Sanctuary At Grand Memories Santa Maria

3.913.913.913.913.91
Sanctuary At Grand Memories Santa Maria
#7 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
3.91 based on 265 reviews
Traveller pictures (152)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Sanctuary at Grand Memories Cayo Santa Maria

, Lanesville, NS
2020-02-01
This was my second trip to this resort. I had an amazing time. Our butlers Yoel and Carlos were absolutely wonderful ! We had great a la carte every night but one. The Italian and Mediterranean were our favourites. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service provided was great. The grounds looked wonderful and well kept. Our room was good, fully stocked and always clean. The wait staff were great, special thanks to my friend Ravelo who always out does himself, and Barbarita for superb service.
The weak points
The buffet the first 2 days was not as good as last year but there was a lot of fresh fruit & salad options. Last year I saw 0 bugs, this year in the last few days the no-see-ums loved me & came home with some welts, just pack bug spray
Certified

Amazing

, Leduc, AB
2019-11-30
PARADISE
Thats all i can say, it was an amazing week at the Sanctuary. I enjoyed everything and a must for the beach as well the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach its 5 stars all the staff were amazing everything i need they were ready to help and give me what i need.
The weak points
Entertaining i just had 2 nights good to watch and also they should improve some food aspects like not leaving to long food out of the fridge.
Certified

Alright

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-11-28
Overall good time. Our week seemed to have have almost everybody fal ill but i think the problem ended up getting resolved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People we met with
The weak points
Everyone got sick
Certified

Marvallous

, Saint Bruno de Montarville, QC
2019-11-15
Staff was like they couldn't do enough for us. Grounds were so well kept. Buildings were well taken care of. Rooms were recently painted but as per most Cuban resorts the furnishing was dated but clean except for the metal head board which was rusty. The bed linen was clean with some water stains on the bed skirt. Ample amount and wide variety of food at buffet. Did use the buffet at Grand Memories and this was very "busy" and we will leave it at that. The overall beach was fantastic but the reserved section for Sanctuary guests had limited shade and part of this beach was washed away during a recent high tide surge. had an issue with the shower and within 2 hrs it had been repaired WOW great job. Strong suggestion is bring after bite [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds food beach.
The weak points
Can't think of anything to really mention.
Certified

Cheap vacation , you get what you paid for

, Bowmanville, ON
2019-11-09
It was fine. The beds were okay, linens clean but worn, with the odd rip or stain. The room was cleanish, but don't look in the corners. Air conditioning worked great and the ocean view was beautiful, but overall probably the worst room we've stayed in.

The food was poor, you won't go hungry and there is lots of bread and cheese. The Italian was the best restaurant, the international awful. We didn't try any others. We weren't surprised. It's Cuba after all.

The drinks were strong, but there wasn't a lot of mix. Quality of the booze was low. The red wine was okay but I would stay away from the white. There was no sparkling.

The beach was beautiful, but watch out for the sand fleas. The pool was wonderful and clean with lots of loungers available.

The people were lovely, but there is a very strong tipping culture. Overall we received decent service, not great service. Many times we had to make multiple requests for even getting a refill on coffee at breakfast. Sometimes it never even came.

We didn't see any shows or interact with the entertainment staff so can't comment on that.

Check in and check out were both amazingly efficient.

The bus ride was very long. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool and beach. The manager, Ricardo was exceptional. We had an issue changing money and were lied to by front desk staff. We sought out Ricardo and he set things straight.
The weak points
Food, booze and room.
Certified

My trip

, Oshawa, ON
2019-10-30
I really enjoyed the awsome staff . The food was surprisingly good compared to other resorts I have been to . I enjoyed my experience emensly and I will return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and willingness to help with anything they could
The weak points
Updating maintenance would help but given present shipping problems they are doing best they can
Certified

Gorgeous beach

, Richnond , BC
2019-04-27
Four of us stayed at the Sanctuary for a week in April. The hotel itself is almost 25 years old and in desperate need of repairs and upgrading, definitely not luxurious or upscale in any way. That being said, it had all we required for a comfortable and pleasant stay as we really only used our room to sleep. We especially loved the beautiful turquoise water with powder soft sand, and we spent many hours swimming and lounging at it. There are areas for adults only, families, and young travellers. All of the staff were amazing as always in Cuba, they work hard and deserve to be tipped generously! Although we will not return to this particular resort as we prefer more modern/luxurious accommodations, if you find a good price, I recommend it to anyone who does not mind an older hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, beautiful beach, well kept grounds, large pools, not overly busy, frequent shuttles, butler service, variety of restaurants
The weak points
Very rundown/outdated buildings, poor wifi, no in room amenities, poorly stocked store that closed early, no foam party as advertised, isolated location
Certified

Sanctuary - Cayo Santa Maria

, Montréal, QC
2019-04-22
I had an excellent 2 weeks at this resort. When I arrived I thought it was a little dated, could certainly use a coat of fresh paint. But I very quickly stopped focusing on that as the total experience was excellent. From the friendly and cordial attention of the staff to the excellent food and finally the magnificent beach, there is everything here for a lovely vacation. The A la carte restaurants (which in fact is only in one location - only the theme changes every night) were very good. Went to the buffet at the Grand Memories only on the last night and wished we had gone more often! The choices were abundant and the food was also excellent. The only negative for me was how quiet it was at the Sanctuary. Evening entertainment activities are done by 11:00 p.m.! I would certainly return there. Some of the more memorable on staff:
Lobby Bar: Yadira, Dairon, Luciano, Yandriel
Pool Bar: Carlos and Rey
Breakfast Buffet: Orbe
Our Butlers: Mercedes and Zadya
Entertainment Staff: Leyvin and Osmany

They made our stay very special! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, staff
The weak points
Some repairs required, not enough palapas on the beach (all reserved by 6:00 am). Evening entertainment could be improved.
Certified

Cuba does not learn...

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-28
Mother nature's gift of a beautiful property with pristine waters, white sand beach and lush greenery and likely high initial investment made into the properly has been spoiled by poor workmanship, mismanagement and lack of interest from staff working there.
One would think that after so many years of being in a hospitality industry and relying on the funds and jobs created as result, Cuba would learn from its past mistakes. Sadly, it is definitely not the case!
You still see the very poor quality of work (doors not closing, paint splattered all over, parts not installed properly). Staff in positions of daily contact with the public (eg. wait staff) only speak their native language and do not make an effort to understand. Management should insist that staff in these positions posses at least basic language skills. Staff is poorly trained not having skills to do their jobs (wait staff in ala cart restaurants appear frazzled, disorganized, dropping things, etc). The resort itself is poorly managed with our arrival of handful people being a total disaster! No one was around to help us check in letting us wait after a long journey. Other Memories resorts in Cuba (Varadero, Cayo Coco) has this process down pat! Doesn't the management across the chain share their practices?
I've been to Cuba, in various locations and resorts, about 25 times over the past 20 years. I've been to Memories in Cuba 4 times. This resort has one of the highest rating but I would not rate it more than 3 stars!!!
Little effort, education and strong management would make a tremendous difference. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach, spectacular ocean, great property layout, spacious rooms, affordable wifi with reception in rooms and beach
The weak points
dirty beach - never cleaned, lack of shade (no umbrellas unless you are up at 6 am), poor workmanship, unqualified and disinterested staff, management
Certified

Beautiful beaches

, Orillia, ON
2019-03-07
We had an overall great trip. The beaches there were phenomenal and the pools and grounds/landscaping were very beautiful. We were able to get a cabana on the beach 90% of the time because we were Diamond members and they had a reserved section. The weather was perfect the whole time. Our room was nice. The entertainment was very good the dancers were amazing. The food on the other hand at the resort was horrible and I'm not picky about food but it was really bad, and they would run out of stuff a lot and meat wouldn't be cooked most of the time (beach burgers were always raw inside, “bacon” at the buffets was raw, etc.) not a lot of options, ended up eating bread and butter a lot. The service at the resort was very tip driven, staff won't give you proper services unless you tip them each time (they wouldn't book our al a cartes until I gave them $5 for example) and they aren't super friendly but nice enough. Also the bathrooms hardly ever had toilet paper or toilet seats or a lock on the door. Everything at the resort seemed a little run down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, pools, grounds
The weak points
Food and customer service
Certified

First Visit to Cuba

, Oakville, ON
2019-02-26
This was our first visit to Cuba and to this resort so we don't have a point of comparison. The section of the resort we stayed in was Sanctuary, which is an adults only part of the resort.
The staff were friendly and most helpful. Always cheerful and polite. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is perfect. Pool area always clean, food was adequate, drinks were plentiful.
The weak points
Not enough shade at pool or beach. One member of our party was getting up at 5 am to save a place in the shade. A few shortages during our stay, bread, bottled water, beer, white wine. Dinner reservations time & location challenging, there were 6 of us.
Certified

Cuban Paradise

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-25
The hotel, while in need of a few minor updates, is clean and comfortable. The grounds are well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is most definitely the reason for repeat visitors. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure your vacation is an enjoyable one. You can walk into the lounge and the wait staff will remember what you like to drink!
The weak points
If I had to list a weak point, it would be that the lineups at the grills in the buffet could be long.
Certified

Delightful vacation

, Chateauguay, QC
2019-02-25
We visited Sanctuary at Grand Memories in mid December of 2018. In my opinion considering the price you pay and the benefits & services you get for your money, this is the best hotel fin Cuba for adults. The personnel is amazing, our butlers Yagniel and Pedro (building 60, 3rd floor) are great people, always ready to help with all our requests. They go above and beyond of what is expected of them to make you feel welcome and cared for. Upon our arrival, due to an error of our travel agency, there was no room booked for us. So check-in officer offered a room that was available at that moment, but the next day Antonio, the Sanctuary General Manager, and the Grand Memories General Manager apologized and upgraded our room to an ocean-view. We were really happy, it was clean and the mini bar was always refilled. The Cleaning Lady (sorry cannot remember her name) did a great job. We felt all personnel were doing everything to offer great service and to make our vacation unforgettable. Needles to say the beach is beautiful and having a separate calmer beach for Sanctuary guests was definitely a plus. The animation team was doing an excellent job too. Food was delicious with at least three kinds of freshly grilled fish, shrimp and five kinds of grilled meat during lunchtime. In the evening we dined in a la carte restaurants scheduled by our butler. We liked the Mexican and Mediterranean. There was always a vast choice of veggies, fruits and other dishes in the Sanctuary restaurant, fresh smoothies and juice at breakfast. You could always find something to eat even if you're a picky eater. Considering the food supply in Cuba, we were literally amazed at the food choice and variety offered at this hotel (varieties of cheese, hams, prosciuttos, Serrano, smoked salmon, olives, nuts, salad dressings, dips, etc.) The food is at par with Royalton or Paradisus (in Cuba). The personnel at the restaurant and kitchen was awesome too, Sheila or Cheila, Roberto and others, again sorry I couldn't remember their names. Also at the bar Luciano, Umberto, Yoanis (apologies if misspelled). We tried the lobster dinner menu for 22CUC it was delicious, but the hotel organizes a lobster /sushi buffet on Thursdays where you can eat all you can & want for free☺ It was a gracious gesture on behalf of Sanctuary management team to personally attend and serve the guests during the buffet. There was always somebody from the management who supervised and coached the personnel at the restaurant. All in all we really enjoyed our vacation, loved those incredible people working at the hotel and would come back anytime. Delightful ☺ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing stuff, delicious food, beautiful beach
The weak points
Rooms are in need of renovation and upgrade.

Sanctuary at Memories Resort Cayo Santa Maria

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-24
Overall our experience at this resort was good. The service, cleanliness and amenities made our stay very positive. We were well prepared for travel to Cuba. We were cognizant of the fact that this country is under an embargo by the wealthiest country in the world- 60 years worth. Nearly everything you get is supplied locally so we harboured no illusions of cruise ship quality buffets and a la carte. Food selection was a disappointment but there are BBQs going if you feel the need for a great burger. The pool(s) are spectacular as is the beach. There are more than enough loungers and we found that to be uncommon in our experience. Transportation around the 3 resorts was great. Love those extended golf carts! The genuine warmth of the abundant staff was inspiring. Most of the staff do not have command of English but that was never a problem. Staff that are in key positions speak English so it's not even close to being an issue. We had 2 regular Butlers who alternated days. Leon was an absolute prince of a guy who managed our activities superbly. Carlos did a great job as well. It is worthy of a shout out to our regular room server ( Anerika). Lovely woman whom we enjoyed guessing what each other was saying. Good fun! The daily entertainment at the Lobby was a pleasant surprise. The musicians and vocalists were way above average! Enjoyed our stay here but bring DEET. Those little midges played hell with my wife. Our room was spacious and clean but needed a bit of mechanical/technical attention. The bath taps were not properly secured to the wall. Were without TV for a day but we weren't there to watch TV. You should be prepared to tip. No one had their hand out and no one was ignored because they didn't tip but the staff's appreciation for a simple tip was genuine. The average monthly salary in Cuba is about $9.00 so figure it out. Tips are shared. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness. Warmth of the large staff was the strongest point. The common facilities are great. Grounds and gardens are beautiful. 4 bottle liquor dispenser in every room. 2 litres of water, 3 cans of pop and 3 cans of beer in the mini fridge every day.
The weak points
The room that we occupied was in some need of mechanical and technical service. It was not enough to ask for a relocation. The food selection and quality ( a la carte and buffet) was less than expected.
Certified

FANTASTIC VACATION

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-22
We traveled to Sanctuary February 13 to February 20. This was our fifth trip to Memories but the first since the resort was divided into three individual resorts.
Our flight arrived early which was a bit of a bonus and the trip to the resort was relaxing and very enjoyable. We traveled with friends who were on their first trip to Cuba so they loved the trip through the countryside.
Check-in at Sanctuary was quick and we were in our room in Building 61 in just minutes. Our room was clean and spacious and the towel art our maid provided was enjoyed.
A big shout-out to our butlers, Leon and Carlos, they worked tirelessly and we can't say enough about what they added to our vacation experience.
I wish we could remember more names of the staff we came in contact with because they make us want to go back every year. A special thank you to Rabelo and the young lady in the lobby bar (with student on her name tag).
We had no complaint on any of our meal choices and found the staff very helpful in making food selections.
The beach is absolutely beautiful and probably one of the best in the Caribbean. Beach lounges are plentiful and the attendants working the area are quite helpful.
The only complaint we had at the pool was guests who claim an area in the shade by the pool and don't show up all day. Other than that the pool is clean and well kept.
My wife and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and recommend Sanctuary to all our friends.
Also I would like to acknowledge Sunwing Airlines. There was a situation on the return trip that was handled quickly and professionally.
To all our Sanctuary friends...see you next February. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff make the resort a special place.
The weak points
The buildings are a little threadbare.
Certified

Awesome vacation - will return!!

, Great Village, NS
2019-02-06
Clean, great staff, any problems with the room were corrected promptly.
Only suggestion would be to place lemon balm plants around to keep mosquitos at bay - got caught behind the smoker one night. Not a fan. Took a couple of days to figure what food to eat and bus vs cart to shopping area... but all in all verrrry pleased. Tried new foods, love some, disliked some, but there was always variety of meats, salads, fish, fruit, etc. Water pressure awesome and air conditioner worked very well. Loved my view and patio. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment as well as the pool side entertainment in the afternoon. Enjoyed our day trip on the catamaran. Paying extra to swim with the dolphin was worth the 10 pesos. Will probably purchase the flight day trip to Havana next vacation. Stayed in Sanctuary (adults only section). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
super customer service
Certified

First time in Cuba

, Granville Ferry, NS
2019-02-05
We visited this resort January 10th-17th, it was just my husband and I and our first time in Cuba. The resort is about 90 minutes from the airport so we didn't do any excursions due to the length of time they would be being so far from anything. This is a pay for 1 play at 3 resort. The first resort is Memories, the second Grand Memories (both family resorts) then finally Sanctuary, if you are at Memories you stay at Memories, if you are at Grand Memories then you can go to Memories as well and if you are sanctuary you may go to all three, that was a huge plus as it gets quite dull at sanctuary in the evening, entertainment and theatre were over at Grand Memories come evening, and excellent entertainment I might add! Our room was great, no issues however the dresser for instance the drawers don't stay straight they all fall out, we had a ground floor room, bed was huge, AC worked great, bathroom is out dated but it's Cuba I didnt go there expecting immaculate, the grounds are gorgeous and there is a made (fake) town between the Memories resorts and the Royalton next door it was about a 10-15 minute walk from sanctuary to it and there is a path straight through all the resorts to get you there which was super neat we made two trips to it definitely worth going to lol it was our only excursion! The pool is beautiful as well, cold most days until mid afternoon, however you can't swim in the evening tho it is lit up with gorgeous lights and an adult only resort so we thought you should be able to swim until 9-10 anyway, we had stayed in an adult resort in Jamaica and the pool was lit beautifully and they did have it open in the evening, along with the pool bar,however it is a beautiful open set up and the pool bar boys Rey and Carlos are super, the bathroom at the pool was closed so much for the ladies room which was inconvenient as there is only one more bathroom up in the lobby so I used the men's. Our butler was Michelle, she was a sweetie, and though her English wasn't great she did try super hard to work with us on what we were needing and asking for,they all work very hard! The lobby, the bar was fantastic the gentlemen working it are all awesome! They love making their surprise drinks (and let them because most of them are delish). Food, well I was told by many the food is not great but there is something for everyone. You just have to be cautious of what your eating and obviously making sure it's hot because we do notice some issues with the food, buffet was breakfast no complaints as even the pickiest person will find something, their omelettes are great! Now the a'la carts were the only option at sanctuary for supper, there was seafood and international, neither of us like seafood so that was out, we did international one night and there wasn't enough on the menu we liked to repeat it but that's not on the resort that's personal preference so we at at the Grand Memories for supper each night which they do have buffet nightly for supper. So the issues we did have with food was in the evening at sanctuary behind the lobby bar, where buffet is in the morning is the night snack station as well, they offer fries, hot dogs on hamburger buns, hamburgers, chicken and pizza, we ate some fries a couple evenings in the beginning of our stay no issues, later in our stay we had gone out to wait for a snack and noted cockroaches near the pizza crust station which we never ate pizza anyway, it's all open so bugs are going To happen but should not be visible near food that is being prepared for guests to ingest. The only other food issue is same spot another night we watched cross contamination, the chef put pizza in the oven, then chopped raw chicken breast on the cutting board and used tongs from the fry warmer to put the breasts on the grill and then put the tongs back in the fry holder and removed the pizzas from the oven setting them on the wooded cutting board he had just chopped the chicken breast on at which point we just walked away and decided we weren't snacking there from that evening on. In his defence he was super busy as a load of new tourists had just arrived at 10pm and they were all starving as well as drunk people already there, it was my personal preference to walk away after the cross contamination it might not bother some tho in a foreign country especially it wouldn't take much to make one sick so it shouldn't have happened. We had also spotted cockroaches at the Grand Memories restaurant as well so they arent just at sanctuary.The bathrooms in the lobby smell, were flooded a lot and you need to put your toilet paper in the garbage can, take toilet paper and hand sanitizer as most of the time there is no soap either. The beach.. most beautiful beach I have ever been to!! Take bug spray as well, the only spot they bothered me was the beach and I had to reapply bug spray often but the rest of the resort they didn't bother me and they love to chew on me.Everyone there wants to help you! The grill by the beach is a must try he makes the best sandwiches and the grill by the pool is awesome as well!The people, I can't say enough for how pleasant happy and helpful they are! The chicken man, he drove one of the carts, (super sense of humour) deserves a mention he along with all of them are non stop with driving everyone to and from the resorts. These people are easy to communicate with which is a huge plus and they really try hard to if they don't speak English well, everyone smiles and says hola, I would definitely come back even just for the people! And I'd take my 3 kids to Grand Memories as well! Thanks for the great week! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing week away. Would absolutely return!

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-14
Beautiful country and incredible people!
In our opinion a solid 3 star resort.
The check in process was simple and we were able to start our vacation as soon as we arrived. The staff members are very professional and within a couple of days became so warm and friendly they felt like family. Even though we stayed at the Sanctuary, we also spent a fair bit of time at the Grand Memories as well. We were warmly welcomed at both.
A word of caution, the washrooms are often in horrible condition. Even though they are cleaned regularly, it is nowhere near often enough to accommodate the amount of tourists at the resort. Carry your own supply of toilet paper.
The food is very hit and miss. Some dishes were fabulous, some inedible. The pork and fish dishes were okay, the beef completely inedible. The Spanish Coffee however is wonderful enough to make you want to book for another week.
The shows at the theatre are entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable. The live musicians put on a wonderful show making you want to stay for just one more song.
If you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy the weather and decompress from the challenges of everyday life, this is the place to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people! Everyone was wonderful but we must give a special thank you to Lisandra and Jesus at Sanctuary and Celida and Dayanay at Grand Memories. They all went above and beyond to make our stay even more special. You are all fondly remembered.
The weak points
The condition of the washrooms was the definite low point of our vacation. Please note, a strong bug spray is a definite need. We thankfully brought some, but would have been miserable without it.
Certified

Fabulous property

, Hamilton, ON
2019-01-05
I enjoyed my stay immensely. Beautiful property was well maintained. Food in all dining venues was very tasty and plentiful. Staff were all very friendly and and did a great job. I had a couple of small maintenance issues in the room which were addressed within a couple of hours of mentioning them to my butler.I would absolutely recommend this property.
Price was high because I was there over Christmas, so value wasn't great, but that's an issue with tour operator not with the property itself. At regular season rates I would consider this very good value for the money.
Since you can play at all 3 properties if you stay in the Sanctuary, I was able to sample the dining, and wander through the other two sections. I could definitely see a difference in quality between the three, so for the slight price difference, I would pay to stay in Sanctuary again.
Hotel is about 90 minutes drive from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
well maintained, pleasant staff, very tasty food, lovely beach and pool areas, large room
Certified

Sanctuary at Grand Memories Cayo Santa Maria

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-22
Experience was positive overall but which seems to be a Cuban experience washroom cleanliness and maintenance was an issue. The ala carte restaurants were inconsistent the Mexican and International being good others marginal.
Staff was great as always. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were helpful and friendly regardless of what they did, groundskeepers were as friendly as service staff.Food was acceptable by Cuban standards.
The weak points
Product in need of upgrade. In our room 6078 the nights it was windy the patio doors vibrated. They did not lock and I could have pushed through them. Since we were third floor did not seem much of an issue. Public washrooms were in need of care.
Certified

Great Vacation!!

, Montréal, QC
2018-09-24
Hotel staff were friendly, and all made great effort to speak in English.
Beach grill was great - food was fresh and prepared daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Service, Attentive staff (restaurants, pool, beach, Resort "taxi" service. Food was surprisingly great!! Hot food hot, cold food cold. Beach was great. Room and bathroom very clean.
The weak points
Shortage of spoons!
Certified

Sanctuary 2018

, Woodstock, ON
2018-07-25
Amazing beach and staff.
Clean and comfortable rooms.
Great grill and bar on the beach.
buffets had lots of variety so always found something to eat.
Very quite after 11 pm in sanctuary.
Bring bug spray and after bite.
Great overall value for your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing beach and staff
The weak points
air conditioner in buffets at grand memories and sanctuary bar were not functional during stay.
Certified

Mixed feelings!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-07-10
Stayed at Sanctuary Grand Memories Cayo Santa Maria from July 1st-8th, 2018. Hotel grounds and pool areas are very clean and well kept. Upon arrival the hotel room smelled rather musty and it seemed like it could use a good clean, towels were hard and felt like they were not fresh. Bathroom had two dead cockroaches. On the third night a very large cockroach ( largest one I have ever seen, and I teach in a school that also has cockroaches) decided to join me in the bathroom. Butler and maid were informed and I was told that they would clean and spray the room. If indeed the room was sprayed it made little difference as the cockroaches still appeared again. However, the creme de la creme was the cockroaches on the dinner plates at the buffet in the Grand Memories Hotel. I informed a staff member and he laughed and took away the plate but the cockroach fell off and was still in the pile of plates. I did my best to warn other guests not to take the plates from that area. I understand that Cuba has different hygiene standards and this was not my first trip to Cuba,but cockroaches for supper....... The food was not the best, but I'm aware you don't go to Cuba for the food and I can usually find something to eat, but definitely struggled at this hotel. Cannot comment on the a la carte food as I did not eat in any of those restaurants, but other guests did comment that it was good. The hotel staff were very pleasant especially the Butlers, always asked if you need anything etc. Overall it was a relaxing trip with lovely weather and great beach. I will return to Cuba again but not to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather, beach and pool area
The weak points
Cockroaches in bedroom, bathroom and dinning room :(
Certified

Paradise

, Miramichi, NB
2018-04-12
From start to finish we had an awesome week. Great trip there, bus pick up no ptoblemw & check on at Resort was the best! Easy and s bonus to have our room ready early to have lunch and head to beach. We loved our room, not luxurious but clean and comfortable. Service, butlers, maid, and restaurant service as well as entertainment was super! Loved the grill pizzas at GrandMemories outside. The beach was fabulous, a little bit of paradise except there were never enough palapa for shade. Guests should not be expected to be on the beach before 6 to get shade! Overall no complaints with food- omelettes in morning were excellent , s la cartes good at Sanctuary , We had great service, especially Josee our butter, Mayulis, our maid & Leanny our restaurant server. Also loved the quiet wonderful music at the a la carte. We talked with the general manager when my husband lost his jacket & car keys. He tried but no luck finding it- disappointing as the jets are super expensive to replace. Overall, a great trip but we did think we overpaid & unless they fix the problem of shade we'd think twice of returning, Tbe beach was a little price of paradise! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & Great service,especially easy check on and out, Breakfast omelettes!omelettes!
The weak points
Lack of palapas on beach for shade. Also it was challenging to have a good cup of tea. There should be milk in the fridge in rooms and s coffee/ tea station 24/7 without going to the bar. The milk was often from machine - hot and foamy.
Certified

Ivette and Roman's Trip to Sanctuary!

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-09
Very nice and clean hotel with friendly staff, activities, food and beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic seafood experience. WiFi availability and price. Butler service at Sanctuary is a very helpful and unique touch. Best beach ever. Unforgettable theater performances.
The weak points
Lack of huts on the Sanctuary side of the beach. Italian restaurant serves overcooked pasta. Lack of washroom facilities at Sanctuary side. Male washrooms were closed and men had to use female washrooms.
Certified

Loved so much we're going back in April!

, East Garafraxa, ON
2018-02-16
Although the weather could have been better, we had a wonderful time at Sanctuary. I have mobility issues and everything at Sanctuary was a comfortable walk for me. The cart service was excellent for when we wanted to go to Grand Memories or the Estrella market. It was wonderful to have our own buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Although not all the a la carte restaurants were open when we were there (due to the resort recently being reopened after the hurricane) we had an enjoyable dining experience and look forward to trying them all on our trip this April. Rooms are clean and the butler and maid service is wonderful. The bathrooms in the rooms are a bit dated, but everything functioned as it should.

When we decided to go away again this year the choice was easy. Can't wait to see what they have to offer now that they are in full swing again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The size of the resort, the beach, the pool, everything!
The weak points
The variety of food in December was a bit lacking, but I'm sure this was just due to the recent hurricane.

Sanctuary at Grand Memories

, Caledon East, ON
2018-02-08
We had excellent service. Great room with a beautiful view. We really could not have asked for more friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful beach. Our best trip to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy checkin. Butler assigned to each room who takes care of booking restaurants, any problems, extra water etc.
The weak points
A bit of a drive from the airport.
Certified

Not such a Sanctuary!

, Sturgeon County, AB
2018-01-26
The experience was one of the worst "service" experiences we have ever had in Cuba. Starting at the check in we were shuffled in to a room and sat there waiting for our representative to do our check in. Ours representative was busy with something so we sat there until the room almost emptied. We then noticed that our room was changed from an ocean view to a back view of a garbage can. We asked to be moved back to our other room but they would not do it. We were told something was wrong with the original room but we found out that someone else was put in it. Then our tap broke off in the bath tub because it was almost seized. it ran hot water full blast for over 24hrs as we tried desperately to get someone from maintenance. we were told many times that someone would be right there. One of the times was at about 11pm at night so we waited up for a couple of hours and no one showed up. We had a hard time sleeping with the noise and the extra humidity from the hot water running. This was the same story for everything. Things only got taken care of if you took it to the manager. The bottom line is that we wasted over two days at the beginning, fighting to get things fixed. It was the same for the other couple in our party. Their room had no hot water and they were told every day that it would be fixed. After three days of cold water we finally got the manager to move them. The butler system just doesn't work. The only thing we ended up using them for was notifying about our problems and making reservations at the a la carte restaurants. The only restaurant they were successful in getting us in to one at the sanctuary so we alternated between seafood and international. We did get in to the Italian but we had to get quite firm with the butler because he told us that he has only one reservation per day for that restaurant and unless you get up really early someone else will get it even then you don't find out until just before you go. Two days we had asked for 6:45 pm and at 5:55pm we find out that we got reservations for 6pm leaving you not time to get ready. The central system in other resorts works much better. The next thing was the buffet's. They seem to run out of the most popular foods really quick or just don't bring new stuff out in a timely manner. Most mornings if you didn't line up for an omelet there would be no scrambled eggs and only once was there any hash browns. most mornings there wasn't any potato at all. In the sanctuary breakfast buffet it was difficult to get a waitress to give you coffee. Most mornings we had to flag down the waitress and never were we offered a refill. The public washrooms were really bad. Usually there were multiple stalls or urinals that were out of service. Doors didn't close and or lock. The very first thing when we got off of the bus I went to the lobby washroom and actually had a cleaning lady walk in to my stall while I was using it. The floor was filthy and she knocked over my bag which I had propped against the door that wouldn't lock and dumped my hoodie on to the wet filthy floor.
After six visits to various resorts, the actual facility is one of the best I have been to in Cuba but it is over shadowed by the very poor service. I understand it use to be a Riu and it was supposedly much better then, but that is only what I heard. The Beach is beautiful and we didn't have a bad experience with no-see-ums as we read in the reviews. The bar tenders were great but the people at the lobby desk were no help at all. They basically told us what we wanted to hear but nothing ever happened. We did finally get moved back to an ocean view room and the room was great but unless I read that things have changed we will not be returning! I have been to Breezes Jibacoa twice and Varadero. we loved them but now I understand they are Memories. I sure hope it has not gone downhill like this one. They were both great facilities and had very good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A beautiful facility that is getting a little run down but overall it is a nice facility. It is a beautiful beach but no snorkeling! There were golf carts there to get you around if you needed.
The weak points
Buffet restaurants were below average for Cuba. Food was mainly barely warm and usually cold. Mainly local type food left and western type food always empty. Terrible service from Sanctuary buffet waitress and lobby desk staff.
Certified

Upgraded to the ROYALTON

, Lower Kingsclear, NB
2018-01-22
We got upgraded to the Royalton and it was amazing, excellent staff, accommodations, drinks, restaurants. Great pool and beach cabannas! Overall it was a fantastic experience, only thing to complain out was the weather that's uncontrollable! I'd definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, accommodations, beach, cleanliness, food, drinks
The weak points
Entertainment, but I think that's because of the weather most things they had planned ended up cancelled
Certified

Stunning

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-17
I had an amazing time at Sanctuary. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and spotless. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay amazing. I was concerned about the drive from the airport but it flew by as there is so much to see. We had no issues with the food. The beach is stunning. Will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach
The weak points
Cannot think of one
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?