Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Iberostar Coral Ensenachos
4.584.584.584.584.58
4.58 based on 62 reviews
#1 of 26 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (116)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

One Cayo, 3 Beaches, Many Hearts

, Oshawa, ON
2024-04-28
We are back from another vacation at this luscious tropical haven on Cayo Ensenachos, Cuba, which is surrounded by white, powdery sandy beaches and crystal blue waters.

We arrived on Wednesday evening, April 10, and just so you know, even if you are a guest of the Coral Level you do have to check in at the front lobby desk at the main building.

The staff that were on duty Brian and Zulma, gave a warm welcome to all of us as we Checked In. The check in was fast and we were then taken to the Coral level where we were met with refreshing cocktails served by Augustine, my favorite person and bartender, and Alberto, another bartender at the Coral lobby and pool. A light snack was in our Villa, arranged by the Jacobo, who I met in November on our girls trip and is one of the new Spanish management team. His focus is bringing the best that is available at the hotel to the Coral Level. He is an eloquent young man. You will notice there is now premium alcohol available at the Coral level, and we can thank him for these excellent liquors that are now available at the Coral. I think that he is doing a fantastic job with what is available for food and beverages at the resort and keeping the Guest happy.

Everything went off beautifully as we immersed ourselves in the beauty and life of laid back vacation mode.

Breakfast was great, a few of our usual servers were still there, yay! Livan, and Yasmany, who are wonderful servers and their were also some new faces.
Everything was available on the breakfast menu with the exception of salmon but there were many other choices. Fresh pastries and cookies were always available on the table in the middle of the dining area.

Lunch is always my favorite at the resort and I usually just have the homemade soup that Jaime the Chef and Loady, his right hand Chef, prepare daily. If you have not had the daily soup you have no idea what you are missing, sometimes I have two bowls.

At dinner we were so happy to see our favorite young ladies, Betty, Giselle and Yaquenia, who rush around to make everyone happy and keep the beverages and food flowing. The food was deliciously seasoned and cooked to perfection.

Those of us on the Beach on Friday experienced a moment of serendipity. Two little dolphins swam down the beach between guests and just a foot to three feet away from some of us. They swam slowly and were not afraid of people around them.
Everyone was just fascinated by these two baby dolphins. In all the years we have vacationed here this was a first.

Saturday is White Night where dinner is set up out by the pool. When darkness sets in, the lights around the pool make the whole area look magical. Do not forget to bring your white outfits. There was a sumptuous selection of fresh baked goods, salads, meats, smoked BBQ and various choices of delicious desserts and cocktails of your choosing.

Sunday I became ill and was not able to attend dinner for the next few nights but between my Spouse, Jacobo and the amazing staff of Butlers who I treasure dearly, Yandry, Diana, Dismar and Roberto, I wanted for nothing. And thank you Michel. I was amazed that Jacobo actually took time out of the dinner service and went to the main buffet to get me something bland and soft to eat. The Selecion side of the Resort caters to families with children of all ages. So there is a variety of choices available at the Buffet there.

On Tuesday morning I went to the doctor who is available 24/7 on the Resort, for those of us who do not or did not know. A cart came right to the room and by 7:30 am I was being checked over by the nurse Lucia, such a very caring lady who speaks English fluently, so it was less stressful,and Dr. Maria Victoria who was so thorough in her assessment and extremely knowledgeable.

There is International Medical Centre, located nearby, where they can access medication that is not available readily at the Hotel, so they went there to get the antibiotics that I needed. We were shocked that our charge for everything was $83.00 CAD, $50.00 of which was the consultation fee.

The only problem we did have was the lack of toilet paper, and having to ask for more several times as we opted not to have the room refreshed while I was ill.

The last few days when I was on the mend I made sure and made up for the lack of tan by relaxing on the beautiful beach. The weather in Cuba always cooperates. If you have to be sick what a beautiful place to be sick surrounded by stunning scenery, in a well equipped Villa and with caring individuals.

My heart goes out to Diana and Milexis, the two main Coral building and Beach Restaurant cleaners. I commend you for what you do, I could not do what you do and still always have a smile on my face. They kept the common areas immaculate.

Yuniely, a very busy and talented bartender made delicious, yummy, chocolate martinis and Appletini's on our last night.

I also have to say the new staff at the Coral Restaurants…Amanda, Gasket, Yahimi and Dario were all great and I wish them the best in their new jobs. And in the background there is Esther, who keeps the kitchen clean all day.
They are all a great team.

On the last morning before we left, I called at the last minute and asked Yandry, one of the Butlers, if it was possible for us to have a private breakfast down at Casa de Botas. A quiet more private beach. He called back to say it was a go and that Luis stepped up to do it. By the time we got there, the table was set and there was a basket filled with sweet pastries to eat while Luis went and got our order. He was the best. We were so happy to be able to share a meal alone at my most favorite hang out at the Coral.

And last but not least the Hotel Managers Luis Angel and Javier, I think that it is great that they make themselves available and accessible to the HoteI Guests. I think your hands on approach brings positive vibes to the experience at the Resort

Till the next time. Hasta Pronto! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The Staff make you feel like Family. They are Genuine and just want you to have a wonderful vacation.
The weak points
We are big toilet paper users so we had to ask a few times for more rolls for the room.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-05-02
Dear guest, Thank you for letting us be part of your special moments in Cuba. We cannot wait to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Coral Level at Iberostar Ensenachos

, Codys, NB
2024-03-28
Extremely great stay. The half bungalow suites are beautiful and well maintained. The staff really go out of their way to be helpful in every manor! Thanks to everyone especially Dismar the main host. Hope to see you all again in a couple of years!

Pete and Patti. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food is excellent considering this is Cuba. Bravo! Drinks are premium. Everything is very clean and orderly. VERY friendly/helpful staff. Beach is of course EXCELLENT!
The weak points
Maybe a little paint and bathroom update for the beach bar. Very minor... Internet is very slow and spotty....not a big deal for me...but possibly others.
Sanitary measures
Excellent.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-04-03
Dear Peter, Thank you for trusting us your holidays in Cuba. We cannot wait to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

A place to go back

, Toronto, ON
2023-11-10
This was our first trip after so many years of hard work. We weren't sure at first but we were told by some friends about this destination. It was the best could happen to us. Never seen a beach so beautiful like Ensenachos. But the strongest point are the staff. They have so many values to show my society.
We like to visit different places in our vacation but Coral Level Ensnachos is a place to come back. Don't know when but for sure you'll see us again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-11-16
Dear Edson, We are glad to confirm that your experience in our hospitality was so special. It will be an honor to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

It was great being back

, Mississauga, ON
2023-11-10
We visited this hotel 6 years ago, met such a great people that we kept coming back every year. We just came two days ago from our vacations in Coral Level Ensenachos, but we feel it wasnt enough time for us.
We noted that people are working long hours as you can't imagine and on top of that they still smiling and giving us a wonderful service. I invite all of the customers to appreciate such a hard work as we did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-11-16
Dear Bill, A feedback like yours encourages us to continue working towards excellence. Thanks you for your loyalty. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Back in paradise

, Mississauga, ON
2023-11-07
It feels great coming back to visit our friends and family. They always welcome you with big smiles in their faces. The beach was awesome as usual and the people are the reason why we cant go to another place. It feels sad we cant stay longer but for sure we'll be back next year. It wont be long before you see us again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-11-16
Dear Bill: We are honored to be part of your family. Thank you for trusting us. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Time for girls

, Mississauga, ON
2023-10-14
My sister and I came to this beautiful resort, we had a great time and we feel always very safe. My sister has mobility issues but all the staff was always there ready to help. Big thanks to all the wonderful people that makes this destination so special [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-18
Dear Linda, We are glad to have been your choice to spend your holidays in Cuba. It will an honor to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Friends and beach

, Mississauga, ON
2023-10-14
I want to tell everyone about my experience at this hotel, we came a group of friends. We thought it may be not a good experience but we were wrong. All the staff did their best and more to accommodate all our requests. Next year same friends will come and maybe we'll bring more [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-18
Dear Arthur, Thanks for trusting us your holidays on this beautiful island. our Staff will be honored to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Amazing beach

, Mississauga, ON
2023-10-14
We had a beautiful week, wonderful service and I have no words to describe the beach. I've been in many places, but this the best beach I ever seen.
Special thanks to the butlers, they were so helpful all the time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-18
Dear David, If you came back home with such wonderful memories we have got the best proof that we are working on the right track. We look forward to repeat this experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Another amazing experience

, Montréal, QC
2023-10-12
As every year we came back to our second home, best time ever. Very few customers, we had the beach just for ourselves. Can't believe it!!! People work so hard, under the sun plus humidity you see them working very hard. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so special [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-13
Dear Glebb, We are delighted to count on your preference. Our Team will be always delighted to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Best beach ever

, Montréal, QC
2023-10-12
We had a great experience at this hotel, best beach and best person ever. I love Cuban for theirs integrity and compromise to their jobs. Made me feel like my second home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-13
Dear Inna, We are happy to read that you have spent such a great time in our hospitality. It will be an honor to repeat this experience in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Wonderful vacation

, Montréal, QC
2023-10-12
I can't just go and have an amazing vacation without recognize the hard work and passion of all the awesome staff. One week getting a good service made me feel like a Queen. Of course I recommend this paradise and I'll be back before Christmas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-13
Dear Claurich, Thanks for choosing us. We will be waiting to conquer you again with the best services and personalized attention. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Nice people around specially at customer service

, Mississauga, ON
2023-05-29
It has been a new experience because we have always been in Varadero. Ana from customer service made everything easy for us by giving us advice and assistance. Those guys are the heart of this big hotel.
We went to the dolphinarium and we loved the swim with the dolphins and the great food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Customer service department specially Ana
The weak points
Some manor issues but nothing to disapoint
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-06-07
Dear Edgar, It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Nice hideaway

, Oakville, ON
2023-05-27
Adults only, max. approx. 100 guests. Away from the main hotel building. Private beach, beach bar and beach restaurant for lunch.
Food selection and quality was average because it's Cuba.
By far made up with the kind and caring staff all around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
All the staff were caring and excellent. Selection of rums were great. Very nice private beach, beach bar and beach restaurant. Rooms and facilities were kept clean and to a good standard. Have an option to go to the main hotel area from Coral level.
The weak points
Food supply was limited and quality average. It takes one and a half hour from the airport after arrival.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-06-07
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your positive assessment regarding your holiday at our Iberostar hotel. We would also like you to know that we are grateful for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly on your behalf. Please come back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Great experience

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-22
This is our favourite destination, we have been coming to this paradise for the last 8 years, we've had try other resorts to compare, but this is the most beautiful we've ever seen. The combination of the beach, which is unique, and the wonderful people who are always taking such a good care of us it's something we can't find anywhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-24
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us once again as the right place to enjoy your holidays in Cuba. We are proud to have your trust and loyalty. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Amazing trip

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-22
Once again we came back, beach was excellent, it was warmer than January, the beautiful colors send us an invitation to jump in. The staff (as usual) was very friendly and profesional. Special thanks to the couple under the umbrella. All the regular know them and first visitor can't take their attention away. This butler will be always ready to organize your vacation, you won't have to worry about anything, they will make it happen before you realize you need it. See you all in 5 months [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-24
Dear guest, Thank you for giving us the privilege of welcoming you once again. Count on your loyalty motivates us to continue working towards excellence. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

The place to scape

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-21
If you need a place to scape, Iberostar Coral level is the one. Room is huge and clean, food and drinks are amazing, even being Cuba can't complain about the food, they do magic with what they have. I've been many places in Cuba but this is the one I'll always come back. People are excellent. I felt very comfortable travelling by myself because you can talk to the people, never feel along and is very safe place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-24
Dear Debora, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Beautiful vacation with friends

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-21
Came back to this beautiful place, this time we brought our friends. They couldn't understand why we always came to the same place until they tried. Now are they the ones pushing to come back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-24
Dear Michael, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our hotel. Count on preference is the most important recognition for our daily work. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

A place to return

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-19
This trip was very important for me and my husband, we have been dealing with so many situations and really need it to go away. We weren't sure if this was the right destination but we took the risk. It was the perfect choice, Cuban people has no comparison, very nice and always ready to help. That combined with the awesome beach is priceless. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear Tracy, We are delighted to know that your holiday experience with us was positive. We look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

See you soon

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-19
One week it's not enough to enjoy the magic beach of Ensenachos, being in Coral you get a very good care of yourself. All the staff is always looking after you to make sure everything is fine. Good breakfast, good lunch by the beach and we had a wonderful Dinner outside by the pool. Thanks a lot for such a wonderful vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear guest, A review as positive as yours assures us that we are heading in the right direction with our countless efforts. Thank you for staying with us for your holiday. It would be an honour to serve you again. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Another beautiful experience

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-19
This time of the year was really hot, exactly what we were looking for. Best excuse to go in the water, ocean was excellent, snorkeling was so good. Thanks a lot for all the team in Coral. You're doing great. I could see how hard you're working. Livan, Yasmany, Yuri, Yaquenia, Anier, specially Yandry and Diana are the soul of that piece of paradise. We'll see back in November [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear guest, It has been an honour to serve you and we are grateful for these positive words. Please come back again soon so we can surpass this experience. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Amazing coming back

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-19
More than 4 years to come back, many reason kept us away from home. I was so good to come back, you'll find new faces, but beach stays same like usual, the best ever. One addition that we really liked was the dinner by the pool, amazing idea. Special thanks to Diana and Yandry, (butlers) nice couple always ready to help. For sure we'll be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear John, We would like to thank you for choosing us again for your holidays. We will be delighted to have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Esmeralda

Beautiful vacations

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-18
We just got back from this beautiful hotel.The place always beautiful.The gala dinner by the pool is a great ideal . The workers are very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear guest, A comment as positive as yours is the best confirmation that we are working in the right direction. It will be marvelous to see you again . Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Returning from paradise

, North York, ON
2023-05-18
Our visit was incredible, lovely like always.Our family in Coral gave us the best treatment.The food , the rooms, the gardening everything was perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear Anna, We would like to thank you for choosing us for your holiday. We are honoured to know that we have lived up to your expectations. Please come back and see us again in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

The place to go back

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-16
This was our first stay at this hotel, we read so many reviews before coming so we came with no expectations at all. What to say, we've visited many hotel in the Caribbean, but never had an experience compared to this one. Best beach ever, service was amazing, we read people complaining about the food, for us was just awesome. Many names to take with us, but this specific couples touched our hearts, very hard working couple and always ready to help with this beautiful smile in their faces, Yandry and Diana. Do we recommend, of course, and we'll be back sooner than you think [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear Wayne, We are happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations. We look forward to serving you again to repeat or even surpass this experience. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

One more time

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-16
Friends and family always makes this question, why you always goes back to the same place? Of course they don't know the beautiful people and the amazing beach is there waiting for us. Thanks again for all what you did, it was just beyond our expectations. Names for not to forget, Yandry and Diana, they will be always there for you to make your stay special [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear Cliff, Thank youfor these kind words after your recent stay at our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Wonderful trip

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-16
We had the best family vacation ever, all the team at Coral did their best and make us feel as we were at our second home. Names like Yandry, Diana, and so many other will stay in our hearts forever. You will see us back sooner than you think. Once again thanks a lot for everything YouTube did for us [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-23
Dear guest, We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the right direction. Please come back again soon. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Will not return

, Rockland, ON
2023-02-27
Iberostar Coral Ensenachos at Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

February 2023

Don't do what I did. I read and relied on the recent reviews with
excellent, very good and average ratings. I also read the ones with terrible, poor and average ratings, but somewhat ignored them, thinking that they were exaggerating but should have relied on those instead.
By day 3 of our 14 days stay, I apologized to the couple we recommend this resort and invited to join us there. By day 7, we said, 1 week down and 1 more to go. Time didn't fly fast enough. As the days went by with the second week, we couldn't wait to get back home. The last day, we didn't sleep because we were too excited to get back home.
We tried to make the best out of this experience and stay positive.

IN A NUTSHELL:
I leave with mixed feelings. We have seen and been to this resort when it was in its full glory but for many reasons (embargo, inflation, COVID-19 and etc.) it isn't anymore.
The Iberostar Selection Ensenachos is a 4 star and the Coral Level (CL) section is a 5 star but may vary depending on the information and publications of various sources.
Because of what all of the 4 of us have experienced and of the present situation in Cuba, we will not be returning to this resort or any resorts in Cuba, until all gets stable and all issues get rectified, and with this, being very well aware that it may never change.
The status of the premises (buildings only, the landscape is breathtaking) and the availability of products to assure and reflect the operation of a 4 and 5 star(CL) resort is poor to none existent or not available. What is sad is some guests are trying to make it acceptable or justify or making it look insignificant by saying 'you know, Cuba is Cuba' or the 'what do you expect, it's Cuba'. This is unacceptable and actually it is denying the reality of the situation by sweeping the problems under the rug. We expected way better for what is advertised as a 4 and 5 star (CL) and by relying on the majority of published reviews and info, especially for the amount of money we have paid for our trip and comparing this stay with our previous stays at this resort. This was not a cheap trip. For the amount of money, we could have had way much better and we would have experienced all the perks of a true 4 & 5-star resort.
(In this review, I refer to the 4 or 5 star ratings, but it varies depending on the sources/media platforms)- MORE DETAILS FOLLOW...

DETAILS ON VARIOUS SUBJECTS AND ISSUES:
Overall, as previously mentioned, this is a resort with obvious major problems and issues that a lot of guests avoid discussing or acknowledging, so like many reviews that I have read, I don't understand why some are given an overall excellent, very good or even average, some thumbs up and 'the best ever of ‘X,Y and Z'....because it is not. The only exception: the 2 beaches and the manicured landscape that is very well maintained and breathtaking.

As REPEAT GUESTS at the Coral Level, we, my spouse and I, stayed at the Coral Level (CL) Iberostar Selection Cayo Ensenachos from Jan 31 to Feb 14, 2023. The info is based for this period only.

We have been to Cuba, at least 40 times, if not, then very close . We visited and explored many cities, did multiple tours, experienced the culture, saw the many faces of the country and we stayed in many resorts from 2 stars to 5 stars.

We also suggested friends to join us at the CL because of previous experiences and how wonderful the resort is, the people and the food were. What a huge huge huge mistake it was this time around.

This review was written by me, but my spouse and both of our friends gave their input and suggestions, and all have approved the content of this review.

We paid more to be at the Coral Level. For 14 days we were expecting the same quality, the same experience and to do the same as our previous stays which was to be doing all our activities in that part of the resort only. But, circumstances (described latter) made it that we slept at the CL villa and stayed on Ensenachos beach CL section, but 98% of our meals were taken at the Buffet (Ventanas) near the lobby of the main resort which is separate from the CL.

There is a 2.8 km road between CL section (5 star) and the main resort that has Park and Spa sections. There is a van and a golf cart with non-stop rides to go back and forth between both CL section and main resort. If you have mobility issues, I want to let you know that at the CL section there is a lot of walking between the CL lobby and the villas. Overall, the complete resort is huge: 3 sections – the Spa, the Park and the Coral Level

The CL section (rating of 5 star ) has 23 buildings (46 villas that are approx 1200 sq/ft). Advertised for adults (14 ), 8 restaurants (à la carte – Cuban, Mediterranean, Italian, Asian) and 8 bars that you can access at the main resort.

We visited this specific island, way before the original resort Occidental Royal Hideaway was built in 2005, when it was a virgin island. We previously stayed at the Occidental Royal Hideaway and we also stayed at the Iberostar Park suites 3-4 times and twice at the Coral level, previously called Grand Village.

Some guests at the resort were aware of the situation because it was written in one of the travel agencies site but didn't think it was that bad. So, once back home, I read the info with our travel agency and compared it with the info of the other provider. With the other provider, on their website, at least they have put warnings under the title: '! - IMPORTANT INFORMATION' which informs you about the present situation/condition in Cuba. I wish I had known that before booking it in 2022. Check and compare the info with more than one provider. After reading a lot of reviews, I expected the resort to be like before because of all the recent reviews that I read and the majority were from being excellent and very good...well, it was not, way far from it. Our travel agency did not put any information or warnings. The only alert ‘Hours of operation and availability of all restaurants and bars are subject to change based on the hotel's occupancy throughout the season.'

VALUE:
Advertised as –4.9/5 Superior....from all the 4 of us, our opinion is that it is not at all a superior value. Having known the situation/conditions, I/we would have booked and gone to another country/island.

14 at the CL?: Guests talk between each other and quite a few were not happy with this situation - The CL section is supposed to be 14 but for a few days there were these guests that brought their son who was way younger than 14 years old. So, this means that a precedent has been created and if it is requested, other guests can bring their children or grandchildren way below 14 y.o. and their request not be refused...that is the way I see, and others saw it the same way too.

LOCATION:
Cayo Santa Maria Caibarién Villa Clara Cuba. 90 minutes bus ride from the Abel Santamaría Airport (SNU).

BEACHES ( not 1 but 2 of them) – AMAZING ...TREASURES OF NATURE:
as advertised 4.9/ 5 Amazing...I agree, we all agree., 1 island and 2 amazing beaches that are hard to beat...Megano being with the calmest between the two with shallow crystal clear water for you to walk a long distance in the water. If you prefer the tranquility and peace then it is the beach of Ensenachos, also with crystal clear and shallow water. Both have white fine sand. Megano's sand is more compact than Ensenachos but walking on both beaches is easy and very pleasant. Good for snorkeling and scuba diving – don't miss that chance.

POOL:
as advertised 4.6 / 5 Amazing...didn't use the pools, we are there for the beaches. But, we saw that at Coral Level it was not crowded. At Park section, Marino snack bar closed and there are no bathroom facilities functioning, so it makes the pool and water park a bit difficult to use – there was no one when we passed by a few times. On the Spa section which is supposed to be only 18 , there were a lot of babies, young children/families, 18 and seniors at the pools. The Mégano snack bar, on Spa section, was operational, and the food was really good – we went for salad and fruits, our friends said that the tuna salad sandwich was really good, and they craved it – that was worth it.

ENTERTAINMENT:
as advertised 3.2/5 ...we enjoyed the sax player, the magician and etc., when we went to the main lobby for cappuccino and we enjoyed the activities with Hector at the Coral level and in the main lobby (not CL) but we didn't go for anything else or the shows in the auditorium, so I can't comment on this.

VILLAS/ ROOMS
Coral Level villa: as advertised - 4.3/5 Excellent...a lot tired, lots of love needed if I compare from our previous stays, but all was clean and all was functional except the WIFI/Internet. We were supposed to have robes and slippers, but they were not provided, and we do not use them anyways. There was no facial tissue and no facecloth, so bring your own. But you have 2 bath towels, 2 beach towels and 2 hand towels and if you want/need to change them, it is not an issue. What we needed, we had to be comfortable in the room (except the mattress) If you ask, you can get a coffee machine and the coffee will be provided. Our friends' villa had a single bedside light and a floor lamp in the living room. Our room had two bedside lamps, a table lamp on the writing desk and a table lamp and floor lamp in the living room. After /- a week and many complaints, our friends had to change villas because of a bug infestation (like tiny black flies) that continued even after many fumigation attempts. Speaking of bugs, we saw one huge cockroach in our bathroom...most probably there were more so when came time to pack our luggage, we inspected carefully to not bring any ‘friends' back home.
Structures are falling apart: e.g. - when we closed the front door of our villa, the wood panel beside the door frame moves. I thought about safety because I could move that side door wood panel with my bare hands. We walked around the main resort in the Spa and Park sections and there are a lot of buildings that there are no trespassing with a sign or a ribbon blocking the pathway...most probably building are not functional or condemned – I am assuming here.

-Sleep quality – unfortunately, we both find the mattress too soft and lumpy which caused us both back aches during all of our stay.
-Cleanliness/housekeeping – we had no issues.
-Service - anything that was missing or needed, we asked and we got immediately or within 24 hours.
-How was breakfast? - we do not eat breakfast, we eat only lunch and dinner.
-on previous stay at the CL, on arrival in the room, we used to have a bottle of 'champagne' which is white sparkling wine as well as other beverages in the fridge. We were told they do not provide the bottle of
sparkling white wine and beverages in the fridge anymore, except 2 bottles of filtered water that is replenished daily. But we had the heart shape made of flowers leading towards the hot tub. We requested the bottle of 'champagne' to have with the arrangement of the hot tub but we were informed that too they do not provide/do this anymore. Our friend also requested the bottle but were told the same thing – they no longer do that. But, another couple that was there at the same time, that we met at the CL put a review on a popular media platform on Feb 20th, 2023 at 10h27 pm, stating what butlers do and that the butler brings the bottle of 'champagne' to the room. There is a picture of the hot tub with the same flower petals arrangement and you see the bottle in the champagne stand, on the round patio table you see 2 champagne flutes with ‘champagne' poured. As references, if ever requested, I took screenshots of what was written in that review along with the pictures that were posted. So, it looks like some guests at the CL get privileges and others don't. Shouldn't every guest be treated equally?

CLEANLINESS OF BATHROOMS IN THE BUILDING OF THE MAIN LOBBY (NOT CL SECTION) - THAT IS AN URGENT ISSUE TO BE RECTIFIED:
On the Sunday before our departure, my husband went to the bathroom that is in front of the travel agency reps. There was a lack of toilet paper and one of the stalls was 'decorated' with explosive diarrhea all over the toilet seat, the cover and wall. My husband went back 12 hours later, but the bathroom was still not cleaned and with the heat, the smell was not pretty. The next day, I went to the woman's washroom past the jewelry store, only 1 stall had toilet paper and 1 stall was also 'decorated' with explosive diarrhea. Decorations with flowers are nice, but cleanliness and providing soap and toilet paper are essential and should be done as needed.

Since there is a shortage of toilet paper, bring one with you if you are going to be elsewhere other than your room.

Speaking of this issue...each person that we talked to had border line diarrhea and some did...so we stopped drinking water, milk in coffee and milk products...we drank only sparkling water, and we got better.

DINING:
as advertised 4.3 - Excellent...THIS IS A FAIL FOR US we do not agree with the rating.

During our stay there was a food and potable water shortage … the situation is very unstable and unpredictable.

The reason I wanted to eat at the Coral Level was to have sit down meals vs the self-serve buffet that you have at the main lobby (described later). My husband and our friends eat everything but because of my eating lifestyle (mainly vegan but will be lacto-ovo vegetarian if I need to), the menu at CL didn't accommodate me, even though I had sent an email to the resort prior to our stay and I have mentioned it to one of the butlers upon our arrival. The response was for me to eat at the buffet if I wanted vegetarian/vegan options. That it was at the CL or at the buffet or at the à la carte restaurants, there was extremely limited to no accommodations for vegan, vegetarian or plant based dietary lifestyles. What is described in the menu and what is, you can't rely – e.g.: at the Italian restaurant, they had a vegetable moussaka and I had asked the waiter who had assured me it was only vegetables , sin carne (without meat)...when I got it, it was a slice of eggplant on top of a pile of ground beef....so my husband ate it. At the Asian, I had rice and vegetables, but no proteins. At the CL dining room, I would have taken vegetable cannelloni, they were never available. No matter the potential vegetarian option on the menu, they didn't have it. It was a big miss in all my trials. It is a good thing that I brought sachets of oatmeal and all kinds of nuts as backup.
After my husband and our friends ate at the à la carte or at the CL dining room, most of the time, they ended up eating at the snack bar on the Spa suite or at the Ventanas (at the main section) because either the food they ordered was not good to not at all edible. Also some guest mentioned that they had lobster every day but neither my husband or our friends had it once.

Near the end of our stay, guests were told that all the à la carte restaurant reservations were not available no explanations/ reasons were given.

THE BUFFET (Ventanas) which is near the main lobby (NOT PART OF CORAL LEVEL SECTION):
This is why I wanted to be at the CL with sit down meals vs eating at the buffet because this was exactly what I wanted to avoid at all costs: every single day, I saw this common, on a regular basis behavior and actions of food touching with hands by guests and resort staff (other than kitchen staff) at the buffet. This is what I have witnessed and other guests too (we do talk between guests) even if there are food tongs, people (adults and children) would pick up bread with their hands, put it ON (not near) their nose and sniff it and put it back in the baskets. I have witnessed also adults and children sticking their fingers in creamy desserts, sauces and dressings and then licking their fingers and go sample the next condiments/foods and taste them...this is like spitting in the food – this is NOT acceptable and disgusting. No wonder people get sick. My appetite was often lost or spoiled by this. Many actions can be put in place to prevent this, one of them is identifying what the condiments/foods are to prevent this, put sign of a hand with a bar across to warn no touching or a sign that mentions ‘no sampling' and etc.
What was not available of at the Coral Level (wine, milk, fruits, beer and etc. – the list is long) we got at the main section of the resort, yet we paid more to be at the Coral Level.
At the buffet, there were black beans, white beans, chickpeas and lentils (all good veg. Proteins) for veg dietary needs but way over salted and most of the time mixed or cooked with fish, sausages or other meats and so were nice vegetable salads mixed with fish or meats. A solution: put the meats/fish on the side instead of putting it /mixed it in with vegetarian/vegan proteins...by doing these changes it would accommodate a lot of people. I saw a woman beside me eating from a bag with vegan protein that she brought from home (Montreal, P.Q., Canada) and teens trying to taking off the sausages from the chickpeas and other dishes because they were vegetarian too, so I am not alone... there is obviously a demand for it and that demand is increasing all over the world. I brought oatmeal and a variety of nuts as a backup in my luggage.

For the 14 days, I ended up eating mainly cheese that I am not supposed to eat because of medical reasons, and I am not allowed to eat more than 2 eggs a week...I was lucky if/when I had rice or beans not cooks with meat...I didn't lack food but eating cheese and egg whites for 14 days and wondering if there would be something to eat at the buffet was a challenge for me. Also, I was trying to avoid eating raw/uncooked foods (vegetables) to not get diarrhea that was rampant at the CL and the main section of the resort (remember the toilet situation mentioned above)

Overall, this time around, no matter the venue, eating was a challenge for me when before it was not and never has been.

CHAMPAGNE!?!
By the way, I read some reviews that mentioned they had champagne all they wanted...it is not champagne but sparkling white wine. ...there is a big difference! The sparkling white wine was good, the CL sparkling white wine was superior than at the Ventanas buffet.

INTERNET:
was available only at the main resort or at the lobby of the CL. We were unable to get it in our villa at the CL section.

TIPS and GIFTS:
On the bus going to the resort and on the bus going back to the airport, the tour guide talks to us about many informative issues and also how workers rely on tips and gifts. What they need the most is MEDICATIONS , any medications – Tylenol, cough syrup etc. Even if the bottles are opened it is needed urgently. Again, anything that you give, they will be appreciated.

HEALTH TIPS/SUGGESTIONS ONLY:
Don't forget Pepto Bismol and Imodium, electrolyte powder and etc. Just in case you need it while on a trip abroad and if you can fill out a prescription of Ciprofloxacin go for it, that is, if your doctor approves of course. This is an antibiotic used to treat a number of bacterial infections that includes bone and joint infections, intra-abdominal infections, certain types of infectious diarrhea, respiratory tract infections, skin infections, typhoid fever, and urinary tract infections, among others. I also bring medications for every orifice and system of the body...I even have splints and tape in case of fractures. I can say that my complete medical kit came handy quit a few times to a lot of people.

SNAKES:
All the times I have traveled elsewhere or to Cuba, this has never ever happened before at the Iberostar Cayo Ensenachos that it is at the main resort or at the CL. Daily, at the CL, I saw 1 to 3 snakes. They are not poisonous and are about 3 feet / 1 meter long. The reason I mention this is to let people know about this to be aware. It is no ones fault, it is nature. There were also some on the 2.8 km road between the CL and main lobby. There were also some around the bushes of the pool too at the CL section.

IN CONCLUSION
The highlight of this trip and what I am taking with me is all the laughter, the people we met, the sun, the sea, the beaches, the marine life, the different birds, seeing our friends after 4 years because of COVID-19 and celebrating exactly 20 years of friendship. We met 20 years ago in 2003, when Ensenachos was a virgin island at the spot where the Nautical point is today. In other words, I am keeping all the memories that the island has provided us with over the years. This was our last time at Cayo Ensenachos. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beaches: Mégano and Ensenachos, manicured breathtaking landscape
The weak points
shortage of food, food quality, shortage of potable water, actions of food touching with hands by guests and resort staff (other than kitchen staff) at the buffet, overall cleanliness of 'public' bathrooms, lack of accommodation for vegetarians/ vegan
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Lise, Thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and for taking the time to share this extensive review with the Monarc community. We have communicated every detail of our facilities and services that were not to your liking to the hotel management and the responsible departments. We assure you that from the date of your visit until today, a systematic work is being carried out to check the compliance of our quality standards and to make all possible improvements. If you decide to visit us again, we will surprise you with many positive changes. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Ensenachos

Nov/22 TRIP

, Bouctouche, NB
2022-11-15
the Coral level section was amazing, a la carte everything was delicious, service was very good, was really impress with this resort, the only thing i would recommend more lights on pathways,
beaches are stunning's everyone his helpful, if you want something just ask and you will get it ...really enjoyed YURI is service was exceptional
will go back for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
service , food , rooms really nice GOOD
The weak points
more lights on pathways it's dark
Certified

Un voyage de rêve!

, Gatineau, QC
2022-07-13
Enfin, j'écris un bref commentaire de notre visite au niveau du corail en avril 2022! Je n'écris pas normalement de commentaires, mais notre voyage a été tellement magique que je ne peux faire autrement. Tout a été nettoyé et désinfecté pour nous faire sentir si en sécurité, tout était parfait.
La plage est tout simplement magnifique c'est tout simplement merveilleux.
Mais ce qui me donne encore plus le goût d'y retourner c'est le personnel incroyable du Coral. Ils vont au-delà pour rendre votre séjour le meilleur possible, en faisant tout ce qui est en leur pouvoir et à leur portée pour s'assurer que vous êtes heureux. Sans un personnel et un service aussi formidables, même avec les plages les plus étonnantes, nous irions probablement visiter d'autres magnifiques endroit. Iberostar Ensenachos a la chance d'avoir un si bon personnel dans leur emploi, un merci spécial à Diana et Yandry, ils font toute la différence pour nous faire sentir spécial ainsi que tant d'autres personnes formidables. Vous nous manquez tous et préparons déjà notre prochaine visite au printemps 2023! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Le personnel La plage Le site au complet
The weak points
None
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-07-25
Chère Julie, Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire ce merveilleux commentaire suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel. Ce serait un plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau parmi nous pour vivre un nouvel enchantement qui, nous l'espérons, vous ravira de nouveau au-delà de toutes vos espérances. Cordialement, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

So relaxing!

, Rideau Lakes, ON
2022-07-03
This was our third trip to coral and our 5th trip to this hotel.The amazing staff are the reason we return to coral. Marichal ,Yandry, Diana, and Dismar do an exceptional job of making sure our vacation is perfect for us. Maike is quick to get our pool chair cushions and always has a smile.The bar tenders will keep you refreshed and will try their best to make drinks tasty.Thank you Anier, Jorgito and Augustine.The gardeners work very hard to keep the grounds stunning.All the restaurant staff make our meals enjoyable, Lizzy, Chully,Rogelio,Ray, Diana, Yaquenia, and all the chefs and kitchen staff!The beach is the best! Lots of palapas and lifeguards to watch over us. The bell boys and cart drivers are always around to give you a ride to where you need to be and usually add some humor to your ride! We are coming back in April and are booked for Dec! This is our second home thanks to all the staff.Sorry if I left anyone out ,there are so many who make our stay so wonderful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The friendly staff, Marichal and Yandry, the beaches, their service!
The weak points
None!
Sanitary measures
Diana ,Yamilet and Milexy, are always hard at work keeping things spotless! As well as all the staff.
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024