Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

4.014.014.014.014.01
Iberostar Selection Ensenachos
#4 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
4.01 based on 1078 reviews
Traveller pictures (272)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing return to Iberostar Ensenachos.

, Barrie, ON
2020-03-24
from arrival to departure we had an amazing time with all the great staff. Geysi in customer relation ensure out trip was again. Damarys, Guerra, Adonis, Eduardo, Camilo, Danay and Salvador, Adolfo and Yuri on the beach. The life guards Pablo and Joel. special thanks to these teams for making another great vacation. Our room was very clean every day thanks to Yoeidis. Reception again was excellent at all times. thanks to all the teams at Iberostar lead by Sr. Franklin and his team . food was good at all locations we ate at.
My biggest disappointment is that our carrier would have taken us back today buy due to the Covis 19 all trips have been cancelled. I must say that our Ontario carrier has been amazing during this time with us in cancelling and bringing non client back home at no cost even if the were not originally book with them. We will continue to travel with them again when the Virus has been eliminated. Thanks to our Ontario carrier and Thanks Iberostar Ensenachos for excellent service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing Staf and location
The weak points
Covis 19 cancelled our return trip
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear Barrie, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. And also for returning once more. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. We must add that we too sincerely regret the current global situation. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

A beautiful hotel in decline

, Beauport, QC
2020-03-11
Well, this is our favorite hotel in Cuba. Best beaches, best site. It is our third visit here. First observation, the hotel needs a facelift. The otherwise nice and spacious room smelled mold. The facade of the hotel on the back needs repainting. The public toilets are in bad shape. Either no soap or no toilet paper. Some urinals out of service.
The food is good for Cuba. No potatoes, the side dishes are not very good. Undercooked eggplant, pumpkin, banana chips. A great thing, lots of guava, our favorite dessert. Fried bananas with caramel too. Bread is very good and there is a variety of cheese, rare for Cuba. We ate and it was fresh and tasty. On day 4 there was no white wine. Only rosé. On day 5, no rose, only sparkling wine. On day 6 the rosé reappeared. My wife drinks only white wine, so it was a problem. From people on the plane we found out that other hotels at Cayo Santa Maria didn't have white wine too. Friends of ours came back from Varadero and there was no red wine there. So it is probably bad management.
There is no more lobster in the Mediterranean restaurant. We went to the Colonial, where you pay and it is the only place where you can eat lobster now. Two years ago we paid 15 pesos per person. We were told it was 25 now. We went anyway. There were three out of 6 main courses and one out of five cold entrees not available. We ate the lobster, so it was fine. At the end we had to pay 37 pesos per person because they supposedly have increased the price. For a hotel pretending for 4 1/2 stars this is not acceptable. And we paid more for our trip than the last two times.
Changing of the beach towels was a problem too. Around the swimming pool there were no towels in the afternoon. We had to go to the lobby to change them.
The last day we reserved a courtesy room to take a shower after the beach. They gave us a key to an occupied room. Thank God the people were not there. We went back to the lobby and it turned out the key was for the wrong building.
So the hotel is still good, but the decline is remarkable. Is it because they have build too many hotels in the region and now the management is getting out of hand? The hotel is probably 3 1/2 stars presently. Having said that, we still had a great time, the staff is very friendly too. It is Cuba, OK, but isn't Iberostar a Spanish company? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the beautiful site. Food is good for Cuba
The weak points
Management
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-18
Dear Victor, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel once again for your holiday. We are sorry you felt your most recent visit did not live up to your experience from previous years. We attach great importance to every detail that can make our guest's stay comfortable and we are always looking for ways in which we can make their holiday outstanding. So we would like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. Again we thank you for your loyalty and your helpful comments and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Cuba 2020

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-05
Overall pleasant experience however hotel could use an update and attention to details. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly and accommodating. Good value for your money. Clean dinning room.
The weak points
Food is very repetitive, rooms including mattress could use an update, room services including resupply of towels, soap, shampoo, and facial tissue could improve. Towels were smelly and stained. Need a functioning toaster in the dinning room.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear guest, We really appreciate that you took the time to write and share this review with us. We like to consider all aspects of our establishment to create an environment for our guests that fulfil all their wishes to achieve a perfect holiday. Therefore, we welcome both your praise and your helpful critique with gratitude. It is nice to know that you felt so comfortable with us and that you have chosen to share this with others and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Fourth visit here, but it will be our last

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-23
We have been to this resort several times and have always loved it. We have outgrown the kids park now but our main reason for saying this will be our last time here was a foul smell in one of our two rooms that was likely mold in the A/C (they described it as humidity in the A/C vent to us). They just sprayed some chemical and left it at that. There are many great aspects to this resort - the two beaches, the food, the staff, the large winding pool are all great and the internet has been upgraded and is usable throughout the resort but I do think the buildings are showing their age and they need to invest in repairs. My other annoyance (which is more about the guests than the hotel) is the reserving of beach chairs with no intention of using them for hours if at all. all chairs are reserved with guest towels early in the am though most chairs remain empty all day. This is a new thing here, it was never like this in the past (other guests said they same). It's something the hotel should consider intervening and managing better though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The two beaches and the ocean are amazing. The food is generally quite good here. Staff are wonderful.
The weak points
Buildings are starting to show their age. Most public bathrooms at the hotel do not have toilet paper. ALL beach chairs are "reserved" by 7:30am by guests though most chairs remain empty (it was never like this before).
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Mitch We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your friendly review and at the same time for the helpful assessment of our hotel. We are also very grateful and motivated to receive your constructive feedback as we are always open to suggestions on how we can improve on a daily basis to satisfy our guest's wishes and provide an even better service now and in the future. Thank you once again for your description. It is nice to know that you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Fantastic yet bad !

, Halifax, NS
2020-02-20
iberostar selection ensenachos. Great place, very Grandiose ! Loved the place, the people, the pools and the beaches. Did not feel comfortable with people opening my safe when I was not in the room. Multiple times. I spoke with other guests and we shared similar and many stories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely loved so many of the people working there. The bartenders, the day and evening entertainment crew, the kids club ladies. Had a wonderful time at the resort.
The weak points
My sister caught the cleaning lady taking money from her safe. then we started to pay more attention. many violations from many guests. Nice place, will never be back.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-25
Dear Warren, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf. We apologise for any inconvenience caused on this occasion. We hope that you had a pleasant journey home and wish you all the best in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Great vacation again!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-09
It was our third time at Ensenachos and once again we were not disappointed. Starting from the reception, through the restaurant, rooms, or entertainment, the staff was very friendly, pleasant to deal with and no delays in requests. We are not very picky eaters, but there was always a selection of different kind of meats, fish, pasta, salads, smoothies and pastries. Beaches in Cuba are unbeatable, including both beaches Megano and Ensenachos there. We also enjoyed massages at the hotel spa. We are looking forward to January 2021 at Iberostar Ensenachos! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Lubomir, Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Superbe semaine

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-01
C'était ma troisième fois à Cuba et de loin ma préférée. L'hôtel Iberostar est très grand, propre et moderne. Ambiance calme et familiale. Ne pas s'attendre à une ambiance de "party", peu d'animation. Le service du personnel était impeccable. Ils étaient TRÈS chaleureux et serviables. Connaissant Cuba, mes attentes étaient peu élevées concernant la nourriture. WOW, j'ai été agréablement surprise. Nourriture variée et très bonne. Le buffet est très spacieux, aucune attente en ligne. Le seul bémol serait le manque d'espace à l'ombre à la plage. Il y avait seulement deux espaces à l'ombre et évidemment ils étaient toujours occupés. Je suis sensible au soleil et j'ai dû écourter mon temps passé à la plage à cause de cela. En somme, très beau séjour. J'y retournerais demain !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
La propreté des lieux, le service du personnel et la nourriture
The weak points
Peu d'espace à l'ombre à la plage, le pont vers la plage devrait être rénové
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Cher client, Nous tenons à vous remercier d'avoir choisi notre hôtel Iberostar pour profiter de quelques jours de repos. Nous sommes heureux d´avoir réussi à rendre votre séjour agréable et nous apprécions également que vous nous ayez fait part de vos suggestions constructives qui nous aideront à identifier les domaines susceptibles d'être améliorés. Merci encore pour votre confiance et à très bientôt. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Great vacation

, Richmond, BC
2019-11-29
We liked almost everything except darkness in most area. Very few lights, which makes hard to enjoy evening hours. Other than that , no complaints. Food was well- done. We liked very much friendliness of stuff. Show every evening was also well- organized. But most impression we had from the ocean. That was the best water and beach we ever seen and we been in at least in few other tropic countries to compare. Common area was clean. Surprisingly no insects so we slept with opened window and balcony.
Thank You so much!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-02
Dear Natalia, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Aug 15 to 22 2019

, Blackstock, ON
2019-08-30
Wonderful time service could have been better though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-09-06
Dear Chad, We want you to know that your review is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback regarding the concern you raise on board as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

It was good

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-07
This resort is one of the nicest ones in Cuba and we have been in Cuba over 20 times. From the food to the beach we were pleasantly surprised.
We stayed at the spa side, as it was newly renovated and for adults only. Initially we were put on the wrong side of the resort, not the spa section and It took the reception the whole day to put us in the spa section, but we did not let that bother us.
The buffet food was very good. The only negative would be espresso that was not good.
The food at the Mediterranean restaurant was also very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-10
Cher Sylvain, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes heureux de constater que vous avez apprécié les prestations de notre hôtel Iberostar Selection Ensenachos. Nous apprécions que vous nous ayez fait part de vos observations qui nous permettent de nous adapter au mieux aux exigences de nos hôtes. Encore une fois, nous vous remercions énormément pour votre temps et nous sommes impatients de vous recevoir de nouveau très prochainement. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Nice

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-07
We had the good fortune of an oceanfront room and the view was spectacular and relaxing. I thank Iberostar for providing such a beautiful suite to us. The huge suite had a kitchenette, powder room, dining and living room, large bedroom, full bathroom and a large and very private terrace with a full-size jacuuzzi that we spent hours in. The jacuzzi even had a cool light show in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-15
Dear Donna, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to exceed your expectations with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. It is therefore very satisfying for us that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

Iberostar ensenachos

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-27
We arrived after dark, so it was hard to get an immediate feel for the resort overall, but first impressions of the lobby and buffet restaurant are very positive. While the buildings are indeed nice, they are largely hidden by the surprisingly mature vegetation.
Typically, we do not spend a great deal of time at the pool, as we would rather be at the beach, but the main pool (there are several smaller pools) is very nice and has a swim-up bar; in addition, the restaurant that serves lunch is located near the main pool as well. It became a great place to spend the afternoon...have some lunch, take a swim, have a drink.
Overall, I cannot imagine that there is another resort in Cuba that can match everything that this resort offers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice people nice stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-27
This was our 2nd stay at this resort, the fist was just after hurricane Irma hit in the fall of 2017. Clearly, they have done extensive and caring work to the vegetation and grounds. The site is beautiful and well cured. Flowers abound and smell really good.Food. Well, if you manage your expectations, then life is great. You will not go hungry, but may face some issues. We saw the following: yogurt not available for several days, some fruit (papayas) not always there, even pepper not available at omelette stations for a few days. Internet: wow! Major improvement from Feb. 2018. While downloading my daily paper in 2018 was a 5 minute thing, Feb. 2019 was a mere 30-seconds deal. Not far from the 8-10 seconds at home. At 1 CUC per hour, internet access is comfortable.Overall, a very nice stay and we would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Noce to be back

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-30
This was our 2nd stay at this resort, the first was just after hurricane Irma hit in the fall off 2017. Cleary, they have done extensive and caring work to the vegetation and grounds. The site is is beutiful and well cured. Flowers abound and smell really good. Food, well if you manage your expectations then life is great. You will not hungry, but many face some issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Was OK

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
Megano and Ensenachos beaches are beautifull but you have to get up early to get a chair. We opted to go later in the day and usually found empty chairs. I would like to say thaks to their customer service department, their help me with some needs that we had regarding dinner reservations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Horrible resort

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-04-03
It was totally disgusting from the start of our stay til we left....it is more a 1 star. The food was terrible, even cockroaches crawling on the buns and bread, lettuce, tomatoes etc were never there. We got one beach towel the whole week. The bank was never open. The employees are VERY unhappy. No music by the pool at all. Local talent for a couple of hours at night. The resort smelt like crap everywhere. 11 of us there and all disappointed. We have traveled all over and our first negative experience....will never return to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wow Ensenachos

, Duncan, BC
2019-03-31
Beauté et service client,
Ne cherchez plus l'endroit parfait pour rien, il est là. Tout notre séjour a été parfait: hôtel, plage, nourriture. La beauté, le luxe et la plus belle plage de Cuba. Que dire du service et du sourire du personnel de l'hôtel...WOW, le personnel des relations publiques est unique, merci Geysi et Katia. Dépêchez-vous tandis que cet hôtel est encore abordable car il ne le sera pas longtemps. Ne le dites pas à tout le monde je compte bien y retourner! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Excellent visit again

, Barrie, ON
2019-03-31
Our welcome back to Iberostar Ensenachos was outstanding. Thanks to Room division manager Jaime and Customer service Geysi. Our lunches complete with cold Cristal yummy food and my favorite Ice Cream. Over all food very good at all meals. The beach is one of the best. The rooms Spa side are clean and comfortable. The staff at all locations are great Iberostar Ensenachos is in my opinion a 5 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

A nice stay once again!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-07
It was our second stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, in a Spa section. We visited Cuba many times already, but last year it was for the first time at this resort. What we really enjoyed was a beatiful long beach, very nice landscaping of the grounds, good food for Cuba and friendly staff always ready to help. As the resort is located in a small bay, the ocean is calm there and very enjoyable for swimming. The downfall is that comparing to a previous year there was shortage of gazebos on the beach.
The resort and especially rooms were very clean, no problems with hot water at all like we experienced in other resorts. We will return to this resort next year for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall cleanliness of the resort, including restaurants Beatiful beach, not crowded Accommodating staff Landscaping
The weak points
Shortage of gazebos on the beach
Certified

Iberostar

, Toronto, HA
2019-01-28
Overall it's a nice resort. Depending on where your room is, it can be a bit of a walk to either the main lobby, pool, or beach. They do have staff to shuttle you from these locations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches were AMAZING. The rooms were spacious and clean.
The weak points
Signs weren't properly marked as to where beaches were. Never enough lounge chairs around the pool area. The beaches should have more huts and lounge chairs. Took 3 attempts to get fresh towels. Too many kids. We asked for a wake up call, never got it
Certified

Excellent hotel

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-27
I`ve been at this hotel a few years ago with my aunt. It was recommended to us by the travel agent that has already received great reviews from her other customers that she had sent to this hotel. The beach is one of the best if not the best one I`ve seen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room, the beach, the staff.
The weak points
Not being careful if notified of allergies to certain foods (it was my case).

Christmas and New Years at Iberostar Ensenachos

, Greenfield Park, QC
2019-01-04
We were there for both Christmas and New Years Eve. Both events provided exceptional food experiences. Other days the seafood and or fish served at the main buffet grill were excellent and always fresh, however there was limited bread products (flour shortage we were told) and the food although prepared in a decent manner has no taste. There are no sauces for the chicken or fresh roasts made daily. The Megano Beach is very nice but the main walkway was out of service, The Ensenatchos beach requires a trolley ride and there were not many trolleys going back and forth. The hotel needs updating - lobby- no ceiling fans so it gets warm in the main area. Rooms and bathrooms need a makeover
This hotel is about the beautiful beaches and its devoted and engaged staff who work very hard and want to please their guests.They made our vacation memorable.
If this is your first time visit to Cuba and the Cayo Santa Maria area you will enjoy your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Workers- are engaged and work hard- beach Megano is beautiful clean - but the walkway at 21 -22 was out of service.so we had a long walk to 41 -42 to use other walkway. Beach service and drinks excellent, coffee and wine excellent at buffet and lobby bar,
The weak points
Hotel needs updating main buildings & guest rooms- bathrooms poor lighting is poor & toilet area too small - all bedding and pillowcases bad smell of wet laundry - elevator lobby out of service, main buffet ceiling Grill fans dripped grease onto the cook
Certified

Fabulous beaches

, Long Sault, ON
2018-12-12
Overall stay was very nice. The staff are super friendly and service was great. The beaches here (Ensenachos and Megano) are the nicest beaches I've experienced in the Caribbean - albeit the amenities at Ensenachos are very limited. Food was good overall - has lobster, shrimp, calamari and other fresh fish. Keep in mind this is Cuba - it's not Le Cordon Bleue. Our room was very spacious and everything worked. Balconies are huge! Overall this hotel is definitely worth the money. The biggest letdown was the main boardwalk to beach was broken and was closed for use. Therefore to get to beach you either had a very long walk or had to take golf cart. They should get this fixed like yesterday as it is a main draw for the hotel.Apparently it had been broken for a while. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, and friendly staff
The weak points
Overall size is huge.
Certified

Beautiful vacation

, Montréal, QC
2018-11-18
A week ago we have returned from 11 nights vacation in Iberostar Ensenachos- Cuba.
It was our 3 trip to that resort and we still to plan return for next year.
There are the most beautiful two beaches-Megano and Ensenachos, great service, friendly staff, nice rooms, and really good food! (Honestly, it was unsuspected.)
We chose that hotel because of the location, which is for us the first and most important thing.
Anyone, who wants to walk along a white, long sandy beach, spends time in the shallow, clear and quiet sea water, snorkeling if you wish, that is the place!
Plus, wifi is not only in lobby but also in bungalows!
Of course, they are also some drawbacks.
Two platform-bridges leading to the beach needs some serious repair, hopefully, it's going to be done in the low tourist season. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Beautiful Beaches and Water, Good Week.

, Mississauga, ON
2018-06-27
Stayed here with my wife and daughter, April 4 to 11. We had a crazy start to the vacation with our airplane wheels getting frozen to the tarmac and our bus breaking down 100m from the hotel. But, the check in was fast. I changed my money, booked the "a la Carte" restaurants and I got 8 hours of internet for my daughter, all within 30 mins of checking in. Not bad. My daughter did survive the de-Internetization during this week so there is hope for us all:).

We have been to Iberostar hotels 8 times, 6 times in Cuba. This was our first time in Cayo Ensenachos. I think they have kept it to the standard of other Iberostar hotels in general.

Food: I thought the buffet was good with a number of options. The Pirata (Mediterranean restaurant) and Azia restaurants were good. The Cuban one had an off night. The beach restaurant on Megano was good as well. I ate chicken all week. No issues.

Room: Park Suites, building 38. Large, clean, cool, shower water pressure was iffy at times, watch the controls, they are backward on one side. Maids did a good job. No issues.

Bars: Good service all around, liked the beach, lifeguards, and bartenders on Megano. My wife always asks for the top shelf and gets it. The Beer was wet, so I was happy.

Beaches: Tried both, but we preferred Megano. First impressions on Megano will confuse you. Give it a chance. The shrubs are for protecting the erosion of the beach, I think. The towel game to save a seat (palapas) is in full swing. 6:30 is the latest you need to be down to pick your choice. I saw people down at 5:00 a.m. The beach is empty until 9 or so, it was nice to have it all to myself for a while. The Water was beautiful and the colours were wonderful.

Bugs: Hit or miss, bring spray. They loved me so I had lots of bites, my wife had none.

Cubans: Nice, hard working people, met some wonderful personalities on the beach and in the bars.

Americans: I spotted a bunch of them. They were having a blast. They were on a “Cultural Exchange” where they had to document their experiences and then tell people back in the US about Cuba. So, it has begun.

Tipping: I noticed the tipping was not as required as it was in the past. Appreciated but not necessary. I tip for good service, not just for service.

Snorkeling: Not the greatest but there are some things to see. The wreck on Megano is cool. Watch the current in the morning, go out when it's low tide, on the right side of the beach.

Hotel: This place is large, so get ready for a 10-30 min walk wherever you want to go.

Overall, the only thing I did not like was the layout. I just thought it was poorly conceived but that is not Iberostar's fault. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful resort

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-06-15
This resort is a really nice resort....with a few minor flaws.
First...Some of the boards for the walkway to the Megano beach are broken and need to be fixed. The pathways at night are dark, not enough lighting.
The quiet pool in the Spa section needs more shade. A beautiful pool but shade wise there is very little.
The food for me was so so. Even the A La Cartes. A lot of flies at the A La Carte restaurants. And the Buffet had birds flying around. And if you sat by the windows, there was bird poop on them.
The resort itself is wonderful. It is very spread out so seems quiet large. A lot of walking.
The Megano beach is beautiful. Lots of shade and lots of chairs anytime. A wonderful walk along the beach is a must.
I would recommend this resort to anyone. Just be prepared for some walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach here was what made our vacation. We are beach people and this was at the top of our list.
The weak points
The food for me were the weak points.

Cayo Santa Maria - IBEROSTAR ENSENACHOS

, Brampton, ON
2018-06-10
Overall very good resort, good staff, facilities, nice beaches.............. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Resort, Good Staff, facilities, beaches
The weak points
Far from city or historical tourist places, due to weather little lake of cleanness, Internet is available in lobby only for which you have to pay.
Certified

I don't recommend this resort.

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-28
Poor food choices, very ignorant personal. I would not recommend this resort and would not come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our Best Cuba Vacation

, Moncton, HA
2018-03-26
This was our third Cuba Vacation, our first at this resort. This resort was by far the best. We had previously gone to resorts where we had paid for Royal Service and this resort went way beyond what we had received in the other resorts. The two beaches were simply perfect. Where else can you you be served chilled champagne placed in a Bucket with two champagne glasses on the Beach. THe sand was so soft and beaches very clean and the water was so clear.
The A la carte restaurants we went, were very good as well as the Buffet where I had never seen such a selection of food with several grilling areas that the chefs would prepare your selection to your liking. Lobster, calamari, lagostines, Mussels, etc...
We would like to mention a few employees that we found examplary. Yandry, server in the Ventana Buffet and Lidice at the reception desk. Lidice made sure our room was the best we could get. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We feel like we had paid for Royal Service. Very friendly and kind staff always willing to help. The evening entertainment was excellent , very entertaining and enjoyable. The food was excellent and the variety was way beyond what we expected.
The weak points
This was not a big isssue but the furniture and mattresses looked a little tired and could be changed.
Certified

Cuban princess experience

, Trent River, ON
2018-03-18
This visit was my 5th to Cuba. 4 times to this resort. I can't image going anywhere else. Best beach I have ever been on. Friendly, happy, accommodating staff and a fantastic experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service. Megano Beach Bar and Grill service is top notch. Camilo, Yadia, Salvador and their co-workers remembered me, treated me with the upmost kindness and service. Love them.
The weak points
Late checkout showers routines need to be more established. It seems to be a work in progress for them. It doesn't need to be fancy... it just needs to be readily available!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?