Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.853.853.853.853.85
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Traveller pictures (310)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful beach

, Montréal, QC
2019-08-13
This was a very good trip, hotel, and beach. First off though, it is not a 5*, but definitely a solid 3.5* I will rate each experience in order of category: BEACH - 10/10 one of the most beautiful i have ever seen Ranchon beach snack bar - 2/10 terrible service, food not so great Pool snack bar - 8/10, excellent fries, burgers and pizza Buffet - 7/10 this was a hit and miss, no orange juice our whole week there, and they kept doors open while A/C was on which made no sense and it was very hot. Japanese - 2/10 just awful , dont bother Meditteranean - 8/10 very tasty food International French - 8/10 our fave Italian - was closed, dont know why??? Lobby Bar - 9/10, excellent service, excellent drinks and coffee, great bartenders Room - 7/10 got a renovated one so very spacious, however a little more attention to detail to cleanliness is required, and i had to call every other day for fill up of mini-bar, i dont know why they just didnt do it automatically, also the A/C was not very strong and you have no control over it, we were in Block 12 Reception - 8/10 very friendly always helped us out Pool - 7/10 too warm for my liking, however, it was very big and pleasant Grounds - 10/10 immaculate landscaping Air Transat - 10/10 got everything i asked for, good job! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, beach, beach
The weak points
AC, buffet,
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-08-14
Dear dchlomi, Thanks a lot for take your time writing on Monarc. Everything about your recent experience at our hotel has been described and honest way. We are sure our potential customers will benefit from it, and especially, from your simple and wise recommendations to make their stay more pleasant. We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the improvement of all our services. It will be a pleasure to have you back in Melia Cayo Santa Maria.

Nice stay

, North York, ON
2019-04-07
We arrived in the hotel around 11PM. Check in was quick but there weren't many people to check in at the time . The room looks better in their website but at least was clean. No water and drinks in the fridge, and when I called their 700 nr I was told I had to get water from front lobby bar bc there was nobody working at that time for room service. I had to repeat the same call for three days out of seven that we stayed there. I didn't care for the soft drinks but water was an absolute need in hot weather. To resolve the problem I had to go to the front desk bc their customer service call didn't resolve the problem . Having said that I must say that staff was pleasant in general, thumbs up to the lobby bar guys and girl! Very friendly and prompt!
Food was their weakest point. Not much choices, a very small buffet and I wasn't impressed even with their restaurants. And yes I've eaten better food in Cuba. Entertainment was just ok. One night they had a very talented violinist and another night an excellent rock band. These were the only two nights that stood out for me.
The grounds were in excellent shape, rooms were very clean. They have air conditioning in the buffet but the doors of buffet were left ajar and the flies would get in and on the food. To my surprise Wi-Fi worked even in our room. On top of all that the two hours bus ride wasn't one of my favorites, something that I wasn't looking forward on the way back, but that isn't Management's fault.
All and all was a nice stay but we won't go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds,pool, cleanliness.
The weak points
Food
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Lovesunnyweather, Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected. We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the improvement of all our services. Thank you so much for your comments.

Great trip

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-13
This is my second time back at this resort. The environment is relaxing and very enjoyable, the ground well kept and look beautiful. The staff are amazing, especially the entertainment team. The activities are fun, and they truly become your friends. Price in my opinion is high for Cuba, but I'll still return simply because of the relationship with the staff. You wont find a better team anywhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment team
The weak points
Price
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Annac, I would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on Monarc about your stay at Melia Cayo Santa Maria. We are glad to know you consider it was a pleasant stay and thank you very much for letting us know. Such comments are the best award we may receive for our work. Once again, thank you very much and we will be waiting for you in your next visit…

Recent stay

, Owen Sound, HA
2019-03-09
Love this resort! We have been here 3 times, you will not be disappointed. Great food, hotel, and staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, extremely friendly staff, food and drinks are plentiful.
The weak points
The returning guest dinner was changed from Tuesdays to Thursdays, there fore we did not get to attend because we left on Thursday.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear The Priebe's: Thank You Very Much for your great review, I am very happy to see that you had such a great vacation with us, I hope I can see you in a near future!!

Cayo Grand Memories Santa Maria

, Burlington, ON
2019-03-06
Mind blowing is the best way I can describe. For my first vacation ever and being a disabled senior I was very worried how I'd get by. From the moment we disembarked at the hotel I was treated like royality. The hotel and grounds are so impeccable I felt like I was at Augusta National. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There is nothing I could even remotely think of as lacking. The staff at this hotel were the friendliest people I've ever met and I plan to go back to see all my friends again. The hotel is cleaned to hospital standards so nothing is a sore eye point.
The weak points
The only things that I could think of for this section is to remember this is a family resort with many children so it becomes busy at times in the buffet. Food is great if your not a fussy picky eater. They did run out of a few items.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Gerard Michaud, We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review describing in details how it felt to stay at our resort. We thank your honesty and we feel very proud to acknowledge you look so glad about having spent your holiday with us. Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit…

Hidden Gem

, Windsor, ON
2019-02-25
This resort is amazing we've been there 4 time and will be returning again this year, from the ground to the pool it's very well maintained, The staff is what makes this resort for us, we love that they all have smiles on there faces everyday, and I'm sure there life's aren't perfect, and I'm sure there tired but you'd never know it, they work long hours and manage to keep smiles on all there guest, they are so helpful, the management was new last year, and there have been some positive changes, a lot of old staff was moved around , but thing have definitely went up a notch, there fine dining is really stepped it up. A lot of staff have been there for years and that's why we come back, we've become family and the whole resort welcomes you back just like family , we do thing off the resort , there is lot to do from just walking to markets , to rides in very old cars to the adventurous one who like speed boats they have it all , you'll never be bored. Cuba is a beautiful country go and explore it . See you again soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Shirley and Blake, Thanks a lot for your review!!! We feel very proud to have inspired this review you have recently posted! It is really a pleasure to be recognized for our good service and offer, these are precisely the aspects we more are always taking into account. It is very good to us to receive these nice comments that stimulate us to continue working in order to improve our service quality. Thank you so much.

Home Away From Home

, Burlington, ON
2019-02-20
My husband and I have just returned home from our third visit. Once again, our thanks and gratitude go out to all the staff, you truly made our stay a 5 star plus!
The buffet, a la carte restaurants, pool snack bar and beach restuarant were fabulous.
The beach was beautiful, the pool was perfect, never a lack of lounge chairs and a bartender was never too far away!
The entertainment in the Lobby Bar in the early evenings is a great touch and we enjoyed it all.
The rooms are bright, cheery and very spacious, with new 'towel creations' everyday.
We went on the speed boat excursion and it is definitely the 'best bang for your buck'. It was four hours of jam packed fun!!

You are my home away from home, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend you to anyone!!!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️➕➕ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Julie Martin, Thank you very much for considering our hotel as home away from home, that make me real proud of the service ant most specially of the staff that provide it here in Melia Cayo Santa Maria!! Thank you very much for your great review and comments!!!

Better After the Hurricane

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-02-07
Travelled to this hotel now for the third time since recovery from the hurricane. Every time we have seen improvements. New lighting in the lobby, new lighting and opening up of the lobby bar area. It is so open now that many of the evening entertainment activities are held here. A rock band brings down the house once a week and the Blue Pool Show is very entertaining. The washrooms have been upgraded in the lobby and work was starting at the snack bar washrooms. If you are like me; I enjoy fine rums and now in the Cigar Bar off the lobby you can enjoy some of the best Cuba has to offer. We always found plenty of choices in food. The Snack Bar had great pizzas. The buffet always had pasta, seafood, beef, and chicken stations making fresh dishes to our liking. This would be finished off with crepes and fruit after dinner. The pool and the beach had plenty of loungers and shade with helpful staff available to get you settled. The beach is beautiful and the bartenders are sure to have something for your thirst. At noon the Ranchero is open for lunch and the BBQ is wonderful with beef, chicken, pork, and sausages. Fried fish is also delicious. The rooms are being upgraded slowly with new ac units. Restaurants are also getting new ac units.
This Hotel is on the small size which makes it easy to get around and has friendly helpful staff that will go out of the way to make your visit memorable. This being one of the oldest resorts on Cayo Santa Maria it is time for a makeover and they are doing a great job of it. Looking to go back again very soon. I have travelled extensively for business around the world and stayed in top rated hotels. This resort is comfortable and I feel safe just like I do at home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff such as Heriberto in Customer Service, Juan Carlos in the lobby bar, Bladimir in the Al La Carte bar, Kirenia in the restaurants, Osbiel in the pool bar have been there a long time and exemplify the friendly and helpful atmosphere of this resort.
The weak points
Cuba is seasonal and so some fruits and vegetables are not always available.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Commander, I thank you very much for your detailed review and comments. All the staff and myself are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us, in Meliá Cayo Santa Maria, and that you enjoyed your vacation here. We will be happy to receive you and your family again, See you soon.

JP Regimbald

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-26
Melia Cayo Santa Maria [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hard Working friendly staff. Great service. Spacious rooms. Good food- snack bar even had poutine, pizza & fried chicken!. Grounds well kept. Please- tip when you can- they work hard for it & appreciate it. Shout out to "Joey" & the crew.
The weak points
Some of the public women's washrooms were under repair at the time we were there first week of Jan.'19. Some may not be partial to the 1.5 bus ride- I enjoyed it as the guide provided great local information as we drove; bring a few beer and kick back.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-17
Dear Jean-Paul Regimbald, Greetings from Melia Cayo Santa Maria and many thanks for your review…

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

, Brantford, ON
2018-10-12
This was our first visit to Melia Cayo Santa Maria and our 6th visit to Cayo Santa Maria. What can I say, we had a fantastic time. Hotel staff, from reception, cleaning lady, white staff, to bartenders are all fantastic and will do everything in their power to please you. They were amazing, super welcoming, accommodating, and everything was done with a smile, which made the best part of our trip. They didn't ask for anything, but don't forget tipping is important and appreciated.

Daily entertainment was good and the a la carte restaurants were lovely (food was lovely even for a person like me who is allergic to fish and has gluten intolerance). What impressed us most at the a la carte restaurants was the extra effort to accommodate our special needs with limited resources they had. Other places offering food, were not very impressive, but we didn't been hungry. The food in the main buffet was limited and poor selection, but with the help from grill cooks and very helpful white staff, we managed to find some ingredients that we can make a meal from. The main buffet was also closed for lunch, so after we feel sick from food consumed at El Rancho beach grill (where we noticed poor food handling and safety practices), we just didn't go for lunch. We also didn't like snack bar near pool because of birds and bird poop on chairs and tables. Late breakfast and early supper was working for us.

The beach was great with sand and warm crystal clear water, but not much swimming because of jellyfish (a lot of jellyfish this season). We spent some time around the pools and didn't have a problem finding the sun beds and shaded areas. Our room was big, clean, and comfortable. Our bathroom was old, but clean and everything was working fine. The fridge was topped up every day with water, soft drinks and beer, so there was nothing to complain about.

Evening entertainment in the lobby was good especially a Cuban rock band and Septeto Guaimare. We would definitely consider booking this hotel again, especially if they improve food selection and have buffet open for lunch. All together this is cute small resort and we had an amazing experience (and we won't forget it)!

The only negative is the transfer time from the airport (more than an hour and a half in the bus without washrooms) which is not their fault. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, great staff, beautiful beach, good a la carte restaurants, excellent bartenders.
The weak points
Main buffet food selection; beach grill with poor food handling and safety practices; snack bar with birds and bird poop on chairs and tables, poor internet access
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-06-04
Dear Mg, First of all many thanks for take your time writing on Monarc... We are so happy to see that you finally enjoyed your stay with us. For sure that we will share this review with all people you are referring us. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Vacation

, Lasalle, QC
2018-02-28
Melia Cayo Santa Maria [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff very pleasant and really take care of you.
The weak points
the weather we had, regarding the resort only thing is that the mattress are very uncomfortable.
Certified

Melia cayo santa maria

, Calgary, AB
2017-12-11
Staff are excellent accomadation is good and beach is very good. Food at buffet was ok but not great be careful what you chouse to eat. Far from anything so not much to do outside of resort. overall would recomend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and beach
The weak points
buffet food
Certified

Our stay at Melia

, Oshawa, ON
2017-11-23
We had a great holiday, people are lovely. They really aim to please. Lots of specialty restaurants, so no need to always eat at the buffet; but it was a well stocked buffet, something for everyone. The only thing I missed was tomatoes, onions & lettuce. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, weather, lots of pools & good food
The weak points
Need more washrooms, but they are still repairing things after devastating hurricane!
Certified

Great resort!

, Ndip, QC
2017-09-13
Everything was perfect like the first time we went!
Will go back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach WOW, Food GREAT, Staff AMAZING, Rooms GREAT and CLEAN! Lots of palapas on beach for shade!
The weak points
none really!
Certified

Excellent week!

, Greenfield Park, QC
2017-06-20
The hotel staff was amazing as always. The food was good as has been for the last visits. The entertainment has been brought up a notch and was quite impressive, good job to the team. The renovations completed on the hotel has done some good and is refreshing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful experience!

, New Westminster, BC
2017-05-05
First time in Cuba and it was a great experience! The staff at Melia Cayo Santa Maria are extremely friendly and do everything to ensure that their guests are happy. The resort grounds and rooms are very clean and provide for a relaxing week of lounging about. The music and entertainment feels authentic. The beach is unreal! Feels like a dream. I would definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

, Upper Stewiacke, NS
2017-04-07
Beautiful resort. Second and not last visit. Staff is everything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing.
The weak points
nothing
Certified

Awesome holiday!!

, Naicam, SK
2017-03-01
This hotel was awesome, highly recommend this resort to everyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
Wi-Fi
Certified

Melia

, Winnipeg , AB
2017-01-21
Grounds,pool,beach are great.
Rooms are in need of renovation.
We had ants in our room on a continuous basis and no one did anything, except we were provided with a can of ant spray. Food is not good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds,pool, beach is all great.
The weak points
Food, rooms, is definitly not a four star. It might be a two star.
Certified

MELIA CAYO SANTA MARIA

, Calgary, AB
2017-01-06
Clean and well located hotel with wonderful staff!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

My experience

, Kingsville, ON
2016-11-21
the hotel was amazing as was all the staff. the only complaint I have was the bed! was hard as a rock...please update to comfortable mattresses and this will be the perfect resort for vacationing. I will defintely come back here again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was excellent
The weak points
front desk staff should understand English.....more wifi cards should be available to guests---they kept running out
Certified

Good vacation destination

, Mississauga, ON
2016-11-13
melia cayo santa maria is a good place to stay in. The staff are friendly, pools and restaurants are clean. great entertainment and the beach was amazing. there is a restaurant by the beach and they make great crispy fried fish, By the beach area, waiters will come to grab your drinks. walk by the shore line and you can visit other resort, but by far melia cayo santa maria location is the best. the drawbacks, they are renovating the place. buffet is under construction. hot water on the shower is sometimes non existent. beach towels are always out. food is somewhat fair, but i hope once the buffet is finished from constuction there will be more selection to chose from. wifi signal is poor and must purchase fo 2CUC for an hour. at night, the paths to reach your hotel lacks lighting. it's hard to see the path at night so bring a flashlight. the highlight on this trip is the good service, beautiful beach, comfortable hotel stay. beware visits early november as the season is still rainy. luckily we got one day of hot weather on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, beach, hotel
The weak points
poor signal on wifi, hot water is rare to have, beach towels are hard to come by, poor lighting at night for the hotel paths
Certified

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

, Cornwall, PE
2016-05-07
This hotel had the best beach in the area with lots of thatched roof sun covers.
The meals at all the restaurants/snack bars/beach restaurant were very good. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were always pleasant. It's a long distance from Santa Clara Airport to the hotel (2 hours approx) but worth it as the Rep on the bus was very knowledgeable, entertaining & the Hotel location was quite nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful & kept clean with lots of beach sun covers-which were definately needed.
The weak points
The Hotel rooms are looking a little tired but kept very clean considering.
Certified

Cayo Santa Mario

, Lakeville , NB
2016-04-25
Very friendly and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, London, ON
2016-04-13
We travelled via Transat Holidays to the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. This was our first time to Cuba but not the first time to the Caribbean. Before I get into my description and experiences at the hotel I want to sing the praises of our Transat rep, Danielle. She was fabulous to work with and took care of us whether it was a problem or simply an inquiry with the upmost diligence and care. We love her!

Upon landing in Santa Clara locating and boarding our bus was pretty simple. The airport is not complicating. There was only one attendant at the exchange counter and the line up was long. Our bus was leaving before we had a chance to change over any money. We heard this from other travellers with other arrival dates too.

AIRPORT/BUS
When selecting a resort in Cuba we weighed a few options and decided to focus on relaxation over anything else. So with the advice of a Cuban friend we chose Cayo Santa Maria for what we were told had the best beach. Our travel agent mentioned that in choosing anything in Cayo Santa Maria we would need to be aware of a 1.5 hour bus ride. So I made sure that our flight landed in daylight. This way we wouldn't be bored staring out black windows and we could appreciate the small towns and then the 40 km causeway.

The guide on the bus gave little tid bits about the areas we rode through making the drive a little more interesting. NOTE: they sell beer for 2/$5 (American or Canadian dollars) on the bus but bare in mind there's a 50/50 chance of a restroom on the bus and no stop along the way. The causeway was very beautiful on a cloudless blue sky day.

CHECKIN***
Once we were checked in, we had a golf cart ride to our room. We were in building 18 which was extremely close to the beach, across from the kids centre and also perfectly close to the pool. Loved this location.

FACILITY****
Public area restrooms didn't always have toilet paper. Some guests kept their own them at all times. Cleanliness was questionable at times when it came to these restrooms. Stories about the men's off the lobby were scary.

Grounds were lovely. The age of the hotel is a bonus when considering the foliage and landscaping.

The pool is lovely also. Never did we struggle to find a chair here. Also, there's staff there to take your drink orders. Coconuts can be obtained by making friends with the gardening staff. Don't forget to go back after drinking the milk and ask him to cut it open so you eat the jelly and/or meat inside.

Cats. Yes there are cats. They don't bother you but they do make themselves available in case you're thinking about feeding them. There were 2 litters while we were there and one mama looking like any day was going to be her day to pop. They were healthy looking cats and the majority were quiet friendly too. If you're in 17 or 18 and see the big male white with black and grey spots we named him Chico and he doesn't care for our food he wants the bugs and lizards. Good friend to have around ;).

FOOD***
Al a carte meals were pre booked for us upon arrival. This was nice and cut down on waiting in line in the morning to book. Although you could make adjustments if you needed. To do so you had to lineup in the morning and attempt to make an adjustment. We were able to sit at all the al a cartes. It was a nice break from the buffet as the buffet is the same from lunch and dinner. I can't say we had a favourite but we weren't disappointed either.

24 hour snack bar had amazing pizza. It was a great go to evening snack.

Beach restaurant and BBQ had large portioned calamari or fish and chips. Small buffet too. The BBQ was great but I only trusted one of the 2 co me there. One guy, as pleasant as he was had no clue that touching cooked food with uncooked chicken or the tongs that touched uncooked chicken or dripping raw chicken over top of cooked food was a no no. So I just paid attention and used caution when eating from here. the waiter who attended the BBQ tables in the sand was very wonderful.

If I had a real complaint it would be in the main buffet. There were almost always as many dirty tables as taken tables. Only by standing beside a dirty look table looking for its wait staff could you get it cleaned off so that you could use it. They either need staff dedicated to solely clearing the tables constantly and quickly or the wait staff that stand at their stations waiting for people to take a seat so they can get them a drink could actually clear the table when its first evacuated instead of waiting for someone to need it first. I would say each morning, "ready to go get our table cleared so we can have breakfast?" Frustrating.

BEACH*****
The beach was breathtaking. I never knew there was a shade of blue that would bring tears to my eyes. The grass umbrellas were great and there's 1 or 2 guys on the beach to find you one and set up your chairs with your towels when you arrive. Alex was very helpful everyday and a joy to see when you get down there. Melia Cayo Santa Maria is located on the NICEST part of the beach. Even next door at the Las Dunas the sand area is shorter and far more crowded. On the other side it gets even shorter. Apparently a recent storm washed most of that beach away. There is also wait staff coming by frequently to take drink orders.

ROOMS ***
Our room was satisfactory. Yet we did have problems. The first day the toilet didn't flush but it was fixed and a few days later it stopped flushing again but with some juggling and fiddling I got it to work again. Our patio door pretended to lock. But with a firm pull would pull open. This was of a greater concern because we were on the ground floor. They fixed it once but it was loose again the next day. I spotted a maintenance guy in transit to a problem elsewhere and he kindly followed me to our room. After taking everything apart this great man kindly and efficiently fixed the lock. It was however still a little rattly so we had put the supplied umbrella in the track to reinforce to security of it.

A few lights in the room and the light on the balcony didn't work. The room however was always properly cleaned. I've been to beach locations before that always left the floor sandy but this maid DID sweep the floors up everyday. I really really appreciated that.

STAFF ****
Front desk staff was a little dismissive even when things weren't busy.

Bar staff were always friendly.

Entertainment staff were fun to have around. Dance team were a pleasure to watch. Fashion show was...irrelevant at best.

Poolside and beach waiters were awesome with amazing memories.

I wish my memory was better to remember the names of those staff that helped make our stay welcome. But I know the ones we came in contact with were not the only ones doing an exceptional job. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach staff for chairs and drinks. Poolside service. Transat Rep, Danielle! <3 24 Hr Snack Bar, pizza Landscape full of flowers and mature trees Pool is clean
The weak points
Main buffet table clearing Public washroom cleaning

Nice resort just needs a little TLC

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-02-23
My travel companion and I spent Feb. 12 - 19 at this resort. The Melia Cayo Santa Maria in our opinion is a solid 4 star property, it's showing it's age and could use some updates such as paint, lighting and walkway repairs. The staff were fantastic from beginning to end, all were friendly, caring and hard working people. The specialty dining in the Japanese, Mediterranean and French restaurants were all exceptional. Food quality and service could not have been better. The buffet selection was basically the same everyday but it was also very good. The only thing that really bothered us was the cleanliness of the Buffet, Beach & Pool restaurants. Just about every sitting, there wasn't a clean table to sit at and the fresh silverware and glasses were usually dirty. Also the omelette cook never washed his hands, when he put the omelette on the plate his hands were covered in raw egg...not good. The Beach Grill cooks used the same tongs to add the raw chicken etc. to the grill as well as serve the cooked grilled meats, fruits and veggies to the guest. Our room was in the Standard Classic category, building #8. It was very nicely decorated and huge with a great balcony overlooking the gardens. The only thing that created a problem, was the shower water pressure however there was always plenty of nice hot water available it just didn't flow well at times. We were located just a 2 minute walk from the gorgeous white sand beach which had plenty of lounge chairs and a great bar with a huge variety of frosty drinks. If you like cats, you will love this place. There were at least 20 roaming around the property that were beautiful and friendly. This was a big plus for us since we are huge cat lovers. The 90 minute ride to and from the resort was great, as another reviewer mentioned, it was like a mini tour. The guide pointed out all kinds of interesting sights along the way, the bus was very comfortable. Overall it was a great holiday, with some major polishing and repairs in a few areas it could be a 5 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, specialty dining, staff
The weak points
Cleanliness in the buffet, beach bar and pool bar..shower water pressure.
Certified

Way below expectations

, vancouver, Br
2016-01-23
Horrible food and lousy service, a few staff members drinking on the job, indifferent attitude of the staff, for the first 3 days no chef or restaurant manager in sight. on a positive note our room was very nice and spacious also our house had a perfect location, very close to the beach. I understand that it is not a difficult thing to do but ONLY ONCE we were asked how everything was. It happened at the Italian Restaurant which I think had the best team in the whole resort. Also generally poor command of English by the staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, location, room, swimming pool, grounds
The weak points
food and service
Certified

The Best!

, Toronto, ON
2015-11-26
First of, the staff are amazing especially the entertainers dany,leo, flako, ernesto and carlos!, the resort was clean, rooms are huge i just hope they mop it everyday and put some air freshener or something.The beach is very nice. The food was not bad. overall, it was a wonderful stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food
Certified

Below expectation

, Brossard, QC
2015-11-05
Be careful with the lady in the telephone room.
I made a long distance call to Canada, and I spent only 50 seconds on the phone (I only left a short message on the answering machine). The lady in the telephone room charged me 4 minutes ! I refused to pay that amount since I did check my watch and asked her to verify it again . After pretending to check on the computer, She said that she made a mistake and charged me only 1 minute !

This happened to many people (at least with me and a person before me).

More...

The next day I came back to use the phone, she said the phone system is down. I checked with customer services and they said that the system is NOT down and I can also call long distance directly from my room. I did, and it worked !

Please be careful ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach
The weak points
food, restaurants
Certified

Well worth the money-during low season

, Mississauga, ON
2015-09-28
The hotel is dated definitely would rate as a 4 star. Staff was great, room was always clean. Hotel is starting to look tired and the money made is not going back into the hotel which is a shame. Front desk staff do not speak English as well as other staff and a few are just rude. Seeing as this is the first point of contact for a guest I was very disappointed. Food is what you would expected in Cuba. I would not bother with the a la cart restaurants, buffet, pool and beach restaurants are great. Beach is amazing, bar staff always keep your drinks full, houseman always keeps your fridge full. Pool is not as clean as it could be. Definitely needs a new CD for music at pool always skipping and playing the same music. Needs better tours. The only huge drawback for me is that if you have a new phone ie: Samsung's Galaxy S6 or S6 Edge Plus6 you have no access to WiFi. Bring bug spray! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall staff is great, beach is amazing, atmosphere is relaxing
The weak points
Needs to be updated, better front desk staff, better WIFI accesss
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?