Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

4.014.014.014.014.01
Iberostar Selection Ensenachos
#3 of 23 hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
4.01 based on 1058 reviews
Traveller pictures (253)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great vacation

, Richmond, BC
2019-11-29
We liked almost everything except darkness in most area. Very few lights, which makes hard to enjoy evening hours. Other than that , no complaints. Food was well- done. We liked very much friendliness of stuff. Show every evening was also well- organized. But most impression we had from the ocean. That was the best water and beach we ever seen and we been in at least in few other tropic countries to compare. Common area was clean. Surprisingly no insects so we slept with opened window and balcony.
Thank You so much!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-02
Dear Natalia, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Aug 15 to 22 2019

, Blackstock, ON
2019-08-30
Wonderful time service could have been better though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-09-06
Dear Chad, We want you to know that your review is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback regarding the concern you raise on board as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

It was good

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-07
This resort is one of the nicest ones in Cuba and we have been in Cuba over 20 times. From the food to the beach we were pleasantly surprised.
We stayed at the spa side, as it was newly renovated and for adults only. Initially we were put on the wrong side of the resort, not the spa section and It took the reception the whole day to put us in the spa section, but we did not let that bother us.
The buffet food was very good. The only negative would be espresso that was not good.
The food at the Mediterranean restaurant was also very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-10
Cher Sylvain, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes heureux de constater que vous avez apprécié les prestations de notre hôtel Iberostar Selection Ensenachos. Nous apprécions que vous nous ayez fait part de vos observations qui nous permettent de nous adapter au mieux aux exigences de nos hôtes. Encore une fois, nous vous remercions énormément pour votre temps et nous sommes impatients de vous recevoir de nouveau très prochainement. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Nice

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-07
We had the good fortune of an oceanfront room and the view was spectacular and relaxing. I thank Iberostar for providing such a beautiful suite to us. The huge suite had a kitchenette, powder room, dining and living room, large bedroom, full bathroom and a large and very private terrace with a full-size jacuuzzi that we spent hours in. The jacuzzi even had a cool light show in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-15
Dear Donna, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to exceed your expectations with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. It is therefore very satisfying for us that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Iberostar ensenachos

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-27
We arrived after dark, so it was hard to get an immediate feel for the resort overall, but first impressions of the lobby and buffet restaurant are very positive. While the buildings are indeed nice, they are largely hidden by the surprisingly mature vegetation.
Typically, we do not spend a great deal of time at the pool, as we would rather be at the beach, but the main pool (there are several smaller pools) is very nice and has a swim-up bar; in addition, the restaurant that serves lunch is located near the main pool as well. It became a great place to spend the afternoon...have some lunch, take a swim, have a drink.
Overall, I cannot imagine that there is another resort in Cuba that can match everything that this resort offers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice people nice stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-27
This was our 2nd stay at this resort, the fist was just after hurricane Irma hit in the fall of 2017. Clearly, they have done extensive and caring work to the vegetation and grounds. The site is beautiful and well cured. Flowers abound and smell really good.Food. Well, if you manage your expectations, then life is great. You will not go hungry, but may face some issues. We saw the following: yogurt not available for several days, some fruit (papayas) not always there, even pepper not available at omelette stations for a few days. Internet: wow! Major improvement from Feb. 2018. While downloading my daily paper in 2018 was a 5 minute thing, Feb. 2019 was a mere 30-seconds deal. Not far from the 8-10 seconds at home. At 1 CUC per hour, internet access is comfortable.Overall, a very nice stay and we would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Noce to be back

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-30
This was our 2nd stay at this resort, the first was just after hurricane Irma hit in the fall off 2017. Cleary, they have done extensive and caring work to the vegetation and grounds. The site is is beutiful and well cured. Flowers abound and smell really good. Food, well if you manage your expectations then life is great. You will not hungry, but many face some issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Was OK

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
Megano and Ensenachos beaches are beautifull but you have to get up early to get a chair. We opted to go later in the day and usually found empty chairs. I would like to say thaks to their customer service department, their help me with some needs that we had regarding dinner reservations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Horrible resort

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-04-03
It was totally disgusting from the start of our stay til we left....it is more a 1 star. The food was terrible, even cockroaches crawling on the buns and bread, lettuce, tomatoes etc were never there. We got one beach towel the whole week. The bank was never open. The employees are VERY unhappy. No music by the pool at all. Local talent for a couple of hours at night. The resort smelt like crap everywhere. 11 of us there and all disappointed. We have traveled all over and our first negative experience....will never return to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wow Ensenachos

, Duncan, BC
2019-03-31
Beauté et service client,
Ne cherchez plus l'endroit parfait pour rien, il est là. Tout notre séjour a été parfait: hôtel, plage, nourriture. La beauté, le luxe et la plus belle plage de Cuba. Que dire du service et du sourire du personnel de l'hôtel...WOW, le personnel des relations publiques est unique, merci Geysi et Katia. Dépêchez-vous tandis que cet hôtel est encore abordable car il ne le sera pas longtemps. Ne le dites pas à tout le monde je compte bien y retourner! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Excellent visit again

, Barrie, ON
2019-03-31
Our welcome back to Iberostar Ensenachos was outstanding. Thanks to Room division manager Jaime and Customer service Geysi. Our lunches complete with cold Cristal yummy food and my favorite Ice Cream. Over all food very good at all meals. The beach is one of the best. The rooms Spa side are clean and comfortable. The staff at all locations are great Iberostar Ensenachos is in my opinion a 5 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

A nice stay once again!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-07
It was our second stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, in a Spa section. We visited Cuba many times already, but last year it was for the first time at this resort. What we really enjoyed was a beatiful long beach, very nice landscaping of the grounds, good food for Cuba and friendly staff always ready to help. As the resort is located in a small bay, the ocean is calm there and very enjoyable for swimming. The downfall is that comparing to a previous year there was shortage of gazebos on the beach.
The resort and especially rooms were very clean, no problems with hot water at all like we experienced in other resorts. We will return to this resort next year for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall cleanliness of the resort, including restaurants Beatiful beach, not crowded Accommodating staff Landscaping
The weak points
Shortage of gazebos on the beach
Certified

Iberostar

, Toronto, HA
2019-01-28
Overall it's a nice resort. Depending on where your room is, it can be a bit of a walk to either the main lobby, pool, or beach. They do have staff to shuttle you from these locations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches were AMAZING. The rooms were spacious and clean.
The weak points
Signs weren't properly marked as to where beaches were. Never enough lounge chairs around the pool area. The beaches should have more huts and lounge chairs. Took 3 attempts to get fresh towels. Too many kids. We asked for a wake up call, never got it
Certified

Excellent hotel

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-27
I`ve been at this hotel a few years ago with my aunt. It was recommended to us by the travel agent that has already received great reviews from her other customers that she had sent to this hotel. The beach is one of the best if not the best one I`ve seen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room, the beach, the staff.
The weak points
Not being careful if notified of allergies to certain foods (it was my case).

Christmas and New Years at Iberostar Ensenachos

, Greenfield Park, QC
2019-01-04
We were there for both Christmas and New Years Eve. Both events provided exceptional food experiences. Other days the seafood and or fish served at the main buffet grill were excellent and always fresh, however there was limited bread products (flour shortage we were told) and the food although prepared in a decent manner has no taste. There are no sauces for the chicken or fresh roasts made daily. The Megano Beach is very nice but the main walkway was out of service, The Ensenatchos beach requires a trolley ride and there were not many trolleys going back and forth. The hotel needs updating - lobby- no ceiling fans so it gets warm in the main area. Rooms and bathrooms need a makeover
This hotel is about the beautiful beaches and its devoted and engaged staff who work very hard and want to please their guests.They made our vacation memorable.
If this is your first time visit to Cuba and the Cayo Santa Maria area you will enjoy your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Workers- are engaged and work hard- beach Megano is beautiful clean - but the walkway at 21 -22 was out of service.so we had a long walk to 41 -42 to use other walkway. Beach service and drinks excellent, coffee and wine excellent at buffet and lobby bar,
The weak points
Hotel needs updating main buildings & guest rooms- bathrooms poor lighting is poor & toilet area too small - all bedding and pillowcases bad smell of wet laundry - elevator lobby out of service, main buffet ceiling Grill fans dripped grease onto the cook
Certified

Fabulous beaches

, Long Sault, ON
2018-12-12
Overall stay was very nice. The staff are super friendly and service was great. The beaches here (Ensenachos and Megano) are the nicest beaches I've experienced in the Caribbean - albeit the amenities at Ensenachos are very limited. Food was good overall - has lobster, shrimp, calamari and other fresh fish. Keep in mind this is Cuba - it's not Le Cordon Bleue. Our room was very spacious and everything worked. Balconies are huge! Overall this hotel is definitely worth the money. The biggest letdown was the main boardwalk to beach was broken and was closed for use. Therefore to get to beach you either had a very long walk or had to take golf cart. They should get this fixed like yesterday as it is a main draw for the hotel.Apparently it had been broken for a while. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, and friendly staff
The weak points
Overall size is huge.
Certified

Beautiful vacation

, Montréal, QC
2018-11-18
A week ago we have returned from 11 nights vacation in Iberostar Ensenachos- Cuba.
It was our 3 trip to that resort and we still to plan return for next year.
There are the most beautiful two beaches-Megano and Ensenachos, great service, friendly staff, nice rooms, and really good food! (Honestly, it was unsuspected.)
We chose that hotel because of the location, which is for us the first and most important thing.
Anyone, who wants to walk along a white, long sandy beach, spends time in the shallow, clear and quiet sea water, snorkeling if you wish, that is the place!
Plus, wifi is not only in lobby but also in bungalows!
Of course, they are also some drawbacks.
Two platform-bridges leading to the beach needs some serious repair, hopefully, it's going to be done in the low tourist season. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Beautiful Beaches and Water, Good Week.

, Mississauga, ON
2018-06-27
Stayed here with my wife and daughter, April 4 to 11. We had a crazy start to the vacation with our airplane wheels getting frozen to the tarmac and our bus breaking down 100m from the hotel. But, the check in was fast. I changed my money, booked the "a la Carte" restaurants and I got 8 hours of internet for my daughter, all within 30 mins of checking in. Not bad. My daughter did survive the de-Internetization during this week so there is hope for us all:).

We have been to Iberostar hotels 8 times, 6 times in Cuba. This was our first time in Cayo Ensenachos. I think they have kept it to the standard of other Iberostar hotels in general.

Food: I thought the buffet was good with a number of options. The Pirata (Mediterranean restaurant) and Azia restaurants were good. The Cuban one had an off night. The beach restaurant on Megano was good as well. I ate chicken all week. No issues.

Room: Park Suites, building 38. Large, clean, cool, shower water pressure was iffy at times, watch the controls, they are backward on one side. Maids did a good job. No issues.

Bars: Good service all around, liked the beach, lifeguards, and bartenders on Megano. My wife always asks for the top shelf and gets it. The Beer was wet, so I was happy.

Beaches: Tried both, but we preferred Megano. First impressions on Megano will confuse you. Give it a chance. The shrubs are for protecting the erosion of the beach, I think. The towel game to save a seat (palapas) is in full swing. 6:30 is the latest you need to be down to pick your choice. I saw people down at 5:00 a.m. The beach is empty until 9 or so, it was nice to have it all to myself for a while. The Water was beautiful and the colours were wonderful.

Bugs: Hit or miss, bring spray. They loved me so I had lots of bites, my wife had none.

Cubans: Nice, hard working people, met some wonderful personalities on the beach and in the bars.

Americans: I spotted a bunch of them. They were having a blast. They were on a “Cultural Exchange” where they had to document their experiences and then tell people back in the US about Cuba. So, it has begun.

Tipping: I noticed the tipping was not as required as it was in the past. Appreciated but not necessary. I tip for good service, not just for service.

Snorkeling: Not the greatest but there are some things to see. The wreck on Megano is cool. Watch the current in the morning, go out when it's low tide, on the right side of the beach.

Hotel: This place is large, so get ready for a 10-30 min walk wherever you want to go.

Overall, the only thing I did not like was the layout. I just thought it was poorly conceived but that is not Iberostar's fault. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful resort

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-06-15
This resort is a really nice resort....with a few minor flaws.
First...Some of the boards for the walkway to the Megano beach are broken and need to be fixed. The pathways at night are dark, not enough lighting.
The quiet pool in the Spa section needs more shade. A beautiful pool but shade wise there is very little.
The food for me was so so. Even the A La Cartes. A lot of flies at the A La Carte restaurants. And the Buffet had birds flying around. And if you sat by the windows, there was bird poop on them.
The resort itself is wonderful. It is very spread out so seems quiet large. A lot of walking.
The Megano beach is beautiful. Lots of shade and lots of chairs anytime. A wonderful walk along the beach is a must.
I would recommend this resort to anyone. Just be prepared for some walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach here was what made our vacation. We are beach people and this was at the top of our list.
The weak points
The food for me were the weak points.

Cayo Santa Maria - IBEROSTAR ENSENACHOS

, Brampton, ON
2018-06-10
Overall very good resort, good staff, facilities, nice beaches.............. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Resort, Good Staff, facilities, beaches
The weak points
Far from city or historical tourist places, due to weather little lake of cleanness, Internet is available in lobby only for which you have to pay.
Certified

I don't recommend this resort.

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-28
Poor food choices, very ignorant personal. I would not recommend this resort and would not come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our Best Cuba Vacation

, Moncton, HA
2018-03-26
This was our third Cuba Vacation, our first at this resort. This resort was by far the best. We had previously gone to resorts where we had paid for Royal Service and this resort went way beyond what we had received in the other resorts. The two beaches were simply perfect. Where else can you you be served chilled champagne placed in a Bucket with two champagne glasses on the Beach. THe sand was so soft and beaches very clean and the water was so clear.
The A la carte restaurants we went, were very good as well as the Buffet where I had never seen such a selection of food with several grilling areas that the chefs would prepare your selection to your liking. Lobster, calamari, lagostines, Mussels, etc...
We would like to mention a few employees that we found examplary. Yandry, server in the Ventana Buffet and Lidice at the reception desk. Lidice made sure our room was the best we could get. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We feel like we had paid for Royal Service. Very friendly and kind staff always willing to help. The evening entertainment was excellent , very entertaining and enjoyable. The food was excellent and the variety was way beyond what we expected.
The weak points
This was not a big isssue but the furniture and mattresses looked a little tired and could be changed.
Certified

Cuban princess experience

, Trent River, ON
2018-03-18
This visit was my 5th to Cuba. 4 times to this resort. I can't image going anywhere else. Best beach I have ever been on. Friendly, happy, accommodating staff and a fantastic experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service. Megano Beach Bar and Grill service is top notch. Camilo, Yadia, Salvador and their co-workers remembered me, treated me with the upmost kindness and service. Love them.
The weak points
Late checkout showers routines need to be more established. It seems to be a work in progress for them. It doesn't need to be fancy... it just needs to be readily available!
Certified

Iberostar Resort

, Caledon, ON
2018-03-07
I visited the Iberostar Ensenachos Feb 24th - March 3rd, this was my 3rd visit to this resort. The first two times I stayed I had nothing but good things to say about this resort. The food was delicious, the service was great, people were very friendly, our room was clean every day, fresh towels and sheets.

This time around I was disappointed, and expected it to be the same as the first two times I was there, but it was not. The ladies washroom at the family pool was down all week, and had to use the men's bathroom. The toilets in the main lobby did not flush, and the cleaning woman had to use a bucket of water to flush the toilets, which was gross, as people would do their business in there, and you had to walk into that before it was flushed away. Our bed sheets in our room, were not changed all week, how we knew that is that the bottom sheet was stained in between the pillows, and we checked it everyday, and the same sheet was still on the bed all week.

The food at the buffet resturaunt was not as good as it was the last time I was there, the left over dinners and breakfasts were on the menu, did not look fresh. There wash hardly any fruit, the bread was hard as rocks.

I realize they were hit with a devasting hurricane, and they did a very good job of the clean up to make the hotel presentable, but they were lacking in many other things. We complained about the type of beer left in our beer fridge, requested Cystal, but never received it. They kept delivering Bucanero which is not good beer. The A La Cartes were very delicious, but could only go three 3 times in a week. If I had it my way, I would have chosen a different one every night, as the food was better there, than in the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach were beautiful, pool area was clean, staff very friendly and nice, the entertainment in the lobby every night was good.
The weak points
Washrooms not very clean, toilets not working properly,

Ensenachos resort

, Woodstock, ON
2018-02-23
Overall great hotel, remarkable recovery after hurricane Irma. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent a la carte restaurants!! Fabulous beaches! excellent service!
The weak points
some mosquitos so bring some bug spray.
Certified

A wonderful week at any level

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-14
We had visited Cayo Santa Maria for a wedding a couple of years ago so we were familiar with the region but this time we chose the Iberostar Ensenachos over Melia Las Dunas, which is just a little further along on a different key. The layout of the two resorts is very similar, though it feels like the Ensenachos is may just a little bit grander. Both have their advantages.
We were very happy with our first room in the regular section of the resort but decided to upgrade to the Spa section only because we were across from the kids pool and we preferred the adults only section. The second room we had was just about exactly the same - very nice and well cared for by Anye every day, with whom we exchanged daily notes and left maple candies along with our tip and she made cute towel origami for us.
We fell in love with staff from both the day and evening shifts in the lobby and in the main buffet restaurant - especially Yaima and Yuri (and his wife, Daily) who gave us great attention and super friendly service. One morning, seeing what looked like grapefruit juice on a nearby table, I asked Yaima if we might have a grapefruit juice. She said she wasn't sure if there was any but went off to find out. They ended up finding a few grapefruits and hand-juicing them for us. It turns out that what our neighbours were drinking was merely pale-coloured orange juice!
The food at the buffet was mostly very good with lots of variety (though maybe avoid the butter - there's something just not right there!)
The main beach was gorgeous, though a bit more sheltered than Melia Las Dunas so if you prefer a bit more rolling surf you might consider that resort. After a couple of days we found that the Playa Ensenachos - a little further along (either a ride in the combi or a decent-length walk) - was a little nicer and less populated so a bit easier to find a spot with some shade option.
For our last two days, we decided to do the ultimate upgrade to the Grand Village, which is out well past the Playa Ensenachos - quite a distance from the main building. But it has its own modest main building with a temporary bar and connecting to the pool and outdoor breakfast area through the restaurant. Our accommodation there was HUGE with a jacuzzi tub on the back deck, which was very private. We had our own majordomos assigned to us - Michel and Yurema - who were both very friendly and professional. The accommodation came with TWO bathrooms and slightly better amenities including stuff that's common to most N.A. hotel rooms like sewing kits and lighted make up mirrors, etc. It also came with a lovely dining room table with seating for 6 and a kitchen with a large fridge (there was another in the bedroom), microwave, two-element stove top and proper kitchen sink/draining board. Oddly, it came with no pots, pans, dishes or utensils so I'm not really sure how you'd go about entertaining even if you wanted to!
The restaurant in the Grand Village is called the Coloniale. It's a beautiful room and quite intimate. Guests from any part of the resort can make a reservation there but - unlike any of the other á la carte restaurants on site - have to pay an additional 25 cp or so. Free reservations are included for guests in the Grand Village section and it's almost worth it just for that. The service was lovely and unlike the (mostly) weak attempts at various international cuisines in the other spots (the Teppanyaki restaurant was appallingly bad), the Coloniale actually seems to have a talented chef with some good ideas and attention to details like presentation. The steak was an actual, tender filet mignon and not a tough cut like the "roast beef" in the buffet.
One thing we liked about Melia Las Dunas was the kind of relaxed atmosphere in the "central village" past the main fountain, where there was a little ice cream "shop", a store and a kind of sports bar that was open late serving drinks and burgers and simple fare late into the night. If you're with a group of people (as we were when we were there) it was an ideal place to come together without the kind of formality of the lobby (though we often convened at the lobby bar too). But overall I think we preferred the Iberostar Ensenachos for a number of tiny reasons and we are already planning to return there next year! We would recommend any of the three levels.
We couldn't afford the Grand Village for our whole stay but it was very nice. You are a bit isolated there so you'd likely want to venture back to the main building a few times over the course of a week or two and, while it is the best restaurant at the resort, the menu at the Coloniale is limited enough that you couldn't eat there every day. The only other thing worth mentioning is that while you will see lots of little lizards in the main part of the resort, don't be surprised when you get to the Grand Village and find a 25 pound iguana in the middle of the path. They're not dangerous or anything but it can be a bit of a shock at first! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great, friendly service; great value, overall very good food.
The weak points
Should more emphasis on Cuban food. The Cuban a la carte option was booked solid so there is interest. The Italian and Asian options were just terrible. WiFi access is by paid card in the lobby only and not good.
Certified

One of the best vacations to date

, Teeswater, ON
2018-02-12
From the moment we arrived at the resort, we knew we had made a good choice by picking this resort. This was our fifth trip to Cuba but first time in Cayo Santa Maria. We had booked our rooms in the adults only section and it was worth the upgrade. Nothing against kids, but our group had decided that this was to be a relaxing vacation. Relaxing was exactly what we got. Everyone villa is surrounded by lush gardens and trees so even from our room (and our villa was next to the main building) you never saw people walking past. The pool area itself was also completely surrounded by a ring of trees and gardens. You only saw the people at the pool, not anyone walking the paths. Entertainment was typical Cuban but varied and good. Lobby entertainment at night was really good and varied. We never saw the same show twice. Food was excellent, lots of choice at the buffet. Great menu choices for the a-la-carte restaurants. Pool and beach restaurants/grills also had good menus and options. Our group treated ourselves to a combination massage/reflexology session at the spa mid-week. I would recommend this treat to anyone going here. Overall we were extremely satisfied and this resort has made it to the top of our list to go back to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds that were well maintained. Friendly staff. Food was excellent, not repetitive and lots of choice. Overall layout of resort, easy to navigate. Beautiful beaches, lots of chairs available, regardless of what time you got there.
The weak points
Bit of a walk to the beach. Lunch hours at the buffet could be a bit better (two hour window)
Certified

Amazing resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-06
Spent 10 days in the grand villas. Thanks to Yandry and the staff we had a remarkable stay. Do not have any negative comments. Clean rooms great food and friendly staff. This was our sixth stay and will be back next year. The hole resort was in the best shape we have ever seen it. After the hurricane they have done a great job. Yandry does make the difference with his dedication to details. And the staff are all like family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food . amazing beach. Clean rooms
The weak points
Buffet needs better variety
Certified

Great place

, Stoney Creek, ON
2018-01-23
The hotel has been renovated after IRMA and looks very clean. The staff is very friendly. The food was great (big variety of cheese, sea food, fish, meat, desserts) . Ensenachos beach is one of the most wonderful beaches I ever seen, with shallow waters and beautiful sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of food, friendly staff, spectacular beaches
Certified

Relaxing Spa

, Brampton, ON
2017-11-29
Great time spent at the Iberostar Ensenacho spa resort.
Excellent friendly,polite staff. Quick service to solve any maintenance issues and very friendly tourist. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?