Iberostar Selection Holguin

Iberostar Selection Holguin
4.124.124.124.124.12
4.12 based on 161 reviews
#4 of 17 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (210)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Nice resort great staff

, Lasalle, QC
2024-04-27
had a good time , nice clean resort , staff very friendly and helpful , only one was not ( did not get name , but possibly the guy host at japanese restaurant, not flexible ), from front desk to bartenders , waiters and waitress, kitchen staff ,housekeepers and the bellboys and cart driver always pleasant and good natured and helpful... sadly food was lacking , and lines at breakfast egg station was long , they need to add another cooking station , some boiled eggs , maybe some already made scrambbled egg
surprisingly only chicken all week , no pork , no fish ???
yes , im aware of the shortages
coffee was terrible for cuba standards
cant believe rude people hijacking others cabanas saw this happened twice !
beaches - waters were beautiful clean clear ,no seaweed wowow [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
friendly staff , nice beach , no seaweed, clean hotel,
The weak points
wifi spotty, food was cold at buffet, food selection, no wifi at 2nd beach,
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-05-02
Dear guest, Thank you for trusting in our professionalism and dedication. We cannot wait to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Great vacation

, Woodbridge, ON
2024-04-26
We had amazing time at this resort. The staff at this resort are very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bed very comfortable our cleaning lady did an amazing job. The beach is beautiful and the pools were good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-05-02
Dear Clementina, We are honored to hear that you came back home with special memories. Our colleagues are eager to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Wonderful time at the Iberostar

, Bridgewater, NS
2023-12-29
We had a wonderful stay at the Iberostar. The staff were friendly. I know food is a concern for many coming to Cuba but you won't have to worry about it at the Iberostar. We always found things we liked to eat at the buffet. They also have a snack bar that serves hotdogs, pizza, sandwiches and chicken burgers and nuggets which was a great option for my 14 year old. The resort is quite big so be prepared to get a lot of steps in the run of a day but they also have carts running all the time that are happy to get you where you want to go.
There are two beaches. One is smaller and closer. It's quite shallow so is great for little ones but not great if you want to swim. The second beach is a bit of a walk to get to. It was about 5-8 minutes but you can also jump on a cart to get there. That beach was beautiful definitely worth the walk.
The resort was very clean and so was our room. The staff works really hard at that and it definitely showed
The pool areas were great as well. Lots of seating options in the sun and shade
We really enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to anyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-04
Dear John, We are glad to confirm that you have enjoyed such a great time in our hospitality. It will be an honor to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Great Hotel! Nice location.

, Valdavid, QC
2023-11-05
Cute hotel. Clean. Family of 6 with young kids and we enjoyed it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Location, rooms, view of ocean view balcony, pools, beach.
The weak points
Not a lot of choices for drinks. The convenient store was not open at the indicate hours. Pool animation.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-11-14
Dear Marie, On behalf of the whole Team we would like to thank you for the honor of welcoming us and for helping us to improve with your feedback. We hope to conquer you with a much better experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

TRES BIEN POUR LE PRIX !!!!

, Beloeil, QC
2023-09-05
CHAMBRE TRES PROPRE. AIR CLIMATISÉE FONCTIONNE A MERVEILLE. ENDROIT TRES PRES DE TOUT ( BUNGALOW 25 OU 26 A PRÉVILÉGIER ). TRES TRANQUILE POUR JEUNE FAMILLE ET PAS DE GROSSE FIESTA AVEC DE LA MUSIQUE FORTE ( 23HRS TOUT EST CALME ). BUFFET VARIÉ ET BEAUCOUP DE CHOIX, MAIS PEU DE LEGUMES. PETITE PLAGE POUR JEUNES ENFANTS SINON LA PLAGE PESQUERO PLUS GRANDE ET PLUS PROFONDE.( NECESSITE UNE NAVETTE SINON ENVIRON 10 MIN DE MARCHE ). POUR LE PRIX C`EST PLUS QUE BIEN POUR CUBA !!!! A NOTER QUE LES JEUX D`EAUX FONCTIONNENT DEPUIS LE 01 SEPTEMBRE. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
PROPRETÉ SERVICE ( CHAMBRE ET RESTORATION )
The weak points
LEGUMES ( MAIS J`Y RETOURNERAIS DEMAIN MATIN ) ;-)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-26
Cher Stephane , C'est avec gratitude que nous recevons votre commentaire à la fois positif et constructif, car, chez Iberostar, nous savons qu'en étant à l´écoute de nos clients, nous arriverons à l'excellence requise. Nous espérons compter sur votre présence dans un futur proche, pour vous servir à nouveau et vous offrir de nouvelles vacances de rêves. Cordialement Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

The resort has seen better days

, Mississauga, ON
2023-08-24
Although we did enjoy our week here, I do have to address the cleanliness/maintenance of the hotel. The pool is in rough shape, with cracks, many missing tiles and broken ladders. Our room cleaning was very subpar, same dead bugs on the floor all week, dripping air conditioners, bathrooms not cleaned very well, cups not replaced all week. The staff was friendly and the hotel is lovely - these cleanliness and maintenance issues can easily be rectified with more diligent management. You go to Cuba for the beaches and to feel safe, and those things we did feel thankfully. The wi-fi was spottty at best - of you need it for work this will NOT be sufficient for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
maintenance pool cleanliness
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-05
Dear George, On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for the opportunity to improve that your valuable comments offer us. We will do our best to conquer you with a much better stay in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Paradise!!!

, London, ON
2023-08-07
We just came back from a beautiful vacation. The hotel is beautiful and clean we are in the 3rd level and 2 connected rooms. Beautiful modern big and clean. Facing the ocean view The room attendants changing lenins everyday and towel. Everytime we came back room is nice and clean. With fresh bottled water. Beach is really nice two beaches for a small children near the hotel and the other one is in the other side and you have to cross this beautiful wooden bridge. Or you can ride. On the club car. With all our drivers are very happy people. Lots of them so all you have to do is pick up the phone and tell them to pick wherever you are. Or if you are at the beach let the security guard know or life guards Rafael, Michael Alberto and Victor thank you all . Food at this resorts is abundant. No shortage for sure. Lots of choices. From breads cold cuts cheeses meats seafood pastas and different kind of rice . Lots and lots of selection. Plus lots of desserts and fresh fruits!!! Amazing fruits and fresh juice. And delicious coffee I always get cappuccino .the manager at the bar and buffet and 4 other restaurants is Hippolito amazingly friendly man makes you feel comfortable he is always around to make sure everythibg is running smoothly at the buffet area during meal time. And checking all the bar early morning. Keep up the good work sir!! all servers is nice and helpful. They're always happy to serve you. Mayelin always takes care of us. And the others too.
Cocktails and wine.. rum vodkas and whisky.. you have it all. From checking in at the front desk. Yemina is their to help you and Christian. Any other questions the public relations, Wilkyns is so amazing kind always happy to help you in anything. Just reach out to him, he is so kind to book us in 3 other restaurant for dinner. And a complimentary gift to keep us hydrated lol.. love it!!! I love people at this Resort. Everyone of them even I didn't even mention names. They are very lovely people. Resort has a 24 hr snack Bar and 24 hr bar as well. Beach has bar to get drinks. And snack. Over all this place is beautiful it's has 3 big pool and other one is for kids. It's fun here too entertain ment every night. And lots of daytime activities. For people who wanted to know if there's mosquito? My son is sensitive to a mosquito bite and he didn't have any single one. It's a beautiful vacation. Thank you to everyone's who makes this visit a memorable one .
Please continue the amazing service. And wish to see you all soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-05
Dear Summer, On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for sharing this detailed description of your experience in our hospitality. Thank you for placing your trust in us. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Iberostar

, Lachine, QC
2023-06-01
Grounds were well maintained [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-06-07
Dear Gabriel, Thank you for your compliments and helpful feedback. Please come back again soon . Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Pretty good

, Laval, QC
2023-05-08
We travelled with 2 kids ages 7 and 5 ,
The waterpark was a hit!
Beach clean and clear like I have never seen before! 10/10
Food : very little variety if any.. repetitive
No water bottles first 4 days and lack of entertainment.
Friday night beach party a total hit!
Rooms cleaned everyday overall clean well maintained hotel.
Buffet plates are not washed very well … always check! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach Room cleanliness Beach party
The weak points
No bottles water Repetitive food at buffet Lack of entertainment on beach
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-16
Dear Hovannes, Thank you for choosing us to enjoy a holiday with your family. We take note of your valuable comments as an essential tool to ensure that our quality standards are being met. We appreciate the opportunity to improve and we apologise for any possible inconvenience. We will do our best to surprise you with positive changes in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Iberostar Selection Holquin

, Sackville, NS
2023-05-05
The hotel was exceptionally clean and well appointed. It was spacious and nicely decorated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
No elevator although there were only three floors so it wasn't too bad. The staff were very helpful to carry luggage up or down the stairs.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-16
Dear Diana, The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the right direction. Please come back again soon. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Amazing Family Vacation!!!

, Kleinburg, ON
2023-04-22
We had an amazing stay at this hotel. This is our first time in Cuba as a family. Hearing about other people's horror stories about staying in Cuba. This place was amazing. The food was good. Loved the a la cart restaurants. The staff was very nice and helpful. The beaches were beautiful and safe. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Mayelin at the buffet was so nice and helpful. Daniel the gardener was nice and Maria the pool entertainer was fun. The kids loved the pools and the water park. Will definitely recommend and will return to this hotel again. Advice, tip in American dollars or Canadian dollar bills in good condition only and help change the coins the Canadians keep giving the hotel staff. The coins are worthless to them and they need help changing them to dollar bills so offer to change them and they'll be very greatful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-15
Dear Alexander, Thank you for choosing us as the ideal place to enjoy your first holiday in Cuba. We hope to continue conquering you with our personalised attention in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Excellent

, Kingston, NS
2023-04-13
Had a wonderful stay at this resort. People were excellent, food was great, restaurants were great, rooms were the size of a 1 her apartment, staff were the best. We only had a few negatives which were too long a wait for buggy ride to anywhere we wanted to go on resort as I am handycap and had trouble getting into our room as door would not open the whole too weeks there. Would I go back there no as resort way too big for me getting around but for anyone with no walking problems great place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-18
Dear Euna, We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience in our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Beautiful resort

, London, ON
2023-04-04
Iberostar Selection is a beautiful and large property ! The buildings are clean and beautifully laid out. The rooms are big , modern bathroom , and very comfortable bed! The oceanview is an oceanview above the trees ( as seen in the hotel pics) , so doesn't really feel like an oceanview, although above the tree line you can see it. The lobby is a popular place to have a cappuccino from the coffee bar which is served with a stick of sugar cane which is delicious! The pool area is beautiful, clean , and there is a separate pool beside the main one set up for pool volleyball. Beach area is outstanding with turquoise water and lots of coral for snorkeling just off shore . The sand beach is on the smaller size ( although still very sufficient) as there is a sea wall of volcanic rock around most of the property. No problem getting a lounger at the beach . Staff hustle to keep all the areas pristinely clean.
I would have liked to see some Cuban dance entertainment at night as the Cuban culture is one of my favourite things. Instead of that, there were fashion shows, although they had a very good house band which played a few of the nights . Don't be late for the show if you go as it is 20 -30 minutes long. The gym was good also with free weights, equipment and bikes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, snorkeling, pool , rooms , staff
The weak points
Entertainment could be better ( Cuban dancers) in the evening
Sanitary measures
Great
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-18
Dear nancy,, Thank you for sharing your positive assessment of your recent stay in our hotel. We would also like you to know that we are grateful for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly on your behalf. Please come back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Great stay

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-24
Everything was great expect food was mediocre as expected for Cuba. Supply was pretty good (pina coladas, fanta, cucumbers, fish, chicken etc.). The Kids Club is THE BEST. Family suite accommodation was excellent for our family of 5. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
great pool & comfortable day bed, the beach is beautiful. Kids club (Ali) was wonderful. The kids wanted to go almost every day which gave us parents some down time :) Japanese restaurant was great.
The weak points
Food is mediocre, takes a while to find something you like and can eat. No beef. All the a-la-carte restaurants were NOT very good (except japanese). Wifi annoying/difficult to connect to (need unique login that expires after 5 hours you get from receptio
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Karen, We would like to thank you very much for your helpful review of your recent stay with us. We will investigate the areas of concern you raise in your review as it is through constant dialogue with our guests we can always be made aware of their particular wishes and preferences and thus ensure their well-being and satisfaction whilst staying at our hotel in the future. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Iberostar March 2023

, Welland, ON
2023-03-21
The hotel is large, well kept, newer. Rooms are clean and well kept. Housekeeping work very hard to keep things tidy. Pool very nice, should be vacuumed more often. Hot tubs filled with kids and yellowish water, didn't go in. Food in Cuba not the best, but this time very disappointed. Shortages on bread, eggs, pop, vodka, only chocolate ice cream, no pastries, no butter, no fish except a la carte. Shortage of chicken and line ups at buffet at omelette and grill stations super long. Beach nice, they've had no rain for months so everything very yellow and dry. Palm trees are even yellow. People are lovely as usual. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, pool, weather, people
The weak points
Food and lack of food, dryness
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-03-22
Dear Aaron, We are pleased to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us and want to thank you for sharing the experience you had with others. The fact that you have returned home with happy memories is a good sign for us. We will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and relay it to the appropriate management for consideration on your behalf. Again we thank you for writing and sharing this constructive review of your stay at our hotel and hope to be seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Disappointed

, Bocabec, NB
2023-03-10
Was very disappointed in the food , Wasn't a good selection and the food offered wasn't very good . I personally lived on ice cream and rice . Definitely by far the worst resort i have ever been to as far as food .
There was no bottled water …No selection of drinks …i don't drink alcohol so that wasn't an issue but the fridge was not stocked with bottled water or soda ..i've never experienced that any where else .
No waiters on beach or poolside.
What drinks that were offered ran out early.
First night we arrived late and ate at the snack bar…food was terrible and the water tasted like mold .
I would never go back and I would never recommend to anyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Most staff were pleasant
The weak points
Food …not good and no selection Drinks …No selection of non alcoholic drinks … A La Carte —-Terrible…no selection..
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-03-21
Dear Heather, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review of your experience. Although we were unable to provide you with a dining experience that met your expectations, we appreciate the opportunity for improvement that your feedback has provided us with. We will do everything in our power to deliver a much better experience should you decide to visit us again. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Staff make the experience

, Edmonton, AB
2023-01-24
Good day,

We have visited the hotel 11 times including hosting our entire family for our wedding. Special thanks to all staff and special thanks to Mayelin for always being so attentive and kind! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
People, beach, rooms, wedding, food has improved.
The weak points
Fruit juice shortages for my vodka. When juice is available, it's full of sugar :)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-01-31
Dear guest, Thank you very much for giving us the privilege of welcoming you once again. We take note of your remarks. As part of the Iberostar family we work to make every guest feel at home. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve. We will be delighted to continue conquering you with wonderful experiences in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín

Resort

, Mississauga, ON
2022-12-21
Well, where to start? The resort was beautiful but too big for our liking. The rooms were excellent and well-maintained. The only dissatisfaction was the food and the drinks. Every day lunch and dinner were the same. No napkins on the table instead we had fold-it toilet paper and not all the time, you had to beg for the spoons for soup and coffee or dessert. The personnel was as excellent as possible. The drinks lack of ingredients, for example, no coca cola, or any cola, no soda water, or sometimes no tonic water. The shadow buses many times you will have to wait up to an hour [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
4 years old resort so everything is almost new
The weak points
Too big for seniors. Laks on the quality of food and drinks and to far from the airport, more than an hour from the airport to the resort
Certified

Iberostar selection

, Montréal, QC
2022-09-04
Place is great, rooms clean location is great. Food is ok. You can manage with what they offer. How ever bring your preferred spices and ketchup. When I went they only had sprite. Fanta orange was only available in the Cuban restaurant. Japanese restaurant was not really Japanese except the setup

Sometimes hard to communicate the shuttle bus service for on site location is slow. But the employees are great. Wifi only allowed 5 hours per guest per day. Capital One master card not accepted and other American cards . . Best to go with Canadian money 5$.

Beach is great 2 locations one really close to bungalows. I could access the beach by walking 120 seconds. The check in is long only one employee [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The people
The weak points
The food
Sanitary measures
All staff wear mask
Certified

Wow! Amazing

, Brampton, ON
2022-02-09
As soon as we arrived at this hotel, check in was fast and we were forwarded to the room by the bell boy. We had requested a upper floor and given. Fantastic lobby, a big modern room with the amenities. Very comfortable beds. The shower with a good flow of hot water. Very neat and clean. There were not many guests, maybe because of COVID but no lack of service anywhere in the hotel. Very decent workers with their job. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was cubana style preparation. There is always something to eat. We enjoyed at the Japanese restaurant with live preparation of food by the trained Chef with entertainment. Also in the Coral restaurant we had a tail of the lobster delicious food and very professional waitress. Not to mention ones name each and every one either at buffet or at the speciality restaurants. Supervising staff are working very hard to get the job done professionally. Bravo keep it up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff and comforts. And the price we paid. Very hygienically maintained.
The weak points
No one Is perfect and everyone has their own opinion. Whatever we noticed and with our travelling experience for the last 30 years were informed to the Directors and they promised to do some more improvements as per the availability.
Certified

Not a 4 Star Hotel

, Caledonia, ON
2022-01-05
Waited close to 40 mins for a golf cart to take us to our room upon arrival and we were the first family to be checked in. We had adjoining suites with our children (17, 16, 12 yrs old) Only 1 of the 2 keys worked that we were given, so everyday back at the front desk to get the key reset for one of the suites and it wasn't always the same suite the key didn't work for. The bathroom door knob on the kids side wasn't working properly and the kids got “locked” in or stuck on the inside many times before maintenance FINALLY came to fix the door but only after one of the kids was stuck behind the door for 30mins. Adult side of the suite, our bathroom was leaking through the lights every time the people above us had a shower. Water leaked out into the hallway and had a major fall on the way to the bathroom in a huge puddle. Called the front desk and it took someone 45mins to come to the room with towels for clean up and to “assess” the situation. Went to see the doctor twice but wasn't available due to COVID swabs and testing and giving out results. When I finally was able to see the doctor, she didn't do a physical exam, just a visual and advised me to take NSAID's, raise my ankle and use ice, home now and my ankle is in fact fractured.Not a pleasant experience and it seemed like it only got worse as time progressed. I hate to be that person but it just seemed like when things couldn't get worse they did. Found the front desk to be less friendly after the fall in the water. Another couple we travelled with, also had water leaking from the room above them in their bathroom. Will not be recommending this hotel in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Buffet servers were wonderful, don't feel they should have to share tips because there were less than stellar servers reaping the benefits of the ones who were working hard.
The weak points
Lack of understanding at the front desk, very hard to communicate even though we were using a translator (my Spanish isn't very strong)
Sanitary measures
Buffet lady holds a squirt bottle and drenches your hands as you walk by with the sanitizer spray.
Certified

Tied for best (with Pullman,Cayo Coco) in Cuba!!

, Québec, QC
2020-03-21
Great Resort!! Staff is very professional, nothing that they wouldn't do to make sure that visitors are comfortable and happy! Restaurants are top notch, best in Cuba so far!! Wifi access everywhere!! Everything is very clean and the resort is spread out on a huge property providing lots of space for everyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, Firstly we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience with us. We are really happy to read your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure splendid vacations for our guests. Once more we thank you for this complimentary review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Excellent Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-03-20
We enjoyed our 2 week stay here, hands down!
Front desk check-in and greeting was very professional, friendly and fast. Assigned room was so comfortable and modern with wifi service, USB charging station, and a spectacular ocean view! An additional screened patio door made it perfect for us to enjoy the ocean breeze anytime! Housekeeper Yanelis, kept our room immaculate with all amenities supplied. Accommodations Director Nestor was always present, very personable, helpful, assuring complete guest satisfaction.
The ocean front expansive, having two very diverse beach areas. First beach, close by, shallow and nicely sheltered from surf on windy days. Second beach, further, clear water and absolutely fabulous for snorkelling and water sports. Electric cart shuttle always available and convienant to take us where we wanted. We enjoyed our 4 km, safe, leisure walks along the public pathway of the beautiful Pesquero Beaches.
Dining room host Uranemi, polite and helpful with our menu selections and reservations. Food of excellent Cuban fare! The good variety of fresh buffet selections and cooking stations were very appealing and tasty. Yainet ready with our morning coffee and glass of sparkling water. Thank you Arthur and team. We were pleased with our many al la carte meals especially the delicious Lobster Entrees and Milena's top notch service. IceCreamBar close to the beach and the server made this a cheerful and fun stop.
“Campari on the rocks, two sparkling waters on the side”. BeachBar bartender Henry always showed a lot of class! Swimming Pool lovely, with many comfortable lounge areas and water depths, plus a juggling bartender, wow! Lounge/Bar manager Robert ... Right on!
GM Diego frequently seen around resort, always approachable with a good sense of humour, staying on top and in touch. We will definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern, comfortable, clean accomodations. Many rooms with unobstructed ocean or sea view. Wifi available in room and throughout resort. Staff/Service is extraordinaire.
The weak points
Poor acoustics in the main indoor areas.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, We would like for you to know that we are really pleased you had such a fabulous holiday with us. Every area and every service of our hotel is designed to provide a quality holiday experience, so we are always delighted when we receive confirmation this has been achieved. We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Loved it!

, Yarmouth, NS
2020-03-10
Nice new resort, friendly staff, and good food. Lester @ the air rifle was fun. Had a really good time here and would highly recommend it. Enjoyed the paddle boats as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Japanese restaurant was really good. Excellent entertainment.
The weak points
Paying for WiFi, but seems to be the norm for Cuba.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Dear Peter We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays. Amazing locations, professional staff, cleanliness and excellent standards of gastronomy are very important elements of our company and reading that you found them to your liking is brilliant news. Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Fantastic Resort

, Tecumseh, ON
2020-03-06
This was my first trip to an Iberostar and my second trip to Cuba. This was one of our favorite trips to date and we have been to Mexico several times, and the DR.
As many have said, the resort itself stands above the rest. Beautiful, well groomed yards and gardens, very modern rooms, very clean. The beds were comfortable, the water was warm with good pressure and the facilities were equally clean and cared for.
We had to have a small issue with our rooms rectified at the onset of the trip. The person in charge at the front desk, a woman, was amazing. Her only concern was that we were happy. She wasn't satisfied until we were.
The food, although limited for certain items on certain days, was excellent. People need to realize that at certain times of the year, no one can get certain items in Cuba. It isn't the resort's fault. But they had lobster that was fabulous at the Mediterranean, and a decent variety at the buffet. The food was warm and well cooked. We loved the Japanese restaurant as well.
Initially, the pools were as warm as the ocean but after a couple of cooler days, they cooled off. You could sit at the farther pool where it was quieter or be near the bar where the games took place. The option was nice. A special shout out to “Tiger” … the pool bartender. Tiger…you should be on a talent show. Juggling bottles and cups….catching ice cubes with tongs. You were amazing.
I'll call the smaller ocean beach the lagoon for simplicity. The lagoon ocean water was fine, but for the full authentic beach experience, you simply had to go for a 10 minute walk to the beach across the bridge or take a shuttle car (cart). There was a small bar over at the larger beach as well as free paddle boats and catamaran rides (but do bring a tip for these hard working people). We loved the burgers and ice cream at the lagoon beach snack shack. Snorkeling was fantastic. Lots of fish and sea creatures. One day was wavy. No snorkeling but great fun in the waves.
We never watched any of the shows. We did sit and listen to the Spanish/Cuban band outside on the patio one evening and that was fantastic; just a little too short as they only sang for 30 to 45 min. We could have sat and listened to them all evening.
I like to leave some ideas in feedback so these aren't complaints…just ideas. Because of the location of this resort, at least at the time of year we went, there was some strong wind most days. At the pool, it would be fantastic if they put up some type of barrier to block the wind on the side facing the ocean (which you can't see from the pool anyway). That would have made the cooler days so much more enjoyable.
We go to Cuba for the culture. They had people playing the piano in the lobby as well as other instruments, but they were North American songs. It would be so much nicer to have an authentic Cuban band playing every evening for an hour or two that you could go and listen to after dinner.
Finally, this is a larger resort. So be prepared to do a lot of walking or a little waiting for a ride. We never had to wait more than five minutes. If the resort ever has the money to do so, a suggestion would be to add a side walk all the way along the path that already exists. Keep the current path just for the carts, and use the new path for those walking. The cart drivers are very good at slowing right down when a person is walking but this causes a lot of stopping and starting. With a second, skinnier path, those walking would be out of harm's way and the carts could move along better to serve more people.
And that's my lengthy review. We will definitely return. Helpful staff, amazing beach, good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The far beach, the modern facilities, cleanliness
The weak points
seems to be a constant wind coming on shore (minor weak point)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear guest, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Ibostar selection

, North York, ON
2020-03-06
Excellent resort service food and very clean rooms. Heading back in June 2020 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms and service excellent and food was good
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Gerard, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at our hotel. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests can appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our daily efforts aim to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort while soaking up the unique atmosphere. Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Will be back

, Saint Leonard, QC
2020-02-08
Enjoyed the week. Great place to snorkel. Would come back. Wi-Fi is best near lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort with lots of flowers and birds. Loved pool area. Pleasant surprise to hear tiny bells in the evening - Cuban crickets!
The weak points
Lots of coral rocks near beach shore.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Adele, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Iberostar Holguin

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-06
We liked this hotel very much. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The food was very repetitive so 2 weeks was too long to stay here. The meat was not butchered properly so most of the time it was tough. There was not much of a selection for fruit or vegetables - it was mostly pumpkin or eggplant, watermelon and oranges. No fresh potatoes or carrots. Most of the vegetables and fruit was canned. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, beautiful grounds. A la carte restaurants were ok but the Japanese was our favourite.
The weak points
Although they claim most of the guests are Canadian, there were only 2 English speaking channels on TV AND both of them news - CNN and BBC news. There were Spanish of course, French stations, Chinese, Russian but no English movies
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Shirley, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-28
Loved it! Will definitely be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, not overcrowded. Wonderful staff. Good food. Great pools & beaches.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-25
Dear guest, First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. The entire team is not only genuinely friendly, but is also given continuous training of best service and working practices. We are therefore very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a wonderful impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Cuban Trip

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-27
Hotel was great,very clean and staff was friendly. The buffet was terrible with very little variety. Thank goodness for pasta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and the pool
The weak points
The buffet and the beach
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-25
Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024