Playa Pesquero

Playa Pesquero
4.064.064.064.064.06
4.06 based on 1579 reviews
#3 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (571)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Terrific resort

, Swan Lake, MB
2020-03-16
Fantastic staff !
Enjoyed the pool, paddle boats, snorkeling, catamarans. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa Pesquero

, Killarney, MB
2020-03-15
Our experience was very good. The first night we got in around midnight and got to our room and found our bed was about as comfortable as sleeping on a cement floor. The next morning we told front desk , no action . Our maid was there and explained to her and she called her boss and viola they had a brand new mattress there within two hours. We knew there were better beds c our friends had one. Small things not working they were there instantly to fix. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing pool area, beautiful beach. Staff were very friendly. Very clean resort. Loved the nightly entertainment in the reception are, piano, violin, etc.
The weak points
It's a huge resort , so be ready for some walking. There are limo golf carts to take you where u want to go though. Pretty much everything has been thought of.
Certified

Great resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-15
Very happy with resort. Limited food choices but doing the best they can. Bring your own favourite sauces. Beautiful multipool system, fantastic for kids. Excellent beach location ,good snorkelling. Beautiful lobby with 1st class coffee bar. The entertainment at nite A1 . The activity area with 3 table tennis tables BUT no paddles(broken) and burst ping pong ball.(bring your own). 2 snooker tables BUT pool cue's (2) missing felt on top. An easy fix but no desire to do so, like this for 3 years now.. Lots of kids want to use but cannot. Frustrating. Overall I love the place but U.S. embargo causing supply problems. Go to support these lovely people.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic pool system. Beautiful mature grounds. A dedicated Ice Cream parlor. Very relaxing atmosphere. Super clean beach. .Lots of chairs. Super coffee bar in lobby with top rated night entertainment . Again fantastic pool system.
The weak points
Activity centre sorely lacking in equipment,ping pong paddles,balls,snooker cues .Bring your own and leave behind pls when u lv. .No organized activities for kids 5-15 years.
Certified

Great resort

, Chelmsford, ON
2020-02-19
we had a great time , super resort, would recommend it to everyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no complaints everything was very good
The weak points
should have potatoes of some kind, like fries, mash etc....
Certified

Great stay, can't wait to return

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-14
We stayed at this resort in March 2018 and was so pleased we decided to return this January. We had an equally nice time. Only bad point was that the food variety was not the same, however what was available was good. Beach was perfect, room was spacious and comfortable. Overall the resort is second to none. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Room Staff
The weak points
Food variety
Certified

Second trip to this resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-02
While the resort continues to offer good value for the money we noticed a degradation in several areas, both food as well as services. Unfortunately we both gotten biten a lot by mosquitoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, kept clean and in good working order. Most of the staff are great and very helpful. Great place for a vacation
The weak points
Lots of mosquitoes, slow table services at the buffett and some degradation on food quality.
Certified

A wonderful week!

, Dartmouth, NS
2019-05-07
The resort has everything travellers expect in a Cuban all inclusive...great service, great food, great pools, great beach and clean rooms. ALL the staff are friendly and accommodating. As the saying goes...treat people respectfully; the sentiment will be returned to you. The resort is close to many off site excursions so go out and explore/enjoy the Holguin area!!!! Going to Cuba, you need to know it is not like home. The food is prepared their way ..so try samples of everything without wasting food that other quests would otherwise eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte restaurants offer great food options (keep in mind that cuban influence is ever present). Resort is very large but is easy to get around by foot/by flagging down staff driven golf carts. Food/drink options available day and night.
The weak points
Rooms showing signs of age but are clean. Complex #64 is easy walking distance to EVERYTHING. Open air restaurants do have birds flying around...don't worry 'bout it!! Beach does have minor litter of cig butts..not a resort flaw; it's a quest problem!!!
Certified

Experience

, Etobicoke, HA
2019-05-01
Hotel staff was friendly, food not the greatest, but love the beach!!!
Hotel was clean and well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

NO RETURN

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-16
This hotel was listed as 4.5 star. At best perhaps a 3. The beach, pool and staff were nice. Unless peso's were given I found we were overlooked. The room was ok considering not much time is spent there . The bathroom had an odour. The grout and floor were dirty.
Biggest complaint would be the food. The same foods were served for all 3 meals. No variation. Very little beef and breads. Lots of eggs and pasta and fish. The only vegetables were cabbage, plantain, cucumber and tomatoes . All others were canned ( peas, carrots). Only fresh fruit was papaya and banana .The rest all canned ( peaches , pears).
Unfortunately we would not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and beach were nice.
The weak points
I found that unless a tip was provided the service was not up to par. Staff asking for beer instead of “gifts” was a little off putting.
Certified

Playa Pesquero

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-31
This was our 8th visit to this hotel and we always look forward to our annual trip. We were very disappointed this year as many things had changed. We were told that the hotel was having difficulties receiving food supplies from its distributors. We understand and sympathize with this problem but it does not help those on vacation. The staff did try to substitute and were quite ingenious at many things. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, clean rooms , the grounds are well kept and the beach is lovely.
The weak points
. As returning guests we were disappointed we did not receive our invite to the gala dinner nor the complimentary bottle of rum, We went to the PR office and they gladly gave us the invite but never received the rum, small point but this is not the norm
Certified

Needs Improvement, But Still Worth It

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-12
Hi there! My seven year old son, my husband and I just spent one week at the Playa Pesquero.

Overall, we had a good experience. The beach is truly beautiful (one of the nicest we've visited), the pools are nice, we were treated very well by most of the staff and, ultimately, the price was right. However, the property itself is in need of a fair amount of TLC (tender loving care) - investment in general building maintenance, food stuffs, and amenities for children (e.g., play structures; water slides/features; activities), in particular, are needed/recommended.

We were initially very disappointed with the resort (doesn't come close to the quality of the resorts we've visited in Punta Cana and Mexico in recent years, but those trips also cost us a lot more), but we got over it once we familiarized ourselves with the beach and pool and got into a routine.

All things considered, it was a trip worth taking and we will consider returning. However, if you absolutely need high quality facilities, food, organized entertainment, etc., to be happy, then this is not likely the place/trip for you.

Cheers.

P.S.: CAUTION - There is something similar to poison ivy on the resort/beach. My son was climbing the trees on the beach and chasing the lizards around and managed to contract sever contact dermatitis on our last day. It started with a small scratch/track of bumps on his arm and within less than 24 hours it spreading like mad. It was extremely and uncontrollably itchy. It started to improved after about 4 days of antibiotics, but our son will need to be on antibiotics for another 2 weeks. Whatever it is, it is very resistant and require stronger antibiotics than what is normally prescribed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach: Beautiful clear warm water; snorkeling steps from the shore; nice sandy beach-side - no seaweed to speak of; free catamaran rides, paddle-boats, sea kayaks and snorkeling gear. Staff: Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The weak points
Food: Very limited variety; long line-ups for custom grills (difficult to manage with impatient young children); ongoing flour shortage - lack of bread products; average quality (for Cuba). Kids entertainment: Nothing worth mentioning.
Certified

Playa Pesquero 2 week vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-10
Enjoyable relaxing carefree vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, pool, beach, and cleanliness.
The weak points
Rooms showing their age
Certified

Our favourite resort in Cuba

, Belleville, ON
2019-01-13
Great value in this resort. Lots to see and do. Be prepared to walk a lot (the walk is very nice though)! It's a beautiful resort with many returning guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds are kept nicely. Pool is very large and nice. Rooms are plain, but always clean. Lots of places to get food, snacks or drinks. Staff are great.
The weak points
Beach was very crowded this year. Check in line is longer than other resorts. Food at buffets was limited in selection this year. Not a lot of variety.
Certified

Playa Pesquero as our paradise... no more

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-06
We've been coming to Playa Pesquero (PP) since 2011. We finally understood that we are not welcomed here and are not planning to return. When we arrived on December 17 we have been acknowledged with the cheapest rum possible waiting in our room. The front door lock has been broken, we slept first night at our own risk. Next day we found an unexpected guest in our room: cockroach. After reporting these 2 issues, we got 2 technicians in our room repairing the lock. Why this has not been done before we got the room? Cleaning Lady sprayed our room to avoid the return of our little guest. However I woke up next morning with the rash on my lower lip and my chest. Other people were smarter than us by requesting the room change. I guess the cockroaches are there to stay from now on. Our loyalty has not been rewarded the way we've expected. The reservations has been messed up by misspelling our names. In a result the hotel should provide one free week this year and announced during returning customers gala last year. However after 11th visit we have been refused the letter confirming one free week with no reason nor excuses. And over top of all we had no beer in the fridge for first 3 days, because "nobody has it" (PP management excuse). There was no bread for several days in all resort (buffet and a la carte). A lot of people got sick from food poisoning. Doctor's office was never empty. After talking to other guests we've learnt that their personal items have disappeared from the beach, but it was no surprise for us. On December 31 & January 1 only one person has been assigned to all PP beach including premium section. The prices are rising every year when the service is decreasing. Loyalty is not rewarded, because the hotel budget is not permitting it. PP management is more interested in new comers which have no comparison and can settle for anything this place can or cannot provide. Unfortunately the hard working and friendly staff, which we adore and respect, pays huge price by dealing directly with all complains and not getting tipped, because of the dissatisfaction of PP customers.
Dear reader, you can take a chance and visit this resort at your own risk. Good luck and we hope you will have a great vacation! However we are not planning to return. Goodbye forever, Playa Pesquero!
Dear PP management, do not attempt to respond to this review unless you want to apologize for destroying our vacation time this year. There is no reason nor excuse whatsoever to treat badly the paying customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches are great; staff is amazing
The weak points
No bread for several days, public relationship is worse
Certified

Playa pesquero

, Saint Laurent, QC
2019-01-02
Beautiful resort, amazing people and staff, from check in to check out! Room service was excellent, the buffets and restaurants we got to try were very good . ( the other restaurants were booked already , so we didn't have a chance to try). All the staff from reception area, to waiters and waitresses to gardeners to bar tenders etc. were extreme nice and polite and all speak at least English or French or both languages. I definitely will revisit playa pesquero and recommend it to others. One more very important thing, it is so safe you wouldn't worry a second about leaving your personal things on chairs and going to swim! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa Pesquero - below our expectations

, Pointe Claire, QC
2018-12-28
It was our second time at Playa Pesquero - we were there 4 years ago. Unfortunately, I cannot leave a very favourable comment about it as of December 2018. The place has seen some serious decline over these last 4 years, which is noticeable to returning customers like us.

In short, there is no investment in anything at this hotel. The decline is very visible. The 5-star mention should be forgotten. It's a strong 3-star place, with some glorious past that's long gone.

AIRPORT & BUS SHUTTLE:

Things move slowly in Cuba and there is some unnecessary red tape involved. With that, it took us 2 hours between our landing, passport control, another customs check, and us getting to our bus shuttle.

I was not able to figure out why 2 planes by the same Canadian vacation airline land at the same time at such a small airport with such slow processes (the same happened on the way back home where the same airline was boarding Montreal and Toronto at the same time through the same gate - it was fun to see a guy with YYZ in his ticket getting in our YUL-bound plane).

All of the passengers were funneled into a small area with 4-5 officers checking passports. Once done, there was another customs check to go through all our carry-on - the line was moving faster, though.

The bus shuttle was all smooth. Uneventful.

The only weird part was about the local travel agent selling local beer to us at 5 CUC for 2 beer cans on the bus. Well, the same beers were in my room's fridge later. Coincidence, I guess!

ROOM:

The room was visibly old, even though they are cleaned every day. The moldy smell is pervasive. The furniture in our room was very old and partially broken.

The room was cleaned daily, that's fair. But if you looked at the mop and the water the cleaning lady was using (the grey-to-black color range) you wish your room had been the first in her list on that day.

The bathroom was actually clean, but the bathtub had probably seen some fights inside or some body falls judging by the black scratches.

The room had two magnetic keys. But the cleaning lady could come into the room several times during the day. One for cleaning, one for bringing water, one for whatever else she wants to come in for. But she knocked first. That was pleasant. Btw, just don't forget to leave 1 CUC for her, otherwise the room would not get the special treatment (no swans out of your bed sheets if there is no tip).

Our room had cockroaches - I killed one on the wall on day 1 and left it hanging there for the cleaning lady to see it. The insect was hanging on the wall till we left - cleaning ladies don't seem to look above the floor level, I guess.

The AC was noisy, which was not pleasant at night. The TV was an old Konka (I did not hear such a brand name before) with 13 channels all in Spanish. 4 years ago the number of channels had been more impressive with 1-2 in English and French, not any more. Learn to speak some Spanish!

BUFFET:

The food was very so-so. Plus, 3 days out of the 7 there was no bread. No clear explanation was given other than "no bread, today".

Also, it was visible that the buffets were not ready for the number of people the resort was hosting. There were lines (5-10 min wait at most at lunch times). The tables were not cleaned fast enough. Sometimes you clean the table yourself, it happens.

If you eat with tea spoons, good luck finding them. Experiment eating yogurt with forks. Not convenient, but works. In the end, the yogurt was not served any more. Problem solved!

RESTAURANTS a la carte:

Romantico and Gondola ones were the best of all.

Beware of long pants, though. The staff were super strict about that policy at the above two restaurants. I saw two men being refused the entry because of their shorts. Rules are rules, for some stuff.

The other restaurants we went to - Caribena and Seafood - were just ok. Their sea food was a little dry and a bit tasteless. The wine is 2016-2017 red or white from Spain. The blanco goes well with fish!

Overall, the a-la-carte experience is good.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT:

Nothing too exceptional.

The Holguin band that played there once or twice a week were doing their best. But due to the poor audio system their singing was more like yelling. More rum and other drinks before the concert helped fix this little drawback, though.

EXCURSIONS:

We did not take any. Why? Two things:

1) the prices were so much different between what you get from your travel agency in Montreal, what you see in the booklet on the plane, and what you get in your handout in the bus on the way to the hotel. The difference was between 25-30%.
2) travelling with young kids means there might be surprises like unstable stomaches or sudden fevers. In the end, our forecast for these surprises was right. And yes, simple medications are very expensive in Cuba.

SUMMARY:

We had higher expectations about the resort going there over Christmas.

Going there for our 2nd time we did not feel too welcome as repeat customers. We had golden wristbands, but never figured out why. No one bothered explaining, until I read about these in a review upon return home.

The overall impression is that the place has seen some serious decline over the last years, and the management does not take into account all the feedback from both first-time and repeat customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- the beach is great despite the sand flies - the Christmas dinner at the Romantico restaurant with live piano music was great - the pools are clean
The weak points
- old and smelly rooms with broken furniture, with a noisy AC and a noisy fridge - so-so buffet food, no bread for 3 days - staff looking actively for tips (asked us a couple of times if we have clothes to leave behind)
Certified

One of the better ones.

, Wyevale, ON
2018-12-17
Overall, a clean and well kept resort with ample variety of food and activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant staff, good food selection, tidy grounds and decent rooms.
The weak points
As I have always found with Cuba, you have to take the food for what it is. Other than that, it is a resort in Cuba but is certainly better than most.
Certified

Nice resort, but needs improvement

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-19
We had to miss the most of entertainment programs, since, the ala carte restaurants were available for us during the program only.
The loby staff was slow with the service, long wait. The rooms were clean, but there were some small bags in the room. Little bit boring, not good entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Receptionist Yadira, very nice and proffesional. Beach. Ala carte restaurants great food and staff. Room staff
The weak points
Boring. Entertainment program was mostly during our dinner time. Small bags in the room. Loby staff was slowe with service. Pools not very good.
Certified

Playa Pesquero

, Oshawa, ON
2018-11-03
There was way to much walking.. None of the bathrooms in the general area had kleenex or paper towel. You had to use very poor quality toilet paper. The rooms need updated furniture. Bathrooms need updated tubs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were wonderful. The pools were beautiful.
The weak points
The food prep was not sanitary. The birds were landing on food and taking it in the serving area. The same bowl was being used over and over again to make scrambled eggs. The buffet food was horrible. I was sick from it
Certified

Amazing time

, Chalk River, ON
2018-10-12
The hotel was amazing great staff great rooms everything was in walking distance (beaches pool lobby restaurant etc) will be going back again for sure very soon . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the staff
The weak points
The garbage the Tourists through everywhere maybe add a few more garbage bins
Certified

Loved it

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-07
I love this place, this is our second time in 3 months, the service is perfect, food , beach , pool garden, rooms, everything is perfect, never went heswhere in Cuba so perfect..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Stay & Staff, Disappointing Departure Day!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-06
Very large but beautiful resort. Friendly staff at restaurants and bars. Great pools, well maintained. Returning customers more focused on and pampered. Rooms were clean and well maintained.
Beach is small and average for swimming and could be maintained more often, ie. seaweed cleaning would remove foul smells.
Free catamaran ride offered per stay, but staff at rental site were scarce and disappeared when I came with my aunt.
Nightly so called “Entertainment” was lacking and uninspiring.

Before coming, I emailed front desk several times but never got a reply or confirmation. Negative side was dealings with the inept Front desk staff in every aspect.
Upon arrival we asked again same as my emails, for balcony rooms but we did not receive them. We were tired and hungry and wanted to go for food but due to NO umbrellas in my room and heavy rains could not go. I was prisoner. I phoned several times without success until much later in the evening received 2 broken umbrellas and 1 good one?

Oddly, the night before checking out, the TV quit working?? Took such a long time to get a serviceman, it was now time for bed. WTH?

The day before check out, I asked proper procedures for a smooth checkout. Front desk said simply push star * on phone at 6:45 am, within 10 to 15 minutes staff would come and assist with luggage and take us to lobby giving us a little time to grab some food before 7:30 am airport bus came!
Now 7:20 AM, THEY NEVER CAME AFTER MANY PHONE REQUESTS!! I had surgery only weeks before coming (69 years old) not supposed to lift over 5 pounds and my 76 year old Aunt Edith Jackie Revoy was still recovering from cancer treatments, regardless, WE HAD TO HAUL OUR OWN BELONGINGS TO THE CHECKOUT DESK!! We even had empty baggage staff pass by us. We had a legit reason to complain but Only got shrugged shoulders and rolled eyes. The office customer service said “sorry”. My back and right side hurts still. This has left a sour taste in my mouth and I will never return to this resort. I've had 3 to 4 star resorts treat me better. I assured my aunt (1st trip EVER to Cuba) that this is not typical treatment. She may never return to Cuba. Sad! I've been coming to Cuba for over 20 years and have been all over the island. Up to now, loved Cuba.

This trip was a R & R for us and an expensive luxury that was to cheer us up! However, it did basically until checkout! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, informed restaurant and bar staff. Clean rooms, talented housekeeping staff. Great variety of foods offered.
The weak points
Romantico A la carte should take inedible beef steak off the menu. Front staff should take English comprehension lessons so they can become more useful. Babbling away in English but not understanding it is two different things. Also adjust attitude.
Certified

Great Trip

, Almonte, ON
2018-04-29
Travelled with another couple, our room was fine but their room had a very strong mildew odour. Front Desk moved them immediately, no questions. Staff were great, very friendly and went the extra mile. Beautiful beach, food was o.k. (everyone was able to find something that they liked) We upgraded to the premium side for our last two nights, 5 Stars all the way, well worth the extra money and a good way to end a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches, lots of free services offered at the resort, good entertainment, friendly staff.
The weak points
Meals were ok, but you don't go to Cuba for the food. Meals on the Premium side of the resort were good and we really enjoyed our meal at the Grill. Not great reception on the TV on regular side, Premium side was great.
Certified

Playa Pesquero - beautiful!

, Wellington, ON
2018-04-24
My sister and I had an amazing week at this beautiful and friendly resort! The beach, pool and grounds are well kept and nicely landscaped. We'd go back in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good food selection
The weak points
Difficult to find lounge chairs in the shade around the pool and on the beach...although I assume this is mostly due to inconsiderate guests leaving towels to save their places, even when they're not present.
Certified

Wonderful stay at Playa Pesquero

, Bathurst , NB
2018-04-23
Beautiful large site with many choices of bars and restaurants to choose from so it never feels too crowded. Rooms were beautiful and clean. We had block 58, close to the beach and pool and Betsy was by far the best of the best in her field at keeping our room clean, refrigerator stocked and just a wonderful person. Keep smiling my friend we miss you.The staff are very friendly and a tip goes a long way for them even if it is an all inclusive, does not hurt to be a little generous as they work very hard to provide everyone with a great holiday experience. The beach is beautiful and clean. Could use a few more shaded areas as these places are taken very early morning. Great pizza shack with a terrace on the beach as well as a restaurant with table service and clean washrooms everywhere on the site. The pool is the biggest I've ever seen with lots of shaded area's, bars and restaurant. The beer garden (pipa bar) has delicious tappas and is open 24 hours. Tried several a la carte's which were all very good. Booking your restaurants is quick and easy with very friendly and efficient staff. For a fee you can book a lobster supper served on the beach at sunset, AMAZING! I would recommend this resort as I've been to Cuba several times and this is one of my favorites so far. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa Pesquero March 31 to April 7.

, Montréal, QC
2018-04-09
The best hotel I've yet experienced in Cuba. Beautiful beach for snorkeling. So many amenities and everything at a great proximity from the beach. Many choices of restaurants and bars. The resort and the rooms are very clean and well maintained. They do need an uplift but that wouldn't stop us from coming back again. Definitely a resort we'll go back too and easily stay two weeks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent. Nice beach for some snorkeling. Friendly staff. Delicious cappuccino's and ice cream near the beach.
The weak points
Hotel rooms are in need of an uplift. Very spacious and clean but old.
Certified

Se lever très tôt pour une chaise sur la plage

, Carignan, QC
2018-03-08
Très bonne nourriture (pour cuba), belle piscine (très longue). Les spectacles n'etait pas trop impressionnants. Pas tellement d'activités durant le jour (concours et jeux d'animation). Les employés sont très dévoués. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bonne bouffe et employés dévoués. Belle piscine et plage.
The weak points
Il faut réserver une chaise longue très tôt le matin
Certified

My over all review is that Holguin is beautiful .

, Halifax, NS
2018-02-27
My stay at the resort was very beautiful &relaxing i could not ask for anything better & will return.
Thank you so much to all members &staff for making my stay so enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa Pesquero

, Timberlea, NS
2018-02-27
Amazing resort. Very clean and well maintained. Beautiful grounds. Friendly and outgoing staff. Awesome pool. Great beach - One side offers white sand for sunbathing and swimming, the other side had coral for snorkelling. No issues with water or power. The fridge in the room was replenished daily with water and beer. Endless options for food - would highly recommend the a la carte restaurants, beer garden and mojito bar. They even did a reasonable job of providing smoke-free areas in the lobby - although it was difficult to enforce, particularly at night. Most people that we met were return guests, many of which had exceeded 10 visits. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen in Cuba. Wi-Fi in the lobby and on the beach.
The weak points
The white sand area of the beach was quite a distance from the beach bar and washrooms. Could use additional staff at the bank and coffee bar. Could do a better job of enforcing the no-smoking in the lobby. Evenings were a bit quiet.
Certified

Premium playa pesquero

, Geraldton, ON
2018-02-26
It is the second year we go at Premium, we really enjoy it!!!
This resort is really big and luxurious at Premium; if you dont want to go out and visit, it is perfect! If you want to visit: Holguin,Saeta island,Santiago the Cuba ,Guardalavaca etc...There is a lot of activities to do...Spa ,learn Spanish, exercise in the pool etc....
The food was good, the snack at the premium pool was really nice,the resto where they cook the pig...La Pipa....
They made some amelioration from last year: the outside shower near the beach, and the beach is reserve on one side to premium so it is quiet!!!
They have : kayack, pedalo,trimarin...free
I just love Cuba!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, they bring you anywhere you want when you give tips and gifts!!!They smile and talk to you!!!They are happy with what they have!!!They are helpful! I broke my I-Phone...and they pass me a camera to help me!!!
The weak points
Dont expect to have things like home...but it is a good point... I would like to have beds like at the pool!!!more cultural activities...
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020