Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

4.354.354.354.354.35
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 23 hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
4.35 based on 317 reviews
Traveller pictures (77)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Beautiful Beaches!

, Brampton, ON
2019-12-03
Decent for what we paid. Beaches were amazing. Pools were okay, but clean. Rooms were cute. No real ocean view which kind of sucked but close walk to beach. Didn't like the food! Super limited options. But I heard that's normal for Cuba. Staff are all very hard working. Went with a good group so it doesn't matter, company is all it takes to have a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Absolutely beautiful

, Markham, ON
2019-09-06
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The staff and management were wonderful and very friendly. We had a butler from the minute we got off the bus and they checked in with us Every morning to help us plan our day. If we needed anything I would just call him and he would call me back immediately. The grounds were clean and well kept with beautiful plants and flowers. The food was fine dining and very good. The beach was the best I've seen and I've been to many beaches. I would definitely go back to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing customer service!
The weak points
The rooms needs some repairs. Door don't close properly and cracks in the bottom of doors.

My 2 week at the Royalton, in Cayo Santa Maria!

, Richmondhill, ON
2019-08-29
This was my first trip at this hotel!
We were disappointed for the hotel, we wanted to go to a 5 Star Hotel, but this one is probably a 3 Star! It's really run down.
Everything also is good, like the people are amazing, the beach is the best I ever seen, the food is ok but not too many varieties, if you ask for the sheaf and you tip him you will get better meal! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and their service was excellent!
The weak points
The hotel needs badly renovation!!!
Certified

I would not return

, Cbs, NL
2019-05-24
The beach and ocean areas are amazing. However, the ease of your actual stay seems to depend very much in the butlers you are assigned. We were not assigned good ones - had to ask for things (coffee, water, wine) many times. The housekeeper, however, was excellent. We got sick from the food and the lack of food variety alone would prevent us from going back. We normally eat quite healthy but the food here is not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is the very best point, one of the most beautiful I've ever been on and not crowded; very clean rooms.
The weak points
Food at the resort is the worst point; mosquitoes are also very bad. Having to ask for things like water, coffee and wine for the room over and over before getting it.
Certified

Awesome service, beautiful resort!

, Terrebonne, QC
2019-03-10
We stayed at the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria from February 23 to March 2, 2019. This was our first time at this resort, and our 20th time in Cuba, having stayed at various resorts in Varadero, Cayo Coco, Cayo Largo, and Holguin in the past.

LOCATION: The grounds of the resort are beautiful, mature, and very well-maintained by the gardeners. The resort's buildings and furnishings are slightly showing some age, but nonetheless are very nice. Yes, the distance is an approximate 90-minute bus ride to and from the airport, but it is a pleasant guided ride with three towns that we pass through, then the 45 km drive along the causeway to reach the Cayos.

CHECK-IN: The experience was pleasant. The bell men immediately took care of our luggage. We were met by our wonderful butler, Diego, who invited us to take a seat in the comfortable lobby while he looked after the check-in process for us. We had arrived at the hotel around lunch time and our room wasn't ready. Diego gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us the snack bar where we could have lunch while our room was being prepared.

ROOM: Our room on the second floor of Bungalow 10 was clean and spacious. We were able to see the ocean above the next row of bungalows. There was a “Keurig-type” coffee machine with coffee pods stocked daily, sugar, etc. There were two coffee cups, four small glasses, and two Champagne flutes available. There was a flat screen TV with USB ports on the left side – convenient for charging electronics. Note that when the TV is turned off, the charging stops. The bed's mattress, linens and pillows were very comfortable. The closet held two extra blankets, an ironing board and iron, 2 bathrobes, 2 large umbrellas, and a digital safe that was large enough to store a tablet. The closet also had plenty of storage space for hanging, shelving and drawers. (I always pack extra hangers since I don't travel light and I find that there are never enough hangers anywhere I go). The fridge was stocked daily with beers and soft drinks. Large bottles of flat water were always replenished. The electrical outlets are 220V and there is a 110V (for razor only) in the bathroom. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower as well as a separate tub. The bathroom counter was long enough to contain our tons of toiletries. Note that it is very common for resorts in Cuba to not provide facecloths. This resort was no exception, and we always bring our own anyway. The balcony was furnished with nice wrought iron chairs with comfortable cushions and there was a small table. Everything in our room was in functioning order. The building was very quiet and we never heard any sounds coming from the other rooms. A suggestion would be to add wall-mounted clothes racks on balconies for guests to hang wet swimsuits, as there were none available (no big deal, but it would be a “nice to have”).

ROOM SERVICE: The service was very quick and efficient. We had our morning routine of ordering cappuccinos. One morning, a snack bar server knocked on our door with two cappuccinos that we had not yet phoned for – what terrific service!

RESTAURANTS: Tastes are subjective and therefore what one may like, another may not. It is important to have an opened mind when travelling. We agree that food is better in Mexico or the Dominican Republic, yet we travelled there in the past and we much prefer visiting Cuba. Why? The Cuban people are amazing, we feel safe to wander around in Cuba, the cigars are the best in the world, and the music is wonderful. Now that I got that out of the way, everything we ate was either good or very good. From the morning breakfasts in the restaurant or snack bar; to the lunches either at the restaurant, snack bar, barbecue grill, or pizzas by the lower pool; to the dinners at either of the two restaurants, the special langosta dinner at the snack bar, the amazing Gala Night buffet on Wednesday with a terrific assortment of pretty much everything including langosta, we always had a good meal. We did have access to the buffet and specialty restaurants at the sister resort, but based on Trip Adviser reviews, we felt it was best to remain at the Royalton for all of our meals.

BUTLERS: Our butlers were Diego and Liam. We were celebrating a birthday while there, and our butlers went above and beyond to ensure that it was special; from a champagne bubble bath, to a beautiful filet mignon and langosta dinner under one of the awnings at the upper pool area. They work very long hours, and are always seeking to ensure their guests are very well taken care of.

BEACH: The beach is beautiful with very soft sand; it is clean and raked daily. We found the beach here to be much nicer than that of Varadero. For snorkeling enthusiasts, there isn't much to see – mostly sand and a few fish here and there. The Royalton's beach has plenty of palapas and chairs. Drinks service at the beach is frequent and efficient. We never needed to walk over to the beach bar to get drinks. The beach bar's restrooms are clean and stocked with paper and soap (yet, the doors do not lock). The beach towel exchange takes place at the Activities booth.

POOLS: The upper and lower pools are beautifully designed and were clean. We spent one afternoon at the upper “quiet” pool, and never got around to spending time at the lower “activities” pool. This means we will need to go back to enjoy the lower pool!

NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT: Each night, the entertainment varied and was very professional and talented. Guests meet up at the lobby to enjoy the nightly shows. The lobby bar had a nice atmosphere each evening.

WELLNESS: The resort offered professional yoga classes daily given by Canadian instructors. The animation team also offered free of charge amazing hand and foot massages at the beach.

OVERALL SERVICE: The service from the entire team at the Royalton was exceptional! The General Manager, Cesar, was very present throughout the resort, and he took the time to speak with and listen to guests to ensure they were enjoying their holiday. The service here takes it up a notch compared to other 5 star or 4.5 star resorts we have visited in Cuba.

WATER SPORTS: The Royalton does not have a water sports area per say, but provides access to the facilities next door at the sister resort, Grand Memories. There were several Hobie Cat catamarans, pedal boats, and limited windsurfing equipment available. On some occasions, the Hobie Cat would come over to our section of the beach. Otherwise, it was a nice walk to Grand Memories to request to hop on a Hobie Cat ride.

PLAZA LA ESTRELLA SHOPPING AREA: The bank, shops, artisan stalls, spa, gym, bowling alley, etc. are literally located a few steps from the Royalton. Many other resorts require that their guests take a bus or cab to get there. The area is referred to as the “pueblo” or market. It's a nice place to take a stroll to buy souvenirs, rum, cigars, etc. There are a few restaurants $$ that we did not try. The pueblo also contains a theater whereby a Buena Vista Social Club show takes place on Monday nights. If you purchase tickets at the door, the cost is 40 CUC. We purchased our tickets onboard the Sunwing flight for $31 CAD. If you are a fan of Cuban music and want to see a show with past Grammy winners and nominees, I highly recommend this show. I also used the massage services at the spa. As Royalton guests, we receive a 20% discount. The massage therapist was very professional, the installations were very clean, and the overall experience was very nice.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, and we are looking forward to another visit in the near future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Amazing service by the entire staff -Beautiful beach -Great comfort -Quiet and great for relaxation -7 hours of free Wi-Fi
The weak points
None
Certified

Extremely Disapointed!!

, Orangeville, ON
2019-01-18
We were so looking forward to our vacation from Jan 6-13. Our first time at the Royalton and our 5th time visiting different parts of Cuba. I want to say we understand that Cuba is a very poor country and the people work very hard long hours. Our expectations are in check with the country we were visiting.

Our biggest issue with this resort was the restaurants. The service was the worst we have ever experienced. Our first dinner was infuriating. We started with our salad and then a family of six came in, it was obvious they were more important than any other table in the restaurant. They enjoyed specialty drinks from the bar, starters and now had the main course and were waiting for soup! All hands on deck for this table! The restaurant manager was useless and should be re-trained along with the staff. The reservations manager Arturo Martínez did his very best to make our dinner the best it could that night by having Kateia at the restaurant by the lower pool take care of us...thank you to both of you!

All I can say is that the majority of meals we had very poor, slow service and always most of the items on the menu weren't available. No bread for 3 days, no chicken, no hamburgers, no bacon. Once at breakfast we asked for bacon..brings eggs no bacon says it's cooking will be a little bit...keep in mind we're already waiting 15 minutes for eggs. He returns when we are done our eggs with one slice of bacon for two of us! Next day we ask do you have bacon she replies yes...she brings our eggs and informs us the bacon is frozen. We see the head chef come in, my husband asks do you have bacon? He replies yes and returns with a plate of bacon for our table and the table next to us because they've been told the same. Crazy!

Our first room was very musty smelling, we turned on the air and went for lunch to see if it would be better, it wasn't. Arturo Martínez had us relocated to a bungalow near the lobby and it was better! We were very happy with his assistance. He was wonderful during our stay and did his very best to make our trip better. Unfortunately, he is just one person.

I will say the bar service was good! They all knew how to make drinks! Except for the bar manager who took over the bar and had the bartender serving drinks...ridiculous! The beach bar and the pool bars provided good service! Especially the beach service was top notch! Two days we had quesadillas on the beach and they were quite tasty! Something they should offer on the lunch menu.

The beach and the pool were beautiful just as we had hoped for!!

We truly based our decision to go to this resort on the 5 star status it had. I have never been more disappointed then I was on this trip & we travel regularly. The amount charged for this resort is not in check with what you get! We will never return to this resort! Feel free to contact me with any questions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our review

, Ariss, ON
2019-01-11
Hotel a little tired but staff and service were excellent! Beach perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff service entertainment beach
The weak points
Needs some updating. Food quiet good but some items not available at some restaurants ... fresh vegetables, bread, condiments.
Certified

Xmas week 2018

, Orleans, ON
2019-01-01
I, unfortunately, was comparing this Royalton with the one in Riviera Maya and was definitely disappointed. I would not consider this a 5 star due to the condition of the room: closet and patio door very hard to open, missing plug for bathtub, bathroom smells like urine all the time, room needs new tiles and better pillows. But the service we got from our butlers was just amazing - Maria Rosa and Javier. All staff were polite and hospitable. I realized that I missed having a buffet, if you want something to eat, it is all a-la-carte. Although the buffet at Memories is open to us, it is still quite a walk or cart ride to get to and not easily accessible from the beach. I knew not to expect much for the food in Cuba but we thought if we chose a 5 star and a Canadian resort, we would get something better but not exactly. Unfortunately, the weather was not that great, very cloudy and windy which brought in seaweeds on the beach, both things that cannot be controlled. They did clean the beach everyday though. You can't go wrong with the ocean and the beach (white sand and aqua waters). The beach bar area has broken deck boards and one that was replaced but higher than the others and I stubbed my toe on it. They advertise 3 a-la-carte restaurants but two of them (Senses and Eggcellence) the menu is the same for both even though it changes everyday, they both have the same menu. The ride to the resort from the airport is at least 1.5 hours but the worst was arriving at the Santa Clara airport and going through customs, it took us over 1.5 hours standing in line waiting for them to let one person per line (no barriers so many lines were merging into other lines) to have their picture taken while the person behind the glass window took their sweet time verifying your passport. We had lost 3 hours with customs and transport to the resort !!! Never again !! We did love the entertainment which was in the lobby area and had different entertainers every few hours. The market is soo close to the resort, a 30 second walk from the lobby and felt safe. We took a cart to the a-la-carte at Memories and then walked back to the Royalton in the dark with no worries. I was glad that I brought my salad dressing from home (they only have oil and vinegar) and peanut butter and jam - they only have honey and cream cheese for toast. I was looking forward to croissants (this is the only time I eat them) but they did not have any at all. All in all it was an ok trip but not worth the money we spent at Xmas week (~$2000.00 each). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, many lounge chairs (no reserving needed), all staff are friendly, great entertainment (musicians and dancers), very quiet resort, great for relaxing. Water pressure was amazing with very hot water. 2 butlers that gave great service.
The weak points
rooms needs updating, food is just ok, no buffet just a-la-carte. Public washroom at the beach needs a new toilet seat and some how to dry hands (hand dryer not working - no paper towels available) same for the washroom at the pool.
Certified

Royalton

, Terrebonne, QC
2018-09-28
all good---food very bad, cold-no variety- they will be losing many future travellers because of there stupidity and lack of concern. this doesn't include that one day they have a product and the next they don't (this happens at every hotel)---the whole spa was broken--sauna and steam room...change your cdn. money at airport or bank. NOT AT RECEPTION. 10-15% XTRA. this was 4th and last time at royalton santa maria.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach-room-ok.-staff.
The weak points
food-no variety-
Certified

Our little piece of Paradis!

, Brossard, QC
2018-09-09
We have just returned from this hotel. We have travelled to various destinations in the Caribbean over the last 10 years and stayed at numerous 5 stars (Paradisus Punta Cana, Valentin Imperial Maya, Royal Suites Turquesa, Iberostar Rose Hall and Bahai principe Jamaica). Royalton outshines all these hotels with their impeccable service.

Room:
We were upgraded to a Cabana suite which was beautiful, spacious and amazingly clean. Although, there are things that remind you that this is still Cuba, some cracked tiles or some lack of paint. The room was impeccable. The beds were the most comfortable of all our travels. Our butlers (Danny and Noelvis) made sure that everything was even more perfect. They would cater to all of our request with a smile and even went beyond. They both made us feel special and did an amazing job making this an excellent vacation.
Restaurants:
We enjoyed almost every meal, from simple burgers to the Chateaubriand served. We were also able to enjoy lobster twice. The food is really good and served hot. I would suggest to have a little salad and cheese buffet for lunch and dinner they do with breakfast, that would have made my experience even better. Rachel and Dieki were great. Dieki has a wonderful smile.
Pool Bars:
We would alternate between the beach and the quiet pool, the service at the quiet pool, was the best service I have ever experienced at poolside, we were even brought an ice bucket with bottled water. The two bartenders (Yusleika as well as Dario) who alternate are nice and friendly. They were both amazing.

Lobby Bar:
We would start our day with a delicious cappuccino and finish our day with a drink at the lobby bar. Amazing, friendly and professional service.

Summary
All in All, I believe we found our little glimpse of paradis, the beach is heavenly, the service is beyond expectations, and the food is excellent. Royalton Cayo Santa Maria is a very special place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Service, Beautiful Beach, Pool, Staff
The weak points
None

Week in Paradise

, Whitby, ON
2018-07-04
After vacationing three times at the Paradisus Rio de Oro in Holquin,( which we loved and recommend) we decided to try the Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria for a change.

We arrived late Sat, the front desk had everything under control. Our room packages were handed to us, and we taken for a quick tour and then to our rooms. The luggage followed within minutes. We had an ocean view room which was very nice, you can see over the low brush/gardens that dominates the landscape area between the beach and the villas.

The food was excellent, two a la carte restaurants which rotated menus every evening, one serves breakfast. A 24 hr breakfast/lunch/bbq/midnight grill open concept by the main pool.
And a beach grill where you can have shrimp tacos and pizza for lunch, The 'Taco man' will also come down to the beach and fill your order and serve you, also there is drink service on the beach.
If its endless buffets you desire, go to a Riu. You can order extra at the a la carts, but we were always full and satisfied. We did not over eat. Lobster was available on most nights.

The staff are amazing, from our personal butlers, Leandy and Lester,(always checking to be sure everything was fine) to the entertainment team of Liz and Howie(water yoga to cuban salsa lessons) Our maids( whose names I've forgotten) always greeting us with a smile and ensuring our rooms were kept clean.
Manager Sesa, always in sight...checking with guests to ensure that everything was satisfactory and if you required anything. Very nice service.

This is an adult only resort, so the entertainment during the day is low volume at the pool, depending on how many participants there were. No loud pounding music, no soap in the pool stuff here, etc...,

The evening entertainment was spot on. Live bands/music every evening, from a young Cuban rock band('70- '90 rock..Beatles 'Come Together', to Cranberries 'Zombie'... impressive) to different Cuban bands every evening. Entertainment ended about 10pm and then Howie would play some tunes as things whined down. No theater show, sorry no 'Michael Jackson...' If its theater shows you like, you do have excess to the other resorts in the area, but they do not have excess to the Royalton. You can have a driver take you on a golf cart to the other resorts(Grand Memories) and back.You're in Cuba, enjoy and embrace their music and culture.

Two pools, the main pool has a bar, plenty of loungers and the activities, and the quiet infinity pool up near the lobby, where you have a panoramic view of the resort and ocean.

Wifi is available for a $1 or 2/hr. they said it would work best in the lobby, but I had no problem in my room.

Repairs at the resorts are in the finally stages, (shingles and such) from the hurricane last fall. Due to the damage most rooms have new air conditioners which worked well in our room.
During our walks, you can see some the damage to the other resorts down the beach. They went full steam ahead in repairing the Royalton.

The room itself was very clean, with a very comfortable king-size bed. The bath-room was fairly decent, minor upgrades, needed brighter lighting, longer cord on the hair dryer, and a door to the toilet area. Not big issues.
Hot water and water pressure was fine.

The beaches are perfect, white sand clear water and shallow. Nice long walks, plenty of palapas and chairs, we even had both. Some fish off shore for snorkeling, nothing serious.

My wife and I had such a wonderful time here, from friendly staff to sun,beach,food,drinks and enjoyable evenings,we've already booked another week late Nov. and are bring friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, food, drinks entertainment,..see comments.
The weak points
The only thing I can say is the 24 hr grill after the entertainment has a limited choice, hamburgers, french fries, sandwiches.., No nachos, I would love for them to be able to serve nachos as a option.
Certified

Disappointing

, Oromocto, NB
2018-03-05
8th trip to Cuba. Won't be back. Many managers on site. Trying to make improvements? Butlers tried very hard but limited ability to make improvements to accommodations. Hard to get ice in rooms. Beach bar staff were the friendliest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools were nice. Gloria, the piano lady was lovely. Entertainment was good.
The weak points
Food/ service. Long drive to get there.
Certified

2018 Vacation

, Mazerolle Settlement, NB
2018-03-01
The hotel lobby, and lobby bar are quite nice. The pools excellent, the beach has beautiful sand and water color, unfortunately due to the strong winds we could not stay on beach and the red flag flew each day. we did however enjoy the pool area. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was clean but needs updating. There was a strong odor coming from the shower and toilet drain on a few occasions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff and management were excellent very friendly. Entertainment was good.
The weak points
The food was not great and very inconsistent. The bar service often ran out of certain ingredients to mix drinks. Juice watered down.
Certified

Fantastic place for a quite relaxing vacation

, Montréal, QC
2018-02-02
we were 4 adults, sharing two rooms. The staff at this hotel is superb, extremely friendly, and will do the upmost to please you. There are some 10 to 12 bungalows (buildings) with about 10 rooms in each. So it a quite small, quite quaint hotel, but extremely spacious rooms and gardens. Great location. You have 3 different restaurants, the food is quite good, but if you don't like a dish the staff will quickly change it for another choice. Two great pools, one very quite close to the lobby with a bar. The other closer to the beach with dancing, music exercise and of course a bar. Plenty of pool space and chairs etc. The beach is beautiful, again not crowded at all, with bar service and plenty of sun chairs and shade area. This hotel is rated a 5 star, for Cuba it definitely is but if you are looking at 5 star hotels elsewhere it is not. I would classify it as a 4 plus star. It is remarkable how they have managed to recover so quickly after a terrible hurricane season. The gardens are being improved with flowers and plants every day. There is a nice little shopping center about 100 yards from the hotel lobby which has a bank (good exchange rate for Canadian dollar, bring your passport for i.d.) and offers local crafts and arts and rum and cigars.
The management of this hotel is superb. The General Manager, Jose Louis is very oriented to service and pleasing his clientele. He is also quite talented and will sing a song or two, play musical instrument, and even dance. The head chef, a Mexican national, who lived a few years in Canada, was also very present with the guests and listens to all your needs, suggestions etc. All the managers in general are quite present. Each bungalow has a butler, for about ten rooms, and they are there to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The staff at this hotel made all the difference, even the gardeners were greeting us and friendly.We had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff, beautiful gardens and pathways, two large pools and a gorgeous beach.
The weak points
2 hour bus ride from airport, and lots of no see mosquitos but which certainly bite. bring repellent if you go.
Certified

Best Vacation

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2017-06-21
By working in the hotel industry I can say that this was the best vacation ever. Alexis & Anna our butlers were just amazing. Pedro our beach waiter never stopped pleasing us. Dianelys the new trainee was very pleasant and doing an excellent job.
For the team Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & Staff
The weak points
Food & Palapas

May 2017 Vacation

, Woodbridge, ON
2017-05-30
I was travelling solo for the first time and a little apprehensive. I had nothing to worry about. The Resort is gated and with security. I felt very safe. I made friends quickly and easily with other guests. The staff offer A Service and are very well trained and always available and friendly. They were not intrusive and seemed to appear when needed and did not bother you. This is a small resort but I was surprised at how beautiful and spacious the grounds, pool and beach areas were. The restaurants were clean. I was disappointed that the only 2 evening restaurants had exactly the same menu so it left you with limited choices. They had daily BQ's by the pool - we literally were eating lobster, steak and shrimp every day. There also was a 24hr snack bar by the pool which offered burgers, sandwiches, fries and pasta which was convenient for those looking to eat at odd hours. The breakfast and lunch buffets were smaller than what I normally see but offered everything you would want and you also had the option to order from a menu at breakfast. They offer premium alcohol - nothing is watered down. You have your own personal Butler Service which was a nice bonus. They also offer daily complimentary foot, face and hand massages by the pool. I enjoyed the daily water aerobics. The only negative I experienced was with my room. My first night I was put in a room that seemed a bit shabby - couch was ripped which surprised me since the resort is fairly new. The linen was clean but the bed spread had stains. I was moved to a much nicer room but I again noticed the bedspread had stains and I could not use the additional blankets because they had a smell to them. They need to wash their bedding more often as they do their linens. The maids were excellent and always left beautiful notes and did a very thorough daily cleaning. This was my third time to Cuba and my first to Santa Maria. I would definately go back to this resort. It is a quieter Resort so if you are looking to party and night life this isn't for you. This was the most relaxing holiday I have had in years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This Resort offers A service. The grounds, pool and beach were amazing. The bar service by the pool was the best. All staff were well trained. The personal Butler Service was a bonus. Smaller resort and no lineups. Quiet and very relaxing atmosphere.Va
The weak points
Food in Cuba is not the best. The 2 Restaurants for dinner had exact menu? so this left you with limited choices No free Wifi.
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Kirkland, QC
2017-01-18
Fantastic. We were recommended this resort by our travel agent and we were not disappointed. Several other guests we met also stated that this one of the top locations in Cuba. Staff and service are a high point and the beach is beautiful and long. We had a great relaxing vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler service is wonderful. Food was very good. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Wi-Fi connection is unreliable.
Certified

Awesome resort

, Coquitlam, BC
2016-12-07
The resort was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The pools were clean and beautiful although not as warm as the ocean. The beach was great - kms of white sand.
The liquor was top quality and a very wide variety. The bartender at the Infiniti pool made the best drinks. She was awesome. The bar in the lobby was another favorite hangout.
The food was good - the ala carte menus varied daily in each of the 3 restaurants. The presentation was great. The lobster and seafood were very good. The shrimp salad was exceptionally good - often ordered again for dessert.
Took us a day or two to wrap our heads around ordering off the menu in any combinations or amounts. Much better quality than a buffet as in a lot of resorts.
The restaurant staff was great. Most spoke good English and if they didn't understand what you were asking they would get someone who could.
Everyone was assigned a butler when they arrived. The butler took you on a tour of the resort when you arrived and was there to answer any questions you had. Ours was super.
You need the 220-110 converter adapter.
I took along a power bank to charge my phone which I was using for a camera. So we didn't need a converter. However you would need for curling iron our flat iron unless it comes with it.
WiFi is 2 cuc for 1 hour. Just remember to disconnect when finished or keeps going on your time. This is the std price all over Cuba it seems.
There is a market area (shopping area) next to the resort. The bank is located there.
Cayo Santa Maria is accessed by a 46 km causeway from the mainland. So you are a long way from the mainland.
If going again I would stay 1 in Veradero or Havana then go to Roylton Cayo Santa Maria for a week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent friendly service very clean very relaxing
The weak points
a long ways from any towns if you want to check out Cuban culture
Certified

Royalton Treats You Like Royalty!

, Oshawa, ON
2016-05-27
This was our 3rd trip to Cuba and our first time at The Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria. The weather was absolutely fantastic. The staff was unbelievably accommodating and very friendly.
The beach was the nicest we have been to in Cuba and very clean.
During the first couple of days, we found the resort to be very quiet but then they started having music by the pool which helped liven things up a little. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment in the lobby and the weekly staff volleyball game.
Special thanks to our maid, Yobaisy, our butlers Ana & Alexis who went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional and to Beronica, the hotel manager who we were lucky enough to meet during our stay. It is quite evident that the staff and management really do care about their guests at this hotel. I can't say enough about the staff - they truly are the best!
We look forward to someday returning to The Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria. One of our best trips to date! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the beach, the pool
The weak points
If I had to pick a weak point, it would be that it's quite far from the airport but so worth it - the trip actually isn't too bad because you get to travel through the different towns along the way

Stay at royalton cayo santa maria

, Alvinston, ON
2016-01-08
Most of the staff was extremely friendly and helpfull with the exception of only a couple people. Our first night we were quite dissapointed to find our room was unavailable. We booked our stay 8 months previous. By our second day they began running out of food items such as bacon potatoes etc. There was no buffets and daily bbq's near the pools did not happen with the exception of one day. As all non motorized water sports were to be included we were never infofmed of where to participate as well the scuba diving lessons were not offered as well. Snorkeling excursions were very expensive as well as all other day trips and activities. As for butler service we did not have the same one all week we had 3 different ones. And only one cared to contact us daily to see if we needed anything. A beautifull place but i personally would choose a different destination next time as this experience tho fun was still well below my expectations for the cost [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive. Great poolside and beach scenery and service. Great restaurant service. Nice rooms and very friendly people.
The weak points
Room was not ready when we arrived. We never got our room till the next day. The only activities we were informed of were exspensive pay for ones. Never received a tour. Some staff especially overnight room service were less than friendly and attentive.
Certified

... like royalty at the Royalton !!

, Rockland, ON
2015-09-14
wonderful
Relaxing
Fantastic staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food
Certified

Not so hot

, North Vancouver, BC
2015-05-11
The Pool is not heated therefore because it was cloudy all week, the pool was FREEZING and too cold for hanging out in for most people. The "hot tub" is just a separate area of the pool shaped like a hot tub, but it's the exact same water as the pool and there are a few little jets that barely shoot water out.
This resort is a "if you don't ask, you don't get" kind of hotel. Drinks are first poured with the cheapest liquor. Unless you ask for top shelf, you don't get it and even when you do, you get it reluctantly.The white wine was absolutely undrinkable. I can drink most white wines as long as it's cold. We couldn't drink this at all. The red wine was OK. Drinkable but not great. The beer at poolside seemed to be the favourite as it was cold and easy to drink. There was no real fruit used in any drinks so blended drinks weren't good. The mohitos were the worst mohitos I've ever had which was my biggest disappointment of this trip because the first mohito I ever had was in Havana years ago and it was so good that I dreamed of returning to drink those wonderful drinks again in Cuba. Instead I got terrible mohitos. The mint was used sparingly and the mint sprig in my first mohito was brown with dead leaves on it. It was awful. The sugar was granulated and so it just sat in the bottom of the glass. They never poured enough rum in and used the cheapest rum possible unless you asked for better rum.
The food and food service was generally terrible. It rained most days we were there and when we tried to order room service when it was raining, we were told they could not deliver food until the rain stopped. Well that was hours and hours or possibly not at all. It seemed ridiculous that they couldn't deliver food while it was raining so unless you yelled and insisted, they wouldn't deliver food until the rain stopped. That doesn't make much sense to me at all.
We asked to have champagne (or their version of sparkling wine) stocked in our mini fridge. It never happened. We asked for lobster, but only got it twice in a week when it was on the menu. We asked if we could have a special dinner on the beach for our anniversary, but we never heard back. The bread was so hard you could cut someone with it. All white cheese was referred to as "parmesan" but it always looked different and changed. Sometimes it looked like a processed cheese slice. The tomatoes were green or yellow and not ripe at all. Most of the fruit was not ripe. Sometimes if you were lucky you actually got some parmesan. I'm not sure what they used for the grilled cheese sandwiches but it was some white sliced cheese that had no flavour. Every day at poolside there was a grill but it was the same food every day. Our butler told us there were quesadillas and pizza and things like that but instead each day it was meat kebabs and rice and fish. And there was only one man doing the BBQ and people would line up and have to wait 20-30 minutes just to get a few kebabs and some rice. The first night there were grilled shrimp on the menu. When I requested that, she said there were no shrimp and I never saw shrimp again on any menu all week. Our last night's menu said Lobster Stew and that the soup was broccoli. What came was lobster tail (which was nice even though not expected) and potato soup. Not even close. One night's menu said Filet of Beef and it came as a flat steak which was not good quality at all. Another couple said they ordered chicken and they got turkey. You never really knew what you were going to get. The same frozen peas and baby carrots, which were overcooked all the time, were used in EVERY dish. The minestrone soup tasted like ketchup with water and these frozen peas and carrots were in it. They also accompanied every other dish, and were also found in the rice at lunch. This hotel is trying but they're not hitting the target for what they're saying they are at this hotel (high end 5 star). It is not as high end as you think and the service and facilities are just OK. In the toilets by the lounge and restaurant in the ladies room, one of the toilets doesn't even have a toilet seat. There was no way to dry your hands in these washrooms as the dryer barely blew very little air and it was too hot to put your hands close enough to keep it activated. I always just let my hands air dry. There were no alternatives e.g. towels, and often the soap dispensers were empty too. The general feel I got was that they were on a tight budget with limited resources and were trying to be cheap at every turn. Unless you asked for something you didn't get it and the default was to offer less to people and set the standard low unless someone complained. I went to this resort in hopes for a relaxing pampering week and I didn't feel that way at all. I won't return and would not recommend this to my friends or family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is long and beautiful with sand like silt and the ocean is shallow and incredibly blue and lovely. There was great water pressure in the shower and lots of hot water. They drew us a lovely bath with flowers for our anniversary.
The weak points
Food, service, drinks, room
Certified

Disappointed

, Brampton, ON
2015-02-09
Location is lovely, with well maintained grounds.
The beach is gorgeous but lots of Jelly fish. Accomodation is good but older, spacious clean and well appointed rooms. However,service is patchy...maid OK, Butler great restaurant usually good but sometimes fails almost entirely. Food was disappointing and not at all consistent, breakfast basics like potatoes ran out by 9 am or got served fries. Room service terrible.. ordered a pot of coffee, 1 1/2 hours later we just left room annoyed. Wines were mediocre and there were frequent shortages of standard drinks at the bar and beer not always cold, Staff and management were friendly, helpful and eager to rectify short comings. Chef tried to please by making us a off menu dinner but that was one dinner out of 7. However, having read reviews of this resort, we felt disappointed. It fell short of our expectations. We had paid $2000 per person after tax and for slightly more we could have stayed many better end resorts off CUBA.
additional note Internet card, which is extra charge for 1 hr, 4.50 CUC waste of money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
grounds and butler service
The weak points
FOOD

Amazing

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-17
This is the first resort I've been to that I will sure come back to in the future. The staff were incredible, always going above and beyond. The beach and pools are pristine and quiet, you feel like you have the whole place to yourself even at maximum capacity. The drinks were good, and they had some international brands as well. The food was plated in a fancy way and the chicken was always tender, but not a lot of variety of veggies. For some reason whatever onions they were using were better than onions in Canada. The rooms were very spacious and comfy, and I liked having the hammock in the back porch. Overall it was a magnificent time.
I would like to add though that the jeep excursion was a waste of money and I would recommend nobody book it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, privacy, nice music
The weak points
Jeep excursion was very boring
Certified

Disappointed

, Brampton, ON
2014-11-26
Location is lovely, with well maintained grounds.The beach is gorgeous.Accomodation is good, with spacious clean and well appointed rooms. However,service is patchy...usually good but sometimes fails almost entirely.Food was fine but not exceptional.Wines were mediocre and there were frequent shortages of standard drinks at the bar, for example dry martini! Staff and management were friendly, helpful and eager to rectify shortcomings.However, having read reviews of this resort, we felt disappointed. It fell short of our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well maintained grounds and the beach.
The weak points
Mediocre food and drink.Uncomfortable and humdrum flight service,with long weights.
Certified

Nothing but the best

, Saint-Lambert, QC
2014-09-29
Best services I have received in Cuba.
Food is excellent
Bar is fully stocked
Resort and employees are pet friendly (they like cats):)
Only recommendation - wifi should be free and bottled water was hard to come by some times [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people and food
The weak points
wifi not free, bottled water not always available

Royalton leaves me puzzled

, Burlington, ON
2014-09-08
When I leave a destination, I normally have a clear idea in my mind of my experience, but in this case I feel a little perplexed with my overall opinion.
I have travelled to Cuba many times, and stayed in varying degrees of standards, and generally I try to go with middle ground expectations as to be fair and objectionable. My wife of 11 years of whom I met in Cuba is Cuban, which again gave us the perspective that was unique.
Upon arrival, which was very late, we did find check-in to be fast and efficient, but also lacked in direction in helping us find our own way to our room, in an environment that we were unfamiliar with, we felt better guidance was needed. The room was ok, fairly minimal, but that was fine. The mini fridge was a zero, 2 beers, 2 cola, and it remained that way even after a request for something different. It took about 18 hours before we met one of our butlers, Janet, who in the end was fantastic,but all diner reservations have to be made through the butlers only and personally we would prefer to do our own reservations. The bed quality was no good at all, but different strokes for different folks. Towels and sheets need attention though.
The food quality was great really, and we enjoyed each restaurant fully.Pools were fantastic, but the cabana beds around the pool were to few and others put their towels and personal belongings there and went to the beach for hours...but this happens everywhere for those special individuals.
Beach and water quality was awesome along with beach service.
Overall the resort is good because it was smaller than most with slightly more personal touches, but needs a few more things to make it really great an a few more things to blow your socks off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach x 255
The weak points
missing some finer details
Certified

Awesome!

, Waterloo, ON
2014-07-08
It was excellent in every possible way. Gourmet meals, amazing friendly service, beautiful rooms, pools, and spectacular beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is amazing. The water is so clear and beautiful. Lots of shady shelter huts too. Great drink service on the beach.
The weak points
The internet is very, very slow and sometimes impossible to access. However, this is just the way it is in Cuba - certainly not the fault of the resort.
Certified

Royalton!

, St-Leonard, QC
2014-06-10
Great place to spend some quiet time with your better half. Our first trip as a couple and we chose the Royalton, we are already planning on going back again. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach was amazing, room service, Bartender called Rolando was amazing. very clean,
The weak points
Check in was very long, menu needs more variety & more spices. Changing bed sheets more often would of been nice.
Certified

Recent trip to Cuba

, Mississauga, ON
2014-05-26
Overall great bang for your buck. Staff was super friendly and always available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service, great beach, friendly staff and clean facilities
The weak points
slow service in restaurants (sometimes), lack of buffet, food variety and ability to get food "off hours"
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?