Grand Sirenis Cayo Santa Maria

Grand Sirenis Cayo Santa Maria
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 106 reviews
#8 of 26 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (233)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Unforgettable experience

, Montréal, QC
2024-05-18
My recent stay was nothing short of spectacular. The resort's location is absolutely stunning, located on a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach with crystal-clear turquoise waters. The views were breathtaking, especially during sunrise and sunset. The beach itself was well-maintained and provided ample space for relaxation and activities.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated, offering a perfect blend of comfort and luxury. My room had a lovely balcony with a view of the ocean, making it an ideal spot to unwind after a day at the beach.

The resort has a variety of restaurants, each offering a unique culinary experience. I personally tried the Cuban, Italian, and French and I have to say French was by far the best. The buffet also had an impressive selection, as well as the 24 hour snack bar.

What truly made my stay memorable was the exceptional service from the staff. They were always attentive, friendly, and willing to go the extra mile to ensure we had everything we needed. Their genuine warmth and hospitality added a personal touch that made me feel truly welcome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Great time at this resort

, Montréal, QC
2024-05-09
Absolutely loved my stay at this resort, the rooms are very clean, the beach is stunning and the staff are very friendly, especially Pedro and Yinet from customer service. Will definitely be coming back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

1 Week in Paradise

, Lachine, QC
2024-04-21
I just came back from a wonderful week at Gran Sirenis, the resort is super clean, rooms are neat and tidy, and staff at buffets, a la carte restos and bars really are all awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Enjoyed or sunfilled pleasurable Vacation

, Sydney, NS
2024-04-16
The hotel was clean and well looked cared for by staff and the grounds were well taken care of by the gardening staff behind the scenes...(they must get up early) There were no big crowds or lines for anything at bars or buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, great entertainment staff, bar and snack sandwiches on the beach.Staff helped get chairs and cleaned up the beach when people left quite quickly to leave it pristine and welcoming. The staff all looked busy but happy.
The weak points
Do your research and come prepared for the little things you may enjoy home that are not available here. Salad dressing, peanut butter, nuttella, ketchup /mayo/mustard packets or gluten free items.
Certified

Beautiful property & beach. Great staff.

, Avonmore, ON
2024-03-18
Overall a great stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- Beautiful property, gardens & pools. Staff were always cleaning. - Staff were very helpful & the Food & Bev Manager accommodated our special diet - Amazing beach & pools - Lots of entertainment & activities - Daily bus to the tourist market
The weak points
- Common area bathrooms were often clogged, without TP & broken locks - Long waits in the buffet, beachside grill & Snack Shack - Broken elevators - The shower in the standard room is out in the open which isn't ideal for families
Certified

Good hotel choice for Cuba, but.....

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-08
If you are looking for a Cuba resort, I have no problem in recommending this property to others. But as you will hear from many others, it's "very good for Cuba standards". If this resort experience was in any other country, it wouldn't be rated as high. Top strengths are staff friendliness (most of the time) and the beach/ocean. Hotel room was comfortable, except shower is very low pressure and consider yourself lucky if you get hot water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great beach...clear and clean waters, gradual depth, sandy, kilometers long. Enoyable non-motorized water activities. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms.
The weak points
Food and drink quality and variety will be a shock to many accustomed to Canadian standards. For Cuba, I guess be grateful for something to eat, but it's very basic and simple foods (boiled or baked) with no seasoning.
Certified

Sirenis

, Sydney, NS
2024-02-10
Hotel was large, happy with establishment [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beech excellent. Felt extremely safe. Staff very friendly.
The weak points
Food repetitive, lacking flavor. Limited English by staff. Too many Russians
Certified

Cuban Holiday

, Orillia, ON
2024-02-02
Beautiful beaches. Resort was lovely. Food was surprisingly good. Lots of choices including seafood and all.meats, fruits, eggs etc. Cubans work very hard to make your stay nice. Rooms modern. Beds comfortable and hot water. I don't drink alcohol scant speak to that. Entertainment in the lounge was lovely. Did not go to late show. My daughter loved the Michele Jackson show. Enjoyed the stretch and salsa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and the resort
The weak points
If you are a single women then make it very clear to the entertainment team. Even a walk to watch sunset they think you have already todate them. My daughter was pretty angry and she is extremely friendly and kind to people but she became very harsh to
Certified

Seven Day Getaway

, Millbrook, ON
2024-01-07
The Grand Sirenis in Cayo Santa Maria is beautiful, well kept and modern. The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and the ocean view is bliss.

For the price point, this resort is a reasonable and comfortable place for a family to go away for a week. It allows for rest, sunshine and beautiful weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The ocean is calm for children to swim in and the clear waters allow for children to see the fish without having to fully submerge. Furthermore, the pools are shallow enough for children to swim about without you fearing for their safety.
The weak points
One of the key issues we had was the shortage of staff, which resulted in long wait times to food and drinks. It also meant that our room had to be skipped over by housekeeping a couple of times.
Sanitary measures
I do caution any travellers to condition your stomachs, as Cuba does have limited food options and sometimes the foods can cause digestive upset. Be cautious when choosing food, as the meat is sometimes undercooked or raw.
Certified

Re: Grand Sirenis CayoSanta Maria

, Whitby, ON
2024-01-05
I like to start by saying that I have been to dozens of resorts all over and I never had the need to write any reviews.
But at this resort I was very disappointed in a few things which I think can be fixed very easy.
Fire the managers and hire new ones. The rooms at this resort are very nice and modern, attention should be more given with cleanliness.
The hallways in the main building were hardly ever cleaned, some kid spilled juice in front of the elevator on the first floor. That juice was cleaned exactly 5 days later. At the same time, a paddle of water sat in the same hallway for another 5 days and it dried by itself.
The toilets at the theatre are in real bad shape and dirty. Toilets at one of the pools is hardly ever open.
Dishes and utensils at the buffet are greasy and a couple of them still had someone else's food on them. Glasses are dirty.
When it comes to food, it's a hit and miss, but that's Cuba, you don't come to Cuba for the food.

On a different note, the beach is just awesome, the pools are really nice and the grounds are kept very nice. And services are very good.

This beautiful resort needs new management. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Cleanliness, cleanliness and cleanliness

Grand Sirenis Santa Maria

, Oakville, ON
2024-01-05
We would not travel to this resort again. The food was not very good, and we were warned about this but it was really difficult to find something to eat. The pizza at the snack bar took an hour to get and people who ordered after us would get theirs quicker if the waved dollar bills around. Bad atmosphere. Same for getting served at the bar. Most staff were not friendly. People smoked everywhere inside and out. Mold in the shower. Stains on the blankets and sheets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Server at buffet, Jared was awesome. Server at beach bar ( I've forgotten his name) wore scarf around his neck. Was exceptional! Beach was beautiful. Towels nice and towel guy too!
The weak points
A la cart restaurant food was worse than buffet. No one knew where to go for their dinner reservations as no signage.
Certified

Grand Sirenis Cayo Santa Mariya

, Milton, ON
2023-09-12
Hotel is new built 2019 and due to COVID it was lightly occupied
Staff is friendly and the animation team is very nice,
Mosquitoes are issue in the evening
Management should pay extra attention to cleanliness
Discoteqhue is too small for 600 rooms property
I understand the hotel is not fully functioning but variety of restaurants and menus also need attention. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach is wonderful Staff friendly
The weak points
Cleanliness & food
Certified

The best place to be

, Toronto, ON
2023-07-30
we were impressed with the rooms and the staff were friendly and proffesional things went wrong it was fixed a matter of minutes pedro the public relations was very caring and he made our vacation the best to be the food was very good no shortages the alacart we really good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
hotel was very clean had cleaners doing a great job
The weak points
have to say no weak points
Sanitary measures
hand sanitizer all over the hotel
Certified

Vacation well spent

, Mont-Tremblant, QC
2023-07-28
A great experience - I recommend for anyone looking to get away and relax. Great location & safe destination. Awesome beach, good entertainment, and good food & drinks throughout our stay. The staff is amazing and pay great attention at ensuring our stay is exceptional. Facilities are clean and the rooms are spacious and well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Beautiful resort

, Laval, QC
2023-07-17
Lovely resort with amazing hospitality. The staff go out of their way to help - Pedro at customer relations is super attentive and resourceful. Short walking distance from rooms to beach and entertainment all day long. Resort is safe and clean as well. Great experience overall with plenty of food options available. Looking forward to returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Second stay

, Montreal-Nord, QC
2023-07-17
Really had a nice time at this resort. The beach speaks for itself - amazing! There is lots of entertainment and activities to keep you busy. Cannot complain about the food, there was a lot of variety and my family and I always found something to eat whether it was at the buffet or snack bar. The rooms have a nice modern layout and are very comfortable & clean. The staff at this resort make your stay that much more memorable - super polite, amicable, and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Check out/room # 2012

, Brampton, ON
2023-06-16
[1] Our pick-up time was 5.50 PM we called reception to stay extra 4 hours, they informed 1 day extra charge will apply,
[2] Flight cancel, no advance information, room allotted at 8.00 PM, waiting in hot weather for 8 hours in lobby with mosquitoes.
[3] June 15 our pick-up time was 5.50 AM, bus came at 7.00 am.
[4] Bathroom door handle broken and sink was clogged, had to call to repair
[5] 1 Ltr. Canadian club whisky bottle was stolen from baggage storing room on June 14 between 12.pm to 8 pm.
[6] Food horrible, never eat French, Italian or buffet like yours.
[7] Complain to public relation officer, promised will give feedback to hotel management. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Property is on good location
The weak points
[1] 1 Ltr. Canadian club whisky bottle was stolen from baggage storing room on June 14 between 12.pm to 8 pm.
Certified

Amazing getaway

, Anjou, QC
2023-05-23
I travelled here with my family and had a really great time. The staff offers great service and are always willing to assist you - Pedro from customer relations is the person to go to for amazing service and for answers to all your questions The beach is very clean and is crystal clear. The grounds as well as our room were also cleaned on a daily basis. I will definitely be returning with more family and friends in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Great vacation

, Anjou, QC
2023-05-23
This was my second stay here and I enjoyed my stay once again. The beach is beautiful and the water is super clear and weather was great. The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily. Everyone here is very friendly and always ready to accommodate you. Pedro from customer service was super attentive and helpful. The cappuccino at the lobby bar was my favourite. As for food options, there is always something to find.I would definitely return with more family and friends in the future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Amazing 1st Family Vacation!

, Scarborough, ON
2023-05-12
Myself and my three teenagers spent a week ! It was beautiful! The resort is very clean, modernized, amazing friendly, kind, dedicated hardworking staff! The grounds keepers were helpful and very very friendly!

Two pools with swim up bars, both clean, kid friendly, more then enough room to float, play volleyball, kids to play catch with a ball, or to do as you please.

Rooms were modernized. Beautiful view of the ocean and the well kept landscaping .

Overall amazing trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly kind caring staff! Beautiful and very well kept rooms and the entire resort. Room stalked daily wit two water bottles, towels available daily! Resort is beautiful!
The weak points
Very little shade pool side and at the ocean. If you have small children or are a senior . Suggested you bring an umbrella, or shade tent, hats and extra sunscreen . A lot of shaded areas within the resort that are exposed to the outdoors which is great!
Certified

Great place to stay

, Saint Leonard, QC
2023-04-30
Had an amazing stay here! It was a relaxing stay for us and we had a great time. The rooms were clean and are very comfortable. The mini fridge was also always refilled. The beach was just lovely and the food was good too. The staff and service at this property are great! A special thank you to Pedro who was super helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Excellent holidays

, Gatineau, QC
2023-04-26
My fifth time at this resort. I gladly return to this hotel for its amazing beach, for its friendly, professional staff, for its beautiful, modern, spacious rooms and for its remarkable level of services.
Lots of chairs and shaded areas at the beach. Cataman rides with snorkling available, kayaks, pedalos and snorkling equipment all free. Excellent beach bar service runned by Alexis.
Great musicians at lunch and dinner. Excellent, professional nightly shows at the theatre.
Considering the price paid and supply issues, don't expect gastronomy. The chef Simon however makes the best with what he has available. The A la carte meals are quite good, at lunch the grill restaurant offers a nice menu for those who prefer a sitdown rather than a buffet. The 24 hour snack offers good sandwiches and homemade chips. Although not a fan of buffets, I always found something ineresting to eat and very good deserts. Lots of salads, fruits and yogurt available.
Special thanks to Pachy, Pedro and Rocio of client relations for their excellent support. All the staff from the gardeners to senior management are very friedly and professional giving their best to make our stay memorable. If you encounter a problem, do not hesitate to tell them, they are there to help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Horrible Experience at this resort

, Newmarket, ON
2023-04-11
The resort itself is beautiful. I will say this. Beautiful beach & the grounds keeping/ maintenance staff are so friendly and attentive.

Now let me start by saying, I understand Cuba has issues/ shortages with a lot but some of this is just unacceptable. I will place in pot form so this doesn't take up 4 pages.

- 5 days room was entered, not cleaned, and towels/ water not left.
- items from makeup bag stolen. Addressed with concierge and it was “maybe I misplaced it”.
- protein (even deli meat and cheese) not available.
- Multiple times saying tables were reserved (local friends) and they would make jokes in Spanish about white non speaking Spanish people (I understand Spanish)
- Bathrooms throughout resort not taken care (I will not elaborate) off and toilet paper not replaced.
- When the nightly fashion show was on, and the girls try and sell clothing after. When I said no thank you, I heard the girl say “that fine it won't fit her anyways”.

I could go on and on, but not impressed at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Plz see write up above
The weak points
Plz see write up above
Certified

Lovely week away

, Halifax, NS
2023-04-09
Overall, we had an amazing week.
The weather and beach were awesome, only to be topped by the following staff
Starting with Pedro in customer relations, it seemed no problem could not be resolved,
Then there was our most lovely Yireni serving us in the main lobby bar, her pleasant smile and manner made every visit to the lobby area very enjoyable.

Then were was our waitresses in the main buffett, Alianna and her co worker were so genuinely kind to us and attentive.

During the day when we were at the beach we ate and had drinks at the Beach Snack Bar, oh that was always so tasty, being served by ths most pleasant and almost familiar to us was Yasby, perhaps his name is spelled incorrect, sorry!

Several trips out on the hobby cat, all pleasant and we did the peddle boats too.

Most of the shows were very enjoyable and fun.

Our room had an amazing view, clean and all things were looked after and cleaned and stocked.

The food at the buffett was everything and more than we expected, in fact we did not book a la carts.

We are beach people and we did not use the pool, but it sure looked beautiful in everyway.

The grounds were stunning with long level meandering wide pathways, very well lite up.
Suitable for younger families withmstrollers and elderly with walkers or wheel chairs.

Drinks were great, all staff were very approachable.

We have travelled Cuba to Cayo Santa Maria several times, and this was perhaps our most favorable.

Definately we will be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Eveprything was great formus
The weak points
None that we could see
Sanitary measures
Fine
Certified

Wonderful place

, Montréal, QC
2023-03-15
Really nice hotel , beach location , wildlife, clean and everything
Sadly Lots of food shortage's during our stay, milk, bread, fries, chicken breast, no pasta , pizza at the buffet and couple other basic buffet stuff . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Hôtel, beach , staff
The weak points
Buffets
Certified

Great Resort!!

, Bouctouche South, NB
2023-03-11
I have been to Cuba over 15 times and Grand Sirenis was amazing. The food was good , staff amazing and cleanness all around . The people complaining about this resort should stay home and go eat at McDonald's. Thanks to Pedro public relations manager and all the staff because your are the best .
Thanks Again !! We will be back soon !!
James , Julie , Jonathan [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Excellent stay

, Anjou, QC
2023-02-21
We really enjoyed our stay here at Grand Sirenis. The resort is relatively new and has lots to offer. Great service from all staff, everyone is super attentive and works hard to ensure guests are satisfied. The hotel has a great beach with minimal waves. The pools were also clean and had lots of available chairs. Our room was clean and our fridge was also stocked daily. Great entertainment and drinks. Lobster was offered at some a la cartes during our stay. Looking forward to sharing our experience with more family and friends! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Beautiful Cayo Santa Maria

, Toronto, ON
2023-02-21
Overall an excellent holiday and experience
I'd return again!
I went with 10 other friends the second week of Feb 2023, and the Weather and beach were spectacular !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean and updated spacious rooms. Well laid out resort- excellent gym, food was over the top at the al a carte restaurants! Buffet was decent but busy at times. Staff were excellent in all areas! Both pools were great and spacious with lots of loungers
The weak points
No enough Premium Alcohol offered and they ran out of white wine on day 5 in the regular bars only had it in the al a carte restaurants The outdoor restaurant by the beach needed a better menu my towels were never changed in my room
Certified

Great beach, good hotel, ok food, and lost mobile

, Innisfil, ON
2023-02-12
As expected beach and water were amazing.
Hotel is new and in good condition, clean and well maintained, green.
Food is mediocre with limited selection/options, and mostly not well flavored.

The unpleasant highlight of the trip was the phone that disappeared from the washroom, and dispute apparent hotel administration to find it, it was not very efective and the phone was not found/returned.

Most reception staff was nice and helpful, but there was one lady that was very arogant and not helpful in addressing customer needs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and ocean
The weak points
Lost mobile phone Some arogant employees Mediocre food Constant tipping expectation
Sanitary measures
N/A
Certified

10 days at Grand Sirenis

, Toronto, ON
2023-02-11
My wife and I had a wonderful 10 days at Grand Sirenis, Cayo Santa Maria. I think going late January/early February was the perfect sweet spot post holidays pre March break, as the resort was reasonably quiet throughout our stay
Weather was perfect, beach was amazing, staff were wonderful, and the room/resort was very well maintained, which is all we could have hoped for when looking for a relaxing, restful, stretch away from real life.
The “downsides” I have heard in other reviews were blown out of proportion…

“The food was terrible/non-existent”. Many reviews said the food was terrible and that they ran out. We tended to go to breakfast and dinner only and around the midway point of service and they were always replenishing. Certainly, as you will find in all of Cuba, the food is not abundant and there is little variety, but we were always able to enjoy a good meal. If you want something specific that you can bring with you or you can't live without, especially if this is your first time to Cuba, bring it with you.
“There were flys everywhere”. There are a lot of flys and mosquitos yes but they spray nightly and early A.M. You also have to understand that there is beach, developed resort space, and then jungle/swamp…it's an island! Bugs are going to be there, but the place was not overrun with them.
I would say the only real issue at the hotel were fellow guests. People on holiday, drinking, can become obnoxious, rude, and vandalize, but this is no fault of the resort or the amazing staff
If you want a late night dancing, you won't get it. Post dinner they have live music at the lobby bar and a show in the Theatre but by about 11pm the place is dead quiet unless you stay at the bar. That suited us just fine but it might not suit you
The only other fault I could point out as being obvious but not a bother are some design flaws with the rooms. The bathroom is only a (non floor to ceiling) door separated from the rest of the room. The large walk-in shower has no fan which is going to cause them mold issues overtime.

Otherwise I would highly recommend Grand Sirenis, especially if you just want to relax in the sun [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Gorgeous beach and seawater Amazing staff New, clean, well maintained resort and rooms
The weak points
Food is at Cuban standards which means not a lot of variety, but they do what they can Lots of flys and mosquitos but they do spray nightly for bugs and you have to understand that the undeveloped spaces adjacent the resort are basically jungle
Sanitary measures
Signs were up throughout the resort but not really applicable with masking measures and other covid protocols no longer in place
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024