or a tanning chair and chenges her there....... that's my only SUGGESTION....... to have changing tables in the public bathrooms.
You won't find a lot of thing to do at the hotel (specially with kids), so get in touch with your representative (in our case was a guy from air transat) and find all the different tour they have..... we chose to go snorkeling and swimming with the dolphins on a catamaran......... it was super spectacular experience..... we also went for a trip in a carriage and with that guy (Alcides) we went (another day) horse riding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Visiting Friends

, St Eustache, QC
2018-04-25
In April I chose to return to spend 1 week at this hotel on my own. I was trying to see if I was able to travel alone. After 4 days I was wishing I would have reserved for 2 weeks instead of 1. I never take a vacation in the same place twice but I felt so safe and comfortable in this place I did it and loved it! I am looking forward to returning next fall. The staff is to nice and friendly and most of the visitors feel the same so the kindness and holiday spirit spreads. There are many return visitors and once you've been there you can see why. I loved it there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly, beautiful place to walk around on the site, good swiming
The weak points
long drive from the airport but worth every minute
Certified

My favourite vacation place

, Oshawa, ON
2018-03-30
I have been to this hotel 9 times and it is my home away from home. It has everything I want and need in a resort and the staff are amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good value holiday

, Newmarket, ON
2018-01-26
staff were excellent and helpfull.accomadations were better than expected for a hotel that has been around many years.This was our fifth visit and a lot of improvements have been made. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff that really cared.
The weak points
variation in the quality of the rooms.
Certified

Terrible place to stay no entertainment no disco

, Ottawa, ON
2018-01-25
I have to say i have been there several times to this resort, and this has been the worst experience i ever had in going there. I will be telling family and friends about this resort and not to go there unless things improve greatly. This place needs a lot of everything to bring it back to the way it was just 3 years ago. Was not happy at all with the place.No decent shows not enough to do for entertainment get some decent shows and open up a decent venue for karaoke and such. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
No coffee at the 24 hour bar or the other bars very low grade coffee they are using as well . Even the espresso was just regular coffee they were using had to go into town to get a decent espresso. they ran out of beer at the 24 hour bar no savesi
Certified

Broken Bose Bluetooth Speaker

, Richmond Hill, ON
2017-12-17
Security personnel entered my room during my absence to unplug my small speaker playing soft Spanish in my room. In doing so, accidentally drop my speaker and damaged it. I reported to Security chief and Manager of Guest Services, who said there is nothing they could do to replace my speaker and asked me to report to local police. I told them that their security personnel have no rights to enter my room when I am not in during the nights unless there is an emergency, like an explosion or fire. If any guest had damaged any hotel property, the guest will be forced to pay for all damages. Why is the hotel not responsible for damages to guest's property and room illegally entered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff at bar and restaurants
The weak points
Poor management and security
Certified

CLUB AMIGO ATLANTICO GUARDALAVACA

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-07
Great place for a safe, budget priced Cuba experience. Friendly staff, many have been here for decades and they do their best to make your stay pleasent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe compound, great beach, 24 hour bar, drinking water quality is improved, emergency generator working fine, more al la carte availability.
The weak points
Main dining hall food quality making slow progress over the last 25 years... I may not live to see a 4 star meal here.
Certified

Club amigo guardalavaca

, Scarborough, ON
2017-07-10
great hotel, lots of activities, beautifull beach close to market area,great staff, for a 3STAR its about the the best there is available,as a result it is one of my favourite destination which i have visited several times and will visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Third time lucky

, Newmarket, ON
2017-04-14
This was the third time at this hotel It exceeded our expectations.The staff were friendly and the rooms had been upgraded since our previous visits [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Interaction between staff and ourselves,plus great help from customer service to make our 50thanniversery special
The weak points
The quality of the food in the buffet areas tended to vary day to day
Certified

Yay for Club Amigo

, Norwich, ON
2017-04-03
This is my 4th visit here. We stay here because we have friends in the area. You get what you pay for with this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price for what you get is good. It really drives me crazy when I see a review about Clun Amigo and how awful the food is. It is Cuba for goodness sake! It's Cuban food!! Other than a few little things not worth mentioning, it's a great place.
The weak points
Wifi internet was terrible. When I asked about it the young man brushed me off like I was a bother.
Certified

Food, security lacking

, Toronto, ON
2017-02-27
Mini disco started at 8:30,:45. hard for young kids to stay awake past 8 . my too are 6 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather
The weak points
food , security and too many locals staying at the resort
Certified

Great time in the sun!

, Birchy Cove, NS
2017-02-17
I just got back from Club Amigo, and had a great time. The staff are friendly and willing to help, even if you don't tip, although you are remembered if you do tip. The rooms are clean and the towel art is amazing! The food is good, although I must say that the buffets were better than the a la cart restaurants. The beach is PHENOMINAL! Warm water, fine soft sand and lots to do from catamaran to swimming and snorkeling on the coral reef. The nightly entertainment especially the water show is great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
A la carte restaurants
Certified

Do not bother to come here

, Hamilton, ON
2017-02-08
neglected, dirty,poor selection of never changing cold food, dirty beaches,cockroaches in dining room,no enforcement of non smoking in hotel, no sound proofing in bar and dining room (very noisy) and between rooms,often tea bags were not available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather
The weak points
run down property
Certified

Never again

, Calgary, AB
2017-01-14
After three years of saving to return to club amigo for our ninth time , we arrived to find the place in SHAMBLES!The hotel,the staff,the service,the food and worst of all the over-all level of standards were the worst we have ever seen anywhere ! Our "home away from home "(the place we loved so dearly)was now a holiday nightmare!
The resort now is available to the Cubans at a reduced rate so they flood the reception and resort at 9:00 am till 7:00pm making it immpossible to do anything poolside or with the front desk.A Cuban drunk laying on the floor in the 24 hour Bar/restaurant heaving and puking for two hours while the staff did nothing except laugh.Cubans using the grass on the pool deck as a bathroom right in front of our room.The Cubans partied all night in their rooms with the TV turned up as loud as it would go till 4-5 am .They roamed the resort looking at the tourists like we werent supposed to be there. Aggressively making comments to my wife to the point of almost getting in to a fist fight.
There were many more dissapointing moments at best.
The food was a joke .A mish-mash of slop not fit for my dog.I was sick with upset stomach and runs from day 2 till Departure.I could not eat the day before or the day of departure for fear of the plane-ride back to Canada.
There was a large mouse or small rat living in the rafters of the 24 bar/restaurant that targeted people and their food more than once while we were sitting there.(we told the staff.They did nothing and laughed.)
This is only the tip of the ice-berg. After seven sleepless nights and eight frustrating days of CRAP!!! We are heart broken that management and staff have let this place go to the point of no return.Club Amigo Attlanticco Guardalavaca is no longer an option!!!!!
If you like good service and have any expectations of class DO NOT GO HERE.!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was perfect .Best thing about this resort.
The weak points
Staff ,service,food,over-all standards.

Awesome place to stay!

, London, ON
2016-11-08
Had a amazing time met great Cuban locals and made friends for life! Going back in the spring I can't wait. Some parts are still under construction, so hopfully it will be finished when we return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had the best time ever. The staff and the locals of Cuba are fantastic! The food could be a bit better, but hey it's Cuba! Beaches and the ocean pretty good. Went over Halloween and couldn't believe that they dressed up too!
The weak points
Some of the resort was under construction, grass could of been cut, entertainment was ok, and food was ok. The beach could of been raked a bit better as well.
Certified

Anniversary at Club Amigo

, Fort Erie, ON
2016-08-21
Great Time in Cuba. Great People. Great Sights. Great Culture. Cuba is not like the Resort so I'd suggest you get out and explore. Rent a scooter or Bike. Take a Horse Buggy or Old 1950s Car Taxi off Resort into the small towns around it. You don't need to fear leaving the resort as the Cuban People are extremely friendly and would most likely give you the shirt off their back. I'd suggest bringing a bunch of extra nick nacks with you such as : Any personal hygiene products such as tooth pastes and brushes. Deodorants. Also Clothes. Back packs for kids. Children clothes. Crayons books etc. Candies. Flash lights. Bring a bunch of stuff and hand it out on your journey exploring. They'll really appreciate it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People are so friendly. Staff are very helpful. The beach was beautiful. The pools and bars were nice. On resort restaurants were very nice.
The weak points
Wifi was a joke. Reception was under staffed. The food was very plain and the same at each buffet. Some servers ignored us and priorities were on other guests.
Certified

Great Value for a Cheap Vacation

, Kitchener, ON
2016-07-30
We do not usually stay at all-inclusives because we tend to travel to more wealthy islands and rent a villa and cook for ourselves, but we tagged along with some other family who had already booked their vacation here - so there was no choice of location.
I am a bit of a germaphobe and I also have Crohn's disease which makes me very worried about what I eat since it can cause a lot of grief. So....what did I think of Club Amigo? Well, it was clean enough for my standards and I never got sick from the food so that is a HUGE accomplishment.
It is not a 5 star, so don't expect it to be. Also keep in mind it is Cuba. The food is repetitive and nothing to write home about but there is ample available and it never made me sick.
The rooms are dated and the beds are not that comfortable, but we were barely ever in our room and so we did not care.
We booked the bungalows but the whole section was closed for the summer so we were upgraded to the Villas. We had an ocean view and a balcony. The air conditioning was very efficient - in fact one night we had to shut it off we were so cold.
The pools are clean and the grounds are always being manicured.
There are several TV channels and a movie channel in the room.
There is a wonderful coffee bar in the upper lobby of the main hotel.
This is a LARGE hotel complex with a lot of walking. There are 4 sections, and 2 were completely closed for the summer so you lose options about where to eat. There were only 2 a la carte places open during our stay. The buffet was sufficient, but the room had no A/C so it was VERY hot for eating - but keep in mind I was there in July.
The wifi is basically non functional. When I was there you could buy a pass for 1 hour for 2 pesos, but I was only ever able to get online once. SO don't waste your money, and save yourself frustration and just unplug for the week.
It gets VERY busy on weekends so you may want to book an a la carte on Friday or Saturday night. Many Cubans come for the weekend to relax too. It is great to have locals there, but it makes the buffet very busy.
If you are expecting a 5 star, don't go here. But if you want an inexpensive vacation that gives you accommodations, food and airfare for less than you can just buy airfare, this is a good option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value.
The weak points
Terrible wifi. Not many food options in summer when half of the complex is closed.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?