Grand Aston Cayo Las Brujas Beach Resort And Spa

3.943.943.943.943.94
Grand Aston Cayo Las Brujas Beach Resort And Spa
#6 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
3.94 based on 114 reviews
Traveller pictures (191)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grand Ashton Las Brujas

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-13
Stayed 7 days and didn't want to leave. Second time there. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms and public washrooms were very clean as were the grounds. Food was very good with lots of variety. The beach is amazing. You can walk for kilometres and because it is in a cove it never gets too wavy to swim. Only problem is the small bugs that bite but only seem to like certain people. They spray often . Recommend you take bug spray and you will be fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and location and cleanliness. Staff are very friendly and entertainment is very good.
The weak points
Bugs.
Certified

Amazing Stay

, Windsor, ON
2020-02-06
Beautiful hotel, food great, very clean and great service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness Food Pools Entertainment Staff
The weak points
Beach just ok! Personally I prefer some waves but great for walking and wading Bus ride ( they need an airport on the island)
Certified

Great Family Vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-01-22
We took our two daughters ages 6 and 11 for a week long vacation. The resort was a beautiful place, and well designed. We were on the first floor of Block 4, which was steps away from the poolside bar, and the pools. The room was very clean, the beds (doubles, not queens) were comfortable, and there was a ceiling fan as well for air circulation. The cleaners were wonderful and made special towel animals and objects daily, which the kids loved to see!

There was amazing trails to explore close to the ocean coast, and great walking paths throughout the resort. The kids enjoyed the pools, and the beach. Be sure to pack swim shoes, as the sand and beach have many broken shells, so you are at risk of a cut if you step on one. The sand and ocean was glorious, as it is in a bay, so the waters are calm.
The main lobby was open, large and comfortable to hang out in. The entertainment was great in the evenings, and the dancers were amazing!
The Kids Club offered supervision, and even had a room with Nintendo Switch and many games for the kids. Our kids spent most of their time with us, but the Kids Club was always available from 09:00-5:00pm daily, and was located very close to the pool. The workers were kind, and they also did a kids "Mini Disco" in the evening prior to the main entertainment.
The food was plentiful. We ate at the snack bar, and the buffet. Lots to choose from, including pasta, breads, fruits, veggies. We did bring Ketchup as recommended. The servers were very kind, and attentive to serve drinks and get you what you needed. The coffee was made to order, and was delicious.
The beach was beautiful, and had plenty of loungers and places to sit in the shade. They were building a larger beach bar sitting area if you wanted to sit at at table.

Bring your own snacks if you want potato chips, choclate bars, nuts, pretzels etc. as they do not have any for sale if you want to snack.

We went mostly "offline" for the week, but you can pay for wifi if wanted at 1 Cuban Convertable peso per hour. Each adult gets 1 hour free initially, so you can let people at home know you arrived safely!
They have a bank on site to exchange your currency, so you can have currency for tipping, and buying a few souvenirs if wanted.
There was plenty of filtered water and ice available at the bars, and your room had a mini bar stocked with water beer and cola.
We were happy to escape the cold weather, and had a wonderful time. We thank the people working at the resort who made it such a great experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, accomodating staff. We met so many kind, gracious people from Cuba, who did their best to help us with any questions, or concerns.
The weak points
If your hotel block is further away from the main area, it would be closer to the beach, but a long walk to the pool. It is a place you should be prepared to walk, although they do have carts to drive you as needed from the lobby.
Certified

Awesome resort!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-19
Great resort! Great people, great services, honestly can't say a single bad thing. We will be returning :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Beach wasn't very pretty. Lots of construction made it sore on the eyes so we stayed at the pool.
Certified

Sem 29 décembre au 4 janvier Bien 3.5/5

, Saint Leonard, QC
2020-01-06
Vacance en Couple Section adulte mais il y avait des enfants partout. Nous avons payer 3400 $ ce qui est beaucoup trop cher pour ce qu'ils offrent présentement
Bel établissement très propre. Belle plage en U sur laquel on peut faire une marche de 2-3h. Plage calme toujours des chaises de disponible, peu de vague. L'hotel en changement d'administration alors le service laisse à désirer, pour le moment . Les employés ne connaissent pas les inclusions du Club supérieur. Mais les gens sont gentils et courtois.
La vrai partie Adulte ouvre en mi-janvier. Il y a un beau spa propre, massage abordable mais peu relaxant. La nourriture est peu varié comme partout à Cuba, autant au buffet que dans les 4 resto disponible présentement ( 2 d'ouvert par soir ils alterne Francais/italien/cubain/ japonais).
Il y a de l'animation à la picine principale, coté adulte aucune animation c'est très tranquille. un peu d'animation d'un coté de la plage en avant midi.
Le soir les spéctales au lobby sont agréable, ceux du théatre sont moyen. Bonne Connexion internet au lobby avec les cartes acheté 1h/carte.
Les superviseurs Max et Vergilio font un travail incroyable pour pallier aux lacunes des employés, merci à vous deux de nous avoir permis de passé un bon séjour malgré les petits pépins. Ils m'ont promis que cet hotel sera le meilleur de Cuba dans quelques mois, j'y retournerai dans 1 an pour comparer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful vacation at Grand Aston!

, Orleans, ON
2020-01-05
Our family of 4 enjoyed a wonderful week at Grand Aston. Accommodations, staff, food, and facilities were top notch for the price point. Food was actually the best we have ever had in Cuba. As it is with most resorts in Cuba they were missing certain products at various times, but we always had something tasty to eat. We stayed in building 3 which was perfect location, close to lobby, restaurants and pool with a side view of the ocean from third floor. Buildings are all 3 stories with no elevator. Beach is a 5 minute walk from there and there are carts available for a lift if you wish. The beach is not what we expected. We knew it was a bay but it is deeper than we expected so initially gives a feel that you are almost surrounded by land. It quickly grew on us though and we appreciated the calm, warm waters, long walks, soft sand, kayaks, pedal boats and water sports.
We enjoyed Seafood, French and Cuban a la cartes - all very good with Cuban being the favorite. Make sure to get yours booked early as they are well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD ROOMS (large, comfy beds, rainforest shower head, cleaned spotless every day, safe, big balcony...), STAFF (very kind, many speak English and French).
The weak points
Casual dining options during day- could have used a beach snack bar or grill.
Certified

Family vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-12-24
From the minute we arrived we were treated exceptionally. The staff trying to accommodate anything we required and going above and beyond. We could not have asked for better service. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was clean and loads of fun for the kids, the food was good could have been a bit more consistent but not a big deal. The wife loves the fact the drinks came in glass not plastic. This beach was amazing as always in Santa Maria but this resort had a secret beach which snorkeling was great, seeing hundreds of fish, crabs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time

, Blyth, ON
2019-12-23
First time in this area and enjoyed it very much.The only down side was the 2 hour bus ride in the dark.
Loved our balcony, lobby, lobby bar and buffet restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing time

, Laval, QC
2019-12-03
We had a great time. Stayed 10 days. Beach is almost always calm because of the bay. Beautiful color. If you are not staying in the vip adult section , then keep in mind that it's abit of a walk to the beach. But there is always a shuttle to take you if you wish. To bring you back , you will need to call from the beach bar and request. Staff is amazing, entertainment excellent, food is very good quality and tastes good. Variety is there. But in general in Cuba , things could be lacking for reasons beyond their control. Staff is excellent especially waiter Hector, you will notice his continued smile And excellent service with or without tips. Front desk and customer service excellent, always smiles and trying to help for example Judith, Diane, Gathia and others. It helps to have a smile. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff service especially in restaurants Fairly new hotel.
The weak points
Not too much. Beach is abit far to walk but you can take shuttle. Plus, it was good to walk sometimes and enjoy weather.
Certified

Grand Aston Las Brujas Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-13
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at this hotel. It was not too busy in early November, so there were not too many guests. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good quality, well prepared and well presented. There was a good variety of fresh and local foods, fruits, meats, seafood and produce. People raved about the pizza. The cook would deliver it to your table.There was bacon for breakfast! Custom omelettes and grilled fish or meats. The dinners at the a la cartes were excellent for the service and variety of dishes offered. The evening shows were very good. We enjoyed the shows, the singer is excellent. The entertainment crew were all energetic and passionate about their work. The Hotel Manager/Director introduced himself to us and over the course of several days, we met him on site and he always greeted us with a smile and friendly handshake. The hotel is being refreshed so there is modern furniture and decor. The huge lobby is very modern and inviting. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the barman who offered us a refreshing beverage. The staff at the lobby desk processed us efficiently. Our room was comfortable and updated. The beach is lovely, and big, the pools are very clean and nice. All the staff work hard and are friendly. Of all the hotels and resorts we have visited in our 9 visits to Cuba, this was the best so far. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The first impression upon arrival was to be greeted by a welcome cocktail and a lovely view of a huge modern lobby. The front desk processed us quickly so we could settle into our comfy room. We enjoyed the food, service, decor, pools, beach and ambiance.
The weak points
The entertainment was good but sometimes the sound was a bit too loud. We were not able to order the pizza but we heard from other guests that it was good. Maybe a bit of paint to touch up certain spots on the resort to refresh decor? Spanish lessons?
Certified

Loved it!

, Riverview, NB
2019-05-09
This hotel was great! It was clean and up-kept and the staff were very friendly and accommodating! The grounds are lush and beautiful, our room was modern and comfortable! We thought the food was good and had no trouble finding something to eat, The beach and pools were all clean and very relaxing..... entertainment staff went above and beyond, made everyone feel welcome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was friendly and grounds were beautiful with and option to take a trolly
The weak points
No weak points... we loved it
Certified

At the end of April 2019

, Laval, QC
2019-04-29
Hotel isn't old, bathrooms in the rooms are great.
We were at the 1st floor with the view, had ants, but room service was great and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, clear blue, calm and warm waterfront
The weak points
Mosquitoes (resistant to Off), activities for kids in the evening
Certified

Great trip

, West Black Rock, NS
2019-04-14
We had a great week at this hotel. Would recommend adult only section if you like a quieter pool. It is a really nice resort. Would go back again. Very relaxing week for us. Not allot to do but that's what we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, hotel was great.
The weak points
Food wasn't the best. Restaurants were better than the Buffett. Have had better food in Cuba.
Certified

Dimitar Tzenev

, Gatineau, QC
2019-03-07
Very good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-24
Had a great time at the Hotel Playa Vista Mar in Cayo Santa Maria Cuba! Our family of 6 went and we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms and the resort and beautiful! The beach is amazing. You can walk for miles along the sandy beach. There is also a smaller beach at Area De Relax where you can just relax or snorkel. We saw a lot of neat fish and coral.
The weak points
The food was good, repetitive but always found food we liked. They always had ice cream. The service at the 24 snack bar was ify. If you tip you get good service. So i can see if people that dont tip regularly would get frustrated. We always tipped.
Certified

Playa Vista Mar

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-31
Had our best Cuban vacation this trip. This newly opened (March 2018, I was told) has nice rooms with comfortable beds and decent pillows. First trip that I wasn't longing to get home to my own bed.
The 2 km beach was beautiful and we enjoyed taking long walks almost every day. Water was warm and the fish were abundant, even close to shore. Snorkellers dream.
Although the pools looked great, we didn't use them since the beach was so nice.
Well maintained grounds with friendly gardeners who always had a hibiscus flower or a palm frond creation to give you.
Buffet had typical Cuban food. For those who complain about buffets using lunch leftovers in dinner's offerings, that is true at any buffet, anywhere you go. A la carte's we tried were Italian and Mediterranean. Both were good. Paid the extra for the Cuban a la carte also. It was good too.
Also the 2 hours of free wifi daily was great as well and the fact that it worked throughout the complex, even at the beach was a surprise since other resorts we've been to have only had it for a fee and it's only been available in the lobby.
We were there from Jan 22-29 and hotel was only about 1/3 full.
In the star ratings below, I've checked kids club. However we just saw it, but don't know what it's like.
Would definitely consider returning to this hotel.
Many Canadians go to Cuba, but we've seen so many that demand attention from their servers but don't show the least bit of appreciation for the job these people do for us. A smile and a kind word as well as a peso or 2 goes a long way. Show some gratitude, ask their name, greet them. Quit being so selfish. This will make your vacation so much more pleasant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best beach we've had so far. So well protected from the sea. Staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Heiko and Yan at the bar, waiter Miguel, cook Fernando and our chambermaid Adelita.
The weak points
Only disappointment was lack of music at Cuban a la carte. Both Italian and Mediterranean had soft music playing but not Cuban. Since there were only 8 people in the restaurant, it was too quiet. We asked the waitress to mention this to management.
Certified

Playa Vista Mar first visit room 942

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-15
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. All our online requests were met. Room on the top floor, in a quiet part of the resort, ocean view, balcony with a screen door, king bed, ceiling fan and none smoking. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a brand new resort. The beach is sandy and 2 kilometers long in a protected cove. Great for long walks. The lobby area is open, lots of comfortable seating and attentive table service and Wi-Fi. Live Musical Entertainment in the lobby was great. Recorded music was often too loud, and unnecessary.
The buffet was good but can be repetitive. No pasta or pizza! The staff were excellent!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very safe. Clean everything is brand new. Beautiful protected beach safe for children. Staff are friendly and helpful. Screen door on balcony with a ceiling fan over the bed allowed us to sleep with the balcony door open and air conditioning off.
The weak points
Only 3 grill areas in the buffet and only 2 working most meals meant long lines. No pasta or pizza although there appeared to be a pizza oven at the middle grill. Lot of smoking in the lobby particularly near the bar/WIFI area. need a non smoking area.
Certified

Great stay!

, Cornwall, ON
2019-01-12
I traveled with my 2 teenaged daughters and we had a really great trip. I always felt safe, staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was amazing - I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return someday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach for walks and lounging and great reef for snorkeling. Friendly staff. Nice clean rooms with modern decor. Great value! We loved our stay.
The weak points
The few times we wanted to participate in the advertised activities, they didn't seem to be holding them (activities advertised on the beach).
Certified

Gerrie

, Selkirk, MB
2018-12-28
This resort is like a small town so they have golf carts to help. It is fairly isolated from the usual vacation experience... no street vendors .. no stay animals and no air or vehicle pollution
Very quiet clean modern and in good condition
Swim at the Beautiful long beach in a sheltered bay, or 3 pools near washrooms and food areas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The employees are just so friendly and helpful from the 1st person you meet right down to the gardeners. I can't say enough about how pleasant they were.
The weak points
Too sterile and isolated for me... I want to be able to use the beach items with out having to worry about more money ie snorkeling items. I want streets to explore and regular Cubans to meet and talk to & shops or daily experiences.
Certified

We loved it!!

, Tillsonburg, ON
2018-11-28
We loved Sercotel, it was amazing. The staff was great, friendly, and made us feel comfortable. We wish we could have stayed longer. The beach was beautiful. It was miles and miles of sand and water. The pool area looked great, and was great. We will definitely be returning, all because of the great staff!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, beach, pool.
The weak points
We had a few ants in our room. The shower leaked. Too strict about giving us extra bottles of water
Certified

Good vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-21
Pros:
1. Nice clean rooms, main lobby, pool, eating areas.
2. Helpfull and friendly staff
3. Decent entertaintment (beach activities, shows)
4. Good swimming (no big waves)
5. Lots of palapas and beach chairs
6. Decent food
Cons:
1. No french fries
2. Shells on the beach (but not as bad as some reviewers portray it)
3. Jelly fish (depends on the season, I guess- we had them for 2 days)

Would I come back? YES!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Gorgeous beach

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-21
The hotel rooms themself were clean and bright. Pools had some extra glue or some type of building material left on them in spots. Pool loungers are new and had a ton. Kids club didn't have many toys, our kids didn't want to stay as they got bored quickly. Staff at the resort was fabulous! Great service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?