Iberostar Selection Holguin

Iberostar Selection Holguin
4.224.224.224.224.22
4.22 based on 73 reviews
#2 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (68)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Tied for best (with Pullman,Cayo Coco) in Cuba!!

, Québec, QC
2020-03-21
Great Resort!! Staff is very professional, nothing that they wouldn't do to make sure that visitors are comfortable and happy! Restaurants are top notch, best in Cuba so far!! Wifi access everywhere!! Everything is very clean and the resort is spread out on a huge property providing lots of space for everyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, Firstly we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience with us. We are really happy to read your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure splendid vacations for our guests. Once more we thank you for this complimentary review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Excellent Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-03-20
We enjoyed our 2 week stay here, hands down!
Front desk check-in and greeting was very professional, friendly and fast. Assigned room was so comfortable and modern with wifi service, USB charging station, and a spectacular ocean view! An additional screened patio door made it perfect for us to enjoy the ocean breeze anytime! Housekeeper Yanelis, kept our room immaculate with all amenities supplied. Accommodations Director Nestor was always present, very personable, helpful, assuring complete guest satisfaction.
The ocean front expansive, having two very diverse beach areas. First beach, close by, shallow and nicely sheltered from surf on windy days. Second beach, further, clear water and absolutely fabulous for snorkelling and water sports. Electric cart shuttle always available and convienant to take us where we wanted. We enjoyed our 4 km, safe, leisure walks along the public pathway of the beautiful Pesquero Beaches.
Dining room host Uranemi, polite and helpful with our menu selections and reservations. Food of excellent Cuban fare! The good variety of fresh buffet selections and cooking stations were very appealing and tasty. Yainet ready with our morning coffee and glass of sparkling water. Thank you Arthur and team. We were pleased with our many al la carte meals especially the delicious Lobster Entrees and Milena's top notch service. IceCreamBar close to the beach and the server made this a cheerful and fun stop.
“Campari on the rocks, two sparkling waters on the side”. BeachBar bartender Henry always showed a lot of class! Swimming Pool lovely, with many comfortable lounge areas and water depths, plus a juggling bartender, wow! Lounge/Bar manager Robert ... Right on!
GM Diego frequently seen around resort, always approachable with a good sense of humour, staying on top and in touch. We will definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern, comfortable, clean accomodations. Many rooms with unobstructed ocean or sea view. Wifi available in room and throughout resort. Staff/Service is extraordinaire.
The weak points
Poor acoustics in the main indoor areas.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, We would like for you to know that we are really pleased you had such a fabulous holiday with us. Every area and every service of our hotel is designed to provide a quality holiday experience, so we are always delighted when we receive confirmation this has been achieved. We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Loved it!

, Yarmouth, NS
2020-03-10
Nice new resort, friendly staff, and good food. Lester @ the air rifle was fun. Had a really good time here and would highly recommend it. Enjoyed the paddle boats as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Japanese restaurant was really good. Excellent entertainment.
The weak points
Paying for WiFi, but seems to be the norm for Cuba.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-23
Dear Peter We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays. Amazing locations, professional staff, cleanliness and excellent standards of gastronomy are very important elements of our company and reading that you found them to your liking is brilliant news. Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Fantastic Resort

, Tecumseh, ON
2020-03-06
This was my first trip to an Iberostar and my second trip to Cuba. This was one of our favorite trips to date and we have been to Mexico several times, and the DR.
As many have said, the resort itself stands above the rest. Beautiful, well groomed yards and gardens, very modern rooms, very clean. The beds were comfortable, the water was warm with good pressure and the facilities were equally clean and cared for.
We had to have a small issue with our rooms rectified at the onset of the trip. The person in charge at the front desk, a woman, was amazing. Her only concern was that we were happy. She wasn't satisfied until we were.
The food, although limited for certain items on certain days, was excellent. People need to realize that at certain times of the year, no one can get certain items in Cuba. It isn't the resort's fault. But they had lobster that was fabulous at the Mediterranean, and a decent variety at the buffet. The food was warm and well cooked. We loved the Japanese restaurant as well.
Initially, the pools were as warm as the ocean but after a couple of cooler days, they cooled off. You could sit at the farther pool where it was quieter or be near the bar where the games took place. The option was nice. A special shout out to “Tiger” … the pool bartender. Tiger…you should be on a talent show. Juggling bottles and cups….catching ice cubes with tongs. You were amazing.
I'll call the smaller ocean beach the lagoon for simplicity. The lagoon ocean water was fine, but for the full authentic beach experience, you simply had to go for a 10 minute walk to the beach across the bridge or take a shuttle car (cart). There was a small bar over at the larger beach as well as free paddle boats and catamaran rides (but do bring a tip for these hard working people). We loved the burgers and ice cream at the lagoon beach snack shack. Snorkeling was fantastic. Lots of fish and sea creatures. One day was wavy. No snorkeling but great fun in the waves.
We never watched any of the shows. We did sit and listen to the Spanish/Cuban band outside on the patio one evening and that was fantastic; just a little too short as they only sang for 30 to 45 min. We could have sat and listened to them all evening.
I like to leave some ideas in feedback so these aren't complaints…just ideas. Because of the location of this resort, at least at the time of year we went, there was some strong wind most days. At the pool, it would be fantastic if they put up some type of barrier to block the wind on the side facing the ocean (which you can't see from the pool anyway). That would have made the cooler days so much more enjoyable.
We go to Cuba for the culture. They had people playing the piano in the lobby as well as other instruments, but they were North American songs. It would be so much nicer to have an authentic Cuban band playing every evening for an hour or two that you could go and listen to after dinner.
Finally, this is a larger resort. So be prepared to do a lot of walking or a little waiting for a ride. We never had to wait more than five minutes. If the resort ever has the money to do so, a suggestion would be to add a side walk all the way along the path that already exists. Keep the current path just for the carts, and use the new path for those walking. The cart drivers are very good at slowing right down when a person is walking but this causes a lot of stopping and starting. With a second, skinnier path, those walking would be out of harm's way and the carts could move along better to serve more people.
And that's my lengthy review. We will definitely return. Helpful staff, amazing beach, good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The far beach, the modern facilities, cleanliness
The weak points
seems to be a constant wind coming on shore (minor weak point)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear guest, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Ibostar selection

, North York, ON
2020-03-06
Excellent resort service food and very clean rooms. Heading back in June 2020 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms and service excellent and food was good
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Gerard, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at our hotel. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests can appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our daily efforts aim to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort while soaking up the unique atmosphere. Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Will be back

, Saint Leonard, QC
2020-02-08
Enjoyed the week. Great place to snorkel. Would come back. Wi-Fi is best near lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort with lots of flowers and birds. Loved pool area. Pleasant surprise to hear tiny bells in the evening - Cuban crickets!
The weak points
Lots of coral rocks near beach shore.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Adele, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Iberostar Holguin

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-06
We liked this hotel very much. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The food was very repetitive so 2 weeks was too long to stay here. The meat was not butchered properly so most of the time it was tough. There was not much of a selection for fruit or vegetables - it was mostly pumpkin or eggplant, watermelon and oranges. No fresh potatoes or carrots. Most of the vegetables and fruit was canned. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, beautiful grounds. A la carte restaurants were ok but the Japanese was our favourite.
The weak points
Although they claim most of the guests are Canadian, there were only 2 English speaking channels on TV AND both of them news - CNN and BBC news. There were Spanish of course, French stations, Chinese, Russian but no English movies
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Shirley, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-28
Loved it! Will definitely be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, not overcrowded. Wonderful staff. Good food. Great pools & beaches.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-25
Dear guest, First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. The entire team is not only genuinely friendly, but is also given continuous training of best service and working practices. We are therefore very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a wonderful impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

Cuban Trip

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-27
Hotel was great,very clean and staff was friendly. The buffet was terrible with very little variety. Thank goodness for pasta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and the pool
The weak points
The buffet and the beach
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-25
Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguin

PERFECT PARADISE

, Pierrefonds, QC
2019-12-31
rooms are very clean and comfortable beds, staff are very friendly , beach and bars for refills everywhere ( bring bubba mugs for refills and scubba gear ) pool is also very very nice with a inner pool bar , cabaret show every night was amazing performance, food is great , buffet style, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good family resort, very clean and activities and shows every night, lots of drinks , refills and very good staff, beautiful resort , food is great, very very recommended for families , good place to relax and enjoy everything !!!!!
The weak points
perfect place to relax but not recommended if you want to party ( night life ) bars and refils closes at 10,30pm-11pm and nothing after
Certified

Lovely Resort -- Beach is the Bomb!

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-17
The Iberostar Selection Holguin is a lovely resort. We had a great time. The beach is just lovely, but beware of the sand fleas, definitely spray with DEET before lounging! The sheltered bay is the perfect spot for lounging and enjoying the warm, calm waters. Venture over to the "sport beach" for bigger waves, sailing and the best paddle boats I have ever used.
Skip the specialty restaurants, except for the steak house (do not order steak, though, Cubans do not know how to butcher beef!) and eat in the buffet, you'll be much happier with the fare there.
Check out the Cigar bar, called Aroma. Nella, the bartender there makes a mean whiskey sour and there is hardly ever anyone in there smoking!
We loved this resort because it was so, so, so quiet. The grounds are lovely and the staff is top-notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is immaculate and the staff is very friendly. Our oceanview room was awesome -- if we had been any closer to the beach we would have been tenting on the beach! Bungalow 26 is the spot!
The weak points
We figured out day 3 that the pepper imparts a horrible rancid taste to food. Steer clear of the pepper shakers, and you're good to go!
Certified

Good for Families with Young Children

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-10
This hotel is about an hour scenic drive from Holguin airport. The resort was recently built and includes modern design elements, a pool, a children's splash pad, several on-site restaurants, a bar, a buffet, a cigar lounge, a theatre, and a separate adults-only section. There is access to the beach on-site as well as another larger beach within walking distance (a shuttle is available too). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are all friendly and ready to help in any way possible. Being relatively new, the resort is not overcrowded, with plenty of space and resources available. My child loved the large pool, the beaches and evening kids activities.
The weak points
Bathrooms sinks are top mounted, so too high for young / shorter children to access. Good variety of food, but a bit bland for us. The purchased wi-fi frequently disconnects. Internet from the local cell carrier was also slow.
Certified

Iberostar Holguín

, Searchmont, ON
2019-02-16
When we first arrived there was confusion, we stood in line for over 30 minutes to check in only to find out we were to go to star prestige. Once at the lobby for star prestige an entirely different area, we were greeted quickly and taken care of. Our room was perfect, butler eager to please. We pretty much had the prestige adults only area to ourselves. The restaurants were wonderful, top rated food. We wanted for nothing we only had to ask. The staff was great, and eager to please. Loved our stay. The star prestige was well worth the extra dollar. New hotel so not crowded at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020