Ocean Casa Del Mar

3.663.663.663.663.66
Ocean Casa Del Mar
#10 of 23 hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
3.66 based on 358 reviews
Traveller pictures (226)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Terrible experience

, Kitchener, ON
2019-08-13
Hello, My name is Eduardo Amaya and I went to Ocean Casa Del Mar in Santa Maria from August 1- August 8th 2019. I would like to share my experience with you so that you avoid going to this hotel. For starters, it is said that this hotel was built in 2016 but let me tell you that is not what it looks like. Everything looks super rundown, the pool tiles come out extremely easily, it's full of green mold. The washrooms smell gross, the fencing on railings looks like it's about to fall at any moment and has nails sticking out. All the paint done on the basketball court and tennis courts has almost completely come off and the pictures they advertise online look nothing like how it really is in person. Other than how run down this hotel looks, the service received there did not help. None of the workers knew any information, as simple as “can you turn on the fan” would get you sent to 3 different counters that would send you back to the beginning because they couldn't help you. They were very inattentive and when you would go to them for help with say refilling the mini fridge in the room, resetting the safe that wasn't done when you arrived or trying to get the wifi info, the workers clearly looked annoyed at you asking. It was very difficult to get help and every time you did it was clear that they were not happy providing you with the services. As a both English and Spanish speaking individual it was easy to communicate with the workers so communication barriers was not the reason behind the bad service. In addition the food was not good and was almost the same every single day. Most of the extra “fancy” restaurants were all closed and the ones that were open were not worth the effort. The Buffet has frequent not properly cooked meat so you had to be very careful and the milk was either spoiled or spoiled extremely quick so drinks with milk were avoided. It was hard to look forward to eating because 3 days into the vacation we were already tired of it. The area we were in was also packed with mosquitos. If you left the room without any bug spray you would get eaten by mosquitos. Although there were less during the day, the morning rituals consisted of sunscreen and then spraying every corner of your body with bug spray. At night we would go eat dinner and then run to the hotel run as quick as we can because there were so many mosquitos that we couldn't be in the lounge areas or watch the shows. Even inside the buffet and closed areas, mosquitos would be found everywhere. Only one of the shows was somewhat seen because we left before it finished due to the mosquitos constantly attacking and how bad the show was. The shows were very basic and nothing special, the performers also constantly messed up their tricks and did not seem to be enjoying themselves. Although the natural part of the island was beautiful such as the beach and water, it was saddening to see how much garbage was tossed at the beach and how none of the workers cared to clean. My family constantly picked out garbage to avoids it going into the ocean but that's about where the cleanup ended. We would ask staff to empty out a garbage can that was overflowing and they wouldn't do anything about it. Even the staff themselves would be seen just throwing cups on the ground. They had this whole program where no straws were used in the hotel which is awesome but also pointless if all the plastic cups and wrappers are being thrown on the ground onto the water and beach. It is safe to say that my family and I did not have a good experience at this resort and would not recommend going there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
Management , infrastructure, costumer services and quality
Certified

Amazing

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-14
I love ocean casa del mar, the resort is beautiful, the rooms are clean, the drinks are good, the food is good (a la cartes are great!) But the main thing, is....the staff are FANTASTIC! Arley makes the trip amazing, and of course the bar tenders we love so much, yunier, edel, Bilbao, gali, Elizabeth ❤ leo, and hector in the buffet, all the a la carte staff....everyone was so friendly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, clean, relaxing
The weak points
Nothing.
Certified

Wonderful

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-09
It was absolutely beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All
The weak points
None
Certified

Not Happy

, Ardrossan, AB
2019-04-13
Bad, will never go here again:((( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Resort

, Fonthill, ON
2019-04-07
We had a great time. Resort was very clean and staff were excellent. Would definitely go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just OK.

, Mascouche, QC
2019-04-04
Hotel not a 4.5 star more like a 3 and not worth 1235.00 each person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Cuban Workers very nice, the Italian restaurant a la carte was the best in our opinion. All Bars great service especially the bars on the beach. the Coffee shop was very good delicious coffee.
The weak points
Bus ride too long to reach the destinations (2 hours) and no toilel in the bus, missing bottled water in the rooms, the food was awful, waiting in line for the food was very long, snack bar very long, no cakes and cookies in the coffee shops.
Certified

Good value

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-31
This resort is pretty good, it's very large which makes it not seem crowded. You don't go to Cuba for the food so don't have high expectations. I heard other neighboring resorts ran out of fish and chicken, the Ocean had lots but had ran out of french fries last day. You go for beachs and relaxation and there's plenty of that here! The resort is aging and it's starting to show, our room was very dark as two main lights where out. Door knobs and handles either bent or loose. Faucet spins around and it should be stationary. But the TV worked and the air-conditioning was ice cold. At the sub $1000 mark it's a great value when you think about it. Would recommend it to new comers as it's a cheap first experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spaciousness of resort
The weak points
Aging buildings
Certified

Great Family Vacation!

, Cambridge, ON
2019-03-21
If you're looking for an amazing beach this is the perfect resort. This was our 2nd time to Cuba and overall we had a great family vacation.

The beach was perfect. Lots of chairs and sun shelters. We had a great ride on the catamaran. It would be great if there was a bathroom close to the beach. We had to walk up to the pool area to find a washroom. Beach towel service was not good. We tried 3 times to change our towels and then gave up.The pool was very nice, clean and refreshing but the broken chairs need to be replaced.

Service for the most part was excellent. Thanks to Andro at the buffet and Alejandro at Limoncello for their friendly and efficient service.

Our room was nice, clean and the shower was huge. The “twin” beds are small though, not good for 2 people. Next time I will take my own pillow. Our maid Yaumara did a great job everyday cleaning our room and making sure our mini bar was fully stocked.

As for the food we knew what to expect. More veggies would be good but we survived for a week. The buffet was busy so get there early. If you want to eat at the a la carte restaurants make reservations on your first day. We ate at 3 of the a la carte restaurants; Limoncello, Blue Moon and Origami. All 3 meals were good and the service was excellent. One comment about the snack bar, coffee & cream really needs to be available especially in the morning!

We did one excursion off the resort and took a taxi (thanks Fidel) to Acuario Delfinario to see the dolphin show. It's only about 15 minutes away and it was a great show.

Overall we had an amazing vacation and I would recommend Ocean Casa del Mar resort for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beautiful beach & lots of sun shelters - Catamaran ride was great - Pool was clean and refreshing - Lobby Bar was excellent - Servers at the buffet were friendly and efficient
The weak points
- Beach towel service was not good - Broken chairs need to be replaced at the pool - Coffee & cream needs to be available at the snack bar especially in the morning
Certified

2 Wonderful weeks

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-06
Great hotel, not too big, great staff. We were in building 10 so everything was close at hand. We met groups up to 23 in size, who were very happy. We had our family there for 1 week also. Really satisfied with resort and their service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was good on both ends and fine for snorkelling in the middle. Had a wonderful time. Entertainment was well done, except for taped music in buffet. Food was great for Cuba. We would go again
Certified

Nice resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-25
Very nice resort with beautiful beach.
Very nice wait staff and bar staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Reception at checkout and check in took forever as not enough staff. Card lock keys stopped working constantly and had to be re programmed. Need a bigger buffet for size of resort.
Certified

Mixed reviews...

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-24
Started by getting to our room with no toilet paper and an empty fridge in the room. Sheets were stained and the provided beach towels had holes in them. Also there is a shortage of beach towels... meaning we had the same ones all week. Throughout the week, our bath towels were only changed once. We had to wait in long lines for everything. Good things were nice beach, great evening entertainment and tasty food at beach bars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Horrendous

, St Marys, ON
2019-02-11
Don't expect your room to be ready at 4 p.m. check in, and don't expect the front desk staff to care. The staff throughout the resort are indifferent at best, and often rude. It seems to be an annoyance for staff to serve you. Prepare to wait in long line ups for terrible food. The buffet is exactly the same every day and breakfast consists of last nights overcooked cruciferous vegetables, and scrambled eggs, with mystery meat croquettes, made with last nights, left over meat or fish. The resort ran out of bread for 4 days straight. The 24 hr. snack bar has a limited menu which included bacon cheese burgers with fries, but they ran out of buns, bacon, cheese,and fries, so instead we were served a heaping plate of partially cooked, quartered hamburger patties, for my husband and I to share. We stopped at the snack bar before an early morning excursion, and at 4 a.m. could not get any service. All but one of 6 employees sat at a table laughing and joking. One employee sat at the bar sleeping in a chair and only awoke to urinate just outside the snack bar entrance. Don't expect luxuries like enough toilet paper, or water to get you through until the next day. If anything is not working in your room, get over it; no one cares. After standing in line for over an hour to book a reservation for 4 people, at the Italian restaurant, we were looking forward to a reprieve from the dismal buffet. The next night, we were rudely turned away from the Italian restaurant, and were told that our reservation was made for 2 people and they therefore, had no table for us. The buffet is half as big as it needs to be to serve the number of guests in the hotel. The wait is ridiculous and makes you feel like cattle being herded to the trough. The over all experience was a massive let down. The whole hotel staff need to be fired and management should rehire people that care to actually work for their pay check. Save your hard earned money; don't stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Hotel and very nice beach.
The weak points
The wait times and line ups for the most awful food. The utterly indifferent staff.

Awful! Totally not worth the price. Beware.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-25
Very, very few positives. Mikes Coffee was nice, my niece said the coffee was good, occasionally there was a piano player that was very good. The beach was lovely. Absolute chaos when we landed at Santa Clara. The staff told us to stay on the plane while they loaded passengers and new staff and then we would be off to our next stop Cayo Coco. Quite sometime later they came back and said nope they want to clean the plane so everyone off, we would be taken to a lounge for the few minutes wait. We all stood on the tarmac, someone finally handed us a TRANSIT placard and said follow. We were taken to an area
which turned out to be security? We lined up but there was total chaos no one knew where to go and no one was indicating they understood our questions. Once through security, someone pointed up the stairs. Up we trooped to a waiting room looking like a Greyhound Bus Station. Again no one understood ( or at least would help us) our questions as to where we were to go. After a long period of time finally found someone official that pointed to one of the two signs indicating a Gate. We all lined up there again and waited and waited. Finally, we made it back on the plane to Cayo Coco. After an extremely dark long ride, we made it to this hotel. The front desk staff totally indifferent and unhelpful. The room was a total disappointment! Extremely old, very small, smelled of mildew and sweat. The floorboards broken, it looked like it was a run down room from an inner city|! Stank the whole time, the pillows god awful and reeked of sweat, the shower did not drain, the mini fridge had one pop, one juice, and one beer the entire time. There was food stuck on the front of the fridge for the whole stay. Front desk staff totally indifferent to any concerns or complaints. The cushions in the lobby area are not cleaned. Many pieces of marble broken so caution is required. The food is awful, the same thing on the buffet each and every day. Most of it cold and unappetizing. The pumpkin and cabbage were nice the first couple of days but remained lukewarm for the week. The "8 restaurants" are a total joke it is just food from the buffets line presented in a different way!! The meat sits out the entire time, no refrigeration. Flies everywhere.
Many many people got sick. Not enough seating at the pool area, the pool is kept cold. The spray for mosquitoes in the morning is enough to make you gag, some horribly strong chemical. Some of the staff were friendly, but they have no concept of customer service they are totally and shamelessly about the tips. You can tell the majority of the staff at this resort do no like their jobs. They preferred to spend time chatting in large groups, with their coworkers. The gardener and housekeeper of block 1 were the friendliest people we met. The steps leading to the beach which we finally found, are old and in total disrepair, unsafe, rickety with boards missing. There is one server on the beach, one!!! The small "store" at the fits one person at a time and the staff pick and choose the ridiculously high prices which are never the same. The entertainment, well E for effort but extremely disappointing. One of the singers had a great voice and one dancer was very talented. Saw a few coackroaches but not that many, so that was a good thing. We took the "tour bus" to the tourist market and walked around another resort, this one has lush greenery but the lobby was absolutely disgusting. The smell of sewer when you first walked in, the washrooms absolutely horrific. Nothing you can do about Mother Nature, we got two nice days and the rest of the time it was rain, overcast and huge winds. The problem is that there is nothing absolutely nothing to do here without the beach. Totally and utterly disappointed with this trip, it cost a lot and was 100% not worth it! Would not recommend Cuba travel at all. Many fundamental and basic things need to be done first: an understanding of modern designs for their resorts, cleanliness, upkeep, food handling and storage safety, customer service training, to start. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is spectacular.
The weak points
Everything else !

Do not waste your money

, North York, ON
2018-10-20
Just came back from a week in hell. We were looking for a last minute vacation and the travel agency highly suggested this place based on resort calling themselves a 5 star getaway.
This was not our first time to Cuba but unfortunately would be last. We met so many new people and they made our stay unforgettable, I wish I could say the same about the staff at the resort..

Food:
The food is not even 1 star. We knew Cuba does not offer the best food but this was really a joke. We arrived around 2pm so we got to walk in to the buffet were they had no food left by then except some old pasta and super chewy beef.. Which they offered the whole 7 days we we there! They tookke the food from lunch and bring the exact same thing for dinner then the leftovers come back next day and the day after.. So many people got sick during our stay and they wonder why! The resort had to post a memo on the bacteria going around..
The a la carte restaurants serve foods that been sitting in a fridge all day( the plates were super cold when brought to table) or raw meat. We ordered beef, pork and fish just to see if we can find a right choice and every single time they were raw inside. How can you serve raw pork?? I thought the chefs are educated on temperature at least to minimize the food poisoning!

Drinks:
If you're going to this place to get a drink and enjoy your stay well you better look somewhere else.
During our stay the resort was out of vodka for 2days, coconut rum for 2 days, beer for 3days which they started serving beer right of can after a lot of demands. They don't offer Amarertto or Bailey's at any of their bars.

Cleanliness:
Our bedsheets were never changed during our stay(7nights). There was a card by the bed that they will automatically change the sheet every 3 days but I guess that meant really every stay?!! We had the same stain on the sheets the whole time..
The pool on west side had a thick layer of dark green algae the whole time. Not even once they tried to clean that pool. The one on east was a bit cleaner considering there was no algae showing but during the 7days of stay not even once they cleaned the pool. All locals were in the pool with their hoodie and jeans on and dumping their leftover drinks in the water.
To make things even worst, one day we were in the pool joining the daily activities they had and we saw a guy with a 10 gallon container walking straight to the pool were they were about 50 people in the water and dumped the chemicals in. The smell of chlorine was so strong that we had to get out of the water right away.
The staff noticed how dirty the pool was but never bothered to clean it after hours??
We both got skin rashes because of that nasty chemicals and dirty pool from that day and back home now to deal with the rashes and marks on our skins now.

Entertainment:
One of the reasons we were suggested this resort was because we were looking for daily entertainments. The nightly entertainment was good, keeping the crowed signing and dancing along but during the day they all slacked! Most of the entertainment group were hooked with a group of girls and they were always busy in their room rather than being on the beach or by the pool to even have the music going. It was so obvious that the guys were in those girls, dancing with them in the pool or having them around every where they would go..

Staff:
We can easily say only 30% of staff there love their job and what they do. We would go to the buffet and no one would even pass by to ask if we need anything to drink.. Go to snack bar and just sit there for 10 minutes to get service while the staff were busy chatting. One time we tried to have a conversation with a guy at snack bar(I wish I remembered his name) he just brushed us off and started speaking Spanish to his coworker. We don't speak Spanish but we understand it well. This guy was telling his coworker why the hell would we ask him questions about the ocean instead of ordering. He didn't give a damn and called us stupid. Just because we don't speak the language doesn't mean we don't understand it! Shame on them.
We would go to a bar and order a drink from one person and go back next 10 minutes and someone else would say oh we totally out. We watched other customers ordering the same drink and got it made right away. Staff chose who they wanted to serve and what they wanted to serve.
If you don't tip they pretend they don't acknowledge you.
The lifegaurds at the beach are never there to find. We seen few at the bars the first couple of days and that was it.. I got stung by the jelly fish(beside the other couple that got stung same day) and there was no life guard to be found. they all supposedly carry the venom but that's if you can find any of them in the case of emergency. My boyfriend had to run back to the restaurant to get some vinegar for me after looking for them for 15-20 minutes.
The guest service lady is useless, she is rude and even when we asked for water in our room she told ua to leave the room and she will follow up. Well 24 hours later we still had to follow up to get our fridge refill while they had a sticker stating it would be restocked daily..
Overall this place has a great potential of being a 5 star but they need to hire new staff to replace those salty ones.
The resort needs a better management, the general manger heard all the complains and did nothing beside sitting down and have a dinner and drink with a traveler the whole night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Family vacation

, Loretto, ON
2018-09-09
The staff at this hotel go above and beyond with customer service and greet you each day with a friendly smile while treating you like family. The beach is gorgeous and amenities are plentiful.the weather was wonderful and entertainment every day.
Hotel commute was 1,5 hours plus but worth the drive through each province.
This was a first time for our family so a very good experience for my children who were exposed to a different culture. Tania our room Service lady was amazing . Building 7 perfect location for both beach and pool access. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mikes was amazing Luvia was great every day remembering our order and always friendly with a smile. Ismail at beach bar was great,friendly and made amazing beverages and quite knowledgeable. At the buffet Hector, Alin, Andro and Minguelle great service.
The weak points
Food wasn't repetitive and bland and A la carte not worth the reservation. Lots of bugs bring repellant.
Certified

First and last time in Cuba

, Calgary, AB
2018-08-16
Arrived at the Santa Clara air port via Montreal in late evening, took a bus ride >2hrs to the Resort.
the first room (4th floor-BW4) given to us has faulty, noisy air conditioning & clogged bath stand, changed to second room in the next morning in the same building (4) on 2rd floor,a better room but has no view of the sea
a little things here and there make this place unattractive likes : bad foods, unavailable beach towers, scorching lobby, tiny souvenir/money exchange shop, paid wifi...with this price you can stay in much better places: Tulum, Costa Rica, Dominica...just to name a few. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, it's public so you can walk both direction as far as you want, uncrowned even in the heart of summer
The weak points
the foods, the only place you can eat probably the buffet snack bar near the pool serves horrible food, beach hut serves grilled pork and so but usually run out in short period of time, a-la-cart are just a joke
Certified

Better than our expectation

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-24
We are family of 5, we got 2 Rooms with connections door. Main room with king bed ,walk in closet , and jacuzzy, Wow.....the best room i ever had. The beach was so clean, white sand and blue ocean, nothing can beat that beautiful nature. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and rooms
The weak points
The activities programm from hotel not organized properperly. Excursion to expensive.....
Certified

Unhappy

, North York, ON
2018-06-11
Way to many mosquitoes..cannot enjoy your stay cause your getting eating alive. Foods good.95% workers r very room front desk the worse. If you don't tip you don't get food servive. U complain to manager and they don't care. Never again here .. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Worse service ever.
The weak points
Beauitful resort just sad to see the way people treat that are making them still have there jobs

A good time

, Halifax, NS
2018-05-04
Overall experience was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The wait staff were amazing and friendly, the grounds keepers were very friendly.
The weak points
Took a long time for requests to be fulfilled. Coffee maker had no pot, this took a full day. Water, water, water, you had to ask and tip big for extra water, 1 litre just not enough for 2. Pillows were not that great. Buffet was amazing
Certified

Family vacation

, Chestermere, AB
2018-05-01
At first we were placed in a building the had faulty electrical wiring but once the staff were made aware they went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. Fidel Suarez, the assistant manager, took every measure to make sure we were happy and welcome. The resort itself is quite nice, with amazing beaches and very friendly personnel. The food at the restaurants is much better than at the buffet. All in all a great stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice pools, very friendly staff, beautiful beaches
The weak points
amenities are not great and food leaves to be desired.

Ocean casa Del mar

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-27
Not suitable for the elderly or for people with limited mobility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la cartes were great. Awesome beach. Nice pool. Lots of palapas on the beach.
The weak points
No eggs for 3 days. No beer on tap for 1.5 days. No toilet paper in public washrooms. Public washrooms not cleaned. Bar service very slow - understaffed?
Certified

Great resort with a few hiccups!

, Gaetz Brook, NS
2018-04-21
We stayed for 2 weeks and, over all, enjoyed the resort and staff very much! The beach is beautiful - you'll enjoy walking it! Check out the beach bar (grill) at lunch time - fantastic food and people!! The main activities pool is great and the bartenders (Pepe, Vania, Wendy and Valetin) are FANTASTIC! Activities staff are very friendly - we love you, Annie!! No issues getting shaded chairs at the pool and beach. Rooms are very nice and spacious. Unfortunately, bars of soap, shampoo and body wash were in very short supply - bring some of your own - you will run out before the end of your vacation. For our 2 week stay, we were provided with ONE small bar of soap, ONE small bottle of shampoo and ONE small bottle of body wash. Food in the buffet was good. Enjoyed the Romantico and Italian a-la-cartes. There were a lot of families/children - not an issue for us, but if you're looking for a resort with mainly adults and a rockin' party atmosphere, this is not the one for you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is beautiful! Beach is amazing! Activities Pool Bar staff (Pepe, Vania, Wendy and Valentin) are fantastic! Be sure to look for them!
The weak points
Clean beach towels are not available on a daily basis. Set-up for booking a-la-carte meals is AWFUL! Lining up daily at 5:00-5:30 to book restaurants for that same night is frustrating and inefficient. Soap/shampoo in room not replenished regularly.
Certified

Great week

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-08
Just got back from an awesome week at Ocean Casa Del Mar!
Beautiful beach! The staff were awesome and were very eager to help.
Enjoyed "privilege" thanks to Keila and Yasser.
Would love to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
Beach towels are not always available!
Certified

Website

, Nepean, HA
2018-03-26
It was a great place as the staff is very friendly and cooperative. Breakfast is amazing and Bars are excellent. Very much impressed for the cleaniness. Beaches are great. Need more English speaking staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool quality was excellent. very clean and cooperative staff. very honest housekeepers.
The weak points
less choice for vegetarians and very problem with WIFI connections.
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Prevost, QC
2018-03-15
One of the best places we've been. Finally a resort that has at least one pool area where its quiet and relaxing separated from speakers activities and drunken youth. The buffet was great to our taste, beach was awesome, service friendly, 24 hour bar wow and 24 hour mike's coffee wow. Could use a few washrooms near the beach. Besides that, it was a great family oriented place away from loud mouths and nightlife. Will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, 2 pools, 1 quiet the other more life. huge resort, great food at the buffet.
The weak points
Lack of washrooms near beach area.
Certified

Ocean casa del Mar

, St Catharines, ON
2018-03-15
Service was excellent. Cleaning lady was incredible. The buffet staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. I was amazed how well they recovered from the major hurricane. Nice entertainment at night. This was our second year in a row at Ocean casa del mar. I would return again. Also lovely beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service, friendliness
The weak points
More lounge chairs needed around pool.
Certified

A 6/10 vacation!

, Nepean, ON
2018-03-10
While we were warned that Cuba was unable to import spices, we did not find our food bland. We did, however, find the food at the buffet exceptionally repetitive: we would find the same foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If we were lucky, we found 1-2 new dishes at dinner. Thankfully, we were able to go to the a la carte restaurants for five dinners, else my wife would've suffered much more than she did. The food at Origami and Boca Marina were outstanding, while the food at Limoncello was terrible. We did not have an opportunity to try other sit down dinners, as most of these are open only 1-2 times per week.

A special shout out to two service teams who made our mealtimes amazing: Eneisy from Origami was such a delight! She was kind, compassionate (and never judged me when I noted that I'm allergic to alcohol, whereas the servers at the bars were rude when I asked for non alcoholic drinks, one even going so far as to ask "what is wrong with you?!"), attentive and just wonderful! Daniel, Andrey and Carlos at the buffet were also very caring and attentive, and really made our meals there a pleasure (despite the food!)

While one of Cuba's main money makers is tobacco, we did expect that there would be enforced non-smoking sections on the resort. This was important due to my severe asthma. I can say that there was no respite: we were flooded constantly with tobacco and marijuana smoke, which really put a damper on our holiday (imagine me taking out my asthma pump every few hours...)

A note of caution: if you are mobility impaired, we suggest you request a lower floor room. The rooms are in "apartment" blocks, with staircases leading to the second and third floor. We heard horror stories of seniors struggling to get to their third floor rooms.

Overall, while we enjoyed the pool immensely, and loved looking out on the ocean waves, the food and smoke have really soured us on going back to this resort, and even coming back to Cuba. Too bad - we heard from couples staying at other resorts that these were not issues, but we simply cannot take the risk! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool, beautiful ocean view, clean room, a la carte dinners not limited and delicious
The weak points
Need more toilet paper (glad we brought our own!), non-smoker areas not enforced, food repetitive (but a la carte dinners exceptional)
Certified

A wonderful stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-19
We loved every moment of our stay at Casa del Mar. It's a beautiful hotel with a lovely group of staff. You meet great people that work there that's makes you want to return. The food was ok you alway found something to eat or certain restaurants to eat at that always had what you wanted. The beach is so beautiful it's one of the reason we go back to Cuba. I would go back to the same resort next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

, Richmond Hill, ON
2017-09-11
Arrived at the hotel after an almost 3 hour bus ride from the airport. There were 2 staff members checking guests in. Although there were only 2 people ahead of me, I waited 1 1/2 hours in a scorching hot lobby because the person checking me in was busy running back and forth assisting a spanish speaking couple who kept coming back to the front of the line. No one even offered a cold drink to us. I arrived at my room to find the safe did not work and the terrace door would not lock. I called guest services and was told five minutes, then fifteen minutes, then someone would be there soon and after another 1 1/2 hours I just left and went to the pool. That night the drain in my shower clogged and there was a flood in my room. Lock still not fixed but safe was. Staff were far from friendly, with the exception of a very few, even though we tipped extremely well and were very polite. The pool was nice but surrounding tiles were broken and many people went right through them hurting their feet and legs. There is no service at the pool. You need to go to the snackbar or the swimup bar where you wait depending on the mood of the servers or if they are busy talking amongst themselves. The food at the buffet was adequate. The al a cartes were never what they were supposed to be and the food was terrible. I suffered food poisoning on the third night there. The water was beautiful but the beach was filthy and I nearly stepped in broken glass. There was no beach service and you had to walk up several stairs to get to the bar. The chairs in my room were worn and stained. My night table was missing a leg. The ceiling tiles in the entrance way were broken and missing. Still no lock. The bugs were bad so we had to suffer from the constant fogging which was done during peak times when we were outside for the evening entertainment. They never had mint for mojitos. They fixed the lock! Then it fell completely off!! I gave up and jammed by chair against it. There were no snacks offered in the mini bar and no room service. There were never towels available at the pool. The courtesy bathrooms were filthy and often out of toilet paper. My sheets were changed once. Used towels were refolded and put back on the rack. The bottom drawer was missing from my dresser. Shabbily painted and cracked tiles. The room was never really cleaned, I just had swans made out of the bed linens. Very small, limited gift shop which was over priced. Very few staff spoke or understood english. The wifi was literally non existent although you had to pay for it.
It did not work at all in the room and barely in the main lobby. Even when the wifi was turned off, it kept timing out and I had to purchase new cards.
All in all, this hotel is a nightmare. How it got a 4.5 star rating is beyond me. I was glad we got evacuated a day early because of the hurricane and I am expecting a refund!!!! Book anywhere else but here!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the water was beautiful
The weak points
too many to list
Certified

Relaxing Vacation, Average Hotel

, Mahone Bay, NS
2017-05-04
We booked this vacation last minute for a week of relaxation in the sun. At booking received a free upgrade to the hotel's Privilege package. Overall, the vacation was good - not the best vacation, but not the worst vacation. I struggled with rating this hotel. With a few minor improvements the hotel could be amazing.

Good Points
- Beach, amazing. White sand with turquoise water. Great for walking.
- Pools. We stayed by the quiet pool (close to room block), so can't comment on entertainment staff. Only compliant about the pool, was that at times, music could be too loud.
- Room. Basic, but had everything you needed. AC worked well & the rain shower was fantastic. No problems with bathroom plumbing as noted in some other reviews.
- Hotel grounds, for a new hotel, the grounds are impressive. Lots of flowers & kept clean. The staff take pride in their work.
- Privilege Restaurant, great for breakfast & lunch. Long wait for food, but better alternative than eating at the buffet.
- Micheal Jackson Show/ Ocean Dance Party, held at market next door to the resort. Entertainment was amazing, even had fireworks.
- Mike's Coffee, possibly the best feature of the hotel. Loved the frozen coffee.
- Weather was fantastic

Bad Points
- Buffet Food. This was our 8th trip to Cuba (all 4-5 star resorts), and this was the worst food we experienced. The buffet is too small for the size of the resort (very limited selection & extremely long wait for made to order food stations).
- A-la-Carts, the no reservation system does not work at this resort. Unless you are prepared to line up at 6PM for supper, it is extremely hard to get a table. Service is so slow, that the majority of the restaurants only had 2 settings/ evening. Food quality/ selection was only marginally better than the buffet.
- Customer Service. This is an area that the hotel Management needs to address. Example, making 5 calls over 3 days to customer service to fix a broken safe, having two people on front desk to checkin two bus loads of guests, etc.. are not the best examples of hotel customer service
- Privilege Package. This was a nice perk to have, however, had we paid for the upgrade, I would have been disappointed with value of what was received. When booking this hotel, you need to know what you entitled to with the upgrade, because you will need to constantly ask to receive these perks, as the hotel doesn't automatically give them to you (4*1 hour internet cards, reservation for lobster dinner, bottle of rum, 2 * 30 minutes massages, & use of privilege restaurant for breakfast/ lunch... this is what we received with the privilege package).

Overall, this vacation provided the relaxation that we were looking for. Unless Management addresses some of the issues, I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel or return. At this price point, there are better hotels in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beach was amazing - AC worked well - Mike's Coffee was delicious
The weak points
- Food, below average for Cuba - Buffet, too small for size of resort - Customer Service was lacking
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?